View Full Version : Christian Doidge

05-04-2021, 08:12 PM
Forest Green fans said that he tends to go on a barren spell then scores a big run of goals. He did that last season.

If we have the Christian Doidge that couldn't stop scoring for a large spell of last season back then that is going to be absolutely massive with five league games to go and in third and with a much shortened Scottish cup. Huge.

05-04-2021, 08:14 PM
Forest Green fans said that he tends to go on a barren spell then scores a big run of goals. He did that last season.

If we have the Christian Doidge that couldn't stop scoring for a large spell of last season back then that is going to be absolutely massive with five league games to go and in third and with a much shortened Scottish cup. Huge.

Even if he doesn’t he is still a key player.

For a striker that apparently doesn’t score enough he’s looking like averaging 14 to 15 a season which is excellent for the ‘big striker’ type.

05-04-2021, 08:16 PM
I said a few weeks ago we get the best out of him and Nisbet when they play together. Nisbet hasn't got a goal tonight but he has looked very good and Doidge has 2. You can't argue with that from your strikers.

Get them both on the park, let them play and if that means Cadden (or Boyle if his form changes) sitting on the bench then so be it.

05-04-2021, 08:35 PM
Said in the match thread that we now have 36 goals between Nisbet, Doidge and Boyle, all three in double figures.

Delighted for the big man in the last couple of games, always causes bother but he did go on a long stretch of missing gilt edged chances prior to this latest burst.

Great time to hit form.

05-04-2021, 08:36 PM
Well done Doidge tonight.

A good and important player for us.

05-04-2021, 08:39 PM
A rich man's Colin Nish. :aok:

05-04-2021, 08:41 PM
I've never been a big fan of Doidge really, but today I thought he was excellent, tremendous work rate and 2 well taken goals, well done to the big man. His attitude was first class, and a lesson to any young aspiring forwards.

05-04-2021, 08:42 PM
Even if he hadn't managed to score a brace tonight, I thought his performance was very, very good.

As it happens, the goals move it into the excellent category. Delighted that he's back firing.

05-04-2021, 08:42 PM
Really like Doidge as a person and player - he’s not perfect but he’s good for us and definitely causes problems and links well.

Would be hard to replace his consistency in our wage bracket.

05-04-2021, 08:43 PM
Dobie should have been booked. There was contact, but it was Newell’s hand lightly brushing his shorts. If they had been given the penalty, we could have been conned out of the game.

Ps. Sorry for getting off track. Wrong thread.:greengrin

05-04-2021, 08:43 PM
Back on track. I'm expecting a serious run of goals now.

05-04-2021, 08:44 PM
Gave him stick for not scoring on that long run he went on but he’s back doing it now and definitely deserved MOTM tonight. Delighted to see it.

LeithMike
05-04-2021, 08:46 PM
Great finish for the second. That alone should give him a huge lift in confidence.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

05-04-2021, 08:46 PM
Think that’s 28 goals in 65 starts now.

05-04-2021, 08:49 PM

05-04-2021, 09:02 PM
I'm still sticking with my assertion that outwith the old firm, he's the best centre forward in the league. On form he must be a nightmare to defend against.

05-04-2021, 09:03 PM
Two really composed finishes tonight. More of that going forward and his numbers will be even more impressive.

05-04-2021, 09:07 PM
Delighted for him.

Good performance, 2 good goals and unlucky not to get the 3rd with his header.

Was anyone else very nervous when he was 1v1 though? 😅

05-04-2021, 09:08 PM
I love big Doidge..works so hard and contributes so much, delighted for HIM that he’s finding the net again.

05-04-2021, 09:08 PM
Delighted for him.

I wasn't nervous, was sure he would miss it😂😂

05-04-2021, 09:25 PM
Bad news for the others.

Doidge is back :thumbsup:

05-04-2021, 09:26 PM
Delighted for him.

With so much time a lot of strikers struggle in those situations. Cool as a cucumber though, first finish was very good as well, could’ve slashed at it but took his time and calmly slotted it in.

05-04-2021, 09:37 PM

The Ballon D'oidge

CB Hibs 68
05-04-2021, 09:43 PM
As already mentioned Doidge tends by his own admission to go on scoring streaks.Fingers crossed this is the start of a run that sees us to third place and the Cup Final

05-04-2021, 09:47 PM
Not a big admirer but credit to him tonight. Took his chances well, the second in particular a very composed finish.

Stanton Spence
05-04-2021, 09:50 PM
I wasn't nervous, was sure he would miss it[emoji23][emoji23]I was just going to post the same thing mate and even said under my breath aw naw [emoji23]

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

05-04-2021, 09:58 PM
He’s quality.

05-04-2021, 10:02 PM
His work rate was outstanding tonight. No idea why some people dont appreciate him.

05-04-2021, 10:02 PM
I'm still sticking with my assertion that outwith the old firm, he's the best centre forward in the league. On form he must be a nightmare to defend against.

Agree with the second part. Was good tonight, well taken goals and only disappointment was he could have had another couple for himself! Hopefully him and Nisbet can both fire them in between now and the end of the season - sure they’ll both be hungry to do so.

Cant agree with your opening line (I don’t think he’s the best centre forward at Hibs) but like the enthusiasm and I’ve enjoyed his performances this season.

TelaStella
05-04-2021, 10:38 PM
Heart was in my mouth when I seen it was him and not Nisbet or Boyle through for the 2nd goal. Great shift from the big man tonight though and can be more than happy with his contributions. Well done Chris.

05-04-2021, 10:43 PM
He’s the weirdest striker we’ve ever had, when he’s hot he’s unbelievable, but when he’s not he looks seriously ordinary. Right now he’s hot at the right time of the season.

05-04-2021, 10:48 PM
Thought he was excellent tonight. The goal and a rest appear to have worked wonders as he looked a yard sharper, possibly the opposition, and looked confident in front of goal. I'm off the opinion he hasn't been as good as he should have been and hasn't been working hard enough. Not through laziness just through the head dropping when he missed so many chances. He was chasing but not as hard as he did and wasn't as wholehearted in some challenges or running into spaces etc. He looked a different player tonight even during the opening 20 minutes when most of his team mates were not at the races. Hope he can keep the goals coming as to me his whole game is better when he has the spark of a goal or two to light his fire. One thing I have never criticised him is that he is brave in terms of getting into goal scoring positions. James Collins and Grant Holt started playing further and further from goal making it less likely to score when they were having droughts. Big Doidge has stuck at it and is starting to get his reward for consistently being in the danger area and getting chances. He may well have a great run just when we need him most

05-04-2021, 10:54 PM
Was very good tonight I thought even out with his goals. He looked unusually very comfortable with the ball at his feet which I don’t usually thinks his strength. Held up the ball very well at times and worked hard.

Deserved his 2 goals and motm

06-04-2021, 02:36 AM
Delighted for Doidgy - after a big stretch where nothing would go in for him suddenly he's Mr goals with 3 in 2 games. We can argue the toss about his quality in front of goal but his attitude and overall contribution to the team is never in doubt. Strikers need goals though and I think this last little clutch of goals gives a better indication of Christian's contribution over the piece this season. We have potentially 10(?) games left to go - great time for All our strikers to find some form!

06-04-2021, 05:50 AM
He’s the weirdest striker we’ve ever had, when he’s hot he’s unbelievable, but when he’s not he looks seriously ordinary. Right now he’s hot at the right time of the season.

Partly agree with this, but even when he isn’t scoring he’s pulling his weight in the team through hold up play, linking, aggression and threat in the air. Never hides and always contributes even when his generally pretty prolific goal touch deserts him.

His ability but more than that, his attitude means he’ll always be a favorite.

06-04-2021, 07:59 AM
If he was to put away all the chances that he gets, then he wouldn't be playing for us.

06-04-2021, 09:19 AM
Christian has totally won me over after an indifferent start, great team player, brilliant attitude and will continue to score if he keeps getting into positions he does.

Crunchie
06-04-2021, 09:21 AM
Partly agree with this, but even when he isn’t scoring he’s pulling his weight in the team through hold up play, linking, aggression and threat in the air. Never hides and always contributes even when his generally pretty prolific goal touch deserts him.

His ability but more than that, his attitude means he’ll always be a favorite.
He was back in defence when we were 3-0 up and cruising, the man certainly puts in a shift but I too kind of agree with the poster you quoted.

06-04-2021, 09:22 AM
Christian has totally won me over after an indifferent start, great team player, brilliant attitude and will continue to score if he keeps getting into positions he does.

The commentator even remarked that he had to double check that it was Doidge defending at Right Back when QOS broke away.

06-04-2021, 09:24 AM
If he was to put away all the chances that he gets, then he wouldn't be playing for us.

If any striker who played for us put away all of their chances they wouldn't play for us not just Doidge.

06-04-2021, 09:25 AM
The commentator even remarked that he had to double check that it was Doidge defending at Right Back when QOS broke away.

Against the boy that McFadden proclaimed to be the fastest player on the pitch when he came on. Gave him a head start, chased him down and won the ball back.

06-04-2021, 10:43 AM
The good thing about having such quality throughout the squad is that different players can come to the fore when others aren't having the best time. Boyle, Nisbet and Doigde have all had indifferent periods this season (of varying lengths of time) and yet are all in double figures in terms of goals now.

If all three were to hit peak form at the same time (the next few weeks would be absolutely perfect), then we'd be truly formidable. Such a variety of threats across the three players.

06-04-2021, 10:47 AM
I'm really proud of this so I'm just going to keep posting it everywhere.

https://i.imgur.com/yAPaQhF.png

06-04-2021, 10:51 AM
Diego is back [emoji76]

06-04-2021, 11:21 AM
He’s an interesting one for sure, one thing you can guarantee is he willl always get a chance.

When you compare him to other strikers, even Nisbet, he seems to get far more chances or be in better positions. He doesn’t always take them, but he’s got the instinct to get in those positions.

I think Nisbet doesn’t help himself with his as he always comes deep which is good, but I’d like to see him have the desire to get back in the box straight away for more tap ins.

06-04-2021, 11:35 AM
I like Doidge a lot and would start him in the vast majority of games.

My one complaint is if we and him are struggling in a game he either gets caught offside a lot or gives away petty fouls.

18-04-2021, 04:39 PM
I think I'm more impressed with him this season than last. Other than under Heckingbottom, he couldn't do wrong in the first season and everything fell into place for him, he reaped the rewards of that.

Things seem to have just gone against him this season, nothing quite worked for a large part but he's never stopped working, never stopped battling for the benefit of his team mates and is now coming into very good form now the crunch part of the season is here. His attitude is fantastic and I really hope we can keep him for a few years longer, I rate him very highly indeed.

18-04-2021, 04:45 PM
Excellent today. We’re not the same team without him.

18-04-2021, 04:53 PM
Excellent today. We’re not the same team without him.

Something like 42/43 goals between him, Nisbet and Boyle. That's a terrific return from all 3, especially when they play together more often than not. :aok:

Need our midfield to contribute much more in goals though, hopefully that is looked at next season.

18-04-2021, 04:54 PM
Something like 42/43 goals between him, Nisbet and Boyle. That's a terrific return from all 3, especially when they play together more often than not. :aok:

Need our midfield to contribute much more in goals though, hopefully that is looked at next season.

41 between the three of them. Said a few weeks ago that if all three hit form at the same time, we could have an amazing end to the season.

18-04-2021, 05:02 PM
41 between the three of them. Said a few weeks ago that if all three hit form at the same time, we could have an amazing end to the season.

...whilst over the road, 45 goals between 8 strikers and wingers :greengrin in a lower league, v a mix of full and part timers, and with cup draws v lower league part time opposition :aok:

Give me Tommy Tapin every day of the week :aok:

18-04-2021, 05:59 PM
I really like Doidge. Even missing the one on.ones at Pitoddrie, he was making the right runs. Wins loads in the air and is a collosus defending corners and free kicks

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

18-04-2021, 06:05 PM
I'd be offering an extension on his deal pronto

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

18-04-2021, 08:13 PM
I'd be offering an extension on his deal pronto

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkI agree. There's been a lot of talk about Nibs.net potentially moving on in the summer but I reckon Doidge could attract at least as much interest.

18-04-2021, 08:42 PM
Excellent finish

18-04-2021, 09:02 PM
I reckon Doidge is exactly the sort of player that good teams need.

First and foremost he is a really good guy, he always tries his best and leads by example.

He’s not the most technically able but is brave and has ability. He not selfish at all.

I like him a lot, he’s, for me, a real fans favourite. I just want to get back to cheer this group on, especially the big fella.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

18-04-2021, 09:06 PM
I agree. There's been a lot of talk about Nibs.net potentially moving on in the summer

[emoji23][emoji106]

18-04-2021, 09:08 PM
New deal please hibs. Guy is so good.

18-04-2021, 09:09 PM
I agree. There's been a lot of talk about Nibs.net potentially moving on in the summer but I reckon Doidge could attract at least as much interest.

😃 Has he got his own fans' forum now?

18-04-2021, 09:14 PM
[emoji2] Has he got his own fans' forum now?I can't remember who came up with that, but if we're going to misspell his name we might as well do it with style.

18-04-2021, 09:18 PM
I reckon Doidge is exactly the sort of player that good teams need.

First and foremost he is a really good guy, he always tries his best and leads by example.

He’s not the most technically able but is brave and has ability. He not selfish at all.

I like him a lot, he’s, for me, a real fans favourite. I just want to get back to cheer this group on, especially the big fella.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

You can tell he’s very well liked with the players as they all seem delighted for him after he scores

18-04-2021, 09:22 PM
If I had to lose one of our strikers in the summer I'd probably be more worried losing Doidge, he's really important to this side, really like the big guy particularly now that he's hitting another streak.

08-05-2021, 06:26 PM
Scored in every round. Well done Christian.

Who let the Doidge out?
Who, who, who, who, who?

08-05-2021, 06:30 PM
We need to get a new contract sorted for him asap. Some finish from the big man today.

08-05-2021, 06:32 PM
Van Nisteldoidge.

08-05-2021, 06:33 PM
We need to get a new contract sorted for him asap. Some finish from the big man today.

Very similar to his finish against QOTS.

08-05-2021, 06:34 PM
Van Basdoidge

08-05-2021, 06:35 PM
Christian Ronaldoidge

08-05-2021, 06:36 PM
When he is off it he can be so frustrating... when he's on it there's no one I prefer watching score. He just absolutely loves it! Haha each goal means the world to him.

Brilliant pro and must be an excellent influence on the rest of the team.

Brilliant Doidgey!

Bridge hibs
08-05-2021, 06:37 PM
When he is off it he can be so frustrating... when he's on it there's no one I prefer watching score. He just absolutely loves it! Haha each goal means the world to him.

Brilliant Doidgey!Here here, guy was brill today

08-05-2021, 06:39 PM

Brilliant Doidgey!

Disagree on the first point. On the runs he has without scoring he is still very important. Scores often enough for us to know he will get goals.

08-05-2021, 06:40 PM
Could he be the first Hibs player to pick up a winners medal having scored in every round?

08-05-2021, 06:41 PM
He's one of our most important players

Works his erse off every game

LeithMike
Have questioned his finishing in the past but took his goal brilliantly today and always looked a threat. Him and Nisbet have formed a really effective partnership.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

Could he be the first Hibs player to pick up a winners medal having scored in every round?

Like Keith Wright in the League Cup.

Disagree on the first point. On the runs he has without scoring he is still very important. Scores often enough for us to know he will get goals.

On some of the barren runs it can seem like it will never come. I agree tho, I have never seen him give any less than everything he has! Scoring streaks come with the territory tho and right now the front three are flying!

gazzag70

That would be fantastic, here’s hoping he does it!

08-05-2021, 06:43 PM
Like Keith Wright in the League Cup.

Was meaning the Scottish Cup guv

DetroitHibs
08-05-2021, 06:43 PM

Keef, Keef, Keef!!!!

08-05-2021, 06:44 PM
Was meaning the Scottish Cup guv

Yeah, I know. :aok:

08-05-2021, 07:16 PM
Played 9 Scottish Cup matches for us and scored 10 goals.

08-05-2021, 07:21 PM
Played 9 Scottish Cup matches for us and scored 10 goals.

Not to be ignored. Incredible stat

08-05-2021, 07:23 PM
Said when he got back on the goals bandwagon that an in form Christian Doidge at this stage of the season could be an almighty gamechanger.

Three games to keep it up.

08-05-2021, 07:24 PM
Keef, Keef, Keef!!!!

That was League Cup DH

08-05-2021, 07:25 PM
Balon d'oidge

08-05-2021, 07:33 PM
His recent goals have been of a good quality. It is possible he has managed to improve his finishing to a higher level through hard work. It happens.

08-05-2021, 07:44 PM
I genuinely love the guy and think we're a much worse team when he doesn't play.

Aye, he could score more goals. But his all round play is worth a lot more to us than if he was a striker who didn't do much but popped up with the odd goal here or there.

08-05-2021, 07:44 PM
Diego Doidge.

08-05-2021, 07:48 PM
Brilliant today.

08-05-2021, 07:50 PM
A fantastic player for us over the last couple of seasons. He needs to get a contract extension. We'll struggle to replace him easily. Works his arse off for the ream and must be great to play with due to is effort and workrate

Bad Habits
08-05-2021, 09:16 PM
Fantastic finisher! Had no worries once he broke the defence.

WestEndHibee
08-05-2021, 09:42 PM
Diego Maradoidgea