View Full Version : This is how it feels (St Johnstone 01 05 21)

01-05-2021, 11:12 AM
Folks, I’ve just been urgently referred to the Eye Pavilion in Edinburgh with an appointment for 1.30 and I fear I may not be back in time to watch the game and then write my report.

Am looking for a volunteer to take over the job today. I’m not sure I’ll be able to access this thread before I return home and so I’m hoping the first to volunteer will take on the task and that others reading this request for help will realise it’s covered.

Thanks in advance

01-05-2021, 11:17 AM
I’m sure there are other more capable people than me to volunteer.

Wishing you speedy treatment and recovery!

EDIT: If no one else volunteers I will!

Jay
01-05-2021, 11:17 AM
Jeez dont worry about the match report J. Just go get sorted.

01-05-2021, 11:25 AM
Yep, just get yourself sorted out JC.

01-05-2021, 11:32 AM
Good luck Jonny.

01-05-2021, 11:37 AM
Hope all goes well John. Your health comes first.
B

Captain Emerald
01-05-2021, 11:45 AM
All the best John.

01-05-2021, 11:48 AM
Your health comes first JB

More to life than HIBS 😃

Get sorted and get back

👍🏿

147lothian
01-05-2021, 11:54 AM
Let us know how your health is Jonnyboy after you get back, I hope it all goes well, your thread has always been a joy to read but your health comes first, all the best

01-05-2021, 11:55 AM
Folks, I’ve just been urgently referred to the Eye Pavilion in Edinburgh with an appointment for 1.30 and I fear I may not be back in time to watch the game and then write my report.

Am looking for a volunteer to take over the job today. I’m not sure I’ll be able to access this thread before I return home and so I’m hoping the first to volunteer will take on the task and that others reading this request for help will realise it’s covered.

Thanks in advance

Christ I thought I had missed the game there for a moment when I saw the thread! 🤣

Hope all goes well for you 👍

01-05-2021, 12:31 PM
Hope you’re ok, JB.

01-05-2021, 12:34 PM
Saw the thread title and thought I’d missed the game!!

Take care pal

01-05-2021, 12:36 PM
Hope everything goes okay JB.

01-05-2021, 01:20 PM

Christ I thought I had missed the game there for a moment when I saw the thread! 🤣

Hope all goes well for you 👍

So did I.
Cold sweat for a second :greengrin

Aubenas
01-05-2021, 01:20 PM
Take care Johnny

adam middlemass
01-05-2021, 01:49 PM
​
Take care Johnny

All the best jonnyboy :aok:

01-05-2021, 01:51 PM
I’ve told him many times, he writes it before the game, and then adds on at FT
Surprised he’d didn’t do it this morning😀

01-05-2021, 01:59 PM
Health always comes first - best wishes.

01-05-2021, 02:28 PM
I’m sure you could have pre written this one.

Hibs start with most of the pressure and territory but we’re sucker punched by some terrible defending on St Johnstone’s first attack.

St Johnstone defend tenaciously before adding a second to their tally in the 80th minute as Hibs try in vain to chase the game, leaving acres at the back.

Jack Ross subs on Stevenson on the 65th minute.

Hope your eye is OK.

01-05-2021, 02:30 PM
Best wishes ,Johnny

01-05-2021, 02:53 PM
It feels the same as any other game against St Johnstone these last few years . Awful

01-05-2021, 02:55 PM
JB get everything sorted - hopefully 20/20 restored so you can see us progress and see what we can do in this little thing called The Scottish Cup!

01-05-2021, 04:09 PM
Hope you are okay Jonny.
You missed Brussel sprout.
Appalling game.
Porteous sold the jerseys early on then it was St J. rope a dope after that and we struggled to create chances despite having the ball all game.
Ryan, Ryan, Ryan (shaking ma heid)

We lacked a progressive midfielder to break their two defensive lines.
Newell needs to be more adventurous. He was dreadfully slow and ineffectual today.
Magennis came on as a sub and was similarly bland and ineffectual.
Drey Wright did well and shouldn't have been the 1st player substituted.
A very stale looking Hibs midfield today.

Sheep_Nae_Mair
01-05-2021, 04:15 PM
MATCH REPORT. Hibs were crap. So were St. Johnstone.

01-05-2021, 05:27 PM

Thanks in advance

Big shoes to fill JB.
Hope your eye appointment went well.

01-05-2021, 05:39 PM
THIS IS HOW IT FEELS ST. JOHNSTONE, 1.05.21

MATCH REPORT

So here we are then, at the business end of the season, and Hibs fans have lots to be excited about. Favourites for third place, favourites for the Scottish Cup – this kind of opportunity doesn’t happen very often. All we have to do is take it…

Today we are back to league duties, as we welcome St Johnstone to Easter Road.

The Saints have been tricky opponents this season, most notably in the League Cup where they dumped Hibs out of the competition with relative ease before going on to lift the trophy. Their form since Calum Davidson took over from Tommy Wright has been impressive and Hibs would need to be at it to get anything out of this afternoon.

With two games standing between us and lifting the oldest football trophy in the world again, there was much chatter through the week about whether Jack would mix freshen things up and rest a few players for this one. In the end, an ankle injury picked up by Kevin Nisbet forced his hand, with Squirrel taking his place up front and forgotten man Drey Wright coming into the right side of midfield. The only other change was Rocky returning in goal, as expected.

Saints made seven changes from their cup win over the Rangers, with Eliot Parish in goal and Callum Booth, Glen Middleton and Michael O’Halloran amongst the starters.

The pitch still looked sparse in places, but much better than the abomination of earlier in the season, and the weather clear and dry. Game on!
The early exchanges saw the ball in air more than on the floor, but it was clear that today’s shape was best described as a 4 4 2, with Gogic and Newell sitting in the middle, Drey Wright on the right and Jackson Irvine seemingly allowed to go anywhere he wanted. Up front, Boyle was playing off the shoulder, looking to run on to balls played in behind St Johnstone’s back line.

A Newell free kick on 3 minutes offered the first chance to Hibs but Doidge’s header was too weak to trouble their keeper. There were a few other half-chances: Boyle released the ball to Doig whose cross was too close to their keeper, Irvine slid a through ball to Boyle but his touch let him down. St Johnstone were keeping it very compact, not allowing much through. It was clear we’d need quality final ball to get a goal but Hibs were feeding off scraps… the consolation was that St Johnstone were feeding off nothing at all.

The game plan was undone after little more than 20 minutes. First O’Halloran was allowed to chase the ball all the way into our box while Hibs players stood and watched. The danger was cleared at the expense of a corner which came to nothing. Then O’Halloran burst down the right. Porteous seemed to have everything under control, but inexplicably passed the ball right across our box to Glen Middleton, who no doubt couldn’t believe his luck. He had time to pick his spot, and Hibs were a goal down.

The camera found Jack Ross standing on the side lines, hands in pockets, clearly fuming.

Were Hibs going to get back into this? Boyle was still trying to make runs in behind but was flagged offside. McGinn got in a cross from the right that was cleared for a corner.

Cut to Jack. Still fuming.

Joe Newell earned himself a booking bringing down Middleton after carelessly giving away possession. A Saints player threw themselves to the ground to try and con the ref but he didn’t buy it. Irvine clipped a delicious ball into the box for Boyle but Parish saved it at close range. We were creating some opportunities but St Johnstone were dealing with them.

Then on 35 minutes, disaster! The Hibs Pass feed cuts and is replaced by a green screen of death.

I tried refreshing the page, logging out and then back in again, but to no avail. I tried checking the match day thread on Hibs.net to see what was happening but that wasn’t responding either. Increasingly frantic scenes at Casa Jacomo as I turned to the BBC website to find out what was going on. Still 0-1 apparently. I can’t tell you anything more about the first half.

The second half started brighter, with Joe Newell getting forward for once and slipping the ball to Boyle. Unfortunately he got the ball stuck under his feet and the chance was lost.

Jack is now barking instructions from the touchline.

Doig won a corner and after bouncing around the box it fell to Gogic, who attempted an overhead kick. It went miles over the bar.
Hibs had a decent wee spell of possession but it didn’t really amount to much, and a surging counter attack from O’Halloran was a reminder that another goal for the Saints would kill this stone dead.

Thoughts started turning to the bench, and who might be able to come on and change this for the better. Kyle Magennis and Melker Hallberg were the choices, but the pattern of the game continued much as before… the odd chance here and there, but while there was marginally more urgency, there was no real quality, until Irvine fashioned a great pass through to Boyle who had the ball in the net in a flash. Unfortunately – but correctly – he was flagged for offside.

There was a possible shout for a penalty too but to be honest after seeing the replay several times I still can’t say that it was, and none of the Hibs players appeared to appeal for one at the time.

Saints, meanwhile, brought on Stevie May and David Wotherspoon to shore things up, and soon Wotherspoon and Booth were combining well on their left to force us to concede a corner. Good players, those two.

In fact, St Johnstone seemed to have a squad with more depth. Seven changes yet no real drop in standards? They aren’t a bad set up at all.

The final 10 minutes played out much like the previous 80 – Hibs knocking at the door, but never really threatening. Boyle had a surging run that could have produced something… but then at the other end Wotherspoon was inches from connecting with a cross which would have given Saints that two goal lead. Fortunately Porto managed to avoid having another moment of madness.

For the post match analysis, Tanner and Joelle were joined by Rob Jones, looking golden as always. The big man categorised Hibs as devoid of ideas, with players seemingly unwilling or unable to find spaces and affect the game. Hard to argue with that.

A big missed opportunity today, and don't we know it.

PLAYER RATINGS

ROCKY – 6 No chance with the goal, barely had another save to make

SPM – 7 Another decent performance from Mr Consistency, but why are our midfielders always giving the ball to him to try and create something? Shouldn’t they be doing that themselves?

PORTO – 1 Oh dear. You’re a centre back. Don’t give the ball to the opponents in our own box

HANLON – 7 Didn’t put a foot wrong today. Even had a go as left winger when he saw no one else was creating much. My Man of the Match

DOIG – 6 Given he was our sole left sided player for much of the match, did a decent job

FORGOT ABOUT DREY – 6 He’s hard working and willing, I’ll give him that. He just doesn't seem very good on the ball.

GOGIC – 7 Performed the Gogic role

NEWELL – 5 Just seems to play well within himself. Some good moments, but gave the ball away at times too. Wish he would get forward more and make things happen

JACKO – 6 Listen mate, you’re clearly a footballer. When are you going to deliver a match-winning performance?

SQUIRREL – 6 Worked hard, didn’t have much to work with though.

DOIDGEY – 6 Worked hard, didn’t have much to work with though

SUBS

MAGENNIS – 5 See that number on your shirt? That’s the level you need to be at, every week. Most frequently to be found on the wrong side of his opponent

HALLBERG – 5 Malker delivers a very Malker contribution

LEWIS – 5 Would have been perfect if we were 1-0 up to see out the game. Sadly we weren’t

BRADLEY – 5 First time I’ve seen this guy. Tried to do something, it didn’t come off

REF

GREG AITKEN – No complaints. If we had VAR and the 15th angle super slo mo showed that in fact we did deserve a penalty then I’d be spewing. But we don’t and I’m not.

Best wished JohnnyBoy, come back next week and remind us how it's done.

01-05-2021, 05:42 PM
Hi folks, thanks for all the good wishes.

Spent 4 hours at the Eye Pavilion and had more drops than a courier as far as my eyes are concerned 😎. This all started when I went to the optician this morning as I’ve been having some problems with my left eye. He took eye pressures for both eyes, said the left one is ok but the right one read as 44 when the norm is 20-24. Quick phone call by the optician and I was carted off to the Eye Pavilion.

Long afternoon made longer by my secret wee looks on Livescore and I left the hospital with my blood pressure raging 😂

Sounds like I didn’t miss much though

01-05-2021, 05:50 PM

MATCH REPORT

So here we are then, at the business end of the season, and Hibs fans have lots to be excited about. Favourites for third place, favourites for the Scottish Cup – this kind of opportunity doesn’t happen very often. All we have to do is take it…

The Saints have been tricky opponents this season, most notably in the League Cup where they dumped Hibs out of the competition with relative ease before going on to lift the trophy. Their form since Calum Davidson took over from Tommy Wright has been impressive and Hibs would need to be at it to get anything out of this afternoon.

With two games standing between us and lifting the oldest football trophy in the world again, there was much chatter through the week about whether Jack would mix freshen things up and rest a few players for this one. In the end, an ankle injury picked up by Kevin Nisbet forced his hand, with Squirrel taking his place up front and forgotten man Drey Wright coming into the right side of midfield. The only other change was Rocky returning in goal, as expected.

Saints made seven changes from their cup win over the Rangers, with Eliot Parish in goal and Callum Booth, Glen Middleton and Michael O’Halloran amongst the starters.

The pitch still looked sparse in places, but much better than the abomination of earlier in the season, and the weather clear and dry. Game on!
The early exchanges saw the ball in air more than on the floor, but it was clear that today’s shape was best described as a 4 4 2, with Gogic and Newell sitting in the middle, Drey Wright on the right and Jackson Irvine seemingly allowed to go anywhere he wanted. Up front, Boyle was playing off the shoulder, looking to run on to balls played in behind St Johnstone’s back line.

A Newell free kick on 3 minutes offered the first chance to Hibs but Doidge’s header was too weak to trouble their keeper. There were a few other half-chances: Boyle released the ball to Doig whose cross was too close to their keeper, Irvine slid a through ball to Boyle but his touch let him down. St Johnstone were keeping it very compact, not allowing much through. It was clear we’d need quality final ball to get a goal but Hibs were feeding off scraps… the consolation was that St Johnstone were feeding off nothing at all.

The game plan was undone after little more than 20 minutes. First O’Halloran was allowed to chase the ball all the way into our box while Hibs players stood and watched. The danger was cleared at the expense of a corner which came to nothing. Then O’Halloran burst down the right. Porteous seemed to have everything under control, but inexplicably passed the ball right across our box to Glen Middleton, who no doubt couldn’t believe his luck. He had time to pick his spot, and Hibs were a goal down.

The camera found Jack Ross standing on the side lines, hands in pockets, clearly fuming.

Were Hibs going to get back into this? Boyle was still trying to make runs in behind but was flagged offside. McGinn got in a cross from the right that was cleared for a corner.

Joe Newell earned himself a booking bringing down Middleton after carelessly giving away possession. A Saints player threw themselves to the ground to try and con the ref but he didn’t buy it. Irvine clipped a delicious ball into the box for Boyle but Parish saved it at close range. We were creating some opportunities but St Johnstone were dealing with them.

Then on 35 minutes, disaster! The Hibs Pass feed cuts and is replaced by a green screen of death.

I tried refreshing the page, logging out and then back in again, but to no avail. I tried checking the match day thread on Hibs.net to see what was happening but that wasn’t responding either. Increasingly frantic scenes at Casa Jacomo as I turned to the BBC website to find out what was going on. Still 0-1 apparently. I can’t tell you anything more about the first half.

The second half started brighter, with Joe Newell getting forward for once and slipping the ball to Boyle. Unfortunately he got the ball stuck under his feet and the chance was lost.

Doig won a corner and after bouncing around the box it fell to Gogic, who attempted an overhead kick. It went miles over the bar.
Hibs had a decent wee spell of possession but it didn’t really amount to much, and a surging counter attack from O’Halloran was a reminder that another goal for the Saints would kill this stone dead.

Thoughts started turning to the bench, and who might be able to come on and change this for the better. Kyle Magennis and Melker Hallberg were the choices, but the pattern of the game continued much as before… the odd chance here and there, but while there was marginally more urgency, there was no real quality, until Irvine fashioned a great pass through to Boyle who had the ball in the net in a flash. Unfortunately – but correctly – he was flagged for offside.

There was a possible shout for a penalty too but to be honest after seeing the replay several times I still can’t say that it was, and none of the Hibs players appeared to appeal for one at the time.

Saints, meanwhile, brought on Stevie May and David Wotherspoon to shore things up, and soon Wotherspoon and Booth were combining well on their left to force us to concede a corner. Good players, those two.

In fact, St Johnstone seemed to have a squad with more depth. Seven changes yet no real drop in standards? They aren’t a bad set up at all.

The final 10 minutes played out much like the previous 80 – Hibs knocking at the door, but never really threatening. Boyle had a surging run that could have produced something… but then at the other end Wotherspoon was inches from connecting with a cross which would have given Saints that two goal lead. Fortunately Porto managed to avoid having another moment of madness.

For the post match analysis, Tanner and Joelle were joined by Rob Jones, looking golden as always. The big man categorised Hibs as devoid of ideas, with players seemingly unwilling or unable to find spaces and affect the game. Hard to argue with that.

PLAYER RATINGS

SPM – 7 Another decent performance from Mr Consistency, but why are our midfielders always giving the ball to him to try and create something? Shouldn’t they be doing that themselves?

PORTO – 1 Oh dear. You’re a centre back. Don’t give the ball to the opponents in our own box

HANLON – 7 Didn’t put a foot wrong today. Even had a go as left winger when he saw no one else was creating much. My Man of the Match

DOIG – 6 Given he was our sole left sided player for much of the match, did a decent job

FORGOT ABOUT DREY – 6 He’s hard working and willing, I’ll give him that. He just doesn't seem very good on the ball.

NEWELL – 5 Just seems to play well within himself. Some good moments, but gave the ball away at times too. Wish he would get forward more and make things happen

JACKO – 6 Listen mate, you’re clearly a footballer. When are you going to deliver a match-winning performance?

SUBS

MAGENNIS – 5 See that number on your shirt? That’s the level you need to be at, every week. Most frequently to be found on the wrong side of his opponent

LEWIS – 5 Would have been perfect if we were 1-0 up to see out the game. Sadly we weren’t

BRADLEY – 5 First time I’ve seen this guy. Tried to do something, it didn’t come off

REF

GREG AITKEN – No complaints. If we had VAR and the 15th angle super slo mo showed that in fact we did deserve a penalty then I’d be spewing. But we don’t and I’m not.

Good stuff. I agree about the Saints squad, the depth there surprised me. They’ve quietly built up something very good there on a shoestring budget, well done to them.

01-05-2021, 05:52 PM
Hi folks, thanks for all the good wishes.

Spent 4 hours at the Eye Pavilion and had more drops than a courier as far as my eyes are concerned 😎. This all started when I went to the optician this morning as I’ve been having some problems with my left eye. He took eye pressures for both eyes, said the left one is ok but the right one read as 44 when the norm is 20-24. Quick phone call by the optician and I was carted off to the Eye Pavilion.

Long afternoon made longer by my secret wee looks on Livescore and I left the hospital with my blood pressure raging 😂

Sounds like I didn’t miss much though

I almost poked my own eyes out just before the live stream died. :greengrin

01-05-2021, 05:53 PM

MATCH REPORT

PLAYER RATINGS

SUBS

REF

Very good mate. If you had given MOM to Lewis I wouldn’t have know JB wasn’t available today. :greengrin

Hope you’re well Jonny.

01-05-2021, 05:58 PM
I’m sure you could have pre written this one.

Hibs start with most of the pressure and territory but we’re sucker punched by some terrible defending on St Johnstone’s first attack.

St Johnstone defend tenaciously before adding a second to their tally in the 80th minute as Hibs try in vain to chase the game, leaving acres at the back.

Jack Ross subs on Stevenson on the 65th minute.

Hope your eye is OK.

You were almost bang on.

et_hibby
01-05-2021, 05:58 PM
Good report, Jacomo

01-05-2021, 06:05 PM
Good stuff. I agree about the Saints squad, the depth there surprised me. They’ve quietly built up something very good there on a shoestring budget, well done to them.
Man for man most would say the the majority of the Hibs players are better than their counterparts at St Johnstone but they gel as a team very well and Davidson has us well sussed. I'll certainly not be betting on us if we meet them in the Cup final.

01-05-2021, 06:07 PM
I almost poked my own eyes out just before the live stream died. :greengrin
Strangely the coverage on the Away Team tab was working fine while we had total green screen.

01-05-2021, 06:23 PM
Then on 35 minutes, relief! The Hibs Pass feed cuts and is replaced by a green screen of death.

Very good report, other than the one error which I've fixed above.

01-05-2021, 06:24 PM
Well done Jacomo

Best Wishes Jonny

P.S. don't be tempted to watch the game. Your blood pressure will soar and your bad eye will explode.
You have been warned!

CLASS OF 72 -73
01-05-2021, 06:36 PM
MATCH REPORT. Hibs were crap. So were St. Johnstone.

St Johnstone are better than us. Stats against us prove it. Nisbet absence makes Boyle ineffective and we have no one in midfield that can contribute to goals. St Johnstone know our weaknesses.
Aberdeen's early demise put us in a false position of third and are getting their act together.

01-05-2021, 06:42 PM
St Johnstone are better than us. Stats against us prove it. Nisbet absence makes Boyle ineffective and we have no one in midfield that can contribute to goals. St Johnstone know our weaknesses.
Aberdeen's early demise put us in a false position of third and are getting their act together.

Head to head they have proved to be better than us. They appear to have our number. However they are not better than us, we are currently the third best team in the country. Its a challenge that currently we arent rising too, turning it on its head plenty of teams have worked St Johnstone out and beaten them thats why they are 5th or 6th or whatever they are and we are third. To me its up to the management to find the answer and so far they have failed.

01-05-2021, 06:52 PM
Very good report, other than the one error which I've fixed above.

Thank you.

01-05-2021, 08:06 PM
You have to admire Davidson for what he's achieved to date & the squad he's invigorated & added to on a much poorer budget than Ross has.

01-05-2021, 08:44 PM
You have to admire Davidson for what he's achieved to date & the squad he's invigorated & added to on a much poorer budget than Ross has.

Absolutely. Won a trophy, top six finish. Very decent.

01-05-2021, 09:06 PM
Decent substitute performance Jacomo.

Hurry back Johnnyboy. 😉

01-05-2021, 09:34 PM

MATCH REPORT

PLAYER RATINGS

SUBS

REF

Thanks Jacomo, a terrible game but a fine report :aok:

01-05-2021, 09:40 PM
Your due that eye a pint JB . Joking aside , hope your well mate but defo dodged a bullet today .

01-05-2021, 10:04 PM
St Johnstone as always, worked their socks off and closed us down at every opportunity. Hibs response was to pass across the park at a snails pace or punt the ball up the park aimlessly.

When it's clearly not working, you look to the Manager to change formation and/or add a cutting edge from the bench. Sadly we don't have the depth of squad to do that, so when it's not happening for us on the pitch, you know there's very little chance of us turning it around.

01-05-2021, 10:10 PM
This is how it feels........****ing abysmal..........Hibs were shockingly poor against a side who offered little in the game

01-05-2021, 10:13 PM
St Johnstone as always, worked their socks off and closed us down at every opportunity. Hibs response was to pass across the park at a snails pace or punt the ball up the park aimlessly.

When it's clearly not working, you look to the Manager to change formation and/or add a cutting edge from the bench. Sadly we don't have the depth of squad to do that, so when it's not happening for us on the pitch, you know there's very little chance of us turning it around.Yip. Actually the sort of game we needed Scott Allan. Davidson's plan was to stop us and maybe nick a goal. Job done once they were presented with one

Hope JB is OK.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

02-05-2021, 10:03 AM

Don't admire him. His football is negative. Makes a McInnes team look exciting and reminds me of Hearts in that it all focussed on stopping the other team. Hunt in packs,get behind the ball, fall down,dive if necessary. Their very few goals tend to come from set pieces.

Turgid to watch. I amn't saying they should be gung ho, just that they should be creative on occasion.

02-05-2021, 10:03 AM
Thanks Jacomo, a terrible game but a fine report :aok:

Much appreciated. Didn’t want TIHIF’s run to be interrupted. It was a privilege to fill your shoes for a week but hope you are back for normal service next time out!

02-05-2021, 10:45 AM
With all Irvines critics he still played the best two passes of the game

1st half cross to Boyle
2nd half through ball to Boyle that got called offside.

He plays several brilliant passes per game but doesn’t seem to get much recognition for it.

In fairness though, I agree that were not getting the best out of him.

02-05-2021, 12:10 PM

1st half cross to Boyle

He plays several brilliant passes per game but doesn’t seem to get much recognition for it.

In fairness though, I agree that were not getting the best out of him.

He is clearly a very good footballer.

Those two passes were indeed good but we should be expecting commanding performances from him imo.

02-05-2021, 01:14 PM

1st half cross to Boyle

In fairness though, I agree that were not getting the best out of him.I totally agree, I think he gets way more criticism than he's due. He's the only player in that midfield that looks like he has an eye for a pass, it's no coincidence that Boyle's form has improved since Irvine came into the side as he's constantly looking to thread the ball into him.

There's plenty of players we should be criticising ahead of Irvine - the invisible duo of Magennis and Wright to name only a few.

02-05-2021, 02:35 PM
it feels rather deflating even 24 hours later :(

02-05-2021, 03:29 PM
How was Magennis?

02-05-2021, 04:36 PM
How was Magennis?

Looked bright when he came on but that lasted for about a minute. After that he was ineffectual.

As I said above, seemed to always be on the wrong side of his opponent or getting muscled off the ball.

hibbydog
02-05-2021, 04:47 PM
Thanks for the report. Get well soon Jonnyboy.

The point about depth in the St Johnstone squad struck a big chord with me.

It’s the Umpeenth week in a row I’ve been pulling my hair out looking at the Hibs bench which contains no game changers, whilst Allan, Mallan and Gullan are on loan?!

Baffling

02-05-2021, 06:32 PM
Has anyone seen David Gray

hibbydog
02-05-2021, 07:15 PM
Has anyone seen David Gray

Nope. Favourite Hibs player for obvious reasons but He’s contributing nothing. Time to move him on.

02-05-2021, 10:16 PM
Jacomo

Thanks for posting and taking the time and effort

Well played Sir !

03-05-2021, 07:43 AM
Jacomo

Thanks for posting and taking the time and effort

Well played Sir !

Thanks, happy to do it.

04-05-2021, 10:19 PM
Just watched the game now.

We were very flat and never looked like scoring or creating a chance.

Marciano and the defence had literally nothing to do and and St Johnstone posed next to no threat Imo. Porteous has had an absolute shocker for the goal, it appears he’s claiming he tried to clear it instead of picking a man out which I would say is untrue.

Gogic was the best out of the central midfielders imo with Newell and Irvine quiet, every good pass came from Irvine though but I expect more.

Wright for me was one of our better players. He looked composed on the ball and was willing to do 1 touch. I like how he sucks the defender in and let’s it roll across his body to create a bit of space. He won the ball back white a lot which surprised me. What he’s not though, is a right wing back that’s going to drive the team forward and take the full back on - something which is key to this team and is what Boyle, Cadden and Doig do well.

Doig for me was very quiet, not for the first time recently. Bound to happen with his age though.

Doidge works hard but something needs to do a little bit more for me. Boyle was equally as quiet with the exception of one run late on.

Magennis I feel sorry for. He’s never a left winger and to me he still doesn’t look sharp, fit or confident. A good pre season will hopefully change this as we’ve not seen 10% of his ability.

Hallberg - Done fine and always looks assured on the ball, should have had a shot after good footwork. Would be my replacement for Gogic in the semi.

Bradley - not a lot of time but looked composed.

Stevenson - Usual.

04-05-2021, 10:26 PM
They doubled up on Doig and only Hanlon would come short to take the ball off him. Irvine and Newell made sure they were nowhere to be seen when Doig was hemmed in.

05-05-2021, 07:38 AM
They doubled up on Doig and only Hanlon would come short to take the ball off him. Irvine and Newell made sure they were nowhere to be seen when Doig was hemmed in.

Agree with this. Doig was pretty much on his own on the left flank. Irvine drifted out there a bit early on but was mostly more central. Our midfielders still aren’t showing enough for the ball, some of them hide from it at times.

Are they lacking confidence? Are the tactics too rigid? You’d like to think our midfield could dominate possession in a game like that.