View Full Version : Famous Hibs quotes?

26-03-2021, 04:09 PM
With the Williamson cinema one being bogus, are there any other instantly recognisable quotes attributed to Hibs?

Closest things I can think of would be Petrie’s ‘sporting integrity’ or ‘over exuberance’.

Both classics in their own right that will never be forgotten by Hibs fans.

26-03-2021, 04:15 PM
"Yeez huv got a point, don't lose it" Bertie Auld team talk.

"Fitba folk ken whits gaun oan". The Yogster (I can't recall the circumstances).

vercol36
26-03-2021, 04:15 PM
What was that little-known quote from 2016? Something like - "McGinn to provide", or "Stokes to serve" ....

26-03-2021, 04:16 PM
*I am very appee". A regular feature in Le God's post match interviews.

26-03-2021, 04:20 PM
Lewy in 'Time For Heroes'..............."I thought, here we go again......................."

:cup:

26-03-2021, 04:22 PM
Henderson to Deliver.

26-03-2021, 04:25 PM
"Rangers Are Rubbish"

26-03-2021, 04:30 PM
"Rangers Are Rubbish"

Dave Ewing?

26-03-2021, 04:31 PM
Class, 1st class and Hibs class

andy1875
26-03-2021, 04:32 PM
Terry Butcher once said:-

“Sometimes maybe it's a good thing if you lose an early goal because it takes away the threat of conceding because you have conceded”

Thank goodness we are well shot with that mindset!! So ridiculous its laughable.

26-03-2021, 04:39 PM
Dave Ewing?

Yes. It was a full headline on the back page of the Express.

I remember my old man holding it up to show me with a big grin on his face.

leith lynx
26-03-2021, 04:40 PM
"Hibs will win the Scottish Cup when you least expect it" - Pat Stanton.

leith lynx
26-03-2021, 04:43 PM
"Hearts are a pub team"... (or words to that effect) - John Collins

leith lynx
26-03-2021, 04:46 PM
After knocking out Hearts in the Scottish Cup 1979, "A walk in the park" - George Stewart

26-03-2021, 04:48 PM

Trouble was, it was after we drew with the club formally known as Rangers in a Scottish Cup semi, we went and got beat in the replay

leith lynx
26-03-2021, 04:48 PM
"Dunno" - Scott Brown

26-03-2021, 04:54 PM
Eddie Turnbull .... "Was it only Seven ?"

Alan Stubbs .... "Where's your magic hat now ?

26-03-2021, 04:55 PM
Calderwood
Is someone offers you 2 bags of sweeties
Something like that, famous for the wrong reasons

26-03-2021, 04:55 PM
Turnbull to Alan Gordon. “ Your problem is your brains are in your heid!

26-03-2021, 04:57 PM
Trouble was, it was after we drew with the club formally known as Rangers in a Scottish Cup semi, we went and got beat in the replay

sssh, no one wants to hear that and I stand by Mr Ewing's assessment.

26-03-2021, 05:01 PM
What the f#ck is he gonna dae?

Garry O’Connor on being hooked for Ivan Sproule at Ibrox

26-03-2021, 05:04 PM
I don't care about Ze Rangers. Malonga

Eaststand
26-03-2021, 05:13 PM
: “I did not need any persuasion to play for such a great club, the Hibs result is still one of the first I look for.”

26-03-2021, 05:21 PM
: “I did not need any persuasion to play for such a great club, the Hibs result is still one of the first I look for.”

The foreword to "100 Years of Hibs".

Sir Matt took a lot from his time at Hibs. No mistake there was a Busby Babes after The McCartney Babes had all grown up. He also tried to take Turnbull when he was in his prime, sheer bloody mindedness from Ned meant he stayed at ER.

26-03-2021, 05:25 PM

Tom McNiven told me his version of that story.

Ewing was laying into the players at half time, and to gee them up, he told them that Rangers were rubbish. Unfortunately, the dressing room door was open, and someone heard him. 😂

26-03-2021, 05:27 PM
Come on ma bonnie boys

26-03-2021, 05:29 PM
Lawrie Reilly quote about being born a Hibee, etc. Don't know it off pat so won't risk getting it wrong.

26-03-2021, 05:30 PM

Hearts are *****.

26-03-2021, 05:48 PM
Tom McNiven told me his version of that story.

Ewing was laying into the players at half time, and to gee them up, he told them that Rangers were rubbish. Unfortunately, the dressing room door was open, and someone heard him. 😂

He was right though, even if they beat us.

hibeejeebies
26-03-2021, 05:50 PM
Touch of an angel

😁

26-03-2021, 05:59 PM
Great thread. Marvellous memories.

Roxyhibee
26-03-2021, 06:00 PM
Well, it would have been 7-2 then - Jimmy O

I wanted to change the mentality - Alan Stubbs

26-03-2021, 06:07 PM
“Winning the replay would be better than beating Hibs at the first time of asking” Robbie Neilson 😂

26-03-2021, 06:10 PM
‘Aw naw.’
Sevco TV commentator when Sir David Gray’s header hit the back of the net.

leith lynx
26-03-2021, 06:11 PM
"Pulling on the Hibernian jersey means everything to me" - Darren Mcgregor

26-03-2021, 06:16 PM
With the Williamson cinema one being bogus, are there any other instantly recognisable quotes attributed to Hibs?

Closest things I can think of would be Petrie’s ‘sporting integrity’ or ‘over exuberance’.

Both classics in their own right that will never be forgotten by Hibs fans.

I could have sworn he said it when at Hibs - a fair few on here are equally adamant that it was while he was with Killie.

I wish someone would find the original article!

26-03-2021, 06:24 PM
"Hearts are a pub team"... (or words to that effect) - John Collins

I think it was after the Boxing Day derby in 2006, Collins said:

“I can’t believe we just got beat by a ******ing pub team”

Hearts got very upset.

leith lynx
26-03-2021, 06:26 PM
"Morons" - ex-chairman Dougie Cromb's description of a certain 'element' of Hibs supporters in the eighties....

John Collins used to say something like
The ball is round, keep it on the grass

McLeish: “Football should be played with the ball on the ******ing carpet.”

Mowbray: “Play like that and we will win more than we lose.”

leith lynx
26-03-2021, 06:29 PM
"I will be here as long as you want me to be here" - McLeish

leith lynx
26-03-2021, 06:34 PM
F*** Off!! - Eddie Turnbull, to us young crestfallen laddies having a kick-about in front of the old players entrance circa 1974.

26-03-2021, 06:41 PM
"We must have Hibs'd it, eh?". SJM post match interview towards end of May a few years ago.

26-03-2021, 06:53 PM
F*** Off!! - Eddie Turnbull, to us young crestfallen laddies having a kick-about in front of the old players entrance circa 1974.

Yup, Eddie was a genius.

When his pub opened on ER he told us when we were just in the door - "Nae colours" - he was joking but he wasn't as well, just to be awkward (and funny). I met Alex Edwards that day and he treated me to a double voddy over a chat I was too star-struck to remember afterwards. A gentleman.

LithgaeHibby
26-03-2021, 07:03 PM
"The shot had zing, I opened a can of beans with that one", Cummings at Hamilton (pity about the second leg).

leith lynx
26-03-2021, 07:15 PM
"Parochial Tribalism" - Wallace Mercer greetin' about the Hands off Hibs protests.

26-03-2021, 07:18 PM
Alex Edwards to Hearts’ Donald Park when 0-6 up New Year’s Day 1973 ‘it’s getting worse. If we score any more, you’ll go defunct’ :faf:

LithgaeHibby
26-03-2021, 07:18 PM
"He can jump like a giraffe" - Alex Miller on signing Gareth Evans.

26-03-2021, 07:25 PM
I don't care about the Rangers - Dominique Malonga

26-03-2021, 07:26 PM
He's no Pat McGinlay - Lexo on Michael O'Neill shortly after he bought him lol

26-03-2021, 07:29 PM
“If you want entertainment go to the cinema”.

26-03-2021, 07:31 PM
I could have sworn he said it when at Hibs - a fair few on here are equally adamant that it was while he was with Killie.

I wish someone would find the original article!

Why Hibs boss Bobby Williamson's cinema quip doesn't stand up in 2021
In today’s online Scotsman .

leith lynx
26-03-2021, 07:34 PM
"He (Steven Fletcher) leapt like a trout" - Mixu

leith lynx
26-03-2021, 07:46 PM
"I genuinely believe our best days are still to come" - Ron Gordon at the 2020 AGM.

26-03-2021, 07:50 PM
"Like Ivan Sproule on a motorbike"

TC forgot to mention his brain was as good as a dog on pogo-stick.

26-03-2021, 07:50 PM
"I genuinely believe our best days are still to come" - Ron Gordon at the 2020 AGM.

Hope so

26-03-2021, 09:10 PM
Why Hibs boss Bobby Williamson's cinema quip doesn't stand up in 2021
In today’s online Scotsman .

I know, I am utterly convinced that he said it during his time with Hibs. However, if you say something enough times even though it is incorrect, it becomes truth ie Hearts are *****. No, hang on, that's the exception lol

26-03-2021, 09:21 PM
Not quite a Hibs quote but 2016 Andy Halliday "******"

Lee Wallace "ouch, ouch"

26-03-2021, 09:25 PM
“Keep your predator hands off Hibernian Football Club”

Kenny McLean Sr, 1990.

James Stephen
27-03-2021, 08:07 AM
Terry Butcher once said:-

“Sometimes maybe it's a good thing if you lose an early goal because it takes away the threat of conceding because you have conceded”

Thank goodness we are well shot with that mindset!! So ridiculous its laughable.

Not to defend Butcher, but Mowbray said a similar thing as Hibs boss.

Gist was that he felt games opened up after the first goal, so that sometimes he didnt even mind if the opposition scored it.

aljo7-0
27-03-2021, 08:13 AM
Eddie Turnbull to Alan Gordon "the problem with you Gordon is that your brains are in your head"

Highwayman
27-03-2021, 08:23 AM
“I don’t think my style of play is suited to Scottish football” John Collins

John then proceeded to to travel west along the. M8 to sigh for Celtic.

27-03-2021, 09:01 AM
Heard a story long time ago, not sure if true but good anyway.

Jim O'Rourke in a pub. A table of Jambos keep looking over his way. On his way out Jimmy stops at their table and says, "Hi lads, i know you're wondering, but it was the 1st and the 6th, and keeps walking.

As I say, might not be true, but funny.

27-03-2021, 09:18 AM
"Like Ivan Sproule on a motorbike"

TC forgot to mention his brain was as good as a dog on pogo-stick.
This one now joins the ranks of famous quotes :greengrin

27-03-2021, 03:17 PM
"Hibs will win the Scottish Cup when you least expect it" - Pat Stanton.
It really is taken for granted that we won the Scottish Cup while in the second tier, purely cause it was against the Huns it’s not something that will dawn on folk not involved with Hibs

The only quote needed is ‘PERSEVERE’

loanheadhibby
27-03-2021, 10:09 PM
Lawrie Reilly quote about being born a Hibee, etc. Don't know it off pat so won't risk getting it wrong.
I was born a Hibbie and I'll die a Hibbie.

28-03-2021, 06:32 PM
‘Aw naw.’
Sevco TV commentator when Sir David Gray’s header hit the back of the net.

Don’t forget, uttered at the same time as above, Cliff’s co-commentator Conor saying, with a slightly more expressive, excited and exuberant voice - “NO DANGER!!”

28-03-2021, 09:22 PM
Willie Hamilton was once asked if he could drink Canada Dry by an Air Hostess on the way to a tour of USA and Canada in 1965 as they had run out of coke ????

28-03-2021, 10:49 PM
lol he's gonny pump her

29-03-2021, 06:23 AM
“Look Boss time flies !”

Johnny Hamilton to Eddie Turnbull in the Changing Room in Lisbon after he had inadvertently knocked a tray of Rolex watches into the air with a flailing arm during his prematch speech 1972/73

30-03-2021, 09:12 AM
On the arrival of Joe Harper to Easter Road.
Jimmy O to Alan Gordon.

That's it, am oot .There is only room for one wee fat barrel, and its no me".

Sandy Jardine(Rangers) on Jimmy O after the Tornadoes gave oldco another spanking.

"That Rourkey ,all he can do is score goals !"

One of my favourites..

Hertz fan to Jimmy in a pub, years after Jimmy retired.

"Ah ken your face...
..Did you not use to be Jimmy O'Rourke that played wae the Hibs !!"

30-03-2021, 09:18 AM
Eddie Turnbull to me in Mac's Bar when I told him I thought the lager was off.

"F*** off son".