View Full Version : Believable excuses for a week long sickie
22-04-2021, 09:35 AM
Honestly never took a week long sickie for about 20 years, anyone got any believable suggestions that are not COVID related.
22-04-2021, 09:41 AM
Honestly never took a week long sickie for about 20 years, anyone got any believable suggestions that are not COVID related.
Lumbago. 2-3 years ago I was basically immobilised for a week and was off work from Tuesday-Friday IRRC though I was still goosed the weekend after.
Although it wasn't a sickie it could have been as I didn't see a doctor.
22-04-2021, 09:45 AM
An inner ear infection.
Can cause dizziness, nausea, vomiting, problems walking and often lasts for a week.
I usually go with that one
22-04-2021, 09:47 AM
Pinched nerve. Impossible to disprove, can cause debilitating pain in any area below the neck and normally goes away on its own.
I get it occasionally due to having regularly carried extremely heavy weights over distance as a soldier, bouts can last between 2 to 10 days and pain from mild to just ****ing shoot me.
22-04-2021, 09:50 AM
Used to sit next to a guy at work who was a migraine sufferer, attacks can be quite restricting, his frequent absences were often self diagnosed and medicals he had for work confirmed the condition was unpredictable and not easy to cure.
All unravelled horribly for him when instead of lying in a dark room with severe headaches he was seen on camera on a sunny day watching cricket at the Oval. Wasn't sacked but his attendance did improve noticeably.
AltheHibby
22-04-2021, 09:58 AM
I'm Italian? Okay, it's maybe not that believable.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-56822571
22-04-2021, 09:58 AM
If nothing else, I'm now looking forward to an answer to the question - just how anonymous is the ***** we all post on hibs.net? :greengrin
22-04-2021, 10:01 AM
I'm off this week with a bad back.
I was actually sent home by may co-workers on Monday who saw me struggle more and more as the day went on, leading to a strange episode on Monday night where the pain stopped me from being able to move and I was stuck on my bed like an upturned tortoise.
Told by the doctor to take a week off, given some painkillers and advised to move about as much as I can so it can't seize up.
I'm self-employed though, so it's really not in my interests to be off for any longer than is strictly necessary.
This has been coming for some time as I've just learned to tolerate low levels of pain constantly. Not sure what happened to get to this point but I'm going to have to look at various aspects of my lifestyle to see if I can sort it out.
22-04-2021, 10:01 AM
I was off with heat stroke, had I been to the med?, nah got it at Leith Links, boss didn't believe me until a couple of days later and I showed up as lobster boy
22-04-2021, 10:10 AM
I was actually sent home by may co-workers on Monday who saw me struggle more and more as the day went on, leading to a strange episode on Monday night where the pain stopped me from being able to move and I was stuck on my bed like an upturned tortoise.
Told by the doctor to take a week off, given some painkillers and advised to move about as much as I can so it can't seize up.
I'm self-employed though, so it's really not in my interests to be off for any longer than is strictly necessary.
This has been coming for some time as I've just learned to tolerate low levels of pain constantly. Not sure what happened to get to this point but I'm going to have to look at various aspects of my lifestyle to see if I can sort it out.
My advice based on a long history of back pain which culminated in seizing just about completely in 2017 - see a good physio and take up yoga/pilates/something else that builds core strength and flexibility. I have a regular morning routine of exercises and stretches which just about keeps me going. Been slowly improving and no spasms this year so far.
22-04-2021, 10:11 AM
That happened to me once last year, I think I slept funny and then just ended up pretty much immobile for one morning.
I couldn't really describe the pain/lack of movement that I had but it took a really particularly series of little movements to allow me to stand myself up after about half an hour of trying, then I could walk around in a really rigid manner without too much discomfort.
Weirdly one of the things to help me get up was to put a towel behind my neck in a little harness and lift myself up using the towel.
22-04-2021, 10:14 AM
An inner ear infection.
Can cause dizziness, nausea, vomiting, problems walking and often lasts for a week.
I usually go with that one
Offt, good shout, I've had labyrinthitis before, that might be a shout.
22-04-2021, 10:16 AM
I used to suffer with lower back pain, felt at the time it was due to the fact I was carrying a good few extra stone. Once I shifted the weigh the pain stopped - could it be something like that?
22-04-2021, 10:46 AM
I had that and it lasted about 3 weeks. Quite possibly the worst thing I've ever had wrong with me.
22-04-2021, 11:06 AM
I was crippled with back spasms for 24 hours and subsequent pain for about a week afterwards.
Literally un able to move until the spasms passed, only way I was able to move was very very small steps.
I looked at my posture and mobility - yoga with adrian on youtube is great and shes absolutely gorgeous too.
Jakhog1
22-04-2021, 11:11 AM
Go sore lower back, don't elaborate to much, always keep it simple so you don't trip yourself up at any time. Also you don't need a line if it is just a week
CloudSquall
22-04-2021, 11:20 AM
The worst pain I ever had was when my wisdom tooth came through last year, one week in bed with my only intake being ice cream and three times the recommended daily amount of ibuprofen which knocked me out for 16 hours a day.
Lendo
22-04-2021, 11:29 AM
I had two weeks off sick with gastric flu after a two week holiday to India. No one want to ask any questions or know any further information about gastric flu. "Sorry boss, I cannae stop ****ting blood"
22-04-2021, 11:33 AM
I had a urine infection recently. Always thought they were pretty minor but probably the worst I've felt in about 20 years. Nearly fainted a couple of times.
22-04-2021, 03:22 PM
I was crippled with back spasms for 24 hours and subsequent pain for about a week afterwards.
Literally un able to move until the spasms passed, only way I was able to move was very very small steps.
I looked at my posture and mobility - yoga with adrian on youtube is great and shes absolutely gorgeous too.
Posture is what I was going to say. It can be quite difficult to develop the habit of sitting/standing up straight, but definitely worth it.
22-04-2021, 03:32 PM
Profuse anal bleeding.
22-04-2021, 04:06 PM
My favourite thread on here for ages. Bookmarked for future use lol
22-04-2021, 04:39 PM
Any condition that starts with the descriptor 'explosive'. No questions needed after that.
22-04-2021, 07:58 PM
Skitters. A touch of food poisoning. That's at least a week for a proper dose.
22-04-2021, 08:24 PM
Posture is what I was going to say. It can be quite difficult to develop the habit of sitting/standing up straight, but definitely worth it.
It didn’t help that I spent a big chunk of my working day in some sort of vehicle. Usually a 20 year old fork lift that clattered like hell and had no cushioning in the seat.
22-04-2021, 08:53 PM
A friend sustained a cut on his bell-end while out running - he put it down to unusually abrasive underwear. I don't know if he got any time off work.
22-04-2021, 09:15 PM
A friend sustained a cut on his bell-end while out running - he put it down to unusually abrasive underwear. I don't know if he got any time off work.The early 80s Hibs silky Umbro top with the embroidered badge gave me one of the worst cases of jogger's nipple I ever suffered. I had the shorts too but luckily never experienced hi-bee's helmet!
22-04-2021, 09:33 PM
The early 80s Hibs silky Umbro top with the embroidered badge gave me one of the worst cases of jogger's nipple I ever suffered. I had the shorts too but luckily never experienced hi-bee's helmet!
😂😂 That's it I'm phoning work tomorrow and leave a message to say I've got hibee's helmet and will need a week of pure rest. HR are in Manchester, wonder if they'll phone back for more detail.
22-04-2021, 09:40 PM
Pinched nerve. Impossible to disprove, can cause debilitating pain in any area below the neck and normally goes away on its own.
I get it occasionally due to having regularly carried extremely heavy weights over distance as a soldier, bouts can last between 2 to 10 days and pain from mild to just ****ing shoot me.Urgh.... I had sciatica a few years back, excruciating pain almost to the point of fainting... the only thing that helped was lying in bed with left leg stretched towards bottom of bed and right arm stretched to the top.... think superman flying lol... in that one position the pain was totally gone as if it never existed in the 1st place.... was a looonnng few weeks!
22-04-2021, 09:47 PM
Profuse anal bleeding.
Good one. No one is going to look too closely at that one!
Lendo
23-04-2021, 03:48 PM
https://youtu.be/rUHwerlEveU
Profuse anal bleeding.
23-04-2021, 04:01 PM
Weirdly one of the things to help me get up was to put a towel behind my neck in a little harness and lift myself up using the towel.
That's quite an image. :greengrin
23-04-2021, 06:20 PM
Is that when you get lost in a maze and can't find your way out for a week 🤔 ?
23-04-2021, 06:25 PM
Is that when you get lost in a maze and can't find your way out for a week [emoji848] ?It's when you're stuck at home watching David Bowie films.
24-04-2021, 07:13 AM
I’d recommend getting an MRI.. Find out what the problem is. I suffered like yourself and shuffled my way into work. Couldn’t sleep & all i got from the gp were tablets which turned me into a bit of a zombie. That lasted about 6months.
Physio was never going to fix what i had neither acupuncture or whatever else i tried.
Had a nerve root injection first but that was never going to fix things. Ended up getting a lumbar dysectomy then pilates and stuff and never had any bother since.
It was only after the mri did we actually know what we were dealing with.
24-04-2021, 09:23 AM
Just say you’ve got a bad dose of the scabies.
24-04-2021, 12:36 PM
I’d recommend getting an MRI.. Find out what the problem is. I suffered like yourself and shuffled my way into work. Couldn’t sleep & all i got from the gp were tablets which turned me into a bit of a zombie. That lasted about 6months.
Physio was never going to fix what i had neither acupuncture or whatever else i tried.
Had a nerve root injection first but that was never going to fix things. Ended up getting a lumbar dysectomy then pilates and stuff and never had any bother since.
It was only after the mri did we actually know what we were dealing with.
What we’re the tablets you got? I’ve been given diclofenac and co-codamol. The pain is improving but I’ve been sleeping a crazy amount.
The biggest problem so far is my partner, who is less than understanding. I realise she’s got the pretty full on job of looking after a radge toddler and I’d normally help out by throwing the wee one around and doing a share of looking after her but I’ve been sleeping for longer and obviously don’t feel like much throwing around.
Being in the medical field myself, I’m a bit surprised how disinterested they seem to be about getting an accurate diagnosis. Lots of phone consults, shoulder shrugging and “probably muscular” over actually trying to figure out what’s wrong and treating it accordingly. I’m happy to go along with it as they know what they’re talking about and I don’t but it just seems strange.
Is it possible to request an MRI or does that follow if my problems don’t improve?
I’m going to try improving my core strength, and when it feels better I am going to have a shot at losing a few pounds.
Over the past week, things I’ve noticed have made it worse have been sitting, and staying still for long periods.
I’m going to go out for a walk later and see what effect that has.
For a while I’ve had low grade pain which has been tolerable but this is a whole new level of problem and I’m a bit anxious about it tbh.
The dalmeny
25-04-2021, 07:28 PM
yip, or vertigo
25-04-2021, 08:22 PM
Going against the grain of this thread, but is a week long sickie not taking the piss? We’ve all taken a sickie at some point but anything over 2, maybe 3, days is going too far IMO.
26-04-2021, 04:50 AM
Going against the grain of this thread, but is a week long sickie not taking the piss? We’ve all taken a sickie at some point but anything over 2, maybe 3, days is going too far IMO.
I don't think most of the posters are condoning taking a week off work. Just giving an answer to a question based on real illness they've personally experienced.
26-04-2021, 07:35 AM
Dunno about anybody else but I presumed the OP was just having a laugh.
26-04-2021, 07:48 AM
Dunno about anybody else but I presumed the OP was just having a laugh.
I didn’t, I presumed they were genuinely doing it :greengrin
Maybe they’re taking this week off to sit in beer gardens.
26-04-2021, 07:53 AM
I didn’t, I presumed they were genuinely doing it :greengrin
Maybe they’re taking this week off to sit in beer gardens.
Would you just let it go with the Beer Gardens!!!
26-04-2021, 11:09 AM
I can confirm that I need a week off, it is for something really important, however, due to the way the holidays are structured at work, I can't get the time off I need.
Sadly, the policy regarding what I need the time off for, means I can only request one day's leave. Now, I could request unpaid leave, however my line manager has advised that it will be rejected (someone asked for essentially the same reason a while back and was rejected). My line manager has discreetly advised that the best resolution here is for me to take a week off on the sick. Sadly, it is the only option.
My attendance record is bulletproof so it won't be a worry, I just needed a good, solid, excuse.
26-04-2021, 12:33 PM
Gastric flu is a good one, takes a few days to develop then you need 48 hours without symptoms before being back at work
26-04-2021, 12:38 PM
I can confirm that I need a week off, it is for something really important, however, due to the way the holidays are structured at work, I can't get the time off I need.
Sadly, the policy regarding what I need the time off for, means I can only request one day's leave. Now, I could request unpaid leave, however my line manager has advised that it will be rejected (someone asked for essentially the same reason a while back and was rejected). My line manager has discreetly advised that the best resolution here is for me to take a week off on the sick. Sadly, it is the only option.
My attendance record is bulletproof so it won't be a worry, I just needed a good, solid, excuse.
These kind of stupid, draconian employment practices are ultimately counter productive. A bit of give and take now would have seen you not needing the clandestine sicky but also made you (or at least, the average employee) more likely to go above and beyond for them when they need you to in future.
26-04-2021, 01:34 PM
Piles. No questions will be asked.
28-04-2021, 10:17 AM
So, made a decision yet?
28-04-2021, 10:59 AM
So, made a decision yet?
Inner ear infection!!
28-04-2021, 04:10 PM
Inner ear infection!!
Do I get a prize for making the best suggestion?
28-04-2021, 05:57 PM
Do I get a prize for making the best suggestion?
You'll have to speak up, he can't hear you.
29-04-2021, 08:36 AM
You'll have to speak up, he can't hear you.
29-04-2021, 04:57 PM
What we’re the tablets you got? I’ve been given diclofenac and co-codamol. The pain is improving but I’ve been sleeping a crazy amount.
The biggest problem so far is my partner, who is less than understanding. I realise she’s got the pretty full on job of looking after a radge toddler and I’d normally help out by throwing the wee one around and doing a share of looking after her but I’ve been sleeping for longer and obviously don’t feel like much throwing around.
Being in the medical field myself, I’m a bit surprised how disinterested they seem to be about getting an accurate diagnosis. Lots of phone consults, shoulder shrugging and “probably muscular” over actually trying to figure out what’s wrong and treating it accordingly. I’m happy to go along with it as they know what they’re talking about and I don’t but it just seems strange.
Is it possible to request an MRI or does that follow if my problems don’t improve?
I’m going to try improving my core strength, and when it feels better I am going to have a shot at losing a few pounds.
Over the past week, things I’ve noticed have made it worse have been sitting, and staying still for long periods.
I’m going to go out for a walk later and see what effect that has.
For a while I’ve had low grade pain which has been tolerable but this is a whole new level of problem and I’m a bit anxious about it tbh.
I cant really remember to. be honest difene (diclac), diazepan...I was in a bit of a daze..
It might be different back home but I was private in Ireland...My specialist there told me to get one as any other diagnosis would just be guesswork. SO. he. told me to get one but I didnt get. one through him. When I was waiting for my next consultation I tried physio & acupuncture.
I had originally gone through my GP and he had requested a scan through the public sector (HSE) I was told the waiting list was at least a year for a scan!?
I didnt have low grade pain. I was fine then was on the train from dublin to belfast for a meeting. Just felt my back get worse and worse. By the time I was just outsidde belfast I was in tears & getting offers of various medication from various passengers. After that I was just shuffling, having to rest every 50meters or so and could only get comfort in the fetal position in bed.
The surgery for me was such a relief, without exaggeration it gave me my life back.