View Full Version : Greedy, greedy Panini
Dr What If?
14-04-2021, 07:57 PM
I remember my first panini album, I was 8 years old and it was the 1982 World Cup. Still to this day remember the excitement of opening a pack (they only cost a few pence) and finding a hero in dark blue staring back at me....every one a household name, that wee orange in the top corner....complete with a little bio below with their age and club.
My wee boys turn this year, he has just turned 9 and couldn't wait to rip in.....well, until he got the book and realised you need just shy of 700 stickers to complete in and at 90p per pack he wasn't getting a lot of stickers for his hard earned pocket money. Poor wee thing looked defeated before he started, you could see he thought he would never complete the thing. Just to make it a bit worse he can't even swap stickers at school because of rules over COVID.
Can't help thinking maybe Panini are approaching a turning point, my generation have very fond memories of these collections....the coming one not so much....just too big an undertaking.
14-04-2021, 07:59 PM
I remember my first panini album, I was 8 years old and it was the 1982 World Cup. Still to this day remember the excitement of opening a pack (they only cost a few pence) and finding a hero in dark blue staring back at me....every one a household name, that wee orange in the top corner....complete with a little bio below with their age and club.
My wee boys turn this year, he has just turned 9 and couldn't wait to rip in.....well, until he got the book and realised you need just shy of 700 stickers to complete in and at 90p per pack he wasn't getting a lot of stickers for his hard earned pocket money. Poor wee thing looked defeated before he started, you could see he thought he would never complete the thing. Just to make it a bit worse he can't even swap stickers at school because of rules over COVID.
Can't help thinking maybe Panini are approaching a turning point, my generation have very fond memories of these collections....the coming one not so much....just too big an undertaking.
I think I pretty much shoplifted my way to completing the 82 album. Good times.
14-04-2021, 08:13 PM
Very true. We completed the last two World Cup albums, Russia and Brazil, and I don’t want to think about how much it cost. When we got near the end we joined a Facebook swap group, sending stickers in the post to various quarters of the UK. The boys 14 now so I think he’s too old for it, thankfully!
14-04-2021, 08:18 PM
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Panini-World-Cup-Collection-1970-to-2018-Official-reprinted-as-originals-album-/265085893730?_trksid=p2349624.m46890.l49286
Get your lad this mate. I’ve got one and it’s the best football book i own.
Dr What If?
14-04-2021, 08:35 PM
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Panini-World-Cup-Collection-1970-to-2018-Official-reprinted-as-originals-album-/265085893730?_trksid=p2349624.m46890.l49286
That.....is......awesome!!!! Want one!!
Steve88
14-04-2021, 08:58 PM
Great collectors items if you can keep hold of them for 30 odd years :aok:
14-04-2021, 08:59 PM
Maybe your parents felt the same when you were younger.
As you say not being able to swap doublers is a shame.
Renfrew_Hibby
14-04-2021, 09:27 PM
I was a child of the 80s and one of my fondest school memories is me and my mates with our piles of doubles chanting got got got...then suddenly you saw a young Stuart Pearce in a Coventry top or it was that Oldham team photo that had eluded you for ages. Perhaps someone had two or three you really needed, could he be tempted by that foil QPR badge you had?
Amazing times, my dad even ran a swap shop out of our wee newsagents store.
Simpler, happy times.
tanfield
14-04-2021, 09:48 PM
Good shout! 👍. Just ordered from Waterstones - £28 with free postage
14-04-2021, 09:55 PM
Got, got, got, got, need, got, got
So many flashbacks :faf:
G15 Hibs
15-04-2021, 09:22 AM
The negotiation skills I learned in the playground swap market served me well in pay discussions as a union rep.
15-04-2021, 09:28 AM
I always seemed to have about 20 Paul Mariners. Good for developing memory skills that's for sure.
I had a friend who's dad had an ice cream van in the 80s. He was given a whole box and completed the album in about a week. Spoilt git (he also had an Evel Knievel which I was jealous of but that's another story)
15-04-2021, 09:39 AM
Cannae remember what year it was buy I just couldn’t get Stevie Kirk from Motherwell. The only sticker that I didn’t have, I remember being gutted.
15-04-2021, 09:41 AM
I remember the excitement of opening a new pack of stickers, they had a pretty distinctive smell from what I remember.
I only ever completed one album, must've been about 1987, England and Scotland top league one. It got to the point where there was just no point buying packs any more, so I took advantage of the option of just ordering who you needed to complete it - the majority of mine were foil badges, and it wasn't until after I'd submitted my order that I noticed that you could only order a maximum of five foils. The whole lot was sent to me though :greengrin
Think once was enough and I lost interest after that.
hibbie02
15-04-2021, 09:44 AM
I think I pretty much shoplifted my way to completing the 82 album. Good times.
Did anyone actually "buy" them to complete the album???
15-04-2021, 09:47 AM
Did anyone else have the World Cup 90 album? A big A4 hardback ring-binder. Loved it!!
Cat Stanton
15-04-2021, 09:56 AM
Tell him to get a paper job - and a few other jobs too. The price will have gone up in the last 3 years since this calculation was done: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-43566749
15-04-2021, 10:40 AM
i realised it was a big con in 1978 when my mum ended up getting together with her workmates to try and complete them for some worn out schoolboys. They reckoned something like 12 out of 15 were all missing the same few players.
EI255
15-04-2021, 11:04 AM
And nowhere near the same quality album or stickers as back in the day.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
Just_Jimmy
15-04-2021, 11:12 AM
Cannae remember what year it was buy I just couldn’t get Stevie Kirk from Motherwell. The only sticker that I didn’t have, I remember being gutted.lived round the corner from me as a kid. used to say just take a photo and glue it in your book.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
Jakhog1
15-04-2021, 11:19 AM
Only completed it once as a kid late 80's, needed Roy Wegerle for weeks, ended up just giving away the rest of my doublers for it
15-04-2021, 11:29 AM
Back in the late 90s/early 2000s it was football stickers or Pokemon stickers and I was in the latter camp. Sorry everyone.
euro Hibby
15-04-2021, 12:12 PM
I actually worked for Panini in the head office in Modena Italy in the 90's. It was a great job and I still pass the offices from time to time.
Unfortunately I never collected , probably because it was too easy. I think I have a the first baseball collection they did or possibly its basketball so it
will not be worth much. I worked later for an American card company and that was even better. Mostly the main US sports. I got to meet Michael Jordan
and Reggie Jackson. We did a Juventus collection and I had framed it but in a dumb moment I gave it away to a friend because he was a real fan. I am sure today
its worth a bob or two as it was a really great collection , 5 colour printing, gold gold and silver foil.
Great days and great places to work !
euro Hibby
15-04-2021, 12:16 PM
I remember also meeting Antonio Cabrini a few times. He was the great Italian leftback and really popular with the ladies. Nice guy ! I bumpted into him a few times in later years at games
and he would always come up to say hello ! We also has Del Piero as a testimony. He cost alot but again a nice down to earth guy and needless to say he would have made most Hibs teams !
Great collectors items if you can keep hold of them for 30 odd years :aok:
I have the Orbis Italia 90 album in the loft, it’s in ok condition considering the amount I’ve moved around since 1990 but it’s brilliant, first World Cup I can remember sitting and watching was 8 then, started a great period of watching Italian football on C4, love seeing it every time I go up there for something
15-04-2021, 03:19 PM
Mind the foil ones for some of the club badges? They always counted for more than 1 regular card in the swaps market.
I also remember the Hearts players didn’t get a sticker each, they shared. Kenny Black with Sandy Clark or Walter Kidd with Gary McKay for example.
Chorley Hibee
15-04-2021, 03:21 PM
I have the Orbis Italia 90 album in the loft, it’s in ok condition considering the amount I’ve moved around since 1990 but it’s brilliant, first World Cup I can remember sitting and watching was 8 then, started a great period of watching Italian football on C4, love seeing it every time I go up there for something
The Orbis Italia 90 album is outstanding.
I still have mine in near pristine condition.
15-04-2021, 04:24 PM
Mind the foil ones for some of the club badges? They always counted for more than 1 regular card in the swaps market.
I also remember the Hearts players didn’t get a sticker each, they shared. Kenny Black with Sandy Clark or Walter Kidd with Gary McKay for example.
Aye, sometimes a pack would have two or three badges in them. It was like winning the lottery :greengrin
I remember the Scottish teams used to have two players on a sticker. The joy of leaving the Hearts page empty and throwing away their stickers. :agree:
The Orbis Italia 90 album is outstanding.
I still have mine in near pristine condition.
I’ve seen nothing to rival it since to be honest all the info pages etc it was something to behold, mine isn’t in that good nick few legs torn and some grubby, still readable and all that but it wouldn’t be sellable I wouldn’t think.
15-04-2021, 08:59 PM
Munich 74 was my first.
Did he collect the English Premier League edition this year 20/21 (light blue)?
If not, let me know by PM if he wants it as I have an album sitting about 30% complete and I've got about 50 unopened packs that he can tear to bits.
All his if he wants it, free to a wee Hibby I like the sound of, and John McGinn's in it.
15-04-2021, 09:04 PM
Without trumpeting too much, I picked that up for a tenner in Portobello Marie Curie and it is indeed brilliant. Wee bit disappointing that they curtailed a few of the collections though, all of Scotland 74 isn't included.
15-04-2021, 09:35 PM
Without trumpeting too much, I picked that up for a tenner in Portobello Marie Curie and it is indeed brilliant. Wee bit disappointing that they curtailed a few of the collections though, all of Scotland 74 isn't included.
Would love to see them do one for the Euro albums.
15-04-2021, 09:51 PM
Was taken a step further by Hearts when they just started cloning players. Jimmy Sandison and Neil Berry being the first (albeit horrific) attempt.