View Full Version : Mourhino sacked

19-04-2021, 09:27 AM
https://twitter.com/talkSPORT/status/1384075308760920068?s=20

19-04-2021, 09:33 AM
https://twitter.com/talkSPORT/status/1384075308760920068?s=20

Another big pay day for Jose! :greengrin

He must have pocketed a fortune after his various sackings.

PS I wonder if ra Celtc fans will be getting their knickers in a twist over nothing!

19-04-2021, 09:34 AM
Maybe he was against the money league.

AugustaHibs
19-04-2021, 09:35 AM
Breaking: Tottenham Hotspur have fired Jose Mourinho after an explosive morning where he refused to take players onto training ground over the club’s proposed Super League admission. More to follow.

19-04-2021, 09:36 AM

to be fair, his trophy list has probably earned him that. Unreal manager in his prime. Struggling to deal with modern players.

19-04-2021, 09:38 AM

PS I wonder if ra Celtc fans will be getting their knickers in a twist over nothing!

Maybe, but if it was deemed as gross misconduct then maybe not.

19-04-2021, 09:39 AM
Breaking: Tottenham Hotspur have fired Jose Mourinho after an explosive morning where he refused to take players onto training ground over the club’s proposed Super League admission. More to follow.

Brilliant move by him. High profile manager with a spine, standing up for what he believes in.

Over to Pep (a notorious hypocrite), Arteta , Tuchel, Ole, and Klopp

Keyser Sauzee
19-04-2021, 09:41 AM
I really didn’t like Mourinho up to this point, but if it’s true that he is taking a stand against this super league he has went up hugely in my estimations, the game needs his kind of action right now.

19-04-2021, 09:42 AM

I don’t like Mourinho but respect him for that.

19-04-2021, 09:42 AM

Wow, that would be some story.

Hibdan12
19-04-2021, 09:43 AM
Used as a deflection to the bad press regarding the super league?

19-04-2021, 09:45 AM
Brilliant move by him. High profile manager with a spine, standing up for what he believes in.

Or classic deflection by him to control the narrative. It looked like a case of when, not if, he would be sacked for the poor job he was doing. Now folk are talking about him making a stand etc.

A dinosaur who has been left behind. Pleasing that he has succumbed to the same fate he mercilessly tore into Wenger about when he also failed to move with the times.

19-04-2021, 09:49 AM
Pretty amazing downwards trajectory - bar one season at United - since his shameful behaviour towards that doctor at Chelsea.

19-04-2021, 09:51 AM
I don’t like Mourinho but respect him for that.

Maybe I'm cynical but I wouldn't put it past him to be doing it to look like the good guy in the eyes of the majority of fans. He probably knew his time was nearly up anyway and isn't fussed about the Carabao Cup.

Either that or he demanded a big pay rise due to the club's £300m windfall.

19-04-2021, 09:59 AM
Maybe I'm cynical but I wouldn't put it past him to be doing it to look like the good guy in the eyes of the majority of fans. He probably knew his time was nearly up anyway and isn't fussed about the Carabao Cup.

Can you not just take it at face value?

He's reacted like millions of other people have to the breakaway. Alex Ferguson has also condemned the clubs and he's on the board at MU.

Mourhino couldn't care less about whether the fans like him or not, but he's got principles.

19-04-2021, 09:59 AM
Or classic deflection by him to control the narrative. It looked like a case of when, not if, he would be sacked for the poor job he was doing. Now folk are talking about him making a stand etc.

A dinosaur who has been left behind. Pleasing that he has succumbed to the same fate he mercilessly tore into Wenger about when he also failed to move with the times.

Did you watch the Spurs documentary?

He is certainly not a dinosaur who has been left behind. He may not be having the same success he did earlier in his career but this idea about him is wrong I think.

19-04-2021, 10:00 AM

Even if it was, it still gets people talking about the **** show that this Super League really is. There are a million ways he could leave and get himself a nice little payday but hopefully it gets a bit of debate going.

19-04-2021, 10:04 AM

Pep is a corporate being, klopp is our main hope here

19-04-2021, 10:05 AM

He's reacted like millions of other people have to the breakaway. Alex Ferguson has also condemned the clubs and he's on the board at MU.

Mourhino couldn't care less about whether the fans like him or not, but he's got principles.

I'm just guessing at what might be going on. Don't even know whether not the report about refusing to do training is accurate, only place I've found it so far is a Nigerian website called Legit.

Jim White on Talk Sport just said Mourinho for Celtic. Think he was joking though.

19-04-2021, 10:08 AM

If he wins the cup final hes done a good job with a bunch of bottlers. And his league results aren't any worse then Pochettinos last 18 months. I agree, he's a bit of an arse and was well of order to Wenger but dinosour is very strong. He is one of the best managers ever. Give him a bunch of real warriors like he had at Inter and he'd get results IMO.

19-04-2021, 10:10 AM
Pep is a corporate being, klopp is our main hope here

I agree. Pep loves a wee protest (catalonia) when its easy, quiet when its difficult (his bosses human rights record and Citys cheating the rules in Europe)

19-04-2021, 10:11 AM
I'm just guessing at what might be going on. Don't even know whether not the report about refusing to do training is accurate, only place I've found it so far is a Nigerian website called Legit.

Jim White on Talk Sport just said Mourinho for Celtic. Think he was joking though.

There's certainly no mention of it in the Guardian report. That suggests it was a performance issue.

The Baldmans Comb
19-04-2021, 10:11 AM
Mourhino being sacked for refusing to take training as a protest against the super league sounds the usual garbage that some gullible football fans believe.

This isn't school football in the playground where the janny has a wee strop because the heid teacher wants to play wee Johnny.

Its a billion pound industry where huge decisions are made by owners and managers alike over time and with very careful consideration.

Daniel Levy and his board would have been considering this for weeks as well as tapping up possible successors.

I find it very hard to believe that Mourhino and all of his coaching staff who were also sacked had a commitee meeting last night and then decided to take a principled stand on nothing more than a rushed out proposal about Super leagues that is designed to gazump the UEFA revised Champions league format later due later this week.

19-04-2021, 10:16 AM

He is certainly not a dinosaur who has been left behind. He may not be having the same success he did earlier in his career but this idea about him is wrong I think.

He's also having roughly the same amount of success as most managers have at Spurs and is a week or 2 away from possibly having more.

Magpie
19-04-2021, 10:17 AM
Mourhino being sacked for refusing to take training as a protest against the super league sounds the usual garbage that some gullible football fans believe.

This isn't school football in the playground where the janny has a wee strop because the heid teacher wants to play wee Johnny.

Its a billion pound industry where huge decisions are made by owners and managers alike over time and with very careful consideration.

Daniel Levy and his board would have been considering this for weeks as well as tapping up possible successors.

I find it very hard to believe that Mourhino and all of his coaching staff had a commitee meeting and decided to take a principled stand on nothing more than a rushed out proposal about Super league that is designed to gazump the UEFA revised Champions league format later this week.

Perhaps the announcement of the ESL and his sacking is a coincidence but sacking him 6 days before a cup final and only 6 games left of the season? Find it confusing as to why the chairman would do that and find it quite disrespectful to Mourinho who actually hasn’t done a very terrible job, this is Spurs first domestic cup final in 6 years and a win Wednesday could see them 3 points off 3rd.

I just have a gut feeling the ESL is involved with his departure.

19-04-2021, 10:23 AM
Yesterdays man. It happens to us all eventually.

The Baldmans Comb
19-04-2021, 10:26 AM
Perhaps the announcement of the ESL and his sacking is a coincidence but sacking him 6 days before a cup final and only 6 games left of the season? Find it confusing as to why the chairman would do that and find it quite disrespectful to Mourinho who actually hasn’t done a very terrible job, this is Spurs first domestic cup final in 6 years and a win Wednesday could see them 6 points off 3rd.

I just have a gut feeling the ESL is involved with his departure.

Its a joke cup final. No one is interested.

The top English teams dont even care about their premier cup competition never mind this dross.

Klopp is the one to watch as he comes from a football culture where an elite super league is an absolute antitheses to everything he believes in.

19-04-2021, 10:31 AM

The top English teams dont even care about their premier cup competition never mind this dross.

Klopp is the one to watch as he comes from a football culture where an elite super league is an absolute antitheses to everything he believes in.

They definitely still care about the FA cup, look at the teams who have won it over the last 20 years.

They care so little about the league cup the final is City vs Spurs? Aye, okay. Spurs would be delighted if they won it.

19-04-2021, 10:35 AM
Another rumour circulating is Klopp has said he'll step down if Liverpool join this league, nothing concrete just a rumour.

19-04-2021, 10:38 AM
Another rumour circulating is Klopp has said he'll step down if Liverpool join this league, nothing concrete just a rumour.

He's a socialist. Makes sense.

19-04-2021, 10:41 AM
Deflection from Tottenham... PR boost for Jose knowing he's on a downward trend.

monarch
19-04-2021, 10:49 AM
Mourhino may well be genuine here. Don’t forget he originally won the Champions League with unfashionable Porto, a team who now wouldn’t be considered for the brand new glossy shiny sanitised s*#tshow.

19-04-2021, 11:10 AM

Brilliant, paragraphs about how there’s no way Mourinho has done it as a stand as a man with principles and anyone who believes it is gullible, because you don’t like him.

But if Klopp (not reported to have commented or taken any action) was to do anything we’re all to believe he’s a hero.

19-04-2021, 11:15 AM

Ha! What principles?

Jose has been sacked for poor results. The rumour about him taking a stand against the new JP Morgan league has been repeatedly debunked.

Stairway 2 7
19-04-2021, 11:15 AM

Who's last two teams have been capitalist behemoths. Plundering poorer teams players. Rising to the top from money from all over the world to help there rich owners and shareholders.

19-04-2021, 11:17 AM
Brilliant, paragraphs about how there’s no way Mourinho has done it as a stand as a man with principles and anyone who believes it is gullible, because you don’t like him.

But if Klopp (not reported to have commented or taken any action) was to do anything we’re all to believe he’s a hero.

Nope, it’s because the rumour isn’t true.

It will be interesting to see if Jurgen, Pep, or any of the other managers or players at the clubs involved do have the integrity to come out against the plan though.

19-04-2021, 11:18 AM

:top marksI wish more managers were like him.

Still one of the best managers around, Spurs won’t get any better.

19-04-2021, 11:19 AM
Who's last two teams have been capitalist behemoths. Plundering poorer teams players. Rising to the top from money from all over the world to help there rich owners and shareholders.

Hibs do a fair bit of plundering too. :greengrin

19-04-2021, 11:24 AM

I didn’t watch it but do acknowledge he seems to have come out of it well. On the park though his ultra negative style is no longer successful. He had the likes of Reguilian, Moura, Alli, Bale, Kane, Son, Lamela etc available yet his tactics amounted to hoping Son & Kane could do something out of nothing.

There will be fault on the players side, but his handling of Alli and Bale looks to be counter productive and criminal. The game has moved on and I don’t see him winning the big trophies again unless he goes to a one team league like Bayern or PSG. Although I’m not sure his stock is high enough anymore to get those jobs.

19-04-2021, 11:36 AM

The guy Jose replaced at Spurs was a better manager.

19-04-2021, 11:37 AM

Lots of socialists work for capitalistic behemoths. They are the employee, not the employer.

19-04-2021, 11:41 AM
How long before oneleagueback have someone asking the question of JM becoming tarts boss?

Stairway 2 7
19-04-2021, 11:46 AM
Lots of socialists work for capitalistic behemoths. They are the employee, not the employer.

Aye agree. So it will be nonsense that he is going to make
a stand because of this decision when he knew who he was signing with

19-04-2021, 11:53 AM
Aye agree. So it will be nonsense that he is going to make
a stand because of this decision when he knew who he was signing with

I'm not so sure. He'll have plenty options, particularly in Germany who aren't taking part. He's fairly recent criticism from Klopp on the idea

https://www.teamtalk.com/news/jurgen-klopp-revolt-with-fsg-european-super-league-plans-liverpool-report

19-04-2021, 12:00 PM
How long before oneleagueback have someone asking the question of JM becoming tarts boss?Never happen as they'll be expecting to join the super league.

They're Scotland's big six (fingered) team.

Stairway 2 7
19-04-2021, 12:01 PM
I'm not so sure. He'll have plenty options, particularly in Germany who aren't taking part. He's fairly recent criticism from Klopp on the idea

https://www.teamtalk.com/news/jurgen-klopp-revolt-with-fsg-european-super-league-plans-liverpool-report

I think it's got alot of obstacles to overcome to be a league. But if it does german teams will follow suit 51% will wantthem competing against the big stars and money.

Magpie
19-04-2021, 12:04 PM

Debatable. He won nothing in 5 years at the club. I’m sure at the moment Guardiola is the only manager in Europe to have won more trophies than Mourinho.

I reckon Spurs next manager will be Nagelsmann, probably similar to Pochettino in many ways, will be interesting to see how he gets on if he takes the job.

19-04-2021, 12:10 PM
Used as a deflection to the bad press regarding the super league?

This. He knows he would have got a binned come the end of the season so is jumping before being pushed, whilst also being seen to take the moral high ground.

Classic Mourinho.

Dmas
19-04-2021, 12:11 PM
Debatable. He won nothing in 5 years at the club. I’m sure at the moment Guardiola is the only manager in Europe to have won more trophies than Mourinho.

I reckon Spurs next manager will be Nagelsmann, probably similar to Pochettino in many ways, will be interesting to see how he gets on if he takes the job.

Cant see nagelsmann joining them, Bayern jobs available, he’s a Bayern fan if he goes anywhere this season it’ll be there.

hibee316

Eye bleeding football with some of the most exciting attacking players in the world?
Not for me.
Rich mans Craig Levien (plus medals obviously)
:)

hibee316

If this is even true...

Magpie
19-04-2021, 12:13 PM
Cant see nagelsmann joining them, Bayern jobs available, he’s a Bayern fan if he goes anywhere this season it’ll be there.

Yeah I wouldn’t be surprised if that happened either. Apparently Leipzig are adamant they won’t let him join Bayern though so I’ve read. Will probably hear more about that in the coming weeks.

19-04-2021, 12:16 PM

£15m a year with no break clause..so unless he works again that's a cheeky £30m for doing nothing in the next 2 years

19-04-2021, 12:17 PM
Eye bleeding football with some of the most exciting attacking players in the world?
Not for me.
Rich mans Craig Levien (plus medals obviously)
:)

Obviously 😂

Dmas
19-04-2021, 12:31 PM
Yeah I wouldn’t be surprised if that happened either. Apparently Leipzig are adamant they won’t let him join Bayern though so I’ve read. Will probably hear more about that in the coming weeks.

€15m in compensation to RBL eye watering stuff for a manager he’ll probably need to resign for Bayern job, Levy normally isn’t slow to move so your probably right we’ll know soon enough

The Baldmans Comb
19-04-2021, 01:10 PM

The JP Morgan league is nothing whatsoever to do with Mourinho's sacking and the Klopp adendum is just another baseless rumour.

These decisions are way above paid employees heads and go as far as governments as PSG aren't taking part until the coast is clear and the next World Cup in Qatar is in no danger of being compromised.

PSG v Man City in the Champions League could easily be redesignated Saudi Arabia v Qatar and that's exactly how far off the mark Mourinho walking off a training pitch rumors are.

Its power and control and billions of £ in pay TV money worldwide on a completely different level as in time USA clubs, Chinese clubs and Middle Eastern clubs will invited in as its clubs that would control access and no longer UEFA or FIFA. That's the end game.

Since you asked Mourinho's amazing achievements with Porto and then Inter Milan are a reasonable distance ahead of Klopps at Dortmund and Liverpool and I admire both but give Mourhino the nod.

19-04-2021, 01:11 PM

That’s a very shallow reading of the situation.

Poch took them from mid table to the champions league final, asked for but was refused opportunity to refresh the squad, endured a poor run of form, got sacked.

Mourinho got the investment he demanded and has taken them where exactly?

19-04-2021, 01:12 PM
Jose to Celtic would be pretty funny.

19-04-2021, 01:17 PM

They wouldn’t be able to get him again.

19-04-2021, 01:17 PM
Jose to Celtic would be pretty funny.

Howe to Spurs would be even funnier

19-04-2021, 01:21 PM

No kidding.

19-04-2021, 01:29 PM
So why bring him up?

My point was that Spurs won’t get better than Jose.

19-04-2021, 01:35 PM
So why bring him up?

My point was that Spurs won’t get better than Jose.

Well, because in your view Jose is still one of the best managers around and Spurs won’t get better.

Pointing out that they already had a better manager in place is relevant, no?

Obviously the Portugeezer has won a lot of trophies. But his time as a top level club manager was over years ago.

Magpie
19-04-2021, 02:19 PM
That’s a very shallow reading of the situation.

Poch took them from mid table to the champions league final, asked for but was refused opportunity to refresh the squad, endured a poor run of form, got sacked.

Mourinho got the investment he demanded and has taken them where exactly?

Poch did okay but won nothing. They had arguably one of the best teams in the league with Lloris, Walker, Vertonghen, Alderweireld, Rose, Dembele, Eriksen, Son, Alli and Kane. A more experienced manager like Mourinho would have won something with that squad imo.

I don’t think Mourinho got backed the way he probably would have liked, I very much doubt Bale was a signing he wanted. He asked for Skriniar and Dias, got given Joe Rodon from Swansea.

He replaced Pochettino who’s last 10 months saw him not win a league game away and taking only 25 points from his last 24 games, the Champions League was a distraction from the problems going on in which they inevitably failed to win in the end.

As I said earlier on here, Mourinho has got Spurs to their first domestic final in 6 years with arguably a weaker team than the one Pochettino had. I still very much rank Mourinho as a better manager than Pochettino, although I do like him and think he will do well in the game, which he should do at PSG if he can get them off 2nd place into 1st place and win the CL.

Magpie
19-04-2021, 02:20 PM

Pochettino has already publicly stated he would like to return to Spurs one day.

Magpie
19-04-2021, 02:23 PM
Well, because in your view Jose is still one of the best managers around and Spurs won’t get better.

Pointing out that they already had a better manager in place is relevant, no?

Obviously the Portugeezer has won a lot of trophies. But his time as a top level club manager was over years ago.

How many years ago? He won the Europa League, League Cup and Community shield in his previous job. He won the Premier League and League Cup in the job before that.

19-04-2021, 02:27 PM
Great coach. I expect one of the Super Clubs to come in for him.

19-04-2021, 03:34 PM
This. He knows he would have got a binned come the end of the season so is jumping before being pushed, whilst also being seen to take the moral high ground.

Classic Mourinho.

He got sacked.

19-04-2021, 04:32 PM
Poch did okay but won nothing. They had arguably one of the best teams in the league with Lloris, Walker, Vertonghen, Alderweireld, Rose, Dembele, Eriksen, Son, Alli and Kane. A more experienced manager like Mourinho would have won something with that squad imo.

I don’t think Mourinho got backed the way he probably would have liked, I very much doubt Bale was a signing he wanted. He asked for Skriniar and Dias, got given Joe Rodon from Swansea.

He replaced Pochettino who’s last 10 months saw him not win a league game away and taking only 25 points from his last 24 games, the Champions League was a distraction from the problems going on in which they inevitably failed to win in the end.

As I said earlier on here, Mourinho has got Spurs to their first domestic final in 6 years with arguably a weaker team than the one Pochettino had. I still very much rank Mourinho as a better manager than Pochettino, although I do like him and think he will do well in the game, which he should do at PSG if he can get them off 2nd place into 1st place and win the CL.

Jose had one job: qualify for the CL.

This is apparently imperative for Spurs because they need to pay off that space ship of a stadium.

This is the job Poch had too, and apart from his final season when he had a wobble he did very well.

You can dress it up all you like but Jose failed in his primary objective. To say he had a worse squad is nonsense.

19-04-2021, 04:35 PM

He was probabliy going anyway.

19-04-2021, 04:39 PM
Jose had one job: qualify for the CL.

This is apparently imperative for Spurs because they need to pay off that space ship of a stadium.

This is the job Poch had too, and apart from his final season when he had a wobble he did very well.

You can dress it up all you like but Jose failed in his primary objective. To say he had a worse squad is nonsense.

He definitely had a worse squad. Defence isn't even close to the quality Poch had. Still missing Moussa Dembele and Alli hasnt kicked a ball in 2 years.

19-04-2021, 04:54 PM
Spurs are probably wanting to join this league just so they can pay all the other 1st team players the same wage as they pay Gareth Bale.

19-04-2021, 05:00 PM
Spurs are probably wanting to join this league just so they can pay all the other 1st team players the same wage as they pay Gareth Bale.

Bale will be wanting a pay rise now!

19-04-2021, 05:00 PM
How long before oneleagueback have someone asking the question of JM becoming tarts boss?

Took the words out of my mouth. Need to wait on a statement from Budge and Sevco first though about the unfairness of criticising the 12 teams who only want to make football better for everyone.

19-04-2021, 05:09 PM

Also goes against everything that German football is about. This is why there is no German club joining the ESL.

19-04-2021, 05:53 PM
He definitely had a worse squad. Defence isn't even close to the quality Poch had. Still missing Moussa Dembele and Alli hasnt kicked a ball in 2 years.

Sorry but that’s just not the case. And why hasn’t Alli played?

What you are looking at is one manager who can get the best out of his players, and another whose methods don’t work anymore.

19-04-2021, 06:42 PM
Sorry but that’s just not the case. And why hasn’t Alli played?

What you are looking at is one manager who can get the best out of his players, and another whose methods don’t work anymore.

Eh, it definitely is the case. You seriously think Spurs have a defence as good as Walker, Vertoghen, Alderwiereld, Rose and Lloris in his prime? Thats a genuinely good defence Poch had. Put Moussa Dembele infront of that, who was an excellent player and a Dele Alli who was actually performing and you have a squad that is easily better. Alli has been rubbish for 2 years now, he was before Mourinho came in.

Ndombele is a good player but blows hot and cold, Lo Celso is always injured, Kane and Son are the only ones really doing the business, along with Hojberg who has been a good signing.

The back 4/5 is easily worse. Sanchez, Aurier, Davies etc just aren't as good as the players who were there before them. Vertonghen and Alderwiereld were brilliant together at their best.

19-04-2021, 06:57 PM
Eh, it definitely is the case. You seriously think Spurs have a defence as good as Walker, Vertoghen, Alderwiereld, Rose and Lloris in his prime? Thats a genuinely good defence Poch had. Put Moussa Dembele infront of that, who was an excellent player and a Dele Alli who was actually performing and you have a squad that is easily better. Alli has been rubbish for 2 years now, he was before Mourinho came in.

Ndombele is a good player but blows hot and cold, Lo Celso is always injured, Kane and Son are the only ones really doing the business, along with Hojberg who has been a good signing.

The back 4/5 is easily worse. Sanchez, Aurier, Davies etc just aren't as good as the players who were there before them. Vertonghen and Alderwiereld were brilliant together at their best.

You keep mentioning Walker who left years ago and Danny Rose who dropped out of the team long before Poch left. You also keep mentioning the defence alone when I was talking about the overall squad, which is as strong (especially as Kane just keeps getting better as a player).

It’s this kind of tiresome arguing that’s the reason you have so many rows on here.

19-04-2021, 07:00 PM
You keep mentioning Walker who left years ago and Danny Rose who dropped out of the team long before Poch left. You also keep mentioning the defence alone when I was talking about the overall squad, which is as strong (especially as Kane just keeps getting better as a player).

It’s this kind of tiresome arguing that’s the reason you have so many rows on here.

One player can’t carry the team in that league though. Without a top class defence you’ll be nowhere near winning the premier league, and Spurs are absolutely miles away from having that.

19-04-2021, 08:07 PM

Walker left in 2017 yeah, he was never replaced. So thats one downgrade. Probably okay because they had 2 top central defenders. Then they declined. Then Rose declined. So Poch went from a very good defence to a rubbish one, and that seen the end of him. And Mourinho.

Kane is excellent yes. So is Son. Alli was great under Poch for 2 years, totally missing now.

You seriously think Spurs 2016/17 squad that finished second with 86 points (that tally wins multiple titles in previous years) is worse than the current one? are you trolling?

Its not tiresome arguments. Objectively you are just wrong, don't blame me for that.

20-04-2021, 07:25 AM

The Spurs squad isn’t as strong as it was when Poch was there. He got Kane is a season where he scored 40+ goals!! Too many injuries to key forwards under Jose. And as has been mentioned the defence replacement just hasn’t worked as he’s had to buy lesser players ( bar the lb who I think is class). Loris is nowhere near the level he was for Poch. Spurs invested less in their squad in 2020 than 9/10 other teams in the league. They are pretty much where they should be based on that.

20-04-2021, 08:29 AM

RE not getting backed - That's always Mourinho's excuse. It doesn't stand true. He would have joined Spurs knowing the budget. When have Spurs ever spent big on players? His early success was based on making good players into something more. Now it seems he wants a blank cheque to sign whoever and just blames the players for any issues.

What Jose achieved at Porto and Inter was unbelievable, no one will ever take that away from him but his record in last few years is poor (is that 3 sackings in a row?). He's not been able to sustain his early success and any chairman signing him now is doing it simply in the hope they get the Jose from 10 years ago, not the current version. There is a reason Pochettino is manager of one of the biggest clubs in the world with a CL semi final coming up and Jose won't even be in charge of his team for the League Cup final.

20-04-2021, 08:32 AM
RE not getting backed - That's always Mourinho's excuse. It doesn't stand true. He would have joined Spurs knowing the budget. When have Spurs ever spent big on players? His early success was based on making good players into something more. Now it seems he wants a blank cheque to sign whoever and just blames the players for any issues.

What Jose achieved at Porto and Inter was unbelievable, no one will ever take that away from him but his record in last few years is poor (is that 3 sackings in a row?). He's not been able to sustain his early success and any chairman signing him now is doing it simply in the hope they get the Jose from 10 years ago, not the current version. There is a reason Pochettino is manager of one of the biggest clubs in the world with a CL semi final coming up and Jose won't even be in charge of his team for the League Cup final.

But Spurs didn’t spend the money other teams above them (and below them) did. That’s just a fact.

20-04-2021, 08:35 AM

Was Jose poor at Man Utd? Finished 2nd and won a domestic trophy and a Europa League. That's better than any manager Man Utd have had since Alex Ferguson left.

20-04-2021, 08:51 AM
But Spurs didn’t spend the money other teams above them (and below them) did. That’s just a fact.

But they never have. And I don't believe for a second he joined because Levy promised a huge budget. Just like at Hibs or any club he will have been told his budget and asked if he was happy. He will have seen Spurs next spend over the last few years. Why are we then suggesting it's down to money.

20-04-2021, 08:55 AM
Was Jose poor at Man Utd? Finished 2nd and won a domestic trophy and a Europa League. That's better than any manager Man Utd have had since Alex Ferguson left.

Well Ole might get 2 of those 3 this season and he's hardly a managerial heavyweight. And as always with Jose, he starts well and then completely loses it. He's been sacked 3 times in a row now and each time the fans have been delighted to see the back of him.

He used to motivate and bring players together to achieve things beyond their individual abilities.

Now he complains about budget and turns on his players at the first sign of criticism.

I'd love to see him again join a smaller team and see if he can get that magic back like he had at Porto. But I don't think any top club will touched him now.

20-04-2021, 09:03 AM
Well Ole might get 2 of those 3 this season and he's hardly a managerial heavyweight. And as always with Jose, he starts well and then completely loses it. He's been sacked 3 times in a row now and each time the fans have been delighted to see the back of him.

He used to motivate and bring players together to achieve things beyond their individual abilities.

Now he complains about budget and turns on his players at the first sign of criticism.

I'd love to see him again join a smaller team and see if he can get that magic back like he had at Porto. But I don't think any top club will touched him now.

Ole might but he hasn't yet.

Overall Jose done pretty well at Utd when you look at his record compared to every other manager that club has had in last 8 years. I don't think you can say he was poor there, not exactly outstanding granted but certainly not poor.

20-04-2021, 09:33 AM
I'd love to see him again join a smaller team and see if he can get that magic back like he had at Porto.

If fouling, diving, time wasting and percentage play is magic he had a huge wand at Porto.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

20-04-2021, 02:00 PM
Interim head coach (Ryan Mason) is younger than me. Think I'm starting to realise I'm old now.

20-04-2021, 02:19 PM
i'm quite surprised spurs didn't at least wait until after the final against man city on sunday, he did get them there after all

Magpie
20-04-2021, 02:47 PM

Just because he got sacked in his previous 3 jobs doesn’t mean the job he did was completely bad for the whole time he was there, especially when you weigh up that he won the Europa League and a domestic trophy with Man Utd. Won the Premier League and domestic trophy with Chelsea prior to that. Took Spurs to their first domestic cup final in 6 years and imo was unfairly dismissed before it. He’s one of the best managers we have ever seen and his record backs that up.

P: 995
W: 635
D: 198
L: 162

Winning 25 trophies. In comparison, Mauricio Pochettino has lost more games as manager than Mourinho in 457 less games.

The Sundance Kid
04-05-2021, 01:18 PM
Confirmed he’s taking over as Roma manager in the summer

04-05-2021, 01:23 PM

It could be a good fit. I think he's being written off too soon. It will be interesting to see how it goes; it's a big club.

04-05-2021, 01:30 PM

That'll be another 10 million euro windfall when hes sacked in 8 months.
The special one likes a payoff written into his contract.

04-05-2021, 01:36 PM
That'll be another 10 million euro windfall when hes sacked in 8 months.
The special one likes a payoff written into his contract.
:agree: Although he is on the downward spiral with clubs, maybe another 6 or 7 payoffs and he might be interested in the Celtic job when it's available again a few years from now.:greengrin

04-05-2021, 01:39 PM
:agree: Although he is on the downward spiral with clubs, maybe another 6 or 7 payoffs and he might be interested in the Celtic job when it's available again a few years from now.:greengrin

Here's hoping that he just happens to be in the Hearts merchandise shop when Budge is looking for a new manager.

04-05-2021, 01:48 PM

Brilliant - still one of the very best in the game.

04-05-2021, 02:01 PM
Here's hoping that he just happens to be in the Hearts merchandise shop when Budge is looking for a new manager.

Cant see it myself, he is a stylish man.:greengrin

04-05-2021, 02:03 PM

Aye so he is.

04-05-2021, 03:07 PM

Wouldn’t he need to, I don’t know, win trophies or something to still be considered one of the very best?

Magpie
04-05-2021, 03:33 PM

The only manager to have ever won a treble in Italy. Roma 13 years without a trophy now, wouldn’t be surprised to see that change in his time there. I think he will have the same impact as Conte did on Inter.

04-05-2021, 04:11 PM
Wouldn’t he need to, I don’t know, win trophies or something to still be considered one of the very best?

Do you think he gets these jobs through luck? Barca, Benfica, Leiria, Porto, Chelsea, Inter, Real Madrid, Chelsea, Man U, Spurs, Roma. Not a bad list for someone who isnt one the very best in the game.

04-05-2021, 05:19 PM
Do you think he gets these jobs through luck? Barca, Benfica, Leiria, Porto, Chelsea, Inter, Real Madrid, Chelsea, Man U, Spurs, Roma. Not a bad list for someone who isnt one the very best in the game.

He's certainly done well in the past, but i dont think he's now going to get any top jobs who have a chance of winning the top trophies anymore.

He will always get a team just because of who he is and what he's done in the past, but his clubs now are a step down from the top shelf.

Man U
Spurs
Roma.

mayo hibee
04-05-2021, 05:52 PM
Incredible that huge clubs keep hiring him. Do they never look at the mess he leaves behind at every clubs that sacks him?

04-05-2021, 06:06 PM

He used to be one of the very best in the game, but he isn’t anymore.

He got the Spurs job because, fundamentally, Daniel Levy knows f*** all about football.

I don’t know who makes the decisions at Roma but I can’t see it going well.

04-05-2021, 06:12 PM
Wouldn’t he need to, I don’t know, win trophies or something to still be considered one of the very best?Excluding spurs (who were in a final when he was sacked) what club did he not win a trophy at?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

04-05-2021, 06:18 PM
Excluding spurs (who were in a final when he was sacked) what club did he not win a trophy at?

I’m not denying he used to be one of the best managers in the world.

Those days are long gone though.

His objective at Spurs was to keep them in the Champions League. He failed.

04-05-2021, 06:32 PM
Excluding spurs (who were in a final when he was sacked) what club did he not win a trophy at?

I think Mourinho will still win trophies, and spend a lot of money doing so, but it’s more likely to be a league cup or a Europa league than the big trophies. For me it’s telling that the Bayern job was available but he didn’t seem to have been considered and has ended up at a decent team but not one of the elite clubs.

05-05-2021, 02:50 PM
maybe we could have a prediction thread of when he will be sacked, I say, January 2022.

05-05-2021, 02:55 PM
I think Mourinho will still win trophies, and spend a lot of money doing so, but it’s more likely to be a league cup or a Europa league than the big trophies. For me it’s telling that the Bayern job was available but he didn’t seem to have been considered and has ended up at a decent team but not one of the elite clubs.

Bayern won't hire another manager who doesn't speak German after Ancelotti didn't work there. That's their policy now. And they've been after Naglesmann for a while. Zero to do with mourinho ability.

05-05-2021, 04:04 PM
maybe we could have a prediction thread of when he will be sacked, I say, January 2022.

I think Roma could be a good club for him at this point. Roma provide Mourinho the chance to improve them; he isn't expected to go in and win things from day one. There will be less pressure and expectation. It might be good for both parties.

05-05-2021, 04:22 PM
I’m not denying he used to be one of the best managers in the world.

Those days are long gone though.

His objective at Spurs was to keep them in the Champions League. He failed.Genuinely though, when did he work at a club and not win a trophy (excl spurs) ?

I thought I wouldn't be that far back but I might even be surprising myself here!

Magpie
05-05-2021, 07:13 PM

I predict he will win a trophy by Summer 2023

05-05-2021, 07:24 PM
I predict he will win a trophy by Summer 2023

Strictly or Masterchef ???

MagicSwirlingShip
05-05-2021, 07:33 PM

He got the Spurs job because, fundamentally, Daniel Levy knows f*** all about football.

Tiago Pinto, ex Benfica chief exec. Quite highly regarded within the game.

Obviously knows diddly squat about football, also.

06-05-2021, 07:53 AM
Strictly or Masterchef ???
:faf:. :agree:

06-05-2021, 08:48 AM

Levys decisions have taken spurs from run of the mill side to CL final. He knows plenty about football, or at least his team do.

06-05-2021, 11:46 AM
Levys decisions have taken spurs from run of the mill side to CL final. He knows plenty about football, or at least his team do.

He knows absolute jack. Plenty of Spurs fans will tell you that.

06-05-2021, 11:54 AM

:greengrin Football fans are renowned for their knowledge of the internal workings of a football club.

06-05-2021, 02:52 PM

Short memories they have. Basket case before him.

06-05-2021, 03:25 PM

I’m sure the Spurs fans will defer to your greater knowledge!

You don’t really know what you’re talking about but it never seems to stop you.

06-05-2021, 03:54 PM
I’m sure the Spurs fans will defer to your greater knowledge!

You don’t really know what you’re talking about but it never seems to stop you.

Aye, the usual cheap petty personal insults. So hurtful, how will I cope.

Plenty on here thought Petrie was clueless as well. Why would he know more or less than me or you if he goes every week and works in the game?

Mourinho didn't do any worse than Poch was doing with a squad that was much worse than 3 or 4 years before. He wasn't some unmitigated disaster that should see Levy branded clueless.

06-05-2021, 03:57 PM

When 900 years old you reach, look as good you will not :agree:

06-05-2021, 03:57 PM
When 900 years old you reach, look as good you will not :agree:

Outstanding work

06-05-2021, 04:05 PM
Aye, the usual cheap petty personal insults. So hurtful, how will I cope.

Plenty on here thought Petrie was clueless as well. Why would he know more or less than me or you if he goes every week and works in the game?

Mourinho didn't do any worse than Poch was doing with a squad that was much worse than 3 or 4 years before. He wasn't some unmitigated disaster that should see Levy branded clueless.

Why don’t you talk to Spurs fans about it? I have. You might learn something.

Instead you prefer to accuse them of short memories because they don’t agree with your view. It’s both an arrogant and ignorant position to take.

06-05-2021, 04:21 PM

Instead you prefer to accuse them of short memories because they don’t agree with your view. It’s both an arrogant and ignorant position to take.

Its also an objective option, as I have no emotional ties to them, or against them.

They do have short memories. Levy and his team didn't take them to the champions league final while knowing nothing about football, thats a fact.

06-05-2021, 05:10 PM

He’s certainly improved their position from lower to mid table team to one that challenges for Champions League places. They’ve also been to the final.

I know a few Sours fans too and they are a little critical that they haven’t pushed on from that but they recognise that it is a difficult thing to sustain now without being a top level spender.

Spurs generally have a reasonably sensible wages ratio and net transfer spend. Being sustainable long term is important.

He’s also delivered one of the best stadiums in the world and a top class training centre.

Suspect he knows what he’s doing.

06-05-2021, 05:30 PM
Its also an objective option, as I have no emotional ties to them, or against them.

They do have short memories. Levy and his team didn't take them to the champions league final while knowing nothing about football, thats a fact.

06-05-2021, 05:35 PM
He’s certainly improved their position from lower to mid table team to one that challenges for Champions League places. They’ve also been to the final.

I know a few Sours fans too and they are a little critical that they haven’t pushed on from that but they recognise that it is a difficult thing to sustain now without being a top level spender.

Spurs generally have a reasonably sensible wages ratio and net transfer spend. Being sustainable long term is important.

He’s also delivered one of the best stadiums in the world and a top class training centre.

Suspect he knows what he’s doing.

Cool story bro.

06-05-2021, 05:40 PM

Cool story bro.

Very childish stuff.

06-05-2021, 05:41 PM
Very childish stuff.

Evidence that talking to football fans doesn’t necessarily equate to learning anything.

06-05-2021, 05:45 PM
Evidence that talking to football fans doesn’t necessarily equate to learning anything.

Correct.

06-05-2021, 05:48 PM
Very childish stuff.

You’re amazing.

06-05-2021, 05:48 PM

Er...

06-05-2021, 05:57 PM

You’re amazing.

Appreciated

No idea what your issue is.