View Full Version : Scotland Squad Announced Tuesday 16th March
15-03-2021, 09:49 PM
Didn't actually realise there was a Scotland squad due to be announced.
Reports that Che Adams could be included.
Are we expecting any other surprises?
Also been reported that Gauld will not be included.
Magpie
15-03-2021, 09:50 PM
Che Adams would be a good addition. Done well for Southampton this season.
15-03-2021, 09:58 PM
Che Adams would be a good addition. Done well for Southampton this season.
Not Scottish though.
Turned us down in the past but now decided he wants to represent Scotland, coincidence I’m sure that he’s decided he’s Scottish now we’re going to a major championship.
I know it’s the way of the modern world but it’s not for me. I’d rather lose 5 nil but have 11 Scottish players in the team.
1875Sean
15-03-2021, 10:06 PM
Good player, in form and only 24, good addition to the squad
15-03-2021, 10:09 PM
Working wonders in the transfer market. It used to bother me when it was useless championship players, I’m a hypocrite though so happy with this one. We have no better Scottish options, he’s a very good player who will improve us. Any right backs or centre backs now?
15-03-2021, 10:30 PM
Not Scottish though.
Turned us down in the past but now decided he wants to represent Scotland, coincidence I’m sure that he’s decided he’s Scottish now we’re going to a major championship.
I know it’s the way of the modern world but it’s not for me. I’d rather lose 5 nil but have 11 Scottish players in the team.
I'm with you on this one mate, I'm all for someone like McTominay who's decided early on and really played a part to get us here. This guy is just hanging on coattails he can do one of you ask me.
15-03-2021, 10:31 PM
Theres an article on the BBC website talking about who might be picked. No mention of Nesbit in there despite him being the highest scoring Scotsman in the Premiership. The article even mentions McNulty, Shankland and Naismith. Found it a bit strange
15-03-2021, 10:52 PM
Absolutely.
Couldn’t care less what’s allowed, or what’s in the rules...I don’t like it that folk pick and choose their nationality when it suits them. Never have, never will.
If you were to ask Che Adams where he’s from, he’s going to say England, get that tae ****. I want it to be a prideful moment, not just something they got a chance to do.
And, aye there are exceptions generally. You don’t have to be born somewhere to feel like you’re from there.
15-03-2021, 11:24 PM
If Scotland were to progress in a major championship for the first time then I really wouldn't give a monkeys where any individual was born.
15-03-2021, 11:28 PM
It would be a joke if Nisbet isn't in the squad.
15-03-2021, 11:29 PM
Absolutely.
Couldn’t care less what’s allowed, or what’s in the rules...I don’t like it that folk pick and choose their nationality when it suits them. Never have, never will.
If you were to ask Che Adams where he’s from, he’s going to say England, get that tae ****. I want it to be a prideful moment, not just something they got a chance to do.
And, aye there are exceptions generally. You don’t have to be born somewhere to feel like you’re from there.
Andy Gorman was far from Scottish when he got picked and I’m sure he’d have rather have played for England - but things can change once you pick a guy.
Virtually all the top countries have guys who qualify but probably hadn’t considered themselves of that nationality earlier in life.
Adams would be our 1st or 2nd best striker and we’d be mad not to take him.
15-03-2021, 11:43 PM
Andy Gorman was far from Scottish when he got picked and I’m sure he’d have rather have played for England - but things can change once you pick a guy.
Virtually all the top countries have guys who qualify but probably hadn’t considered themselves of that nationality earlier in life.
And hopefully leave McBurnie back in Sheffield.....
1875Sean
15-03-2021, 11:48 PM
To be fair he hasn’t really been playing for us
16-03-2021, 02:52 AM
Only if McNulty, Shankland or Naismith were in front of him imo.
16-03-2021, 05:42 AM
Can’t say I’m particularly interested in English football so wouldn’t have a clue who Che Adams is but 9 goals in 65 games for Southampton is hardly setting the world alight. Saying that, that’s clinical finishing compared to Mcburnie stats off late.
16-03-2021, 05:54 AM
Can’t say I’m particularly interested in English football so wouldn’t have a clue who Che Adams is but 9 goals in 65 games for Southampton is hardly setting the world alight. Saying that, that’s clinical finishing compared to Mcburnie stats off late.
Che Adams good player strong second striker I would say. Would certainly improve the group and to be honest why not as every one else does it though does seem a little convenient from his perspective. Will be interesting how regular he is in some of the less glamorous away games.
16-03-2021, 05:54 AM
Not really.
16-03-2021, 05:56 AM
Absolutely.
Just because he is from England doesn't mean he can't feel Scottish or have strong roots to Scotland. No idea what his story is.
16-03-2021, 06:47 AM
Just because he is from England doesn't mean he can't feel Scottish or have strong roots to Scotland. No idea what his story is.
Which is what I said. You don’t have to be born somewhere to feel like you’re from there.
I feel pretty confident in saying I think that Che Adams has never in his life considered himself Scottish. He’s born and raised in England. His dad is Antiguan, but he knocked back that call up. A granddad was Scottish. If he agrees to play for Scotland it’s cos he knows it’s a chance to play at a major championship, not because he feels Scottish.
I’d rather have Oli Shaw.
16-03-2021, 06:49 AM
Let's face it, the most in form scottish striker won't get a call up because of who he plays for:
Australia.
16-03-2021, 06:56 AM
Goram was an outstanding keeper. Adams is a good striker. Nae argument from me.
I don’t know Gorams back story, but my guess would be - he was English, he identified as English. He grew an affinity for Scotland while up here. Great keeper. If I could make the rules, he’d no have been picked for Scotland. That said, I don’t know his back story, I might be wrong on the above.
I couldn’t care less what other countries do. We’re not getting a team of Messi’s who are going to win us a World Cup through a Scottish granny they never met. We get Che Adams and Graham Murty and Nigel Quashie - “I'd be very interested in playing for Scotland. I'd never given up hope of forcing my way into the full England set-up but I would consider playing for Scotland.".
I’m not arguing that anyone who is happy about it is wrong. You can have your opinion.
16-03-2021, 07:27 AM
I can see the point of those who only want Scottish players, but we are playing against sides now, who are not all from that country.
Unless we join in with the charade, we will only fall further down the pecking order.
For me i'd love a few years like the Irish had under Jack Charlton, and they had all sorts of English and Scots playing for them.
16-03-2021, 07:38 AM
I don’t know Gorams back story, but my guess would be - he was English, he identified as English. He grew an affinity for Scotland while up here. Great keeper. If I could make the rules, he’d no have been picked for Scotland. That said, I don’t know his back story, I might be wrong on the above.
I couldn’t care less what other countries do. We’re not getting a team of Messi’s who are going to win us a World Cup through a Scottish granny they never met. We get Che Adams and Graham Murty and Nigel Quashie - “I'd be very interested in playing for Scotland. I'd never given up hope of forcing my way into the full England set-up but I would consider playing for Scotland.".
I’m not arguing that anyone who is happy about it is wrong. You can have your opinion.
Andy gorams dad was Scottish, pretty sure he played for Hibs as well but might have that wrong
16-03-2021, 07:49 AM
Andy gorams dad was Scottish, pretty sure he played for Hibs as well but might have that wrong
Louis Goram - played a few games in wartime I think?
16-03-2021, 07:59 AM
Which is what I said. You don’t have to be born somewhere to feel like you’re from there.
I feel pretty confident in saying I think that Che Adams has never in his life considered himself Scottish. He’s born and raised in England. His dad is Antiguan, but he knocked back that call up. A granddad was Scottish. If he agrees to play for Scotland it’s cos he knows it’s a chance to play at a major championship, not because he feels Scottish.
I’d rather have Oli Shaw.
Agree, although not sure about Oli Shaw :greengrin
Alfiembra
16-03-2021, 07:59 AM
Theres an article on the BBC website talking about who might be picked. No mention of Nesbit in there despite him being the highest scoring Scotsman in the Premiership. The article even mentions McNulty, Shankland and Naismith. Found it a bit strange
Very much agree, the article was supposed to list those players perhaps on the fringes of a call up with an outside chance of being selected and not a word about Nisbet or any other Hibs player for that matter. Such biased reporting again by the BBC surprised Anti Niemi didn’t get a shout.
16-03-2021, 08:05 AM
Very much agree, the article was supposed to list those players perhaps on the fringes of a call up with an outside chance of being selected and not a word about Nisbet or any other Hibs player for that matter. Such biased reporting again by the BBC surprised Anti Niemi didn’t get a shout.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.com/sport/amp/football/56389654
Was about to post the same. No mention of Nisbet, Porteous or Cadden - particularly odd given the last 2 have actually featured in the squad.
16-03-2021, 08:08 AM
Was about to post the same. No mention of Nisbet, Porteous or Cadden - particularly odd given the last 2 have actually featured in the squad.
The standard of Scottish sports journalism at the BBC has been declining for years.
16-03-2021, 08:08 AM
Any mention of Nisbet though.
16-03-2021, 08:09 AM
To be fair Nisbet hasn't been starting regularly, Porteous only back in the team and I don't think Cadden's shown anywhere near enough yet.
Scotland have a massive problem up front, I think Dykes has got 1 goal from open play all season and the Sheff U pair are absolute mince.
16-03-2021, 08:13 AM
To be fair Nisbet hasn't been starting regularly, Porteous only back in the team and I don't think Cadden's shown anywhere near enough yet.
Scotland have a massive problem up front, I think Dykes has got 1 goal from open play all season and the Sheff U pair are absolute mince.
Dykes is an average player who done well in a specific role for Scotland imo.
If he can find form in that role for Scotland again then it’s good news however I wouldn’t want to be too reliant on him. Problem is that there’s nobody else.
Hillsidehibby
16-03-2021, 08:14 AM
Louis Goram - played a few games in wartime I think?
He used to be a mate of my dad. Drank in Farleys in Leith Street
16-03-2021, 08:19 AM
I’m assuming the lad Paterson at The Rangers is a Scot. We have struggled for eight backs and he looks really good to me. Be surprised if he is not straight in at number 2
16-03-2021, 08:20 AM
We have struggled for eight backs
Craig, you're not Scotland manager anymore.
Brummie_Hibs
16-03-2021, 08:20 AM
It would be hard to argue for any Hibs player in the squad today.
If Nisbet goes on a crazy scoring run from now until end of season, then he has a chance for Euros. But I expect today's squad is 95% Euros squad.
Porteous should have been a stick on, but he hasn't kicked on this season - if anything he's regressed. For Scotland's sake he needs to leave Hibs.
Next up is Doig, but unfortunately he's in the wrong position, so he'll only be used as cover.
16-03-2021, 08:23 AM
We’ve had threads on here saying he was out of form and in the huff.
I would take Che Adams in a heartbeat. Our biggest weakness is our strikers and if it means bye bye McBurnie then sign me up. Every single national team has players who weren’t necessarily born or living there.
Pig-headed nationalism applied to our team isn’t going to get us anywhere unfortunately.
Disgrace job if Paul Hanlon isn’t in the squad.
16-03-2021, 08:24 AM
I’m assuming the lad Paterson at The Rangers is a Scot. We have struggled for eight backs and he looks really good to me. Be surprised if he is not straight in at number 2
Kris Commons says Patterson has earned his chance.
He has, I think 4 senior appearances. Not long ago he attended a party in Covid lockdown.
You don't have to do much 'earning' these days, do you?
16-03-2021, 08:30 AM
I would take Che Adams in a heartbeat. Our biggest weakness is our strikers and if it means bye bye McBurnie then sign me up. Every single national team has players who weren’t necessarily born or living there.
Pig-headed nationalism applied to our team isn’t going to get us anywhere unfortunately.
You call it pig headed nationalism, I call it national pride and patriotism.
16-03-2021, 08:45 AM
Do we know what time the squad is being announced?
16-03-2021, 08:45 AM
It's not just that either. Players who have a genuine Scottish connection, has dreamed of it for years will give it everything they have. Much more so than someone who turned up to the table late and doesn't really care, other than experiencing the tournament for themselves.
16-03-2021, 08:46 AM
It would be hard to argue for any Hibs player in the squad today.
If Nisbet goes on a crazy scoring run from now until end of season, then he has a chance for Euros. But I expect today's squad is 95% Euros squad.
Porteous should have been a stick on, but he hasn't kicked on this season - if anything he's regressed. For Scotland's sake he needs to leave Hibs.
Next up is Doig, but unfortunately he's in the wrong position, so he'll only be used as cover.
I think Nisbet should be in this squad but will need to do a lot more to make the euros squad (I'm assuming this will be 26, whereas the tournament is only 23)
16-03-2021, 08:53 AM
If a player qualifies to play for Scotland pick him. Other countries have been doing it for years. We need to change the mindset that a player has to be "Scottish"
The Germans and the French have no problems with it so why should we.
16-03-2021, 08:54 AM
It's not just that either. Players who have a genuine Scottish connection, has dreamed of it for years will give it everything they have. Much more so than someone who turned up to the table late and doesn't really care, other than experiencing the tournament for themselves.
That’s the national pride I was saying.
16-03-2021, 08:56 AM
From a purely footballing point of view I would say Adams is pretty decent and better than the strikers Scotland are currently employing up top. I'll leave the merits of whether a born again Scot should be included to others to debate.
As for Nisbet and Porto I'd be very surprised if they were included in the squad, Nisbet is struggling to get in our team at present and Porto just finding his feet again. Is there a clamour elsewhere in the Scottish fanbase for their inclusion? I seriously doubt it outside of our green wall.
16-03-2021, 08:56 AM
If a player qualifies to play for Scotland pick him. Other countries have been doing it for years. We need to change the mindset that a player has to be "Scottish"
Is that what we should aspire to? “Just be like everyone else”.
16-03-2021, 09:08 AM
From a purely footballing point of view I would say Adams is pretty decent and better than the strikers Scotland are currently employing up top. I'll leave the merits of whether a born again Scot should be included to others to debate.
As for Nisbet and Porto I'd be very surprised if they were included in the squad, Nisbet is struggling to get in our team at present and Porto just finding his feet again. Is there a clamour elsewhere in the Scottish fanbase for their inclusion? I seriously doubt it outside of our green wall.
Agreed. I’d be raging if a largely benched Hearts or Aberdeen player got into what must be our most competitive squad possible. Nisbet on form is good enough, but he will need a blazing end to the season to be noticed now IMO.
16-03-2021, 09:09 AM
Be like everyone else and qualify consistently for national tournaments, errr yes please. Pig headed nationalism will not get us anywhere in the footballing world.
16-03-2021, 09:12 AM
Be like everyone else and qualify consistently for national tournaments, errr yes please. Pig headed nationalism will not get us anywhere in the footballing world.
Oink
16-03-2021, 09:23 AM
Aye if it gets you to tournaments on a regular basis. Under the rules I qualify for the Republic of Ireland. Do I consider myself Irish, No, but if they asked me to represent them and Scotland did not want me I would play for them. Martin Boyle has done it. I do "Just want to be like everyone else" if it means success
16-03-2021, 09:25 AM
Aye if it gets you to tournaments on a regular basis. Under the rules I qualify for the Republic of Ireland. Do I consider myself Irish, No, but if they asked me to represent them and Scotland did not want me I would play for them. Martin Boyle has done it. I do "Just want to be like everyone else" if it means success
I also qualify to play for Ireland. Never in a million years would I do it.
Nevi_SOL
16-03-2021, 09:27 AM
Cadden could be in for a call up. Best Scottish RWB since he joined us going by stats
16-03-2021, 09:28 AM
The Germans and the French have players that are desperate to play for them.
The likes of Che Adams isn’t desperate to play for us, he’s reluctantly agreed as we’ve made it to a major championship.
I think ditching guys who have got his this far to accommodate someone that turned us down in the past is very poor.
Still though, if he chooses us, scores a goal or two at the championships he’ll maybe get a big move to another club and get a decent pay rise. He’s then got what he needed out of us and can go back to being English again.
16-03-2021, 09:31 AM
Don't see a reason why Nisbet wouldn't be called up, top Scot scoring in Scotland, natural ability to be in the right place at the right time and a very decent shot on him. He should certainly be in or around the squad atm. BBC not even mentioning him or at least touting Naismith (5 championship goals), McNulty (2 goals) and Shankland (7 goals) before Nisbet (who has scored more than all of them put together) is just typical of them.
16-03-2021, 09:32 AM
Don't see a reason why Nisbet wouldn't be called up, top Scot scoring in Scotland, natural ability to be in the right place at the right time and a very decent shot on him. He should certainly be in or around the squad atm. BBC not even mentioning him or at least touting Naismith (5 championship goals), McNulty (2 goals) and Shankland (7 goals) before Nisbet (who has scored more than all of them put together) is just typical of them.
I can still see Nisbet getting called up, but only if he scores a few between now and the end of the season.
16-03-2021, 09:38 AM
The Germans and the French have players that are desperate to play for them.
The likes of Che Adams isn’t desperate to play for us, he’s reluctantly agreed as we’ve made it to a major championship.
I think ditching guys who have got his this far to accommodate someone that turned us down in the past is very poor.
Still though, if he chooses us, scores a goal or two at the championships he’ll maybe get a big move to another club and get a decent pay rise. He’s then got what he needed out of us and can go back to being English again.
So Crops and Goram are now "English again".
16-03-2021, 09:42 AM
Agreed. I’d be raging if a largely benched Hearts or Aberdeen player got into what must be our most competitive squad possible. Nisbet on form is good enough, but he will need a blazing end to the season to be noticed now IMO.
Nisbet doesn’t have a hope anymore I don’t think.
Like you said, it’ll take plenty goals before the end of the season to even give him a chance.
Velma Dinkley
16-03-2021, 09:51 AM
Only Edouard has scored more goals than Nisbet in the Scottish Premier League this season.
16-03-2021, 09:52 AM
Only Edouard has scored more goals than Nisbet in the Scottish Premier League this season.
Scottish Premiership😀
16-03-2021, 09:53 AM
So Crops and Goram are now "English again".
Did they consider themselves English before getting capped? If so, then yes.
If somebody is born in England, or anywhere for that matter, but brought up here or considers themselves Scottish because of where their parents are from then I’ve not got a problem with them representing Scotland as it will no doubt be the pinnacle of their career, or right up there.
Che Adam’s is an Englishman with a Scottish grandad who previously turned us down because we were crap. Now he’s changed his mind because he gets to go to a major championship, that other players have worked hard to achieve, simply isn’t for me.
16-03-2021, 09:58 AM
Nisbet deserves a call up based on his goal scoring record. It will give them a chance to see what he can do we are not strong in that area.
16-03-2021, 10:27 AM
If somebody is born in England, or anywhere for that matter, but brought up here or considers themselves Scottish because of where their parents are from then I’ve not got a problem with them representing Scotland as it will no doubt be the pinnacle of their career, or right up there.
Che Adam’s is an Englishman with a Scottish grandad who previously turned us down because we were crap. Now he’s changed his mind because he gets to go to a major championship, that other players have worked hard to achieve, simply isn’t for me.
Exactly. Completely agree.
16-03-2021, 10:35 AM
Che Adams getting a call up is a no from me.
Sends the wrong message and is a massive slap in the face to those who have been in the squad or trying to get in the squad.
He’s previously rejected us because we were rubbish but now wants to play at the euros which will be for purely selfish reasons.
Let’s promote our own young strikers and give them a bit of publicity, Nisbet, Shankland etc.
Talk of Ryan Frederick’s getting a call up too, we play a 352 so what about Cadden?
I’m not just wanting Hibs players called up as I’m realistic and know they won’t all be good enough. But my god, Scotland have more than enough quality players that would do a job before we go picking up the players that change their mind now we’re qualified.
16-03-2021, 10:47 AM
Grant Hanley is now 29. Has played 35 games this season for Norwich who are currently 10 points clear at the top of the English Championship and is their captain. I think his time has come.
Re Che Adams, I suspect Stuart Armstrong has been in his ear and built his interest. They link up well and Armstrong is arguably in the best form of all the Scottish midfielders.
Hibs players probably not in the running at the moment with Cadden closest due to our countries lack of right backs.
Similarly Shankland drifting out and McNulty is completely gone with Naismith disappearing over the hill a year ago.
Considine sadly appears to have gone over the hill since the last international so should drop out as well.
Griffiths has a chance due to his ability to come on as a sub and score goals against anyone.
Che Adams has a chance because he is better than any striker we currently have.
Not sure how many strikers the pool will have in it but you could be looking at Adams, Dykes, McBurnie & Griffiths.
I wouldn't consider Fraser an out and out striker but he could play up there.
At right back, O'Donnell because although of limited ability he has done well for Scotland. Patterson at Rangers is no better than Josh Doig a d less experienced. He isn't ready yet. Cadden has a chance because of the sheer lack of right backs. Palmer is no great shakes and Sheff Wed are struggling so not keen on him. Talk of Ryan Frederick's, another English guy has gone quiet but would be an upgrade on Palmer.
In summary the big movers at this time could be Hanley and Adams.
16-03-2021, 10:47 AM
Martin Boyle picked Aus as they asked him 1st. One of his parents is also Aus so there is a strong connection. Maybe he always wanted to play for them.
16-03-2021, 10:49 AM
Understand the gripes about Adams, but when we have such limited options up front I kind of think its a necessary evil.
He's been performing consistently well at a much higher level over the past couple of years than any of our other strikers. Shankland and Nisbet are out of form, Griffiths has been in and out the Celtic team and by all accounts Dykes has been having a very poor season for QPR.
As long as he's coming in fully motivated and ready to give his all for the team then I don't have a massive issue with it. I'd rather we bring in good players to help us win, than poorer players who are more Scottish.
16-03-2021, 10:51 AM
No conversation on that link about the keeper in Marshall’s absence. Are we looking at McGregor, Gordon and AN Other? The boy from Portsmouth, or McLaughlin, or Kelly as #3?
16-03-2021, 10:51 AM
Martin Boyle picked Aus as they asked him 1st. One of his parents is also Aus so there is a strong connection. Maybe he always wanted to play for them.
My wife's French and my 2 daughters were both born and raised here in Brittany - ie. they're French. However if they were to be picked to represent Scotland at something (heaven knows what!), they would be well up for it and as proud as any 100% Scot.
They wouldn't feel the same about representing the UK.
16-03-2021, 10:53 AM
Gorams dad was Scottish and used to play for Hibs I think.
16-03-2021, 10:54 AM
I can see the point of those who only want Scottish players, but we are playing against sides now, who are not all from that country.
Unless we join in with the charade, we will only fall further down the pecking order.
For me i'd love a few years like the Irish had under Jack Charlton, and they had all sorts of English and Scots playing for them.
Agree with that.
16-03-2021, 10:55 AM
Don’t really get the he wasn’t brought up drinking Irn Bru / wearing a kilt chat so can’t play for Scotland.
Are we not an inclusive nation?
Let’s face it Scotland are still pretty mince and some of managers / performances over the last few years - I can see why players distanced themselves from it - but an improved team and tournament surely will raise the profile for all.
There are plenty of examples of national teams with all different people representing. Even look at the Scotland rugby team now - no coincidence they have improved by actively recruiting a variety of players.
Is there not a bigger picture here of a successful national team may inspire others to play football and even maybe improve the quality over time.
The game needs all the help it can get in Scotland to improve.
As for Hibs players - I can’t see any being called up. Personally don’t think they are at the level required. Of course it would be nice to see someone be selected but Nisbet hardly played recently / Porto form fluctuated and Cadden - not at the level yet - not even Hibs best performer.
16-03-2021, 10:55 AM
I’m sure he said before that he was waiting/hoping for the calm from Mcleish I think it was and he was told it wasn’t coming so opted for Australia as they showed a real urgency.
16-03-2021, 11:01 AM
Agree with that.
BH makes a good point.
My gripe is that he turned us down when we were crap but wants to play when we’re at a championship.
I don’t like it but I reluctantly agree with the point BH was making, once they turn us down though for me that should be it.
FWIW there’s this assumption that if they play in a England they must automatically be better than what’s up here. I’ve not seen the guy play so I’ve no idea, his goal scoring record isn’t great though and IMO Scotland have been a better team when we’ve played a team mostly players in the Scottish Premiership that are desperate for us to succeed.
If Gordon Strachan realised that 6 months before he did we might have qualified for a championship under him.
16-03-2021, 11:04 AM
BH makes a good point.
My gripe is that he turned us down when we were crap but wants to play when we’re at a championship.
I don’t like it but I reluctantly agree with the point BH was making, once they turn us down though for me that should be it.
FWIW there’s this assumption that if they play in a England they must automatically be better than what’s up here. I’ve not seen the guy play so I’ve no idea, his goal scoring record isn’t great though and IMO Scotland have been a better team when we’ve played a team mostly players in the Scottish Premiership that are desperate for us to succeed.
If Gordon Strachan realised that 6 months before he did we might have qualified for a championship under him.
I think he is much better than what we have and think he would be improving us. Think we would be cutting our nose off to spite our face by not choosing him imo. If Clarke is comfortable with it so am I to be honest. Let's see what happens.
16-03-2021, 11:15 AM
BH makes a good point.
That’s like saying a player turns down a club team when they aren’t doing well but then decides to play for them when they get promoted / into Europe etc. Happens all the time.
This will continue to have and is a dated mindset. Football has moved on and many different nations have various nationalities playing for them.
It shouldn’t matter at all. Also admitting you haven’t seen the guy play doesn’t really help either.
16-03-2021, 11:16 AM
My wife's French and my 2 daughters were both born and raised here in Brittany - ie. they're French. However if they were to be picked to represent Scotland at something (heaven knows what!), they would be well up for it and as proud as any 100% Scot.
They wouldn't feel the same about representing the UK.
You will of course have given them a good education in the history of Les Verts.
16-03-2021, 11:19 AM
You will of course have given the a good education in the history of Les Verts.
They're educated enough to know not to bother me when I'm watching Hibs TV.
1875Sean
16-03-2021, 11:22 AM
No conversation on that link about the keeper in Marshall’s absence. Are we looking at McGregor, Gordon and AN Other? The boy from Portsmouth, or McLaughlin, or Kelly as #3?
McGregor retired from international duty about a year or so ago, can’t see him coming back unless he is guaranteed to be number 1
I know a lot of people are saying they are not having Che Adam’s, look at James Morrison, English as they come, was a really good player for Scotland, I am sure the same people who are having reservations had the same with him, but prob was jumping about crazy when Morrison scored against England
16-03-2021, 11:23 AM
That’s like saying a player turns down a club team when they aren’t doing well but then decides to play for them when they get promoted / into Europe etc. Happens all the time.
This will continue to have and is a dated mindset. Football has moved on and many different nations have various nationalities playing for them.
It shouldn’t matter at all. Also admitting you haven’t seen the guy play doesn’t really help either.
It’s nothing like a player turning down a club side.
16-03-2021, 11:30 AM
Don’t really get the he wasn’t brought up drinking Irn Bru / wearing a kilt chat so can’t play for Scotland.
Are we not an inclusive nation?
Let’s face it Scotland are still pretty mince and some of managers / performances over the last few years - I can see why players distanced themselves from it - but an improved team and tournament surely will raise the profile for all.
There are plenty of examples of national teams with all different people representing. Even look at the Scotland rugby team now - no coincidence they have improved by actively recruiting a variety of players.
Is there not a bigger picture here of a successful national team may inspire others to play football and even maybe improve the quality over time.
The game needs all the help it can get in Scotland to improve.
As for Hibs players - I can’t see any being called up. Personally don’t think they are at the level required. Of course it would be nice to see someone be selected but Nisbet hardly played recently / Porto form fluctuated and Cadden - not at the level yet - not even Hibs best performer.
Nobody is saying anything about irn bru or kilts. They don’t have to have haggis every day.
Nor has this got anything to do with being inclusive. Nor does the profile of football need raised in Scotland.
If playing for your country doesn’t mean anything anymore then we’re as well just scrapping it and playing more club tournaments. I don’t even understand why it’s the slightest bit controversial to want the players who represent our country on the national stage to class themselves as one of us?? Give me someone who stands with pride through the national anthem over someone who goes to check what the England score is as soon as our games over.
BH makes a good point.
That’s the problem I have as well. The guy didn’t want to play for Scotland and that should be the end of it. If he’d agreed when he was first asked I’d have no problem with him playing for us.
Nisbet called up :hyper
16-03-2021, 11:32 AM
McGregor retired from international duty about a year or so ago, can’t see him coming back unless he is guaranteed to be number 1
I know a lot of people are saying they are not having Che Adam’s, look at James Morrison, English as they come, was a really good player for Scotland, I am sure the same people who are having reservations had the same with him, but prob was jumping about crazy when Morrison scored against England
I’ll jump about if Che Adams scores for Scotland.
I celebrated when Hibs scored and Butcher/Calderwood was in charge, even when it was obvious they weren’t the right men for the job. I don’t have to like everything that’s going on to be happy Hibs or Scotland score a goal.
16-03-2021, 11:33 AM
Decent for the lad
16-03-2021, 11:33 AM
Kevin Nisbet is in the squad announced
16-03-2021, 11:34 AM
In an ideal world I would only want born and bred Scotsmen playing for Scotland.
However it isn't as straightforward as that.
Alex Cropley was born in Aldershot as his father was stationed there whilst in the army. He is as Scottish as they come in my opinion and I think along with Bob Wilson were the first English born players to play for Scotland. It would have been a sin if he couldn't have played for us.
At the other end of the spectrum I was in Paris at the Scotland Brazil game and it just looked wrong to see Matthew Elliott in a kilt pre match.
If Scotland want to progress as a nation I think we have to grab anyone who can make us better in the short term. If that gives us a better status then we might get more Scotsmen coming through as a knock on effect.
16-03-2021, 11:36 AM
Wonder if we will be due Dunfermline a few more quid if he gets capped?
16-03-2021, 11:38 AM
Delighted for Nisbet. Well deserved.
16-03-2021, 11:38 AM
A wee bit surprised given the last few weeks, great opportunity for him though. Hopefully gets a chance on the pitch.
16-03-2021, 11:40 AM
:doh: I’d forgotten. Just watching him this season you just assume he’s the best in his position so he must be there.
So it’s Gordon, McLaughlin and AN other maybe.
16-03-2021, 11:41 AM
A little surprised/disappointed that Considine is in ahead of Hanlon.
16-03-2021, 11:42 AM
No Turnbull is a surprise. Marshall in, I thought he was injured...
16-03-2021, 11:42 AM
Think that will be our strike force for the Euro’s.
deekster
16-03-2021, 11:43 AM
Nisbit is in the squad 👍
16-03-2021, 11:43 AM
I hadn’t even noticed Turnbull wasn’t in there. That is a surprise.
16-03-2021, 11:44 AM
Delighted for Kevin, reckon he'll get a run out, especially against Faroes.
16-03-2021, 11:46 AM
Pleased for the lad. His father would have been so proud.
16-03-2021, 11:46 AM
Obviously didn't show Clarke enough in his time with the squad previously.
16-03-2021, 11:47 AM
Adams, Dykes, McBurnie and Nisbet as forwards
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EwmWwZdXIAALoaQ?format=jpg&name=900x900
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-03-2021, 11:53 AM
Would have had Shaun Rooney from St Johnstone in considering how he's performed for them in big games tbh, big powerful runner and we're not exactly blessed with world class right backs
16-03-2021, 11:53 AM
GK:
Marshall
Gordon
McLaughlin
Defenders:
O'Donnell
Palmer
Cooper
Gallagher/Hanley/Hendry
McKenna
Hendry/Hanley/Gallagher
Robertson
Tierney
Midfielders:
Armstrong
Christie
McGinn
McGregor
McTominay
Fraser
McLean/Turnbull
Strikers:
Adams
Dykes
McBurnie
Nisbet
Going by that squad announcement. Could see the Euro's squad mostly like this.
Magpie
16-03-2021, 11:55 AM
Well done Kevin 👍🏻
supermcginn
16-03-2021, 11:57 AM
I don't think even Paul would be surprised. Considine has done really well since he got his chance.
16-03-2021, 11:58 AM
Obviously didn't show Clarke enough in his time with the squad previously.
He wasn't in the squad long enough to impress anyone.
He came on as a sub and Clarke congratulated him on doing a job for him.
He just has to keep playing and see what happens.
16-03-2021, 12:02 PM
Surprised Turnbull from Celtic hasn’t been called up
Allez Hibs
16-03-2021, 12:03 PM
Well said.
Velma Dinkley
16-03-2021, 12:04 PM
It will be interesting to see who plays in central defence seeing as five central defenders have been called up, along with Tierney and McTominay, who Clarke has played in central defence. Hopefully we might see McTominay pushed into midfield.
16-03-2021, 12:12 PM
Excellent news for Kevin, he deserves it. :thumbsup:
16-03-2021, 12:22 PM
Nisbet in is good for him but better for Hibs. He's had a rest and this will be a big lift for him and a good chance he will go on a run after Saturdays goal.
Adams and Hanley will both improve the team.
Surprised Considine kept his place.
Turnbull could have been included instead of Fleck although as ever we have an embarrassment of riches in midfield (and left backs).
Good for Nisbet and will hopefully give him a bit of added motivation to get back in the team and scoring regularly for the next couple of months to ensure he is still in the squad come the summer.
16-03-2021, 12:33 PM
Surprised to see McBurnie in there again. Has he been performing well down south and I’ve missed it?
16-03-2021, 12:33 PM
Just looked up the guy Adams and this was the first result, from Wikipedia...
His Wiki entry was changed just a few minutes ago to remove the word 'English'.
It doesn't actually say he's Scottish yet, but at least the offensive adjective was removed :wink:
16-03-2021, 12:38 PM
Surprised to see McBurnie in there again. Has he been performing well down south and I’ve missed it?
I think the thing with Mcburnie is the type of striker he is.
I know he’s not done it effectively for Scotland but to me it looks like Dykes is the big guy to win flick ons and hold the ball up, we need a replacement for him if he gets injured or has to come off. I don’t think the other strikers are the sort of battering ram type that Dykes and McBurnie are
Yes yes yes, I’m fully aware that argument has many many holes in it and McBurnie doesn’t really have much of a defence. It’s just that I don’t think it’s as simple as one striker out and bring another one in, it’s a specific type of forward I think we are looking for with McBurnie and other than him there aren’t many alternatives that fit the bill.
16-03-2021, 12:40 PM
Am glad to see Kevin in, great news. I can't for the life of me see how Fleck and McBurnie are there tho. Turnbull would be better than Fleck and a wheelie bin would be better than McBurnie
16-03-2021, 12:44 PM
Nisbit is in the squad 👍
take it you mean Nesbet.
16-03-2021, 12:45 PM
a wheelie bin would be better than McBurnie
The wheelie bin is English (https://wheeliebins.com/who-invented-the-wheelie-bin/), but if it can do a job then I say go for it.
16-03-2021, 12:48 PM
I think one of the Andy Gorams was English and the other one was Scottish.
That made it much easier to support him at Hampden.
16-03-2021, 12:56 PM
Apparently Marshall was on the bench for Derby at the weekend
16-03-2021, 12:58 PM
A squad of 26. Can only take 23 to the Euro's.
Who misses out?
Three out from Considine, Palmer, Hendry, Fleck and McLean.
It will also be interesting to see if Griffiths replaces Nisbet in the Euro's squad.
Can Turnbull still make it?
Thought they might have given Rooney a whirl instead of Palmer.
Clarke is loyal to the players who got them there so perhaps the likes of Turnbull won't find places.
16-03-2021, 12:58 PM
The wheelie bin is English (https://wheeliebins.com/who-invented-the-wheelie-bin/), but if it can do a job then I say go for it.
Does it have a Scottish granny. Oor Wullie had a bucket so might qualify under that rule as I believe there is a family line from that bucket to the wheelie bin. Certainly no more far fetched than some of the Irish internationals of the past!
The dalmeny
16-03-2021, 12:59 PM
Welcome to 1932
The dalmeny
16-03-2021, 01:04 PM
There's a lot of petty nationalism being thrown about tjis thread but I'm in full agreement on the last point. One of the boys who earned qualification will be out that's just mot on
16-03-2021, 01:10 PM
Welcome to 1932
Godwin's Law?
16-03-2021, 01:19 PM
Nobody is saying anything about irn bru or kilts. They don’t have to have haggis every day.
Nor has this got anything to do with being inclusive. Nor does the profile of football need raised in Scotland.
If playing for your country doesn’t mean anything anymore then we’re as well just scrapping it and playing more club tournaments. I don’t even understand why it’s the slightest bit controversial to want the players who represent our country on the national stage to class themselves as one of us?? Give me someone who stands with pride through the national anthem over someone who goes to check what the England score is as soon as our games over.
What’s your criteria to play for Scotland? Or to be classified in your terms as “one of us” ?!!
Profile of men’s Scottish football has hit rock bottom last few years - it certainly needs a lift. If you can’t see that you must live under a rock.
Many players prefer club to country - why ? Because they pay the wages plus higher level. Many club teams would beat National teams - again many examples players pulling out of international games due to Collin being a priority.
16-03-2021, 01:24 PM
You would think Scotland would surely have more keepers to call on ?
33 year old - Huns back up and played 11 games this season and back up.
36 year old - currently injured and should be number 1
38 year old - playing against mince
16-03-2021, 01:27 PM
The boy at Motherwell and Portsmouth would be 2
16-03-2021, 01:29 PM
What’s your criteria to play for Scotland? Or to be classified in your terms as “one of us” ?!!
Profile of men’s Scottish football has hit rock bottom last few years - it certainly needs a lift. If you can’t see that you must under a rock.
Many players prefer club to country - why ? Because they pay the wages plus higher level. Many club teams would beat National teams - again many examples players pulling out of international games due to Collin being a priority.
One of us, means Scottish. Like I’ve said previously on this thread, you don’t have to be born here to class yourself as Scottish. If you play for us cos you’re simply no good enough to play for England then you’re not Scottish and I don’t want you.
Isn’t Scottish football right up there with attendances by % of population? The profile of football in Scotland is plenty high enough.
Velma Dinkley
16-03-2021, 01:30 PM
Marshall wasn't injured for long. He's back in the Derby squad so hopefully will be able to play.
16-03-2021, 01:35 PM
The boy at Motherwell and Portsmouth would be 2
Kelly and McGillvary really are the only keepers behind the current 3.
There must be a chance that Gordon and Marshall knock it on the head after the Euro's so we would be down to 3 choices.
Caveat- That daft son of an ex Scotland goalie Angus Gunn may decide to join us at some point
16-03-2021, 01:36 PM
Welcome to 1932
WTF are you on about?
green with envy
16-03-2021, 01:52 PM
If Adams were to emulate another English born forward and score the winner at Wembley in June, I'm sure all the doubters won't care a jot regardless of his place of birth.
16-03-2021, 02:05 PM
It will be interesting to see who plays in central defence seeing as five central defenders have been called up, along with Tierney and McTominay, who Clarke has played in central defence. Hopefully we might see McTominay pushed into midfield.
Would be good to see McTominay playing in his Man Utd role.
Hopefully Hanley will show in the World Cup qualifiers that he is no longer a bomb scare defender and can take his place at the back.
A wee bonus is that Hanley is dangerous at set pieces into the opposition box.
16-03-2021, 02:35 PM
Must admit once qualifications on nationality were relaxed I’ve lost interest in most international sport. It’s just a group of people playing under a flag of convenience. In rugby and cricket it’s reduced to is your lot of New Zealander’s/South Africans/Fijians better than our lot.At least the residential qualification in rugby is increased to 5 years from 3 .
16-03-2021, 03:32 PM
Must admit once qualifications on nationality were relaxed I’ve lost interest in most international sport. It’s just a group of people playing under a flag of convenience. In rugby and cricket it’s reduced to is your lot of New Zealander’s/South Africans/Fijians better than our lot.At least the residential qualification in rugby is increased to 5 years from 3 .
Is there not another aspect to International Rugby whereby the New Zealand and South Africans play for the home nations and European rugby nations in return for lucrative contracts with the likes of England able to pay far more than Scotland and thereby getting the best imports and making a mockery of International Rugby.
16-03-2021, 03:42 PM
Godwin's Law?
Chat like that will take the thread in a whole new direction then you’ll be asking for it to be closed or moved :greengrin
16-03-2021, 03:42 PM
Would be good to see McTominay playing in his Man Utd role.
Hopefully Hanley will show in the World Cup qualifiers that he is no longer a bomb scare defender and can take his place at the back.
A wee bonus is that Hanley is dangerous at set pieces into the opposition box.
He's also quite dangerous in his own. :greengrin
hibbie02
16-03-2021, 03:51 PM
Cannot understand what anyone sees in that guy. I would take a wheelie bin any day. I wouldn't have any of the Sheffield players (United or Weds) and not keen on any of the Norwich contingent (Hanley possibly).
16-03-2021, 03:51 PM
To be honest that position is strong and the least of our worries, all three are top goalkeepers. Craig Gordon has been in excellent form.
It's central defence we are weak, and have been for well over a decade - until that area of the pitch is rectified with some genuine international class players coming through, I don't see Scotland ever being a really top nation that would give the better sides real competition home and away. When you think years ago we had McLeish, Hansen, Miller, Narey, Hegarty, Gillespie, Hendry, Weir, etc. it's a position that for some reason we have failed to get young players identified and coached quickly.
The continued inclusion of McBurnie is a mystery - he's been hopeless at this level. John Fleck also - especially when David Turnbull has been excellent for Celtic.
Delighted for Kevin, hopefully he gets a wee chance and enjoys being around the squad. Something for Doig and Porteous to aim for too :aok:
Pleased for Nisbet. I actually thought he was going to miss out this time as he's not featured much of late. I thought Shankland was going to get the call instead. I'm guessing that Steve Clarke wants to see what Nisbet's like in training as he already knows what Shankland is about. That's good management. Kevin's goal on Saturday might just have tipped the balance in his favour. Hope he's able to make the most of his opportunity.
16-03-2021, 04:09 PM
Chat like that will take the thread in a whole new direction then you’ll be asking for it to be closed or moved :greengrin
Reported!
hibby rae
16-03-2021, 04:15 PM
Marshall should be fit and has earned the no. 1 jersey. No arguments with Gordon really, McGinn got capped with us when in the Championship and pretty sure he was MoM during the game, so a good back up keeper.
But it is pointless McLaughlin being in the squad, unless we are really unlucky he's not gonna be near the team so surely it would make sense to bring someone who might be out keeper in the coming years to provide them with the experience.
I also thing McBurnie must have compromising pictures of Clarke or something, because he should not be anywhere near the squad and I can't fathom how he keeps getting picked. Can't score and can't link up.
Other than that, think it's fairly decent and delighted to see Nisbet in. Clarke has been quite good recently about most players getting game time so a real opportunity for him to make the Euros squad and score a last minute winner against England :greengrin:greengrin
16-03-2021, 04:24 PM
Does it have a Scottish granny. Oor Wullie had a bucket so might qualify under that rule as I believe there is a family line from that bucket to the wheelie bin. Certainly no more far fetched than some of the Irish internationals of the past!
Just heard the wheelie bin has pledged allegiance to England, so it appears to be an open and shut case.
Wakeyhibee
16-03-2021, 05:08 PM
I'm mixed parentage, Mums English Dad was Scots. Born and brought up in England supporting Hibs and Scotland.
My son has an English mum and he too supports Scotland & Hibs when it was far easier to Support England and Man U or the like.
Can understand the flag of convenience debate. I think Craig Johnston (Aussie) of Liverpool was touted years back and I didnt like the idea.
Question is where should the line be drawn? Birthplace went years ago and was unfair on Joe Baker who couldn't play for Scotland when 10/15 years later Alex Cropley could.
16-03-2021, 05:23 PM
Already capped for England U20s & told Scotland to do one 4 years ago
16-03-2021, 06:00 PM
It's a shame we have to include the likes of Che Adams, especially since he rejected us before. Sign of the times.
16-03-2021, 06:11 PM
One of us, means Scottish. Like I’ve said previously on this thread, you don’t have to be born here to class yourself as Scottish. If you play for us cos you’re simply no good enough to play for England then you’re not Scottish and I don’t want you.
Isn’t Scottish football right up there with attendances by % of population? The profile of football in Scotland is plenty high enough.
Yes but how do you make laws based on how someone feels? One guy might have been brought up in Scotland and has one Scottish parent but identifies as English when it comes to football.
Another might be third Gen Australian but feel Scottish.
If Che Adams qualifies, he qualifies, and if he performs well enough he will make the cut. The player he replaces will already be aware that it’s a brutal business.
16-03-2021, 06:23 PM
Is there not another aspect to International Rugby whereby the New Zealand and South Africans play for the home nations and European rugby nations in return for lucrative contracts with the likes of England able to pay far more than Scotland and thereby getting the best imports and making a mockery of International Rugby.
Yes . They’ve been buying the talent to make them internationals. Hopefully the 5 year residential rule will make it less popular.
16-03-2021, 06:46 PM
Yes but how do you make laws based on how someone feels? One guy might have been brought up in Scotland and has one Scottish parent but identifies as English when it comes to football.
Another might be third Gen Australian but feel Scottish.
If Che Adams qualifies, he qualifies, and if he performs well enough he will make the cut. The player he replaces will already be aware that it’s a brutal business.
:agree: Whenever my kids are asked about it, my son says he is American and my daughter is adamant she is Scottish.
16-03-2021, 06:51 PM
It's a shame we have to include the likes of Che Adams, especially since he rejected us before. Sign of the times.
If you hear the likes of Chris Wilder talk about him, he has grown up a lot over the past few years. We need to give him our support.
16-03-2021, 07:03 PM
Craig, you're not Scotland manager anymore.
🤣 aw I hate when that happens
16-03-2021, 07:06 PM
If you hear the likes of Chris Wilder talk about him, he has grown up a lot over the past few years. We need to give him our support.
Players should never change their minds about anything.
If they make a decision aged 16, it should stay their decision until they finish their career aged 36.
That's proper, that is.
16-03-2021, 07:28 PM
I can't believe McBurnie continues to get called up.
Some will argue otherwise but him coming on for Dykes in the last 10/15 mins of that game v Serbia almost lost us our spot in the Euros. As soon as he came on the park not one ball up front stuck, he's got to be one of the most overrated players I've ever witnessed.
Dykes has been fantastic for us so far, really hope he stays fit for the tournament.
hibby rae
16-03-2021, 10:05 PM
Some will argue otherwise but him coming on for Dykes in the last 10/15 mins of that game v Serbia almost lost us our spot in the Euros. As soon as he came on the park not one ball up front stuck, he's got to be one of the most overrated players I've ever witnessed.
Dykes has been fantastic for us so far, really hope he stays fit for the tournament.
I'd agree with that. When him and Paterson came on we very nearly lost the game. Before that it had been years since I'd seen Scotland play so well.
smack
16-03-2021, 10:50 PM
Players should never change their minds about anything.
If they make a decision aged 16, it should stay their decision until they finish their career aged 36.
That's proper, that is.
I think you should choose your country when you sign 1st professional contract and that’s your nationality set in stone. You don’t choose your nationality based on who wants you
16-03-2021, 11:03 PM
I can't believe McBurnie got called up in the first place. What a galoot.....
17-03-2021, 06:28 AM
I think you should choose your country when you sign 1st professional contract and that’s your nationality set in stone. You don’t choose your nationality based on who wants you
What if your life changes to the point where you take out a new passport, for example due to marriage, refugee status,or Brexit?
17-03-2021, 06:36 AM
What if your life changes to the point where you take out a new passport, for example due to marriage, refugee status,or Brexit?
Which of those events do you think would make you change from claiming you’re Scottish to another nationality?
17-03-2021, 06:38 AM
Which of those events do you think would make you change from claiming you’re Scottish to another nationality?
If Scotland doesn't become independent soonish the chances are I'll become French, even though I don't really want to.
The dalmeny
17-03-2021, 06:42 AM
you don’t choose your nationality based on who wants you it’s based on who you qualify for, same for everyone
17-03-2021, 06:44 AM
In theory, any one of them. I'm not sufficiently precious about what my passport says, if there are more important (to me) issues at play.
But then it's not about me 😁. I'm making the point that, in a fluid world, people's lives can change dramatically after they are 16-18.
17-03-2021, 06:44 AM
If Scotland doesn't become independent soonish the chances are I'll become French, even though I don't really want to.
Do you mean you’d get a French passport, or you’d start claiming to be French rather than Scottish?
17-03-2021, 06:47 AM
In theory, any one of them. I'm not sufficiently precious about what my passport says, if there are more important (to me) issues at play.
But then it's not about me 😁. I'm making the point that, in a fluid world, people's lives can change dramatically after they are 16-18.
You’re talking about having a passport, not identifying as a nationality. My girlfriends dad got his American passport last year, but he’d never claim to be American. He’s Scottish.
17-03-2021, 06:56 AM
Do you mean you’d get a French passport, or you’d start claiming to be French rather than Scottish?
Because of Brexit I no longer automatically have the right to live and work in France and need to apply for a work permit. This shouldn't be a problem but it remains temporary.
If an independent Scotland was to rejoin the EU then this will no longer be an issue, however if not I'll have to ask for French nationality/citizenship otherwise my situation will always be temporary and I'll be at the mercy of the policies of whatever political party is in power.
I'll always be Scottish, but not necessarily on paper.
17-03-2021, 07:02 AM
You’re talking about having a passport, not identifying as a nationality. My girlfriends dad got his American passport last year, but he’d never claim to be American. He’s Scottish.
I was reacting to the suggestion that you should "choose your nationality" when you sign your first contract. So many things can change in life to make you want to make a different choice.
Your example is valid. But I have a friend who grew up in Turkey, who left there for political reasons. Came here, married a French-born Scotsman, and now considers himself Scottish. Equally valid. My point is that people's lives, and nationality, can't be set in stone at 16, as was the suggestion.
17-03-2021, 07:04 AM
I was reacting to the suggestion that you should "choose your nationality" when you signed your first contract. So many things can change in life to make you want to make a different choice.
Your example is valid. But I have a friend who grew up in Turkey, who left there for political reasons. Came here, married a French-born Scotsman, and now considers himself Scottish. Equally valid. My point is that people's lives, and nationality, can't be set in stone at 16, as was the suggestion.
Yeah, I agree.
17-03-2021, 08:45 AM
Dykes, McBurnie, and now Adams, are pretty much nailed on to be in the Euros squad and if it goes back to a 22-man pool for the tournament then there might not be another striker's spot up for grabs. Nisbet is going to have to get a chance in one of these games and then do something pretty special to be in with a shout.
He might get on as a sub against Austria or Israel and should definitely start against the Faroe Islands.
If squads are larger due to any lingering risks of Covid, then it's a slightly different story and he'll be up against Griffiths & Shankland.
17-03-2021, 09:20 AM
Why? What good would that do for anyone?
I know a boy currently aged 14, who was born, and still lives in Peebles, to a Welsh father and an English mother. They're relatives of my wife. One of the mother's parents is Norwegian so, in theory, the laddie would be able to play for one of 4 countries.
If Gala Fairydean Rovers came along and offered him a pro contract when he turned 16, it would be ridiculous to pressurise him into choosing one of those options when he turned 16, not to mention totally unfair and unnecessary.
Can you imagine the situation. Teenager going through a "everybody hates me" stage has just been dumped by a lassie at school and he's been in the huff with his parents for the last month. The coach at Gala asks him to decide what country he wants to identify with. His grandad has always been great to him so he says Norway.
Scotland, England and Wales all lose out and the likelihood of him ever getting a game for a country he'll never even visit, is minute.
But a few fans are happy that the national team is "pure".
#gottaloveanextremescenario
The current system is absolutely fine.
17-03-2021, 09:51 AM
Why? What good would that do for anyone?
I know a boy currently aged 14, who was born, and still lives in Peebles, to a Welsh father and an English mother. They're relatives of my wife. One of the mother's parents is Norwegian so, in theory, the laddie would be able to play for one of 4 countries.
If Gala Fairydean Rovers came along and offered him a pro contract when he turned 16, it would be ridiculous to pressurise him into choosing one of those options when he turned 16, not to mention totally unfair and unnecessary.
Can you imagine the situation. Teenager going through a "everybody hates me" stage has just been dumped by a lassie at school and he's been in the huff with his parents for the last month. The coach at Gala asks him to decide what country he wants to identify with. His grandad has always been great to him so he says Norway.
Scotland, England and Wales all lose out and the likelihood of him ever getting a game for a country he'll never even visit, is minute.
But a few fans are happy that the national team is "pure".
#gottaloveanextremescenario
The current system is absolutely fine.
Agree. Been to international games where fans have sung to a player your not English anymore Andy Goram springs to mind
You do what you have to do to win, all countries do it so we need to move with the times.
17-03-2021, 10:06 AM
A squad of 26. Can only take 23 to the Euro's.
Who misses out?
Three out from Considine, Palmer, Hendry, Fleck and McLean.
It will also be interesting to see if Griffiths replaces Nisbet in the Euro's squad.
Can Turnbull still make it?
Thought they might have given Rooney a whirl instead of Palmer.
Clarke is loyal to the players who got them there so perhaps the likes of Turnbull won't find places.
Taylor could drop out, would certainly rather have Palmer than Taylor.
I suspect one of the strikers to drop out as Fraser can play the second striker role as well.
Then it's one of the centre backs or centre mids.
17-03-2021, 10:12 AM
Just realised Forrest isn't in the squad
17-03-2021, 10:28 AM
Taylor could drop out, would certainly rather have Palmer than Taylor.
I suspect one of the strikers to drop out as Fraser can play the second striker role as well.
Then it's one of the centre backs or centre mids.
Taylor is a left back
Palmer is a right back
Taylor likely to lose out due to Robertson and Tierney
Palmer and O'Donnell are the only options on the other side.
This squad was the only chance to include another right back so it looks like we are stuck with them for he Euro's and one of them will definitely play.
17-03-2021, 10:30 AM
Taylor is a left back
Palmer is a right back
This squad was the only chance to name another right back in the squad so looks like we are stuck with them for he Euro's.
Palmer has struggled to get in the Wednesday team, last week against Norwich he played as a left wingback.
Edit.. When i say struggled i mean he's been in and out of the starting 11 😁
17-03-2021, 10:40 AM
Taylor is a left back
Palmer is a right back
This squad was the only chance to include another right back so it looks like we are stuck with them for he Euro's and one of them will definitely play.
I'm muddled.
I thought this squad was for the upcoming WC qualifiers, but I see a lot of references to the Euros. :confused:
17-03-2021, 10:40 AM
Palmer has struggled to get in the Wednesday team, last week against Norwich he played as a left wingback.
I was hoping Rooney would be picked instead of him in this squad but it didn't happen.
Would have given us another dangerous option in the air at set pieces and he is fairly rampaging when he gets forward. Don't know if he can cross the ball or whether the defensive side of his his game is up to scratch.
Palmer seems to have little positive in his game.
From Scotland appearances he isn't a good crosser and struggles to get past the full back.
Caveat would be I have never seen him play for his club so might be doing him a disservice.
17-03-2021, 10:44 AM
I was hoping Rooney would be picked instead of him in this squad but it didn't happen.
Would have given us another dangerous option in the air at set pieces and he is fairly rampaging when he gets forward. Don't know if he can cross the ball or whether the defensive side of his his game is up to scratch.
Palmer seems to have little positive in his game.
From Scotland appearances he isn't a good crosser and struggles to get past the full back.
Caveat would be I have never seen him play for his club so might be doing him a disservice.
You aren't doing him a disservice 😁
17-03-2021, 10:50 AM
I'm muddled.
I thought this squad was for the upcoming WC qualifiers, but I see a lot of references to the Euros. :confused:
It is but you would think it must be an indication of who will be in the Euro's squad barring injuries.
The notable players missing from the last squad are Burke Patterson and Grifiths and if you were them you would have to doubt you would be going to be picked in the Euro's squad. Re this squad there must be an aspect of Clarke wanting to watch and assess Nisbet and Hendry.
Players not in the squad who have a chance of going would probably be Turnbull and Forrest.
Forrest needs to get playing to have a chance.
I was surprised Turnbull was not in the squad instead of Fleck but it may be a tactical reason or even down to experience. Turnbull is still only 21.
17-03-2021, 10:54 AM
You aren't doing him a disservice 😁
Wow, thats not good. I was hoping that you were going to tell me he was a good defensive full backwhich would make him a good foil for O'Donnell.
Why is he picked other than a lack of alternatives?
17-03-2021, 11:28 AM
Taylor is a left back
Palmer is a right back
My post wasn't very clear but that's what I was getting at.
You suggested Palmer could be 1 (of the 3) to drop out but that would leave us with only 1 right back and 3 left backs.
If Taylor dropped out you'd still have Robertson as 1st choice and Tierney who could move across from lcb to lb if Robertson got injured.
17-03-2021, 11:31 AM
I'm muddled.
The tournament squad is smaller than the squad for qualifiers so this is probably the last chance to test someone in the squad before cutting down to the smaller 23 man squad for June.
Magpie
17-03-2021, 05:33 PM
SC Farense’s Ryan Gauld has been involved in 99 shots in the Primeira Liga this season (49 shots, 50 chances created), the most of any player in the league.
Just came across this, hopefully Ryan can step up further and become a good addition to the squad.
The Baldmans Comb
17-03-2021, 10:19 PM
The Scotland squad is taking shape nicely especially with the Big Aussie and the English boy up front.😉
Che Adams is the (non) story and its good to have him on board as he fills such a gap but Jack Hendry is the one to watch as he has overcome so many obstacles to get back to this level and has matured beyond all recognition.
Strange that David Turnbull wasn't called up to give him the experience even though he wouldn't be first choice but he is the future.
Nissy ahead of Shankland on current form is surprising but one of them might make the 23 for the summer and its great of Steven Clarke to give him a chance to stake his place.
20-03-2021, 12:31 PM
It was ruled out for offside in the end, but Che Adams just had a fantastic finish vs Bournemouth in the FA Cup. He’s a bloody quality addition to Scotland.
20-03-2021, 01:00 PM
Che Adams and Stuart Armstrong have looked very good today.