View Full Version : Bowie
16-04-2021, 11:15 PM
The absolute king of music. No one will ever better what he did. Legend.
16-04-2021, 11:50 PM
Only started to listen to him over the last few years and he was the best of his generation. :agree:
17-04-2021, 02:38 PM
Nah, not for me. Too many piss poor songs on every album, he did have some fantastic ones too, but for me he's a very good artist, but way over hyped. :wink:
Bangkok Hibby
17-04-2021, 03:03 PM
Nah, not for me. Too many piss poor songs on every album, he did have some fantastic ones too, but for me he's a very good artist, but way over hyped. :wink:
For me Hunky Dory, Ziggy and Aladdin Sane were immense, perfect for the time. After that good and meh!
His Lords prayer at the Freddie Mercury concert was one of the most cringeworthy things I've ever seen.
Mick Ronson taken far too soon.
17-04-2021, 03:04 PM
Agreed. His greatest hits reel is excellent but there's a lot of self indulgent crap in his back catalogue. I do love how he stayed fresh and re-invented himself though and I regret never seeing live. A great artist and showman, yes. King of music? Sorry but he doesn't come close to Prince for that accolade.
17-04-2021, 03:27 PM
Agreed. His greatest hits reel is excellent but there's a lot of self indulgent crap in his back catalogue. I do love how he stayed fresh and re-invented himself though and I regret never seeing live. A great artist and showman, yes. King of music? Sorry but he doesn't come close to Prince for that accolade.
saved me writing the same 😉
17-04-2021, 03:55 PM
Christ, another thread I don’t remember starting. At least this ones better than the one on the main board.:embarrass
17-04-2021, 03:56 PM
Prince as great, but wouldn’t get into the top 10 conversation.
17-04-2021, 04:03 PM
Prince as great, but wouldn’t get into the top 10 conversation.
All very subjective and without a definition hard to pin the accolade to one artist. Prince for me wins it due to his skills on many different instruments. The guy was not just a top entertainer, he was a musical genius.....and a top ****ger! :greengrin
17-04-2021, 04:12 PM
All very subjective and without a definition hard to pin the accolade to one artist. Prince for me wins it due to his skills on many different instruments. The guy was not just a top entertainer, he was a musical genius.....and a top ****ger! :greengrin
I love Prince, he was pretty unique in what he did and was also a great song writer. As you say it’s all subjective.
17-04-2021, 05:10 PM
Christ, another thread I don’t remember starting. At least this ones better than the one on the main board.:embarrass
17-04-2021, 05:51 PM
He’s no Paul Weller! 😀
17-04-2021, 11:23 PM
Prince as great, but wouldn’t get into the top 10 conversation.Depends who you are talking to I suppose. Like all art and entertainment its all personal therefor there are no right answers, no metrics that prove anything. It's just down to personal taste. There's a caveat. Anyone supporting Hearts is clearly a moron.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
17-04-2021, 11:41 PM
You're a Queen fan, right?
18-04-2021, 09:15 AM
I like how this has turned into a ‘hes not very good’ thread.
I love Bowie. Favourite song currently? Wild is the Wind.
18-04-2021, 09:38 AM
Are you sure?
I thought it was just some people posting that he was OK, but not necessarily the best
18-04-2021, 12:49 PM
You're a Queen fan, right?
Yip, they have never written a bad song. :wink:
Depends who you are talking to I suppose. Like all art and entertainment its all personal therefor there are no right answers, no metrics that prove anything. It's just down to personal taste.
Totally agree. Leading up to the Millennium there was a gold rush for journos to list their favourite albums (or whatever) and the fashion for quantifying stuff has never abated. The idea the album format is the be all and end all when it comes to music also get's my goat. Most of those "5 star" albums bummed up in the press turn out to be gash.
I sometimes read a list of someone's "Top Ten Ever" and think wtf!! - that's maybe the persons favourites but in no way can it ever qualify as an objective list of great music, so then I think "each to their own".
I love about 6 or 7 albums by Bowie and at the same time there's quite a few I wouldn't give earspace ever again (looking at you, Tin Machine). The cultural impact of his singles far outweigh his long form output for all but a few.
My favourite music is whatever I am listening to and enjoying at the time.
18-04-2021, 09:26 PM
Are you sure?
I thought it was just some people posting that he was OK, but not necessarily the best
From the first post we’ve gone from the OP calling him ‘the absolute king of music’ to him being then described as ‘Cringeworthy’ , pish poor’ , ‘self indulgent crap’
Yes, I’m sure :greengrin
From the first post we’ve gone from the OP calling him ‘the absolute king of music’ to him being then described as ‘Cringeworthy’ , pish poor’ , ‘self indulgent crap’
Apart from the first one, no one described him as any of those things.
18-04-2021, 09:50 PM
Apart from the first one, no one described him as any of those things.
Him, personally, No. Individual songs, Yes.
You must admit it’s not the normal arc for a thread.
Him, personally, No. Individual songs, Yes.
You must admit it’s not the normal arc for a thread.
Mmm, not for a music thread.
"I think Showaddywaddy (or whoever) are the best ever".
"Naw they urnae, thur pish"
Happens all the time.
G15 Hibs
19-04-2021, 08:47 AM
I ****ing love Bowie, but I could easily use all of those phrases to describe parts of his work and career. Apart from a period in the 80s (his Phil Collins years, as he described them) he tended to be pretty daring for a mainstream pop star which inevitably did result in cringeworthy, pish poor self-indulgent crap. However, the best stuff he produced was some of the greatest pop music ever made - and he had pretty consistent periods of being at the top of his game.
Bangkok Hibby
19-04-2021, 09:39 AM
I ****ing love Bowie, but I could easily use all of those phrases to describe parts of his work and career. Apart from a period in the 80s (his Phil Collins years, as he described them) he tended to be pretty daring for a mainstream pop star which inevitably did result in cringeworthy, pish poor self-indulgent crap. However, the best stuff he produced was some of the greatest pop music ever made - and he had pretty consistent periods of being at the top of his game.
Agree with every word. I described his "lords prayer" as cringeworthy and stick by that.
19-04-2021, 09:50 AM
The moment when he bursts into chorus in “Life On Mars” is the greatest moment in music history.
Bangkok Hibby
19-04-2021, 10:43 AM
The moment when he bursts into chorus in “Life On Mars” is the greatest moment in music history.
Really sorry to hijack the thread but the greatest moment in music history is Peter Gabriel singing the word "Jerusalem" the last word of "Suppers ready"
Maybe need another thread?
19-04-2021, 10:49 AM
The moment when he bursts into chorus in “Life On Mars” is the greatest moment in music history.It is pretty good, but I've always been impressed by Michael Jackson (and I'm not a fan) singing "change" right on the key change in Man in the Mirror. Clever stuff!
19-04-2021, 11:45 AM
Nope, I'm sorry, I've checked and it's defo when he goes into the chorus on Life on Mars. I'd love to change it, but it's just a scientific fact.
I don't make the rules.
Bangkok Hibby
19-04-2021, 11:59 AM
Nope, I'm sorry, I've checked and it's defo when he goes into the chorus on Life on Mars. I'd love to change it, but it's just a scientific fact.
I don't make the rules.
Haha fair enough, let's agree the 60'/70's were scientifically proven to be the greatest musical decades 😄👍🏻
Now duck!!! 😄
19-04-2021, 01:05 PM
Haha fair enough, let's agree the 60'/70's were scientifically proven to be the greatest musical decades 😄👍🏻
Now duck!!! 😄
I've checked and it wasn't, it was the nineties. Apart from Oasis, they were *****.
Again, I don't make the rules, science does so if you don't agree with that then you're an anti-vaxxer and anti-climate change.
Bangkok Hibby
19-04-2021, 01:53 PM
I've checked and it wasn't, it was the nineties. Apart from Oasis, they were *****.
Again, I don't make the rules, science does so if you don't agree with that then you're an anti-vaxxer and anti-climate change.
Only flat earthers believe it was the nineties, although it's a proven fact that Liam Gallagher is a dick!
19-04-2021, 01:56 PM
Speaking of Oasis...
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210419/e8af378d4f45e4e03fc610a97475ecc4.jpg
Bangkok Hibby
19-04-2021, 01:58 PM
Speaking of Oasis...
If she started singing she'd burst his eardrums. She's a screamer 😀
19-04-2021, 03:13 PM
Actually, you're right
19-04-2021, 03:39 PM
Actually, you're right
Even a stopped clock tells the right time twice a day :agree:
I don’t actually dispute that a few of Bowie songs could be described as self indulgent or crap, (the laughing gnome sucks the root as far as I’m concerned) but same goes for every artist Lennon, Marley, Dylan all wrote stinkers. It’s part of the creative process so almost passes without comment for me.
19-04-2021, 03:40 PM
Only flat earthers believe it was the nineties, although it's a proven fact that Liam Gallagher is a dick!
A middle aged man performing songs written for Adele in front of a massive sign that reads "Rock n' Roll". Who's he trying to kid?
G15 Hibs
19-04-2021, 06:37 PM
Sorry but he doesn't come close to Prince for that accolade.
The greatest moment in pop history is the transition from the title song into Little Red Corvette on Prince's 1999 album.
The greatest Bowie moment is when the "it's not the side effects of the cocaine" section on the Station to Station song kicks in.
Well known facts.
HibbyDave
21-04-2021, 07:12 AM
Under pressure.
Bowie and Queen together what more would you need?
21-04-2021, 07:16 AM
Bowie deserves genius status for this track alone. He did also produce some right old tosh though. :greengrin
https://youtu.be/zGcLw_bkh9U
21-04-2021, 01:11 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJSv6JXKS_I&ab_channel=isolar7
Maybe my favorite Bowie song, he did do some great singles. :thumbsup:
21-04-2021, 01:13 PM
Under pressure.
Bowie and Queen together what more would you need?
Just checked in my big book of sciencey facts by scientists and Queen are pish.
Sorry.
21-04-2021, 01:33 PM
Sorry.
https://media3.giphy.com/media/U1aN4HTfJ2SmgB2BBK/giphy.gif
21-04-2021, 01:49 PM
Sorry.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AnGaEk0rZdU&list=PL718D16542AE44430&index=16
21-04-2021, 02:29 PM
https://media3.giphy.com/media/U1aN4HTfJ2SmgB2BBK/giphy.gif
No, I've double checked and Queen are defo pish. Came from the same people who told me that Morrissey was a bit of a knob.
21-04-2021, 02:38 PM
21-04-2021, 03:57 PM
No, I've double checked and Queen are defo pish. Came from the same people who told me that Morrissey was a bit of a knob.
Reported
But your comment about Morrissey is true. :greengrin
Johnny Clash
25-04-2021, 07:05 AM
I’m really into my music and was so fortunate to start going to gigs as a young teenager during early days of punk/new wave. Prior to that I was into Slade and Bowie.
I mind buying a cassette (Young Americans) from a strange wee 2nd hand shop opposite my school (Leithy). The tape reeked of fags and perfume which added to the vibe and I played it endlessly. For some reason his song ‘Changes’ on Hunky Dory really got its hooks into me . I still like it but when I was 14 it was the best song ever. I also mind the day soon after, when Bowie tickets arrived for the Glasgow Apollo gig in 1978. Excited beyond belief and when the gig happened and Bowie waked on stage it was unbelievable.The musical equivalent of seeing another David lifting the Scottish Cup
There was always something extra special about Bowie though. Can’t explain but to this day his music and the overall aura is the best for me Can’t stand the glass spider period though but he had to deviate into commercial pop in order to raise a few quid at that time. The fact he can even do this is pretty impressive.
Before lockdown I was in Brixton a lot. Used to walk past Bowie’s house on the way to work and always gave me a boost. I think his music and attitude will forever continue to inspire new bands and that’s the best accolade really.
30-04-2021, 09:43 PM
Speaking of Oasis...
Love it :greengrin
30-04-2021, 09:47 PM
Music is very subjective. I liked Bowie, a lot of music is about expressing yourself and Bowie certainly did that. But each to their own. I liked most of his stuff and don't really care if other people didn't. Even my favourite artists I didnt like every track they ever produced.
20-05-2021, 03:56 PM
Station to Station is my favourite Bowie album. Every song is beautiful.
28-05-2021, 10:16 PM
Bowie was amazing but the Beatles were superlative.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eanMXOq4nYQ
12-08-2021, 01:24 AM
https://youtu.be/sJB24LVx6fw
just stop music now. This will never be bettered.
12-08-2021, 01:37 AM
I’ll never see him live and I can’t tell you how much that annoys me. **** **** **** **** **** in hell.
Key West
13-08-2021, 06:48 AM
From Hunky Dory to Station to Station, excellent vocalist and performer, never thought he was a great lyricist, after that bits and pieces, some reminders of how good he really was.
patch1875
13-08-2021, 07:19 AM
Bowie is great certainly up there.
But that Glastonbury performance seems to have been elevated to some magical live performance not sure about that.
13-08-2021, 06:54 PM
Bowie is great certainly up there.
But that Glastonbury performance seems to have been elevated to some magical live performance not sure about that.
I agree with lord bunberry that it is absolutely justified as a masterful festival performance. Even a song like Starman which wouldn’t normally be in my top ten Bowie songs was joyful. I’ve watched it a few times, usually late at the end of a good night.
13-08-2021, 07:05 PM
I’ll never see him live and I can’t tell you how much that annoys me. **** **** **** **** **** in hell.
If it's any consolation..... I waited 25 years to see him live. And it was awful.
It was billed as a Farewell Tour, so he sang all the hits. The trouble was, it was with that ****ing Tin Machine, who just didn't have the touch for those songs. It also exposed a lot of the weaknesses in his singing, sadly.
Block
13-08-2021, 09:26 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3qrOvBuWJ-c
Sounds superb live in this video. Genius that was Bowie.
13-08-2021, 09:35 PM
One of my biggest regrets looking back, was turning down tickets for his gig in Glasgow cos I couldn't work out how I'd get there and back . Heroes tour too. What a d/€£. Closest I got was being in Comely Bank when he played Murrayfield on the Glass Spider Tour...
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
13-08-2021, 10:57 PM
I agree with lord bunberry that it is absolutely justified as a masterful festival performance. Even a song like Starman which wouldn’t normally be in my top ten Bowie songs was joyful. I’ve watched it a few times, usually late at the end of a good night.
It’s not just about the music, it’s about his presence on the stage and his interaction with the audience. The music takes care of itself, but it needs a performance to elevate it to something special. Bowie gave that performance.
13-08-2021, 11:20 PM
There’s been many artists throughout history that have been considered legends, but no one was more innovative than Bowie. From ziggy to collaborating with the chemical brothers, he never stopped adapting and producing great music.
13-08-2021, 11:38 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3qrOvBuWJ-c
Sounds superb live in this video. Genius that was Bowie.
His live aid performance of Heroes is my favourite.:aok:
Block
13-08-2021, 11:42 PM
His live aid performance of Heroes is my favourite.:aok:
Live Aid is one of my all time ever favorite music events. Simply of its time and magical.
14-08-2021, 01:11 AM
Live Aid is one of my all time ever favorite music events. Simply of its time and magical.
It was definitely of it’s time, but there was many all time greatest performances that came from that gig. It was one of those magical events that will never be repeated.
14-08-2021, 01:12 AM
https://youtu.be/EjXetWK-Ur8
14-08-2021, 01:15 AM
He is really playing that piano.
14-08-2021, 01:32 AM
I realise we’re diverging from the point of this thread and the fact that I started it is not lost on me, but that Queen performance at live aid was spectacular. I remember live aid and at that time there was practically nothing live on the tv and then that happened, I remember donating my pocket money to the cause because everyone got sucked into it. The 80s were tough, but even then everyone got behind what they were trying to do. Bob Geldof achieved something that no politician has ever managed. A great time for humanity albeit a brief interlude.
Block
14-08-2021, 08:38 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pl3vxEudif8
Block
14-08-2021, 08:51 PM
I realise we’re diverging from the point of this thread and the fact that I started it is not lost on me, but that Queen performance at live aid was spectacular. I remember live aid and at that time there was practically nothing live on the tv and then that happened, I remember donating my pocket money to the cause because everyone got sucked into it. The 80s were tough, but even then everyone got behind what they were trying to do. Bob Geldof achieved something that no politician has ever managed. A great time for humanity albeit a brief interlude.
Live Aid is up there alongside Woodstock.
it was the most amazing spectacle to watch unfold.
I bought the full DVD for 20 quid a number of years ago.
You should be able to buy it on Ebay if you wanted to watch it back again as I have.