View Full Version : Joe Newell

Chorley Hibee
01-05-2021, 04:40 PM
The thing that pisses me off the most about Joe is that I truly believe there is a good footballer there, we've all seen it too.

Currently he's impersonating one, and doing his utmost not to be involved where possible.

It's not ****ing good enough and his place should be in question for next week.

01-05-2021, 04:41 PM
How many bookings has he had must be due a suspension

01-05-2021, 04:46 PM
A good player when we are playing well but, like Irvine, goes missing when the chips are down. Rarely do you see either influence a game when we are up against it.

01-05-2021, 04:47 PM
He was very slow static and ineffectual today.
Needs to be more adventurous against a team that sits in as St Johnstone did after scoring.
Taking away Ryan's horrific error he was Hibs worst player today.
Magennis similarly bland when he came on.

think that was his 8th booking

The thing that pisses me off the most about Joe is that I truly believe there is a good footballer there, we've all seen it too.

Currently he's impersonating one, and doing his utmost not to be involved where possible.

I think we've struggled with the balance of the midfield all season. Irvine and Newell together just doesn't seem to work to me. Not enough creativity, too pedestrian and if Gogic isn't in the team lack bite. Even taking the unusual back drop to this season into consideration its odd as especially at home if you'd seen Hibs for the first time you'd never guess we were a top three team. We've got results, well probably enough results to finish third but seem to have so many disappoints in what has clearly been our best season positionally for some time. Odd season.

the tornadoe
01-05-2021, 04:48 PM
Played his best football for us in the last year of his contract !!! Tells its own story

01-05-2021, 04:51 PM
I think he is a good player but it drives me nuts the way he slows the game down. Fine if we're in front in a game, but if not he needs to show more urgency. This one pace, passing across the park pish is tiresome.

gaz1875
01-05-2021, 04:52 PM
He plays the game with no pace. He has a bit skill can get past players but **** me he's slower than a month of Sunday's for the best part of a game.

01-05-2021, 04:52 PM
I think he is a good player but it drives me nuts the way he slows the game down. Fine if we're in front in a game, but if not he needs to show more urgency. This one pace, passing across the park pish is tiresome.

Yep, drives me daft. We need energy and drive in there next season. Irvine is not the answer.

01-05-2021, 04:54 PM
Played his best football for us in the last year of his contract !!! Tells its own story

Tells absolutely nothing.

Scotty Leither
01-05-2021, 04:55 PM
Yep, drives me daft. We need energy and drive in there next season. Irvine is not the answer.

A fit, energetic, LEFT-sided player should be a priority.

Chorley Hibee
01-05-2021, 04:56 PM
He plays the game with no pace. He has a bit skill can get past players but **** me he's slower than a month of Sunday's for the best part of a game.

I agree, but that element of his game isn't unique to him. Boyle apart, the level of intensity and injection of pace shown by this side is criminal at times, especially at ER.

01-05-2021, 04:57 PM
Good player and been good in the past few weeks. Not a fans favorite, easy target when plenty others played as bad or worse today.

Impersonating nothing. A rough game, that's it.

01-05-2021, 05:02 PM
He's apparently the give and go guy, the player who keeps the ball ticking over. Aye if your watch is stopped, he gets the ball, does a circle, lets the opposition all get back into place and gives it to Hanlon, or Doig or McGinn to launch it.

A show pony with no winning rosettes. At least the other midfielders will try and create even when playing poorly, he just slows it down to a snails pace and is the architect of our slow slow play.

gaz1875
01-05-2021, 05:03 PM
I agree, but that element of his game isn't unique to him. Boyle apart, the level of intensity and injection of pace shown by this side is criminal at times, especially at ER.

Spot on it's not only him but he really slows down attacks. I was getting as pissed off with Hanlon and Porteous, they had space to drive forward all game but chose to try long passes which were easily cut out. If they had pushed forward with the ball it would have given us more momentum. The long passes were dreadful.

01-05-2021, 05:07 PM
Good when it’s going well. Man short when it’s not

01-05-2021, 05:07 PM
He's apparently the give and go guy, the player who keeps the ball ticking over. Aye if your watch is stopped, he gets the ball, does a circle, lets the opposition all get back into place and gives it to Hanlon, or Doig or McGinn to launch it.

A show pony with no winning rosettes. At least the other midfielders will try and create even when playing poorly, he just slows it down to a snails pace and is the architect of our slow slow play.
Do you miss him beating a man and playing Boyle through today? Surely an example of him trying to create when he was playing poorly.

How quick was our play without him?

01-05-2021, 05:08 PM

And that is probably why he accepted a good deal with us.
I would doubt he had many better offers.

01-05-2021, 05:11 PM
And that is probably why he accepted a good deal with us.
I would doubt he had many better offers.

Could be said about every player we've ever had. Can you name one who came here despite better offers?

Scotty Leither
01-05-2021, 05:11 PM
Spot on it's not only him but he really slows down attacks. I was getting as pissed off with Hanlon and Porteous, they had space to drive forward all game but chose to try long passes which were easily cut out. If they had pushed forward with the ball it would have given us more momentum. The long passes were dreadful.

Yup...the Hibs' bench would have known the score at Livingston and I'm baffled at the continued reliance of a hopeful punt to what was basically Doidge against 3 towering defenders.

Why not go with a 3 at the back and allow Hanlon to carry the ball forward and try and commit them a bit more (and in the process get our pedestrian midfield 10 yards further forward?)

Somebody else mentions these games where there's a perceived lack of intensity about our play, which is a valid criticism, and I don't think this approach would be tolerated if fans were inside the stadium.

Just as an aside, we should have tried to get Cummings in January. Recasting the whole side when one forward is injured/suspended isn't ideal either.

01-05-2021, 05:13 PM

He was pish today no doubt, and can definitely be guilty of slowing the play down too much, but saying he never plays it forward is nonsense.

If all he ever did was pass back to a defender to punt it forward then how has he ended up as the player in the squad with the highest number of final passes before a shot on goal per game, in the squad?

He does plenty of line breaking forward passes and through balls for our strikers and Boyle. You must just have your eyes shut when they happen.

01-05-2021, 05:15 PM
He was pish today no doubt, and can definitely be guilty of slowing the play down too much, but saying he never plays it forward is nonsense.

If all he ever did was pass back to a defender to punt it forward then how has he ended up as the player in the squad with the highest number of final passes before a shot on goal per game, in the squad?

He does plenty of line breaking forward passes and through balls for our strikers and Boyle. You must just have your eyes shut when they happen.
Game, set, match.

01-05-2021, 05:16 PM
We’d found a good balance without him.

Performances not been as good since he came back in. Three wins from eight in the league.

Never thought he’s been as good as others but been really poor since he came back, for me.

Mutu
01-05-2021, 05:17 PM
Here we go, all the usual suspects piling onto Newell as soon as things turn south after a very good month for him.

Didn't see the game but it sounds like it was a pretty poor team performance. Harsh to pile one one player in particular.

Key West
01-05-2021, 05:17 PM

Afraid I agree with this, a very neat and tidy player who never looks like scoring a goal and as others have pointed out he doesn’t click with Irvine, I’ve seen worse though.

01-05-2021, 05:28 PM

The stats also show him to have the most tackles and interceptions (presumably excluding the defence) as well. Based purely on stats it would suggest he’s our best defensive midfielder as well as our most creative. In reality not sure I’d argue the case for him being either.

A good player but one of the first I’d be looking to upgrade on next season if we’re to improve further.

01-05-2021, 05:37 PM
When he’s good he’s great. Doesn’t happen anywhere near often enough.

Really surprised at the number of folk that shortlisted him on the POTY thread.

01-05-2021, 05:38 PM
He had a good spell earlier in the season but now he has 'new contract' syndrome. I'd drop him for next week.

01-05-2021, 05:39 PM
He had a good spell earlier in the season but now he has 'new contract' syndrome. I'd drop him for next week.

There is nobody better though.

01-05-2021, 05:39 PM

I’d be tempted but we’ve not got many options?

01-05-2021, 05:40 PM
There is nobody better though.

Which could be part of his problem - he knows he’ll be playing every week due to the lack of competition for places.

01-05-2021, 05:41 PM
Which could be part of his problem - he knows he’ll be playing every week due to the lack of competition for places.

Possibly but, regardless of that, he should be starting next week.

01-05-2021, 05:42 PM
I’d be tempted but we’ve not got many options?

Forgot about Gogic being suspended.

Wonder how a 3 of Irvine, Hallberg, Magennis would do...even then not something I'd risk in such a big game.

Well I'm out of ideas :greengrin

01-05-2021, 05:44 PM
Forgot about Gogic being suspended.

Wonder how a 3 of Irvine, Hallberg, Magennis would do...even then not something I'd risk in such a big game.

Well I'm out of ideas :greengrin

He might be good next week - he’s due one. It’s been a while.

01-05-2021, 05:47 PM

I've said over the last few months that he's probably our most gifted footballer, but i just see someone who just wont impose himself enough on the game.

He did play one very good ball today, but i want much more than that from him. He is capable, but much too often he does the easy sideways pass or backwards one.

I also think he slows the game down as a first thought and is the main reason we are so predictable and ponderous. We let teams regroup too easily when he gets the ball as his first thought is safety first.

01-05-2021, 05:54 PM
I usually like him but he is just not consistent enough, not only match to match, but also over the 90. He did do some good things today but these were overshadowed by the "nothing" balls and mistakes, but you could probably say that of every Hibs player today. However Newell was my most often shouted at player today. If he is the "give and go guy" then after laying it off sideways or backwards he has got to work to get in space for a return ball and offer something better than leaving it to Porto or Hanlon to fire speculative long passes. Too often today he gave a pass and then ambled along with a yellow shirt directly between him and the player in possession. Lazy as f***. Looked like he didn't want it back tbh. Very disappointing.

01-05-2021, 06:07 PM
He is a very talented luxury type player, fine when we are playing well and on top but not the type of player you need in a battle and most of the games in Scotland end up as a battle, if 6 of our team win the battle with the direct oposite player than we win the game, if not then we lose. happens just a bit too often for my liking.

01-05-2021, 06:08 PM
Could be said about every player we've ever had. Can you name one who came here despite better offers?

Nisbet?

01-05-2021, 06:14 PM

Steve Archibald 😉

01-05-2021, 06:18 PM

George Best

the tornadoe
01-05-2021, 06:20 PM
Tells absolutely nothing.

Not to you obviously

01-05-2021, 06:22 PM
Not to you obviously

Or anyone else with a brain. Was good when Ross arrived last season too. He's actually just a good player.

01-05-2021, 06:26 PM
Or anyone else with a brain. Was good when Ross arrived last season too. He's actually just a good player.

Sometimes he’s excellent.

01-05-2021, 06:29 PM
Sometimes I sink a 30 foot putt.

01-05-2021, 06:30 PM

Made me chuckle :greengrin

01-05-2021, 06:31 PM
Like every other player today, he was poor today. Apart from Porto's error, he was the poorest player on the pitch. Hopefully this a wake up call that he and the team needs.

St. Johnstone were much better organised than us. So, something for JR to sort out.

01-05-2021, 06:33 PM

I was stressing the point with the “sometimes” :greengrin

01-05-2021, 06:36 PM
Like every other player today, he was poor today. Apart from Porto's error, he was the poorest player on the pitch. Hopefully this a wake up call that he and the team needs.

St. Johnstone were much better organised than us. So, something for JR to sort out.

The Saints have been a problem for us for a while especially at Easter Road. Jack seems no nearer now than he has been over the past year of cracking the St Johnstone issue, personally I'm disappointed with that. Not the first time we've been clueless against the boys from Perth in recent times. Have we (as in the management) learnt anything?? Probably but we aren't addressing it successfully are we.

01-05-2021, 06:45 PM
The Saints have been a problem for us for a while especially at Easter Road. Jack seems no nearer now than he has been over the past year of cracking the St Johnstone issue, personally I'm disappointed with that. Not the first time we've been clueless against the boys from Perth in recent times. Have we (as in the management) learnt anything?? Probably but we aren't addressing it successfully are we.

I heard that Saints are unbeaten in the last seven games at Easter Road, so not only a JR problem. If (and it's a huge if), we play them again JR has to work out how to play them.

Surely, stopping Hibs is easy, put two players on Boyle, give Doig someone fast to defend and Hibs are nullified.

the tornadoe
01-05-2021, 06:49 PM

Was that not the last season if his contract ??????

01-05-2021, 06:51 PM

Correct.

Sometimes he’s pish

Sometimes he’s awrite

Today he was pish

01-05-2021, 07:10 PM
Was that not the last season if his contract ??????

No. This season was the last of his contract.

Mutu
01-05-2021, 07:38 PM
So whats the verdict then .net?

Are those criticising Newell advocating that Hallberg or Maginnes should start against Dundee Utd?

01-05-2021, 07:40 PM

Are those criticising Newell advocating that Hallberg or Maginnes should start against Dundee Utd?

Hallberg prob will anyway in place of Gogic

Key West
01-05-2021, 07:47 PM

Fergos
01-05-2021, 07:50 PM
I heard that Saints are unbeaten in the last seven games at Easter Road, so not only a JR problem. If (and it's a huge if), we play them again JR has to work out how to play them.

Surely, stopping Hibs is easy, put two players on Boyle, give Doig someone fast to defend and Hibs are nullified.

That’s exactly what our issue is at present, we are too reliant on Boyler who has been excellent to be fair.

We do need however players like Irvine and Newell to step it up a gear in the same way as Boyler has. If they do and when they do we are a good team. JI and JN need to do it more often and in more an imposing manner.

01-05-2021, 08:02 PM

Injuries and suspensions are significant - Murphy, Cadden and Gogic, but I don’t think our best team is obvious.

Newell and Porteous are the two most obvious examples of players who seem to flit effortlessly between being being our best and worst players and you never know what you’re going to get from them.

I’ve never actually minded Hallberg, I think he’s a pretty good player and we looked a more balanced side when he was in it a month or two back. Putting him in for a notoriously hot and cold player is not the most bonkers suggestion I’ve ever heard.

Newell’s greatest asset is his set piece delivery, which we strangely sometimes seem to overlook even when he’s on the park.

cameronw-hfc
01-05-2021, 08:03 PM

This myth always makes me laugh. People that think footballers don't try have no idea. Yes one in every however many footballers are bad eggs, but the vast majority aren't, and the vast majority don't deserve that sort of assumptions on them.

Newell is a good player, but he's not going to go past 7 players then score, or pick out Scott Allan-esque passes. He covers more ground than anyone statistically so to insinuate anything about him trying less just isn't true.

I look at him more like a Mcgeouch or Fyvie. Not playing Allan like passes, but tidy on the ball and keeps us ticking. He keeps possession more often than not, and moves the ball intelligently most of the time. He just doesn't do eye catching things all the time.

01-05-2021, 08:11 PM
He is a very talented luxury type player, fine when we are playing well and on top but not the type of player you need in a battle and most of the games in Scotland end up as a battle, if 6 of our team win the battle with the direct oposite player than we win the game, if not then we lose. happens just a bit too often for my liking.

You've just described Mallan who the manager was happy to see go out on loan.

01-05-2021, 08:13 PM
You've just described Mallan who the manager was happy to see go out on loan.

When Mallan starts every week for a top 3 SPL side, I'll believe it. He isn't as good as Newall, he just isn't.

hhibs
01-05-2021, 08:20 PM
This myth always makes me laugh. People that think footballers don't try have no idea. Yes one in every however many footballers are bad eggs, but the vast majority aren't, and the vast majority don't deserve that sort of assumptions on them.

Newell is a good player, but he's not going to go past 7 players then score, or pick out Scott Allan-esque passes. He covers more ground than anyone statistically so to insinuate anything about him trying less just isn't true.

I look at him more like a Mcgeouch or Fyvie. Not playing Allan like passes, but tidy on the ball and keeps us ticking. He keeps possession more often than not, and moves the ball intelligently most of the time. He just doesn't do eye catching things all the time.

It is clear to me, not only is it rare for him to get to into a goal scoring position but when he does he can't hit a barn door.

Apart from that, he is a good payer

01-05-2021, 10:00 PM
No idea how Newell stayed on the pitch, with a booking, yet we subbed off Gogic?

I'd get it if Newell was a threat going forward, but he's not. At all.

Clearly has the attributes to be that player, but he's so negative it's frustrating.

Mutu
01-05-2021, 10:06 PM
No idea how Newell stayed on the pitch, with a booking, yet we subbed off Gogic?

I'd get it if Newell was a threat going forward, but he's not. At all.

Clearly has the attributes to be that player, but he's so negative it's frustrating.

Are you honestly saying that Gogic is more of a threat than Newell when we're chasing a game?

You don't even need to be a fan of Newell to understand that his set piece deliveries alone is worth keeping him on the pitch for.

Honestly, what are people expecting from Newell? And who are they wanting instead?

Some absurd posts in this thread.

supermcginn
01-05-2021, 10:07 PM
When Mallan starts every week for a top 3 SPL side, I'll believe it. He isn't as good as Newall, he just isn't.

Neither could lace scott allan's boots although mallan does have goals in him. Newell is the worst of the three.

01-05-2021, 10:12 PM
Are you honestly saying that Gogic is more of a threat than Newell when we're chasing a game?

You don't even need to be a fan of Newell to understand that his set piece deliveries alone is worth keeping him on the pitch for.

Honestly, what are people expecting from Newell? And who are they wanting instead?

What are people expecting of Newell? A lot more than he's currently offering. That's for sure.

And yes, the last month or so I genuinely think Gogic has offered more then Newell from midfield. At least Gogic is box to box recently. Newell picks the ball up in our own half then more often than not passes to Hanlon or Porto.

And I've lost count of his set pieces that go straight to the goalie.

Mutu
01-05-2021, 10:21 PM
What are people expecting of Newell? A lot more than he's currently offering. That's for sure.

And yes, the last month or so I genuinely think Gogic has offered more then Newell from midfield. At least Gogic is box to box recently. Newell picks the ball up in our own half then more often than not passes to Hanlon or Porto.

And I've lost count of his set pieces that go straight to the goalie.

And why is he passing to Hanlon and Porteous all the time?

01-05-2021, 10:27 PM
And why is he passing to Hanlon and Porteous all the time?

Absolutely no idea when Gogic and Irvine aren't. He's a frustratingly negative player who should be creating more than he does.

I 100% appreciate its his first season playing CM, probably the hardest position on the pitch but we need more from him.

01-05-2021, 11:10 PM
Neither could lace scott allan's boots although mallan does have goals in him. Newell is the worst of the three.

Na, Newall is a significantly better player than Mallan. Isn't even close. Lives off the odd good strike, generally play is nowhere near Newalls level.

cubehindthegoal
02-05-2021, 12:12 AM

He isn’t anywhere near as good. Newall has improvements he could work on ... as do most players ... but he also offers so much so often ... and is a big reason why we are in third place just now.

02-05-2021, 07:56 AM
Newell has far more poor games than good one’s, a player of his experience should be imposing himself on other midfields but simply doesn’t preferring to opt for the easy/defensive pass the vast majority of the time. Only time he seems prepared to take people on or create opportunities is when the team is on top. Frustrating thing is that the guy clearly has the skill and ability but goes into hiding far too often for my liking. Newell/Irvine combination does not work for me.

Mutu
02-05-2021, 08:07 AM
Absolutely no idea when Gogic and Irvine aren't. He's a frustratingly negative player who should be creating more than he does.

I 100% appreciate its his first season playing CM, probably the hardest position on the pitch but we need more from him.

Negative player?

If he's passing back to the centre backs it's because nothing is on. We have had issues all season long playing out from the back, especially against sides like St Johnstone who are compact in the midfield.

Pinning that tactical deficiency on Newell alone is ridiculous in my view. It is a wider issue which just so happens to be highlighted when the deepest midfielder, often Newell, receives the ball and has few options.

02-05-2021, 08:20 AM
Negative player?

If he's passing back to the centre backs it's because nothing is on. We have had issues all season long playing out from the back, especially against sides like St Johnstone who are compact in the midfield.

Pinning that tactical deficiency on Newell alone is ridiculous in my view. It is a wider issue which just so happens to be highlighted when the deepest midfielder, often Newell, receives the ball and has few options.

That's absolutely fine,and of course you're allowed your view.

My issue is there are other options though, and Newell decides against them, opting to play a safer often backwards pass. If there weren't any other options I wouldn't be complaining about it.

02-05-2021, 08:31 AM

:agree: All 3 have good and bad points. I like all 3 but if you need a goal in a game ( which some people seem to forget the importance of when judging midfielders) then I know which two I'm looking to.

Na, Newall is a significantly better player than Mallan. Isn't even close. Lives off the odd good strike, generally play is nowhere near Newalls level.

"Anyone with a brain" would find these statements questionable. :wink:

GoalsMcGinley
02-05-2021, 08:35 AM

This. Been absolutely woeful since he signed his new deal.

GoalsMcGinley
02-05-2021, 08:35 AM
A fit, energetic, LEFT-sided player should be a priority.

We have one. He’s on loan at Dunfermline!

02-05-2021, 08:39 AM
Newel is a very good player at this level. His work rate and ball retention are fantastic. Every player has off days but Newell has had a good season and Hibs are a better team when he’s playing.

02-05-2021, 08:44 AM
We have one. He’s on loan at Dunfermline!

Who's that? If it's Murray you're talking about he's not left sided and he's not even a regular starter.

Newell basically needs a boot up the erse. Loads of talent but needs to realise how good he actually is, impose himself more in games and stop passing the buck by playing it safe.

GoalsMcGinley
02-05-2021, 08:47 AM
Fraser plays off the left 99% of the time. Even as a right footer

Highwayman
02-05-2021, 09:18 AM
The player Joe Newell reminds me of is Jorge. Claros.
He who was present during the the questionable reign of Pat Fenlon.
Both had and have good qualities.Give them space and time to play and they will do damage.
However stick someone down their throats and bully them and their contribution diminishes.
Joe however has scored one more goal than Jorge,he didn’t score any.
There is definitely a place for Newell at ER,but as a matter of priority JR has to find a system whereby he gets the best out of Joe and Jackson Irvine.

02-05-2021, 09:23 AM
Newel is a very good player at this level. His work rate and ball retention are fantastic. Every player has off days but Newell has had a good season and Hibs are a better team when he’s playing.

Yesterday’s game was a perfect chance for him to prove he’s a very good player at this level. Sadly he didn’t.

It’s frustrating because he definitely seems capable of a lot more. He had one great run to the edge of the St J box and nearly created a chance. But most of the match he was receiving the ball with his back to their goal, couldn’t see the Saints players trying to dispossess him and could only pass to one of our defenders.

For me he should be opening his body up and giving himself more options - either recycling the ball, playing a give and go, or a longer pass.

02-05-2021, 09:29 AM

Thought we had a better balance in midfield in the games he missed and our form has been patchy since he came back in to the team.

02-05-2021, 10:15 AM
:agree: All 3 have good and bad points. I like all 3 but if you need a goal in a game ( which some people seem to forget the importance of when judging midfielders) then I know which two I'm looking to.

"Anyone with a brain" would find these statements questionable. :wink:

No, they genuinely wouldn't.

Yeah, Mallan is good for a goal. Otherwise, he offers next to nothing, hence why he's been pumped on loan while Newall remains a key player.

McGinn never scored many goals, I guess you'd have Mallan over him?

02-05-2021, 10:16 AM
This. Been absolutely woeful since he signed his new deal.

Absolute rubbish. He has had many good games since then.

02-05-2021, 10:48 AM
I just feel he plays within himself.

He has so many desirable qualities. Tall, strong, athletic and really good on the ball with the vision to match.

When he first joined he was inconsistent but showed good powerful runs at times and great delivery. Since he’s moved to the middle of the park seldom do you see him making these same runs.

If he added the odd run from a deep central position to his game it would transform him Imo and he would look much better. He can do so much more than 5-10 yard passes to other defenders.

I actually prefer when the opposition press him tightly as it almost sharpens him up and he’s able to turn and get away from them.

I see him having the potential to be a similar player to what Kenny McLean was for Aberdeen, he just needs a bit more drive.

the tornadoe
02-05-2021, 10:49 AM

So the best we have seen from him was when he needed a new contract from us or someone else , thats not in question by anyone surely, he was playing really good intelligent football , imposing himself on games and showing us all what he could do . Did very little before or since that period, only reason he has retained his place in the team is we have very very little in the way of an alternative and that is the problem throughout most of the team.

02-05-2021, 11:15 AM
No, they genuinely wouldn't.

Yeah, Mallan is good for a goal. Otherwise, he offers next to nothing, hence why he's been pumped on loan while Newall remains a key player.

McGinn never scored many goals, I guess you'd have Mallan over him?

McGinn scored plenty of goals for Hibs:aok: Joe Newell has 2.

You stated that Newell is significantly better than Mallen, and its not even close. Well those statements are quite frankly nonsense, because there is a balanced argument to be had about their respective contributions to a Hibs team for anyone with an open mind.

I'm not about to get into a pointless back and forth with you though, so I'll leave it at that.

02-05-2021, 11:42 AM
I just feel he plays within himself.

He has so many desirable qualities. Tall, strong, athletic and really good on the ball with the vision to match.

When he first joined he was inconsistent but showed good powerful runs at times and great delivery. Since he’s moved to the middle of the park seldom do you see him making these same runs.

If he added the odd run from a deep central position to his game it would transform him Imo and he would look much better. He can do so much more than 5-10 yard passes to other defenders.

I actually prefer when the opposition press him tightly as it almost sharpens him up and he’s able to turn and get away from them.

I see him having the potential to be a similar player to what Kenny McLean was for Aberdeen, he just needs a bit more drive.

Good post UW.

Don't know if he is playing to orders but there was definitely a case yesterday when we were whacking our heads off a brick wall for JR to have a chat with Joe at half time with a view to him being more progressive on the ball in the 2nd half to try to break through the opposition lines with a run or two. As it was Boyle was the only player trying to break the defensive line and that was predictable so easily covered by St J by dumping a couple of players on him. If another couple of players are trying to break through it is much harder to cover them all or double up and the likes of Joe (and Murphy) have the ability to break those lines.
As it was all the play was in front of the St J. lines and they easily marked and crowded us out.

Fingers crossed that Murphy is up to speed and ready to go if we face St J again this season.
Tippy tappy has yielded zero goals in 3 matches against them so would be tempted to put Daz between Porteous and Hanlon if that game happens then just batter St J. with everything else with a view to overwhelming their strategy by the sheer number, speed and aggressiveness of our attacking and height and power at set pieces.

02-05-2021, 11:47 AM
When Newall's allowed to/given the space to pass he's a decent player certainly, but when he's playing against a team that mark tight he struggles and runs out of ideas. I'd say he's a good midfielder, not a classy one and certainly not a bad one. I'd say the same about Irvine.

02-05-2021, 11:49 AM
His name has been misspelt on half the posts on this thread.

Pedant mode off. :greengrin

Tully
02-05-2021, 11:54 AM
Newell along with the rest of the team from the start to the finish of the game done nothing, we can moan all day about how bad we were, the biggest problem for me was the way we were set up and after losing the goal we had plenty time to change the shape , but once again the lack of depth in our squad was shown up with a bench full of defensive midfielders and defenders, and a manager who seems to lack a plan b, corners and free kicks never seem to have any imagination or change to them a punt into the box and hope for the best is the preferred option, also as soon as we start to struggle in games we resort to high balls up the park, the one time porteous should have did this he played a shocking pass across his own box, next week's semi final is massive what team will turn up for hibs time will tell

02-05-2021, 12:47 PM

You stated that Newell is significantly better than Mallen, and its not even close. Well those statements are quite frankly nonsense, because there is a balanced argument to be had about their respective contributions to a Hibs team for anyone with an open mind.

I'm not about to get into a pointless back and forth with you though, so I'll leave it at that.

McGinn 101 league games 12 goals, 6 in the cups.
Newell 50 league games 1 goal. 1 in the Betfred.

Dalkeith Boy
02-05-2021, 03:17 PM

Totally agree with you. also, not sure if he is being coached this way but too many times he chooses to play the ball backwards.

02-05-2021, 03:20 PM

They aren't nonsense. Anyone watching them both play for Hibs this season could see it. Mallan offered very little.

I have an open mind. I've had many open minded debates about why Mallan just isn't good enough for a good Hibs side. Ross agrees :)

02-05-2021, 04:16 PM
Newell had a bad game but has had a good season. This place is mental sometimes.

Comparing him with McGinn doesn’t work because they’re different midfielders but McGinn is the sort of talent that a club like Hibs can get maybe once in a generation.

02-05-2021, 04:25 PM

Absolutely this

02-05-2021, 04:26 PM
Newell had a bad game but has had a good season. This place is mental sometimes.

Comparing him with McGinn doesn’t work because they’re different midfielders but McGinn is the sort of talent that a club like Hibs can get maybe once in a generation.

I don’t think criticism of Newell makes the place mental.

Plenty people (me included) have been a lot less convinced by him than others over the course of the season. I don’t think he’s been playing well since returning from injury.

02-05-2021, 04:29 PM
Absolutely this

Disagree think Irvine exactly the sort of player we need though seems off it at the moment hopefully back to form in semi final

02-05-2021, 04:41 PM

A fairer comparison is probably McGeough. I don’t think Newell is in the same class in terms of influencing a game and dictating the tempo. Technically he is probably as good, but Newell is playing the role that should make us tick, but I do’t feel he does. Newell is good when we’re playing well, but in all the performances we throw in like yesterday he doesn’t do anything to change that flow. That criticism is levelled at the rest of the midfield as well.

The only mitigation I’d make for Irvine is the fact he didn’t have a pre season and it’s maybe caught up with him now.

02-05-2021, 04:58 PM
Disagree think Irvine exactly the sort of player we need though seems off it at the moment hopefully back to form in semi final

I loved Irvine when he first came in, seem to give us something we had been missing. But I don't think for the last wee while he's looked at it in comparison to his bright start.

Dmas
02-05-2021, 05:04 PM
A fairer comparison is probably McGeough. I don’t think Newell is in the same class in terms of influencing a game and dictating the tempo. Technically he is probably as good, but Newell is playing the role that should make us tick, but I do’t feel he does. Newell is good when we’re playing well, but in all the performances we throw in like yesterday he doesn’t do anything to change that flow. That criticism is levelled at the rest of the midfield as well.

The only mitigation I’d make for Irvine is the fact he didn’t have a pre season and it’s maybe caught up with him now.

Newell hasn't got close to the form he was in after he got back from injury that's for certain, I'm unsure on if its him or if he's playing too deep, I was giving him a bit grief for it but after his performance Vs QOS where he was noticeably higher up the part he was far more involved and looked much more confident in what he was doing which made me think that maybe he's being asked to do a different job now than he was previously

02-05-2021, 06:07 PM
I don’t think Newell is the problem, he is a class footballer as we have seen. What we seem to lack is the attack minded midfielder in that 3 that we usually play with. Currently, our midfield is far too defensive minded and there isn’t much link to the attackers.

We are missing the Allan type role IMO, but if he was playing, or somebody similar it would mean dropping one of Newell, Irvine or Gogic.

02-05-2021, 06:21 PM
I don’t think Newell is the problem, he is a class footballer as we have seen. What we seem to lack is the attack minded midfielder in that 3 that we usually play with. Currently, our midfield is far too defensive minded and there isn’t much link to the attackers.

We are missing the Allan type role IMO, but if he was playing, or somebody similar it would mean dropping one of Newell, Irvine or Gogic.

It shouldn’t be about ‘dropping one’ though, we really need to start building a squad. Now it’s not going to happen short term, but if our long term aim is to challenge at the top of the league then having a starting 11 isn’t going to do that. We should be able to change our line up week to week with little impact on our results. I doubt rangers are asking which of their midfield players should be dropped, week to week Davis, Arfield, Jack, Kamara, Aribo etc will all play their part. While a smaller squad was important this year due to finances, we have to be looking to ‘bulk’ up so we don’t get to the point where majority of our squad are playing 90% of games, it becomes predictable to play against and players end up knackered.

Mutu
02-05-2021, 06:55 PM
It shouldn’t be about ‘dropping one’ though, we really need to start building a squad. Now it’s not going to happen short term, but if our long term aim is to challenge at the top of the league then having a starting 11 isn’t going to do that. We should be able to change our line up week to week with little impact on our results. I doubt rangers are asking which of their midfield players should be dropped, week to week Davis, Arfield, Jack, Kamara, Aribo etc will all play their part. While a smaller squad was important this year due to finances, we have to be looking to ‘bulk’ up so we don’t get to the point where majority of our squad are playing 90% of games, it becomes predictable to play against and players end up knackered.

This is spot on. We need to be building a midfield with multiple players who can take the ball under pressure. Our creativity can't just come from Newell. If he has a bad game we need others to step up.

02-05-2021, 06:56 PM

Irvine doesn’t seem to have the energy and swagger I remember when he was a Ross County player. I don’t think he’s been at his best for us.

02-05-2021, 07:04 PM
Irvine doesn’t seem to have the energy and swagger I remember when he was a Ross County player. I don’t think he’s been at his best for us.

He’s another that hasn’t had a pre season (I don’t think), it’s very tricky to come in when you’ve been out cold for months.

02-05-2021, 07:54 PM
Do you miss him beating a man and playing Boyle through today? Surely an example of him trying to create when he was playing poorly.

How quick was our play without him?

Are you talking about the one good pass he did make yesterday and Boyle was offside anyway?

02-05-2021, 07:56 PM

Gogic was far better than Newall yesterday, anybody who thinks otherwise is absurd.

02-05-2021, 07:57 PM
They aren't nonsense. Anyone watching them both play for Hibs this season could see it. Mallan offered very little.

I have an open mind. I've had many open minded debates about why Mallan just isn't good enough for a good Hibs side. Ross agrees :)
Based on Saturday's display not many of them are.

02-05-2021, 08:01 PM
Are you talking about the one good pass he did make yesterday and Boyle was offside anyway?

No. Boyle was onside, resulted in a Hibs corner.

Irvine played the one in which Boyle was offside.

03-05-2021, 09:06 AM
No. Boyle was onside, resulted in a Hibs corner.

Irvine played the one in which Boyle was offside.

Irvine also crossed it in for our one effort on target by Boyle in the first half.

03-05-2021, 09:35 AM
Negative player?

Newell spent much of the game with his back to the opposition goal, facing our centre backs. So of course little else was on - he couldn’t see the rest of our team. This also meant he couldn’t see the Saints player closing him down and trying to dispossess him.

He is exactly the player that should be making things happen. We had so little control in midfield yesterday.