View Full Version : Trial by Sportscene

13-03-2021, 07:32 PM
Here's hoping they provide the same in-depth analysis on Steven Naismith, Jamie Walker, Mackay-Steven, Ryan Kent, Hagi, Morelos, Niall McGinn, and James Forrest (next season) as they did with Martin tonight :aok:

Between the Yogi 'love-in' and tonight's show they have outdone themselves today.

Sad sad day when it's only Chick Young standing up for Hibs. Shocking output from the Beeb today.

13-03-2021, 07:34 PM
Let them seeth mate. It's actually quite amusing, get it up them lol.

13-03-2021, 07:35 PM
Here's hoping they provide the same in-depth analysis on Steven Naismith, Jamie Walker, Mackay-Steven, Ryan Kent, Hagi, Morelos, Niall McGinn, and James Forrest (next season) as they did with Martin tonight :aok:

Between the Yogi 'love-in' and tonight's show they have outdone themselves today.

Sad sad day when it's only Chick Young standing up for Hibs. Shocking output from the Beeb today.

I'd wager he's been 'tried' by Sportscene more than any other player in the league...

13-03-2021, 07:36 PM
Let them seeth mate. It's actually quite amusing, get it up them lol.

I rarely get upset at media around Hibs brooster but today was shocking - Willie Miller's sly dig, the rest of them thinking Yogi is the Scottish Mourinho, and tonight's show almost willing refs to target Martin, it's shocking.

13-03-2021, 07:41 PM
I'd wager he's been 'tried' by Sportscene more than any other player in the league...

Rangers fans would raise you Morelos i reckon

13-03-2021, 07:43 PM

Quite right too,he's the biggest cheat in the league by a distance :aok: Martin Boyle isn't though, and the way they gunned for him today was shocking.

13-03-2021, 07:43 PM

That's what I said (I boldened his name in the post that I quoted).

I don't think we can be too harsh on Sportscene's analysis - Boyle's dive was blatant and he was lucky not to be booked for it IMO.

13-03-2021, 07:47 PM

I don't think we can be too harsh on Sportscene's analysis - Boyle's dive was blatant and he was lucky not to be booked for it IMO.

Fair enough Sylar, but I wish they'd analyse and discuss at length (for example) Steven Naismith's diving, cheating, and trying to referee games as much as they did with MB today...........mind, Naismith being a pundit means that'll never happen.

Tully
13-03-2021, 07:48 PM
be interesting to see if the buffoon Hughes gets pulled up for his speedos ****,as for the alki Dracula's bride Shelley Kerr and the rest of sportsound and sportscene get it right up you, 3 points in the bag bring on livi

13-03-2021, 07:54 PM
Fair enough Sylar, but I wish they'd analyse and discuss at length (for example) Steven Naismith's diving, cheating, and trying to referee games as much as they did with MB today...........mind, Naismith being a pundit means that'll never happen.

It'll never happen as they don't show games from his league on sportscene.

13-03-2021, 07:59 PM

One for the statos, but I'd reckon Martin Boyle will be one of the most fouled players in the SPFL this season. Gets kicked up and down the park every week. I don't hear the BBC saying much about that.

Fergos
13-03-2021, 08:07 PM
I rarely get upset at media around Hibs brooster but today was shocking - Willie Miller's sly dig, the rest of them thinking Yogi is the Scottish Mourinho, and tonight's show almost willing refs to target Martin, it's shocking.

Im same TH. Today was a prime example of how the bbc Scottish Football coverage appraises the game however, everyone backing the very likeable Yogi ( I like him too to be fair) in the old pals act style. That’s about as professional as they get.

Great win today however!

13-03-2021, 08:12 PM
be interesting to see if the buffoon Hughes gets pulled up for his speedos ****,as for the alki Dracula's bride Shelley Kerr and the rest of sportsound and sportscene get it right up you, 3 points in the bag bring on livi

I'm sure you can make your (fair) point without the abusive and misogynistic comments 😉

13-03-2021, 08:15 PM
Boyle is one of the most fouled players in the league. Late the haters hate. We’re all going on a Covid passport European tour!

As for Chic Young, you’d have thought Yogi was a cross between Jock Stein and Pep Guardiola the way he was going on about him. The lack of credible analysis on Sportsound is woeful.

13-03-2021, 08:21 PM
One of the positives from the live streaming of games this season has been not having to watch Sportscene.

Ross County provided a very decent feed, Cliff and Tam offered a Hibs minded commentary and all the key moments were replayed at the end of game. Sportscene have absolutely nothing to add to that really.

13-03-2021, 08:30 PM
One for the statos, but I'd reckon Martin Boyle will be one of the most fouled players in the SPFL this season. Gets kicked up and down the park every week. I don't hear the BBC saying much about that.

They would never speak about sevco or Celtic players they way they speak about boyler. Pawlett blatantly dived forbutd yet the panel just laughed. The programme is so amateurish it’s cringeworthy. As others have said their seethe just makes it all the more satisfying.

13-03-2021, 08:48 PM

Absolutely - I'm beginning to think Martin Boyle is made of titanium the way he shrugs off assault after assault on a weekly basis.

And by the way he is NOT a diver - one of the bravest players in the league as he deliberately draws fouls from various cloggers week in week out. Is it any wonder he occasionally might find the need to attempt to get out of the way of their lunges???

I would have to analyse the highlights in detail but I didn't see him diving at all today either - there is such a thing as going down under a fair challenge without it being a dive, and if the penalty incident was not a penalty then I reckon that's what happened. Martin danced in front of the RC defender in such a way that it would have taken the merest of contacts to send him over - and that's exactly what happened from what I could see.

13-03-2021, 09:05 PM

Jesus just because you can say what you like online doesn’t mean you need to be a **** about it

13-03-2021, 09:10 PM
I'm sure you can make your (fair) point without the abusive and misogynistic comments 😉

In the same sentence he’s given Hughes abuse so not sure his comments about Kerr have to be taken as misogynistic. In fact there’s usually all sorts of stuff said about the usual Sportscene crew, so why should she miss out?

13-03-2021, 09:32 PM

And there you have it. Utter hypocrisy from the Hibs Haters. Apparently things even themselves out over the season - or so we get told every time a decision goes against Hibs. But as soon as we get an apparent decision that may slightly favour us, it's a scandal that needs investigated.

13-03-2021, 09:36 PM
One of the positives from the live streaming of games this season has been not having to watch Sportscene.

Ross County provided a very decent feed, Cliff and Tam offered a Hibs minded commentary and all the key moments were replayed at the end of game. Sportscene have absolutely nothing to add to that really.

I never listen to Sportscene now. A joke production.

Chorley Hibee
13-03-2021, 10:48 PM
Shelley Kerr claiming there was no contact for the penalty??

There is quite clearly contact!

13-03-2021, 10:52 PM

Sorry I didn't notice you had highlighted him, I thought you were still talking about Boyle, my bad

Cat Stanton
13-03-2021, 10:54 PM

Genius and insightful commentary. John Hughes (who, incidentally, I can't stand and never have) makes a vaguely amusing comment about what was a 100% obvious dive by Boyle, and your dummy is spat out. What's Kerr's crime - being female and not young?

Dear oh dear. Desperate stuff. Show a bit of class.

13-03-2021, 10:59 PM

He gets kicked every week.

13-03-2021, 11:00 PM
Genius and insightful commentary. John Hughes (who, incidentally, I can't stand and never have) makes a vaguely amusing comment about what was a 100% obvious dive by Boyle, and your dummy is spat out. What's Kerr's crime - being female and not young?

Dear oh dear. Desperate stuff. Show a bit of class.

The penalty wasn’t a dive, which is what Hughes’ comments about speedos was about.

Kerr is useless, heehaw to do with being female from my POV as I’d say the same about useless male pundits, McCann, Sportsound crew, even Bartley I can’t stand on the tele.

Cat Stanton
13-03-2021, 11:13 PM
The penalty wasn’t a dive, which is what Hughes’ comments about speedos was about.

Kerr is useless, heehaw to do with being female from my POV as I’d say the same about useless male pundits, McCann, Sportsound crew, even Bartley I can’t stand on the tele.

No, penalty wasn't a dive, but pretty sure he was referring to the later dive - for which Boyle could have been booked, and therefore sent off.

And for what it's worth, I also think Kerr is a **** pundit; my point was - as others have pointed out, I see - that the previous post was about her looks which have nothing to do with it.

13-03-2021, 11:16 PM
Shelley Kerr claiming there was no contact for the penalty??

There is quite clearly contact!

Also trying to claim that Boyle sticks his left leg into the defender and falls over, looks more like Boyle's trying to get the ball under control

13-03-2021, 11:26 PM

Spot on. She is a very poor pundit and not alone on BBC Scotland. There was clear contact and Boyle got in front of his man. It may have been a bit soft but it wasn't too controversial. The potential sending off was never a straight red but he could easily have got a second yellow for the dive. In real time when I first watched I thought his feet had went from under him. I think there is an element of that even watching it again but there is definitely no contact with the second one and he could easily have been sent off. Boyle is one of the most honest players in the league and perhaps on this occasion the ref gave him the benefit of the doubt, Hard to believe the panellists didn't comment on how Boyle is knocked up and down the park week in week out and hardly ever makes the most of it. It is about time we got the rub of the green with some decisions. It will be the first time in teh best part of 50 years I have watched and it is no surprised that it is happening when we are further up the league.

13-03-2021, 11:31 PM
Penalty was a penalty he came through the back, Boyle hit his body in front and took the hit regardless of how strong the challenge was. Second one there was no contact and was a dive so no issues with it being called as such.

CropleyisGod
13-03-2021, 11:40 PM
Also trying to claim that Boyle sticks his left leg into the defender and falls over, looks more like Boyle's trying to get the ball under control

Indeed. I was giving her the benefit of the doubt (Boyle made no contact with the ball) but, as we see when a defender ushers the ball out of play, you don’t need to be in contact with the ball to effectively have control of it. Boyle cleverly got in the right position and the County defender clumsily came through him. Penalty. As I’ve said before, simple fact is that these old pros don’t know the laws of the game and interpret it based on well worn cliches based on ignorance.

Jdawg
13-03-2021, 11:43 PM
Spot on. She is a very poor pundit and not alone on BBC Scotland. There was clear contact and Boyle got in front of his man. It may have been a bit soft but it wasn't too controversial. The potential sending off was never a straight red but he could easily have got a second yellow for the dive. In real time when I first watched I thought his feet had went from under him. I think there is an element of that even watching it again but there is definitely no contact with the second one and he could easily have been sent off. Boyle is one of the most honest players in the league and perhaps on this occasion the ref gave him the benefit of the doubt, Hard to believe the panellists didn't comment on how Boyle is knocked up and down the park week in week out and hardly ever makes the most of it. It is about time we got the rub of the green with some decisions. It will be the first time in teh best part of 50 years I have watched and it is no surprised that it is happening when we are further up the league.

More to the point. Why is she sitting with a pen in her hand on TV. 😂. Abysmal, bland, boring, and offers zero insight. Dull as dishwater.

13-03-2021, 11:52 PM

Very good point.

let’s be honest it was a soft pen. But, the segment basically built around naming Boyle as a diver is baffling. Kerr’s a 1-5 trumpet and can’t stand Hibs. She probably mentioned it in her match review and they cut it out.

**** them.

14-03-2021, 01:09 AM
Good to hear Radio Jamboland are seething.

14-03-2021, 01:43 AM
Im same TH. Today was a prime example of how the bbc Scottish Football coverage appraises the game however, everyone backing the very likeable Yogi ( I like him too to be fair) in the old pals act style. That’s about as professional as they get.

Great win today however!

GGTTHHe wasnt that likeable 40 years ago at the YMCA punk/mod night at YMCA in Edinburgh

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Fergos
14-03-2021, 05:29 AM
More to the point. Why is she sitting with a pen in her hand on TV. 😂. Abysmal, bland, boring, and offers zero insight. Dull as dishwater.

She is beyond belief, she actually turned up dressed as an undertaker too, mourning the fact of another Hibs win.....:)

Fergos
14-03-2021, 05:31 AM
He wasnt that likeable 40 years ago at the YMCA punk/mod night at YMCA in Edinburgh

Oh....ok......I didnt happen to be there. What happened? Was he a big bad boy? Punk or Mod?

Gloucester Hibs
14-03-2021, 05:40 AM
He wasnt that likeable 40 years ago at the YMCA punk/mod night at YMCA in Edinburgh

More details required!

Crunchie
14-03-2021, 06:06 AM

Or in the auld Dirty Windaes pub in Leith.

Davy Mac
14-03-2021, 06:27 AM
Typical 'chip on the shoulder' Scottish mentality, they always focus on the negatives.

We've got no reason to apologise to anyone, and as far Yogi's pathetic rant - fxxk off, you're team were outplayed for most of the game and your just covering over the cracks.

Dour, dull, uninspiring bunch of summarisers, don't know how they get these gigs.

14-03-2021, 07:02 AM
They are all pissed because we have almost cemented 3rd, and their precious Dons /Hertz, huvnae/ cannae.

Orchard_Hibs
14-03-2021, 07:15 AM
Why do we have a highlights show that is 5-10 mins of highlights then 25 mins of ‘analysis’?

It’s a pen all day long, it was exactly the same type of foul that the caveman over the way used to get a against us in every derby, put yourself between man and ball and fall over when you feel any contact.

14-03-2021, 07:20 AM
There’s no such thing as a soft penalty. Boyle puts his leg over towards the ball the county player barges into his leg and Boyle falls over. The ref gives the penalty. If the County player has not made contact which gave Boyle opportunity to go down then it would have been given. The second one Boyle dived and was lucky to stay on the park

Crunchie
14-03-2021, 07:21 AM
Why do we have a highlights show that is 5-10 mins of highlights then 25 mins of ‘analysis’?

It’s a pen all day long, it was exactly the same type of foul that the caveman over the way used to get a against us in every derby, put yourself between man and ball and fall over when you feel any contact.
Because everything has to be micro analysed now, it's boring and I can't believe anyone wants to see old pros analyse players to death over match highlights. Watching MOTD just now is not a patch on the old days, Sportscene is just so bad I don't watch it anymore.

14-03-2021, 07:22 AM

It's painful when compared with match of the day which isn't perfect but the coverage and the pundityt is much more informed without Shelley Kerr sucking the joy out of the room. I continue to believe that broadcasters in Scotland still feel they should be appologetic about our game instead of celebrating it.

14-03-2021, 07:26 AM
I think Mikey Stewart is one of the few that’s not been through Hibee aversion therapy.

14-03-2021, 07:31 AM
In the same sentence he’s given Hughes abuse so not sure his comments about Kerr have to be taken as misogynistic. In fact there’s usually all sorts of stuff said about the usual Sportscene crew, so why should she miss out?

I used the word "abusive", which covered them both. In Kerr's case, I could probably have used "defamatory " as well.

14-03-2021, 07:42 AM
Because everything has to be micro analysed now, it's boring and I can't believe anyone wants to see old pros analyse players to death over match highlights. Watching MOTD just now is not a patch on the old days, Sportscene is just so bad I don't watch it anymore.
I'm watching MOTD just now after recording it. I'll do the same with Sportscene. Just fast forward when the "experrs" start talking. I can't be bothered listening to them pick over minute details its just boring. Especially when it's folk like Maloney or Kerr. **** sake how dull and its almost as if they don't actually like football. There's a thread about Murray Walker and the enthusiasm he had and how he made F1 more exciting. Comoare and contrast with the monotone bores we get

greenlad
14-03-2021, 08:02 AM

No 2 in the league behind Ferguson

1. Lewis Ferguson • Aberdeen 85
2. Martin Boyle • Hibernian 75
3. Marvin Bartley • Livingston 66
4. Alan Power • Kilmarnock 63
5. Jamie McGrath • St Mirren 58
6. Aaron Tshibola • Kilmarnock 54
7. Tony Watt • Motherwell 53
8. Harry Paton • Ross County 48
Ryan Kent • Rangers 48
10. Ethan Erhahon • St Mirren 47

Key West
14-03-2021, 08:03 AM
Indeed. I was giving her the benefit of the doubt (Boyle made no contact with the ball) but, as we see when a defender ushers the ball out of play, you don’t need to be in contact with the ball to effectively have control of it. Boyle cleverly got in the right position and the County defender clumsily came through him. Penalty. As I’ve said before, simple fact is that these old pros don’t know the laws of the game and interpret it based on well worn cliches based on ignorance.

When it comes to punditry most of the time it is about them than what actually happens. They could fill an entire programme with footage on how other teams set out to stop Boyle.

14-03-2021, 08:10 AM
No, penalty wasn't a dive, but pretty sure he was referring to the later dive - for which Boyle could have been booked, and therefore sent off.

And for what it's worth, I also think Kerr is a **** pundit; my point was - as others have pointed out, I see - that the previous post was about her looks which have nothing to do with it.

He was referring to the penalty -

‘‘It’s a real dubious penalty and I think the lad Boyle has conned John Beaton. Very clever, part and parcel of the game, but the last time I seen a dive like that the boy had speedos on’

14-03-2021, 08:11 AM

‘‘It’s a real dubious penalty and I think the lad Boyle has conned John Beaton. Very clever, part and parcel of the game, but the last time I seen a dive like that the boy had speedos on’

Pretty pish by Yogi. Would never say that about an OF player.

hibeejeebies
14-03-2021, 08:19 AM

I thought it was pretty funny tbh and it did look like a dive.

Close call but John Beaton probably got the penalty decision right.

Rumble de Thump
14-03-2021, 08:24 AM
No 2 in the league behind Ferguson

1. Lewis Ferguson • Aberdeen 85
2. Martin Boyle • Hibernian 75
3. Marvin Bartley • Livingston 66
4. Alan Power • Kilmarnock 63
5. Jamie McGrath • St Mirren 58
6. Aaron Tshibola • Kilmarnock 54
7. Tony Watt • Motherwell 53
8. Harry Paton • Ross County 48
Ryan Kent • Rangers 48
10. Ethan Erhahon • St Mirren 47

Do those numbers refer to the number of actual fouls on a player, or the number of fouls awarded by the refs?

14-03-2021, 08:32 AM
Do those numbers refer to the number of actual fouls on a player, or the number of fouls awarded by the refs?

Exactly, that’s the number of fouls given so that doesn’t count the 10 times a game he is kicked upside down and nothing is given.

14-03-2021, 08:34 AM
I used the word "abusive", which covered them both. In Kerr's case, I could probably have used "defamatory " as well.

Were you picking this sort of stuff up when it was said about Stendel, Jimmy Calderwood, even Fergie?

No need to be overly protective of the female pundits when they get the same treatment as others.

14-03-2021, 08:43 AM
And there you have it. Utter hypocrisy from the Hibs Haters. Apparently things even themselves out over the season - or so we get told every time a decision goes against Hibs. But as soon as we get an apparent decision that may slightly favour us, it's a scandal that needs investigated.

Couldn't agree more does seem a disproportionate focus whenever we get any sort of decision and almost an encouragement for compliance officer involvement. Gordon went on for weeks when GOC got a pen once.

14-03-2021, 08:44 AM

It was a shocking comment that can have serious implications for the player. Hughes was spouting rubbish, as he invariably does, to deflect from his own teams inadequacies. Have watched the pen a few times, and there is definite contact. Boyle was too quick for the defender, who clatters into Boyle from behind.

Largshibby
14-03-2021, 08:47 AM

Her final insightful contribution was that the team that survives at the bottom will be whoever scores the most goals! Thanks for explaining that to me.

14-03-2021, 08:50 AM
Penalty was a penalty he came through the back, Boyle hit his body in front and took the hit regardless of how strong the challenge was. Second one there was no contact and was a dive so no issues with it being called as such.

Kind of my view on it thought the penalty was the right decision though at the time didn't think so but Boyler has been smart and got his body in between the ball and the defender. The more I see it the more a pen it is. Would definitely be given via VAR.

Cat Stanton
14-03-2021, 08:54 AM

I couldn't watch the full game yesterday, but reading Jonnyboy's report, it sounds like they just didn't bother showing various Hibs' chances, especially in the first half?

Cat Stanton
14-03-2021, 08:57 AM

Ah, fair dos. My mistake then - apologies. And of course, John Hughes talking slavering pish was always a more likely scenario.

14-03-2021, 08:58 AM
Guessing Ferguson's total includes the ones Aberdeen seem to get when they are the aggressors and the ref simply gets the award wrong. He'd be up there in the committing the most fouls in my book.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

14-03-2021, 09:25 AM

Probably because the comments about the usual Sportscene crew don't routinely make reference to their appearance or gender.

14-03-2021, 09:26 AM
Guessing Ferguson's total includes the ones Aberdeen seem to get when they are the aggressors and the ref simply gets the award wrong. He'd be up there in the committing the most fouls in my book.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

It is strange that both he & Marvin are on the list!!

14-03-2021, 09:30 AM
Were you picking this sort of stuff up when it was said about Stendel, Jimmy Calderwood, even Fergie?

No need to be overly protective of the female pundits when they get the same treatment as others.

I probably would if I saw it. Reference to people's personal issues, whether or not there is any truth in it, detracts from the actual point being made.

Jdawg
14-03-2021, 09:39 AM
Her final insightful contribution was that the team that survives at the bottom will be whoever scores the most goals! Thanks for explaining that to me.

Haha.get her off the program. She should be prescribed for insomniacs. I don’t watch much EPL football on sky but at least they have pundits who analyse the games properly.

14-03-2021, 09:44 AM
I probably would if I saw it. Reference to people's personal issues, whether or not there is any truth in it, detracts from the actual point being made.

I agree with those comments, but what part of it makes it misogyny?

14-03-2021, 09:47 AM

You’d be awfully busy then on a football fans forum.

I think just calling comments against female presenters misogynistic is unhelpful to the equality cause.

14-03-2021, 09:51 AM
Wtf is Shelley Kerr on about? “There’s no contact”, “he puts his leg over his knee” (so there was contact), “it’s not a dive”.

Completely contradictory. The second incident is inconclusive from the camera angles we see.

14-03-2021, 09:58 AM
It was a shocking comment that can have serious implications for the player. Hughes was spouting rubbish, as he invariably does, to deflect from his own teams inadequacies. Have watched the pen a few times, and there is definite contact. Boyle was too quick for the defender, who clatters into Boyle from behind.

Aye, he said something along the lines of “you need to know who you are refereeing”, implying that Boyle is a cheat. That’s bang out of order. I think we had similar with Kamberi, when he arrived he was constantly winning us free kicks when challenging with defenders. Then all of a sudden he seemed to be giving away loads of free kicks in identical situations. Nothing empirical to back this up just the way it appeared to me at the time.

For what it’s worth I thought Boyle was really clever with the first one, got himself into a position the defender didn’t expect. Second one we couldn’t complain had he got an early bath.

14-03-2021, 09:59 AM
Soft penalty but Boyle was lucky not to be shown a 2nd yellow for the dive afterwards, Sportscene presenters are all generally pish, I don't mind Maloney but Kerr is just another that BBC seem to roll out either on this programme or on Sportsound, never listen to Sportsound and tend to fast forward most of the pundit stuff except Hibs game to see what they're saying about us.

14-03-2021, 10:00 AM
I agree with those comments, but what part of it makes it misogyny?

Calling a person 'Dracula's bride' seems to me to be an obvious attempt to equate that person's appearance with their ability (or inability) to do their punditry job. That pretty much fits the definition of misogyny.

greenlad
14-03-2021, 10:24 AM

"Fouls drawn"

hibby rae
14-03-2021, 10:24 AM
Calling a person 'Dracula's bride' seems to me to be an obvious attempt to equate that person's appearance with their ability (or inability) to do their punditry job. That pretty much fits the definition of misogyny.

Yep I'd agree with that. It's like when people call Nicola Sturgeon 'Wee Jimmy Krankie'

14-03-2021, 10:27 AM

I don't really get that logic, but it's probably because I'm a bloke... and a bit thick :greengrin

FWIW, I find her a bit bland but no better or worse than her male counterparts.

hibby rae
14-03-2021, 10:27 AM
My opinion if it is Boyle went down easy for the pen, but like McFadden said he did what an attacker should do and get in front of the defender. The second one was clearly a dive.

I think the amount of time they spent on it last night was a result of them only having two games to cover and a lot of time to fill. There weren't actually a lot of talking points from either game.

I would have liked to see another look at the offside goal though, as the BBC live feed had said it was a very tight call.

Hughes was playing the role he's cultivated within the media. He knew if he gave them a soundbite they'd use it, despite it not being nearly half as bad as he made out (yhe pen). I find it him to be quite a tiresome individual these days tbh

14-03-2021, 10:29 AM
My opinion if it is Boyle went down easy for the pen, but like McFadden said he did what an attacker should do and get in front of the defender. The second one was clearly a dive.

I think the amount of time they spent on it last night was a result of them only having two games to cover and a lot of time to fill. There weren't actually a lot of talking points from either game.

I would have liked to see another look at the offside goal though, as the BBC live feed had said it was a very tight call.

I watched it again at the time but unfortunately Boyle was just off the screen when the ball was played so couldn’t tell, but it was certainly extremely tight.

hibby rae
14-03-2021, 10:31 AM
I watched it again at the time but unfortunately Boyle was just off the screen when the ball was played so couldn’t tell, but it was certainly extremely tight.

Yeah I was genuinely surprised it wasn't included

14-03-2021, 10:32 AM
I don't like Kerr as a pundit at all. Brutal. Leanne Crichton, Stewart and McFadden are the best three.

14-03-2021, 11:22 AM
If Jack Ross had made the speedos comment about an opposition player no one would be saying anything.

Thought it was pretty funny and a soft pen.

Boyles dive in the box later on was embarrassing. Class player though and a huge reason why we're third in the league.

14-03-2021, 11:26 AM
Wtf is Shelley Kerr on about? “There’s no contact”, “he puts his leg over his knee” (so there was contact), “it’s not a dive”.

Completely contradictory. The second incident is inconclusive from the camera angles we see.
How she ever got the Scotland women's gig I'll never know, useless.

14-03-2021, 11:38 AM
I used to be one of the first to complain about the Sportsound/Sportscene anti Hibs bias but I’m learning to live with it and, in fact, I’m loving their knicker twisting, dummy throwing tantrums. In previous seasons, when we were doing badly and struggling in the league, Richard Gordon and chums enjoyed taking the ‘michael’ and, now that we’re doing well, they can’t live with it. :violin::dummytit::dummytit::dummytit:

Crunchie
14-03-2021, 11:40 AM
I don't like Kerr as a pundit at all. Brutal. Leanne Crichton, Stewart and McFadden are the best three.
I'd say Crichton is as hopeless, some of her comments on the radio yesterday were bizarre to say the least. Neither 2 should be anywhere near that job, we all know why they are.

14-03-2021, 11:41 AM
If Jack Ross had made the speedos comment about an opposition player no one would be saying anything.

Boyles dive in the box later on was embarrassing. Class player though and a huge reason why we're third in the league.Jack Ross wouldn't have made the speedos comment. I'd rather have a manager than a comedian.

14-03-2021, 11:44 AM

Boyles dive in the box later on was embarrassing. Class player though and a huge reason why we're third in the league.

I think they would because it is ridiculous comment that Yogi is allowed to get away with because he is seen in the media as a bit of a clown.

14-03-2021, 11:45 AM
Jack Ross wouldn't have made the speedos comment. I'd rather have a manager than a comedian.

Absolutely nothing wrong with a manager having a personality. And Hughes is doing a decent enough job at County.

14-03-2021, 11:46 AM
I'd say Crichton is as hopeless, some of her comments on the radio yesterday were bizarre to say the least. Neither 2 should be anywhere near that job, we all know why they are.

Why are they?

14-03-2021, 11:47 AM
Why are they?

Ex professionals right? I'm sure that's what he meant. Surely...

14-03-2021, 11:48 AM
Absolutely nothing wrong with a manager having a personality. And Hughes is doing a decent enough job at County.Jack Ross has personality in abundance, however he'd rather his team making the headlines, not himself.

14-03-2021, 11:48 AM
Ex professionals right? I'm sure that's what he meant. Surely...

14-03-2021, 11:49 AM

Wasn’t it the YWCA that had the punk nights? The Restalrig “YDub” was renowned for the occasional coming together.
Interested to hear about Yogis involvement :greengrin

14-03-2021, 11:50 AM
Jack Ross has personality in abundance, however he'd rather his team making the headlines, not himself.

The main talking point from the game would have been the penalty and he was asked a question about it. People need to chill out if they're getting triggered by something like that.

14-03-2021, 11:53 AM
The main talking point from the game would have been the penalty and he was asked a question about it. People need to chill out if they're getting triggered by something like that.I'm chilled, but if you're happy with opposition managers publicly accusing our players of cheating then that's up to you.

14-03-2021, 12:00 PM
I'm chilled, but if you're happy with opposition managers publicly accusing our players of cheating then that's up to you.

You don't seem it.

Opposition managers can do and say what they want. Not going to keep me up at night. Only thing that matters to me is Hibs winning.

14-03-2021, 12:02 PM
The main talking point from the game would have been the penalty and he was asked a question about it. People need to chill out if they're getting triggered by something like that.

He wasn't actually asked about the penalty initially. Ar the very start of the interview he said something along the lines of "let's not hang around and just ask me what I think about the penalty" before the interviewer mentioned it.

14-03-2021, 12:02 PM
I'm chilled, but if you're happy with opposition managers publicly accusing our players of cheating then that's up to you.

Problem suggesting any player dives is that it can stick with them and affect future decisions and results. Hughes thinks he's smart with his cheeky chappie quips, but that's a serious accusation which could affect decisions involving Martin Boyle for weeks to come. Hughes is tit.

14-03-2021, 12:03 PM
You don't seem it.

Opposition managers can do and say what they want. Not going to keep me up at night. Only thing that matters to me is Hibs winning.I can disagree with you and be chilled at the same time. Believe me.

14-03-2021, 12:18 PM
I can disagree with you and be chilled at the same time. Believe me.

Actually, thinking about it I'm probably being a bit of a fandan. Cause if Gerrard had made that comment I'd be absolutely furious.

14-03-2021, 12:47 PM
Problem suggesting any player dives is that it can stick with them and affect future decisions and results. Hughes thinks he's smart with his cheeky chappie quips, but that's a serious accusation which could affect decisions involving Martin Boyle for weeks to come. Hughes is tit.

Hughes also mentioned that Beaton should know “who he is refereeing” which suggests Boyle a) has previous and b) should be treated differently.

14-03-2021, 12:51 PM
IMO only reason they questioned the penalty to death was due to the later "dive" by Boyle. Gave the panel and John Hughes perfect excuse to call Boyle out as a diver, even if the pen was legitimate.

For the life of me, can't understand the self flagellation by some Hibs fans over the potential 2nd yellows for Boyle and Newall. Let's not beat ourselves up thinking we dodged a bullet. Still doesn't come close to evening up the first half Morellos stamp at ER, where he inexplicably stayed on the pitch, scored the opening goal but rightly given the red card post-match.

14-03-2021, 12:51 PM
Hughes also mentioned that Beaton should know “who he is refereeing” which suggests Boyle a) has previous and b) should be treated differently.

Someone on here suggested that MB is used as an example in referee training courses as one who goes down easily. Maybe Beaton missed that particular class, hence Yogi's frustration.:cb

14-03-2021, 12:55 PM
Someone on here suggested that MB is used as an example in referee training courses as one who goes down easily. Maybe Beaton missed that particular class, hence Yogi's frustration.:cb

That's funny, cos I was actually wondering if Beaton had missed that training session as well.

14-03-2021, 01:25 PM
Ross should come out in support for Boyle, he should emphasise that he gets kicked up and down the pitch every week. The pundits on sportscene and sportsound are a joke. I did win an off the ball mug yesterday though so that shows obviously alright :greengrin

14-03-2021, 01:34 PM
Hughes also mentioned that Beaton should know “who he is refereeing” which suggests Boyle a) has previous and b) should be treated differently.Fitba folk ken what's going on, to coin a phrase.

Yogi was setting the tone for the studio here and needs to remain on message for when he returns to punditry when Ross County can him.

14-03-2021, 01:43 PM
Fitba folk ken what's going on, to coin a phrase.

Yogi was setting the tone for the studio here and needs to remain on message for when he returns to punditry when Ross County can him.

Wonder if we will get him back on Hibs TV to “pundit”. He slots in just fine.

14-03-2021, 01:44 PM
I personally think the whole off Scottish football coverage on the bbc is a disaster. Only really Michael Stewart I think goes against the grain and give any sort of interesting points. The radio side is a disgrace and very tired listening to a few old boys in the pub, Miller, Preston, young, not funny and not current. To be honest it’s all very BBCish / outdated and ****

14-03-2021, 01:46 PM
Wonder if we will get him back on Hibs TV to “pundit”. He slots in just fine.[emoji23][emoji23]

I'm actually a fan of Yogi from way back, he's just beginning to grate a bit recently and as others have said he's probably done Boyle no favours when there's a lot worse to highlight.

14-03-2021, 01:47 PM
Ross should come out in support for Boyle, he should emphasise that he gets kicked up and down the pitch every week. The pundits on sportscene and sportsound are a joke. I did win an off the ball mug yesterday though so that shows obviously alright :greengrin

Problem is if JR does that he just draws more attention to it & possibly damages Boyle's reputation.

14-03-2021, 02:04 PM

I suppose that was the reasoning behind my opening post Matty, there was unbalanced scrutiny over Martin all day yesterday and what the pundits are doing is subtly providing all the referees a reason to 'target' decisions against MB whenever he goes down - stoking it with definite devilment.

I can't recall them, for example, sticking the proverbial boot in to Steven Naismith who is the master at trying to con refs, cheat, and get players booked - whilst also leaving his foot in and going unpunished.

The second incident involving Boyle admittedly looked poor and in honesty he was lucky to not get a second yellow. But the inference throughout the day was Boyle has previous for it which for me is both incorrect and unfair. He gets lumps kicked out of him every game and say for example he was the kind of player who made a meal of challenges, would their opinion change any ? Boyler gets up and dusts himself down and is the furthest from a 'cheat' you can get.

Richard Gordon and Willie Miller could not hide their seethe yesterday. I'm all for pundits having their team, but at least be balanced and fair.

I'll wager whoever is ref for the Livingston game will deliberate more on a challenge on Boyle in the box that he would perhaps would have prior to yesterday. The narrative has been set. I can't recall Gordon and Miller ever getting so in-depth about GMS , Pawlett, and Nial McGinn trying to con refs by diving, which they do and did often for Aberdeen.

14-03-2021, 02:15 PM
How she ever got the Scotland women's gig I'll never know, useless.

Because she is a very good coach by all accounts

14-03-2021, 02:21 PM
Why are they?

It’s cos they’re women - it’s part of the bbc equality programme. No issue with that.

She could do with some media training but then so could the likes of Derek Ferguson and that.

c31
14-03-2021, 02:29 PM
The whole of Bbc Scotland (and STV) is amateur. They employ people who can’t string a sentence together, never mind making any sense! Yesterday was shocking example of their inadequate skills being aired.

14-03-2021, 02:33 PM
Something I find curious... poster on here gets a bit of stick for misogynistic language, which I understand to an extent although what he remarked in my opinion, never warranted half the criticism and, also in my opinion, she has a face for radio anyway, like Kris Boyd.

Natalie Sawyers paps on the other hand, as an example, go under intense scrutiny, with much laddish behaviour across all those Transfer Deadline days and not a word of dissent.

14-03-2021, 02:33 PM
I personally think the whole off Scottish football coverage on the bbc is a disaster. Only really Michael Stewart I think goes against the grain and give any sort of interesting points. The radio side is a disgrace and very tired listening to a few old boys in the pub, Miller, Preston, young, not funny and not current. To be honest it’s all very BBCish / outdated and ****

I never heard what any of them phannies said as I just refuse to listen to the west coast sheite that is drivelled on every week, I do find it funny that all them phannies spent so long talking about Martin Boyle apparently, when nothing has ever been said about the world record amount of penalties the sevco get over a season, lets get some perspective here.
As for Yogi he's a good lad but a bit of a slaver and he should be pulled up for what he has said as it dont do Hibs any good going forward.

14-03-2021, 02:45 PM
Yeah I was genuinely surprised it wasn't included

Probably because they didn't have a camera covering the angle.

14-03-2021, 02:48 PM
Something I find curious... poster on here gets a bit of stick for misogynistic language, which I understand to an extent although what he remarked in my opinion, never warranted half the criticism and, also in my opinion, she has a face for radio anyway, like Kris Boyd.

Natalie Sawyers paps on the other hand, as an example, go under intense scrutiny, with much laddish behaviour across all those Transfer Deadline days and not a word of dissent.

I think that’s a fair point, and I would think that if posts were made about that now then they wouldn’t be tolerated.

14-03-2021, 02:54 PM
Jack Ross wouldn't have made the speedos comment. I'd rather have a manager than a comedian.

I like Yogi but I was cringing at his interview. It was like he was trying too hard to be funny.

14-03-2021, 03:22 PM
I think that’s a fair point, and I would think that if posts were made about that now then they wouldn’t be tolerated.

Interesting Matty. Has all that big lad stuff stopped now do you think, can’t say I’m sure.

14-03-2021, 03:24 PM
My take on the Yogi comment is that he's seen other managers (Gerrard & Lennon) getting more decisions having put things into referees minds!
As Ross County are in a very precarious position, he's thinking, if I can change what a ref may think about a challenge, maybe we will get an extra break!!!!

14-03-2021, 03:49 PM
I think that’s a fair point, and I would think that if posts were made about that now then they wouldn’t be tolerated.I never thought of myself as a dinosaur, but that saddens me a bit TBH.

14-03-2021, 03:52 PM
I never thought of myself as a dinosaur, but that saddens me a bit TBH.

Can you expand on that Peevemor? Which bit are you sad about?

14-03-2021, 03:55 PM
Can you expand on that Peevemor? Which bit are you sad about?Cutting out (what I see as) harmless chat about Natalie Sawyer's paps.

14-03-2021, 04:00 PM
Cutting out (what I see as) harmless chat about Natalie Sawyer's paps.

I agree. Got to be balance though surely, if posters are to be called out as misogynistic for having a view on the nick of Shelley Kerr’s coupon, is it only to be the less photogenic women that get protection?

14-03-2021, 04:08 PM
I agree. Got to be balance though surely, if posters are to be called out as misogynistic for having a view on the nick of Shelley Kerr’s coupon, is it only to be the less photogenic women that get protection?Yes it should be about balance and the spirit in which things are said, ie. nastiness or admiration, although probably neither are politically correct.

14-03-2021, 04:18 PM
Problem is if JR does that he just draws more attention to it & possibly damages Boyle's reputation.
I think Boyle deserves someone from the club to speak up on his behalf. He’s being called a cheat by another manager and a group of pundits, hibs shouldn’t sit back and accept that.

14-03-2021, 04:20 PM
Yes it should be about balance and the spirit in which things are said, ie. nastiness or admiration, although probably neither are politically correct.

Not sure about political correctness, never one for that, although that seems to be the underlying reaction to the “Dracula’s bride” comment.
Drooling ‘admiringly’ over a woman online seems like it’s on the same level to me, maybe creepily worse, but it seldom gets pulled whilst possibly more common, not that I’ve got the appetite to prove that.

wallpaperman
14-03-2021, 04:24 PM
Why are they?

I think you know fine that he means to ‘meet the quota’ or something along those lines.

Do I agree with that? Very possibly, Leanne Crichton on Sportsound sounded like she was having a terrible day at the County v Hibs game. When they went over to her when Hibs went ahead I though she might have been about to announce the passing of a close friends family member she sounded that down in the dumps.

14-03-2021, 04:45 PM
I think Boyle deserves someone from the club to speak up on his behalf. He’s being called a cheat by another manager and a group of pundits, hibs shouldn’t sit back and accept that.

You can be sure the fat jambo will bring it up in the pre match press conf, so that is the ideal opportunity for Jack Ross to state our case.

14-03-2021, 05:02 PM
I think you know fine that he means to ‘meet the quota’ or something along those lines.

Do I agree with that? Very possibly, Leanne Crichton on Sportsound sounded like she was having a terrible day at the County v Hibs game. When they went over to her when Hibs went ahead I though she might have been about to announce the passing of a close friends family member she sounded that down in the dumps.

Oh no, I'm keen to hear from the poster. There's nothing that I believe in that I'm ashamed of saying outright.

Would I rather have someone like Neil McCann or Chick Young over Shelley Kerr or Leanne Crichton? No. They're not on there to 'meet the quota', they're on there because they're knowledgable about football.

14-03-2021, 05:18 PM
Not sure about political correctness, never one for that, although that seems to be the underlying reaction to the “Dracula’s bride” comment.
Drooling ‘admiringly’ over a woman online seems like it’s on the same level to me, maybe creepily worse, but it seldom gets pulled whilst possibly more common, not that I’ve got the appetite to prove that.

I just looked up 'The Brides of Dracula' and, I have to admit, the photos got me started drooling... so I'm now even more confused about what the comment was supposed to be implying.

14-03-2021, 05:25 PM
You can be sure the fat jambo will bring it up in the pre match press conf, so that is the ideal opportunity for Jack Ross to state our case.
:agree: That’s a certainty.

wallpaperman
14-03-2021, 05:27 PM
Oh no, I'm keen to hear from the poster. There's nothing that I believe in that I'm ashamed of saying outright.

Would I rather have someone like Neil McCann or Chick Young over Shelley Kerr or Leanne Crichton? No. They're not on there to 'meet the quota', they're on there because they're knowledgable about football.

They may be knowledgeable about football, but the role they are in they have to convey the message in a way that is not monotone and makes you want to turn them off as they are so dull. That’s the issue I have.

14-03-2021, 06:16 PM

I’d rather not have any of them as they generally come across as dour with no personality, and their knowledge really isn’t any greater than your average punter down the street.

14-03-2021, 06:20 PM
Would be surprised now if Boyle isn’t offered a 2 game ban for the dive. Ajeti was pulled up for less albeit I think he won his appeal.

It was a clear dive tbh and not sure we’ll get away it. Hopefully the sheer incompetence and inconsistency of the system will help us out for once and they ignore it.

14-03-2021, 06:44 PM
Kind of my view on it thought the penalty was the right decision though at the time didn't think so but Boyler has been smart and got his body in between the ball and the defender. The more I see it the more a pen it is. Would definitely be given via VAR.

The same thing happened against us in the hearts semi final, it's just what happens when a player gets his leg in between the ball and player, not the best when given against us but it's still a penalty, yogi has no case if you ask me.

14-03-2021, 07:00 PM
Would be surprised now if Boyle isn’t offered a 2 game ban for the dive. Ajeti was pulled up for less albeit I think he won his appeal.

It was a clear dive tbh and not sure we’ll get away it. Hopefully the sheer incompetence and inconsistency of the system will help us out for once and they ignore it.

You think the penalty was a clear dive? Mental.

14-03-2021, 07:03 PM
You think the penalty was a clear dive? Mental.

Penalty was soft, but it was a pen. Think he's talking about the second one which was a bad dive from Boyle.

The Baldmans Comb
14-03-2021, 07:07 PM
Was Yogi talking about the second penalty claim which Boyler didn't get because if he was then Yogi has called that exactly right.

Boyle dived and should have been sent packing for two yellows and hard to see what the referee was thinking.

Nothing wrong with the actual penalty though as there was clear contact and a clumsy tackle by the Ross County defender and Boyle did nothing wrong there.

14-03-2021, 07:09 PM
Penalty was soft, but it was a pen. Think he's talking about the second one which was a bad dive from Boyle.

I watched it again and I don’t think it’s a dive either. Neither was it a penalty.

There was contact but it’s Boyles pace and change of direction and he initiates the contact but doesn’t look deliberate to win a penalty.

I think people are being unfair on Boyle on both occasions.

14-03-2021, 07:15 PM
Cutting out (what I see as) harmless chat about Natalie Sawyer's paps.

I suppose it depends on what people view as harmless, and where other people stand on making a change to how women are viewed.

I get the reluctance to change, but really is it right to normalise making a woman’s value relative to her looks or breast size?

Folk will have their own views on what’s acceptable and what isn’t and it’s almost impossible to get consensus on it (we still have folk who will argue that outdated names for takeaways are acceptable etc) but I think it’s right that the site moves with the times.

I include myself in that, there’s stuff I’ve said it posted (or had on the podcast) that I wouldn’t repeat now.

14-03-2021, 07:16 PM
The penalty isn’t soft - he got in front of the defender and the defender kicked his leg. Just like it would’ve been a foul if the defender had been on the by line trying to let the ball run out and fell over when the striker breathed on him.

2nd one I thought was a penalty then I saw the replay and I think he slipped - where he’ll probably find himself in trouble is by claiming for the pen.

14-03-2021, 07:26 PM

In which case he can’t be cited as he never gained an advantage by receiving a penalty.

14-03-2021, 07:31 PM
Don't take anything they say seriously. Would be better if they had an ex referee on the couch to make comment. Sky do it with Dermot Gallagher.

14-03-2021, 07:41 PM
The penalty isn’t soft - he got in front of the defender and the defender kicked his leg. Just like it would’ve been a foul if the defender had been on the by line trying to let the ball run out and fell over when the striker breathed on him.

2nd one I thought was a penalty then I saw the replay and I think he slipped - where he’ll probably find himself in trouble is by claiming for the pen.

He might have felt he was tripped though, doesn’t mean he tried to con the ref.

14-03-2021, 07:46 PM
Don't take anything they say seriously. Would be better if they had an ex referee on the couch to make comment. Sky do it with Dermot Gallagher.

He’s an arse as well though. Imagine the reaction to Sportscene getting Hugh Dallas in (or any of them for that matter).

14-03-2021, 07:55 PM
He’s an arse as well though. Imagine the reaction to Sportscene getting Hugh Dallas in (or any of them for that matter).

Pointless exercise where they side with the ref 99/100. Same with that moron Peter Walton, genuinely hasn’t got a scooby.

14-03-2021, 08:15 PM
Just saw the awarded penalty for the first time and can't see what all the fuss is about.
Clear foul inside the box equals a penalty kick.

14-03-2021, 08:22 PM
Pointless exercise where they side with the ref 99/100. Same with that moron Peter Walton, genuinely hasn’t got a scooby.
Watch Dermot on sky he doesn't always side with the ref. Just thought it would be better to have somebody qualified to make a comment rather having unqualified pundits passing comment. I bet the refs switch over when sportscene comes on. The game finished 2-1 the first incident there was contact with Boyle the same pundits will say he has the right to go down. Second one looks like no contract was made. At the Rangers Livi game the Morelos incident I had to watch it 3 times to see the contact. Give the refs a break.

14-03-2021, 08:40 PM
Watch Dermot on sky he doesn't always side with the ref. Just thought it would be better to have somebody qualified to make a comment rather having unqualified pundits passing comment. I bet the refs switch over when sportscene comes on. The game finished 2-1 the first incident there was contact with Boyle the same pundits will say he has the right to go down. Second one looks like no contract was made. At the Rangers Livi game the Morelos incident I had to watch it 3 times to see the contact. Give the refs a break.

While not sticking up for pundits, my issue with the refs is they might be qualified and know the rules but absolutely none of them have any idea how to play the game or what happens within a game. Anytime I’ve watched Gallagher he either sides with the ref or tries to find the worst of excuses for crap decisions. Brings nothing to the table for me.

Chorley Hibee
14-03-2021, 09:01 PM
Just watching last week's Champions League highlights and the penalty Porto were awarded against Juventus is almost exactly the same as Boyle's yesterday.

14-03-2021, 09:09 PM
I suppose it depends on what people view as harmless, and where other people stand on making a change to how women are viewed.

I get the reluctance to change, but really is it right to normalise making a woman’s value relative to her looks or breast size?

Folk will have their own views on what’s acceptable and what isn’t and it’s almost impossible to get consensus on it (we still have folk who will argue that outdated names for takeaways are acceptable etc) but I think it’s right that the site moves with the times.

I include myself in that, there’s stuff I’ve said it posted (or had on the podcast) that I wouldn’t repeat now.

Am I still allowed to comment on Joe Newell’s hair?

14-03-2021, 09:11 PM
Just watching last week's Champions League highlights and the penalty Porto were awarded against Juventus is almost exactly the same as Boyle's yesterday.

:agree: it’s cos it’s the rules.

14-03-2021, 09:18 PM

It really is awful. I was listening to open all mikes on Saturday and I think it’s getting worse. The most insightful comments were from the female pundit, don’t know her name but she’s a professional player.

14-03-2021, 10:18 PM
Just saw the awarded penalty for the first time and can't see what all the fuss is about.
Clear foul inside the box equals a penalty kick.

Couldn’t believe it when I saw it. Boyle just gets his leg across to shield the ball and gets clattered. Wtf was Yogi expecting? “After you, Claude.” :rolleyes:

I just watched the 2nd Boyle penalty incident again in slow motion and he was clipped by the Ross County defender.

We should have had another penalty.

Am I still allowed to comment on Joe Newell’s hair?

Probably, because it’s unlikely that Joe Newell’s value has ever been limited to how he looks.

14-03-2021, 11:04 PM
I just watched the 2nd Boyle penalty incident again in slow motion and he was clipped by the Ross County defender.

We should have had another penalty.

I think there was a fair chance he was clipped. I watched it 4 times though and still couldn't tell if there was contact or not. Certainly not a clear cut dive as the Sportscene pundits suggest.

Clarence
15-03-2021, 07:02 AM
I’m quite happy with this new tag of winners that pundits don’t like. The old tag of “Hibs play great attacking football but don’t have the minerals to see games out” was irritating. I hope Jack is using this kind of media nonsense to build a siege mentality in the team and that they carry on doing what they do.

15-03-2021, 07:05 AM
Probably, because it’s unlikely that Joe Newell’s value has ever been limited to how he looks.

So you’d be making an assumption that any comment about a female would be limiting her value to that only?

Clarence
15-03-2021, 07:08 AM
It really is awful. I was listening to open all mikes on Saturday and I think it’s getting worse. The most insightful comments were from the female pundit, don’t know her name but she’s a professional player.

A big moment of cringe when Alan ‘soggy biscuits’ Preston just started talking over her as she was describing Boyle’s interception in the first half and Richard Gordon had to try to rectify his incursion. I listen to it to hear about what’s going on in the games but the standard is very amateur. Jobs for the boys mainly and the level of groupthink that goes on is astonishing.

15-03-2021, 07:15 AM
So you’d be making an assumption that any comment about a female would be limiting her value to that only?

No. Though if the comment is about the size of her chest rather than her ability to deliver news, then yes.

And the point is that, specifically, when it’s women looks are far more likely to have been used to judge and give value than in men. So not any comment, no, but an awful lot of them.

15-03-2021, 08:14 AM
The BBC analysis is pish. No slowed down camera work and surely that shouldn’t be so hard for them to do?

The penalty was a penalty. The County defender is slower to the ball and makes contact with Boyle from behind. He gives the ref the decision to make through that action.

The second one was poor from Boyle.

15-03-2021, 08:54 AM

They went after Ajeti because he won a penalty. Would it be the same for Boyle's second collapse, which didn't result in anything? Or would they cook up some 'corrupting the spirit of the game' charge?
I think it all depends on the referee saying he didn't see it properly and Beaton had a ringside seat. Saying that, Clancy was looking straight at Morelos when he stamped on Porteous...
Then there's the appeal. In the Ajeti case, did Celtic just keep saying 'no it wisnae' until the SFA gave in and released a not proven verdict?
Whatever happens, Boyle's card will be well and truly marked and he ain't going to get another penalty for a while unless he's absolutely halved by an opponent. Even though he's battered from pillar to post most weeks, he would do well to stay on his feet if he can for the next few weeks.

15-03-2021, 09:04 AM
Hoe did a conversation about Sportscene veer off onto the rights and wrongs of mentioning Natalie Sawyer's bazungas?

I think because someone commented on the appearance of a female pundit which was then branded misogynistic.

hibby rae
15-03-2021, 09:23 AM
Natalie Saywer is a very good sports news reader, who also happens to be very pretty.

It is possible to acknowledge all of this, although we are getting to the stage where we will not be able to talk about anything that is staring you right in the face.

It's a just a question of respect and language.

If someone came on here and saw a comment about their wife, sister, or daughter. Someone describing how much they like looking at their breasts, or denigrating their appearance. 99.9% of us would be livid. And rightly so.

So it's just about being respectful.

15-03-2021, 09:29 AM
I edited the above post to remove a offensive remark about female appearance. After discussing it with the admin team we've now removed it and those who quoted it.

Anyone who thinks offensive remarks on here should be allowed need to find another forum to post on.

15-03-2021, 09:46 AM
I edited the above post to remove a offensive remark about female appearance. After discussing it with the admin team we've now removed it and those who quoted it.

Anyone who thinks offensive remarks on here should be allowed need to find another forum to post on.

I'm in no way looking to rock the boat, but I think we'll find that there's a huge range of opinions as to what is an "offensive remark".

15-03-2021, 09:50 AM
I'm in no way looking to rock the boat, but I think we'll find that there's a huge range of opinions as to what is an "offensive remark".

I understand that and that's why the admin team will look at any reported posts before deciding what's best.

15-03-2021, 09:56 AM

That's true, but it is a bit of a minefield for the Admins and I'm happy enough for them to err on the side of caution (even if it was my post that was deleted :wink:)

15-03-2021, 10:02 AM
That's true, but it is a bit of a minefield for the Admins and I'm happy enough for them to err on the side of caution (even if it was my post that was deleted :wink:)

But it could quickly become a minefield for those who don't want to give the admins extra work if the goalposts are being shifted.

Who'd want to put goalposts in a minefield anyway? :confused:

15-03-2021, 10:11 AM

So we’re not allowed to slag off opposition players or refs or anyone at all cause it might cause offence?

Thats the whole point sometimes! Read the thread on Sportscene, plenty offence being thrown about in there about pundits.

Can’t talk about someone’s appearance or what they have to say cause someone might be offended?

We should all go find another forum I guess.

15-03-2021, 10:30 AM

Who'd want to put goalposts in a minefield anyway? :confused:

That sounds like a great idea for a new TV show.

Celebrities Play Five-a Sides On A Minefield

I'd pay to watch that.

15-03-2021, 10:30 AM
So we’re not allowed to slag off opposition players or refs or anyone at all cause it might cause offence?

Thats the whole point sometimes! Read the thread on Sportscene, plenty offence being thrown about in there about pundits.

Can’t talk about someone’s appearance or what they have to say cause someone might be offended?

We should all go find another forum I guess.

Or just don't talk about someone's body parts or how they look when discussing their ability to do a job, it's not hard

15-03-2021, 10:31 AM
Or just don't talk about someone's body parts or how they look when discussing their ability to do a job, it's not hard

Ooh Matron!

See, it's not so easy as you think.

15-03-2021, 10:32 AM
Ooh Matron!

See, it's not so easy as you think.

😁😁😁

15-03-2021, 10:32 AM
What is acceptable when dishing out the insults?

Yogi is regularly described as a slaver, thick as mince etc. etc. This is probably mostly based on his strong Edinburgh working class accent, his speech impediment which causes him to say "how" "out" etc with curious inflection.

Boyd is obviously a fat, outraged, Hun loving dick.

Levein is Dr Football and Anne Budge is mocked for her frumpy dress sense, her unnatural faith in the aforementioned and for shafting the Jambos.

Should we restrict our observations purely to critiquing their analytical skills?

Is it OK to call someone a fud or a fanny, a bit of a **** etc....on Hibs.Net or anywhere else ?

Gloucester Hibs
15-03-2021, 10:35 AM
Are we still allowed to acknowledge Stevie Fulton was indeed booked for being ugly? 😁

15-03-2021, 10:43 AM

Yogi is regularly described as a slaver, thick as mince etc. etc. This is probably mostly based on his strong Edinburgh working class accent, his speech impediment which causes him to say "how" "out" etc with curious inflection.

Levein is Dr Football and Anne Budge is mocked for her frumpy dress sense, her unnatural faith in the aforementioned and for shafting the Jambos.

Should we restrict our observations purely to critiquing their analytical skills?

Is it OK to call someone a fud or a fanny, a bit of a **** etc....on Hibs.Net or anywhere else ?

That's right, any insults about Craig Levein are now ban worthy because a sexist comment was deleted.

15-03-2021, 10:44 AM

How about we leave the admins to deal with it like they’ve always done.

15-03-2021, 10:47 AM

Are you being serious?

Fans have always slagged opposition players off for there appearance.

Folk previously asked what woke culture is all about, your post is a perfect example of it.

15-03-2021, 10:50 AM
Are you being serious?

Folk previously asked what woke culture is all about, your post is a perfect example of it.

Really what we should be doing is stop talking about these young men in terms of their perceived ‘value’ to us as footballers.

They are human beings, sons, fathers, brothers, friends.

15-03-2021, 10:53 AM
Really what we should be doing is stop talking about these young men in terms of their perceived ‘value’ to us as footballers.

Even Alfredo Morelos? :confused:

15-03-2021, 10:54 AM

Is that what's being said, here?

Can I just check, to get my head around this - are folk a bit pissed off because we've asked them to be a bit less sexist?

That's very much what it looks like.

15-03-2021, 10:56 AM

Can I just check, to get my head around this - are folk a bit pissed off because we've asked them to be a bit less sexist?

I just asked one of my daughters for her thoughts and she thinks that’s exactly what it is.

15-03-2021, 10:57 AM

Isn’t it the opposite?

That the odd comment to females should be taken the same way as the odd comment towards men.

15-03-2021, 10:58 AM

15-03-2021, 10:59 AM
That's right, any insults about Craig Levein are now ban worthy because a sexist comment was deleted.

Any chance of addressing my wider point? I'm not challenging the decision to delete an offensive post. I am genuinely interested to hear people's views. Perhaps I will take a look at some of my own habits and challenge myself. Is that not what we are asking people to consider in terms of the broader debate?

How about we leave the admins to deal with it like they’ve always done.

How about we engage in discussion, like we have always done?

I just asked one of my daughters for her thoughts and she thinks that’s exactly what it is.

Agreed my daughters think the same. Lot if work to be done in this area

Isn’t it the opposite?

That the odd comment to females should be taken the same way as the odd comment towards men.

At the risk of taking this over two threads, to frame it like that is to totally miss the point of what's being called out here.

15-03-2021, 11:05 AM
At the risk of taking this over two threads, to frame it like that is to totally miss the point of what's being called out here.

It is exactly what is being discussed here isn’t it?

A reference to a female’s looks or body part will be deleted but we can carry on if it is men?

The argument was about objectifying. I objectify Joe Newell on a regular basis on here because as well as being a very good player he is a beautiful man with gorgeous hair. Am I allowed now?

15-03-2021, 11:11 AM
Any chance of addressing my wider point? I'm not challenging the decision to delete an offensive post. I am genuinely interested to hear people's views. Perhaps I will take a look at some of my own habits and challenge myself. Is that not what we are asking people to consider in terms of the broader debate?

Sexism has always been against the forum rules so I didn't really think there was much of a wider point I could address to be honest, I suppose my response would be that I don't think there's any wholesale change happening here.

Inappropriate content has always been moderated rather intuitively, with context and subject instrumental in how posts are dealt with. There have been deletions, warnings, and infractions handed out for insults toward male pundits, players, and managers before, but the vast majority of posters are able to gauge what's acceptable and what isn't.

If people take some of the scenes we've seen in the news recently to engage in some introspection about their own behaviours, everyone on this site included, then that's great, but the post that was deleted would have been treated just the same a year ago.

15-03-2021, 11:22 AM
Am I allowed now?

I don’t think you realise how infantile you actually sound with this question.

‘Don’t be sexist’ as an ethos is very similar to ‘Black Lives Matter’ as an ethos. It’s not complicated. Treat people with respect. Repeating yourself with false analogies about joe Newell’s hair just makes you look a bit daft, when you’re obviously aiming for the exact opposite.

15-03-2021, 11:22 AM
There was a lot of debate on here at a time when some fans made up a song suggesting Akpo Sodje had to tuck a certain body part into his sock.

I thought then that was pretty crude, played on a stereotype about black men and was lowest common denominator stuff.

If people's level is the pretty lady has nice paps and the black guy has a big c*** then that's on them. We don't need to platform it though.

15-03-2021, 11:23 AM
It is exactly what is being discussed here isn’t it?

A reference to a female’s looks or body part will be deleted but we can carry on if it is men?

The argument was about objectifying. I objectify Joe Newell on a regular basis on here because as well as being a very good player he is a beautiful man with gorgeous hair. Am I allowed now?

The difference being that Joe Newell (in all likelihood) has not had his value as a footballer, pundit, person, whatever based on his looks by people for his whole life.

Virtually every woman has because that's what society does.

So when you look at sexism it's not about treating everyone exactly the same because people don't have the same starting points.

It's a really basic, fundamentally flawed, point to say "if I say it about men, I can say it about women", which is effectively the point you're making.

15-03-2021, 11:27 AM
Are you being serious?

And that makes it OK now? And if you are happy with talking about the size of someones chest for example to talk about how well they do their job then I'll bow out of this conversation with you

Clarence
15-03-2021, 11:30 AM
The difference being that Joe Newell (in all likelihood) has not had his value as a footballer, pundit, person, whatever based on his looks by people for his whole life.

So when you look at sexism it's not about treating everyone exactly the same because people don't have the same starting points.

It's a really basic, fundamentally flawed, point to say "if I say it about men, I can say it about women", which is effectively the point you're making.

The virtually every woman comment is where you lose people. It’s taking an egregious example of behaviour and extrapolating it across more than 50% of the experiences of people alive today which simply isn’t true.

15-03-2021, 11:30 AM

Nothing to do with .net specifically, and not necessarily aimed at you, but do you think Natalie Sawyer would have got the gig doing football stuff on Sky if she wasn't good looking? And do male presenters get let go for no apparent reason as they approach 40?

15-03-2021, 11:31 AM

Yep, you just can't equate the two. Egalitarianism might sound great, but it disregards the disparities that already exist and how they impact lived experience.

An uncomfortable additional comment is that Joe Newell can sleep fairly comfortably at night without the fear that somebody making sexualised comments about him on the Internet will end up harrassing or assaulting him in real life.

A blanket approach just doesn't work.

15-03-2021, 11:35 AM
Yep, you just can't equate the two. Egalitarianism might sound great, but it disregards the disparities that already exist and how they impact lived experience.

An uncomfortable additional comment is that Joe Newell can sleep fairly comfortably at night without the fear that somebody making sexualised comments about him on the Internet will end up harrassing or assaulting him in real life.

A blanket approach just doesn't work.

His accent isn't very sexy either.

15-03-2021, 11:35 AM
I don’t think you realise how infantile you actually sound with this question.

‘Don’t be sexist’ as an ethos is very similar to ‘Black Lives Matter’ as an ethos. It’s not complicated. Treat people with respect. Repeating yourself with false analogies about joe Newell’s hair just makes you look a bit daft, when you’re obviously aiming for the exact opposite.

I'm asking what we are trying to get to here because this started with both a male and a female pundit being abused in the same sentence and only the abuse on the female pundit being picked up on.

It has then moved on to talk about respect and not being abusive and perhaps not objectifying anyone based on a particular characteristic.

Matty has confirmed below that the view is that it is not acceptable specifically towards women because they historically have been the brunt of these types of comments. If the starting point is any comment about a female is sexist and not allowed even if the same thing would be said to man then fair enough. You've said just treat people with respect. Do you mean treat certain people with respect because there are any number of examples where this forum just doesn't and can't really operate that way.

15-03-2021, 11:38 AM
The virtually every woman comment is where you lose people. It’s taking an egregious example of behaviour and extrapolating it across more than 50% of the experiences of people alive today which simply isn’t true.

You need to speak to more women. I am not lying or exaggerating when I tell you that I do not know a woman who has not experienced what I described in her life. Not one.

How about we engage in discussion, like we have always done?

I'm in agreement with you!

I think if you asked women, (and there’s plenty of polling evidence that backs this up) the vast majority would say they feel judged on their looks in a way that men aren’t. So I’d say Matty is spot on, ‘virtually all’ women have that experience.

hibby rae
15-03-2021, 11:39 AM

Yep 100%.

The thing about complaining about "wokeness" etc. is that the folk and comments being called on are punching downwards.

Then when they are called on it they ironically argue they are the ones being targetted.

15-03-2021, 11:39 AM
Nothing to do with .net specifically, and not necessarily aimed at you, but do you think Natalie Sawyer would have got the gig doing football stuff on Sky if she wasn't good looking? And do male presenters get let go for no apparent reason as they approach 40?

Sky definitely have a checkbox on the woman’s interview list about looks and ethnicity (ie white only).

They also keep it fresh on the woman’s side of the desk whereas the men seem to have a job for life.

15-03-2021, 11:45 AM
I'm asking what we are trying to get to here because this started with both a male and a female pundit being abused in the same sentence and only the abuse on the female pundit being picked up on.

It has then moved on to talk about respect and not being abusive and perhaps not objectifying anyone based on a particular characteristic.

Matty has confirmed below that the view is that it is not acceptable specifically towards women because they historically have been the brunt of these types of comments. If the starting point is any comment about a female is sexist and not allowed even if the same thing would be said to man then fair enough. You've said just treat people with respect. Do you mean treat certain people with respect because there are any number of examples where this forum just doesn't and can't really operate that way.

Your first paragraph is incorrect, and I've said this to you before. I picked up on the abuse given to Hughes.

15-03-2021, 11:46 AM

I think Sky Sports definitely have (or had) a type - I'm not so sure they'll continue to have that based on their desire to be seen as a progressive, inclusive company.

The Soccerrette on Soccer AM, for example, was ditched because the show moved with the time.

Jim White must be crapping himself for when he hits 40. and (although not Sky Sports) Gary Lineker can't be far off it either.

15-03-2021, 11:49 AM
Sky definitely have a checkbox on the woman’s interview list about looks and ethnicity (ie white only).

They also keep it fresh on the woman’s side of the desk whereas the men seem to have a job for life.

:agree: Fox News even more so. They want an archetype woman. Good film last year on the subject, Margot Robbie, the name escapes me.

15-03-2021, 11:51 AM

This doesn’t make sense to me so I’m struggling to provide an answer.

15-03-2021, 11:53 AM
Back to the actual trial as opposed to talking about peoples bits.

If Squirrel was to be cited what would the deadline be for this to happen.

I will be fuming if he gets a two match ban.

It would never have received that amount of attention on Sportscene if there were five or six matches on, the fact that there were only two played on Saturday hasn't helped.

Oh, and John Hughes should keep his big gub shut.

His outburst will mean the Boyle won't get a penalty this season and has given a license to thugs to kick him up and down the park.

15-03-2021, 11:57 AM

It would never have received that amount of attention on Sportscene if there were five or six matches on, the fact that there were only two played on Saturday hasn't helped.

His outburst will mean the Boyle won't get a penalty this season and has given a license to thugs to kick him up and down the park.
I don't think he can be cited as we never benefited from it - if we'd won a penalty and he was deemed to have dived for it, then they can take retrospective action but because nothing came of it, I think that's the matter closed.

I don't think there's any chance of him being cited for the actual penalty, as that was a foul, despite what Yogi and Sportscene said.

15-03-2021, 11:57 AM

:agree: as did the overturning of the Hamilton red card. It feels like sportscene like the publicity it gets from the “trial by” headlines.

15-03-2021, 12:00 PM
In which case he can’t be cited as he never gained an advantage by receiving a penalty.

Didn’t realise that was how it worked mate, thanks 👍🏻

Clearly the penalty was a penalty!

15-03-2021, 12:00 PM
I don't think he can be cited as we never benefited from it - if we'd won a penalty and he was deemed to have dived for it, then they can take retrospective action but because nothing came of it, I think that's the matter closed.

I don't think there's any chance of him being cited for the actual penalty, as that was a foul, despite what Yogi and Sportscene said.

Also poor that a hibs employee is publicly criticising / calling a hibs player a cheat on national radio and tv.

15-03-2021, 12:08 PM
Didn’t realise that was how it worked mate, thanks 👍🏻

Clearly the penalty was a penalty!

Aye you can only be punished if you have gained an advantage of a penalty from it or getting a player sent off (Lafferty was the first to be done with this vs Aberdeen years back.

hibeelady
15-03-2021, 12:09 PM
I think everyone asking about misogynistic comments should google the male gaze theory. This outlines many reasons why women have been objectified by men and judged and valued on their looks alone. We need to accept women as equals and not value them on looks or fear them when they excel in the workplace. By all means comment of individuals ability to do their jobs well or otherwise but don’t add female derogatory comments, it really is that easy.

15-03-2021, 12:22 PM
That sounds like a great idea for a new TV show.

Celebrities Play Five-a Sides On A Minefield

I'd pay to watch that.

Can we nominate the celebrity?

15-03-2021, 12:30 PM
I think everyone asking about misogynistic comments should google the male gaze theory. This outlines many reasons why women have been objectified by men and judged and valued on their looks alone. We need to accept women as equals and not value them on looks or fear them when they excel in the workplace. By all means comment of individuals ability to do their jobs well or otherwise but don’t add female derogatory comments, it really is that easy.

Where do you stand on the use of the likes of tit, fanny, fud and **** as terms of insult? All of these are non gender specific in application, but they sit alongside a parallel series of insults like dick, cock, prick, tool as regularly used insult which refer to body parts.

15-03-2021, 12:33 PM
Where do you stand on the use of the likes of tit, fanny, fud and **** as terms of insult? All of these are non gender specific in application, but they sit alongside a parallel series of insults like dick, cock, prick, tool as regularly used insult which refer to body parts.

I think we'll have to stick to a**ehole to keep everyone happy.

hibeelady
15-03-2021, 12:43 PM
I don’t see the relevance to be honest. This isn’t related to what I said at all, I think the only point here is that women should be able to do their jobs without their appearances being commented on. It’s fine to disagree with her comments but her looks have nothing to do with it.

15-03-2021, 12:48 PM
I don’t see the relevance to be honest. This isn’t related to what I said at all, I think the only point here is that women should be able to do their jobs without their appearances being commented on. It’s fine to disagree with her comments but her looks have nothing to do with it.

:agree: unfortunately using a derogatory term about Kerr’s appearance has taken away the important part which is that she’s a terrible pundit that contradicted herself about the penalty and very rarely adds anything to the discussion.

15-03-2021, 01:02 PM

The context though is that whilst it isn’t relevant, or very nice, the same treatment goes for everyone.

The reality is we aren’t respectful or think of people’s feelings in all sorts of ways on here and in any football discussion. That’s where the question is being asked. Are we just stamping down on this when it impacts women? People seem to be happy about drawing that line so that’s where it’s at.

15-03-2021, 01:05 PM

Who's placing value on them because of their looks?

The point being made is that if we can slag a bloke off for being ugly why cant we do the the same with a woman?

I've never done either on here by the way, but it's the double standards coming through that are a pain. Equality means treating everyone the same in my book. Gotta take the rough with the smooth.

15-03-2021, 01:07 PM
O-M-G, the culture wars have invaded the Main Board

Clarence
15-03-2021, 01:16 PM
You need to speak to more women. I am not lying or exaggerating when I tell you that I do not know a woman who has not experienced what I described in her life. Not one.

This is again where you lose people. You’re trying to say that you know how over 50% of the world’s population feels. You don’t because that’s impossible. What your experiencing is confirmation bias, you’re looking for the evidence to prove your theory. Sorry for mansplaining that but I know how important it is to be clear and not sound confusing.

15-03-2021, 01:17 PM
This is again where you lose people. You’re trying to say that you know how over 50% of the world’s population feels. You don’t because that’s impossible. What your experiencing is confirmation bias, you’re looking for the evidence to prove your theory. Sorry for mansplaining that but I know how important it is to be clear and not sound confusing.

15-03-2021, 01:23 PM
Could one of our kind admins please transfer this [obscenity_removed] to the Holy Ground.

Thanks

hibeelady
15-03-2021, 01:25 PM
Who's placing value on them because of their looks?

The point being made is that if we can slag a bloke off for being ugly why cant we do the the same with a woman?

I've never done either on here by the way, but it's the double standards coming through that are a pain. Equality means treating everyone the same in my book. Gotta take the rough with the smooth.
Men have not been systematically oppressed throughout history, especially not because of their looks. Women have been. Equality is the goal yes, we’re not there yet. Why can someone (anyone, regardless of gender) not just state their opinion on TV without their looks being brought into it? The fact is women are more likely to be commented on regarding looks in all aspects of life ie at their jobs or in the media. My point which has once again been missed is that people should be free to do their jobs without being commented upon you can disagree with someone’s opinion no problem but why bring looks into it? It just weakens your argument in the first place. Why are some men so desperate to be given permission to talk degradingly about women? And for the record I also disagreed with her analysis on the penalty!,

15-03-2021, 01:28 PM
Men have not been systematically oppressed throughout history, especially not because of their looks. Women have been. Equality is the goal yes, we’re not there yet. Why can someone (anyone, regardless of gender) not just state their opinion on TV without their looks being brought into it? The fact is women are more likely to be commented on regarding looks in all aspects of life ie at their jobs or in the media. My point which has once again been missed is that people should be free to do their jobs without being commented upon you can disagree with someone’s opinion no problem but why bring looks into it? It just weakens your argument in the first place. Why are some men so desperate to be given permission to talk degradingly about women? And for the record I also disagreed with her analysis on the penalty!,

Careful, someone will be along shortly to mansplain to you why that’s wrong. :greengrin

15-03-2021, 01:51 PM
Regardless of where you stand on the issues discussed, I hope we can all agree that this thread has run its course as far as being relevant to the main forum on a Hibs related site.