View Full Version : Stranraer 0 v Hibs 4 (Doidge, Nisbet, Boyle x 2)

Pages : [1] 2 3

18-04-2021, 10:03 AM
Magennis in for Gogic & Macey in for Rocky.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210418/a0506173fbc9f346dcba1dd5d1cbe440.jpg

18-04-2021, 10:03 AM
Stronger team than I thought he would put out, should score at least 3

18-04-2021, 10:06 AM
I thought we might have seen Cadden in for McGinn, but he's not even on the bench. Maybe picked up a knock?

18-04-2021, 10:06 AM
Magennis in for Gogic & Macey in for Rocky.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210418/a0506173fbc9f346dcba1dd5d1cbe440.jpg

I thought he'd drop Gogic, but I'm surprised it wasn't for Cadden.

Happy enough with the keeper, but I wonder who he'd pick if we got to the final.

18-04-2021, 10:07 AM
I thought we might have seen Cadden in for McGinn, but he's not even on the bench. Maybe picked up a knock?

Must have.

thegaffer12
18-04-2021, 10:10 AM
Really hope Magennis has the game of his life and we get to see what he's really about.

18-04-2021, 10:11 AM
Strong team. Would have preferred Rocky in goals for reasons I outlined yesterday but that was nothing against Macey and he'll be fine.

If we manage the game like we did against QOTS then we should be OK. Plenty respect needed for our opponents though, they beat a team who knocked out the biggest club in Europe after all.

18-04-2021, 10:17 AM
Huge opportunity for Magennis today. Let’s hope we finally see a glimpse of what he’s all about.

Kaff
18-04-2021, 10:19 AM
Really hope Magennis has the game of his life and we get to see what he's really about.

Same here, starting games is important now for Magennis.
Hope he takes the bull by the horns today as we need quality in the squad and he'd be like an addition if he finishes the season on a high.
Fingers crossed for him

18-04-2021, 10:30 AM
I thought Hallberg would get a start today, happy to see Magennis start and hope as he needs game time. I hope Ross goes to a back 4 and not a back 3, a 433 would be a good shape against Stranraer as we should have enough about us to get a decent win.

18-04-2021, 10:30 AM
37 year old daryll duffy playing for them. 4-0 Hibs.

Magpie
18-04-2021, 10:33 AM
Come on the Hibees! No Murphy again, has there been any update on him which I have missed?

18-04-2021, 10:33 AM
Reckon that’ll be a 442 with Magennis out to left midfield.

18-04-2021, 10:34 AM
Come on the Hibees! No Murphy again, has there been any update on him which I have missed?

At the presser, JR said he was still injured.

Magpie
18-04-2021, 10:35 AM
At the presser, JR said he was still injured.

Thanks. He seems to have struggled a bit with fitness since joining more than we may have hoped. A good pre season under his belt and hopefully he can have a huge impact next season.

Kaff
18-04-2021, 10:37 AM
Sorry for ignorance on this but is Stair Park a grass surface?

18-04-2021, 10:38 AM
Thanks. He seems to have struggled a bit with fitness since joining more than we may have hoped. A good pre season under his belt and hopefully he can have a huge impact next season.

Unfortunately with injury prone players like Murphy they always seem a good pre season away from fitness.

18-04-2021, 10:38 AM
Sorry for ignorance on this but is Stair Park a grass surface?

It is or at least was the last time I was there.

18-04-2021, 10:45 AM
It's in bbc one Scotland 862 and not on the BBC scotland channel 162 on virgin.

Shame as means it is not in HD.

18-04-2021, 10:46 AM
When you have only 7 subs, why has Ross got 3 defenders on the bench, where's Bradley and Cadden?

18-04-2021, 10:47 AM
Unfortunately with injury prone players like Murphy they always seem a good pre season away from fitness.

He was never injury prone though. Between 2008 and 2017 he played over 400 games.

Its only since he went to Rangers and wasn't playing every week that injuries have found him.

18-04-2021, 10:48 AM

It's in HD on Freeview 101, if you have an aerial.

18-04-2021, 10:49 AM

BBC 1 Scotland on freesat channel 101 HD

18-04-2021, 10:49 AM
Didn't realise Darryl Duffy played for Stranraer. Seems like he's been around forever

18-04-2021, 10:50 AM

No just got Virgin and based in England. No aerial.

Kaff
18-04-2021, 10:52 AM
It is or at least was the last time I was there.

Thanks👍

18-04-2021, 10:53 AM

On the tv guide, if you go "up" above the first channel, you get all the regional BBC sites - I have done that to get BBC England channels in the past

Ch 862 gets you there

18-04-2021, 10:54 AM
Might find it on here at 12 noon
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/56557742

Hibdan12
18-04-2021, 10:55 AM

Is game on iplayer?

18-04-2021, 10:55 AM
Might find it on here at 12 noon
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/56557742

BBC iplayer in England, thats what Im watching on anyway and it did me for the QoTS game.

18-04-2021, 10:56 AM
Is game on iplayer?

Sure is

18-04-2021, 10:56 AM
Is game on iplayer?

18-04-2021, 10:57 AM
BBC iplayer in England, thats what Im watching on anyway and it did me for the QoTS game.

Presume you just change your location for the game

That was BBC Scotland, not BBC1 Scotland. You'd have to search under categories, sport I think. You can't get BBC1 Scotland on the iPlayer.

Presume you just change your location for the game

Just clicked on "live" I didnt have to change anything.

Hibdan12
18-04-2021, 10:59 AM
That was BBC Scotland, not BBC1 Scotland. You'd have to search under categories, sport I think. You can't get BBC1 Scotland on the iPlayer.

Which is it on today?

18-04-2021, 10:59 AM

Cant remember, I just googled BBC QoTS v Hibs logged into my Beeb account and played.

18-04-2021, 11:00 AM
Which is it on today?

BBC 1 Scotland

18-04-2021, 11:01 AM
Didn't realise Darryl Duffy played for Stranraer. Seems like he's been around forever

Scored a hat-trick against us once.

18-04-2021, 11:04 AM
Rocky injured again?
'Mon the Hibs

18-04-2021, 11:04 AM

Ah ok. I have Virgin and in HD on 101. But I’m in Scotland.

18-04-2021, 11:05 AM
Rocky injured again?
'Mon the Hibs

Eh? he's on the bench.

18-04-2021, 11:06 AM
Rocky injured again?
'Mon the Hibs

Macey being given game time rather than Rocky being out.

18-04-2021, 11:06 AM
Michael Stewart putting in the miles this weekend
Was at Aberdeen last night, Stranraer today

18-04-2021, 11:07 AM
Anyone slagging of female pundits must be chuffed to have the genius of Kevin Kyle today. Dearie me.

18-04-2021, 11:09 AM
Will the Hibs Fans with the ladders be there today?

Lendo
18-04-2021, 11:11 AM
Anyone slagging of female pundits must be chuffed to have the genius of Kevin Kyle today. Dearie me.

Absolute charisma black hole.

Mon the hibs

Seemed an odd choice of pundit - never played for the opposition, just happens to live in the town.

Will the Hibs Fans with the ladders be there today?

They dont need ladders, just a wee fence !

Channel 951 (BBC One Scotland HD) on Sky in England.

18-04-2021, 11:14 AM

He makes his microphone look charismatic.

18-04-2021, 11:14 AM
BBC pundits constantly trying sell Hibs players. Hearts so far mentioned 3 times. English sounds like Kevin Kyle’s 2nd language.

18-04-2021, 11:15 AM
Assume Kevin Kyle is to suit the inbred part of the diversity quota.

18-04-2021, 11:16 AM
Ah ok. I have Virgin and in HD on 101. But I’m in Scotland.

Yes got it on 862.

18-04-2021, 11:16 AM
They dont need ladders, just a wee fence !

Just saw that.

Wish I'd driven down there now

18-04-2021, 11:17 AM
ffs yellow kit again

18-04-2021, 11:17 AM
I logged in as they were doing the minutes silence, spent 30 seconds phaffing with my sound on the laptop before I realised.:greengrin

18-04-2021, 11:18 AM
Hopefully wrap this up early to allow us to get to see the young fella Laidlaw.

18-04-2021, 11:19 AM
Channel 951 (BBC One Scotland HD) on Sky in England.

Hibs on the laptop, Arsenal Fulham on the box. Tryng to multi task.

18-04-2021, 11:20 AM
Chris Iwelumo and Kevin Kyle. What have we done to deserve this.

Should be 1-0 up.

If Nisbet had just stuck his foot in to the pass from Doig

Maybe should have been 1 up there

JXM73
18-04-2021, 11:21 AM
Wish iwelumo would stop shouting....

Don't mind Iwelumo but Kyle seems to have left his brain at home

Should be 1-0 up.

If Nisbet had just stuck his foot in to the pass from Doig

A few inches further forward and it would have been a goal

18-04-2021, 11:22 AM
Don't mind Iwelumo but Kyle seems to have left his brain at home

Yup .,I like Iwelumo.
Most of the other BBC pundits are thicI as mince.

Looks like a decent ground for getting a sneaky viewing!!

Pitch is terrible

18-04-2021, 11:24 AM
Yup .,I like Iwelumo.
Most of the other BBC pundits are thicI as mince.

Wonder what's going through his mind when he is standing having a conversation with Kyle :greengrin

18-04-2021, 11:25 AM
This is going to be a slog.

Pitch is gash and they are pressing us well. I still expect us to win but I'd take 1-0 if you offered me it now.

Not a lot of football being played.

Stranraer are no mugs.

18-04-2021, 11:27 AM
Free header. Poor Nisbet

Looks like a decent ground for getting a sneaky viewing!!

Hibs boys are watching behind the fence

Chris Iwelumo is absolutely fine. Decent pundit.

18-04-2021, 11:28 AM
Nisbet should have 2 already. Poor finishing will make this look harder than it is.

Nisbet has to get above that ball and hit the target poor header.

hibbydog
Iwelumo is getting on my t!ts

18-04-2021, 11:29 AM
Nisbet has to get above that ball and hit the target poor header.

Agree that was a bl00dy awful header.

Decent attempt from Boyle

Some of our passing is pretty poor.

The ball seems to bobble quite a lot on that pitch, though.

18-04-2021, 11:30 AM

Possibly a better pundit than co commentator. Mind you I think it’s a tough gig as I could count on one hand the number of co commentators I actually enjoy being there.

Iwelumo is getting on my t!ts

He's alright TBF, he gets a bit excitable but he's fairly knowledgeable.

Pitch is awful

That was half a yard away from a goal from Boyle there. It took a horrible bobble in front of the keeper, had it been a few inches earlier that was over him. Keeper did really well in the end.

I'd be having a few more digs from distance.

18-04-2021, 11:31 AM
Doesn't half babble on though.

18-04-2021, 11:31 AM
We’re playing fine and will score soon.

18-04-2021, 11:32 AM
We've started quicker but our composure is at times non existent, pass pass punt.

That's what the 'mute' button is for

;-)

Need to learn that a bit of silence can be welcome.

This is going to be a slog.

Pitch is gash and they are pressing us well. I still expect us to win but I'd take 1-0 if you offered me it now.

Their part time and have all ready played 6 games this month. No chance they keeping the press up for 90 minutes.

Robbo6-2
18-04-2021, 11:33 AM

Did he say we are 2nd best?

aw c'mon nisbet fgs pass a 20 yarder to a fellow hibs player

Poor pass from Nisbet when we're on the edge of their penalty area.

18-04-2021, 11:34 AM

He is. Never a commentator though.

18-04-2021, 11:34 AM
Why is Magennis playing wide left?

hibbydog
18-04-2021, 11:35 AM
I’m a bit bored

Their part time and have all ready played 6 games this month. No chance they keeping the press up for 90 minutes.

Yup. We should be winning this by 2 or 3.

We’ll need to play better than this to do that though.

A bit more conviction and accuracy in our passes and we'll get the goals

18-04-2021, 11:36 AM

Working well with him and Doig tbh.

18-04-2021, 11:37 AM

We’ve used him there before, never looks comfortable there. Just seems pointless.

We've forgotten how to pass!

Jeezo, that's some 'ball control' from Newell

Yup. He’s not looked great again.

If it’s not his position then stop playing him there. Although I’d still have expected him to show more even if he is out of position than he is.

GRA
Had planned some DIY for this afternoon... Hibs better pick up the pace or I'll start it sooner than I expected!

I thought it was Iwelumo on co comms. Really enjoying his input. Far better than McFadden and Co the BBC serve up

18-04-2021, 11:38 AM
This game is not helping my hangover headache.

A bit more conviction and accuracy in our passes and we'll get the goals

not sure that’s possible on the pitch, looks like a field that hasn’t had the grass cut for a few weeks

Nisbet ffs!!

What a miss. Ffs.

18-04-2021, 11:39 AM
Wtf

Nisbet ffs man

That’s shocking from Nisbet.

God's sake Nisbet!

**** sake Nisbet. Get your head out your arse today.

Nisbet having a shocker!

nisbet misses another great chance in front of goal

Nisbet having a mare!

Jeezo, Nisbet!

That was atrocious.

Is Magennis not a sort of central attacking midfielder?

Unless he gets game time in his actual position then he'll back at St Mirren within two years

GRA
FFS Nisbet keep your eye on the ball!

Aww FFS, how'd he miss that.

That's horrific from Nisbet, outstanding from Boyle.

HTF did Nisbet miss that

Nisbet performance so far has been awful.

6 yards out and wide.

Nisbit forgetting he is a footballer today.

No danger Nisbet is leaving for big money this summer. Much to learn.

How’s he missed that???

JXM73
Shocking miss, iwelumo be proud o that one...

Weegreenman
Can we please slow the game down and maybe have a little more composure regards our passing and general all around awareness.

More care of the ball required.

Nisbet sitter!!! O

18-04-2021, 11:40 AM
Shocker of a miss.

We’ve used him there before, never looks comfortable there. Just seems pointless.

I know he can play left or right but surely if we're 352 our width comes from wingbacks, tuck in or get him behind the strikers.

Half hearted attempt by Nisbet very poor indeed, no conviction.

No danger Nisbet is leaving for big money this summer. Much to learn.

Yup.

He’s not good enough to step up a level from us imo, whether that’s the OF or Championship.

I’d even say we may be able to get better ourselves.

We, or should that read Nisbet, are determined to make this difficult for ourselves.

I quite like Iweluemo. He actually adds something of substance albeit he loves to use 10 words when 1 would do.

Nisbet is having a stinker.Could have had a hattrick already.

18-04-2021, 11:41 AM
That's what the 'mute' button is for

;-)
I keep using it, but every time I un mute he's still babbling more inane nonsense.

Weegreenman
Great defending from Nisbet 🤡

He will make amends later almost had too much time

Mikey_1875
Well on top now, need to start getting goals to show for it

Iwelumo is channeling his inner Charlie Nicholas sitting there thinking an awful lot

Today's 'How many times is he gonna say that?' phrase by a co-commentator

"...and you know what?"

Zambernardi1875
would still be playing Stevenson left back and Doig left mid.

18-04-2021, 11:42 AM
Looks like Nisbet maybe got a shout from doidge running on to it and got himself stuck in 2 minds

Yup.

He’s not good enough to step up a level from us imo, whether that’s the OF or Championship.

He’s not playing well, but you cannae dismiss his first half of the season. He was really good, getting goals and all round play was good tae.

He’ll get back to that.

I suppose the positive is Nisbet is getting into the right positions. People were questioning his effort a couple of weeks back but there is no shortage of that today. If he sticks one chance away I could see him scoring 2 or 3 here

Nisbet is having a stinker.Could have had a hattrick already.

Rangers game aside, I don't think he's contributed an awful lot since the turn of the year

Is Newell not allowed to play decent in every first half we play?

Keep your head up Kev, its coming fella.

Dr What If?
25 mins in and Nisbet hasn't left the dressing room.....may the boy needs a rest for the second half

18-04-2021, 11:43 AM

That’d be better.

Hibs starting to take control. Putting them under a lot more pressure now.

Nisbit forgetting he is a footballer today.

Not at it at all today. Body language all wrong. If he doesn't improve, needs hooked at half time.

I quite like Iweluemo. He actually adds something of substance albeit he loves to use 10 words when 1 would do.

I don’t mind Iweluemo, but he does say “ask the question” when he means “have a shot” in every 3rd sentence.

Rangers game aside, I don't think he's contributed an awful lot since the turn of the year

Me neither to be honest.

We're taking complete control now

Pilrig_Sauzee
Aye, that was a howler. No excuses. Hopefully he’ll get anothe chance soon enough and end up putting a couple away.

Weegreenman
Yup.

Can’t believe he got in the national squad either. Came on for a few minutes and looked like a fish out of water. A lot of learning to be done yet before he’s ready for that level.

18-04-2021, 11:44 AM

Good shout that. Or like Scotland do with Tierney and robbo. Stevenson LCB and Doig LWB

He’s not playing well, but you cannae dismiss his first half of the season. He was really good, getting goals and all round play was good tae.

He’ll get back to that.

That’s fair. I do think he’s terribly inconsistent though and if he can’t fix that then he’d toil in the Championship or at the Old Firm.

Weegreenman
The more this game goes on, the more it has cup shock written all over it.

He’ll get back to that.

let’s hope so, been poor today

He’ll get back to that.

Nah, apparently that’s him done and we won’t get any more offers for him because he’s missed a chance today.

That’s despite him probably going to be at the euros.

18-04-2021, 11:45 AM
We have good strikers but sometimes it looks like they never practise finishing in training.

18-04-2021, 11:46 AM
We’re creating far too many opportunities to not score sooner or later. Stranraer’s defending is becoming more and more ragged and desperate.

We've settled down and started to play quite well.

Nisbet is all over the shop, otherwise we'd be in front and a lot calmer.

Strikers being strikers, he'll take a couple of chances later and all will be forgiven/forgotten.

I'm quite liking Iwelumo.

Nah, apparently that’s him done and we won’t get any more offers for him because he’s missed a chance today.

not sure he will be anywhere near the Euros if he continues to play like this for the rest of the season

18-04-2021, 11:47 AM
Reckon that as soon as we score, they will crumble and we will get a few.

That's a penalty on Porteous.

Surely a penalty on Porto there.

I take it that you can’t get a penalty from a corner any more?!

Porteous bear hugged, free kick given to them for the goalie dropping it.

Stranraer boy just WWE slammed Porteous at that corner.

Good shout that. Or like Scotland do with Tierney and robbo. Stevenson LCB and Doig LWB

We aren’t playing with a LB today so no idea why we’d want to put Lewis on.

Reckon that as soon as we score, they will crumble and we will get a few.

Porteous being dragged about the penalty box, but it’s a foul to them for challenging a header.

18-04-2021, 11:48 AM

People are always going to moan about a striker missing chances, especially good ones.

It's not like he is wandering about hands on hips looking like he can't be bothered though. There's a reason these chances are falling to him, because his movement is good and he's in the right place. He's not scored the goals he has this season because he's been lucky, it's because he's a good player.

not sure he will be anywhere near the Euros if he continues to play like this for the rest of the season

And I’m sure he won’t play like this for the rest of the season, or game for that matter.

He’s had a poor first half hour and missed a great chance. It happens.

They are all making heavy weather of this.

18-04-2021, 11:49 AM
Hit it 1st time Boyle.

Why did Boyle cut outside there?

Unbelievable challenge on Porteous there. What are the officials doing?

Boyle should have just let that run through him. Good movement and pass though.

Great ball from Irvine. Surprised Boyle didn’t let it run on and go one on one with keeper though.

18-04-2021, 11:50 AM
People are always going to moan about a striker missing chances, especially good ones.

It's not like he is wandering about hands on hips looking like he can't be bothered though. There's a reason these chances are falling to him, because his movement is good and he's in the right place. He's not scored the goals he has this season because he's been lucky, it's because he's a good player.

Exactly. I was moaning at his chance too. It’s the totally over the top reactions I found amusing.. “no way” we’re getting a big offer for him now, and “we can do better” etc...

18-04-2021, 11:50 AM

In the vast majority of games he doesn’t bother to turn up until we’re in a comfortable position. Far too many backwards/sideways simple passes for me when he should be looking to play more positively, such a frustrating footballer.

18-04-2021, 11:51 AM
And I’m sure he won’t play like this for the rest of the season, or game for that matter.

He’s had a poor first half hour and missed a great chance. It happens.

He’s scored 2 goals since Christmas.

Hopefully he doesn’t play like this for the rest of the season, but his poor run of form has lasted a lot longer already than what’s left of the season.

If his form doesn’t pick up over the final few games then I’d expect Clarke will just take another winger rather than Nisbet and use Fraser and Christie as emergency strikers/second strikers.

We are going to win this, but we could have won it already.

Pilrig_Sauzee
Think the Stanraer keeper’s been on the Conrad Logan diet plan

This is embarrassingly one sided now. Goal only a matter of time

We are going to win this, but we could have won it already.

:aok::aok:

18-04-2021, 11:52 AM
Some save by the keeper. He's done well for them today.

Come on Hibs.

What a save by their goalie.

I thought that was in.

McGinn unlucky

unlucky McGinn kept it down

Good knock down from Boyle. :agree:

There it is

Yes!

What a save. Great play by Boyle.

YES !!!! 1-0

Great finish

Superb Doidge

1-0 Doidge

Great turn 👍

Goal

18-04-2021, 11:53 AM
:flag:doidgealdo

They are all making heavy weather of this.

Not really, Boyle and Irvine are getting involved and creating, Doig is doing well on the left, Newell again doing nowt as he does most games in the first half. And McGennis not doing much either.

1-0 Doidge. :top marks

Finally, the Doidger!!!

Yes. Some finish by big Doidge.

We'll hammer them now.

Thank god for that.

Good goal from Doidge! About time we got ahead.

OtleyHibs
Good finish from doidge there on the turn

That's how you do it! Nice.

Get in there.

Goal, 1-0 up. Time to score a few more.

No idea why people are bored watching this. Been attack after attack.

Doidge showing Nisbet how to finish.

Annnndddd. Relax :greengrin

e2los
:flag:Was coming. Hoping for a few more.

aljo7-0
Lovely finish

Great finish well done big man

18-04-2021, 11:54 AM
Another sclaff.

Hes our best striker. Top class from Doidge. New deal ASAP.

Brilliant turn and finish Doidge. Like his QotS goal.

erin-go-bragh87
If Joe Newell took a goal kick he wouldn't get it out of the box. No idea what people see in him, he's brutal.

yerauldda
I really, really love Doidge

Well done Doidger, let’s go and get a few now

Well done Doidge. Thats been coming for a while.

yerauldda
If Joe Newell took a goal kick he wouldn't get it out of the box. No idea what people see in him, he's brutal.

Hilarious

:agree: and with the goal we've got the reward we deserve

Doidge showing Nisbet how to finish.
That was a good goal, no tap in there.

Great finish.

Fancy us to get a few more. We’re completely dominant.

I reckon Boyle is a cert to score, and hopefully Nisbet can get one.

What a spin and strike from Doidgaldo !

Excellent finish from Doidge!

18-04-2021, 11:55 AM
Niz just scored there.... shame it was with his hands. 😂

After a lively first 20 minutes, I think Stranraer look done in.

That changes the game - they were very, very well organised and a goal before half time is what we needed. Fantastic finish by Doidge.

1st 10 minutes or so was a tough watch as we got used to the pitch and dealt with them pressing us.

Since then it has been all Hibs and if we were 3 or 4 up at HT they could have no complaints at all.

Aye ok

If this was a boxing match it would be stopped. Complete miss match

Good goal from Doidge, he's a natural finisher when he doesn't have to think about it, he's had a good game today.

pollution
After a lively first 20 minutes, I think Stranraer look done in.

Good time to score a goal.....

18-04-2021, 11:56 AM
Seems to be a lot of folk in the stadium, K Kyle is doing my nut in, good goal Doidge.

18-04-2021, 11:56 AM
Another two for half time please Hibs.

18-04-2021, 11:57 AM

Could be you that's wrong right enough 😂

Doidge has been excellent so far. His work rate is phenomenal. Found his shooting boots again. Top player.

Seems to be a lot of folk in the stadium, K Kyle is doing my nut in, good goal Doidge.

Eh?

How you hearing him. Is he on the radio?

erin-go-bragh87
18-04-2021, 11:58 AM
Aye ok

Tell me what he does then? No pace, not skillful, doesn't score goals. When's the last time he even got an assist?

Some of our passing is pretty poor.

The ball seems to bobble quite a lot on that pitch, though.

Pitch? It's a tattie field.

Another great save

What a save again.

Tell me what he does then? No pace, not skillful, doesn't score goals. When's the last time he even got an assist?