View Full Version : What’s happening with the weather
04-05-2021, 10:37 PM
Surely by now it should be a bit warmer? Is there a reason it’s still been so cold?
speedy_gonzales
04-05-2021, 11:04 PM
Surely by now it should be a bit warmer? Is there a reason it’s still been so cold?
No idea, I'm no Wincey Willis or Sean Batty but I now understand why the environmentalists have stopped saying global warming and are instead taking about climate change.
It's May and I've still got my Central heating on (barely).
A photo came up on my timeline this week, 2 years ago I was at Easter Road wearing a short sleeve t-shirt with shades on!
05-05-2021, 07:02 AM
Yup. It’s freezing. This time last year we’d had a load of warm days.
Forecast to come doesn’t look much better!
05-05-2021, 07:23 AM
Snow above 500ft yesterday, I've not checked today yet.
05-05-2021, 07:32 AM
Snowing heavily in Aberdeen just now.
05-05-2021, 07:36 AM
Snowing heavily in Aberdeen just now.
What do expect, your in Aberdeen 😉
05-05-2021, 07:42 AM
What do expect, your in Aberdeen 😉
Cold, biting wind and general all round misery. Not snow. :greengrin
05-05-2021, 07:46 AM
Cold, biting wind and general all round misery. Not snow. :greengrin
True, the wind usually blows the snow away 😉
05-05-2021, 09:57 AM
Snow above 500ft yesterday, I've not checked today yet.
If it's above 500ft, you won't be able to see out the window to check. :greengrin
05-05-2021, 10:34 AM
Mid-latitude blocking, innit.
AltheHibby
05-05-2021, 10:40 AM
It's not just Scotland. I drove from Perth to Dudley on Monday under rain 100% of the time, and it wasn't light rain either.
Meanwhile in Oz, my son said it was 23C with rain that was doing his grass good. 🤨
05-05-2021, 11:04 AM
If it's above 500ft, you won't be able to see out the window to check. :greengrin
🤣 Good one 👍
patch1875
05-05-2021, 11:55 AM
Warmer next week.
05-05-2021, 12:22 PM
It's actually warm in the sun at ma bit.
And the hailstones add a bit of an edge.
Green Man
05-05-2021, 03:22 PM
The thing I’ve noticed most about the change in our climate is the wind is now near constant. It seems rare now to get a still day.
05-05-2021, 03:49 PM
The thing I’ve noticed most about the change in our climate is the wind is now near constant. It seems rare now to get a still day.
Sounds like my back garden Wind crossroads
05-05-2021, 04:14 PM
Out on a walk with the dog earlier and got caught in quite a hefty hail shower. With how crap the weather's been, can't say I've been too fussed about heading out to a beer garden since they've opened up. Will wait another couple of weeks until I can get a nice cold pint in a warm pub indoors as it doesn't look likely the weather's going to get much better in the near future.
05-05-2021, 04:41 PM
No idea, I'm no Wincey Willis or Sean Batty but I now understand why the environmentalists have stopped saying global warming and are instead taking about climate change.
It's May and I've still got my Central heating on (barely).
A photo came up on my timeline this week, 2 years ago I was at Easter Road wearing a short sleeve t-shirt with shades on!
:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall
It really bothers me when people can't tell the difference between weather and climate.
Or global warming and climate change for that matter.
Changeable weather is perfectly normal for this time of year. As are cold conditions from polar air plunging south as they are just now.
05-05-2021, 04:51 PM
Weather doesn't bother us. I walked through the Grassmarket today and outdoor bars are mobbed.
speedy_gonzales
05-05-2021, 05:14 PM
:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall
It really bothers me when people can't tell the difference between weather and climate.
Or global warming and climate change for that matter.
Changeable weather is perfectly normal for this time of year. As are cold conditions from polar air plunging south as they are just now.
Unsure if that was aimed at me or you're simply quoting my post.
I'm very much aware of the difference, but there are folk out there that mock the term global warming when on any singular day it would appear like it's anything but "warm".
If discussing a marked shift in the meteorological patterns, then climate change is a good catch-all.
Incidentally, I think one of the reasons it's been so cold lately is because April was so dry, the ground is holding on to the frost longer which any farmer or gardener will testify to.
05-05-2021, 06:38 PM
It's actually warm in the sun at ma bit.
And the hailstones add a bit of an edge.
Hailstones outside the Wetherspoons in Peebles earlier, the things we'll do for a pint!
05-05-2021, 09:07 PM
Hailstones outside the Wetherspoons in Peebles earlier, the things we'll do for a pint!
Aye, go to a Wetherspoons!! 🙄😉
05-05-2021, 09:20 PM
Aye, go to a Wetherspoons!! 🙄😉
I'd rather sit outside a boozer paying £2.49 for a pint than £5 odds.
05-05-2021, 09:22 PM
I'd rather sit outside a boozer paying £2.49 for a pint than £5 odds.
I'm hoping to be inside Cold City Brewery in the grassmarket 3 weeks today. I accept the price for a superior pint.
05-05-2021, 09:27 PM
I'm hoping to be inside Cold City Brewery in the grassmarket 3 weeks today. I accept the price for a superior pint.
I hope you have a good time, my days of being willing to pay those prices are now few and far between.
05-05-2021, 09:32 PM
I hope you have a good time, my days of being willing to pay those prices are now few and far between.
My visits to a pub are so few and far between that I've saved up enough. 🍺😉
EH6 Hibby
06-05-2021, 04:58 AM
Snowing in Leith. Mental.
06-05-2021, 05:13 AM
Snowing in Corstorphine. Outrageous.
06-05-2021, 05:46 AM
Unsure if that was aimed at me or you're simply quoting my post.
I'm very much aware of the difference, but there are folk out there that mock the term global warming when on any singular day it would appear like it's anything but "warm".
If discussing a marked shift in the meteorological patterns, then climate change is a good catch-all.
Incidentally, I think one of the reasons it's been so cold lately is because April was so dry, the ground is holding on to the frost longer which any farmer or gardener will testify to.
Not aimed at you at all SG! Simply quoting you! :aok:
Woken to about an inch of snow here in rural Lanarkshire this morning!
06-05-2021, 08:56 AM
https://www.facebook.com/groups/217344952688761/permalink/466286507794603/
Road North of Aberfeldy today!!
06-05-2021, 08:58 AM
Relatively sunny in South Edinburgh - got out for a run which I wasn't expecting to be able to do given the forecast.
06-05-2021, 08:59 AM
Snow, hail and sleet on the way home last night.
Very very bored of ***** weather now.
06-05-2021, 09:18 AM
Hardly headline news that Scottish weather is *****
06-05-2021, 09:20 AM
It’s not new, or complicated. Listen to your granny. ‘Cast Nairy a Cloot till May be Oot’.
06-05-2021, 09:31 AM
Good Scottish weather, if you dinnae like it, wait 10 minutes.
06-05-2021, 09:51 AM
It’s not new, or complicated. Listen to your granny. ‘Cast Nairy a Cloot till May be Oot’.
I think that's supposed to be about may flowers, the blossom on hawthorns, and they are oot already, or just coming oot.
06-05-2021, 10:06 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/uk-politics-56938468?ns_mchannel=social&ns_source=twitter&ns_campaign=bbc_live&ns_linkname=6093b9f830a9c902dd518334%26Snowy%20sce nes%20in%20Scotland%262021-05-06T10%3A02%3A01.899Z&ns_fee=0&pinned_post_locator=urn:asset:875a88d8-c13f-4eec-87b8-486e1cacb5e1&pinned_post_asset_id=6093b9f830a9c902dd518334&pinned_post_type=share
Voting not so easy for some. This is 10 miles away from me.
06-05-2021, 10:56 AM
I think that's supposed to be about may flowers, the blossom on hawthorns, and they are oot already, or just coming oot.
I think that’s originally correct, but all gardeners will tell you the hawthorn didn’t used to come out until much later than it does now, and does regardless refer to this time of year, so the saying should defeat the attention of pedants :greengrin
06-05-2021, 11:26 AM
I think that’s originally correct, but all gardeners will tell you the hawthorn didn’t used to come out until much later than it does now, and does regardless refer to this time of year, so the saying should defeat the attention of pedants :greengrin
Drat! :greengrin
06-05-2021, 04:07 PM
Hailstones in west Edinburgh just now
06-05-2021, 04:19 PM
Hailstones in west Edinburgh just now
Wester Hailes aptly named 😁
06-05-2021, 06:19 PM
The worrying thing is that generally the best of the good weather in Scotland comes around this time of year, if that continues this year it’s going to be a brutal summer. The highest temperature in Edinburgh so far has been around 15C, last year and most years before that we’ve had multiple 20+ days by now.
pollution
06-05-2021, 07:30 PM
May is my favourite month garden wise. Everything growing and fresh looking.
Monday should see higher temperatures and there will be spurt in the growth and first warmer days drinking alfresco !
06-05-2021, 09:07 PM
Hailstones as I was leaving Biggar rugby club this evening.
06-05-2021, 09:17 PM
Was sitting outside pub fir a meal tonight in Paisley Cold and raining Tve covered area was leaking
Will be sticking to sunny nights in future
Also this having to order on app takes ages One way systems
Didn’t get a mixer in double gin took drink back into complain They took it off me and said I shoukd of brought drink back into hotel and I had to walk back out sit in numbered table so they could bring it back out to me
It’s not the same puts me off going out as much If it had been really busy god knows how long we would have waited
21-05-2021, 09:17 AM
Honestly may as well still be winter. It’s been baltic yesterday and today.
Was outside for about 30 mins yesterday and my hands were pink.
21-05-2021, 09:24 AM
I think we're on course for some sort of record as to the furthest into the year we've got without breaking 20C.
21-05-2021, 09:39 AM
Ne'er cast a cloot till May is oot!
21-05-2021, 09:46 AM
Another ****ing miserable day here in South Lanarkshire. How am I supposed to do outdoorsey jobs to escape childcare duties when it's sideways raining?
21-05-2021, 09:47 AM
Ne'er cast a cloot till May is oot!
Right thats twice thats been on this thread - can someone translate for me. I'd ask my granny but one of them died a few years ago and the other thinks shes too posh to know what that means.
21-05-2021, 09:48 AM
Right thats twice thats been on this thread - can someone translate for me. I'd ask my granny but one of them died a few years ago and the other thinks shes too posh to know what that means.
Don't take off any of your winter woollens until May has finished :greengrin
21-05-2021, 09:52 AM
cloot = cloth
ne'er = never
may is oot = the mayflower (hawthorn blossom) is in bloom
21-05-2021, 09:53 AM
Don't take off any of your winter woollens until May has finished :greengrin
cloot = cloth
ne'er = never
may is oot = the mayflower (hawthorn blossom) is in bloom
Super duper, thank you :aok:
patch1875
21-05-2021, 09:55 AM
I work outside but thankfully a planned day off today.
21-05-2021, 09:56 AM
I think we're on course for some sort of record as to the furthest into the year we've got without breaking 20C.
First time since 1983 that there hasn't been a 20C temp in Scotland by May 21st.
Stairway 2 7
21-05-2021, 10:07 AM
First time since 1983 that there hasn't been a 20C temp in Scotland by May 21st.
Handy during a depressing pandemic. Although we win tomorrow and its been a braw year
21-05-2021, 10:12 AM
Mother Earth is fighting back. First COVID, now climate change. :cb
Today is the 50th anniversary of the release of "What's Goin' On?" by Marvin Gaye. As he sings in The Ecology Song, "How much more abuse from man can she stand?"
Here endeth the hippyness.
pollution
21-05-2021, 11:40 AM
The mayflower is out in our garden and it is still raining.
Sunshine all day tomorrow....
21-05-2021, 11:47 AM
If it any help the weathers the same here on the 'Wild Atlantic Way'......hailstones, torrential. rain. and the odd patch of just dark grey cloud at best..Winter coat back out this week..
27-05-2021, 04:34 PM
Finally we should be looking at some decent weather from Sunday onwards. Fire up the bbq’s.
27-05-2021, 05:14 PM
Super duper, thank you :aok:
Which is all fine but the hawthorns around here have been oot for the last 4 weeks!!!
Naebudy telt thum!!!
27-05-2021, 06:49 PM
It’s been nice on Arran this week
27-05-2021, 08:49 PM
About to have 10 days or so of decent weather according to the forecast.
28-05-2021, 08:19 AM
About to have 10 days or so of decent weather according to the forecast.
Please let it be so, I'm sick of waking up to everything being grey.
28-05-2021, 10:29 AM
Hwfg
28-05-2021, 11:21 AM
It’s been nice on Arran this week
You must've sent all the rain to Ayr Sunday to Wednesday.
28-05-2021, 06:03 PM
Well it rained today fir a bit but Sunshine to resume tomorrow
28-05-2021, 07:36 PM
Was that not the tears for Killie fans from Monday night?