View Full Version : 4th and 5th round draws

steelendhibs
03-04-2021, 03:34 PM
Both to be made tomorrow. We could potentially have a draw of Queen of the South or Hibernian / team x or team y versus team a or team b

03-04-2021, 03:36 PM
Both to be made tomorrow. We could potentially have a draw of Queen of the South or Hibernian / team x or team y versus team a or team b

There are no replays. Ties have to be completed on the day.

03-04-2021, 03:37 PM
There are no replays. Ties have to be completed on the day.

The draw is made before rangers play Cove, so could be

03-04-2021, 03:48 PM
The draw is made before rangers play Cove, so could be

OK, so only if we are drawn against Cove rangers will that scenario play out. 😉

03-04-2021, 03:49 PM

Think I’d still manage to sleep.

03-04-2021, 05:09 PM
I don't like drawing two rounds in the one day.

03-04-2021, 05:13 PM

Probably not my preference either but it’s strange times we’re living in and if this makes it a bit easier for the competition to be organised then it doesn’t seem like a great hardship recently.

03-04-2021, 07:44 PM

They just go the whole hog and draw the full bracket out.

I hope we get Falkirk or cove rangers.

Wakeyhibee
03-04-2021, 08:38 PM

And two of the balls wont have time to cool down by then.

Don Giovanni
03-04-2021, 09:20 PM
They just go the whole hog and draw the full bracket out.

I hope we get Falkirk or cove rangers.

It's in our interests for one of Hibs (obviously), Celtc or Sevco to win the Scottish Cup due to the way European places are allocated.

03-04-2021, 09:23 PM

You have misspelled buying 😁

04-04-2021, 08:51 AM
Why aren't they drawing the semi finals too if they're doing everything else?

04-04-2021, 09:18 AM
Why aren't they drawing the semi finals too if they're doing everything else?

Very difficult to heat the right balls that far in advance.

04-04-2021, 09:20 AM
Call me old fashioned but I like the draws after the last game of the round , barring postponements of course

04-04-2021, 09:23 AM
Don't know why they dont go the whole hog and do what we do in my bowling club for all our competitions and just draw every team out in order and play the ties down round by round by progression. Works at Wimbeldon and other major sports too. At least then you can chart your progress with anticipation rather than wondering how they'll keep the uglies apart until the final😉

04-04-2021, 09:24 AM
Call me old fashioned but I like the draws after the last game of the round , barring postponements of course

Monday night at potentially 22.30/23.00 is hardly prime time tele though and a far smaller audience at a QOTS/Hibs tie than there will be for a Rangers tie.

04-04-2021, 09:36 AM
Monday night at potentially 22.30/23.00 is hardly prime time tele though and a far smaller audience at a QOTS/Hibs tie than there will be for a Rangers tie.

It looks like the double draw is being made before the game at Ibrox (around 2pm) and I'm not sure it's on TV at all.
I'd have thought they were obliged to broadcast it to avoid any accusations of jiggery-pokery... All seems a bit of a mess.

Tully
04-04-2021, 10:11 AM
Think Both draws on sfa Facebook page and youtube

04-04-2021, 10:18 AM

It's not on TV, it's being shown on the Scottish Cup Facebook, Twitter and YouTube channels.

04-04-2021, 10:41 AM
It's not on TV, it's being shown on the Scottish Cup Facebook, Twitter and YouTube channels.

Makes absolutely no sense then. All very strange.

04-04-2021, 11:09 AM
Think Both draws on sfa Facebook page and youtube

https://youtu.be/5I-4H_rIDWA

04-04-2021, 11:16 AM
My predictions are:

4th round:
Celtic v Forfar (live on Premier Sports)
Rangers v Stranraer (live in Premier Sports)
Aberdeen v Hibs

5th round:
Celtic v Morton or Inverness (live on Premier Sports)
Rangers v Clyde or Montrose (live on Premier Sports)
Livingston or St Johnstone v Aberdeen or Hibs

04-04-2021, 11:40 AM
My predictions are:

4th round:
Celtic v Forfar (live on Premier Sports)
Rangers v Stranraer (live in Premier Sports)
Aberdeen v Hibs

5th round:
Celtic v Morton or Inverness (live on Premier Sports)
Rangers v Clyde or Montrose (live on Premier Sports)
Livingston or St Johnstone v Aberdeen or Hibs

Hope so.

Want Rangers and Celtic to keep on getting the easiest draw all the way through.

04-04-2021, 12:09 PM
Hope so.

Want Rangers and Celtic to keep on getting the easiest draw all the way through.

:agree: I feel dirty for saying so but needs must.

04-04-2021, 12:54 PM

bbc missed a trick by not asking or indicating they'd like the draw be made with the live game they're showing. folk would switch over just for the draw & not the live game

04-04-2021, 12:56 PM
bbc missed a trick by not asking or indicating they'd like the draw be made with the live game they're showing. folk would switch over just for the draw & not the live game

Would need to be before the game though, otherwise the draw could be as late as 10.30/11pm which would be worse than a Monday lunchtime.

04-04-2021, 01:03 PM
Away to. Stranraer if we dispose of QoS. ... drawn by a sea shanty singing Postie from Airdrie. Only in Scotland.😂😂😂😂😂

04-04-2021, 01:05 PM
Oooooo The Rangers v Celtc

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

04-04-2021, 01:07 PM
GIRUY SFA and Premier Sports, no OF final.

Dunno whether to be happy or not that those two drew each other

That’s a nightmare

davhibby

That’s a terrible draw from our point of view

04-04-2021, 01:08 PM

My first thought.:greengrin

Ideally we want Celtc the huns and us in the cup for as long as possible but losing one of the two uglies increases our chance of winning it.

I'd rather Celtic and Rangers were kept apart to be honest. It would have given us a better chance of group stage Europe. That being said its a very good draw for us

davhibby
04-04-2021, 01:10 PM
Ideally we want Celtc the huns and us in the cup for as long as possible but losing one of the two uglies increases our chance of winning it.

It also increases the chance of someone else winning it. A lot of premiership teams got easy draws there, only decent draw was Aberdeen v Livi

04-04-2021, 01:10 PM
First reaction was that it’s good getting one of the big two out to increase our chances of winning. Forgot about the impact that could have on the prize for finishing third.

04-04-2021, 01:11 PM
Full Draw

Stranraer vs Hibs or QotS
Motherwell vs Morton
St Mirren vs ICT
St Johnstone vs Clyde
Huns or Cove vs Celtc
Aberdeen vs Livvy
Forfar vs Dundee Utd
Killie vs Montrose

04-04-2021, 01:12 PM
What's the reason we are concerned about the prize pot?

04-04-2021, 01:13 PM
If we turn up and be professional twice we’re in the quarter finals. Whichever side wins the old firm tie will be odds on to win the competition anyway, with us likely second favourites.

04-04-2021, 01:13 PM

Ticket revenues for games that aren’t going to have any fans at them?

04-04-2021, 01:14 PM
I'd rather Celtic and Rangers were kept apart to be honest. It would have given us a better chance of group stage Europe. That being said its a very good draw for us

One season at a time 😉

I'd be very surprised if anyone that's not called Sevco wins it. They are out Europe and the league is won so they have no distractions from the cup.

First reaction was that it’s good getting one of the big two out to increase our chances of winning Forgot about the impact that could have on the prize for finishing third.

Me too. Even after all that’s been said about.:confused:

bringbackbenny

If we finish 3rd and us, Celtic or Rangers win the cup then the euro path is much better, guaranteed euro football to Xmas.

04-04-2021, 01:15 PM
5th Round Draw coming up soon.

huns/cove/celtic vs st johnstone/clyde
Killie/Montrose vs St Mirren/ICT
Aberdeen/Livvy vs Forfar/Dundee Utd
Stranraer/Qots/Hibs vs Motherwell/Morton

Keyser Sauzee
04-04-2021, 01:16 PM
What’s the situation with Europe next season. I understand if us,1st or 2nd win the cup then we are guaranteed group stages but if someone outside the top 3 wins the Scottish where does that leave us?

04-04-2021, 01:16 PM
That’s a nightmare

That’s a terrible draw from our point of view

Going by how Celtic are playing there’s not a chance in hell they’ll win the cup, they’re a shambles.

04-04-2021, 01:17 PM
If we finish 3rd and us, Celtic or Rangers win the cup then the euro path is much better, guaranteed euro football to Xmas.

Does the league spot not trump the cup one? I've not been paying attention.

bringbackbenny
04-04-2021, 01:17 PM
Does the league spot not trump the cup one? I've not been paying attention.

Nope cup takes priority

04-04-2021, 01:18 PM
We can't get a much better route to the semis than that.

04-04-2021, 01:18 PM
Motherwell or Greenock Morton

04-04-2021, 01:19 PM
We can't get a much better route to the semis than that.

Yup. Happy with that and one of the ugly sisters will be out as well.

04-04-2021, 01:19 PM
Nope cup takes priority

Oh, right. That's stinking.

04-04-2021, 01:20 PM
Decent draws. One game at a time though. Happy with the Hibs ones.

04-04-2021, 01:20 PM
Ooft. Interesting. Gotta win tomorrow first but very interesting.

04-04-2021, 01:21 PM
Only one of Aberdeen Livi or Dundee United in a semi, with the winner of the old firm getting St Johnstone. Not much outwith those teams going to win it I wouldn’t think, if it wasn’t us or the old firm.

04-04-2021, 01:22 PM
We have a decent path to the semi finals there, two tricky away ties and most likely Motherwell at Easter Road. All very doable.

04-04-2021, 01:23 PM
What’s the situation with Europe next season. I understand if us,1st or 2nd win the cup then we are guaranteed group stages but if someone outside the top 3 wins the Scottish where does that leave us?

We wouldn’t be guaranteed to get in the group stages . We would enter the Europa in an earlier round and if we lost , we would be out .

04-04-2021, 01:23 PM
pathway to the semi.

lugz
04-04-2021, 01:24 PM
Happy with that draw. Getting one of the ugly sisters out early doors gives us a better chance of winning it. Hard to see past rangers at this point which would be benefit us for Europe but certainly not bothered by them drawing each other.

BS44
04-04-2021, 01:32 PM
Stranraer will be really difficult, after all they beat Brora who of course knocked out the biggliest team in the whole wide world

04-04-2021, 01:32 PM
Very good opportunity to progress far again.

Cat Stanton
04-04-2021, 01:34 PM
pathway to the semi.

Of course the last time we played Motherwell at home... ahem.

04-04-2021, 01:36 PM
Couldn't ask for a better draw than that really.
Great opportunity to get far in the cup again' if we can get through a tricky tie on Monday :aok:

04-04-2021, 01:36 PM
We desperately need Rangers to win that. Celtic ain’t winning **** this season.

04-04-2021, 01:39 PM
Of course the last time we played Motherwell at home... ahem.

the last twice we've played motherwell at home, better side the first one as well

hibby rae
04-04-2021, 01:42 PM
Going by how Celtic are playing there’s not a chance in hell they’ll win the cup, they’re a shambles.

My ideal scenario would have been they play each other in the semis and Celtic pulled a miracle to play us in the final.

I would have been very confident of winning that.

147lothian
04-04-2021, 01:52 PM
For me the draw is either a very good one or a bad one depending on the result tomorrow. Its going to a tricky tie on their plastic surface

Perfectly Loud
04-04-2021, 01:55 PM
Anyone else get visions of "Duncan, the 3rd Murray brother" when the idea of automatic Euro group stage fitba for "Scotland #3" crops up?

Newry Hibs
04-04-2021, 01:56 PM

They probably didnt want to take the risk of celtc going out to a 'diddy' team, so they decided to guarantee one match.

04-04-2021, 01:57 PM
Huntic St Mirren Aberdeen Hibs semi finalists

04-04-2021, 01:57 PM
My ideal scenario would have been they play each other in the semis and Celtic pulled a miracle to play us in the final.

I would have been very confident of winning that.
Yes that would’ve been ideal. It will end up being a repeat of 2016 with us and the hun in the final.

04-04-2021, 02:03 PM
Who did hearts get

04-04-2021, 02:04 PM
Huge opportunity to get to semi however one game at a time including tomorrow's very tricky tie.

04-04-2021, 02:05 PM
Yes that would’ve been ideal. It will end up being a repeat of 2016 with us and the hun in the final.

Culminating in our cardboard cut outs invading the Hampden pitch in a display of exuberance

04-04-2021, 02:08 PM
Culminating in our cardboard cut outs invading the Hampden pitch in a display of exuberance

THE DAILY RECORD can exclusively report that every single member of the Rangers first team squad sustained papercuts in the aftermatch of the cardboard cut-out pitch invasion following the weekend's Scottish Cup Final against Hibernian.

04-04-2021, 02:08 PM
Normally I'd be happy that the Ugly Sisters have to play each other this early as it opens up the competition for the rest of us.

But with the implications for our European qualification I'd have preferred that they were kept apart until the semis.

Looks like we'll just have to win it again ourselves.

04-04-2021, 02:09 PM
No complaints about the draw. Great chance to get to the semis and hopefully go on from there to win the cup again.

04-04-2021, 02:17 PM
Rangers v Celtic in any other season would have been a great draw, this season it's a horrific draw.

04-04-2021, 02:22 PM
Increases our chances of winning it. If we don't then come on Rangers (boke).

Allez Hibs
04-04-2021, 02:23 PM
Rangers v Celtic in any other season would have been a great draw, this season it's a horrific draw.

How's it a horrific draw?

Are we not trying to win the Scottish Cup?

The dalmeny
04-04-2021, 02:29 PM

planned this season, of the off chance ScotGov allow fans at the final as a wee election sweetener

04-04-2021, 02:30 PM
Huntic St Mirren Aberdeen Hibs semi finalists

Would defo not be surprised to see Livi or even Utd there instead, dons are gash

I agree, If we played Celtic in the final I would actually fancy our chances, I'd be a little less confident playing Rangers but either way we get our European ticket. I'd fancy our chances against anybody else in the competition (even St Johnstone!!!), we are currently the third best team in Scotland after all.

The Count
Has now to be a Huns/Tic v Hibees Final to guarantee best European football option.

04-04-2021, 02:31 PM

Of course but instead of having a chance of Rangers v Celtic in the final it increases the likelihood of another team making it through.

04-04-2021, 02:36 PM
Don't know why they didn't just do the semi final draw as well.

04-04-2021, 02:37 PM
Of course but instead of having a chance of Rangers v Celtic in the final it increases the likelihood of another team making it through.

But the other team would still have to win it!
Tomorrow night is massive now for Hibs, no excuses, just need to win

Wakeyhibee
04-04-2021, 02:37 PM

??? That's nearly as negative as Craig Leveins tactics. It's a great draw for us. Whilst any favours are welcome, I wanna see us in the final v anybody. Either of the OF is good for Hibs re europe so would anybody else, means a better chance of winning it and qualifying.

Allez Hibs
04-04-2021, 02:42 PM
I think it's a great draw for us!

04-04-2021, 02:42 PM
Back hibs. We're still in the competition. Permutations only matter if we fail.

Let's do this.

04-04-2021, 02:50 PM

Huge game for us tomorrow

Newry Hibs
04-04-2021, 02:55 PM
Don't know why they didn't just do the semi final draw as well.

If the rounds are played close together, then it would help with possible travel needs.

We know we'll be playing at hampden for the semi.

04-04-2021, 03:15 PM
God I hope we get to the final. Imagine wanting the Huns to win a cup! I'd be showering for weeks.

04-04-2021, 03:24 PM
Has now to be a Huns/Tic v Hibees Final to guarantee best European football option.
Let's do this. We should not rely on other teams.

04-04-2021, 03:29 PM
We wouldn’t be guaranteed to get in the group stages . We would enter the Europa in an earlier round and if we lost , we would be out .

We would be guaranteed group stage as we would enter the play off round of the Europa and of we lost we'd drop into the conference groups. Its different this year as nobody qualified for the Europa by winning the conference last year

Keyser Sauzee
04-04-2021, 03:35 PM
We would be guaranteed group stage as we would enter the play off round of the Europa and of we lost we'd drop into the conference groups. Its different this year as nobody qualified for the Europa by winning the conference last year

I’m sure that only applies if we get 3rd and us or the old firm win the cup, not if someone else wins the cup.

hibby rae
04-04-2021, 03:38 PM

Well at least that would be the Group stages guaranteed.

Tbh on our day we'd have a chance against them. They might still be cup bottlers 😂

Green Reaper
04-04-2021, 03:39 PM

I think egb was replying to Keysers question about what’s happens if we are third but someone out with the top three win the cup, ie no guaranteed group stages

04-04-2021, 04:07 PM

Yeah, would normally want Celtic and Rangers to meet but because we want us or one of them to win so 3rd place gets the Europa League, it might not be so good. We'll just have to secure 3rd and get to the final against Celtic or Rangers (easier said than done).

04-04-2021, 04:09 PM
I think egb was replying to Keysers question about what’s happens if we are third but someone out with the top three win the cup, ie no guaranteed group stages

Yup, I misread the post.

04-04-2021, 04:24 PM
People are crazy thinking Rangers getting Celtic is a bad draw. We’re in the cup to win it. One of them going out early is great for us.

Hibs4185
04-04-2021, 05:17 PM
Obviously we wanted rangers, Celtic or us to win the scottish cup so that we entered the Europa League at the final qualifying round but I thought they weren’t finishing the Scottish Cup this season so therefore the winner of the cup was irrelevant?

04-04-2021, 05:17 PM
We desperately need Rangers to win that. Celtic ain’t winning **** this season.

Why? We’d surely have a better chance of beating Celtic or are Hibs not looking to win the cup this year?

04-04-2021, 05:25 PM
Why? We’d surely have a better chance of beating Celtic or are Hibs not looking to win the cup this year?

I think we’re all looking to win the cup, but also keep our options open if we should lose in the cup (more chance of not winning the cup than winning it). As for Rangers or Celtic, couldn’t care less. Both are far better than the rest of the competition. The winner of that tie will be in the semi, we should also be in the semi given our draw.

04-04-2021, 05:26 PM

The OF drawing each other is only ever a good thing for aspirations, is 2016 really that long ago we’ve all forgotten the chain of events?

Not sure if I’m missing something, but does a finalist beaten by the league winners (or runners up) revert to taking the next best European slot by virtue of that? I thought that had been binned a long time back.

If, imagine it , the Huns or Celtic beat St Mirren say (or anyone below 3rd in league placing) in the final, isn’t the preferred Euro slot going to go to 3rd place anyway?

04-04-2021, 05:29 PM
Great draw for us in terms of our progress but for me I'd rather the Uglies had avoided each other until the semis if we were still in and the final if we are out. Better to concentrate on getting through tomorrow and making sure of third first though

04-04-2021, 05:33 PM
The OF drawing each other is only ever a good thing for aspirations, is 2016 really that long ago we’ve all forgotten the chain of events?

Not sure if I’m missing something, but does a finalist beaten by the league winners (or runners up) revert to taking the next best European slot by virtue of that? I thought that had been binned a long time back.

If, imagine it , the Huns or Celtic beat St Mirren say (or anyone below 3rd in league placing) in the final, isn’t the preferred Euro slot going to go to 3rd place anyway?

You’re right IP, a team outside of the top 3 would have to win the Cup, runners up don’t get Euro places

04-04-2021, 05:42 PM
We haven't beat QoS yet.

04-04-2021, 05:52 PM
I’m guessing the Stranraer game will be moved for tv if we get past QoS.

04-04-2021, 06:52 PM
I think it's a great draw for us!

Totally agree. My main priority is to win the cup. Couldn’t of been more favourable. Hope Celtic beat the Huns as Rangers name is almost on the cupi if they win but I fancy our chances against a pishy Celtic in a semi or final. Come on the Hibees!!

04-04-2021, 07:02 PM
You’re right IP, a team outside of the top 3 would have to win the Cup, runners up don’t get Euro places

Don’t know what the fuss is about then. Folk desperate for an OF final. Worlds gone mad right enough.

04-04-2021, 07:09 PM
We haven't beat QoS yet.

Exactly.

04-04-2021, 07:09 PM
Don’t know what the fuss is about then. Folk desperate for an OF final. Worlds gone mad right enough.

It has just made it slightly more likely that a non OF team could win.

The likes of Aberdeen and St Johnstone for example are more of a threat with one of them taken out.

It is still likely that the remaining one would win it but something can always happen that is not expected. Just need that to happen once now instead of twice.

04-04-2021, 07:10 PM

Nobody is desperate for an old firm final as long as Hibs are in it. Many wanted them to be kept apart to help if Hibs were to lose at any point. Absolutely no problem with that.

04-04-2021, 07:17 PM
It has just made it slightly more likely that a non OF team could win.

The likes of Aberdeen and St Johnstone for example are more of a threat with one of them taken out.

It is still likely that the remaining one would win it but something can always happen that is not expected. Just need that to happen once now instead of twice.

Nobody is desperate for an old firm final as long as Hibs are in it. Many wanted them to be kept apart to help if Hibs were to lose at any point. Absolutely no problem with that.

It’s been described as a terrible draw for Hibs. Sounds desperate. Nothing of the sort surely.

There’s always a chance someone else could win it. Recently that’s been happening quite a lot. If Hibs get knocked out we can start rooting for one of them to win it.

People get scared of the day they’ve not seen yet.

04-04-2021, 07:41 PM
It’s been described as a terrible draw for Hibs. Sounds desperate. Nothing of the sort surely.

There’s always a chance someone else could win it. Recently that’s been happening quite a lot. If Hibs get knocked out we can start rooting for one of them to win it.

While I agree, if they’re both oot and Hibs get beat then we can’t root for them to win it can we? Chances are one of those two will win it, the chances of someone not us or the old firm winning it are slim anyway so I’m not getting all worked up about draws. Rangers haven’t won a domestic cup in so long that they’ll have the bit between their teeth now, and Celtic haven’t not won a trophy in a season in so long that they won’t want that to happen. And we’re the third best side by a distance. Our draw to the semi couldn’t have been kinder and once we get there I want us to avoid Rangers/Celtic as usual.

Out of the others that I could see winning it, Aberdeen, St Johnstone, st mirren and Dundee United, only two of them will be in the semi if one of the uglies get there. And in a final I can’t see any of them beating Rangers or Celtic; their best chance would be in a semi.

If someone has said it’s a disastrous draw I don’t agree with them though.

04-04-2021, 07:51 PM
While I agree, if they’re both oot and Hibs get beat then we can’t root for them to win it can we? Chances are one of those two will win it, the chances of someone not us or the old firm winning it are slim anyway so I’m not getting all worked up about draws. Rangers haven’t won a domestic cup in so long that they’ll have the bit between their teeth now, and Celtic haven’t not won a trophy in a season in so long that they won’t want that to happen. And we’re the third best side by a distance. Our draw to the semi couldn’t have been kinder and once we get there I want us to avoid Rangers/Celtic as usual.

Out of the others that I could see winning it, Aberdeen, St Johnstone, st mirren and Dundee United, only two of them will be in the semi if one of the uglies get there. And in a final I can’t see any of them beating Rangers or Celtic; their best chance would be in a semi.

As soon as the draw was made the jitters appeared about how bad this was!
Lots of ifs and buts but it’s unquestionable that they could both have been out next round or they could both have been through.....not now though.
And right now we are guaranteed to miss one of them if we keep our minerals about us and make the semis. So that’s a tick for a percentage shot at avoiding them.

Changing world I know but losing our **** about the potential cup finalists when we’ve yet to play a tie is a new one on me.

04-04-2021, 08:06 PM

Good post and 100% right.

04-04-2021, 08:22 PM

St Mirren have already knocked Rangers out of a cup competition this season, no reason why they can't do it again. Celtic are definitely beatable. The SC's more open than some people think, but I take your points about the theoretical results.

04-04-2021, 08:49 PM
St Mirren have already knocked Rangers out of a cup competition this season, no reason why they can't do it again. Celtic are definitely beatable. The SC's more open than some people think, but I take your points about the theoretical results.

They have, Rangers also had the league to win, and still in Europe at that point. The cup is their only focus now. Celtic likewise. They were under huge scrutiny, now I’d imagine their fans will be more supportive as it’s the only thing they can now win. Just think it’ll be very difficult for anyone to get close to either of them, with us obviously best placed.

Corstorphine Hibby
04-04-2021, 09:57 PM
I'd be very surprised if anyone that's not called Sevco wins it. They are out Europe and the league is won so they have no distractions from the cup.

So, just like 2016 then?

04-04-2021, 10:16 PM
So, just like 2016 then?

bit different

04-04-2021, 11:22 PM
So, just like 2016 then?

Hmm a bit like that apart from being nothing like that

The Count
05-04-2021, 08:19 AM
Have this feeling that we are heading for a Hibs v Huns Final and we will either burst there double chance or blow there unbeaten run in the league.Hopefully both!!! Just one of these strange occuring thoughts.How sweet would that be and no i have not been drinking.

05-04-2021, 08:20 AM
Have this feeling that we are heading for a Hibs v Huns Final and we will either burst there double chance or blow there unbeaten run in the league.Hopefully both!!! Just one of these strange occuring thoughts.How sweet would that be and no i have not been drinking.

That’s the spirit. No pun intended

Corstorphine Hibby
05-04-2021, 08:20 AM
Hmm a bit like that apart from being nothing like that

If you say so.

05-04-2021, 10:18 PM
I reckon our game will be on TV along with Aberdeen v Livingston and the bigot fest. Premier Sports won't pick a second game.

05-04-2021, 10:19 PM
I reckon our game will be on TV along with Aberdeen v Livingston and the bigot fest. Premier Sports won't pick a second game.

As much as I joked that they’d show the old firm game twice, they don’t have a choice but to show a second game I’d imagine as part of their contract.

05-04-2021, 10:20 PM
As much as I joked that they’d show the old firm game twice, they don’t have a choice but to show a second game I’d imagine as part of their contract.

I suppose! Forfar v United as the fourth game then.

05-04-2021, 10:22 PM

Correct they're contracted to show two matches, they can't change that.

05-04-2021, 10:23 PM
I suppose! Forfar v United as the fourth game then.

Premier go for the biggest audiences regardless of magnitude of ties, so the old firm game plus either ours or the Aberdeen game. Would imagine BBC will take the other plus St Mirren Inverness to plough a wee bit more money into the ICT coffers and help out Robbo and McCann.

05-04-2021, 10:29 PM
Imagine they’ll announce tomorrow what games are on tv then?

06-04-2021, 10:05 AM
On to Stranraer then, and a tie I would have been savouring if things were normal. It would have been a simple pissed up ferry trip over from Belfast for me, and an even more pissed up trip home. Shame.

06-04-2021, 10:24 AM
On to Stranraer then, and a tie I would have been savouring if things were normal. It would have been a simple pissed up ferry trip over from Belfast for me, and an even more pissed up trip home. Shame.

Just home some of us can get in, if we reach the final😀

06-04-2021, 11:32 AM

I'm gutted too. I would have taken the opportunity to head over to the Emerald Isle too.

06-04-2021, 02:31 PM
The televised matches for the Fourth Round of the Scottish Cup have been confirmed.

➡️ Read more: http://scotfa.co/4rtv2021

Forfar Athletic Football Club (Official) v Dundee United Football Club
Friday, 16 April – 7.45pm – BBC Scotland

Stranraer FC v Hibernian Football Club
Saturday, 17 April – 12.15pm – BBC Scotland

Rangers FC v Celtic FC
Saturday, 17 April – 4pm – Premier Sports

Aberdeen Football Club v Livingston FC
Sunday, 18 April – 2pm – Premier Sports

06-04-2021, 02:33 PM
The televised matches for the Fourth Round of the Scottish Cup have been confirmed.

Rangers FC v Celtic FC

I thought we’d be the Friday night, but glad we’re on BBC
Presume Hibs will travel down the night before, also gives us a days rest over Livvi, who we play the following Wednesday (21st)

06-04-2021, 02:34 PM
Forfar Athletic Football Club (Official)

Is there an unofficial Forfar AFC?

06-04-2021, 02:36 PM
Is there an unofficial Forfar AFC?

Must be 😀

06-04-2021, 02:36 PM
I find it so confusing that i basically hope Sevco win every tie unless it's against us :confused:

06-04-2021, 02:41 PM

Rangers FC v Celtic FC

Brilliant Blaster.
No need to find a stream!
Kick off time a bit crap but live on BBC is a big score.

06-04-2021, 02:42 PM
I find it so confusing that i basically hope Sevco win every tie unless it's against us :confused:

Hope that celtic do instead? Same net result.

06-04-2021, 03:11 PM
I think Stranraer will have played something like four games in seven days when they face us. Tough going for them.

06-04-2021, 03:26 PM
I think Stranraer will have played something like four games in seven days when they face us. Tough going for them.

What a shame...

06-04-2021, 03:28 PM

Rangers FC v Celtic FC

Giving Hibs, as the the team with furthest to travel of the lot, the earliest kick off time is a bit of a joke IMHO. If we had the Friday night slot there would be no need to spend a night in a hotel beforehand.

06-04-2021, 03:32 PM
Giving Hibs, as the the team with furthest to travel of the lot, the earliest kick off time is a bit of a joke IMHO. If we had the Friday night slot there would be no need to spend a night in a hotel beforehand.

It’s about the same distance as Dingwall, and we alway stay over, night before if it’s a 3pm kick off

06-04-2021, 04:23 PM

Just reading they play

Tuesday 6th April away to Elgin, beating in mind they have just returned from Brora
Saturday 10th home to Edinburgh City
Tuesday 13th away to Stirling Albion
Thursday 15th home to Stenhousemuir 7pm ko
Saturday 17th home to Hibs 12.30pm ko

They’ve also got a great chance of getting in the play offs

06-04-2021, 04:43 PM
Just reading they play

Tuesday 6th April away to Elgin, beating in mind they have just returned from Brora

That would be hard going for a full time club with a big squad, less worried about this game now, they boys will be shattered by the Hibs game.

06-04-2021, 05:02 PM
Just reading they play

That's a shocker they are playing Thursday night before a 1215 on the Saturday

one day maybe...
06-04-2021, 06:55 PM
Rangers v Celtic 4pm Kick off on a Saturday. Surely setting a precedent :greengrin:take that

06-04-2021, 07:22 PM
Just reading they play

A brutal schedule. I'd have preferred the broadcasters to show Stranraer some consideration and at least make it a Sunday match. Monday being ruled out because of the Livingston game.

06-04-2021, 07:24 PM
A brutal schedule. I'd have preferred the broadcasters to show Stranraer some consideration and at least make it a Sunday match. Monday being ruled out because of the Livingston game.

To be fair it’s all the clubs’ own doing. They wanted to get 18 games done by a certain point to allow a split, rather than just settle for 18 games in total. Commendable but they have to accept the consequences. Think a team had similar last week, maybe Dumbarton?

06-04-2021, 08:16 PM
To be fairer Stranraer probably thought they would have been beaten in the last round by the team that defeated the most Famousest Team in the Land.
It was probably a surprise to find out they were actually pish & they consequently have an extra cup game on their hands. At least they will get some TV money.
I'll happily take it because it means Hibs are likely to have a fairly easy game but I do feel sorry for the teams in the lower divisions.
Still, GG.

06-04-2021, 09:35 PM
To be fair it’s all the clubs’ own doing. They wanted to get 18 games done by a certain point to allow a split, rather than just settle for 18 games in total. Commendable but they have to accept the consequences. Think a team had similar last week, maybe Dumbarton?

Dumbarton played their fourth game in seven days tonight and they are due to play two more games by Saturday.

They're not the only ones either.

SJNB Hibby
08-04-2021, 06:51 PM

Whats the scoop on the split? Havent seen it mentioned anywhere else.
5 & 5?, 4 & 6?, 6 & 4?

08-04-2021, 07:06 PM
Whats the scoop on the split? Havent seen it mentioned anywhere else.
5 & 5?, 4 & 6?, 6 & 4?

There's no split.

SJNB Hibby
08-04-2021, 07:10 PM
There's no split.

So theyre just gonna play 18 games and go to the play-offs?

08-04-2021, 07:38 PM
So theyre just gonna play 18 games and go to the play-offs?

Apologies I'm talking nonsense.

The Championship's playing 27 games with no split, Leagues One and Two play 18 games then it splits in half with each team playing a further 4 games.

08-04-2021, 07:47 PM
Premier go for the biggest audiences regardless of magnitude of ties, so the old firm game plus either ours or the Aberdeen game. Would imagine BBC will take the other plus St Mirren Inverness to plough a wee bit more money into the ICT coffers and help out Robbo and McCann.

Nobody is getting extra cash ploughed in it all goes into tge prize pot. Why do folk still think otherwise?

08-04-2021, 07:58 PM
Noticed Stranraer lost to Elgin last night. Another three games to play before next Saturday

08-04-2021, 08:31 PM
Apologies I'm talking nonsense.

The Championship's playing 27 games with no split, Leagues One and Two play 18 games then it splits in half with each team playing a further 4 games.

But only if 18 games are played by a certain cut off point by all 10 clubs. If that hasn’t been achieved then it will revert to an 18 game season.

10-04-2021, 03:55 PM
Stranraer lost to our derby rivals today.

10-04-2021, 04:25 PM
State funeral 3pm Saturday for auld bawbag. Footie off does anyone think?

10-04-2021, 04:31 PM

Fair assumption I would have thought.

10-04-2021, 04:35 PM

I can't see football being off because of Prince Philip's funeral, he's not even being given a State Funeral.

The Queen would be a different story but I don't see it for this.

10-04-2021, 04:36 PM

Is Queen Anne Budge deid

10-04-2021, 04:40 PM

Don't think he's having a state funeral

BS44
10-04-2021, 04:42 PM
I can't see football being off because of Prince Philip's funeral, he's not even being given a State Funeral.

Just mentioned on Sportsound there will be a announcement regarding next week's games

10-04-2021, 04:44 PM
Just mentioned on Sportsound there will be a announcement regarding next week's games

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/scottish-fa-statement-scottish-cup-fourth-round-fixtures/

10-04-2021, 04:52 PM

Maybe, but it’s only circumstance that is preventing a full blown state funeral that’s clear. You said yourself on the moved thread that he’s a head of state, and it’s still his funeral after all.
There was a precedent with his daughter in law, we didn’t get football that day and she was a Joe ordinary. Commoner as some like to say.
Obviously the Queen will have her funeral at 3pm on a Saturday as well, it’s what they do. Hope it’s close season though.

10-04-2021, 05:00 PM
Maybe, but it’s only circumstance that is preventing a full blown state funeral that’s clear. You said yourself on the moved thread that he’s a head of state, and it’s still his funeral after all.
There was a precedent with his daughter in law, we didn’t get football that day and she was a Joe ordinary. Commoner as some like to say.
Obviously the Queen will have her funeral at 3pm on a Saturday as well, it’s what they do. Hope it’s close season though.

They should think about changing that tradition with football kicking off at that time.

Still Smiling
10-04-2021, 05:10 PM
The media are creating a scenario of everyone being devastated by his death. I am getting on in years and hold no respect for a privileged family who are above the law, outdated and most of all undemocratic. No issue showing the funeral etc but let the rest of us get on with our lives including watching Hibs next Saturday.

10-04-2021, 05:39 PM
They should think about changing that tradition with football kicking off at that time.

I’d prefer we changed all their ****ing ‘traditions’.....

10-04-2021, 05:44 PM
The media are creating a scenario of everyone being devastated by his death. I am getting on in years and hold no respect for a privileged family who are above the law, outdated and most of all undemocratic. No issue showing the funeral etc but let the rest of us get on with our lives including watching Hibs next Saturday.

If you believed the BBC you'd think the nation was in a state of mourning. In reality nobody (rightly or wrongly) is very interested.

10-04-2021, 05:54 PM

Thanks really didn't expect the game to be affected.

10-04-2021, 05:55 PM
Don't think he's having a state funeral

He isn't.

10-04-2021, 05:58 PM
Thanks really didn't expect the game to be affected.

This is what the ‘statement’ says. What makes you confident?

In light of confirmation that the funeral of HRH Prince Philip will take place next Saturday at 3pm, we have entered dialogue with the relevant stakeholders with regard to Scottish Cup Fourth Round fixtures scheduled on that day.

We will update participating clubs, supporters and partners in due course.

10-04-2021, 05:59 PM
He isn't.

He would be but for COVID.
800 guests were already lined up.

10-04-2021, 06:01 PM

In light of confirmation that the funeral of HRH Prince Philip will take place next Saturday at 3pm, we have entered dialogue with the relevant stakeholders with regard to Scottish Cup Fourth Round fixtures scheduled on that day.

Who are the stakeholders?

Surely if the clubs and sfa it’s fine then it should go ahead?

10-04-2021, 06:02 PM

To be clear I do think the games will be off now, I didn't prior to the release of that statement.

10-04-2021, 06:02 PM

The companies that pay for broadcasting rights
They’ll want full coverage, particularly Premier as they will want to be maximising revenue steams
Rangers fans might not buy the game, if the funeral is on😳

10-04-2021, 06:04 PM
He would be but for COVID.
800 guests were already lined up.

Prince Philip himself didn't want a state funeral, nothing to do with Covid-19.

https://www.standard.co.uk/news/uk/no-state-prince-philip-funeral-plans-request-b928838.html

10-04-2021, 06:04 PM

Stakeholders will be the clubs, the competition sponsors and the telly I suppose, but it’s only saying they’ve entered ‘dialogue’. It’s hardly a green light.
There’ll be other statements from other football and sporting associations too I dare say, outside of the Scottish Cup.

10-04-2021, 06:06 PM
To be clear I do think the games will be off now, I didn't prior to the release of that statement.

You replied with some confidence then!
I don’t think there is a cats chance of any football next Saturday anywhere in the UK.

10-04-2021, 06:09 PM
Prince Philip himself didn't want a state funeral, nothing to do with Covid-19.

https://www.standard.co.uk/news/uk/no-state-prince-philip-funeral-plans-request-b928838.html

Bugger the Standard.
They had 800 guests and a procession lined up reduced to 30 - that’s everything to do with COVID unless you’ve been on Mars.
A state funeral might be a fine margin away.

10-04-2021, 06:13 PM
Out game would be finished well before funeral but E.T. and penalties woud make it tight . Maybe have an evening kick off on Saturday or play on Sunday . Same for other matches except Forfar v Dundee United on Friday . SFA will want games played soon with next round the weekend after and SPFL too with league games ( Stranraer in final pre split match on Tuesday 20th ) .

10-04-2021, 06:16 PM
Out game would be finished well before funeral but E.T. and penalties woud make it tight . Maybe have an evening kick off on Saturday or play on Sunday . Same for other matches except Forfar v Dundee United on Friday . SFA will want games played soon with next round the weekend after and SPFL too with league games ( Stranraer in final pre split match on Tuesday 20th ) .

I don’t think the concern will be the match clashing with the funeral.

I think the monarchy are wanting a period of mourning to include the day of the funeral.

FWIW I absolutely detest the royals and everything they stand for.

I’ve never wanted to live abroad more than I do now (and it’s not all to do with the old royal racist dying)

10-04-2021, 06:19 PM
https://twitter.com/efl_comms/status/1380943666307428355?s=21

Only matches that kick off at 3pm next Saturday effected in the EFL.

I still think that’s absolutely bonkers but hopefully it’s the same with us.

10-04-2021, 06:21 PM
https://twitter.com/efl_comms/status/1380943666307428355?s=21

Only matches that kick off at 3pm next Saturday effected in the EFL.

I still think that’s absolutely bonkers but hopefully it’s the same with us.

That’s encouraging if it’s a time move being mooted rather than a date. Still seems unlikely to me.

10-04-2021, 06:23 PM
That’s encouraging if it’s a time move being mooted rather than a date. Still seems unlikely to me.

They can easily go back to 12noon
But Scottish cups ties are played to a finish, so even 12 noon, would finish after extra time and pens around 2.40 or so
Not that I care, but Premier won’t Celtic v Rangers to go head to head with the FA cup semi

BS44
10-04-2021, 06:24 PM
I’ve never wanted to live abroad more than I do now (and it’s not all to do with the old royal racist dying)

rangers and hearts winning the league's really pissed you off!

10-04-2021, 06:33 PM
rangers and hearts winning the league's really pissed you off!

Sunderland burst my coupon today too so you can add them to the list.

10-04-2021, 06:39 PM
You replied with some confidence then!
I don’t think there is a cats chance of any football next Saturday anywhere in the UK.

I just said I couldn't see it happening that's all. Now the statement's been released I have changed my mind.

However now that the EFL have said only 3pm kick offs will be affected then maybe we'll be ok.

Magpie
10-04-2021, 08:16 PM
Who did Hearts get drawn in the next round?

10-04-2021, 10:13 PM
Who did Hearts get drawn in the next round?

Jammy as ever, they've got Brora Rangers. Not just a part-time team from the Highland League, but they've barely played a game all season.