View Full Version : Salt n Sauce
10-04-2021, 12:01 PM
As someone not from the hallowed city of Edinburgh, what is this sauce with your chips that you speak of?
im a long time visitor to Scotland and chip lover but I can’t remember ever having it! Tell me more..
10-04-2021, 12:04 PM
Its just watered down brown sauce....mingin' :greengrin
10-04-2021, 12:04 PM
I’m lost for words 😮
10-04-2021, 12:05 PM
Brown sauce mixed with vinegar and that's it I believe.
Not sure if it's 50/50 or not, or if different places vary it.
10-04-2021, 12:06 PM
Ah well I’ll give it a go on my next trip
10-04-2021, 12:07 PM
I quite like chippy sauce but only with certain things. It's great with a jumbo haggis or just on chips. It doesn't belong anywhere near fish.
It's one of those things people get really weirdly protective about. I love that.
10-04-2021, 12:09 PM
Salt n sauce on a chip roll, get the sauce soaked into the roll, can't beat it
10-04-2021, 12:10 PM
I'm cosmopolitan, me. Salt, sauce and vinegar.
10-04-2021, 12:13 PM
If you’re into it, everything seems vastly inferior without it.
Deep fried pizza supper, salt and loads of sauce.
Magic.
Funnily enough I find it offensive when I see folk at Easter Road with ketchup on a half pizza but there you go.
10-04-2021, 12:16 PM
If you’re into it, everything seems vastly inferior without it.
Deep fried pizza supper, salt and loads of sauce.
Magic.
Funnily enough I find it offensive when I see folk at Easter Road with ketchup on a half pizza but there you go.Edible awesomeness! :greengrin
10-04-2021, 12:25 PM
Nectar from the God's especially on a chippy after a number of pints on the way home and no taxis in sight.
10-04-2021, 12:28 PM
I quite like chippy sauce but only with certain things. It's great with a jumbo haggis or just on chips. It doesn't belong anywhere near fish.
It's one of those things people get really weirdly protective about. I love that.
I love that too. Regional food snobbery is the only form of bigotry I’m in favour of :greengrin
10-04-2021, 12:30 PM
Brown sauce is life, I get laughed at when people ask what my last meal would be, deep fried pizza with plenty of chippy sauce please, to be fair my arteries packing in will probably be why it's my last meal
10-04-2021, 12:36 PM
Well I love brown sauce and I’m obsessive about vinegar so I can’t wait
10-04-2021, 12:37 PM
It certainly divides opinion from none Edinburgh folk, explain it to none local customers nearly every day, especially with the amount of construction workers from England we serve.
10-04-2021, 12:38 PM
We use water not vinegar as do most places.
10-04-2021, 12:45 PM
Huh! I was always convinced it was vinegar too...
Well that's fine then - water's good for you. :agree:
10-04-2021, 12:54 PM
It’s simply the sign of civilisation. When you get to West Lothian to the west or Eyemouth to the south and east, vinegar starts to replace the brown nectar, and things go downhill from there.
Although the Yorkshire thing with gravy and chips is something I tried recently and it’s not bad at all.
10-04-2021, 12:57 PM
It’s simply the sign of civilisation. When you get to West Lothian to the west or Eyemouth to the south and east, vinegar starts to replace the brown nectar, and things go downhill from there.
Although the Yorkshire thing with gravy and chips is something I tried recently and it’s not bad at all.
Gravy is becoming quite popularr as are mushy peas we sell a fair bit of it though it still lags well behind curry sauce.
10-04-2021, 01:00 PM
Gravy is becoming quite popularr as are mushy peas we sell a fair bit of it though it still lags well behind curry sauce.
My missus, being English, has to have mushy peas. I’ve converted the rest of the family to brown sauce. Curry sauce is just an abomination.
10-04-2021, 01:03 PM
Chippy sauce is incredible.
Can I throw chicken salt on chippy chips into the equation? Superb stuff.
10-04-2021, 01:06 PM
I thought it was a three way combo with vinegar and a bit water added to the sauce.
Bangkok Hibby
10-04-2021, 01:09 PM
The only food I ever put tomato sauce on was scrambled eggs or French toast. Now I'm vegan, if sauce is required its brown sauce all the way.
As a short aside...I was on holiday with an ex girlfriend who was resident in San Francisco. We went for breakfast one day and the whole restaurant had a good laugh at my request for ketchup for my French toast. Its a sweet dish over there so cream, sugar, all that nonsense.
10-04-2021, 01:11 PM
The only food I ever put tomato sauce on was scrambled eggs or French toast. Now I'm vegan, if sauce is required its brown sauce all the way.
As a short aside...I was on holiday with an ex girlfriend who was resident in San Francisco. We went for breakfast one day and the whole restaurant had a good laugh at my request for ketchup for my French toast. Its a sweet dish over there so cream, sugar, all that nonsense.
Tomato sauce very good with fish finger sandwich.
10-04-2021, 01:11 PM
Gravy is becoming quite popularr as are mushy peas we sell a fair bit of it though it still lags well behind curry sauce.Mushy peas!
Devil food only a bit above sprouts :-/
Mind you, I had mushies that had a hint of vinegar in them, million times better, almost to the point of being edible.
10-04-2021, 01:14 PM
Being brought up in the West, I was always a salt and vinegar, or salt only on my chips
44 years of living in the East, I’m still the same
Chippy sauce in my opinion makes them soggy
10-04-2021, 01:23 PM
Being brought up in the West, I was always a salt and vinegar, or salt only on my chips
I was born here but to Lanarkshire parents, so I was exposed to both from a young age. Can take sauce but always preferred vinegar. My main issue is the sogginess.
10-04-2021, 01:36 PM
25 years of living through here and the lack of sauce probably reduced my waist by a few inches.
10-04-2021, 01:39 PM
25 years of living through here and the lack of sauce probably reduced my waist by a few inches.
Ha ha
What no one has asked, is how many pickles do you have with your supper?
None for me, but my wife always has 4!
10-04-2021, 01:56 PM
Mushy peas and gravy are the natural standard around our way.
Always, ALWAYS make sure I have a haggis supper with salt & sauce (or at the very least a bag of chips with salt & sauce) when I’m Edinburgh though. Even converted the other half. Given up trying to recreate it at home though, never get the ratios right and to be honest I don’t think it works the same if the chips aren’t fried chippy-style anyway.
10-04-2021, 02:07 PM
Mushy peas and gravy are the natural standard around our way.
Always, ALWAYS make sure I have a haggis supper with salt & sauce (or at the very least a bag of chips with salt & sauce) when I’m Edinburgh though. Even converted the other half. Given up trying to recreate it at home though, never get the ratios right and to be honest I don’t think it works the same if the chips aren’t fried chippy-style anyway.
A wee side portion of scraps in your neck of the woods too?
10-04-2021, 02:11 PM
I only ever had it on a white pudding supper, as without it the dish - though nourishing and fortifying on a foggy Edinburgh evening - lacked much flavour.
How I loved getting chips on a Saturday night. And a Pink News. Cans of export, jumpers, goalposts.................
stu in nottingham
10-04-2021, 02:40 PM
Salt and vinegar is pretty standard here but gravy is very popular.
Mushy peas are massively popular. We actually have a Minister for Mushy Peas at Westminster.
I love chiipy sauce but the best ever brown sauce by quite a bit in my opinoin was invented here - HP Sauce.
10-04-2021, 02:43 PM
I only ever had it on a white pudding supper, as without it the dish - though nourishing and fortifying on a foggy Edinburgh evening - lacked much flavour.
How I loved getting chips on a Saturday night. And a Pink News. Cans of export, jumpers, goalposts.................
Was just about to say the one exception I’d make is for white pudding.
10-04-2021, 02:47 PM
The thing that elevates the humble potato from just chips to a chippy is the broon sauce
10-04-2021, 02:47 PM
Ha ha
None for me, but my wife always has 4!
2 pickles.
davy67 +
10-04-2021, 02:48 PM
If it's a take- away then it's Salt only for me , brown sauce from the chippy comes back on me something terrible, and chipppy ketchup is vile. At home it depends on what I'm eating , ketchup with fish or scrambled egg , brown sauce with most other things . There are few chip shops I know of that sell chippy brown sauce in big bottles same size as the glass irn bru bottles
davy67 +
10-04-2021, 02:54 PM
[QUOTE=Billy Whizz;6522557]Ha ha
None for me, but my wife always has 4![/QUOTE
i enjoy joy a pickled onion or two, but only if they're in malt vinegar
10-04-2021, 03:09 PM
When I go down to my fiancé's parents there's more sides on the chips than there are chips.
Scraps are a given and the main event but then vinegar, gravy and mushy peas all get a bit of a look in as well. It's one of those places that can't quite decide if it's north or south though so I think there may be a bit overcompensating going on.
For me I would argue a pickled egg is an underrated chippy delicacy. Not every time but as an occasional extra it can hit the spot. They seem less prevalent than they were though. My local chippy growing up had what looked suspiciously like the same jar on the counter for at least a decade.
10-04-2021, 03:21 PM
When I go down to my fiancé's parents there's more sides on the chips than there are chips.
Scraps are a given and the main event but then vinegar, gravy and mushy peas all get a bit of a look in as well. It's one of those places that can't quite decide if it's north or south though so I think there may be a bit overcompensating going on.
For me I would argue a pickled egg is an underrated chippy delicacy. Not every time but as an occasional extra it can hit the spot. They seem less prevalent than they were though. My local chippy growing up had what looked suspiciously like the same jar on the counter for at least a decade.
The pickled egg is a delicacy I’ve never experienced.
I remember them having a jar of them behind the bar in the Pond years ago. I mean - chucking one in with a fish supper I could maybe understand, but the concept of having one along with a pint just seems bizarre, although I guess they wouldn’t have been there if nobody ate them.
It’s funny how your eating patterns change as you go from living with your parents to living with a partner. We always used to have a jar of pickled onions and a jar of Branston in the house when I was wee and I used to eat a fair bit of both. My partner seems to think they’re Satan’s spawn and so you’d never find them in our house now. I don’t particularly miss them or go out of my way to have them but it’s funny how you’ll have certain stuff and quite enjoy it if it’s just there.
10-04-2021, 03:21 PM
I was born here but to Lanarkshire parents, so I was exposed to both from a young age. Can take sauce but always preferred vinegar. My main issue is the sogginess.
Ask for a Tam Cowan supper. Fish is served separately, like a single fish and a bag of chips. That way you can pour on the vinegar over the chips and the fish is still crisp batter
10-04-2021, 03:26 PM
I love chippy sauce. Particular favourite would be a Pie Roll with loads of chippy sauce
10-04-2021, 03:28 PM
Fish and chips with curry sauce is a thing in York.
Surprisingly, it's a very nice thing.
Mushy peas are the biz too, but it's always salt and vinegar or nowt.
stu in nottingham
10-04-2021, 03:29 PM
Me neither.
If I did though, I'd want to try and swallow it whole, something like an oyster.
stu in nottingham
10-04-2021, 03:30 PM
Fish and chips with curry sauce is a thing in York.
Surprisingly, it's a very nice thing.
Mushy peas are the biz too, but it's always salt and vinegar or nowt.
Do they use the expression a 'mix' like here when serving chips and mushy peas on their own in York, Radge?
10-04-2021, 03:31 PM
Ask for a Tam Cowan supper. Fish is served separately, like a single fish and a bag of chips. That way you can pour on the vinegar over the chips and the fish is still crisp batter
Compartmentalised boxes solve that problem now.
10-04-2021, 03:32 PM
Do they use the expression a 'mix' like here when serving chips and mushy peas on their own in York, Radge?
I've not heard that, but when you're ordering what we'd call "2 fish suppers", folk say "One of each twice". 😃
10-04-2021, 03:33 PM
I’m not a fan of chippy sauce, or a big sauce connoisseur in general. Despite that, very defensive about it being salt n sauce. Vinegar is for the heathens.
stu in nottingham
10-04-2021, 03:38 PM
I've not heard that, but when you're ordering what we'd call "2 fish suppers", folk say "One of each twice". 😃
Ah right! Here it would be a simple 'fish and chips twice'. Incidentally, I don't think anybody, apart from possibly my dad and me, has ever uttered the word 'supper' in a Nott'num chippy.
There are also public baths here where you can bathe in mushy peas, like a Nottingham 'spa'.
10-04-2021, 03:46 PM
Ah right! Here it would be a simple 'fish and chips twice'. Incidentally, I don't think anybody, apart from possibly my dad and me, has ever uttered the word 'supper' in a Nott'num chippy.
There are also public baths here where you can bathe in mushy peas, like a Nottingham 'spa'.
I knew Nottingham was weird, but it's worse than I feared! :hilarious
10-04-2021, 03:48 PM
Scraps are great.
Although when I was first asked if I wanted scraps I assumed it meant it was the tail end of the previous batch of chips rather than fresh ones. Reluctantly said yes to that and the rest, as they say, is history.
10-04-2021, 04:53 PM
I was in the chippy in North Berwick once and an English guy asked for “fish and chips twice”. The boy behind the counter shoots back with “alright I heard you the first time”. :greengrin
10-04-2021, 04:53 PM
After 2 /3 hours at the commy (Commonwealth pool) managing to hide the arm bands from the pool attendant it was right down to Bratisannis for chips with so much sauce the arse fell out the chip bag oh happy days
10-04-2021, 04:55 PM
This is a fantastic thread!
10-04-2021, 04:56 PM
I remember them having a jar of them behind the bar in the Pond years ago. I mean - chucking one in with a fish supper I could maybe understand, but the concept of having one along with a pint just seems bizarre, although I guess they wouldn’t have been there if nobody ate them.
It’s funny how your eating patterns change as you go from living with your parents to living with a partner. We always used to have a jar of pickled onions and a jar of Branson in the house when I was wee and I used to eat a fair bit of both. My partner seems to think they’re Satan’s spawn and so you’d never find them in our house now. I don’t particularly miss them or go out of my way to have them but it’s funny how you’ll have certain stuff and quite enjoy it if it’s just there.
I got a picked egg decades ago with a pint in the Cask & Barrel. Nice, amazing how much vinegar seems to soak through them. Not going to replace pork scratchings as the bar snack of choice though.
10-04-2021, 05:06 PM
This is a fantastic thread!
Sometimes we just need something to cheer us up, amongst all the doom and gloom
10-04-2021, 05:07 PM
One thing I’ve never tried is a deep fried Mars Bar
Anyone had it and lived to tell the tale
What goes on it, salt and sauce😂
10-04-2021, 05:21 PM
Sometimes we just need something to cheer us up, amongst all the doom and gloom
We so do.
Salt n Sauce is the hill I will die on. It's what makes us superior! Has anyone outside SE Scotland ever really enjoyed a chippie??
10-04-2021, 05:27 PM
Ive tried one, didn't like it one bit, when they were all the rage a while back my local chippy within reason used to let you pick a sweet and they would deep fry it for you, I tried mars bar, twix, a lion bar but the only one that was half edible for my tastes was a twirl, wouldn't try any of them again in a hurry though :greengrin
10-04-2021, 05:28 PM
I had my first one a couple of years ago in Berties on Victoria Street. It was one of their deserts
I don't really know what I expected but it wasn't what it actually was. It goes kind of claggy and thick. Wouldn't recommend. I think it's a bit of a tourist thing really.
10-04-2021, 05:29 PM
We so do.
Salt n Sauce is the hill I will die on. It's what makes us superior! Has anyone outside SE Scotland ever really enjoyed a chippie??
Emphatically, no. We are the best.
10-04-2021, 05:31 PM
Ironically just about the only thing from a chippy that doesn’t suit chippy sauce.
A pizza crunch with salt and sauce...heavenly
10-04-2021, 05:32 PM
On another note when did chippies in Scotland diversify? You go to England and chippies very much still seem to be chippies specialising in fish and chips.
In much of Scotland chippies are much more likely to be a more general take away offering burgers, pizzas, kebabs and the like as well. Is it just a population thing? Can smaller population centres not sustain multiple options?
10-04-2021, 05:32 PM
Incidentally the likes of Asda and Tesco stock bottles of Gold Star Chippy sauce these days, I always have a couple of bottles stashed in the house, it's my go to flavouring when I cook something that doesn't come out the way I thought it would, just leather it with Chippy sauce and hey presto edible meal :faf:
10-04-2021, 05:35 PM
Incidentally the likes of Asda and Tesco stock bottles of Gold Star Chippy sauce these days, I always have a couple of bottles stashed in the house, it's my go to flavouring when I cook something that doesn't come out the way I thought it would, just leather it with Chippy sauce and hey presto edible meal :faf:
There was a chef on the Great British Menu the other week using HP sauce in all the elements of her dish. The brief was great British inventions and she chose that.
Not quite the same thing obviously but it does make sense that you can substitute it for things like tamarind.
Bangkok Hibby
10-04-2021, 05:37 PM
After 2 /3 hours at the commy (Commonwealth pool) managing to hide the arm bands from the pool attendant it was right down to Bratisannis for chips with so much sauce the arse fell out the chip bag oh happy days
Happy days indeed. Great memories...thanks 👍🏻
10-04-2021, 05:37 PM
On another note when did chippies in Scotland diversify? You go to England and chippies very much still seem to be chippies specialising in fish and chips.
In much of Scotland chippies are much more likely to be a more general take away offering burgers, pizzas, kebabs and the like as well. Is it just a population thing? Can smaller population centres not sustain multiple options?
Yep, they do seem to be one size fits all these days, even though they all sell everything I still have my favourites for certain things
Javitts does the best fried pizza supper
Fish and Chips was always the Tailend when it first opened but I rarely have fish from a chippy
Pizza, burger or roast tatties is Best Kebab House
Pierinos do an amazing chicken wrap
10-04-2021, 05:39 PM
There was a chef on the Great British Menu the other week using HP sauce in all the elements of her dish. The brief was great British inventions and she chose that.
Not quite the same thing obviously but it does make sense that you can substitute it for things like tamarind.
Good to see someone using it, I once got the look of death asking for Brown Sauce for my Steak in a particularly fancy restaurant, wasn't a slight on anything they did, at the time I just liked brown sauce on my steak
10-04-2021, 05:44 PM
Philistine! Everyone knows mayonnaise is the perfect companion for fish fingers on a sandwich.
10-04-2021, 05:48 PM
I took part in the Edinburgh rat race about 15 years ago. It wasn’t the serious event but you tanked about the city logging your wristband in in some places and in some other places someone from your team would have to perform a challenge.
Someone from my team climbed a big tall thing in Ocean Terminal, someone got their head shaved at the nut hoose barber. I did the challenge at the chippy close-ish to that end of Ferry Road - eat a deep fried Mars bar.
I actually thought it was delicious, really good. I’ve never had one since but I would quite gladly, and it would probably go quite well with a wee bit of vanilla ice cream.
It didn’t do much for my run back up to Princes Street gardens afterwards, but it was tasty.
Santa Cruz
10-04-2021, 05:48 PM
Similarly done the same as a kid after a trip to the Vicky's. Was it called Canasta's in Bonnington Road?
10-04-2021, 05:51 PM
It’s funny how your eating patterns change as you go from living with your parents to living with a partner. We always used to have a jar of pickled onions and a jar of Branston in the house when I was wee and I used to eat a fair bit of both. My partner seems to think they’re Satan’s spawn and so you’d never find them in our house now. I don’t particularly miss them or go out of my way to have them but it’s funny how you’ll have certain stuff and quite enjoy it if it’s just there.
It's hard to beat the German variant on pickled eggs. Boiled eggs cut in half lengthways, yoke removed and the cavity filled 50/50 with apple vinegar and mustard then replace the yoke and eat whole. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.
10-04-2021, 06:00 PM
I took part in the Edinburgh rat race about 15 years ago. It wasn’t the serious event but you tanked about the city logging your wristband in in some places and in some other places someone from your team would have to perform a challenge.
Someone from my team climbed a big tall thing in Ocean Terminal, someone got their head shaved at the nut hoose barber. I did the challenge at the chippy close-ish to that end of Ferry Road - eat a deep fried Mars bar.
I actually thought it was delicious, really good. I’ve never had one since but I would quite gladly, and it would probably go quite well with a wee bit of vanilla ice cream.
It didn’t do much for my run back up to Princes Street gardens afterwards, but it was tasty.
So like a banana fritter, they are fried too and are delicious
10-04-2021, 06:13 PM
Eventually got barred from the commy for peeing in the pool .Got home and told my mother why I got barred for . She said don’t worry every wee boy pees in the pool . I didn’t have the heart to tell her I was standing on the top to diving board at the time
10-04-2021, 06:29 PM
Mrs M's favourite Chippy was in Duddingston, where she used to get Spicy Haggis and Chips.
https://www.google.com/maps/@55.9348048,-3.1143485,3a,75y,99.48h,99.48t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sXZ6NOOlrGfMTclDb9HhzsQ!2e0!7i1 6384!8i8192
10-04-2021, 06:34 PM
Works wonders on a cooked breakfast too.
10-04-2021, 06:37 PM
I didn't know that. Had battered chips in one in Torquay. Magnificent.
10-04-2021, 06:56 PM
I do miss an Edinburgh fish supper with salt and sauce, hard to beat.
If you ever find yourself in Norwich, Grosvenor Fish Bar is the place to go, really great food. Their 'chicky chicky bang bang' is superb.
10-04-2021, 07:12 PM
I honestly couldn't tell you the best chippie Ive been to. Scottish chippies are certainly different to English chippies, both great institutions (some good some bad obviously) on my way to and from Edinburgh on match days often stopped off in Biggar at the "townsend" never been disappointed.
10-04-2021, 07:15 PM
If you ever find yourself in Norwich, Grosvenor Fish Bar is the place to go, really great food. Their 'chicky chicky bang bang' is superb.
Some time ago as an Englishman I got took down a peg or two on here for calling it a fish supper. Hmmmm
10-04-2021, 07:23 PM
The Magpie in Whitby is rightly famous, outstanding fish and chips. Nae sauce but
10-04-2021, 07:24 PM
I honestly couldn't tell you the best chippie Ive been to. Scottish chippies are certainly different to English chippies, both great institutions (some good some bad obviously) on my way to and from Edinburgh on match days often stopped off in Biggar at the "townsend" never been disappointed.
I love a chippy now and then, but don’t eat fish. Can’t beat a chicken Supper with Salt😀
Is the fish we fry in a Scottish Chippy not different to an English Chippy. Historically I thought we fried Whiting/Haddock and England was Cod
10-04-2021, 07:28 PM
Someone else said, chippy sauce with certain things is great. My mum lives in York and always wants a bottle or 2 taking down.
Curry sauce with a battered sausage.
Have some family in Hull and you get this stuff called chip salt which is great.
Another Edinburgh/east Scotland thing is salad dressing on a kebab, you don't get that many places I have found elsewhere. Usually garlic mayo.
10-04-2021, 07:29 PM
I love a chippy now and then, but don’t eat fish. Can’t beat a chicken Supper with Salt😀
Is the fish we fry in a Scottish Chippy not different to an English Chippy
Historically I thought we fried Whiting/Haddock and England was Cod
Sort of. South of England Plaice and other flat fish become more common. Obviously cod and other species are endangered and there’s been a lot of work done to encourage folk to try other species that have the flaky cod/haddock consistency. There’s a species that hasn’t been overfished so much that fits the bill but I can’t remember it off the top of my head.
10-04-2021, 07:30 PM
Not something you get offered these days but they’ll certainly serve them if asked. I can’t abide fish mixing with gravy or curry though so the game goes with fish bits. It’s all about the super barm around here anyway. Small fish, small sausage, chips and mushy peas all served on a barm cake (bread roll). Shouldn’t work, but it does.
If I’m driving to ER then we stop at BFC (Biggar’s First Chippy) a bit further down the road. Can imagine it causes all sorts of arguments amongst the locals. Certainly the furthest south I’ve encountered salt and sauce.
10-04-2021, 07:30 PM
Some time ago as an Englishman I got took down a peg or two on here for calling it a fish supper. Hmmmm
I find that weird.
The more people we have in the world calling a fish supper a fish supper the better imo, especially if they are encouraging the use of sauce.
10-04-2021, 07:35 PM
Philistine! Everyone knows mayonnaise is the perfect companion for fish fingers on a sandwich.
That’s fighting talk :grr:
10-04-2021, 07:35 PM
Sort of. South of England Plaice and other flat fish become more common. Obviously cod and other species are endangered and there’s been a lot of work done to encourage folk to try other species that have the flaky cod/haddock consistency. There’s a species that hasn’t been overfished so much that fits the bill but I can’t remember it off the top of my head.
That’s great that they are doing this!
patch1875
10-04-2021, 07:41 PM
Similarly done the same as a kid after a trip to the Vicky's. Was it called Canasta's in Bonnington Road?
Don’t think there has been a better sauce than the Canasta!
Santa Cruz
10-04-2021, 07:47 PM
Don’t think there has been a better sauce than the Canasta!
Is that what it was called? I am struggling to remember. Vividly remember the no-nonsense owner though.
stu in nottingham
10-04-2021, 07:58 PM
Is the fish we fry in a Scottish Chippy not different to an English Chippy. Historically I thought we fried Whiting/Haddock and England was Cod
That normally the case I have found. Certainly most chippies in this part of the world will usually have cod fried ready, haddock has to be stipulated and usually there's a wait to fry it. The latter is a little more money too. Asking for fish and chips will bring you cod and chips.
Skate and rockfish have always been served in the south of England I think. I've never personally seen either in the Midlands or North. Hake and coley are considered good substitutes for cod, being part of the same family. Only common in the supermarket though, never seen them in chip shops.
10-04-2021, 08:05 PM
That's odd, I've only ever heard folk call it a fish supper in Scotland! Everyone just says 'fish n chips' in the places I've lived down south.
I'm hungry now, thanks OP.
They are called bits on the right side of the M62. Class things.
10-04-2021, 08:14 PM
It’s tartare sauce, salt and pepper and lemon juice you cretin.
I am a bit chippy fan.
Noticed the have started doing battered chip butties which consists of t.cake, filled with chips and mushy peas/gravy/curry sauce pressed into the roll and dipped in batter then cooked.
For my normal it would be fish chips mushy peas with salt and Vinegar and bag of bits. T cake.
In Edinburgh though I do usually get the salt and sauce if I go to a chippy.
10-04-2021, 08:17 PM
My first 'chippy' experience was not good. Not a fan at all. But the Scottish Chinese take away is a food I often dream about. Absolutely delicious.
10-04-2021, 08:28 PM
That’s fighting talk :grr:
Consider yourself lucky that I've hung up my oven gloves.
10-04-2021, 08:33 PM
It’s tartare sauce, salt and pepper and lemon juice you cretin.
You're over-thinking the fish thing fool. :middle fish finger smiley:
10-04-2021, 08:44 PM
That normally the case I have found. Certainly most chippies in this part of the world will usually have cod fried ready, haddock has to be stipulated and usually there's a wait to fry it. The latter is a little more money too. Asking for fish and chips will bring you cod and chips.
Skate and rockfish have always been served in the south of England I think. I've never personally seen either in the Midlands or North. Hake and coley are considered good substitutes for cod, being part of the same family. Only common in the supermarket though, never seen them in chip shops.
Coley! that was it. Very similar to cod, the place in marchmont road does it from time to time.
10-04-2021, 08:56 PM
Pollock?
I don't recall seeing it here but in England I've seen the option of haddock or cod in the chippies - to be honest, I have no idea which I prefer or if I'd tell the difference between the two if asked.
I know at home I tend to eat cod, I had no idea they were endangered though??
It's been touched upon already but I didn't realise until visiting English chippies how wide a range of food our chippies do. They'd not blink twice at you ordering a fish supper, steak pie, beef burger, Donner kebab, and 10" pepperoni pizza at some of them. :greengrin
patch1875
10-04-2021, 09:03 PM
Is that what it was called? I am struggling to remember. Vividly remember the no-nonsense owner though.
It was. Italian family sure the daughter served in the place as well grey place for chips.
10-04-2021, 09:08 PM
Pollock?
I don't recall seeing it here but in England I've seen the option of haddock or cod in the chippies - to be honest, I have no idea which I prefer or if I'd tell the difference between the two if asked.
It's been touched upon already but I didn't realise until visiting English chippies how wide a range of food our chippies do. They'd not blink twice at you ordering a fish supper, steak pie, beef burger, Donner kebab, and 10" pepperoni pizza at some of them. :greengrin
Cod comes off the fork in bigger chunks, haddock is flakier is the best way I can describe it. I definitely prefer haddock.
Bangkok Hibby
11-04-2021, 12:32 AM
There were two chippies right next to each other in Broughton road, near Powderhall many years ago. One was staffed by two Italian sisters, big girls, lovely and friendly. You could add your own sauce so the arse fell out of many chip bags. If it was after midnight you got hot freshly cooked rolls from the baker in a wee lane just up the road. Can smell them now 🙂
11-04-2021, 08:01 AM
That certainly isn’t what chippy sauce is. Chippy sauce is Goldstar brown sauce watered down. Two thirds sauce to one third water. Ironically Goldstar sauce is made in Glasgow. They also produce chippy curry sauce. That comes powdered and is the 2nd best sauce available in chippys.
You can buy Goldstar sauce in Tesco but that has already been watered down. The proper stuff comes in gallon containers.
Edit sorry if this was done before, replied before I noticed the thread was 3 pages long.
11-04-2021, 08:33 AM
That certainly isn’t what chippy sauce is. Chippy sauce is Goldstar brown sauce watered down. Two thirds sauce to one third water. Ironically Goldstar sauce is made in Glasgow. They also produce chippy curry sauce. That comes powdered and is the 2nd best sauce available in chippys.
You can buy Goldstar sauce in Tesco but that has already been watered down. The proper stuff comes in gallon containers.
Edit sorry if this was done before, replied before I noticed the thread was 3 pages long.
Aye, I've been put right already. :greengrin
A Google suggests that with the exact recipe being kept relatively secret by local chippies that vinegar become a common misconception with the public. Clearly I was duped along with them.
Wouldn't surprise me if there were some places using vinegar to be fair - but maybe water is the more traditional method.
11-04-2021, 08:44 AM
Does anyone remember the 'cheeseburgers' some chippies sold? A slice of processed cheese slapped between 2 burgers, dipped in batter and deep fried. Only 7800 calories per portion.
11-04-2021, 08:50 AM
Does anyone remember the 'cheeseburgers' some chippies sold? A slice of processed cheese slapped between 2 burgers, dipped in batter and deep fried. Only 7800 calories per portion.
Yes! Absolutely loved them as a boy. Another thing that really worked with chippy sauce. There was a really funny Desert Island Discs with John McEnroe talking about his first Wimbledon tournament, he’d never been to England before and he couldn’t believe what could be passed off as a ‘cheeseburger’ in those days compared to the American one!
11-04-2021, 10:10 AM
Had several unusual requests recently, folk wanting smoked sausages battered. Someone asked for a jumbo battered pork sausage supper but could they have one sausage battered and one not battered. It also amazes me how people like chips/cheese/gravy together or chips/cheese/curry sauce together. I have tried both purely out of interest and didn’t like either.
Pollock?
I quite like pollock. It’s more tasty than cod but not as much as haddock.
11-04-2021, 10:19 AM
Had several unusual requests recently, folk wanting smoked sausages battered. Someone asked for a jumbo battered pork sausage supper but could they have one sausage battered and one not battered. It also amazes me how people like chips/cheese/gravy together or chips/cheese/curry sauce together. I have tried both purely out of interest and didn’t like either.
I knew a Canadian guy at uni who called chips, cheese and gravy 'crackhead poutine'.
A Google suggests that with the exact recipe being kept relatively secret by local chippies that vinegar become a common misconception with the public. Clearly I was duped along with them.
Wouldn't surprise me if there were some places using vinegar to be fair - but maybe water is the more traditional method.
Some places water it down with the leftover vinegar from the pickled onions. That is the best chippie sauce.
I knew a Canadian guy at uni who called chips, cheese and gravy 'crackhead poutine'.
Chips, cheese and curry sauce is the fashion down Camden Town.
11-04-2021, 10:27 AM
Some places water it down with the leftover vinegar from the pickled onions. That is the best chippie sauce.
That’s an interesting idea but probably not that common as the amount of pickled onion vinegar left over after a jar is sold would simply never be enough for the quantities of brown sauce chippies go through in a week.
stu in nottingham
11-04-2021, 10:42 AM
Not sure where he got the 'crackhead' bit from but Poutin is actually a popular French-Canadian dish from Quebec widely eaten in Canada. It's cheese curds served with chips and gravy. Pronounced Pou-tin or Pu-tsin if you"re French. Delicious!
11-04-2021, 10:49 AM
Not sure where he got the 'crackhead' bit from but Poutin is actually a popular French-Canadian dish from Quebec widely eaten in Canada. It's cheese curds served with chips and gravy. Pronounced Pou-tin or Pu-tsin if you"re French. Delicious!
A poor mans version?
stu in nottingham
11-04-2021, 10:59 AM
A poor mans version?
Could be. Poutine without the gravy and cheese curds - or chips.
Lendo
11-04-2021, 11:05 AM
My post night out stumble home down Leith Walk was never complete without a portion of Chips, Cheese & Curry Sauce from Best Kebab. I can’t recommend it highly enough.
11-04-2021, 11:08 AM
I think they all used to use vinegar(or non brewed condiment) but it was just a cost thing that led them to switch to water.
Santa Cruz
11-04-2021, 11:26 AM
My post night out stumble home down Leith Walk was never complete without a portion of Chips, Cheese & Curry Sauce from Best Kebab. I can’t recommend it highly enough.
Have you not tried their roast potato's? The coating is a bit like the kentucky fried chicken flavour, they are barry We call them special tatties cos we used to say that to the bairn when she was wee. I went in once and forgot this was not the name on the menu and asked for a portion of special potatoes and the worker looked at me like I was not the full schilling. It was a cringe moment.
11-04-2021, 11:29 AM
Cheesy chips is quite a regular thing in the North East (of England). I can’t be doing with it.
11-04-2021, 12:02 PM
Yep he knew his poutine.
The 'crackhead' was in reference to the cheap abomination served here with plastic cheese and soggy chips.
Lendo
11-04-2021, 12:02 PM
Have you not tried their roast potato's? The coating is a bit like the kentucky fried chicken flavour, they are barry We call them special tatties cos we used to say that to the bairn when she was wee. I went in once and forgot this was not the name on the menu and asked for a portion of special potatoes and the worker looked at me like I was not the full schilling. It was a cringe moment.
I’d forgotten all about their roast potatoes! Always got a wee portion on the side whenever I got some chicken pakora and plenty of garlic sauce. Happy times
11-04-2021, 12:14 PM
I remember reading about the roast potatoes on here and I'd never had them before so tried them - safe to say I'm very much a convert.
They're fairly unique, not sure I've ever seen or heard of anything similar from anywhere else, and yes - absolutely amazing.
I've ended up accidentally over-ordering a few times from there as they seem to stick them on the side of some stuff but not others, and then if you order a portion more you can end up with mountains of food.
11-04-2021, 12:21 PM
All this talk of Roast Tatties has made me want them, it's been a while, will get them tonight now, luckily Best Kebab is a 2 minute walk away
11-04-2021, 12:28 PM
Chuck a bit of mayo on that as well and you’re in dreamland.
Can’t be having ketchup on scrambled eggs, that’s that all about?! Salt, pepper and that’s your lot.
Brown sauce on a chippy is essential, virtually any supper is elevated by its presence.
11-04-2021, 12:31 PM
Can’t be having ketchup on scrambled eggs, that’s that all about?! Salt, pepper and that’s your lot.
Brown sauce on a chippy is essential, virtually any supper is elevated by its presence.
Has to be cheese on scrambled eggs, but I agree that ketchup with scrambled eggs is wrong.
Fine with an omelette though.
11-04-2021, 12:34 PM
My daughter has ketchup on scrambled eggs, I can’t even look at it it’s so wrong. Salt n pepper, or sometimes just a wee dollop of HP on the side.
Santa Cruz
11-04-2021, 12:35 PM
All this talk of Roast Tatties has made me want them, it's been a while, will get them tonight now, luckily Best Kebab is a 2 minute walk away
Stay alert! Other mistake I made was going into the kebab shop right next door thinking it was the Best Kebab and asking for a portion of potatoes, got shot yet another wtf you talking about look, then tippled I was in the wrong shop and they didn't even sell them. Enjoy!
11-04-2021, 12:38 PM
I’d forgotten all about their roast potatoes! Always got a wee portion on the side whenever I got some chicken pakora and plenty of garlic sauce. Happy times
Best Kebab is fantastic. Used to pop in regularly when i had my flat off Leith Walk. One of the things i really miss about living there.
11-04-2021, 12:41 PM
Stay alert! Other mistake I made was going into the kebab shop right next door thinking it was the Best Kebab and asking for a portion of potatoes, got shot yet another wtf you talking about look, then tippled I was in the wrong shop and they didn't even sell them. Enjoy!
Haha it's cool, I know the guys that run best kebab, I've lived round the corner from it all my life, I tend to get free tatties with anything I order
11-04-2021, 01:09 PM
My daughter has ketchup on scrambled eggs, I can’t even look at it it’s so wrong. Salt n pepper, or sometimes just a wee dollop of HP on the side.
My fiancee has ketchup with macaroni cheese and mixes it through. It goes a disgusting shade of sludgy pink and gives me the boke just looking at it. I can almost tolerate that but she has passed the habit on to my daughter as well.
11-04-2021, 01:17 PM
My fiancee has ketchup with macaroni cheese and mixes it through. It goes a disgusting shade of sludgy pink and gives me the boke just looking at it. I can almost tolerate that but she has passed the habit on to my daughter as well.
I'm with her or that one, Mac and Cheese is too rich on its own, you need something to cut through the richness, so a bit tomato or brown sauce mixed in does the job
No so much that it changes colour though
11-04-2021, 01:55 PM
I'm with her or that one, Mac and Cheese is too rich on its own, you need something to cut through the richness, so a bit tomato or brown sauce mixed in does the job
No so much that it changes colour though
Grilled tomato on top of my Macaroni Cheese
11-04-2021, 02:57 PM
No so much that it changes colour thoughNot sure about the tomato or brown sauce, my wife does make it with a bit more mustard than normal which seems to do the biz.
11-04-2021, 03:36 PM
Tabasco sauce on scrambled eggs is the biz.
11-04-2021, 03:39 PM
Got a duck in the oven as we speak, the fat from which will be used for roast tatties. 🤤
H18S NX
11-04-2021, 04:58 PM
All this talk of Roast Tatties has made me want them, it's been a while, will get them tonight now, luckily Best Kebab is a 2 minute walk away...I am the same MD,going there soon.
11-04-2021, 06:16 PM
I put brown sauce on my mince and tatties.
11-04-2021, 06:22 PM
Classic.
A dollop in lentil soup or Scotch broth works as well.
11-04-2021, 06:30 PM
Classic.
I’ve never tried that.
11-04-2021, 09:43 PM
Tabasco sauce on scrambled eggs is the biz.
Although I've been down the tomato sauce road too.
Since this thread is already going down a tangent I'd like to do a shout out to black pepper. Not convinced there's any savory dish I wouldn't gladly crack on to.
11-04-2021, 09:57 PM
Classic.
Never tried it but can imagine that that would work. Germans add a dash of vinegar to lentil soup and I suppose brown sauce would have a similar effect.
stu in nottingham
11-04-2021, 10:03 PM
Although I've been down the tomato sauce road too.
Fabulous, this is somewhere I've always wanted to visit, there and Tabasco Road
Sorry, I meant to widen the chat even further. I'm a bit surprised the bacon+sauce debate hasn't come up yet.
Definitely HP Sauce for me, or possibly no sauce at all. I can never even comprehend that bacon and tomato sauce concept.So wrong.
Don't even get me started on the Worcester Sauce v Hendo's (Henderson's Relish) dust-up.
11-04-2021, 10:09 PM
I just like loads of salt and vinegar on my chippy chips. Any added broon sauce has tae be HP!
11-04-2021, 11:12 PM
Worcester Sauce for me.
ErinGoBraghHFC
12-04-2021, 12:09 AM
Living in the west now and miss chippy sauce more than anything else, fried pizza supper with salt and sauce and a can of irn Bru, magic😍
12-04-2021, 12:20 AM
Worcester Sauce for me.
Love it lightly sprinkled into a packet of ready salted crisps.
12-04-2021, 05:10 AM
That's new!
Have you tried the Worcester sauce seabrook crips? New out and they are class.
12-04-2021, 09:10 AM
Have you tried the Worcester sauce seabrook crips? New out and they are class.
Yes tried them but didn’t really rate them, like most seabrook crisps I find the flavouring pretty poor.
12-04-2021, 09:19 AM
Worcester Sauce for me.
I’ll have to give that a go, I love Worcester sauce.
12-04-2021, 09:28 AM
I’ll have to give that a go, I love Worcester sauce.
Hard to beat splashed on a cheese toastie. I also put it in a bolognaise sauce when doing ‘proper’ cooking.
12-04-2021, 10:18 AM
Hard to beat splashed on a cheese toastie. I also put it in a bolognaise sauce when doing ‘proper’ cooking.
Cheese toasties are one of the rare times I use tomato sauce..... pauper pizza we call it in the house :greengrin
12-04-2021, 11:45 AM
Cheese toasties are one of the rare times I use tomato sauce..... pauper pizza we call it in the house :greengrin
Are we talking about tomato sauce or Ketchup?
12-04-2021, 02:04 PM
Are we talking about tomato sauce or Ketchup?
Ketchup :agree:
12-04-2021, 02:13 PM
Ketchup :agree:
Tomato sauce I could live with but Ketchup 🤢
12-04-2021, 02:21 PM
Tomato sauce I could live with but Ketchup 🤢
oh I know.... I was the same..... until I tried it :-)
stu in nottingham
13-04-2021, 11:40 AM
Grated cheddar on a sesame bagel, dashed with Worcester Sauce is a long-time vice of mine.
14-04-2021, 01:40 PM
It's hard to beat the German variant on pickled eggs. Boiled eggs cut in half lengthways, yoke removed and the cavity filled 50/50 with apple vinegar and mustard then replace the yoke and eat whole. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.
On the subject of pickled egg alternatives, soy eggs are incredible: soak hard-boiled eggs in a mixture of soy sauce, water, rice wine vinegar and sugar. I doubt the quantities need to be particularly precise, but the ratio I use is 125 mL soy sauce, 75 mL water, 25 mL rice wine vinegar, 25 g sugar. Stick them in a container and leave them for a bit – they'll have taken on a decent flavour after 30 min or so, but it will get stronger over time. My preference is to leave them overnight.
14-04-2021, 05:48 PM
On the subject of pickled egg alternatives, soy eggs are incredible: soak hard-boiled eggs in a mixture of soy sauce, water, rice wine vinegar and sugar. I doubt the quantities need to be particularly precise, but the ratio I use is 125 mL soy sauce, 75 mL water, 25 mL rice wine vinegar, 25 g sugar. Stick them in a container and leave them for a bit – they'll have taken on a decent flavour after 30 min or so, but it will get stronger over time. My preference is to leave them overnight.
That sounds like the mutt's, I'll definitely experiment with that. As it happens, the Mrs is just about to serve her version of this up in a few minutes, another egg recipe:
https://www.kitchenstories.com/en/recipes/senfeier-german-eggs-in-mustard-sauce
stuart-farquhar
15-04-2021, 07:03 PM
For fish I mix hot sauce(Peri peri is good) Greek yogurt and dried dill. For chips I make a mix of HP and any hot sauce.