View Full Version : Positives Hearts can take from last night

24-03-2021, 08:06 AM
I know a lot of our fans moan about too many Hearts threads but I find it hilarious. So let's find a few positives.

It might not be the worst result in their history. Getting beaten 0-7 at home to your main rivals has to beat it.

They don't have to face Highland League opposition again this season.

Albert Kidd wasn't playing.

They saw a lot of lovely scenary.

24-03-2021, 08:13 AM
The only possible positives will depend on their next round of covid tests.

24-03-2021, 08:21 AM
They can now focus properly on their recent special relationship with the Championship.

They still won the foul count last night

Mrs doctor Budge is still at the wheel.

They have a proper Hearts man as manager who was "keen to pick up where I left off". Okay he never managed a money spinning replay this time around but we can forgive him that as he's had some spirited draws at the likes of Morton ICT and Queen of the South.

24-03-2021, 08:22 AM
They can now give 100% concentration to getting promoted, without having to be distracted by Scottish Cup games.

Losing to Rangers is no great shame, as they are league champions.....

...Sorry, what? Not that Rangers? But they are league champions, though, right?

Oh, Highland League champions..... Well, eh, that's quite prestigious as well, I suppose.

24-03-2021, 08:23 AM
The Famous are even more famous this morning now they're all over the front page of any sports newspaper, magazine or website in a 500 mile radius.

24-03-2021, 08:30 AM
They'll probably still f****** beat us the next time we play them.

24-03-2021, 08:31 AM

That's the spirit.

24-03-2021, 08:33 AM

I bet you're a barrel of laughs at parties.

24-03-2021, 08:36 AM

I really hope we don't draw them in the cup then...

24-03-2021, 08:42 AM
That's the spirit.

I bet you're a barrel of laughs at parties.

I really hope we don't draw them in the cup then...

All the more reason to enjoy the moment.

My jambo mate hit me with the most pitiful pre-emptive trike last night. I didn't even know they were playing and at about quarter to ten he sent me a message just to say that his last memory of leaving a football ground was after they'd horsed us at Easter Road. So wheesht.

I then got the glorious pleasure of finding out their result and what his message was all about.

As much as I enjoy beating them, I'm delighted that a potentially tricky lower league banana skin has been taken care of in such style.

24-03-2021, 08:43 AM
The Famous are even more famous this morning now they're all over the front page of any sports newspaper, magazine or website in a 500 mile radius.

They're on the BBC News home page - the whole world can read all about it :faf:

24-03-2021, 08:48 AM
They can concentrate on the league now they have no distractions

24-03-2021, 08:49 AM
I made them this poem?

24-03-2021, 08:49 AM
They only lost 5-0 against Livingston.

6-2 against us going on 10.

They only lost 1-0 against Alloa.

They haven’t won the League Cup for 58 years.

Ann Budge

Neilson

McCulloch

2 penalties away from Scottish Cup win then exit to Brora.

Must win game against St Mirren before lockdown..

New stand still not fully completed - cost £20 million+

Under 20,000 seater stadium with smallest pitch in Scotland.

Fan ownership but not really as fans chuck £££ every month.

Lots of positives...

24-03-2021, 08:53 AM
Their closest comrades Inverness Caley Thistle thrashed Buckie Thistle 3-2 to storm into next round and effectively represent The Famous by proxy. Hibs fans won’t be laughing so hard now.

24-03-2021, 08:53 AM
They're on the BBC News home page - the whole world can read all about it :faf:

Numerous shout outs on Radio 1 this morning as well [emoji38]

Chorley Hibee
24-03-2021, 08:55 AM
I kid you not, some roaster on Kickback thinks all this media interest is a sign of (and I quote) just how 'famous' they are!

🤣🤣🤣🤣

147lothian
24-03-2021, 08:56 AM
The positive that Hearts fan's can take from last night is that the penny has finally dropped that the money they are putting into the club is being pissed against the wall, they are not happy with the way their club is being run, keekback is a hoot just now, they are in a race to cancel their D/D's to FOH until Neilson and Budge goes. Some are even going as far to say they need a complete player overhaul for next season.

maturehibby
24-03-2021, 09:06 AM
Downside is we cant play them this season as the cup was the only thing left
Though they might play their full team against Hibs under 17 team in the East of Scotland Shield if played ::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

24-03-2021, 09:37 AM
I kid you not, some roaster on Kickback thinks all this media interest is a sign of (and I quote) just how 'famous' they are!

🤣🤣🤣🤣

Funny, I was thinking that this morning. They were top of the bill on the Zoe Ball Sports Report & my first thought was, wow they really are famous!! Infamous now!! :greengrin

24-03-2021, 09:51 AM

🤣🤣🤣🤣

I suppose there's no such thing as bad publicity...

Unless of course it's literally the worst result in your clubs history.

Zorro
24-03-2021, 09:59 AM
I made them this poem?

This is great.

24-03-2021, 10:06 AM
That they will be happy to vote for Rangers B to get into the league system as long as it isn't B Rangers.

24-03-2021, 10:07 AM

All the more reason to enjoy the moment.

My jambo mate hit me with the most pitiful pre-emptive trike last night. I didn't even know they were playing and at about quarter to ten he sent me a message just to say that his last memory of leaving a football ground was after they'd horsed us at Easter Road. So wheesht.

I then got the glorious pleasure of finding out their result and what his message was all about.

As much as I enjoy beating them, I'm delighted that ]B]a potentially tricky lower league banana skin[/B] has been taken care of in such style.

Unfortunately for Hearts they never saw it coming.

24-03-2021, 10:08 AM
I made them this poem?

If only Shakespeare was still with us to batter out a wee sonnet...

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.

24-03-2021, 10:16 AM
If only Shakespeare was still with us to batter out a wee sonnet...

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.

Or even a nice little limerick

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha haa
Ha ha ha ha ha ha
Ha ha ha Ha ha ha Ha Ha Ha

24-03-2021, 10:23 AM
Or even a nice little limerick

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha haa
Ha ha ha ha ha ha
Ha ha ha Ha ha ha Ha Ha Ha

I'm glad that they have a new songbook. Their old one died on 21/5/16. Positives everywhere.

McSwanky
24-03-2021, 10:33 AM
Lots of positives for our old friends IMO... Just a few off the top of my head:

They're not in administration
Hans Eskilsson doesn't play for them any more
Rima and her sticks haven't been spotted around Riccarton for a long time
Graham Rix is no longer their manager
The players don't seem to have been fighting amongst themselves on the pitch recently

Seriously, it must be a great time to be alive if you're a Jambo right now.

24-03-2021, 10:57 AM
This result should suit the mentality of their fans. They like to say they are ‘The Famous’ and have much bigliness about them. Well, now they are famous for probably the biggest shock in Scottish Cup history.

Crunchie
24-03-2021, 11:03 AM
That there doesn't seem to be any footage at all, thought all the Scottish cup games had cameras at them.

24-03-2021, 11:07 AM
Going by the EEN player ratings, that's some squad that Robbie Replay has assembled.

1. Ross Stewart - 4
Had little chance with the first Brora goal but did not cover himself in glory for the second, failing to get the necessary purchase on the cross allowing McLean to fire into the roof of the net.

2. Craig Halkett - 3
Part of a dysfunctional defence, played out of position at right-back, not overly refined with the ball.

3. Peter Haring - 3
A difficult watch seeing the Austrian drop to such a level of performance. Really slack with the ball, unsure with his movements which led to some uncomfortable situations.

4. Christophe Berra - 3
Scored the goal but didn't cover himself in glory for the opener. The defence as a whole struggled despite not being pressurised all that often.

5. Aidy White - 3
Some positive moments in the opening stages linking with Gary Mackay-Steven but fell out of the game. Conceded the free kick which led to Brora's winner and gave the ball away needlessly in the closing stages when pushing for an equaliser.

6. Andy Irving - 3
A night to forget for the midfielder. Hearts never seemed to have a control of the match and without Irving pulling the strings like he has so often the team lacked any sort of direction and cohesion.

7. Aaron McEneff - 4
Finished out on the right. Can't be faulted for effort and tried to be ambitious especially with some positive passes in the second half but nothing came off.

8. Gary Mackay-Steven - 6
The one positive from the game for Hearts. The winger was a constant threat down the left, putting in a host of teasing crosses.

9. Jamie Walker - 3
Missed a sitter in the second half. Started brightly but as a creative threat was barely noticeable after Brora took the lead.

10. Gervane Kastaneer - 2
Unfortunately a performance many Hearts fans who tuned in won't forget. Everything he attempted seemed to go wrong.

11. Armand Gnanduillet - 3
The Frenchman was on the end of a few crosses but never really looked like scoring. Linked well with Boyce once.

12. Liam Boyce - 4
Had his moments off the bench, including a lovely flick to help set Walker up for a great chance. Ultimately fell down to the level of his team-mates.

13. Euan Henderson - 3
Ineffective on the right and too often on the periphery. Should have been more assertive in the final third.

I mean depite being beaten they nearly all got pass marks, with the brilliant GMS getting an amazing 6/5!!!

Unless I'm missing something... :confused:

Sauerkraut
24-03-2021, 11:07 AM
Grateful to those above pointing out where the media have been blasting this prominently. So I opened my Scotsman digital edition and flipped eagerly to page 64, ie the back page where traditionally the major sporting headlines sit. Nothing, just Stephen Glass. No link to anything inside. Several weary clicks 'backwards' I find a grubby wee summary from Allsbarry, hidden away between the obituaries and the racing. Just imagine if that were Hibs.

Crunchie
24-03-2021, 11:09 AM
This result should suit the mentality of their fans. They like to say they are ‘The Famous’ and have much bigliness about them. Well, now they are famous for probably the biggest shock in Scottish Cup history.
No probably about it mate, given their lack of game time as well, that is definitely the biggest cup shock of all time, going out to non league opposition tops them all. I have a Killie mate and he says he can remember the pain of going out 3-0 to Inverness when they were a non league club in the 80's, that's how damaging a result that is, his memory is way worse than mine and he remembers it like it was yesterday.
The Hearts fans gonnae be hurting a longggggggggg time lol.

24-03-2021, 11:14 AM
The classic is that i understand their highest earner, Naismith, is yet again besties with the physio. Rumour from a jambo acquaintance is that he has downed tools and is desperate to get away from them

24-03-2021, 11:18 AM
That there doesn't seem to be any footage at all, thought all the Scottish cup games had cameras at them.

They’ll be up in the Scottish cup YouTube at some point.

24-03-2021, 11:20 AM
They will not lose another game in the cup this season .
And GMS managed to whip in some crosses against their 5th tier opponents.
They might get the plane a bit cheaper this time and they already have the banner .

24-03-2021, 11:22 AM

Some are saying the biggest shock in British football history given the circumstances.

24-03-2021, 11:48 AM
A positive from last night is they would have had a scenic trip on the way up to Brora.

24-03-2021, 11:53 AM
Another positive for the players is there were no fans there who would surely have been hyperventilating with rage if the boy in his kitchen in his jammies is anything to go by. :faf::faf:

HaltomHibs
24-03-2021, 01:48 PM
Absolutely f..k all. Delightful.

24-03-2021, 02:00 PM
Now they're out of the cup they can put all their focus on us fighting for third in the league.

24-03-2021, 02:41 PM
I imagine a result from almost ten years ago, which ended us and bothers all us Hibs fans every single day has been produced by a few of them :greengrin

24-03-2021, 02:57 PM
The positive that Hearts fan's can take from last night is that the penny has finally dropped that the money they are putting into the club is being pissed against the wall, they are not happy with the way their club is being run, keekback is a hoot just now, they are in a race to cancel their D/D's to FOH until Neilson and Budge goes. Some are even going as far to say they need a complete player overhaul for next season.

Neilson is in the same boat as Mcinnes was. He’ll get them promoted but the Gorgie punters want him out. He’s gotten a rotten squad so they need to make a lot of changes. I’m sure dr budge will be phoning mr Potter for advice tout suite.🤣

24-03-2021, 03:23 PM
I imagine a result from almost ten years ago, which ended us and bothers all us Hibs fans every single day has been produced by a few of them :greengrinFunnily enough I've asked our family yam about the positives and how well the Budge project is going just today, usually at least get the traditional 6 fingered salute but not a peep all day.

Had to get his missus (A Hibby) to let me know what the view from planet Budge is, he's not very happy[emoji1]

24-03-2021, 03:33 PM
Clever management starting with Liam Boyce and a few other key players on the bench or not in the squad at all.

They will be fresher for the league run in, which must be too tight to call at this stage.

Largshibby
24-03-2021, 03:39 PM
A positive from last night is they would have had a scenic trip on the way up to Brora.

....and they could travel all the way home under cover of darkness.

24-03-2021, 03:59 PM
They’ve got a bunch of players on long contracts paying them big money!

24-03-2021, 04:24 PM
....and they could travel all the way home under cover of darkness.
Blinds drawn on the bus and signage hidden.

24-03-2021, 04:28 PM
Club card or Morrison miles from the fuel stops.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

24-03-2021, 04:29 PM
They're top of the list of greatest cup shocks. Ahead of Rangers getting beat by Berwick and Celtic by Caley. They're getting the fame they crave and have always wanted to be closer to the old firm.

24-03-2021, 04:51 PM
The 5.5 hour bus journey home last night would have given them all the opportunity to review both the positives and the negatives.👀

24-03-2021, 04:53 PM
Positives Hearts can take from last night

They probably won't have to play Brora again for a while.

24-03-2021, 05:03 PM
The guy who scored Brora's first goal works in Greggs so if they were nice to him they might get a sausage roll or doughnut.

24-03-2021, 05:07 PM
The guy who scored Brora's first goal works in Greggs so if they were nice to him they might get a sausage roll or doughnut.[emoji23]
He probably bribed Halkett to throw the game with a few carefully chosen pies and other meat based pastry products.

24-03-2021, 05:13 PM
They don't have the fear of getting knocked out by a 2nd Division team

24-03-2021, 05:17 PM
They will never be as much of a national/international laughing stock as they are right now again. That's a big positive.

24-03-2021, 05:19 PM
They will never be as much of a national/international laughing stock as they are right now again. That's a big positive.

Bold statement. Never underestimate their ability in that area!

24-03-2021, 05:20 PM
Bold statement. Never underestimate their ability in that area!

True

24-03-2021, 05:29 PM
On the uk bbc news now... Hearts really are famous!

24-03-2021, 05:32 PM

😂 just gets better

24-03-2021, 05:33 PM
ITV news now 😂😂😂

24-03-2021, 05:35 PM

ITV News just showed a little clip of the players celebrating at the start of the main 6.30 news, so looks like they are getting it hard from all sides. :greengrin

24-03-2021, 06:00 PM
Positives

Robbie has got his Scottish Cup nightmare game out of the way, so that's a good thing ..... :aok:

They'll get a nice THANK YOU card from The Rangers, and affectionate mentions every year for the next few decades when discussion turns to Cup Bottle Jobs.

They've made 800 villagers very happy.

Heart of Midlothian - the club that keeps on giving :thumbsup:

Garymcl
24-03-2021, 06:26 PM
On national news now oh ma sides 😂😂😂😂😂 jambos will switching TV channels holding there heads in anguish “make it go away “ 😂😂😂😂

24-03-2021, 06:29 PM
On national news now oh ma sides [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23] jambos will switching TV channels holding there heads in anguish “make it go away “ [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]Finally famous

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Clarence
24-03-2021, 06:58 PM
They will avoid going to Stranraer and having to endure Kevin Kyle’s rank chat and rank bo.

24-03-2021, 06:58 PM
They were just 15 minutes away from a money spinning replay.

Or so they think.

24-03-2021, 07:01 PM
Because of all the long term contracts they gave to their star players there won’t be a massive turnaround in the summer: stability going in to next season and then when they are re-relegated (or un-promoted, I can’t decide which I like more) they’ll be ready for the fight again.

24-03-2021, 07:01 PM
They will avoid going to Stranraer and having to endure Kevin Kyle’s rank chat and rank bo.

I’d go a lot further than Stranraer to avoid that prick.

24-03-2021, 07:18 PM
On national news now oh ma sides 😂😂😂😂😂 jambos will switching TV channels holding there heads in anguish “make it go away “ 😂😂😂😂

My wife was looking at me in disgust as I almost ended myself laughing watching it whilst trying to eat my tea. No action for me tonight but it's 100% worth it.

24-03-2021, 07:21 PM
My wife was looking at me in disgust as I almost ended myself laughing watching it whilst trying to eat my tea. No action for me tonight but it's 100% worth it.

I've not been able to stop bursting out laughing all day today.

The more you think about it, the funnier it gets.

Brora Rangers man. One of the villages with a similar population that was listed on here is a fifteen minute walk from me and it only has a post office and a village shop. The northern equivalent of there beat Hearts :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

24-03-2021, 08:34 PM
I've not been able to stop bursting out laughing all day today.

The more you think about it, the funnier it gets.

Brora Rangers man. One of the villages with a similar population that was listed on here is a fifteen minute walk from me and it only has a post office and a village shop. The northern equivalent of there beat Hearts :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

My wife is from Chirnside. We were married there too. They’ve got a co-op, 2 pubs and a football team. They beat Hearts 😂😂

McSwanky
25-03-2021, 09:02 AM
Hearts can take solace in the fact that Edinburgh sides have edged out the mighty Brora 4-3 on aggregate this season. Wallace Mercer would be so proud.

25-03-2021, 10:40 AM
They will forever be featured in pub quizzes because of infamous Brora game.

25-03-2021, 11:50 AM
Just as well they weren't in the Premiership or they would have been the first Premiership team knocked out by a non league team.
Good bit of forward planning getting demoted.

25-03-2021, 11:59 AM
Just as well they weren't in the Premiership or they would have been the first Premiership team knocked out by a non league team.
Good bit of forward planning getting demoted.

That would have been an embarrassment to the Premiership. Thankfully dross like Hearts aren't in it

25-03-2021, 12:06 PM
People the world over who have never heard of Hearts now know about Brora Rangers.

25-03-2021, 02:24 PM
Given the circumstances of their loss to Brora, Hearts could well be the worst professional club team in world football.

This suggests the tantalising prospect of a match against San Marino, the worst international side, to decide the worst team ever.

Could be a real money spinner and make Hearts even more famous.

26-03-2021, 06:39 AM
It has reached my Filipino news feed. In the Filipino language Brora are described as a small Barrio (village) team of workers beating a professional team from the capital city. World famous now.

26-03-2021, 06:56 AM
They have united fans of every club in Scotland (in laughter). Something that the national team, SFA and SPFL could never do.

Skol
27-03-2021, 08:51 PM
They can get it out of their system with a home win on Saturday.

Wait........

27-03-2021, 08:55 PM
They can get it out of their system with a home win on Saturday.

Wait........

At least they scored 2 today

28-03-2021, 07:34 AM
At least they scored 2 today

3!

28-03-2021, 07:52 AM
Losing the first 2 goals takes away fear of losing the first 2 goals

147lothian
28-03-2021, 08:48 AM

Is that you Cathro? lol

28-03-2021, 08:57 AM

Did the ball actually touch the net?? [emoji15]

28-03-2021, 09:00 AM
If you take away the goalposts it would have been a 0-0 draw

28-03-2021, 09:09 AM
They scored two goals against a team that is still in the Scottish Cup.

28-03-2021, 10:24 AM
They must be in the running for Own Goal of the Season after yesterday so a wee bit of a comfort blanket.

cam75
28-03-2021, 01:35 PM
Had a look on kick back the 5-1 comfort blanket is being used by a few ffs embarrassing at best 👏👏👏

28-03-2021, 01:40 PM
'We will just have to beat them again '

Cathro in reference to drawing with Raith Rovers in regards to the replay :Ummm:

03-04-2021, 04:07 PM
They didn't get beaten today for a change and Stranraer proved that Brora are no pushover by drawing after 90 minutes.

03-04-2021, 06:28 PM
Dodged a bullet. If Brora could beat them, Stranraer would have massacred them :wink:

03-04-2021, 06:40 PM
Anderson will bail them out next season by getting the donation cheque book out again, guaranteed - their season ticket sales are going to be poor.

The vitriol towards Neilson is getting worse, and now they are turning on players, toxic mix - very pleasing :greengrin by the sounds of things Craig Gordon will be their Player of the Year.......says it all.

03-04-2021, 07:05 PM
Anderson will bail them out next season by getting the donation cheque book out again, guaranteed - their season ticket sales are going to be poor.

The vitriol towards Neilson is getting worse, and now they are turning on players, toxic mix - very pleasing :greengrin by the sounds of things Craig Gordon will be their Player of the Year.......says it all.
Thread on kickback, saying they are on the trail of McInnes
Wonder if he’d do as well as he did at Aberdeen with a much reduced budget

03-04-2021, 07:17 PM
Thread on kickback, saying they are on the trail of McInnes
Wonder if he’d do as well as he did at Aberdeen with a much reduced budget

They won a watch not having to pay off Stendel due to the relegation clause Billy - seriously can't see Budge spending £000's on paying off Neilson, LM, and Forrest.........and paying a top salary for DM and his backroom team (he'd take Docherty with him). I think they've 2 years to run on their contracts too.

Budge doesn't strike me as someone who would pander to the support, I think she's quite stubborn.

If they did move for someone, and if they were in any way professional, they'd not look to DM but look to Davidson at Saintees. Great first season, cup win, top 6, limited budget, contacts down south and up here. Would cost less too.

I'm all for them sticking with Neilson :greengrin:aok:

03-04-2021, 07:47 PM
They won a watch not having to pay off Stendel due to the relegation clause Billy - seriously can't see Budge spending £000's on paying off Neilson, LM, and Forrest.........and paying a top salary for DM and his backroom team (he'd take Docherty with him). I think they've 2 years to run on their contracts too.

Budge doesn't strike me as someone who would pander to the support, I think she's quite stubborn.

If they did move for someone, and if they were in any way professional, they'd not look to DM but look to Davidson at Saintees. Great first season, cup win, top 6, limited budget, contacts down south and up here. Would cost less too.

I'm all for them sticking with Neilson :greengrin:aok:

I agree with everything you say TH

04-04-2021, 01:43 PM
If they had got through they would have been knocked out by us again.