View Full Version : NHC Cheltenham races

16-03-2021, 05:03 AM
Cheltenham Races starts today and gives us a welcome four day distraction from the daily Lockdown drudgery

I thought it would be a good idea to start the annual thread with any tips and recommendations ( reasoning and logic welcome ) over the next four days

I know absolutely hee haw about horse racing but I am happy to make a start by listing the Favs and likely contenders

Any likely Naps suggestions or inside infos along the way welcome

Let’s beat the bookies !

Day 1

1.20 Sky Bet Supreme Novices’ Hurdle

Appreciate it 4/5 Fav

Ballyadam 7/1 ( Mick Fitzgerald thinks wins )

1.50 Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy

Shishkin 4/9 Fav

Allmankind 11/2 ( Skelton Boys)

2.30 Ultima Handicap Chase

Happygolucky 3/1 Fav

Aye Right 11/2 ( Well backed with Richard Johnson in the saddle)

3.05 Unibet Champion Hurdle Challenge Trophy

Honeysuckle 13/8 Fav

Epatante 4/1

Goshen 9/2

3.40 Close Brothers Mares’ Hurdle

Concertista 5/4 Fav

Roksana 5/2 ( Skelton Boys)

4.15 Boodles Juvenile Handicap Hurdle

Houx Gris 9/2 Fav

Saint Sam 5/1 ( W Mullins Yard )

4.50 Sam Vestey National Hunt Challenge Cup Novices Chase

Next Destination 5/2 Fav

Galvin 10/3

Escaria Ten 4/1

Please remember to gamble responsibly small stakes as the meeting is over 4 days

Good luck

16-03-2021, 05:28 AM
Cheltenham Races starts today and gives us a welcome four day distraction from the daily Lockdown drudgery

I thought it would be a good idea to start the annual thread with any tips and recommendations ( reasoning and logic welcome ) over the next four days

I know absolutely hee haw about horse racing but I am happy to make a start by listing the Favs and likely contenders

Any likely Naps suggestions or inside infos along the way welcome

Let’s beat the bookies !

Day 1

1.20 Sky Bet Supreme Novices’ Hurdle

Appreciate it 4/5 Fav

Ballyadam 7/1 ( Mick Fitzgerald thinks wins )

1.50 Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy

Shishkin 4/9 Fav

Allmankind 11/2 ( Skelton Boys)

2.30 Ultima Handicap Chase

Happygolucky 3/1 Fav

Aye Right 11/2 ( Well backed with Richard Johnson in the saddle)

3.05 Unibet Champion Hurdle Challenge Trophy

Honeysuckle 13/8 Fav

Epatante 4/1

Goshen 9/2

3.40 Close Brothers Mares’ Hurdle

Concertista 5/4 Fav

Roksana 5/2 ( Skelton Boys)

4.15 Boodles Juvenile Handicap Hurdle

Houx Gris 9/2 Fav

Saint Sam 5/1 ( W Mullins Yard )

4.50 Sam Vestey National Hunt Challenge Cup Novices Chase

Next Destination 5/2 Fav

Galvin 10/3

Escaria Ten 4/1

Please remember to gamble responsibly small stakes as the meeting is over 4 days

Good luck

Please don’t move me from the main board I have been a fixture for the past two years

Pretty please

16-03-2021, 05:59 AM
Please don’t move me from the main board I have been a fixture for the past two years

Pretty please

Sorry.
We do try to keep the main forum for football discussions and even then we get complaints from some wanting it restricted to Hibs only discussions. That’s why this Other Sports forum exists. If we let horse racing threads go then we’d find it hard to argue against other people’s favourite sports appearing there. Do you really want to be responsible for cricket threads appearing on the main board? :greengrin
You could post this in the PM forum though if you wanted.

16-03-2021, 07:09 AM
Disappointingly small fields declared. Why is that? Four-day declarations seemed to be at the usual high level. Spoils my usual tactic of looking for good value EW nags.

Fancy Aye Right in the Ultima. Up 4lb since his second in the Hennessy to Cloth Cap but that horse is now up 28lbs. I can't imagine Aye Right stripped 100% race fit last time out at Donny given all the snow in the Borders through January, even though it had a prior sharpener on the flat. Expect him to be at his best.

Can't desert Goshen after last year's tragedy. Hope it makes amends.

Mikey_1875
16-03-2021, 07:27 AM
Not the greatest opening day for value as I’m finding it very hard to get away from the favourites in most races. Will be putting an acca on Appreciate it, Shiskin, Honeysuckle and Concertista and pray there is no repeat of an Annie power situation if it got to the last!

Outside of those races 14:30-Alnadam, 16:15 Busselton, and an e/w pop on ofalltheginjoints in the last. Good luck everyone

16-03-2021, 08:25 AM
Disappointingly small fields declared. Why is that? Four-day declarations seemed to be at the usual high level. Spoils my usual tactic of looking for good value EW nags.

Fancy Aye Right in the Ultima. Up 4lb since his second in the Hennessy to Cloth Cap but that horse is now up 28lbs. I can't imagine Aye Right stripped 100% race fit last time out at Donny given all the snow in the Borders through January, even though it had a prior sharpener on the flat. Expect him to be at his best.

Can't desert Goshen after last year's tragedy. Hope it makes amends.

Poor fields due to owners not allowed to attend. Aintree could be big this year, and then the Punchy festival.

16-03-2021, 11:17 AM
Ah takes me back to my matched betting days absolutely rinsing the bookies for their free bet offers during the Festival a few years ago. I made a mint that week.

16-03-2021, 12:06 PM
Poor fields due to owners not allowed to attend. Aintree could be big this year, and then the Punchy festival.

There are some belters, though. The Champions Hurdle has a tremendous line up.

16-03-2021, 12:26 PM
Appreciate It wins the first by a mile

16-03-2021, 12:35 PM
Appreciate It wins the first by a mile

What a performance.

16-03-2021, 12:41 PM
Piers ******* Morgan. Is there anything that **** doesn't have an opinion on? Muted.

16-03-2021, 12:43 PM
Appreciate It was impressive but it wasn't much of a spectacle. The cavalry charge to the 1st hurdle in the Supreme is usually one of the highlights of the week and it was a bit lacking with so few runners.

16-03-2021, 12:49 PM
Appreciate It was impressive but it wasn't much of a spectacle. The cavalry charge to the 1st hurdle in the Supreme is usually one of the highlights of the week and it was a bit lacking with so few runners.

Let's hope Shishkin gives us his usual calibre of performance, mate. :worried::pray:

16-03-2021, 01:00 PM
Shishken by about fifteen lengths, would you say? Very, very classy horse.

Mikey_1875
16-03-2021, 01:01 PM
Shishkin simple win. Thought it looked like he was hitting a bit of a flat spot four out but very assured after that. Hopefully see a few bookies sweating now with trebles and four folds going into the champion hurdle.

16-03-2021, 01:02 PM
I had money on Shiskin at 4s and again at Evens. Free money, never in doubt there with the exception of one extra stride at the ditch.

16-03-2021, 01:03 PM
I had money on Shiskin at 4s and again at Evens. Free money, never in doubt there with the exception of one extra stride at the ditch.

Well done, PB, I know you said you had a wedge on him. It's your roon :aok:

I needed that, too.

16-03-2021, 01:04 PM
Pym in the next for me e/w then Honeysuckle to win (again at the early price) and James Du Berlais e/w in the Champion.

Profit for the day whatever happens from here on in.

16-03-2021, 01:10 PM
How can there be a Cheltenham thread without Hutchyhibby? Come on big man, time to get back in the saddle and have a few wee wagers :agree:

16-03-2021, 01:14 PM
Milan Native EW for me in the next. Five places with Paddy Power.

Magpie
16-03-2021, 01:15 PM
Made a last minute £5 Acca on each race today.

13:20- Appreciate it- to win
13:55- Shishkin- to win
14:30- Aye Right- to place in top 5
15:05- Epetante- to place in top 3
15:40- Concertista- to win
16:15- Saint Sam- to place top 5
16:50- Escaria Ten- to place top 4

Returns £339.37

16-03-2021, 01:26 PM
How can there be a Cheltenham thread without Hutchyhibby? Come on big man, time to get back in the saddle and have a few wee wagers :agree:

Brentford ht-ft, sorry Brentford 😄

I put up Metier a few weeks ago, glad I never got involved. 🙄

16-03-2021, 01:39 PM
Vintage Clouds at 28/1, rolling back the years. Fantastic he wins at Cheltenham at his fifth attempt.

My bet, Milan Native, was never in it and barely got a mention in the race.

16-03-2021, 01:40 PM
Pym was in it but you could see Nico throwing out all the wrong signals from about 5 out, made a mistake and ground to a halt.

Vintage Clouds wasn't for stopping there.

16-03-2021, 02:03 PM
Come on Honeysuckle!

Mikey_1875
16-03-2021, 02:10 PM
Superb. If only they went in this easy all the time!

16-03-2021, 02:11 PM
Easy done.

Few bookies will have lost out on that treble and a few more will be sweating it about Concertista.

Never in doubt. Great shout by AP before the race when he said he hopes Rachel Blackmore didn't get on Goshen's outside - turned out Goschen went so far right he nearly ran out.

Magpie

Returns £339.37

3 to go 🤞

16-03-2021, 02:12 PM
Come on Honeysuckle!

What horse she is; that was superb and she's improving all the time.

Poor Goshen, so much talent but a nut case. Today he decided to try to win by running via Cornwall and completely ruined his chances after a few furlongs.

16-03-2021, 02:13 PM
3 to go 🤞

Last 2 might be tricky but good luck!

Mikey_1875
16-03-2021, 02:34 PM
Put a little on Roksana to try and protect some profit if the favourite fourfold doesn’t come in. So I am fully expecting one of the outsiders to bolt up now.

Magpie
16-03-2021, 02:46 PM
Concertista 😭

Returns £339.37

Couldn’t have been closer

Put a little on Roksana to try and protect some profit if the favourite fourfold doesn’t come in. So I am fully expecting one of the outsiders to bolt up now.

You had Concertista on the fourfold? Gutted for you mate. Just a messy jump at the last cost her momentum.

Mikey_1875
16-03-2021, 02:47 PM
Yeah bit of a sickener there. Think plenty will be in the same boat

Magpie
16-03-2021, 02:47 PM
Couldn’t have been closer

That’s my luck 😂 I’ve had really tight margins go against me today.

16-03-2021, 02:48 PM
Yeah bit of a sickener there. Think plenty will be in the same boat

She had it won going to last flight. :grr:

16-03-2021, 02:50 PM
Disaster!

Been told Cobden/Nicholls expecting a big run from Houx Gris 9/2 4.15 ew just in case :greengrin

16-03-2021, 03:21 PM
Jeff Kidder at 80/1 on the 4:15. Any lucky so and so on him?

16-03-2021, 03:32 PM
Had 50p each way on.

Eldorado Allen
Sharjah
Black Tears

which returned £70.20 :aok:

16-03-2021, 03:39 PM
Jeff Kidder at 80/1 on the 4:15. Any lucky so and so on him?

A number of folk had 6 winners on the ITV7 today.....assumed that would be the one who let them all down but the lady who won it actually picked it!

Mikey_1875
16-03-2021, 04:00 PM
Galvin really nice run there. Didn’t think he was travelling comfortably at all but won pretty well

Magpie
16-03-2021, 04:00 PM
Two second’s cost me about £875 today, ah well onto tomorrow 😂🐎

Magpie
16-03-2021, 04:27 PM
£5 Acca for each of tomorrow’s races.

13:20- Bob Olinger- to place in top 2
13:55- Monkfish- to win
14:30- Grand Roi- to place in top 5
15:05- Chacun Pour Soi- to win
15:40- Easyland- to win
16:15- Embittered- to place top 5
16:50- Sir Gerhard- to place top 3

Returns £225.23

16-03-2021, 04:38 PM
£5 Acca for each of tomorrow’s races.

13:20- Bob Olinger- to place in top 2
13:55- Monkfish- to win
14:30- Grand Roi- to place in top 5
15:05- Chacun Pour Soi- to win
15:40- Easyland- to win
16:15- Embittered- to place top 5
16:50- Sir Gerhard- to place top 3

Returns £225.23

You literally could not have been closer with today’s picks, so I might be on these tomorrow :hmmm:

16-03-2021, 04:53 PM
Paddy Power paying SEVEN places on 2:30 tomorrow. I've never seen that many each way places offered before. 26 runners handicap hurdle. Also six places in the 4:15.

16-03-2021, 04:58 PM
Paddy Power paying SEVEN places on 2:30 tomorrow. I've never seen that many each way places offered before. 26 runners handicap hurdle. Also six places in the 4:15.

SkyBet did the same today in the 1430. Gave me a ew return.

16-03-2021, 05:01 PM

Are they paying full prices for the 7 places?

Bet365 were paying 5 in the Champion today but the odds were massively cut if you took the 5 places compared to 4.

16-03-2021, 05:02 PM
SkyBet did the same today in the 1430. Gave me a ew return.

A potential chance to get a cheeky few quid at big odds.

Mikey_1875
16-03-2021, 05:19 PM
SkyBet doing the same and paying 1/5 on all places

16-03-2021, 05:21 PM
Are they paying full prices for the 7 places?

Bet365 were paying 5 in the Champion today but the odds were massively cut if you took the 5 places compared to 4.

Yes, the usual one-fifth PP each way odds for all places.

16-03-2021, 06:15 PM
Yes, the usual one-fifth PP each way odds for all places.

Bet365 were still paying 1/5 the odds but in the CH James Du Burleais was 28/1 for 4 places but 16/1 for 5 places.

Good to see Sky Bet and PP not going down that route.

16-03-2021, 07:07 PM
SkyBet doing their usual stake back as cash if you lose on the first race.

16-03-2021, 07:42 PM
Bet365 were still paying 1/5 the odds but in the CH James Du Burleais was 28/1 for 4 places but 16/1 for 5 places.

I see what you mean. So you can choose the number of places and the odds change accordingly. I've never known PP to do that.

16-03-2021, 07:54 PM

Layed a wee bit off and backed De Bruyne to have 2 shots on target at 15/8. Still annoying though.

16-03-2021, 07:55 PM

Late Derby goal just screwed my acca, too:rolleyes::rolleyes:

16-03-2021, 08:18 PM
Good day.. 2 winners and three placed e/w

Coupon up on football also.

Only Monkfish catching my eye tomorrow

16-03-2021, 09:04 PM

365 always have that market. It’s not so much an offer, just an insurance type bet. Extra places but less odds.

17-03-2021, 02:20 AM
Good day.. 2 winners and three placed e/w

Coupon up on football also.

Only Monkfish catching my eye tomorrow

:top marks:aok:

17-03-2021, 06:14 AM
Had attached 4-fold yesterday for a nice start.

https://i.ibb.co/fCZG1XB/D78-FD800-3-D0-E-41-AD-90-E2-9-A45-A824-D2-BB.jpg (https://ibb.co/nD48gwZ)

Also on PP, I backed there to be 13 or more SP winners at the festival at 16/1 - 3 in yesterday.

Over next few days I have:

Today - Single:
Bob Olinger

Today - Placed Treble:
Guard Your Dreams - 5 places
Tiger Roll - 4 places
Ibleo - 5 places

Over Festival:
Monkfish
Envoi Allen
Paisley Park
Al Boum Photo
*4-fold

Monkfish
Chacun Pour Soi
Paisley Park
*Treble

As someone mentioned above, most bookies doing enhanced places. On PP you can select how many places you’d like when doing a placed bet as opposed to e/w. Odds higher less places you take.

After yesterday’s 4-fold win I’m playing with the bookies money which is always a great feeling over any festival coming into day two.

17-03-2021, 06:57 AM
SkyBet doing money back as cash if your horse loses up to a max of £10 in the 1.20 which is a penalty kick on Bob Olinger 7/4 as there are a few dangers lurking

Good luck

17-03-2021, 07:50 AM
Treble today

1.20 - Bravemansgame
1.55 - Monkfish
3.05 - Chacun Pour Soi

E/W Double:

3.05 - Put The Kettle On
4.15 - Amoola Gold

Single:

3.40 - La Breuil e/w

17-03-2021, 08:20 AM
Us And Them in the 4.15 thanks to Hibs1972 on here.

Hopefully Monkfish and Chacun Pour Soi can put the finishing touches to a couple of accas I have.

Went for Bob Olinger in the first on Skybet's money back offer....tricky one though.

Magpie
17-03-2021, 08:41 AM
You literally could not have been closer with today’s picks, so I might be on these tomorrow :hmmm:

Good luck if so 👍🏻 Hopefully something after being so close yesterday.

Mikey_1875
17-03-2021, 09:42 AM
Similar to yesterday there are a few favourites which it’s hard to see being turned over.

Will go for a treble of Monkfish, Chacun Pour Soi and Easysland

1:20 - Bob Olinger
2:30 - Dysart Diamond e/w
4:15 - Zanza
4:50 - Sir Gerhard

17-03-2021, 09:55 AM
Single on Bear Ghylls at 7/1 in the 13.20.

Double placed last night on :

Craigneiche (11/1)
Ibleo (11/1)

17-03-2021, 10:47 AM
Taking a chance with Keskonrisk in the first. Kept on well behind Appreciate it last time out after being done for toe off the bend, has plenty scope for improvement and might be suited by the extra 5f. Surely the top three in the betting can't be as good as Appreciate It. 16/1 looks good value.

17-03-2021, 11:17 AM
Large fields so £1 e/w Lucky 15; thus:

Bravemansgame
Monkfish
Guard Your Dreams
Put The Kettle On

£30 on pays over £1,500

#AsIf 😁

17-03-2021, 11:54 AM
Not overly adventurous but I've gone with a lucky 15 of

1:55 - Monkfish
3:05 - Chacun Pour Soi
3:40 - Easyland
4:50 - Kilcruit?

Got a small ew free bet on Grangee in the 4:50

Mikey_1875
17-03-2021, 12:27 PM
Bloodless victory in the opener for Bob Olinger

17-03-2021, 12:27 PM
Bear Ghylls not the best jumper...

Magpie
17-03-2021, 12:28 PM
Rachel Blackmore 👏🏻

17-03-2021, 12:34 PM
SkyBet doing money back as cash if your horse loses up to a max of £10 in the 1.20 which is a penalty kick on Bob Olinger 7/4 as there are a few dangers lurking

Good luck
Get in ! :greengrin

Hearing that the yard are bullish over the chances of Embittered in the 4.15

Mikey_1875
17-03-2021, 01:02 PM
Nervier than expected run from Monkfish there but gets the job done

17-03-2021, 01:03 PM
Monkfish was almost wiped out at the last by the free horse - hearts in mooths! Put himself right then strode away. Not a great performance, in truth, but he's far too good.

Magpie
17-03-2021, 01:03 PM
Was that 10 lengths or more?

17-03-2021, 01:09 PM
Was that 10 lengths or more?

6ish, I think.

Mikey_1875
17-03-2021, 01:46 PM
Good race for higher odds place backers there

17-03-2021, 01:50 PM
Big shout out to the pundit (not sure which one) on Racing TV who gave a big plug for both Heaven Help Us and Tea Clipper (first and third) both at 33/1 there. He must be quids in, and I should have listened to him :greengrin

Edit: It was Jonathan with the great double shout.

17-03-2021, 01:59 PM
First Flow in the next

17-03-2021, 02:02 PM
Politologue NR

17-03-2021, 02:14 PM
Treble today

1.20 - Bravemansgame
1.55 - Monkfish
3.05 - Chacun Pour Soi

E/W Double:

3.05 - Put The Kettle On
4.15 - Amoola Gold

Single:

3.40 - La Breuil e/w

One down, one to go. Potential return for 2 winners is over £1100, trying to resist checking the cash out option......

17-03-2021, 02:15 PM
Chacun Pour Soi turned over by Put The Kettle On...a few big accas will have bitten the dust!

17-03-2021, 02:16 PM
One down, one to go. Potential return for 2 winners is over £1100, trying to resist checking the cash out option......

Don't do it...it's Cheltenham!

17-03-2021, 02:17 PM
Defeat of Chacun Pour Soi just scunnered two of my aacas. Big one was a tenner returning 740. Needed Chacan and Envoi Allen tomorrow to complete.

My big double is still alive: 200 on Monkfish and Envoi.

Mikey_1875
17-03-2021, 02:27 PM
Disappointing result there but that was a great race. Favourite race of the festival coming up now for me. Would be great for Tiger Roll go out and win but unfortunately can’t see it

17-03-2021, 02:28 PM
Chacun Pour Soi turned over by Put The Kettle On...a few big accas will have bitten the dust!

Mine was only a tenner stake, but it still hurts.

Magpie
17-03-2021, 02:39 PM
6ish, I think.

Cheers, saw Monkfish to win at 10 lengths or more at 5/2 and was going to back it but decided not too.

Magpie
17-03-2021, 02:40 PM
Some neck getting backed heavily for the next race. Was 12/1, went into 13/2.

AugustaHibs
17-03-2021, 02:44 PM
I opened an account with paddy power and put 30 pound on one horse today. Horse lost and I haven’t received my 30 quid back even though there was a new customer promo on, anyone else had this?

Magpie
17-03-2021, 02:50 PM
What a horse man 👏🏻👏🏻

17-03-2021, 02:50 PM
Tiger Roll. Wow.

17-03-2021, 02:51 PM
The Tiger strolled it at eleven. What a great win and a fairytale story. Brilliant horse :top marks

17-03-2021, 02:51 PM
How can you not love Tiger Roll? What a performance that was.

17-03-2021, 02:59 PM
I opened an account with paddy power and put 30 pound on one horse today. Horse lost and I haven’t received my 30 quid back even though there was a new customer promo on, anyone else had this?

It can take a few hours on busy days like today.

17-03-2021, 03:19 PM

Just the volume of bets during Cheltenham. If you don't receive it by tonight, get in touch and they will sort it. :aok:

Mikey_1875
17-03-2021, 03:57 PM
A nice Blackmore first and last double to save the day!

Brilliant ride from Blackmore on Sir Gerhard, which proved the difference. She stole a march on Townend, who left Kilcruit with too much ground to make up.

A nice Blackmore first and last double to save the day!

Blackmore is a class act. She was far too clever for Townend there.

Magpie
17-03-2021, 03:59 PM

I’m sure she fell in the previous 3 races too. Very unfortunate, I always enjoy following her in the festivals.

Mikey_1875
17-03-2021, 04:01 PM

Yep, Mark Walsh is normally my go to in Ireland but its difficult to argue against her being the best jump jockey around at the moment. Great ride after three falls today as well!

17-03-2021, 04:26 PM
Need an Envoi win tomorrow for a double and a single worth around 550 profit :pray:

I had a very good first day but a very mediocre second.

Chorley Hibee
17-03-2021, 05:14 PM
£50 each way on Sky Pirate at 16/1 returned me £1060.

Guy at work been raving about this horse for the last week and speculatively placed the largest bet of my life on it.

Think I'll quit whilst I'm ahead.

17-03-2021, 05:29 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/horse-racing/56435950

Would you take the cash out?

17-03-2021, 05:35 PM
Get in ! :greengrin

Hearing that the yard are bullish over the chances of Embittered in the 4.15
Fell

That’s horse racing

:cb

Mikey_1875
17-03-2021, 05:40 PM

I think he is an absolute stick on tomorrow but I could happily cash out 275K and have no regrets if he went on to win!

17-03-2021, 05:45 PM
I think he is an absolute stick on tomorrow but I could happily cash out 275K and have no regrets if he went on to win!

Yep....still a huge amount of money....and a couple of hot favourites lost today.

17-03-2021, 05:51 PM

A lot depends on his own financial situation but I'd be cashing that out.

17-03-2021, 06:11 PM
£50 each way on Sky Pirate at 16/1 returned me £1060.

Guy at work been raving about this horse for the last week and speculatively placed the largest bet of my life on it.

Think I'll quit whilst I'm ahead.

Brilliant result for you :top marks

Unless money was no object to me, I'd be cashing out for sure. Anything can happen in a race. Just take it and be very happy.

Magpie
18-03-2021, 01:08 AM
£10 Acca for day 3:

13:20- Envoi Allen- win
13:55- The Bosses Oscar- place top 5
14:30- Min- place top 4
15:05- Paisley Park- win
15:40- The Shunter- place top 5
16:15- Royal Kahala- place top 5
16:50- Mount Ida- place top 5

Returns £1,358.50

Magpie
18-03-2021, 01:10 AM
£50 on Envoi Allen to win 5.5 lengths or more at 11/8

£25 each way on spiritofthegames in the 13:55, had it at 22/1, down to 14/1 now I believe.

18-03-2021, 07:50 AM

Defo yes cos if EA were to have the same last fence risk of a loose horse alongside and then the same sort of mistake as Monkfish I'd have a heart attack and not be in a position to collect my half mill.

18-03-2021, 08:09 AM
Each way lucky 15 today.

13.20 Chantry House 7/1
14.30 Mister Fisher 7/1
15.05 The Storyteller 17/2
16.15 Telmesomethinggirl 13/2

Mikey_1875
18-03-2021, 08:41 AM

Guy has just been on the morning line saying that Betfair have offered him a “partial cash out” where he would get 300,000 if Envoi Allen wins and 250,000 if he loses which he has accepted. He mentioned on twitter he has Envoi Allen in a few other bets which means he is in for 322K if Envoi wins.

Great outcome for him and puts him in a no lose situation really.

18-03-2021, 09:58 AM
Guy has just been on the morning line saying that Betfair have offered him a “partial cash out” where he would get 300,000 if Envoi Allen wins and 250,000 if he loses which he has accepted. He mentioned on twitter he has Envoi Allen in a few other bets which means he is in for 322K if Envoi wins.

Bookies must be pretty sure Envoi Allen will win.

Magpie
18-03-2021, 11:11 AM

Fairplay, best fiver he’s ever spent.

18-03-2021, 11:40 AM
1:20 - Envoi Allen
1:55 - Imperial Alcazar
3:40 - Farclas
4:50 - Plan of attack

And i've used my free bet on Allaho in the 2:30

Mikey_1875
18-03-2021, 12:13 PM
Better day for some good value betting at longer odds today

13:55 - Come on Teddy
14:30 - Min
15:05 - Sire du Berlais
15:40 - Farclas
16:15 - Martello Sky e/w
16:50 - Shantou Flyer

Good luck anyone waiting on Envoi Allen for accumulators

Magpie
18-03-2021, 12:23 PM
Wow, bookies be rubbing their hands.

18-03-2021, 12:24 PM
30 on the shunter 3.40 Cheltenham

18-03-2021, 12:27 PM

Just as well he took the offer :greengrin

18-03-2021, 12:30 PM
Noooooooooooooo!!!!!!

18-03-2021, 12:30 PM
Thank God I don't bet any more than a tenner these days.

18-03-2021, 12:31 PM
Each way lucky 15 today.

13.20 Chantry House 7/1
14.30 Mister Fisher 7/1
15.05 The Storyteller 17/2
16.15 Telmesomethinggirl 13/2

Good start!

Magpie
18-03-2021, 12:33 PM
Thank God I don't bet any more than a tenner these days.

Cost me £60 that fall 😭 need spiritofthegames to come somewhere decent in the next race to gain some of it back

18-03-2021, 12:40 PM
Noooooooooooooo!!!!!!

I’m pretty sure I heard that echoing throughout my entire neighbourhood. The joys. :greengrin

18-03-2021, 12:53 PM
I’m pretty sure I heard that echoing throughout my entire neighbourhood. The joys. :greengrin
Shot by a bookie sniper

18-03-2021, 01:11 PM
A gift from the God's for the bookies with Envoi Allen falling. Hope that guy cashed out his bet. That's the thing that makes national hunt racing so great but so terrible. One mistake is all it takes.

18-03-2021, 01:21 PM
A gift from the God's for the bookies with Envoi Allen falling. Hope that guy cashed out his bet. That's the thing that makes national hunt racing so great but so terrible. One mistake is all it takes.
Pretty sure the guy cut a deal 322k win or 250k if it loses

Might be wrong :greengrin

18-03-2021, 01:22 PM
Paisley Park in the Stayers for me and Melon in the Ryanair. He's due a win at Cheltenham and his form is good this season.

18-03-2021, 01:24 PM
Finally got some money with Mrs Milner :cb

Magpie
18-03-2021, 01:26 PM
Not a great day at all for me 😂 one last punt..

14:30- Min- place top 3
15:05- Paisley Park- win
15:40- The Shunter- win
16:15- Royal Kahala- place top 5

£20 returns £825.20

18-03-2021, 01:37 PM
Rachael Blackmore is having an incredible festival

Melon jumped like a ****ing novice there. Totally run off his feet by the pace.

Rachael Blackmore got that spot on, absolutely destroyed that field. Trusted her horse to stay and he most definitely did. She's a hell of a jockey, arguably the best in the business at the moment.

Mikey_1875
What a ride allaho

18-03-2021, 01:39 PM
Rachael Blackmore got that spot on, absolutely destroyed that field. Trusted her horse to stay and he most definitely did. She's a hell of a jockey, arguably the best in the business at the moment.

She’s got another couple of great chances still to come today too

18-03-2021, 02:47 PM
Of all the horses to break my heart, it's the great Envoi Allen. Who would have thought it? Bloody racing, eh? Whit can ye dae :boo hoo:

18-03-2021, 02:51 PM
Unless money was no object to me, I'd be cashing out for sure. Anything can happen in a race. Just take it and be very happy.

And there you have it. Did that guy cash out?

18-03-2021, 02:53 PM
30 on the shunter 3.40 Cheltenham

18-03-2021, 02:54 PM

Think I’ll quit at 100% lol

18-03-2021, 03:03 PM
Think I’ll quit at 100% lol

Well done, mate. :aok:

18-03-2021, 03:17 PM
And there you have it. Did that guy cash out?

He was offered a deal by Betfaor overnight that he took.

18-03-2021, 03:22 PM
As good as that was by Blackmore, Robbie Power was far too slow to react to her move. Think he thought he had more horse under him than he did.

18-03-2021, 03:23 PM
This is Rachel Blackmore's festival. I'm on her for the Gold Cup now.

Only winner I had was The Shunter today and not bothering with the last race.

18-03-2021, 03:26 PM

I got my second winner there on Tellmesomethinggirl and I also have her on Plan of Attack in the last.

She’s got me a good return today

18-03-2021, 03:26 PM

She's on a good horse in the Gold Cup and it's wide open.

Not totally proven as a stayer but showed plenty at 3m last time out.

18-03-2021, 04:54 PM
Looking at the Gold Cup and some value for money, I fancy Royal Pagaille at 12/1 E/W. Looked really impressive winning at Haydock last time and still a novice. Could be anything.

18-03-2021, 05:42 PM
Worth following Kevin Blake on ITV Racing he has been on fire this week

All his Naps have come in so far this week

He put up a treble

Telmesomethinggirl NAP

Mrs Milner

Mount Ida

All bolted up

I added The Shunter

10p ew Yankee £2.20 = £410 back

Well worth following tomorrow

( I know I hate after timing )

He is napping Barbados Bucks in the 2.30 tomorrow

I quite fancy Adrimel with Dickie Johnson in the saddle at better odds

On both ��

18-03-2021, 06:04 PM
Looking at the Gold Cup and some value for money, I fancy Royal Pagaille at 12/1 E/W. Looked really impressive winning at Haydock last time and still a novice. Could be anything.
The only one in the field that could be unexposed and better than its form. I don't think its a great generation so RP might well do a "coneygree" and win as a novice. Then again it could be run off its feet and PU 3 out!

18-03-2021, 06:39 PM
I think the bookies are unsure about Royal Pagaille as he could be anything. I'm not sure he has beaten a lot but he has done it well. I'd question if a couple of jaunts round Haydock and Kempton is the best prep for a real staying challenge round Cheltenham. I reckon the likes of Native River and Champ will set out to make it a real stamina test and Frodon will want to battle for the lead as well. Does he go on quicker ground? That's unproven.

In saying that there are question marks about most of the field. It's fairly open albeit that's because it's a field of questionable quality.

18-03-2021, 09:53 PM
20 quid on A Plus Tard in the big race at 11/2 ante-post.

I will have a couple of singles on other races and a wee acca. I need Tritonic and Elimay to complete an ante-post treble at 20/1.

I could do with a successful end to the festival after Envoi Allen killing me today. Useless nag :greengrin

18-03-2021, 10:28 PM
I think the bookies are unsure about Royal Pagaille as he could be anything. I'm not sure he has beaten a lot but he has done it well. I'd question if a couple of jaunts round Haydock and Kempton is the best prep for a real staying challenge round Cheltenham. I reckon the likes of Native River and Champ will set out to make it a real stamina test and Frodon will want to battle for the lead as well. Does he go on quicker ground? That's unproven.

In saying that there are question marks about most of the field. It's fairly open albeit that's because it's a field of questionable quality.

You're right, it's pretty open from an each way point of view. Not quite sure what you meant about Haydock and Kempton, plenty of good horses have used those courses as prep races for Cheltenham, such as Kauto Star, Imperial Commander and a good few others, all in shorter distance races than the Gold Cup. Frodon's been shown up before on several occasions at this level, but maybe Nicholl's has managed to squeeze a bit more out of him for a place. Native River is a really gutsy, strong galloper who I was totally wrong about before when I thought he was just basically an upgraded handicapper in a pretty low quality Gold Cup field. He's a credit to his trainer, and for me, if the old legs are still strong enough, he'll be bang there or thereabouts. Al Boum Photo is the one to beat, I just wanted to look at some value for money and I backed Coneygree when he won it so why not try another relatively unknown novice at a decent price.

18-03-2021, 10:32 PM
Worth following Kevin Blake on ITV Racing he has been on fire this week

All his Naps have come in so far this week

He put up a treble

Telmesomethinggirl NAP

Mrs Milner

Mount Ida

All bolted up

I added The Shunter

10p ew Yankee £2.20 = £410 back

Well worth following tomorrow

( I know I hate after timing )

He is napping Barbados Bucks in the 2.30 tomorrow

I quite fancy Adrimel with Dickie Johnson in the saddle at better odds

On both ��

Well done, mate. Aye wee Blakey had a 180/1 treble with the three you mention. Did he say how much he had on?

19-03-2021, 06:01 AM
Well done, mate. Aye wee Blakey had a 180/1 treble with the three you mention. Did he say how much he had on?
Nope but noticed it is all over twitter

Like everyone else I had to redo all my acca’s after the fav came down in the first so was getting desperate

Good luck

19-03-2021, 06:40 AM
You're right, it's pretty open from an each way point of view. Not quite sure what you meant about Haydock and Kempton, plenty of good horses have used those courses as prep races for Cheltenham, such as Kauto Star, Imperial Commander and a good few others, all in shorter distance races than the Gold Cup. Frodon's been shown up before on several occasions at this level, but maybe Nicholl's has managed to squeeze a bit more out of him for a place. Native River is a really gutsy, strong galloper who I was totally wrong about before when I thought he was just basically an upgraded handicapper in a pretty low quality Gold Cup field. He's a credit to his trainer, and for me, if the old legs are still strong enough, he'll be bang there or thereabouts. Al Boum Photo is the one to beat, I just wanted to look at some value for money and I backed Coneygree when he won it so why not try another relatively unknown novice at a decent price.

I don't think that races round Haydock and Kempton are bad prep in themselves. More that there is an unknown about how the horse will take to the completely different track that is Cheltenham. Some horses just don't go there. In recent years Silviniano Conti springs to mind, a multiple winner of the Betfair and King George but just never enjoyed Cheltenham. Even Kauto Star wasn't the same horse round there. Clan Des Obeaux is another.

Of course the flip side is he could take to it like a duck to water and if he does there is certainly scope for him to challenge.

19-03-2021, 08:03 AM
20 on Barbados buck 2.30

19-03-2021, 09:19 AM
E/W Lucky 15 today, a bit speculative to say the least but you never know...

13.55 Third Time Lucki 7/1
14.30 Barbados Buck's 17/2
15.05 Royale Pagaille 14/1
15.40 Staker Wallace 10/1

Will probably have a wee dabble on Kevin Blake's tips as well.

19-03-2021, 09:32 AM
E/W Lucky 15 today, a bit speculative to say the least but you never know...

13.55 Third Time Lucki 7/1
14.30 Barbados Buck's 17/2
15.05 Royale Pagaille 14/1
15.40 Staker Wallace 10/1

Will probably have a wee dabble on Kevin Blake's tips as well.

I think everybody's been waiting for Kevin Blakes tips today and here's his selections this morning

Nap - 1:55 - You Raised Me Up
Np - 2:30 - Barbados Bucks
Long Shot - 3:05 - Santini

19-03-2021, 09:40 AM
Still got a bit of profit from Shiskin so going to have a few bets today and either walk away even or well up.

Lucky 15:

1.20 - Quilixios
1.55 - Eclair De Beaufeu
2.30 - Fakiera
3.40 - Billaway

Treble:

1.20 - Zanahiyr
3.05 - Al Boum Photo
4.15 - Elimay

Singles:

1.20 - Tritonic win
1.55 - Fifty Ball e/w
2.30 - Adrimel e/w
3.05 - Royal Pagaille e/w
4.40 - Wishing And Hoping e/w

19-03-2021, 10:01 AM
I think everybody's been waiting for Kevin Blakes tips today and here's his selections this morning

Nap - 1:55 - You Raised Me Up
Np - 2:30 - Barbados Bucks
Long Shot - 3:05 - Santini

As well as a we Patent on the above I've went with

1:20 - Quilixios
2:30 - Stattler
3:05 - A Plus Tard

Probably have a we EW only because it's Mullins/Blackmore
4:15 - Cabaret Queen (Outsider)

Mikey_1875
19-03-2021, 10:28 AM
Looks another good days racing. Plenty well fancied favourites landed at good odds yesterday. I think you raised me up and gentlemen de mee will be hammered in from now till post time. I’ve noticed that all of Kevin Blakes selections have shortened by a couple in the market already.

1:20 - Zanahiyr
1:55 - you raised me up
2:30 - streets of doyen
3:05 - champ
3:40 - hazel hill e/w
4:15 - colreevy
4:50 - Gentlemen de mee

19-03-2021, 12:26 PM
Rachael Blackmore. Wow. She just gets it's right from 2 out every time. Knew exactly how much the horse had left and kicked the horse on at exactly the right time.

19-03-2021, 12:31 PM
Rachael Blackmore. Wow. She just gets it's right from 2 out every time. Knew exactly how much the horse had left and kicked the horse on at exactly the right time.

I wold think anyone backing her in her rides for the rest of the day will end up by the end of it.

19-03-2021, 01:01 PM
Thought Éclair De Beafeu was tanking up the hill there to bring up leg 2 of my lucky 15 but ran into horses after the last and couldn't find a gap.

AugustaHibs
19-03-2021, 01:06 PM
And that’s the reason you’ll never meet a skint bookie..

19-03-2021, 01:40 PM
Struggling to see past the jolly in The Gold Cup.

19-03-2021, 02:07 PM
Champ looked like he had never seen a fence before there. Good decision to pull him up, an accident waiting to happen otherwise.

19-03-2021, 02:12 PM
Fitting that Kennedy and Blackmore were first 2 home. It's been their week.

Magpie
19-03-2021, 02:12 PM
Minella Indo 👏🏻👏🏻

19-03-2021, 02:19 PM
Ending the week pretty badly!

Mikey_1875
19-03-2021, 02:32 PM
Well deserved and Minella indo certainly escaped the attention of the majority of previews i looked at. Can’t believe how poorly the british horses have performed this festival.

19-03-2021, 02:52 PM
Porlock Bay saves the day for me. Just a random pick as well, wasn't going to bother with the race.

Wee ew on Commanding presence in the last.

19-03-2021, 03:05 PM
Well, I had a superb first day, with four winners, but it's been a struggle since. Envoi Allen's fall was the difference, as I'm sure it was for thousands of others. Fine margins and all that....

Overall it's been great to watch so many top horses and jockeys. The main memories for me will be Appreciate It, Honeysuckle, Shishkin and Rachael Blackmore; all magnificent.

19-03-2021, 03:07 PM
Porlock Bay saves the day for me. Just a random pick as well, wasn't going to bother with the race.

Wee ew on Commanding presence in the last.

Brilliant when that happens; I've experienced it a few times: a big price winner just because you liked the name :greengrin:greengrin:agree:

19-03-2021, 03:12 PM
Well, I had a superb first day, with four winners, but it's been a struggle since. Envoi Allen's fall was the difference, as I'm sure it was for thousands of others. Fine margins and all that....

Overall it's been great to watch so many top horses and jockeys. The main memories for me will be Appreciate It, Honeysuckle, Shishkin and Rachael Blackmore; all magnificent.
Ride of the festival had to be Jack Kennedy on Mount Ida in the last yesterday especially if you were on it :greengrin came from last to first to win and was 1000/1 in running Outstanding

19-03-2021, 03:15 PM
Ride of the festival had to be Jack Kennedy on Mount Ida in the last yesterday especially if you were on it :greengrin came from last to first to win and was 1000/1 in running Outstanding

Yes, it looked a certainty Kennedy would pull him up at one stage, only for the horse to decide to behave and show what he can do.

19-03-2021, 03:23 PM
Brilliant when that happens; I've experienced it a few times: a big price winner just because you liked the name :greengrin:greengrin:agree:

Thought it was about time for a British winner and that one fitted the bill nicely!

19-03-2021, 04:50 PM
For me you just had to be impressed with Vanillier in the Albert Bartlett, I'll definitely be keeping an eye on him in the future.

19-03-2021, 06:20 PM
I can't remember the last time I made any money on the last day at Cheltenham. It's the one I struggle with the most. I'm pretty much even for the week, my early bets on Shiskin proved a smart move.

Aside from the betting it was a great week of racing that showcased the sport for all the right reasons. I'm not a huge fan of ITVs coverage but the little segments on all the people behind the scenes and the level of care the horses receive was well done and timely.

Think I'll be getting booked up for next year ASAP.

19-03-2021, 09:36 PM

I backed the fav cos my dad's name is Bill.

Oh well. Managed to have a mad Friday from about 1630 onwards, 2 out of 3 winners on the AW, Dundee/Leeds double, Bamford 1st scorer!

Put a bet on for my Bro for Dundee to win 3-0, quite a pleasant evenings entertainment.

20-03-2021, 11:29 AM
The same guy who cashed in his £5 bet for £250K also won £140K on the tricast in the Gold Cup.

Fair play to him.

20-03-2021, 11:57 AM
The same guy who cashed in his £5 bet for £250K also won £140K on the tricast in the Gold Cup.

Fair play to him.

Bloody hell, is he a professional gambler or just a very lucky guy? Amazing.

20-03-2021, 04:20 PM
It's such a shame that Rachel's achievement has been in these extraordinary times.

Given normal circumstances this would have been a sensational TV story. It's still brilliant, of course.

20-03-2021, 06:15 PM
This is great to watch:

https://youtu.be/atv4hFTfN2s