View Full Version : To be an Aberdeen fan just now...

20-03-2021, 07:30 PM
Only scored in one of their last ten games. Long term manager departed and despite having a squad with quality in it, there's little sign of it in results or style of play.

I think we sometimes forget how we're in good, safe hands just now and have plenty to be cheery about. There's a whiff of the Levein about it, when he started the league brilliantly then completely collapsed into a tailspin that lasted for a year.

20-03-2021, 07:46 PM
I think the following are out of contract at the end of the season.

Logan
McGinn
Woods
Taylor
Devlin
Hoban
Leigh
Kamberi
McLennan
Hornby
Hendry
Virtanen
Ross

20-03-2021, 07:53 PM
Aberdeen are in a very bad place just now. Only a 100% turnaround by them or us would see them get 3rd place.

loanheadhibby
20-03-2021, 07:56 PM
Only scored in one of their last ten games. Long term manager departed and despite having a squad with quality in it, there's little sign of it in results or style of play.

I think we sometimes forget how we're in good, safe hands just now and have plenty to be cheery about. There's a whiff of the Levein about it, when he started the league
brilliantly then completely collapsed into a tailspin that lasted for a year.
Let's concentrate on ourselves as poor as Aberdeen have been.
Yet again we were pretty ordinary today.

20-03-2021, 08:00 PM

Point away from home at the team likely to finish 5th this season, not a ***** result in my mind.

20-03-2021, 08:06 PM
Looking at who will still be under contract at the end of the season

Joe Lewis
Ross Mcrorie
Lewis Ferguson
Matty Kennedy
Dean Campbell
Andy Considine
Johny Hayes
Dylan McGeouch
Ryan Hedges

I think that's their lot?

20-03-2021, 08:08 PM

Cool let’s do that. Another point away from home that stretches our gap in 3rd to 7pts. Superb.

20-03-2021, 08:09 PM
Aye, but they won things during the Cold War.

Cool let’s do that. Another point away from home that stretches our gap in 3rd to 7pts. Superb.

It's really ordinary for Hibs to be seven points clear in third going into the split. Just like any other season really.

The Sheepies will struggle to match the off field and on field spend while they try to compete and move to a new ground. I wonder part of the business plan for the move was to have the 3rd force status more or less guaranteed.

20-03-2021, 08:10 PM

Logan
McGinn
Woods
Taylor
Devlin
Hoban
Leigh
Kamberi
McLennan
Hornby
Hendry
Virtanen
Ross

It was mentioned in January by someone on here saying we were interested in signing Devlin for next season.

Good player when he can stay fit, which isn’t often enough I don’t think.

20-03-2021, 08:13 PM

We were crap in the first half and much better in the second half but it's all about matching Aberdeen's results from now on in. Today we bettered their result, that's all that matters.

Aberdeen are in a mess right now and I don't think you can overstate just how much of an effect losing a long-serving manager might have.

It will be interesting to see who comes in.

20-03-2021, 08:15 PM
Crisis period for Aberdeen just now: no manager, can't buy a win or even a goal, players at the end of their contracts. The next manager has a huge job ahead.

20-03-2021, 08:17 PM
I have to say that although the game was pretty boring I still got a thrill from immediately going to check the FT results at the end of the game.

Just now we're within genuine touching distance of third and it's been way too long since we've been in that position.

20-03-2021, 08:17 PM
Kamberi, Hornby, Hendry. The 3 amigos. These guys will score the goals to take the Sheep into Europe. 😆

20-03-2021, 08:43 PM
It's really ordinary for Hibs to be seven points clear in third going into the split. Just like any other season really.

So ordinary that I seem to have forgotten all the times we’ve done it recently.

20-03-2021, 09:27 PM
Overall McInnes did well at Aberdeen, but the last few seasons in the transfer market have been a disaster. Niall McGinn, Hayes, McGeouch, Stevie May and Ojo have been awful signings and bought for decent money and wages.

The Kamberi signing reeked of desperation and selling their 2 prize assets suggests they needed the cash. Big managerial appointment for them upcoming.

20-03-2021, 09:29 PM
Wonder if they'll put a star on their shirt for finishing 4th with such a guff team.

20-03-2021, 09:29 PM
a sheepie,, Ram those thoughts

EI255
20-03-2021, 09:35 PM
I'm not getting carried away.

Lots of points still to play for.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

20-03-2021, 09:37 PM

Logan
McGinn
Woods
Taylor
Devlin
Hoban
Leigh
Kamberi
McLennan
Hornby
Hendry
Virtanen
Ross

i suspect they will be delighted to get rid of all the non loan players with the exception of Hoban

20-03-2021, 09:39 PM
1 goal in 10, please oh please someone look up when/if we ever have done that because that's simply incredible. They are absolutely pish!

20-03-2021, 09:40 PM
It was mentioned in January by someone on here saying we were interested in signing Devlin for next season.

Good player when he can stay fit, which isn’t often enough I don’t think.

Devliin has never been the same player since his injury sustained in his final season at Hamilton.
Aberdeen bought him injured assuming he would recover to his pre injury level.
Sadly for the player that has not been the case.
Hoban is the out of contract Aberdeen player Hibs should sign.

20-03-2021, 09:41 PM
Looking like our least difficult post-split match even if it is at their dung heap.

majorhibs
20-03-2021, 09:44 PM
1 goal in 10, please oh please someone look up when/if we ever have done that because that's simply incredible. They are absolutely pish!

My Dons mate- yer no any better than us, enjoy yer 1 season, we’ll see when we’ve a new manager- that lot are near on with the entitlement thinking as the old squirm!

20-03-2021, 10:08 PM
Hibs need to get over the line in 3rd before we start pondering Aberdeen’s demise.

20-03-2021, 10:29 PM
Devliin has never been the same player since his injury sustained in his final season at Hamilton.
Aberdeen bought him injured assuming he would recover to his pre injury level.
Sadly for the player that has not been the case.
Hoban is the out of contract Aberdeen player Hibs should sign.

Sorry, can't agree, Hoban makes Tom James look like a greyhound.

20-03-2021, 10:32 PM
I'm not getting carried away.

Lots of points still to play for.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

I agree with that. Not a done thing at all.

Risboro Hibby
20-03-2021, 10:33 PM
When they schedule the remaining 5 fixtures Aberdeen v Hibs should certainly be in the first batch. Aberdeen would need to win it to have any chance of catching us. A draw or win for us would in all probability secure our 3rd place finish If they schedule it any later it risks becoming a meaningless fixture.

20-03-2021, 10:40 PM
When they schedule the remaining 5 fixtures Aberdeen v Hibs should certainly be in the first batch. Aberdeen would need to win it to have any chance of catching us. A draw or win for us would in all probability secure our 3rd place finish If they schedule it any later it risks becoming a meaningless fixture.

If they have it first game and Hibs don’t lose then they will have had 1 meaningful game post split in top 6. If they leave it they’ll have at least 2 meaningful games first weekend, possibly another two the following weekend depending on the results of the first and then the head to head.

Although to be fair looking at the bottom 3 and how tight that is, I’d like them to show more of those games on the tele, won’t happen though.

20-03-2021, 11:06 PM
Hibs need to get over the line in 3rd before we start pondering Aberdeen’s demise.

Exactly. It’s a dreadful run they are but even still we are only 7 points ahead

JammyDoidger
20-03-2021, 11:32 PM
Btw, I feel we are in a similar position as celtic when they were winning 9 in a row. We have a chance now to kick right on and cement our place as Scotland's 3rd force. Hearts are Absoloutely rank rotten. Aberdeen are in free fall. We have a real chance now to steamroll ahead especially with the European places on offer, we have a real chance to hit the Europa league groups, we've seen Dundalk, shamrock etc do it in recent years. Could potentially be exciting times. Come on the cabbage!

20-03-2021, 11:38 PM

Over 5 games 7 points is a pretty significant lead. It basically means they can only afford to lose a maximum of two games.

For a team that's lost 5 out of their last 10 games I'd say it's highly unlikely that they're making up that points difference. They have only picked up 4 points from their last 5 games and 3 of those games were against bottom six sides.

CB Hibs 68
20-03-2021, 11:46 PM
I agree.It's not the case of being negative but more the simple fact that 7 points could be turned around.From an outsiders perspective there appears to be very little chance of that happening and I can see why but as a Hibs
supporter until we are over the line I am taking nothing for granted.

20-03-2021, 11:47 PM

I wonder if they’ll pitch is against the two cheeks in consecutive weeks, in the hope that Aberdeen pick up points and we don’t. If they want there to be meaningful games, as the season closes, that might fix it?

21-03-2021, 12:39 AM
Over 5 games 7 points is a pretty significant lead. It basically means they can only afford to lose a maximum of two games.

For a team that's lost 5 out of their last 10 games I'd say it's highly unlikely that they're making up that points difference. They have only picked up 4 points from their last 5 games and 3 of those games were against bottom six sides.

As an extension to this Aberdeen's record against the other top 6 teams this season is;

P - 15
W - 5
D - 3
L - 7

That works out as 6 points over 5 games.

Our record is;

P - 15
W - 3
D - 5
L - 7

That works out as just under 5 points over 5 games which, taking our existing 7 points lead into account, means that Aberdeen are likely to require at least 12 points to catch us i.e. they would need to double their current points per game record so far this season against the top 6 sides over course of the last 5 games.

21-03-2021, 12:47 AM
Overall McInnes did well at Aberdeen, but the last few seasons in the transfer market have been a disaster. Niall McGinn, Hayes, McGeouch, Stevie May and Ojo have been awful signings and bought for decent money and wages.

The Kamberi signing reeked of desperation and selling their 2 prize assets suggests they needed the cash. Big managerial appointment for them upcoming.

That looks certainly to be the case. Cormack has certainly been spooked by us most likely getting third and them now not having any sellable assets to offset their huge spend on wages. Plus the fact we’ve no idea when crowds will be back means they are no a happy club at the moment. They will certainly need a very good appointment to avoid becoming mid table regulars. Quite bizarre they have only scored 1 goal in them games.

CB Hibs 68
21-03-2021, 12:54 AM
As an extension to this Aberdeen's record against the other top 6 teams this season is;

P - 15
W - 5
D - 3
L - 7

That works out as 6 points over 5 games.

Our record is;

P - 15
W - 3
D - 5
L - 7

That works out as just under 5 points over 5 games which, taking our existing 7 points lead into account, means that Aberdeen are likely to require at least 12 points to catch us i.e. they would need to double their current points per game record so far this season against the top 6 sides over course of the last 5 games.
More simply if Hibs win two of their last 5 games Aberdeen have to win all of their games to get third place.

majorhibs
21-03-2021, 12:57 AM

Falkirk, ye’re Norris Mcwhirter ae Hibs stats in a right good way! 5 or so years ago ye loved an online scrap, but ye’re well awrite now! Cheers for the usual bang on stats!

21-03-2021, 01:28 AM
They have a choice to make now. They have pumped far more into their team over the last 15 years or so than us and most of their nearest rivals while Pittodrie has been allowed to decay, the beach end monolith notwithstanding. It seems their new owner has cooled considerably on the new stadium project at Westhill, but whatever happens they are going to have to sink a pile of cash into either a new project or upgrading their current home. Perhaps this is where Hibs investing in infrastructure at the expense of the squad will at last begin to pay off as Aberdeen finally have to play catch up off the park.

147lothian
21-03-2021, 02:08 AM
When the post split fixtures come out, the game against us is must win for them, to do that they need to score a goal or two something they have not been doing recently, even a draw in that game would mean that we have the third place finish, it could even be settled before we play them, the ball is definately in out court

21-03-2021, 06:52 AM
Btw, I feel we are in a similar position as celtic when they were winning 9 in a row. We have a chance now to kick right on and cement our place as Scotland's 3rd force. Hearts are Absoloutely rank rotten. Aberdeen are in free fall. We have a real chance now to steamroll ahead especially with the European places on offer, we have a real chance to hit the Europa league groups, we've seen Dundalk, shamrock etc do it in recent years. Could potentially be exciting times. Come on the cabbage!

I agree. I don’t think we’re a particularly good team but I think we have the basis of a good team.

Replacing the goalie is huge but, otherwise we don’t need to be looking at a major rebuild this summer.

21-03-2021, 06:56 AM
Aberdeen will be lucky to finish 4th. They're closer to Livingston than they are to us.

21-03-2021, 07:04 AM

It’s effectively 8 with our better goal difference.

Having to make up 9 points in 5 games would be difficult for a team like Celtic chasing us, never mind Aberdeen.

They’re relying on us losing every game which is very unlikely.

Of course mathematically it’s still possible but the idea of a team like Aberdeen and the form they’re in making up 9 points when there’s only 15 available isn’t happening IMO.

FWIW this confident outlook doesn’t sit right with me, this isn’t my normal stance at all when it comes to Hibs, I think I’m just being realistic.

dchibs
21-03-2021, 07:23 AM
Looking at who will still be under contract at the end of the season

Joe Lewis
Ross Mcrorie
Lewis Ferguson
Matty Kennedy
Dean Campbell
Andy Considine
Johny Hayes
Dylan McGeouch
Ryan Hedges

I think that's their lot?
I think they are really missing Ryan Hedges just now.

21-03-2021, 07:30 AM
More simply if Hibs win two of their last 5 games Aberdeen have to win all of their games to get third place.

Yes I'm comfortable now that Aberdeen are currently three games away from catching us. Assuming they lose to Rangers and Celtic they need to beat us, Livingston and St Johnstone and that's with us failing to win every game.

Even if we win one game, Aberdeen would then also require a win against either Rangers or Celtic which I'd say is very unlikely.

Put simply - they're not catching us.

DIXIHIBS
21-03-2021, 07:31 AM

Dont forget we were several points behind aberdeen before they fell away so we have probably gained 10 or 12 points on them. Thats pretty good going. Dont think many of us thought we could do that. Several on here thought livi were going to catch us.

Hakim Sar
21-03-2021, 07:33 AM
And yet they still have a chance of finishing third.

Would be just like Hibs to hand them 3 points in the upcoming fixture. Until we reverse the trend of failing at the last, game by game caution is urged before poking the finger of fun at a team that could still ruin our hopes.

21-03-2021, 07:44 AM
Dont forget we were several points behind aberdeen before they fell away so we have probably gained 10 or 12 points on them. Thats pretty good going. Dont think many of us thought we could do that. Several on here thought livi were going to catch us.

Hibs have done really well, our away form has been crazy good, but no one ever predicted the complete collapse of Aberdeen. 1 goal in 10 games straight has got to be the worst run of form they've had in 10+ years.

This is a season like no other.

21-03-2021, 07:45 AM

Would be just like Hibs to hand them 3 points in the upcoming fixture. Until we reverse the trend of failing at the last, game by game caution is urged before poking the finger of fun at a team that could still ruin our hopes.

A bit of rational thought is needed though -

Aberdeen need to win 3 matches more than us over the remaining 5 (because 2 wins and a draw doesnt do it on account of gd).

That is an almost vanishingly unlikely set of circumstances.

https://i.imgur.com/es635dD.png

21-03-2021, 07:46 AM

:agree: Sensible words of caution.

And we'll not feel so good when Hearts eat our lunch by winning the Cup :greengrin

Caversham Green
21-03-2021, 07:49 AM

There was a point where they were four points ahead of us and had a game in hand. I remember that because a few weeks later the positions were the exact opposite. That's 11 points we've gained on them in the space of a couple of months.

21-03-2021, 07:52 AM

On the evening of 2nd January Aberdeen were three points ahead of us and had two games in hand.

Since then Aberdeen have picked up 10 points in their last 13 matches. In the same period we have so far picked up 20 points in our last 11 games.

So since 2nd January there's been a 10 point swing in our favour.

21-03-2021, 07:53 AM
i suspect they will be delighted to get rid of all the non loan players with the exception of Hoban

The only one I'd like from that lot is Ross, you can never have enough of them.

21-03-2021, 07:58 AM
How many league places are we above Hearts?

21-03-2021, 08:04 AM
Assuming that we'll both lose to Celtic and Rangers, Aberdeen need to win 3 and us lose 3. Very unlikely.

21-03-2021, 08:27 AM
My Dons mate- yer no any better than us, enjoy yer 1 season, we’ll see when we’ve a new manager- that lot are near on with the entitlement thinking as the old squirm!

They’re a red hearts mate

21-03-2021, 08:32 AM

And we'll not feel so good when Hearts eat our lunch by winning the Cup :greengrin

How can hearts win the cup when we are winning it?

21-03-2021, 08:57 AM
Wonder if they'll put a star on their shirt for finishing 4th with such a guff team.

Maybe they'll put one of these on it. 💩

21-03-2021, 09:03 AM
This is what it's like just now...😂😂

https://twitter.com/dundeeunitedfc/status/1373296403217276933?s=19

21-03-2021, 11:22 AM
Assuming that we'll both lose to Celtic and Rangers, Aberdeen need to win 3 and us lose 3. Very unlikely.

I think Celtic will be beatable and The Rangers will want to win the Scottish Cup so surely they may take Thier foot off the gas At some point in the league

21-03-2021, 12:32 PM

Hertz cannae even beat the likes of Arbroath and Morton...they are winning nae Cup

Weegreenman
21-03-2021, 12:58 PM
Hertz cannae even beat the likes of Arbroath and Morton...they are winning nae Cup

Aberdeen have been the best of the rest for a good few years now. It was never going to continue forever. That’s football. New manager, new players will need time to gel.

I prefer we worry about ourselves, how can we improve on this season ??

21-03-2021, 02:28 PM
Point away from home at the team likely to finish 5th this season, not a ***** result in my mind.

Martindale says he’s aiming for 4th.

A bit more pressure for Aberdeen to deal with. The Dons do seem to have made a number of bizarre decisions since new year.

21-03-2021, 02:32 PM
Martindale says he’s aiming for 4th.

A bit more pressure for Aberdeen to deal with. The Dons do seem to have made a number of bizarre decisions since new year.

5 points with a negligible goal difference. Good chance. 5th place could still get a euro spot if the Scottish Cup winner is one of the top 4. Probably fortunate that St Johnstone are 9 behind. Given both teams form, can see the Saints pick up a few points on the sheep but probably not enough to over take them.

147lothian
21-03-2021, 03:14 PM
5 points with a negligible goal difference. Good chance. 5th place could still get a euro spot if the Scottish Cup winner is one of the top 4. Probably fortunate that St Johnstone are 9 behind. Given both teams form, can see the Saints pick up a few points on the sheep but probably not enough to over take them.

I totally agree, I can't see St Johnstone catching the sheepie's but all Livingston need to do is win their game against them and have one more win then them and they take the fourth spot, so Livi have a chance there imo.

21-03-2021, 03:32 PM
I was thinking earlier - with them not having scored a goal away from home in 2021 (other than an own goal from Ross County), one goal in ten and so many players OOC at the end of the season, they could find themselves in a relegation dogfight next season.

If the new manager doesn’t recruit well and also get a big lift from the team then they’re in big trouble without the head start they got in the first half of the season

Watching back yesterday’s game they didn’t play badly which is probably more of a concern - playing well and still not looking like scoring in a month of Sunday’s and also conceding a really cheap goal is a massive concern.

They’re in trouble.