View Full Version : Agm

07-04-2021, 12:54 PM
Starts in an hour via zoom. Anyone joining?

07-04-2021, 01:09 PM
Totally forgot to register!

07-04-2021, 01:12 PM
Totally forgot to register!

If you got the zoom registration link it takes two minutes

07-04-2021, 01:24 PM
If you got the zoom registration link it takes two minutes

I hadn’t sent the email to request but to their credit they responded immediately when I just did, so thanks for the reminder!

Twiglet
07-04-2021, 01:46 PM
I am.

07-04-2021, 01:47 PM
I will let you boys post updates later, enjoy.

07-04-2021, 02:00 PM
Helipad.....

07-04-2021, 02:01 PM
And we're off...

07-04-2021, 02:01 PM
Here we go!

07-04-2021, 02:04 PM
Ron reckons we were all juiced up! Nice.

07-04-2021, 02:04 PM
Challenging year but club in decent shape.

Fans thanked. 'Special and meaningful support'.

07-04-2021, 02:06 PM
Supporters, board, staff, football department, HSL and many other supporters groups thanked for their support.

07-04-2021, 02:07 PM
Very grateful for HSL and other fans stepping up when the club really needed it.

Nice to see that they've also aimed to get more diversity and representation on the board.

07-04-2021, 02:09 PM
Board expanded. New members bring 'greater diversity & representation, with fresh energy and ideas'

Board introduced including new members. Previous members thanked.

07-04-2021, 02:10 PM
New directors.

Jemma Goba
Gillian Hutchison
Kathrin Hamilton
David Davies
Malcolm McPherson

07-04-2021, 02:12 PM
David called out as looking at what we can do to maximise effectiveness of our stadium.

07-04-2021, 02:13 PM
Chris Gaunt talking finances.

Turnover doon, reasons explained.

Twiglet
07-04-2021, 02:15 PM
On to the finances. Presentation clear and easier to understand with the way its being explained I think.

07-04-2021, 02:17 PM
On to the finances. Presentation clear and easier to understand with the way its being explained I think.

Yep - I had seen the accounts already but seeing on the presentation it hits home that we are in a fair bit of a better position than we might have imagined.

07-04-2021, 02:17 PM
Cash balance good at 300620but taken a serious hit due to the pandemic. Pretty much halfed.

07-04-2021, 02:20 PM
KPMG says accounts fair if I picked that up right.

07-04-2021, 02:21 PM
Q&A for accounts - Club feel supported by government during pandemic.

07-04-2021, 02:23 PM
2m due from insurance claim

Q&A for accounts - Insurance claim for loss of income could be for as much as £2m.Only had 10% received so far.

Someone keep me right here!!

Pandemic insurance?

07-04-2021, 02:24 PM
They showed the player trading profit from last year as nearly £2.8m, and stated that this was almost entirely from the sale of John McGinn.

07-04-2021, 02:25 PM
3 resolutions put forward on the accounts - adopting the statements, appointing KPMG auditors, and digitally providing accounts instead of paper going forward.

All passed.

Accounts to be issued digitally goi g forward.

Pandemic insurance?

Yeah, or similar wording. Chris Gaunt said we'd only received about 10% of the claim so far but sees no reason why we shouldn't receive the full 2m.

07-04-2021, 02:27 PM
Nice wee goal montage there.

Yeah, or similar wording. Chris Gaunt said we'd only received about 10% of the claim so far but sees no reason why we shouldn't receive the full 2m.

That’s good news. I’m sure it was reported only 1 club had put this in place (Dundee maybe?). Glad we had the foresight.

KPMG says accounts fair if I picked that up right.

Basically just that the numbers presented are accurate enough.

Was curious about the uncertainty relating to going concern though - I don't imagine either Hibs or KPMG would have wanted to include that and it reads as if it could have been avoided had Ron provided some assurances. But without knowing what was being looked for specifically it could be that it wasn't something that could have been as easily chatted away as I've read it to be.

Also confirmed that we'd taken the scottish government's loan option of £1.8m. Repayments over 20 years with 0% interest. First repayment due September 2022.

Nice wee goal montage there.

Ron loving it.

Twiglet
Pandemic insurance?

Income loss insurance.

07-04-2021, 02:28 PM
Great updates guys, thanks

im hoping for news on the Easter Road catering (the pies!!!) and updates on the Greenest Club in Scotland initiatives.

07-04-2021, 02:28 PM
Accounts to be issued digitally goi g forward.

It'll be Bring Your Own Pie next. :rolleyes:

07-04-2021, 02:29 PM
Sporting performance.

3 semi finals
A revamped squad
Younger average age
More balanced squad
Top end of the table placing season 20/21

07-04-2021, 02:29 PM
Cheers for the updates folks. That insurance payment would be a massive boost for us, hopefully they pay out in full.

07-04-2021, 02:30 PM
11,000 season tickets one of the most important achievements, the foundation of the football club and we need the season ticket holders to step up as they have.

07-04-2021, 02:31 PM
significant commercial growth which we think we can build on.

07-04-2021, 02:32 PM
Business performance

Ron cheesing at 11k STs
Reduced operating costs. Aggressively and quickly
Segmented the stadium (Gold etc), looking at more pricing flexibility
New website
Commercial growth
Launched Hibs TV 'The Match' - odd controversy. 😂
Shop at the Gyle
New PA system installed
Launched greenest club in Scotland
Launched Thank you NHS.

07-04-2021, 02:33 PM
3 month pop up shop at the Gyle was a commercial success and looking at future similar options.

07-04-2021, 02:34 PM
Ron - Despite challenges there are positives on sporting / business side of business.

07-04-2021, 02:35 PM
A stated aim of continuing to invest in and improve the first team. Meetings already underway on investments we need to make for next season.

Continuing with a "smaller but better squad" going forward.

07-04-2021, 02:36 PM
Coming up.

European fitba
Invest / improve sqaud
Smaller but better - JR prefers
Reinvest and improve development squad - still a gap with 18 / 19 year olds
Finalise football task forces
Complete Hibs football plan

07-04-2021, 02:36 PM
Year ahead:
European football
Continue to invest and improve 1st team squad
Smaller but better
Reinvest & improve development squad - very excited about 16/17s in the squad, bit of a gap older than that but looking to address that.
Finalize Football Task Forces - looking at different aspects of the football dept, including first team, recruitment, women's, youth teams etc
Complete Hibs Football Plan - including spend on HTC.

Hoping to have the plan well articulated within 30-60 days.

Twiglet
07-04-2021, 02:37 PM
Final stages of CEO appointment. Should be announced in next 30-40 days.

Twiglet
07-04-2021, 02:37 PM
Aim to have the best pies in football. 😁

07-04-2021, 02:38 PM
The most important part - looking forward we are undertaking a rebrand and update of the kiosks and plan to have the 'best pies in football'.

Plans to launch a Hibernian FC Membership Programme as well.

07-04-2021, 02:39 PM
Coming up business

New CEO - good candidates. Announce in 30 to 45 days
Enhanced match day experience
Rebrand / upgrade kiosks. Slightly behind. Want best pies in footvall
Continued live match coverage in Hibs TV, struck a deal with SKy
Enhance content / social media playforms
More creative ticketing products - more flexibility to get more fans in
Hibs FC membership programme.

07-04-2021, 02:40 PM
Business

Appoint new CEO (final stages - 30-45 days hope to announce)
Enhanced matchday experience
Rebranded and Upgraded kiosks - best pies in football (running a little behind due to covid but work ongoing)
Continued live match coverage on Hibs TV (agreement with Sky Sports to broadcast is going to continue PPV for next season - great news IMHO) Going to do some work to enhance production values of Hibs TV
Enhance content and social media platforms
More creating Ticketing products
Hibernian FC Membership Programme - exciting way to engage with supporters, want to announce that this summer. Want to do more that get fans closer to the club, things like attending training sessions/golf days etc.

Twiglet
07-04-2021, 02:40 PM
Looking into more creative ticketing products. Announced later in the year. Something that's come up multiple times over the last few years in AGM and at working together.

Steve88
07-04-2021, 02:41 PM
Bit of a long shot given the financial constraints but any word on that giant corner TV... :wink:

Cap Ex projects

Easter Rd - big screens, enhanced look and feel, invest in kiosk, hospitality improvements, refurbish pitch

HTC - refurbish training pitches, Upgrade player facilities, Upgrade indoor training area, finalise the HTC master plan.

Investments

HD screens
Enhanced stadium look and feel
Kiosks
Hospitality improvements
Refurbed pitch

Bit of a long shot given the financial constraints but any word on that giant corner TV... :wink:

Still planned 👍

Twiglet
07-04-2021, 02:42 PM

Yes. 😁

07-04-2021, 02:42 PM
Plans to introduce big HD screens at ER, hospitality to be improved and refurbish the pitch as soon as season is over.

At HTC plans to refurbish training pitches, player facilities and upgrading the indoor training area.

Plans to renovate pitches at HTC to mirror pitch at ER to ensure consistency for players.

07-04-2021, 02:43 PM
Plans designed to help with aiming to be top team in Scotland.

07-04-2021, 02:45 PM
Ron talking to HSL about a seat on the board.

07-04-2021, 02:47 PM
Kieran still to be involved as a football liaison officer.

Congrats Kieran. 👍🏻

07-04-2021, 02:47 PM

Whoever made the decision to take out that policy deserves a medal!

07-04-2021, 02:48 PM
Hibs are bloody brilliant eh. Sounds really promising

Ron doesn't think we need another share plan to raise additional working capital.

Ron can’t half chat.

07-04-2021, 02:49 PM

Congrats Kieran. 👍🏻

Glad to hear that

07-04-2021, 02:50 PM
Did the question of the new CEO get sidestepped there or is it to be the fellah Greg McEwan?

Steve88
Whoever made the decision to take out that policy deserves a medal!

Black Swan Event covered :cb

If the insurance covers lost income, doesn't this mean the net effect - financially - is nil...? Tricky when I don't have the numbers/details to hand..

European qualification.

If we can get into the group stages then could be up to £4m but costs then need to be taken off that.

07-04-2021, 02:51 PM
Net profit from last european run around £400k.

Estimates at revenue from European group stage qualification is around £4m but this is before expenses such as travel and accommodation etc.

07-04-2021, 02:52 PM
BEST PIES IN SCOTLAND!

Will they rival Hearts chips :greengrin

Glad to hear they still want to improve the stadium / match day experience as this really does need work.

Like the idea of Hibs membership - long over due.

07-04-2021, 02:53 PM
BEST PIES IN SCOTLAND!

Will they rival Hearts chips :greengrin

Glad to hear they still want to improve the stadium / match day experience as this really does need work.

Like the idea of Hibs membership - long over due.

Expect a rambling maroon statement tomorrow about the biggest pies in Scotland...

07-04-2021, 02:54 PM
On the 16 year olds moving down south.

Brexit legislation means that Scottish Market more apealing to English clubs.

07-04-2021, 02:55 PM
Collaboration between all Premiership clubs since pandemic started. Talk regularly.

07-04-2021, 02:55 PM
Loving this.

very very exciting times ahead at Hibs... if we can only get our ***** back inside the bloody ground!

07-04-2021, 02:57 PM
On rejected Jan bids.

RG - Bids turned down because not desperate for cash, offers not great either.

07-04-2021, 02:57 PM
On rejected Jan bids.

RG - Bids turned down because not desperate for cash, offers not great either.

Also RG points out not making out we are flush.

07-04-2021, 02:58 PM
We really are a very well run club

07-04-2021, 02:59 PM
STs - Would consider seat 'retainers' to keep seats where can't afford to buy ST

ST preview coming up!

STs - Would consider seat 'retainers' to keep seats where can't afford to buy ST

I think that was the point. Anyone?

07-04-2021, 03:01 PM
Hoping to have supporters in next year.

Not everyone to begin with though.

07-04-2021, 03:01 PM
What did he confirm about McGinn there?

07-04-2021, 03:02 PM
Hoping to have supporters in next year.

Not everyone to begin with though.

Next year or next season

07-04-2021, 03:02 PM

30% 20% 15%
Clear as mud.

07-04-2021, 03:03 PM

Ron said we have 20% sell on with 30% due to st Mirren. Chris corrected Ronaldo to say it was 15%

07-04-2021, 03:03 PM
Ron said we have 20% sell on with 30% due to st Mirren. Chris corrected Ronaldo to say it was 15%

Which bit was the 15% ?

07-04-2021, 03:04 PM
A blunt answer to the sjm question!

A wrong one initially though...

15% (in the best case, did I hear?) - with a portion of that (was it 33%?) having to go to st mirren.

So effectively 10% for us.

Which bit was the 15% ?

Our sell on

JR thanking the fans.

Next year or next season

Season

07-04-2021, 03:05 PM
Our sell on

And 20% of that to St Mirren? Surely no!

07-04-2021, 03:06 PM
Where does Ron want to see hibs realistically? 3rd, 2nd or 1st?

Jack wants strikers!

I thought RH said 30% to St Mirren.

JR - another forward. Want a left footed attacker. More goals from midfield wanted, citing Magennis as someone capable.

07-04-2021, 03:08 PM

Chris corrected Ron after Ron said "it's 20% with 30% of that due to St Mirren".

Chris Gaunt corrected him by twice saying "with 15%" which I took to mean it was 20% with 15% due to St Mirren.

15% of the transfer fee is due to Hibs.

30% of what Hibs receive is due to St Mirren.

Steve88
JR - another forward. Want a left footed attacker. More goals from midfield wanted, citing Magennis as someone capable.

Haaland is left footed...:wink:

07-04-2021, 03:09 PM

30% of our 15 though? Whatever the two of them said it made no sense.

JR thinks our mindset is better now. Thought players were happy with win a game, draw, lose... repeat when he first arrived.

Yeah I think it was that. I'm not sure if I heard a comment saying "at the best" in relation to the 15% or if I misheard.

So if Villa were to sell him (cheaply) for £100M:
Villa would get £85M
We'd net 10.5M
St mirren would get £4.5M

Chris corrected Ron after Ron said "it's 20% with 30% of that due to St Mirren".

Chris Gaunt corrected him by twice saying "with 15%" which I took to mean it was 20% with 15% due to St Mirren.

Hopefully. I took the 15% as the hibs sell on.

07-04-2021, 03:10 PM
McGinn clarification.

15% due from Villa.

30% of that figure then due to St Mirren.

07-04-2021, 03:10 PM

15% of the transfer fee is due to Hibs.

30% of what Hibs receive is due to St Mirren.

That’s what I thought. Not a deal to shout about really.

They’ve just re-confirmed.

07-04-2021, 03:11 PM
Chris Gaunt just confirmed he'd quickly looked at the McGinn documents and that we have a 15% sell on for McGinn with 30% of that due to St Mirren.

Here come the Season Tickets.

Hoping that the first 1000 ST renewals from last year get a freeby this year.

07-04-2021, 03:12 PM
That’s what I thought. Not a deal to shout about really.

They’ve just re-confirmed.

We pretty much get 10%. Decent enough.

07-04-2021, 03:12 PM
Chris Gaunt just confirmed he'd quickly looked at the McGinn documents and that we have a 15% sell on for McGinn with 30% of that due to St Mirren.

He needs to go for £50m right enough then!

07-04-2021, 03:13 PM
Prices frozen.

Multiple financing options available

Additional benefits to those renewing - a thank you for your support

07-04-2021, 03:14 PM
ST campaign video playing.

07-04-2021, 03:14 PM

Measured in "Ollie McBurnies", he's worth about £200M! :wink:

07-04-2021, 03:15 PM

Messi is "smaller but better". :wink:

07-04-2021, 03:15 PM
ST campaign video playing.

Looked fab.

All over.

07-04-2021, 03:17 PM
That sounded very promising. Thanks for the updates guys.

hibbie02
07-04-2021, 03:20 PM
Good to hear HSL could be given representation on the board (if I understood a previous post). Done a great job this season supporting the club.

All sounded pretty positive really. Still have around £3m cash in the bank, waiting on the income insurance payout of around £2m, and we are still planning to make fairly significant improvements to ER, HTC and invest in the first team.

Good to finally have clarity over the McGinn sell-on clause as well.

We would still get an additional £5m(ish) so not to be sniffed at for a club our size

07-04-2021, 03:24 PM
In terms of the team and Jack Ross he suggested that the playing squad he inherited were happy to bump along winning one, drawing one, and losing one and that he had worked hard with them on keeping up a win every game mentality. He said that future additions to the squad would also help with this.

Wants more natural width on the left. Feels we have it on the right with Boyle and Cadden but not on the left.

We’ve been lucky to manage with 2 main strikers - wants another one.

We could do with more goals from midfield but it is also something he is working on with the current squad. Magennis will help this. He had had a tough year but this year was also an introduction for him - expects him to be a major contributor from next year.

Pitch wise we are doing work this year to renovate it and make improvements to how we maintain it. Hybrid should be in the plans but probably a few years out.

They are looking to have 2 pitches at HTC that are as close as possible to the Easter Road pitch.

Small improvement in player areas and the barn at HTC but a multi year plan being put together for making the most of HTC. Ron thinks this could be what takes club to next level.

Up The Bracket
07-04-2021, 03:25 PM
Are we still looking to double the player budget etc? I know that was spoken about before but is that still the case?

A young player going south was mentioned above, was that Murray Johnson? There was chat Ethan Laidlaw was away at Leeds on trial too. Assume we are getting a substantial fee?

Has the pandemic stopped any of the things he spoke of at last years AGM, I know there were more things than the big screens mentioned? Any idea if anything’s been canned?

Sounds like good stuff overall though, sure we’ll see a summary in the press shortly.

07-04-2021, 03:29 PM
Are we still looking to double the player budget etc? I know that was spoken about before but is that still the case?

A young player going south was mentioned above, was that Murray Johnson? There was chat Ethan Laidlaw was away at Leeds on trial too. Assume we are getting a substantial fee?

Has the pandemic stopped any of the things he spoke of at last years AGM, I know there were more things than the big screens mentioned? Any idea if anything’s been canned?

Sounds like good stuff overall though, sure we’ll see a summary in the press shortly.

They stated that all the imporovements to the stadium and the training centre are still going ahead and that some of them have already been completed. There's a new PA sound system that has been installed at Easter Road for example. Improvements to both outdoor and indoor facilities at HTC still planned for this summer also.

07-04-2021, 03:32 PM

I know a left footed striker that could possibly enhance our team......

Sorry thanks for the update folks!

Steve88
07-04-2021, 03:32 PM
Understand that fan return to stadiums is out of our control, but from what was said/discussed about it here, what is the clubs degree of certainty in having fans return by 1) first home game of the league KO 2) back to normal...

07-04-2021, 03:33 PM
Very professional.Ron enjoyed himself.Very heartening to see.

07-04-2021, 03:35 PM
Understand that fan return to stadiums is out of our control, but from what was said/discussed about it here, what is the clubs degree of certainty in having fans return by 1) first home game of the league KO 2) back to normal...

Ron thought back to normal by the autumn.

I think in the end we’ll get maybe £3-4 million from the selling on of McGinn. Not the ££££££ some were hoping for but definitely an extremely welcome cash boost whenever it happens.

im personally glad that St Mirren will do alright out of it too. SJM is an extremely honourable young man and he makes sure his previous clubs are alright and looked after.

Pete70

That's the way I took it.

Also Rod has previously said the STM cut is nowhere near 30% so this would confirm that.

07-04-2021, 03:36 PM
I think in the end we’ll get maybe £3-4 million from the selling on of McGinn. Not the ££££££ some were hoping for but definitely an extremely welcome cash boost whenever it happens.

im personally glad that St Mirren will do alright out of it too. SJM is an extremely honourable young man and he makes sure his previous clubs are alright and looked after.

I’m not so sure he will get sold on anymore. Villa have probably grown as a team this year to the level where he doesn’t need to go anywhere else and I’m not sure the top 5 or 6 would want him.

Up The Bracket
07-04-2021, 03:37 PM
They stated that all the imporovements to the stadium and the training centre are still going ahead and that some of them have already been completed. There's a new PA sound system that has been installed at Easter Road for example. Improvements to both outdoor and indoor facilities at HTC still planned for this summer also.

Cheers! Seems like they didn’t go into the lower level detail like last season but I suppose when we don’t know if there’s likely to be supporters in, I get that.

Good stuff about HTC

07-04-2021, 03:39 PM
If only i was in Bulgaria with access to a Balcony.

That all sounds very exciting and i absolutely love Hibs.

Pete70
07-04-2021, 03:40 PM
That wasn't a bad AGM, lots of positive, upbeat messages but still a long way to go.

Steve88
I’m not so sure he will get sold on anymore. Villa have probably grown as a team this year to the level where he doesn’t need to go anywhere else and I’m not sure the top 5 or 6 would want him.

Agreed. Villa have been playing SJM deep recently and his performances have slid.

If they were to get relegated though there would be a few clubs looking to buy him I imagine..

So in summary...

Still some investment needed in the infrastructure.

Not entirely clear what the SJM sell on / St Mirren windfall might be.

Some unspecified benefits for ST holders

Pie debate

This is excellent. Ron is showing he really gets and understands this club, by supplying some ammo for the usual debates but not really settling them.

If he’d said something vague about flags it would have been a real mic drop moment.

Also Rod has previously said the STM cut is nowhere near 30% so this would confirm that.

No it was made perfectly clear at the end. We get 15% and give Saints 30% of our 15%.

07-04-2021, 03:41 PM

No, confirmed as 15% sell on and roughly 30% of that would be due to St Mirren.

Juniper Greens
07-04-2021, 03:48 PM

We've already made more than that. We got 2.8 upfront and have cleared a couple more million since in performance related fees. We have done very well out of SJM

07-04-2021, 03:51 PM
Good to hear HSL could be given representation on the board (if I understood a previous post). Done a great job this season supporting the club.

Is this as well as, or instead of a fans director role?

07-04-2021, 03:51 PM
That all sounds good to me, great to hear lots of positivity coming out of the club considering what's gone on elsewhere in the last year

07-04-2021, 03:58 PM
Is this as well as, or instead of a fans director role?

Imo there are two things here - a fan liaison, and fan representation on the board.

Kieran has done a truly excellent job with the former, helping supporters get queries and requests sorted, providing updates from the club etc.

But a properly functioning board - by its nature - will sometimes discuss sensitive or controversial subjects, and it’s difficult to have a fan on there who then is conflicted about what they can and cannot share with the wider fanbase.

I’d be very happy to have HSL represented on the board, but while that individual should be accessible, I wouldn’t expect to hear from them every month.

Pete70
07-04-2021, 03:59 PM
No, confirmed as 15% sell on and roughly 30% of that would be due to St Mirren.

Fair enough, I must have missed that bit.

Still, if SJM is sold for £50m we still pocket around an extra £5m bringing his total fee to us to just under £8m plus what we received in performance incentives after Villa got promoted.

Of course this is just an example. SJM could be sold for more, less or not at all.

07-04-2021, 04:15 PM
It all sounds very positive with Ron, once again, making all the right noises having already shown that he's willing to speculate/invest.

He's definitely more open and gives more detail about specifics than we've been used to. for the past 2-3 decades

Onward & upward!

killie-hibby
07-04-2021, 04:17 PM
Fair enough, I must have missed that bit.

Still, if SJM is sold for £50m we still pocket around an extra £5m bringing his total fee to us to just under £8m plus what we received in performance incentives after Villa got promoted.

Of course this is just an example. SJM could be sold for more, less or not at all.

For every £1,000,000 we would get £105,000. St Mirren gets £45,000. Dependant on the 15%/30% distribution being correct.

07-04-2021, 04:20 PM
How many people were on the zoom?

07-04-2021, 04:21 PM
I did think it was slightly odd that there was no actual AGM notice before hand with the resolutions and proxy voting etc. Judging by the way the voting was done today I think there's been a bit of an oversight possibly with the handover to the new Head of Finance. There was reference to Notice of AGM which was never given and voting was essentially passed on Ron's shareholding!

07-04-2021, 04:24 PM

Agree with this.

I don’t see him being sold, not in his prime anyway.

07-04-2021, 04:27 PM
Was Leeann mentioned at all?

07-04-2021, 04:34 PM
We've already made more than that. We got 2.8 upfront and have cleared a couple more million since in performance related fees. We have done very well out of SJM

I know all that. I still expect us to get at least £3 million more from the selling on if/when he leaves Villa. And that’s after St Mirren get their cut.

07-04-2021, 04:36 PM
Was Leeann mentioned at all?

Yes, thanked up front for her contribution to where we are today and in moving to get us in as good a position as possible when Covid hit.

Power
07-04-2021, 04:38 PM
Great updates in here. I’ll try and tie it all up in an update as I have the content.

Happy to help with any outstanding queries but there’s a number on here that are smashing the queries/baw as they come flying in.

07-04-2021, 04:41 PM
For every £1,000,000 we would get £105,000. St Mirren gets £45,000. Dependant on the 15%/30% distribution being correct.

£150k surely?

07-04-2021, 04:42 PM
Yes, thanked up front for her contribution to where we are today and in moving to get us in as good a position as possible when Covid hit.Good stuff. Pleased to hear it.

07-04-2021, 04:42 PM
How many people were on the zoom?

Couldn't see the number, was on my phone though, no mention of it

07-04-2021, 04:43 PM
£150k surely?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk£150k - £45k (30%) to St Mirren leaves £105k for us.

07-04-2021, 04:46 PM
There’s a good feel to this and it’s a bit classy that LD was given a goodbye recognition so publicly.

killie-hibby
07-04-2021, 05:01 PM
£150k surely?

eh,no. 1,000,000 = 1 million. 15% of which is £150,000. Deduct 30% and Hibs are left with £105,000

07-04-2021, 05:01 PM
Did the question of the new CEO get sidestepped there or is it to be the fellah Greg McEwan?

Greg was thanked for taking on most of the day to day running of things.

Interviews have been held on the CEO role - Ron was excited about the quality of candidates - received a lot of interest and hopes to announce in the next 30 to 45 days.

Other things that maybe haven't been mentioned:

There are a number of different task forces ongoing and reporting back - further plans to come out of that by the summer hopefully.

Included in that was what was happening with the women's team. Looking at moving towards being professional in next 12 to 18 months. Ron has received the proposals in terms of how to fund and he though they were achievable.

Pay per view has been agreed with Sky for another year - wasn't clear if that would stop if fans got back in but Ron did seem to suggest it was for all of next season at least. Looking to develop the Hibs TV experience further.

07-04-2021, 05:04 PM
I ****ing love Hibs! All sounds exciting to me

07-04-2021, 05:06 PM

Interviews have been held on the CEO role - Ron was excited about the quality of candidates - received a lot of interest and hopes to announce in the next 30 to 45 days.

There are a number of different task forces ongoing and reporting back - further plans to come out of that by the summer hopefully.

Included in that was what was happening with the women's team. Looking at moving towards being professional in next 12 to 18 months. Ron has received the proposals in tents of how to fun and he though they were achievable.

Pay per view has been agreed with Sky for another year - wasn't clear if that would stop if fans got back in but Ron did seem to suggest it was for all of next season at least. Looking to develop the Hibs TV experience further.
Is it compulsory with regard to the women’s team to go into the tents for fun?:greengrin

07-04-2021, 05:07 PM
I was so impressed with Ron, the depth of experience in the board, and the plans for club, ER, HTC and the team. All so professional. So many levels above the amateurish shambles across the city.

Exciting times ahead.

07-04-2021, 05:07 PM
Is it compulsory with regard to the women’s team to go into the tents for fun?:greengrin

No comment 😂

Crunchie
07-04-2021, 05:10 PM

Included in that was what was happening with the women's team. Looking at moving towards being professional in next 12 to 18 months. Ron has received the proposals in terms of how to fund and he though they were achievable.

A big thank you for all the updates my friend :top marks

Juniper Greens
07-04-2021, 05:16 PM

Wonder if this will lead to the OS fans paying a price more commensurate with that paid by fans here. They will need to be careful, as I know a few of them were already upset on here at the price increase last season.

07-04-2021, 05:44 PM
Interesting new board members...

https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2020/12/hibs-announce-appointment-of-four-new-non-executive-directors/

07-04-2021, 05:45 PM
Wonder if this will lead to the OS fans paying a price more commensurate with that paid by fans here. They will need to be careful, as I know a few of them were already upset on here at the price increase last season.I certainly hope not. This season, being exceptional, shouldn't be used as a basis for pricing policy for the future.

I'm happy enough to pay what I do but I think that going above say 50% of the price of a ST will definitely see a lot of people switching to dodgy streams IMO.

Paying more for a pre match studio build up definitely doesn't interest me. Although I think what's currently on offer is OK, I don't really have the time to go out my way to watch it.

Juniper Greens
07-04-2021, 05:48 PM
I certainly hope not. This season, being exceptional, shouldn't be used as a basis for pricing policy for the future.

I'm happy enough to pay what I do but I think that going above say 50% of the price of a ST will definitely see a lot of people switching to dodgy streams IMO.

Paying more for a pre match studio build up definitely doesn't interest me. Although I think what's currently on offer is OK, I don't really have the time to go out my way to watch it.

Yeah 50% seems a decent price point, with the PPV being c£20.
What I would value would be the opportunity to convert my ST into a stream ticket when I can't make a game for whatever reason. Atm, I just give my ticket to someone else, but I'd probably convert it if that was an option

James Stephen
07-04-2021, 05:55 PM
Interesting new board members...

https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2020/12/hibs-announce-appointment-of-four-new-non-executive-directors/

Love to see some successful Edinburgh based companies represented on our board - Baillie Gifford and Leith Agency - quite exciting stuff.

07-04-2021, 06:12 PM
Any information on last season’s postponed player of the year awards.

07-04-2021, 06:41 PM
Love to see some successful Edinburgh based companies represented on our board - Baillie Gifford and Leith Agency - quite exciting stuff.

The Board looks excellent now.

Good experience of running football clubs with 2 ex CEOs, sports promotion and marketing specialists, digital and media and employment law amongst other things. Ron mentioned expertise in running and utilising stadiums as well. Think it was Davies.

Good diversity too. Would have been interesting to hear from one or two of them though!

07-04-2021, 06:43 PM
The Board looks excellent now.

Good experience of running football clubs with 2 ex CEOs, sports promotion and marketing specialists, digital and media and employment law amongst other things. Ron mentioned expertise in running and utilising stadiums as well. Think it was Davies.

Good diversity too. Would have been interesting to hear from one or two of them though!
:agree: looking very promising.

07-04-2021, 06:49 PM
Quality. Roll on next season. Cannot wait to get back

07-04-2021, 06:56 PM
Quality. Roll on next season. Cannot wait to get back

Totally agree mate. Let us back in!

07-04-2021, 06:57 PM
Such an exciting time to be a Hibs fan. We're in really good shape and could genuinely make 3rd spot our own for years to come.

Can't wait to get back to ER.

07-04-2021, 07:03 PM
Such an exciting time to be a Hibs fan. We're in really good shape and could genuinely make 3rd spot our own for years to come.

Can't wait to get back to ER.

:aok: totally agree.

Today was clear, coherent, positive, and despite Covid, the club has clearly been working away positively and actively to progress the whole club.

I keep saying it, but seriously, if anyone can afford it, take time to consider HSL. Times are of course hard for people, but for those that can afford it, even small monthly contributions help.

The potential investment in HTC will really progress the club and attract better players and in particular young players :aok:

MagicSwirlingShip
07-04-2021, 07:11 PM
Once we can guarantee a full Easter Road, I can see us breaking our season ticket record again.

Hibs would be wise to tie in a first dibs on Europe tickets to Season Ticket holders or such.

07-04-2021, 07:16 PM
:agree: looking very promising.

They pretty much had me when they confirmed the HD screens.

07-04-2021, 07:20 PM
Great reading.

07-04-2021, 07:23 PM
They pretty much had me when they confirmed the HD screens.

Clearly focusing on the experience. Spoke about the stadium looking tired, having good food and David Davies being Brough in board.

It's all very good.

07-04-2021, 07:30 PM

By my sums and what was said today, he’d need to be shifted for about £40m for us to get close to £4m.....

07-04-2021, 07:33 PM
......and it better be Bains pies we're looking to get on board :greengrin

Tony Singh to create the curry pies tae :greengrin:aok:

07-04-2021, 07:38 PM
When I was driving home I heard the 4 o'clock news on Radio Forth.

Ron Gordon stated that probably one and maybe two players would be sold in the summer.

I take it this wasn't mentioned at the AGM

07-04-2021, 07:46 PM

Ron Gordon stated that probably one and maybe two players would be sold in the summer.

Don't think it was as definitive as that but think they said expect summer interest again.

07-04-2021, 07:46 PM
By my sums and what was said today, he’d need to be shifted for about £40m for us to get close to £4m.....

Very much doubt Villa would sell him for any less than that. Probably more like £50m

07-04-2021, 07:47 PM

Never heard him say we had to as such but that there was something along the lines of balances being struck that had worked very well to date....and that the playing staff would ‘obviously’ be invested in..... so we’ll probably sell a couple!

07-04-2021, 07:48 PM
Never heard him say we had to as such but that there was something along the lines of balances being struck that had worked very well to date....and that the playing staff would ‘obviously’ be invested in..... so we’ll probably sell a couple!

And that Jack wants a left sided striker :dummytit::greengrin

07-04-2021, 07:49 PM
Very much doubt Villa would sell him for any less than that. Probably more like £50m

Or he gets picked up for a quarter of that sort of money or less with a year left on his deal?
All very hypothetical, as someone said before he might not go anywhere.

Ron did say he was delighted he was playing so well mind you!

07-04-2021, 07:53 PM

He didn’t expressly say any would be sold.

He confirmed bids had been turned down for a combination of not needing to sell, valuation not being met, not being right for the player and not the right time for what we wanted to achieve.

Ross confirmed that plans were being made with and without certain players.

Mathie addressed mainly the 16/17 year olds and said every bid would be taken on its merits, again considering what is right for all parties.

Cat Stanton
07-04-2021, 07:53 PM

That's the story the BBC are inevitably running with - apparently from an interview before the AGM.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/56666334

07-04-2021, 07:54 PM

I think it was a natural left sided wide player and another striker rather than a left sided striker.

07-04-2021, 07:57 PM
Or he gets picked up for a quarter of that sort of money or less with a year left on his deal?
All very hypothetical, as someone said before he might not go anywhere.

Ron did say he was delighted he was playing so well mind you!

I think it will hinge on Grealish leaving Iggy - they have a really good relationship and if Grealish is sold, and a team comes in for SKM (maybe the same one), he'll leave Villa in my opinion.

Spurs were close in getting him last time and SJM would be an ideal fit for Spurs as they are needing someone in their midfield who has grit and workrate. Market values would dictate, but given transfer fees you see down there SJM is definitely now in the £25-£30 million bracket, purely because of his success in the Premiership.

07-04-2021, 07:57 PM
I think it was a natural left sided wide player and another striker rather than a left sided striker.

Let me dream Andy :greengrin

Twiglet
07-04-2021, 08:02 PM
......and it better be Bains pies we're looking to get on board :greengrin

Tony Singh to create the curry pies tae :greengrin:aok:

Mark McGill Butcher up at Currie would be good (also owns the bakers on Slateford Road). I might even eat something with those pies.

07-04-2021, 08:06 PM
Mark McGill Butcher up at Currie would be good (also owns the bakers on Slateford Road). I might even eat something with those pies.

I'll concede that Twiglet :aok: is that the butcher next to the pub up there (in Currie) - in that wee bank of shops on the main drag ? Great pies :aok:

07-04-2021, 08:21 PM
Been offline today but took great pleasure reading through page after page of updates.

All very positive. Looks to me like we have a solid foundation to progress and not only become the established 3rd force, but also get closer to the Rangers and Celtic.

Great time to be a Hibee :hibees

07-04-2021, 08:21 PM

Bring back Leigh 😁

07-04-2021, 08:23 PM
I'll concede that Twiglet :aok: is that the butcher next to the pub up there (in Currie) - in that wee bank of shops on the main drag ? Great pies :aok:

Opposite the Woodhall Arms (used to be George Stewart’s pub).

07-04-2021, 08:25 PM
Opposite the Woodhall Arms (used to be George Stewart’s pub).

That's the one - I was taken there by a mate one day and got fresh pies at their back door. :aok: not up that way a lot but always remember a good pie :greengrin

07-04-2021, 08:33 PM
I thought the new Head of Finance was really impressive and clearly understood the interaction with the football side of things.

Really interesting on our last European run.

We played 3 rounds and it earned us £1.2m in prize money and additional gate money, but it cost us about £600k I think he said to put on the games and travel to the away matches.

On Europe next year it was very dependent on what competition we end up in but he estimated that reaching the group stages of the proper Europa league could be a net £4m. I think that’s what he suggested.

07-04-2021, 08:51 PM
Once we can guarantee a full Easter Road, I can see us breaking our season ticket record again.

Hibs would be wise to tie in a first dibs on Europe tickets to Season Ticket holders or such.

Knowing that we were guaranteed 3 home ties in the group stages, I’d like to see the club offer a deal of some sort on the play off tie (should we get that spot). I don’t necessarily want or need it myself but reckon it would really help with the uptake and those that are swithering may take it up.

07-04-2021, 09:09 PM
I thought the new Head of Finance was really impressive and clearly understood the interaction with the football side of things.

We played 3 rounds and it earned us £1.2m in prize money and additional gate money, but it cost us about £600k I think he said to put on the games and travel to the away matches.

On Europe next year it was very dependent on what competition we end up in but he estimated that reaching the group stages of the proper Europa league could be a net £4m. I think that’s what he suggested.

Don't think it was net. I took it to be costs had to be subtracted from that.

Either way, significant money.

07-04-2021, 09:16 PM
Knowing that we were guaranteed 3 home ties in the group stages, I’d like to see the club offer a deal of some sort on the play off tie (should we get that spot). I don’t necessarily want or need it myself but reckon it would really help with the uptake and those that are swithering may take it up.

The type of opposition we would likely face in that play-off tie, there shouldn’t be any need to incentivise fans to buy tickets - it would be the biggest European tie at Easter Road since AEK Athens. The seeded teams in this years playoff were:

Tottenham Hotspur
FC Basel
Rio Ave
Sporting CP Lisbon
FC København
PSV Eindhoven
VfL Wolfsburg
Viktoria Plzen
APOEL Nicosia
Galatasaray
Maccabi Haifa
Malmö FFI
Charleroi
Standard Liège

07-04-2021, 10:24 PM
Don't think it was net. I took it to be costs had to be subtracted from that.

Either way, significant money.

Yeah, think you may be right.

davhibby
07-04-2021, 11:50 PM
The type of opposition we would likely face in that play-off tie, there shouldn’t be any need to incentivise fans to buy tickets - it would be the biggest European tie at Easter Road since AEK Athens. The seeded teams in this years playoff were:

Tottenham Hotspur
FC Basel
Rio Ave
Sporting CP Lisbon
FC København
PSV Eindhoven
VfL Wolfsburg
Viktoria Plzen
APOEL Nicosia
Galatasaray
Maccabi Haifa
Malmö FFI
Charleroi
Standard Liège

The qualifying is totally different from next season. There won’t be any teams from the top 5 leagues in the Playoff round. However I agree about there being no need for any incentives, I think we’ll easily sell all the tickets that we’re allowed to for all of the European games next season regardless of opponent

08-04-2021, 06:53 AM

Tottenham Hotspur
FC Basel
Rio Ave
Sporting CP Lisbon
FC København
PSV Eindhoven
VfL Wolfsburg
Viktoria Plzen
APOEL Nicosia
Galatasaray
Maccabi Haifa
Malmö FFI
Charleroi
Standard Liège

Won’t need incentivised to buy tickets for that game, but if we want to maximise season ticket sales then (and it sounds like they’re looking at it already) they need to find clever ways to market and incentivise those.

It was a very quickly thought out idea but if it shifted a number of folk from the fence to buying a season ticket, then it more than makes up for the lost revenue from the game itself, and like I say we’ll have at least 3 more huge home ties in the groups that will go like gold dust.

08-04-2021, 07:51 AM

No mention of replacement for Marciano?

08-04-2021, 07:59 AM
Did they mention when season tickets were going on sale?

08-04-2021, 08:00 AM

Don't think there was a specific date.

08-04-2021, 08:01 AM

I saw mention elsewhere (possibly the EEN) that we are wanting to keep Macey. So presumably next season Macey and Dabrowski would be our 1 and 2.

08-04-2021, 08:25 AM
we are undertaking a rebrand and update of the kiosks and plan to have the 'best pies in football'.

A pretty transparent attempt to drum up a rivalry with Kilmarnock now that Hearts can't be relied on to provide multiple derbies each season.

08-04-2021, 08:27 AM

I thought it was refreshing how open and honest he was when asked questions. No way would the Tache allowed exact figures to be released on either the European games or SJM

08-04-2021, 08:34 AM

I believe it’s neither of them, the pies will be wrapped and heated within the wrapping so there is no physical contact with them. I was told this by the company who have supplied the new ovens and were involved in the testing/heating process.

08-04-2021, 09:02 AM

Ron said that he reckoned it would happen in the next couple of weeks, but was leaving it to the team to push the button at the right time.

08-04-2021, 09:32 AM
The qualifying is totally different from next season. There won’t be any teams from the top 5 leagues in the Playoff round. However I agree about there being no need for any incentives, I think we’ll easily sell all the tickets that we’re allowed to for all of the European games next season regardless of opponent

Indeed. This year will have;

Scottish Cup Winner (or 3rd)
Belgian Cup Winner (or league placing)
Ukrainian Cup Winner (or league placing)
Dutch Cup Winner (or league placing)
Turkish Cup Winner (or league placing)
Austrian Cup Winner (or league placing)
Danish Cup Winner (or league placing)
6 Qualifiers from previous round

08-04-2021, 10:07 AM
Indeed. This year will have;

Scottish Cup Winner (or 3rd)
Belgian Cup Winner (or league placing)
Ukrainian Cup Winner (or league placing)
Dutch Cup Winner (or league placing)
Turkish Cup Winner (or league placing)
Austrian Cup Winner (or league placing)
Danish Cup Winner (or league placing)
6 Qualifiers from previous round

So basically we want to play The Rangers in the cup final...

08-04-2021, 10:17 AM
So basically we want to play The Rangers in the cup final...

Attempting to balance the optimistic (just win the cup ourselves and not worry about anyone else) with the realistic (it's relatively unlikely that we'll win the cup), for me the best overall scenario would be to play Celtic in the final – better chance of winning than vs Sevco, but not needing to win to secure the good Euro slot.

An all-or-nothing final against Aberdeen would be some spectacle if we won and utterly nightmarish if we lost.

Allez Hibs
08-04-2021, 10:25 AM
Attempting to balance the optimistic (just win the cup ourselves and not worry about anyone else) with the realistic (it's relatively unlikely that we'll win the cup), for me the best overall scenario would be to play Celtic in the final – better chance of winning than vs Sevco, but not needing to win to secure the good Euro slot.

An all-or-nothing final against Aberdeen would be some spectacle if we won and utterly nightmarish if we lost.

That scenario v Aberdeen would be a nightmare.

So many variables, let's just go out and win the Scottish Cup.

08-04-2021, 10:28 AM

Really don't want it being us vs Rangers in the final, I enjoy having 2016 over them.

08-04-2021, 11:12 AM

we can hope :greengrin

08-04-2021, 08:43 PM
Really don't want it being us vs Rangers in the final, I enjoy having 2016 over them.
All the better having 2016 and 2021

08-04-2021, 08:46 PM

The nightmare would be finally getting 3rd place sorted and at last dislodging Aberdeen only for them to go and win the Scottish cup, at our direct expense or not.

Would be brutal if we secure 3rd, go out the cup and then see them still in it with a chance to finish below us but still walk off with the enhanced European prize.

Doubt they are good enough to win it but it would be typical!

08-04-2021, 09:48 PM
Sorry if this has been well covered but what happens if we finish third a d Aberdeen win the cup?

I know it’s not guaranteed group stages but where would we go into the qualifying?

Looking at the post above, even if we do just finish 3rd, we’d surely still have a decent chance of getting to the Europa league play off round? If we lose the final play off round then presumably we go into the conference competition?

Essentially 3rd and a top 3 cup win would guarantee it but just finishing 3rd would still give us a decent shot or can there be only one Scottish representative in the conference league?

08-04-2021, 09:51 PM
Sorry if this has been well covered but what happens if we finish third a d Aberdeen win the cup?

I know it’s not guaranteed group stages but where would we go into the qualifying?

Looking at the post above, even if we do just finish 3rd, we’d surely still have a decent chance of getting to the Europa league play off round? If we lose the final play off round then presumably we go into the conference competition?

Essentially 3rd and a top 3 cup win would guarantee it but just finishing 3rd would still give us a decent shot or can there be only one Scottish representative in the conference league?

If that happens, then Aberdeen will be in the Europa League playoff and Hibs will be in the Conference League with a couple (not sure how many) of knock out rounds to negotiate if we want to reach the group stage.

08-04-2021, 09:53 PM
There was a BBC article that covered it.

I'd we don't get into the Europa or Conference League group stages then it'll be a tough sequence of qualifying rounds. Basically unlikely unless we do it via a cup win or 3rd assuming Rangers or Celtic win the Cup.

08-04-2021, 09:53 PM
If that happens, then Aberdeen will be in the Europa League playoff and Hibs will be in the Conference League with a couple (not sure how many) of knock out rounds to negotiate if we want to reach the group stage.

Cheers.

So if we finish 3rd we don’t automatically go into the Europa league competition.

I assumed we did, just thought we would just have a few very difficult play off games like what has happened in the past.

08-04-2021, 09:58 PM
Cheers.

So if we finish 3rd we don’t automatically go into the Europa league competition.

I assumed we did, just thought we would just have a few very difficult play off games like what has happened in the past.

Europa play off. Lose and it’s Conference League group stages.

08-04-2021, 10:02 PM
Europa play off. Lose and it’s Conference League group stages.

No, that’s if someone in the top 3 wins the cup, I get that.

I’m asking what the alternative is if we finish top 3 but someone outside the top 3 wins the cup.

08-04-2021, 10:07 PM

I’m asking what the alternative is if we finish top 3 but someone outside the top 3 wins the cup.

Eyrie post above covers this.

08-04-2021, 10:08 PM

Second (which I think is the final qualifying round) of the Conference League I believe.

08-04-2021, 10:11 PM
Eyrie post above covers this.

I know 😂

I just felt compelled to reply to that post cos I get annoyed that people still don’t get what happens if we finish 3rd and one of the old firm wins the cup. I didn’t want to be labelled as one of those posters so felt I needed to clarify.

Apologies for wasting everyone’s time 😉

08-04-2021, 10:19 PM
Longbangers did a wee AGM special for Recast:

https://share.recast.app/v/5pMEo?referrer=5mW18

(Note, watching this generate income for Hibs).

09-04-2021, 08:04 AM

Congrats Kieran. 👍🏻

Well deserved. I'm assuming this will mean the end of the fans rep on the board?

09-04-2021, 08:19 AM
Longbangers did a wee AGM special for Recast:

https://share.recast.app/v/5pMEo?referrer=5mW18

(Note, watching this generate income for Hibs).

Thanks.

When I try to sign up on my phone I just get redirected to a blank screen.

Teething issues like this won’t help!

09-04-2021, 09:25 AM
Well deserved. I'm assuming this will mean the end of the fans rep on the board?

I think it will be replaced by a HSL rep.

09-04-2021, 09:33 AM
Thanks.

When I try to sign up on my phone I just get redirected to a blank screen.

Teething issues like this won’t help!

If you close it and go back in, should be sorted now.

09-04-2021, 01:04 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210409/8105bf9ea550cc150519376bb99fd5e5.jpg
Hopefully they want to sell McGinn now.

Power
08-02-2022, 09:49 AM
Our next AGM meeting will be taking place at Easter Road this spring.

Shareholder's that have changed address since our last meeting, or wanting to ensure the correct address is on our records, can email [email protected]

Steve88
09-02-2022, 08:32 PM
If we don't step it up Ron Gordon is going to be in for a tough evening at the AGM...

09-02-2022, 08:51 PM
Should be an exciting one.

09-02-2022, 09:02 PM
Will be interesting.