View Full Version : 1902 The Play follows John McGinn to Birmingham

Hibs114
05-05-2021, 01:13 PM
Hi Guys,

My name is Nathan, I am the creator of the Hibs show 1902 which has been at the Edinburgh festival for the last 3 years (Excluding Covid last year) We are taking the show to Birmingham, now home to Super John McGinn and just wanted to get the word out about it on here in case anyone is based in Brum or wants to make the journey down in July. Its not an advertisement, I just think its important that all Hibs fans get a chance to experience the show. Also looking for any advice on how to reach hibs fans that arent in Scotland.

Nathan

GGTTH :flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

TheHibernator
05-05-2021, 01:17 PM
Never seen the play but would do so if it's going to be showing at the next Edinburgh festival.

05-05-2021, 02:02 PM
Never seen the play but would do so if it's going to be showing at the next Edinburgh festival.

Same story here, yet to take the opportunity to go and see it, so if it's going to be on this August, I'm strongly considering going.

05-05-2021, 02:37 PM
Hi Guys,

My name is Nathan, I am the creator of the Hibs show 1902 which has been at the Edinburgh festival for the last 3 years (Excluding Covid last year) We are taking the show to Birmingham, now home to Super John McGinn and just wanted to get the word out about it on here in case anyone is based in Brum or wants to make the journey down in July. Its not an advertisement, I just think its important that all Hibs fans get a chance to experience the show. Also looking for any advice on how to reach hibs fans that arent in Scotland.

Nathan

What dates is it running?

Daniel 1875
05-05-2021, 02:58 PM
A brilliant show I'd highly recommend to anyone who hasn't seen it!

Hibs114
05-05-2021, 04:20 PM
What dates is it running?

Its on from the 5th to the 8th of July

05-05-2021, 04:29 PM
Certainly the Villa fans took an interest in SJM years at Hibs ,wanting to find out what all the fuss was about,
Oh!The History !!!
The Cup win after such a long wait ,
John's Song,
Post match Exuberance ,Men greetin, Women greetin
Bairns greeting "Ah want ma tea!"
Polis greetin ,cos their team got beat.
The Sunday
What was witnessed all the way down Leith Walk to the Links will live long in the memory of those youngsters who were there,
I hope they have many more such days

Four us oldies
114years of aches ,and pain ,frustration and anger, returning from Hampden in the years we should have won it post war, Clyde and Oldco 1979 for example.
But we got it eventually .

When the show gets to Birmingham

I just hope they understand !

05-05-2021, 04:42 PM
Hi Guys,

Nathan

You could also post this on the Villa forum, maybe even straight onto their dedicated SJM thread (they don't start a new thread for a player every time he has a good game or a bad game ��).

https://www.villatalk.com/topic/17837-john-mcginn/page/281/#comments

05-05-2021, 05:05 PM
I'd tweet SJM himself. He may well retweet it.

05-05-2021, 05:59 PM
I'd tweet SJM himself. He may well retweet it.

Good idea.

They could offer him tickets or even a cameo role, I wouldn't put it past him to turn up if he's not got something else on.

Hulk1875
05-05-2021, 06:28 PM
Good idea.

They could offer him tickets or even a cameo role, I wouldn't put it past him to turn up if he's not got something else on.

I’m sure there’s someone on here that will know John or have his number instead of just a tweet, saw quite few McGinn signed villa tops going about

05-05-2021, 07:18 PM
Hi Guys,

Nathan

There is also another forum Avillafan.com you could post on as well. Good luck with it in July

Hibs114
07-05-2021, 06:11 PM
I’m sure there’s someone on here that will know John or have his number instead of just a tweet, saw quite few McGinn signed villa tops going about

Yeah we are really trying as I know he would love the show. We are back in Edinburgh in August for the festival but our venue has closed down so we need a new place to house it.

speedy_gonzales
07-05-2021, 06:59 PM
Yeah we are really trying as I know he would love the show. We are back in Edinburgh in August for the festival but our venue has closed down so we need a new place to house it.
Seen you in the Wee Red Bar a few years back.
Although a wee bit bigger, this would go down amazingly well at the Hibs supporters club at Sunnyside. Probably difficult to do contractually wise, and probably a little too far outside the traditional Fringe "area", but man, it would rock!

07-05-2021, 08:40 PM
Nathan
Reaching fans in England?
Have you contacted the Club, or website team and possibly the guys that do Hibs TV ?
Maybe you could do an interview, or maybe get a plug for the play to reach supporters doon south

All the best

08-05-2021, 06:41 AM
Theres always under the stand in the east concourse. Has been used in the past. Plenty of room for distancing and could keep the doors open for ventilation.

Sheep_Nae_Mair
08-05-2021, 10:42 AM
Thought of trying the Villatalk forum and any other Villa forums you can find?

Hibs114
08-05-2021, 05:55 PM
Nathan
Reaching fans in England?
Have you contacted the Club, or website team and possibly the guys that do Hibs TV ?
Maybe you could do an interview, or maybe get a plug for the play to reach supporters doon south

All the best

Hey mate, Yeah we have contacted the Club but we aren’t really getting a response.

Nathan

08-05-2021, 06:13 PM
Better start writing the sequel - 2016.

Hibs114
08-05-2021, 08:27 PM
Better start writing the sequel - 2016.
To be fair, it has a ring to it!