View Full Version : Daniel Mackay

04-05-2021, 07:01 PM
Good signing. Very quick and direct.

https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1389656076824588291?s=21

04-05-2021, 07:03 PM
Hopefully he has actual footballing ability as well as running ability :greengrin

04-05-2021, 07:03 PM
Excellent bit of business.

In August, when everyone’s moaning that we never got signings in early, someone bookmark this thread! :greengrin

04-05-2021, 07:07 PM
Excellent bit of business.

In August, when everyone’s moaning that we never got signings in early, someone bookmark this thread! :greengrin
That’s the left winger in the bag.

04-05-2021, 07:09 PM
This is the sort of signing I want us to make. Young, promising, positive and balances the squad further.

04-05-2021, 07:11 PM
Don't know much about him, but on paper he's hopefully the sort of player we should be looking for - younger prospects that we can help flourish. Also nice to get things done early too! :aok:

What's up with the attacking of the Twitter admin? Is that brought up every time we tweet something? Is that how low the benchmark of Twitter/social media is, even within a self contained bubble of Hibs - pretty disappointing.

Then it makes me comment on that instead of the signing, and the cycle continues.

04-05-2021, 07:16 PM
I don’t think he’ll be cheap, either.

04-05-2021, 07:17 PM
Mentioned him a couple of months ago, thought he was a great prospect and someone Hibs fans would take to.

Very quick, direct and skilful. A lot less raw then Boyle when he first came.

Him and Murphy are two very good options on the left, he can also play through the middle similar to Boyle.

Boyle and Mackay out wide with Allan in the middle behind Nisbet. Wow.

Brilliant signing.

04-05-2021, 07:18 PM
Good business from Hibs to get a transfer in this early, seems highly rated this player.

04-05-2021, 07:18 PM
I love this kind of signing. No idea if he’s good or not but singing young players who’s career is on the way up is the way to go IMO.

04-05-2021, 07:22 PM
I don’t think he’ll be cheap, either.

ICT fans seemed to think they may only just get six figures.

04-05-2021, 07:22 PM
Can’t remember us signing a player who was still under contract outside a transfer window before. We must have really wanted it tied up before the usual suspects tried to get involved.

04-05-2021, 07:24 PM

From the ICT club statement it looks like there is a sell-on clause, too.

04-05-2021, 07:26 PM
https://youtu.be/j949A3DeJ5c

One minute five minutes in, great control, run and finish.

04-05-2021, 07:29 PM
Definately like our policy of signing young players with potential... That we can sell in 6 months [emoji102][emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

04-05-2021, 07:33 PM
https://youtu.be/j949A3DeJ5c

One minute five minutes in, great control, run and finish.Remember watching that goal live thinking it was a cracker, didn't realise it was him! Like the look of this one.

Unrelated - does anyone know how we have made a signing outside of the transfer window? Didn't realise that was allowed, is it just am agreement between the clubs that when it opens the deal will go straight through?

04-05-2021, 07:36 PM
Boyle on one side and him on the other will pin a lot of teams back.

Robbo6-2
04-05-2021, 07:38 PM
Anyone else think its strange the deal has been announced before the laddie actually signed?

Wouldn't surprise me if Allan Preston was setting it up for Hearts to gazump the deal. The Hearts fans love that type of ****

04-05-2021, 07:38 PM
Remember watching that goal live thinking it was a cracker, didn't realise it was him! Like the look of this one.

Unrelated - does anyone know how we have made a signing outside of the transfer window? Didn't realise that was allowed, is it just am agreement between the clubs that when it opens the deal will go straight through?

You can contractually sign and employ anyone at anytime. His registration however can’t be transferred until the transfer window opens. We can however register an intent to transfer the said registration just now.

04-05-2021, 07:45 PM
This looks like a very shrewd bit of business and always nice to get one wrapped up early.

I love this kind of signing. Some work out, some don't but that's football.

Steven79
04-05-2021, 07:46 PM
I think this was arranged when Scott Allan went on loan to them a while back.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

04-05-2021, 07:47 PM

Just? Six figures can be a shed load of money.

04-05-2021, 07:48 PM
How did Hearts not get him given their special relationship?

04-05-2021, 07:49 PM

As in only just into six figures - I.e. £100-150k

04-05-2021, 07:50 PM
Anyone else think its strange the deal has been announced before the laddie actually signed?

Wouldn't surprise me if Allan Preston was setting it up for Hearts to gazump the deal. The Hearts fans love that type of ****

This will all be agreed. Nobody gazzumping this one.

04-05-2021, 07:50 PM

Even thought they have a special relationship with Caley, Hearts are skint, seriously skint. Budge has admitted it herself

FOH millions been squandered on Infrastructure projects, and dreadful players
Meanwhile Sir Tom left us in a great position. It’s not up to Ron to deliver on the great foundation he purchased

04-05-2021, 07:51 PM

Maybe meaning £100,000. £99,999 = not quite 6 figures, £100,000 = just 6 figures (and no more).

04-05-2021, 07:53 PM
Good young quick talented Scottish winger who will only get better with coaching, onwards and upwards, well done Hibs.:thumbsup:

04-05-2021, 07:55 PM
Even thought they have a special relationship with Caley, Hearts are skint, seriously skint. Budge has admitted it herself

FOH millions been squandered on Infrastructure projects, and dreadful players
Meanwhile Sir Tom left us in a great position. It’s not up to Ron to deliver on the great foundation he purchased

When has Budge said they’re skint? They’ve still got the FOH cash rolling in along with Andersons gifts. She did plead poverty after they were relegated ahead of the court pish but we all know the reason for that.

04-05-2021, 07:56 PM
Maybe meaning £100,000. £99,999 = not quite 6 figures, £100,000 = just 6 figures (and no more).

Aye I get what he meant now.

04-05-2021, 07:58 PM
Thing is that if we keep developing young talent who end up moving down south and are fair with sell on fees, deals like this will be easier as we benefit from a great player, the player benefits from the greater exposure and move down south and the selling club get a wedge of cash too.

Everyone wins, we get a reputation as a club that it’s good to sell to and agents come to us, not the other way around.

Unless you happened to have a talent like, say, Josh Doig and released him and no longer have a financial stake in him. That would be madness.

04-05-2021, 08:00 PM
Aye I get what he meant now.

What’s promising in the discussion I read was that they were more concerned in getting a decent sell on. They seem to think he’s going a long way.

04-05-2021, 08:00 PM
Thing is that if we keep developing young talent who end up moving down south and are fair with sell on fees, deals like this will be easier as we benefit from a great player, the player benefits from the greater exposure and move down south and the selling club get a wedge of cash too.

Everyone wins, we get a reputation as a club that it’s good to sell to and agents come to us, not the other way around.

Unless you happened to have a talent like, say, Josh Doig and released him and no longer have a financial stake in him. That would be madness.

No danger any club would do that surely? Mental behaviour.

04-05-2021, 08:02 PM
When has Budge said they’re skint? They’ve still got the FOH cash rolling in along with Andersons gifts. She did plead poverty after they were relegated ahead of the court pish but we all know the reason for that.

Maybe salesman’s licence

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/ann-budge-warns-hearts-face-19961216.amp

04-05-2021, 08:02 PM
Only seen him a few times but like the response from most hibees so welcome aboard.

04-05-2021, 08:04 PM
What’s promising in the discussion I read was that they were more concerned in getting a decent sell on. They seem to think he’s going a long way.

I saw your latest post and agree with that. There will be a lot of smaller clubs looking at the SJM situation with us and wanting their share of future deals. But like you say, you wouldn’t risk a lower fee for a generous sell-on clause if you didn’t have confidence in the boys ability. All good signs 👍

04-05-2021, 08:04 PM
This looks like a very shrewd bit of business and always nice to get one wrapped up early.

I love this kind of signing. Some work out, some don't but that's football.

I see your still sore from the Kujabi signing. I think our missplaced optimism will take a while longer to recover from.

04-05-2021, 08:05 PM
[/b]

No danger any club would do that surely? Mental behaviour.

Even if it happened once it’s unlikely that the same situation would be Cummings around anytime soon.

04-05-2021, 08:15 PM
Maybe salesman’s licence

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/ann-budge-warns-hearts-face-19961216.amp

I’d take anything she says with a pinch of salt. Belt tightening there doesn’t necessarily mean they’re skint. They have a huge gut to get the belt round. They’ll still have a decent budget. Nice to note in the article that the “r” word remains absent. Demotion the preferred option this time. Pathetic stuff.

badabing67
04-05-2021, 08:21 PM
Does anyone know if he is a left footer, or is he another right footed guy that runs down the left and comes in on his right like Horgan, Wright and Murphy. Just curious

Robbo6-2
04-05-2021, 08:22 PM
Does anyone know if he is a left footer, or is he another right footed guy that runs down the left and comes in on his right like Horgan, Wright and Murphy. Just curious

Right footer

04-05-2021, 08:28 PM

I don't really think it matters nowadays, many right footers play on the left and vice versa.

04-05-2021, 08:29 PM

Can't find out what foot he uses (think it's right) but I can find out he has cropped blonde hair and is clean shaven 🙄

https://i.ibb.co/3df2HyL/Screenshot-2021-05-04-21-25-16-85.jpg (https://ibb.co/c3b0dc7)
vietnamese keyboard (https://usefulwebtool.com/)

badabing67
04-05-2021, 08:31 PM
Right footer

That doesn't really balance the side out wonder if we should expect a bid for Boyler in the summer.

04-05-2021, 08:35 PM
Welcome to Hibs Daniel.

04-05-2021, 08:35 PM
That doesn't really balance the side out wonder if we should expect a bid for Boyler in the summer.

Why? Boyle plays on the right or as a make shift striker, just because he's right footed doesn't mean it takes away from balancing out the team, Kent, Barker, Horgan, Murphy etc, all play predominantly off the left and are right footers

04-05-2021, 08:47 PM
Just broke the news to an ICT supporting pal whose response was "You are joking. Hibs Bar Stewards." So he must be decent.

04-05-2021, 08:50 PM
He’s right footed but normally plays on the left.

More happy to go on the outside than Horgan etc. Knock it past them and go

04-05-2021, 08:55 PM

Boyle isn't leaving Hibs unless for decent cash now. The chance was last summer. He's 28 now, playing his best football, raising a family. He's here to stay. And honestly, this is his level.

04-05-2021, 08:59 PM
Can he play on Saturday?

04-05-2021, 09:00 PM
Can he play on Saturday?

Of course not.

04-05-2021, 09:05 PM
More likely Nisbet away?

04-05-2021, 09:09 PM
More likely Nisbet away?

I think it’s highly likely Nisbet will leave in the summer.

04-05-2021, 09:10 PM
Of course not.

Woooosssshhhhhh!!!!!!!!

04-05-2021, 09:11 PM
Can he play on Saturday?

I’m not sure if this is now a running joke or not but I’ve never seen so many similar comments about players being signed or returning from loan in May and being able to play!

Renfrew_Hibby
04-05-2021, 09:14 PM

£9999.99

04-05-2021, 09:19 PM

Exactly what I thought. Sounds like medical is only last thing before official.

04-05-2021, 09:27 PM
Exactly what I thought. Sounds like medical is only last thing before official.

I thought that too. We don’t normally announce deals until medical is completed and assuming the medical is done in the coming days then what’s the rush?

I think Hibs are conscious of Hearts last minute attempts to hijack our desks for Nisbet and Wright (i think?) and have announced it early just in case, if Hearts were to come in late again, the fact we’ve made it public would put a bit more pressure on him to say no to them.

04-05-2021, 09:33 PM
I thought that too. We don’t normally announce deals until medical is completed and assuming the medical is done in the coming days then what’s the rush?

I think Hibs are conscious of Hearts last minute attempts to hijack our desks for Nisbet and Wright (i think?) and have announced it early just in case, if Hearts were to come in late again, the fact we’ve made it public would put a bit more pressure on him to say no to them.

i think it’s more likely that it’s merely formalities left so happy to announce now given that it had pretty much already leaked. I would be quite certain hibs and ict announcing it had nothing to do with hearts.

04-05-2021, 09:36 PM
i think it’s more likely that it’s merely formalities left so happy to announce now given that it had pretty much already leaked. I would be quite certain hibs and ict announcing it had nothing to do with hearts.

Not just hearts, other teams coming in last minute to gazump us.

You might be right but I just wondered if it was something we were mindful of after what’s happened a few times recently. Nisbet, Wright, Mcrorie and Ojo.

The fact we’ve gone public early could in theory, just give him something else to think about should his head get turned with a late offer from elsewhere.

04-05-2021, 09:43 PM
Not just hearts, other teams coming in last minute to gazump us.

You might be right but I just wondered if it was something we were mindful of after what’s happened a few times recently. Nisbet, Wright, Mcrorie and Ojo.

The fact we’ve gone public early could in theory, just give him something else to think about should his head get turned with a late offer from elsewhere.

i get you man, and there could be another reason why but i think it’s probably more down to how confident hibs are of the deal, or perhaps ICT only accepted an offer from us any no other team.

Regardless, i’m fully expecting him to be officially signed tomorrow. It seems a great but if business by the club :agree:

04-05-2021, 09:50 PM
Maybe salesman’s licence

“The objective becomes managing and containing that loss. The government support (furlough scheme) has been amazing but we all know we will need to pay that back and I think it will take a minimum of three years to get back to where we were before.”

What part of the furlough scheme has to be paid back? Or are they up to their old tricks of "borrowing" from HMRC by not paying them the PAYE and NI.

spending the PAYE and

04-05-2021, 10:22 PM
Excellent signing.

I've said before we need another Boyle on the left, and this kid seems to have the pace to be just that.

Kaff
04-05-2021, 10:46 PM
He looked very good against Ross County, albeit near the bottom of the league they're a decent team.
Scott Allan probably gave valuable info too in terms of character and attitude at training. I'm liking our policy of signing these potential young players before they are in the glare of clubs higher up the ladder.
We'll get a handful wrong but Nisbet looks like a bargain already and I'm hoping Magennis can come good despite his problems with fitness and illness. If he doesn't become a saleable asset I do think he'll be a good player overall.
A good signing policy atm I think

04-05-2021, 10:51 PM
Renewed my ST this morning, Hibs were probably waiting for that before being confident they had the cash to make an offer ... glad to help :greengrin

04-05-2021, 11:23 PM
i get you man, and there could be another reason why but i think it’s probably more down to how confident hibs are of the deal, or perhaps ICT only accepted an offer from us any no other team.

Regardless, i’m fully expecting him to be officially signed tomorrow. It seems a great but if business by the club :agree:

Wasnt “Ono” :) the one who’s agent went to the press or went back on his word to check another bag of sweeties - there was some shenanigans going on there IIRC. mcCrorie well we put him in the shop window - c’est la vie - always good to secure options first - and we have done by as large over the years if memory serves.

EI255
05-05-2021, 06:48 AM
Delighted with this signing. Exactly the kind of player we want. Looks like the lad can score too.

Welcome to the Hibernian Family.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

LeithMike
05-05-2021, 07:00 AM
I think this signing signals that there is going to be a good degree of changes elsewhere too. It looks to signify that JR will try and play with two wingers once more (which was his clear preference when he first came in) so I would expect to see us to try to go to 4-4-2 or 4-5-1 again.

Either way it looks like 2 centre backs rather than 3 and the need for a lot more mobility in the centre of midfield (either to support a single striker or cover the whole park as a 2).

Quite excited by that but we really need to get things right in the centre of the park. I think it also argues in favour of cutting JR some slack for this season as he's adapted to playing 3-5-2 to suit the squad that he has at the moment but is probably not what he wants to play.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

05-05-2021, 07:35 AM
I think this signing signals that there is going to be a good degree of changes elsewhere too. It looks to signify that JR will try and play with two wingers once more (which was his clear preference when he first came in) so I would expect to see us to try to go to 4-4-2 or 4-5-1 again.

Either way it looks like 2 centre backs rather than 3 and the need for a lot more mobility in the centre of midfield (either to support a single striker or cover the whole park as a 2).

Quite excited by that but we really need to get things right in the centre of the park. I think it also argues in favour of cutting JR some slack for this season as he's adapted to playing 3-5-2 to suit the squad that he has at the moment but is probably not what he wants to play.

Sent from my SM-N960F using TapatalkI think that's a good spot potentially. What I like about Ross is that he seems to be on the same page with most fans regarding what needs improvement in the side.

That sounds like a simple thing to get right as a manager but as we know it's not always a given. Take Heckingbottom for example, the entire time he was here we were dying for a defensive mid and he just couldn't see it.

05-05-2021, 07:38 AM
Announced early to give folk a wee lift before the weekend

05-05-2021, 07:45 AM
Announced early to give folk a wee lift before the weekend
Aye, tactical. Sat eve on Hibs.net. "Ach well, we might have lost the semi but at least we've signed Daniel McKay."

05-05-2021, 07:49 AM

Some good points but also raises some concerns with both formations. 451 would surely mean we’d have to sell Nisbet and sign a striker specifically suited to playing on his own as that’s not Nisbet or Doidge.

I’d be even less keen on 442 as not sure we could afford the two midfields needed to make it work without simply giving up the midfield as we did earlier in the season. We will still have Maggenis, Gogic & Newell next season and possibly any/all of Mallan, Allan & Hallberg. None of which are suited to playing in a two and I couldn’t see us buying the two specific midfielders needed for 442 on top of those listed.

On McKay, sounds promising and the type of signing we’re looking at again (Nisbet, Magennis, Cadden)

05-05-2021, 07:49 AM
I think that's a good spot potentially. What I like about Ross is that he seems to be on the same page with most fans regarding what needs improvement in the side.

That sounds like a simple thing to get right as a manager but as we know it's not always a given. Take Heckingbottom for example, the entire time he was here we were dying for a defensive mid and he just couldn't see it.

Ross has some outstanding qualities so even when being critical of him these have to be acknowledged.

His recruitment has generally been excellent and has addressed problem areas of the team.

You get the feeling with Ross that you can see what he’s doing. There are no wtf team selections.

My biggest gripe with him and the team is the way we fall away in games and sometimes just aren’t at the races and I don’t know why it is. I don’t expect us to be at 100% all the time but if we could play out games we’ve been good in early on at “fairly comfortable” rather than “hanging on” then I’d be a bit happier.

05-05-2021, 08:54 AM

I don't think the signing signifies any change really, it just gives us another great option. With Nisbet out at the weekend and Boyle upfront, we lacked for other creativity and pace. I think McKay just gives another option for the squad.

Hibs have been playing 4-4-2 recently anyway (certainly at home to Livi and Motherwell), so again I don't see much changing. I think Ross likes to have options and vary his formation depending on the opposition or of course, even within games. McKay seems another versatile type who will allow us to keep doing that effectively.

147lothian
05-05-2021, 08:54 AM
Welcome to Hibernian Daniel

05-05-2021, 09:04 AM
Some good points but also raises some concerns with both formations. 451 would surely mean we’d have to sell Nisbet and sign a striker specifically suited to playing on his own as that’s not Nisbet or Doidge.

I’d be even less keen on 442 as not sure we could afford the two midfields needed to make it work without simply giving up the midfield as we did earlier in the season. We will still have Maggenis, Gogic & Newell next season and possibly any/all of Mallan, Allan & Hallberg. None of which are suited to playing in a two and I couldn’t see us buying the two specific midfielders needed for 442 on top of those listed.

On McKay, sounds promising and the type of signing we’re looking at again (Nisbet, Magennis, Cadden)

We had plenty of good performances earlier in the season without giving up the midfield, playing 442 with either Gogic and Newall or Newall and Hallberg in the middle.

Some games it didn't work that well and we were a bit over run, but there were plenty where we were in complete control of the midfield: St Mirren, Motherwell and Hamilton away all off the top of my head.

05-05-2021, 09:09 AM
“The objective becomes managing and containing that loss. The government support (furlough scheme) has been amazing but we all know we will need to pay that back and I think it will take a minimum of three years to get back to where we were before.”

What part of the furlough scheme has to be paid back? Or are they up to their old tricks of "borrowing" from HMRC by not paying them the PAYE and NI.

spending the PAYE and

Not trying to get too political here, but the Furlough has not been amazing the Englush govt only extended it after the englush went into another lockdown, even though the Scot gov had been demanding/ asking for it to be extended for months, it yas been a godsend, Scotland were shafted.

05-05-2021, 09:21 AM

If he goes 442 or 451/4321 who will play at RB/WB, at the moment it's McGinn but I'd presume Cadden would be the player that's been brought in to play in that position with McGinn as his backup and Gray going into coaching or on loan. If he keeps the 352 then a wide player makes no sense, hence why we think he'll change the system.

05-05-2021, 09:25 AM
Well done, Agent Allen. :wink:

05-05-2021, 09:38 AM

Nesbit and Doige helped him.

05-05-2021, 11:29 AM
Great Signing.:thumbsup:

05-05-2021, 11:41 AM
I love this kind of signing. No idea if he’s good or not but singing young players who’s career is on the way up is the way to go IMO.

It is the model I want us to follow too. They won't all work out but you only need the odd Nisbet or SJM and it makes very good financial and football sense. I'm not one for signing players who careers have peaked but we have had some success with the likes of Ambrose etc so a bit of experience among a mostly young and hungry team is where I want us to be. That was LD's vision and she was spot on although it did seem to change a little under Lennon Ross seems to have went right back to that model.

05-05-2021, 11:50 AM
You get the feeling with Ross that you can see what he’s doing. There are no wtf team selections.

I agree with that for the most part but sometimes I feel it is more wtf is he not doing in terms of subs. He seems to take a long time to react when his well laid plans are simply not working and I sometimes think we have such indifferent displays because players may not be entirely sure of what their role in the team is. Whatever the reason for these displays there have been too many where he has not used the bench as quickly as he might and we have drifted to a bad result.

05-05-2021, 01:09 PM
Not seen much of him but all seems positive , welcome to Hibernian

snedzuk
05-05-2021, 01:38 PM
Not trying to get too political here, but the Furlough has not been amazing the Englush govt only extended it after the englush went into another lockdown, even though the Scot gov had been demanding/ asking for it to be extended for months, it yas been a godsend, Scotland were shafted.

Shafted again by Westminster giving them money they didn't pass on.

05-05-2021, 01:43 PM

A Hearts six figures. So around 20K

05-05-2021, 01:45 PM
This makes me think back to when we had Boyle on the right, Barker on the left and we terrorised defences. If we get Scotty back to form then we will be absolutely lethal on the counter if he hits the ground running.

Hibiza
05-05-2021, 02:27 PM
Welcome Daniel , all the best .

05-05-2021, 02:35 PM

Helped Allen?

05-05-2021, 02:37 PM

Put like that, he must have been the key to it all.

05-05-2021, 02:39 PM

:tee hee::tee hee:

05-05-2021, 02:42 PM
This makes me think back to when we had Boyle on the right, Barker on the left and we terrorised defences. If we get Scotty back to form then we will be absolutely lethal on the counter if he hits the ground running.

Barker really wasn't the key player folk think he was that season. Very rarely did him and Boyle terrorise defences. It was Kamberi and Allan who did that. Boyle was rwb, where he was really good actually and played well, but Barker wasn't involved that much.

05-05-2021, 02:53 PM
My recollection of Barker was of him beating players pretty easily then undoing everything he'd just done with woeful end product

05-05-2021, 02:53 PM
a hearts six figures. So around 400k
ftfy.....

05-05-2021, 02:57 PM
My recollection of Barker was of him beating players pretty easily then undoing everything he'd just done with woeful end product

Mine is him being the fastest player on the pitch and never once running in behind. Everything to feet on the half way line so he could beat 3 players.

05-05-2021, 02:57 PM
ftfy.....We talking fingers or figures?

Either way six figure sums involving them would be £6.

Unless of course Banderson is involved then the number will be a very self sufficient high millions. Just before they put themselves into administration.

05-05-2021, 03:04 PM
Can’t be bothered looking back, but has Barker being linked with Hibs, or are posters just throwing his name in

05-05-2021, 03:12 PM
Can’t be bothered looking back, but has Barker being linked with Hibs, or are posters just throwing his name in

The latter.

05-05-2021, 03:20 PM
Barker really wasn't the key player folk think he was that season. Very rarely did him and Boyle terrorise defences. It was Kamberi and Allan who did that. Boyle was rwb, where he was really good actually and played well, but Barker wasn't involved that much.

TBH he didn’t have an end product but when he did get in behind he was a handful. Just more having pace down both wings is going to be something that allows us to attack from deeper IMO. Could be potent if the new lad knows what he’s doing and can play with his head up.

05-05-2021, 03:23 PM
TBH he didn’t have an end product but when he did get in behind he was a handful. Just more having pace down both wings is going to be something that allows us to attack from deeper IMO. Could be potent if the new lad knows what he’s doing and can play with his head up.

He never went in behind. Ever. Everything was to feet.

05-05-2021, 03:25 PM
He never went in behind. Ever. Everything was to feet.

Maybe I’m thinking of a different player on an attack I’ve seen. I’m of the opinion that he’s not a top flight player at this level btw but if he could play with his head up then he could be. Hopefully Mackay can be.

LeithMike
05-05-2021, 05:35 PM

While I remember watching a game at McDermiad Park early in the season where Barker was shocking and was playing as an individual, by the end of the season he was a real threat and a very dangerous ball carrier and had started to show signs of adding an end product. Probably more of an impact player but certainly could tear defences in the SPL apart by the end of his loan stint.

I certainly changed my view on him over the course of the season and would have liked Hibs to have kept him. With the right coaching he had all the attributes to be a very good player although one suspects he maybe earned too much money too young.

Boyle was excellent in 2017-18 and really improved under Lennon. Even as a wingback he was one of Hibs most potent forward players.

05-05-2021, 06:37 PM

My first recollection is of him doing exactly the first bit then running straight at the keeper rather than finishing.

05-05-2021, 08:41 PM
Apparently he’s pish.... from a Hearts supporting chum. They were never really in for him and only did it so we had to pay more.

[emoji1787][emoji1787]

05-05-2021, 08:52 PM
Apparently he’s pish.... from a Hearts supporting chum. They were never really in for him and only did it so we had to pay more.

[emoji1787][emoji1787]

Good lord. What rubbish.

Did someone actually say that?

Childish and bitter in equal measure.

05-05-2021, 08:53 PM

[emoji1787][emoji1787]

You didn’t even have to say the guy was a jambo, we could’ve guessed 😂

05-05-2021, 08:54 PM
Good lord. What rubbish.

Did someone actually say that?

Childish and bitter in equal measure.

HR this guy is an arse of the highest order and spouts crap like that on a daily basis!

05-05-2021, 09:01 PM
HR this guy is an arse of the highest order and spouts crap like that on a daily basis!

It must seem cruel to rip the pish out of him, it's so easy.

05-05-2021, 09:05 PM
We signed him yet?

06-05-2021, 06:58 AM
It must seem cruel to rip the pish out of him, it's so easy.

Sometimes you don’t even need to as he does it all by himself!

06-05-2021, 08:00 AM
We signed him yet?

Daniel is travelling tonight on a plane.........

147lothian
06-05-2021, 09:15 AM
God it looks like Daniel, must be the clouds in my eyes...........

06-05-2021, 09:42 AM
We signed him yet?

Think it will be later today.

Standard picture taken at East Mains, probably interview for Hibs TV as well.

badabing67
06-05-2021, 12:03 PM
Apparently we have paid a sizeable fee for Daniel Mackay anyone got any idea how much we are paying out.

06-05-2021, 12:20 PM
Apparently we have paid a sizeable fee for Daniel Mackay anyone got any idea how much we are paying out.

No idea, but wonder how much they contributed to Scott Allan’s wages
Remember he’s a championship player, with only a year left on his contract

badabing67
06-05-2021, 01:23 PM
No idea, but wonder how much they contributed to Scott Allan’s wages
Remember he’s a championship player, with only a year left on his contract

Think we paid some up front then we need to pay a second instalment.

06-05-2021, 02:48 PM

Suspect it will be around the £100k mark but that is based on instinct rather than knowledge

06-05-2021, 02:58 PM
Daniel is travelling tonight on a plane.........
Come on Daniel - Don't go Breaking my Heart....

06-05-2021, 04:05 PM
Come on Daniel - Don't go Breaking my Heart....

I can see Daniel waving goodbye (to a Hibs contract...)

ian omand
06-05-2021, 07:01 PM
I can see Daniel waving goodbye (to a Hibs contract...)

Sometimes you just have to make a sacrifice.

06-05-2021, 08:49 PM

Graeme Mathie also going out of his way to thank Scott Gardiner and Allan Preston for helping to get the deal done.

Well I never.

06-05-2021, 09:44 PM
Graeme Mathie also going out of his way to thank Scott Gardiner and Allan Preston for helping to get the deal done.

Well I never.

And well done Hibs fans/HSL for continued financial support.

07-05-2021, 03:56 PM
This medical seems to be taking a long time.

07-05-2021, 04:09 PM
Maybe it's cos of the pain of his scars that won't heal.

07-05-2021, 04:14 PM

He's still standing

07-05-2021, 05:59 PM
Maybe it's cos of the pain of his scars that won't heal.

He stopped off on the way to get an old VHS player that was owned by the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

Sadly, it's got a SCART issue.

mcohibs
07-05-2021, 10:40 PM
He stopped off on the way to get an old VHS player that was owned by the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

Sadly, it's got a SCART issue.

That's a beauty 😂

Allez Hibs
13-05-2021, 10:23 AM
This is brilliant from the new player...

“Hibs are one of the biggest clubs in Scotland and hopefully we can win a few cups and maybe challenge for a league at some point as well.

Will we have a Hibs manager come out and say that one day. I don't think Jack Ross would have been criticised as much if he had said the exact same at the start of the season.

Let's kick on as a club!!

JGS56
13-05-2021, 10:31 AM
Welcome Daniel.

I see he will be wearing the number 17 jersey. This must mean that Tom James is not getting a new contract.

13-05-2021, 10:34 AM
Welcome Daniel.

I see he will be wearing the number 17 jersey. This must mean that Tom James is not getting a new contract.

Or that he's getting a new number.

He's contracted until summer 2022 according to this: https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/tom-james-signs-hibs-after-16488922 (three-year contract signed summer 2019).

13-05-2021, 10:51 AM
Good start to the summer signings

13-05-2021, 11:03 AM
Or that he's getting a new number.

He's contracted until summer 2022 according to this: https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/tom-james-signs-hibs-after-16488922 (three-year contract signed summer 2019).

I think it’s likely James will be moving on from Hibs at the end of this season.

13-05-2021, 11:04 AM
Welcome Daniel.

This will be his number for next season

13-05-2021, 11:05 AM
Welcome Daniel.

The number of the flying winger;

Sproule
Boyle
Mackay

13-05-2021, 12:12 PM
I think it’s likely James will be moving on from Hibs at the end of this season.

Yep I think so too, was just pointing out that he's not out of contract.

13-05-2021, 12:29 PM
Tom James is still at Hibs?!

13-05-2021, 12:38 PM

I’d forgotten about him!

King Cosell
13-05-2021, 03:33 PM

Done well at Wigan, hardly featured for Salford. He'll get another gig but can't see us getting a fee.

13-05-2021, 10:13 PM

Well I never.

I found that quite interesting. 2 jumbo sympathisers who you think would want him to go to them.

13-05-2021, 10:33 PM
Did we ever find out what Hibs paid for Tom James? It's really hard to see what the scouting team saw in him tbh, a RB who can't defend to save himself

Magpie
13-05-2021, 10:38 PM
I found that quite interesting. 2 jumbo sympathisers who you think would want him to go to them.

Hibs playing in Europe next season, players will get more attention playing for us than them across the road which could bring in a higher transfer fee should the player impress, making agent and previous club with sell on fee a lot richer. The days of losing players to Hearts are gone.

13-05-2021, 10:38 PM

They wouldn't be good at what they do if they didn't put the player's needs first. What is best for the player works out best for them in the long run. Fair play to them.

13-05-2021, 10:43 PM
Preston has been quite critical of Hearts recently in the way they deal with players. Was slating them for letting Doig go for example.

I think he knows that players he represents are far better off coming to Hibs these days.

14-05-2021, 05:29 AM
Did we ever find out what Hibs paid for Tom James? It's really hard to see what the scouting team saw in him tbh, a RB who can't defend to save himself

He did actually defend well in a few games. I think this was just totally the wrong move for him. Didn't settle, got an early injury. Clearly had decent technical abilities.

14-05-2021, 06:51 AM
Preston has been quite critical of Hearts recently in the way they deal with players. Was slating them for letting Doig go for example.

I think he knows that players he represents are far better off coming to Hibs these days.

Yeah it’s very encouraging news. If those two think Hibs are a better option than hearts we must be doing a fantastic job.

20-05-2021, 07:10 AM
Song wise (and it may be delirium from a lack of sleep from puppysitting) I have this running through my head , Fun Lovin’ Criminals

Running around
Robbing Hearts full backs
Off of Mac Attacks

And I fear that’s worse than “We are Hibs, we are good”

20-05-2021, 07:25 AM
He did actually defend well in a few games. I think this was just totally the wrong move for him. Didn't settle, got an early injury. Clearly had decent technical abilities.
Apart from going for a walk every time and not actually picking up his man hence the reason he got dropped

Could not defend but was better going forward and had a decent strike in him

Wish him all the best for the future

20-05-2021, 09:17 AM
Song wise (and it may be delirium from a lack of sleep from puppysitting) I have this running through my head , Fun Lovin’ Criminals

Running around
Robbing Hearts full backs
Off of Mac Attacks

And I fear that’s worse than “We are Hibs, we are good”

Pacy Winger wearing number 17............

He's here, he's there he's every ****ing where, Dan MacKay, Dan Mackay

The classics are classic for a reason :greengrin