View Full Version : Finishing 3rd v 4th - worth about a million quid?

13-03-2021, 04:12 PM
When you take into account prize money, uefa fitba (whatever comp it is, havn't been paying attention to the conference stuff) and the feel good factor surrounding the club with regards to season tickets, new strip and HSL etc etc? Might be slightly over calculating but on top of the achievement the additional income will be much welcomed considering the circumstances and seeing Aberdeen's income decrease while debts increase can only be beneficial to us too.

Let's .....kin do this Hibs. Gutted not to be up there today. The 3 points followed The Mallard post match followed by the swally back down the road on the train would've been some day out. :flag:

13-03-2021, 04:14 PM
When you take into account prize money, uefa fitba (whatever comp it is, havn't been paying attention to the conference stuff) and the feel good factor surrounding the club with regards to season tickets, new strip and HSL etc etc? Might be slightly over calculating but on top of the achievement the additional income will be much welcomed considering the circumstances and seeing Aberdeen's income decrease while debts increase can only be beneficial to us too.

Let's .....kin do this Hibs:flag:

Could be considerably more than that if we are playing European football until Christmas.

13-03-2021, 04:16 PM
Depending on how the European stuff goes it could be 4 times that if we got to the europa league group stages.

13-03-2021, 04:17 PM
I read somewhere 3rd was worth £4m but no idea where that figure is from so could be utter pish

Hibees1973
Based on stuff I have read should be at least £3m minimum...prize & TV money.

Let's .....kin do this Hibs:flag:

From memory there is a fair bit difference in prize money between finishing third and fourth.

Finish third and no daft Scottish Cup winner and Europe on its own would easily be worth a million.

If we finish third and either us or the Old Firm win the Scottish Cup then we are guaranteed four home European games.

Bridge hibs
13-03-2021, 04:19 PM

Let's .....kin do this Hibs. Gutted not to be up there today. The 3 points followed The Mallard post match followed by the swally back down the road on the train would've been some day out. :flag:Bang on mate, lets just secure that 3rd place and then hopefully reap the benefits, my passport is twitching 😆

13-03-2021, 04:20 PM
The difference between 3rd and the 7th we finished last season is even a fair amount.

wallpaperman
13-03-2021, 04:23 PM
Last season the difference in pure prize money between 3rd and 4th was about £250k. Can’t see anything about this year’s payments.

13-03-2021, 04:35 PM
It would make a massive difference.

The buzz for one of finishing 3rd, guaranteed European football and having fans back in the stadium for one, then when you accompany that with Ron Gordon’s ambitiousness and spending money.

It will also help us recruit a better calibre of player as they’ll be exposed more and like the chance to play in Europe.

We can’t downplay how big and good an achievement it would be.

We haven’t done it nearly enough over the past 40 odd years, Ross will change that hopefully.

13-03-2021, 04:44 PM
It would make a massive difference.

The buzz for one of finishing 3rd, guaranteed European football and having fans back in the stadium for one, then when you accompany that with Ron Gordon’s ambitiousness and spending money.

It will also help us recruit a better calibre of player as they’ll be exposed more and like the chance to play in Europe.

We can’t downplay how big and good an achievement it would be.

We haven’t done it nearly enough over the past 40 odd years, Ross will change that hopefully.

Add to that the unique circumstances that (Scottish Cup result TBC) could mean it's guaranteed group-stage football, there could hardly be a better season to finish third. Easy to get carried away, but these are the kind of situations that an upward spiral of success/income can be built on.

15-03-2021, 01:43 AM
Was just reading this article https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/scotland-secure-five-places-in-202122-uefa-club-competitions/

So am I right in assuming if either us or the Old Firm win the Scottish Cup and we finish 3rd, that will see us go to the third qualifying round and only a game away from the Groups with the fall back of this new Conference League?

Gloucester Hibs
15-03-2021, 05:16 AM
Not that we’d ever likely know either way, but should we be offering the players significant bonuses for finishing 3rd? I think all bonuses are decided before the season starts, and possibly before the significance of finishing 3rd may have become apparent?

15-03-2021, 05:39 AM
Was just reading this article https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/scotland-secure-five-places-in-202122-uefa-club-competitions/

So am I right in assuming if either us or the Old Firm win the Scottish Cup and we finish 3rd, that will see us go to the third qualifying round and only a game away from the Groups with the fall back of this new Conference League?

Correct. It's massive for us.

Caversham Green
15-03-2021, 06:49 AM
As a guide, Aberdeen got to the group stages of what was then the UEFA Cup in 2007-08 and their turnover increased from the previous year by £5.3m (2008: £12.869m 2007: £7.519m). That set them up for the next 4-5 years - success breeds success.

While the Conference group stages probably won't be as lucrative as that it gives a fair indication of the potential income even if we were to get knocked out of the Europa League qualifiers.

15-03-2021, 06:51 AM
Not that we’d ever likely know either way, but should we be offering the players significant bonuses for finishing 3rd? I think all bonuses are decided before the season starts, and possibly before the significance of finishing 3rd may have become apparent?

Absolutely not. We’re nearly there and the players don’t look like they aren’t wanting it for playing reasons so would just be chucking money away for no reason.

147lothian
15-03-2021, 07:37 AM
I feel the amount we get for reaching third will depend on who we draw, for example if we get a German team we have hit the jackpot because they pay a lot of money for TV rights, I think that's how it works?

15-03-2021, 07:48 AM
From memory there is a fair bit difference in prize money between finishing third and fourth.

Finish third and no daft Scottish Cup winner and Europe on its own would easily be worth a million.

If we finish third and either us or the Old Firm win the Scottish Cup then we are guaranteed four home European games.

I think there's only about £150k difference between the places.

15-03-2021, 07:52 AM
I found this from April last year. The teams were calling for the SPFL to release the prize money early.

1. Celtic – £3.35m

2. Rangers – £2.3m

3. Motherwell – £2.06m

4. Aberdeen – £1.81m

5th - Livingston - £1.68m

6th - St Johnstone - £1.56m

7th - Hibernian - £1.43m

8th - Kilmarnock - £1.37m

9th - St Mirren - £1.31m

10th - Ross County -5.00% - £1.25m

11th - Hamilton Accies 4.75% - £1.18m

12th - Hearts - 4.50% - £1.12m

Ladbrokes Championship

1st - Dundee United - £562,500

2nd - Inverness CT - £475,000

3rd - Dundee - £400,000

4th - Ayr United - £325,000

5th - Arbroath - £250,000

6th - Dunfermline - £225,000

7th - Morton - £212,500

8th - Alloa - £200,000

9th - Queen of the South - £187,500

10th - Partick Thistle - £175,000

Ladbrokes League 1

1st - Raith Rovers - £125,000

2nd - Falkrik - £107,500

3rd - Aidrieonians - £87,500

4th - Montrose - £85,000

5th - East Fife - £82,500

6th - Dumbarton - £80,000

7th - Clyde - £77,500

8th - Peterhead - £75,000

9th - Forfar - £72,500

10th - Stranraer - £70,000

Ladbrokes League 2

1st - Cove Rangers - £67,500

2nd - Edinburgh City - £65,000

3rd - Elgin City - £62,500

4th - Cowdenbeath - £60,000

5th - Queen's Park - £57,500

6th - Stirling Albion - £55,000

7th - Annan - £52,500

8th - Stenhousemuir - £50,000

9th - Albion Rovers - £47,500

10th - Brechin City - £45,000

£205k difference between 3rd and 4th.

147lothian
15-03-2021, 08:06 AM
In the context of Scottish football especially with no fans attending £205k is no small amount

15-03-2021, 08:15 AM

But I think it will be worth a lot more than £1m

We’d pretty much sell out four home European games IMO, and that would net us £1.6m in gate receipts at £20 a ticket. Roll in the extra sponsorship and hospitality and you’ll easily be over £2m.

And that’s before the prize money. You got another €500k for qualifying for the group stage, €570k for a win and €190k for a draw in the Europa League this year, so it would be similar next year if not more.If we dropped into the Conference League group stage then that money is less but it would still be substantial, and we’d have a better chance of progressing out into the knock out stages.

I think we’d be looking at £3.5-4m minimum if we get to the Europa group stages.

The other immediate benefit would be the bigger prize money got for our seventh place finish last year to third this year, which with the new split/new Tv deal is over £2m. That’s £600k more.

Lendo
15-03-2021, 08:16 AM
The Champions League group stage currently pays about £2.3m for a win and £770k for a draw.

The Europa League group stage pays £515k for a win and £170k for a draw. On top of this the Group winner receives £900k and each runner up gets £450k

The Europa League receives about 22% of the prize money the Champions League gets, so applying the same reduction for the new Conference League thingy then it would be roughly £114k for a group stage win and £37k for a draw.

This might be utter rubbish and based on some terrible assumptions.

15-03-2021, 08:21 AM
I feel the amount we get for reaching third will depend on who we draw, for example if we get a German team we have hit the jackpot because they pay a lot of money for TV rights, I think that's how it works?

Pretty sure UEFA TV deals are separate from domestic leagues.

Although if we ended up in a group with a couple of big teams more tv stations across the world would want to show the games which may increase our TV money. Not sure if EUFA competition TV deals are split evenly amongst the clubs like in the EPL, or paid on a per game basis like in Scotland.

15-03-2021, 08:32 AM

Any European income is already fixed I believe - you get certain payments for winning/drawing games at different stages of the competition.

The attractiveness of the tie shouldn't come into it financially.

As has been said, Europa is fairly lucrative but I don't think any figures for conference league have been released so it's a bit of an unknown.

15-03-2021, 08:44 AM

They’ll already have bonuses written into their contracts for winning cups & European qualification

15-03-2021, 08:45 AM
Any European income is already fixed I believe - you get certain payments for winning/drawing games at different stages of the competition.

As has been said, Europa is fairly lucrative but I don't think any figures for conference league have been released so it's a bit of an unknown.

With it being it’s first season I think the money will be decent, it’ll need to be to make it worthwhile for the bigger clubs.

UEFA won’t be going to the hassle of creating this tournament, attracting sponsors etc for the bigger clubs to play their reserve sides. I’m also not sure if the bigger countries would have agreed to this competition being created unless it was worth their while.

15-03-2021, 08:50 AM
With it being it’s first season I think the money will be decent, it’ll need to be to make it worthwhile for the bigger clubs.

UEFA won’t be going to the hassle of creating this tournament, attracting sponsors etc for the bigger clubs to play their reserve sides. I’m also not sure if the bigger countries would have agreed to this competition being created unless it was worth their while.

How much representation do the "bigger Countries" have in the Conference league?

15-03-2021, 08:51 AM
How much representation do the "bigger Countries" have in the Conference league?

They all have at least one entry. Presumably that could be more if they drop down from the Europa league.

15-03-2021, 09:04 AM

But I think it will be worth a lot more than £1m

We’d pretty much sell out four home European games IMO, and that would net us £1.6m in gate receipts at £20 a ticket. Roll in the extra sponsorship and hospitality and you’ll easily be over £2m.

And that’s before the prize money. You got another €500k for qualifying for the group stage, €570k for a win and €190k for a draw in the Europa League this year, so it would be similar next year if not more.If we dropped into the Conference League group stage then that money is less but it would still be substantial, and we’d have a better chance of progressing out into the knock out stages.

I think we’d be looking at £3.5-4m minimum if we get to the Europa group stages.

The other immediate benefit would be the bigger prize money got for our seventh place finish last year to third this year, which with the new split/new Tv deal is over £2m. That’s £600k more.

Those games are going to be this year though so a sell out is going to be very limited capacity if anything...Think we should focus on the prize & tv money because at least thats a definite (although we dont know whats on offer)..

15-03-2021, 09:27 AM

I thought that was just prize money that was separate from the TV money?

Or is the TV money already included bundled into the prize money for winning games and reaching certain stages?

15-03-2021, 09:31 AM
I thought that was just prize money that was separate from the TV money?

Or is the TV money already included bundled into the prize money for winning games and reaching certain stages?

I'm not entirely sure but that's how I thought it would be. I suspected the TV money went to uefa rather than to the teams - the teams just get the performance based payments.

I could have got the wrong end of the stick though!

15-03-2021, 09:44 AM
I'm not entirely sure but that's how I thought it would be. I suspected the TV money went to uefa rather than to the teams - the teams just get the performance based payments.

I could have got the wrong end of the stick though!

Thinking back to how it works in Football Manager I'm pretty sure you're right :greengrin

15-03-2021, 09:44 AM
Pretty sure UEFA TV deals are separate from domestic leagues.

Although if we ended up in a group with a couple of big teams more tv stations across the world would want to show the games which may increase our TV money. Not sure if EUFA competition TV deals are split evenly amongst the clubs like in the EPL, or paid on a per game basis like in Scotland.

With the exception of the cup the TV money is spread across all teams. There is no appearance money.

Always thought it unfair that the home team do not get something to compensate for the reduction in crowd.

15-03-2021, 10:03 AM
Depending on how the European stuff goes it could be 4 times that if we got to the europa league group stages.

Surely the group stages is worth more than £4M

15-03-2021, 10:08 AM
I found this.

Each team that makes the Europa League Group Stage for 2021/22 gets €2.92m, with the money for wins/draws as above. So a couple of wins would mean over €4m before gate and sponsorship money.

https://www.sportingfree.com/football/europa-league-prize-money/

15-03-2021, 10:10 AM

Yep. Guaranteed 8 games in Europe if we get that spot - 2 legs in Europa League play-off round and then 6 games in either of the group stages depending on if we win or lose that round.

Knowing our luck we will finish third and Aberdeen will win the cup and take that place :rolleyes:

15-03-2021, 10:45 AM
Those games are going to be this year though so a sell out is going to be very limited capacity if anything...Think we should focus on the prize & tv money because at least thats a definite (although we dont know whats on offer)..
The thing is though they wont be part of a season ticket, would we be allowed to sell PPV or will they be on the TV anyway?

15-03-2021, 10:52 AM
In terms of quality in the Conference League, I seen a kinda flow chart that showed how they get the groups together from Euro qualifying. I think I am right in say that it is possible to drop from the Champions League qualifiers down into the Europa play offs and then down into the Conference group stages. That means there could be a few bigger names in the Group stages. I cannot find that flowchart now so this could all be made up inside my head :greengrin

15-03-2021, 10:53 AM
Yep. Guaranteed 8 games in Europe if we get that spot - 2 legs in Europa League play-off round and then 6 games in either of the group stages depending on if we win or lose that round.

Knowing our luck we will finish third and Aberdeen will win the cup and take that place :rolleyes:

There are worse teams who could win the cup to steal the place... :hide:

Once we (hopefully) secure third it'll be an anxious watch of the cup and some bizarre emotions during OF games.

15-03-2021, 11:31 AM

Once we (hopefully) secure third it'll be an anxious watch of the cup and some bizarre emotions during OF games.

I get the dry boak just thinking about having to cheer on the Huns in a cup final.

15-03-2021, 12:05 PM

Nothing bizarre here, any side winning that benefits Hibs will be cheered loud and clear from my living room. They’ll win far more than they lose so pointless getting upset at something that helps us. Obviously I’d rather we won it ourselves.

15-03-2021, 12:10 PM
We've all seen Celtic and Rangers win the Cup enough times in the past, water off a ducks back, but this time with a huge sweetener of Europa cup place for us.

Winning it ourselves would obviously be the ideal outcome.

15-03-2021, 12:52 PM
Nothing bizarre here, any side winning that benefits Hibs will be cheered loud and clear from my living room. They’ll win far more than they lose so pointless getting upset at something that helps us. Obviously I’d rather we won it ourselves.

I don't disagree - I'll absolutely support either of them if they're in the final against someone who would otherwise take the better Europa spot... I just think doing so would be bizarre.

Maybe bizarre isn't quite the right word I'm wanting for the situation, but in any other instance I'd not be supportive of the OFs endevours.

Stanton Spence
15-03-2021, 01:50 PM
Wouldn't bother me having to cheer on one side of the old firm in a game that we need them to win. I've been gambling on football since I was a teenager and I have cheered the old firm on many a time when I've bet on them

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

Solonleith1
16-03-2021, 07:21 AM
Anybody know how gate receipts work in Europe? Split like cup competitions or because you're always getting an equal number of home games no matter the stage of the competition (group or knockout) does the home team just keep it?

16-03-2021, 09:07 AM
Around the £5m mark if we finish 3rd and qualify for the Europa League group stage. Sounds like that includes the SPFL prize money though, so it would be £2.5-3m from Europe.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-in-line-for-ps24m-windfall-if-they-finish-third-and-cup-goes-their-way-3166916

16-03-2021, 09:09 AM
Around the £5m mark if we finish 3rd and qualify for the Europa League group stage. Sounds like that includes the SPFL prize money though, so it would be £2.5-3m from Europe.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-in-line-for-ps24m-windfall-if-they-finish-third-and-cup-goes-their-way-3166916

I thought I understood the scenarios until I read that ramble :greengrin

16-03-2021, 09:14 AM
[/B]

Juniper Greens
16-03-2021, 09:16 AM
[/B]

The Aberdeen chairman has said that qualifyingnfor the group stage of the conference league is worth c£6m to them. He was quoted on the BBC at the start of the year saying that.

Their coefficient is higher than ours, and some of the prize money is paid via coefficient, but I would be surprised if we were less than £5m for Europe alone

16-03-2021, 09:21 AM
I think it should be the other way round - 3rd in the league should get you the one qualifying round away from the Europa League proper scenario, while winning the cup awards you with three qualifying rounds for the Conference groups.

Wakeyhibee
16-03-2021, 09:23 AM

The figures for Europe are based on last seasons EL. I suspect these might be higher this season given the huge reduction in teams.

However both competitions together have more entrants and over the 2 competitions there are more group stage places so I expect the ECL bonuses to be be less than than those quoted for last years Europa League.

It will be fantastic for Hibs regardless, but not holding out for upper £5m figure unless we do win the play off fixture.

16-03-2021, 12:25 PM
I think it should be the other way round - 3rd in the league should get you the one qualifying round away from the Europa League proper scenario, while winning the cup awards you with three qualifying rounds for the Conference groups.

I'm sure it's EUFA that make that distinction rather than the SFA.

The European competitions are organised by co-efficient rankings and where your country is in those rankings will determine what places you will get in those competitions and it specifies which tournament and which round the national cup winners will enter at rather than being left up to the associations themselves to allocate the places.

17-03-2021, 04:22 PM
Anyone been on Jumbo Kickback? I'm assuming there will be a thread about Hearts winning the Scottish Cup & depriving us of the extra income
which they'll then use to buy European superstars for their triumphant return to the Premier and increase the height of their stand so they can see the castle?

17-03-2021, 04:25 PM
Anyone been on Jumbo Kickback? I'm assuming there will be a thread about Hearts winning the Scottish Cup & depriving us of the extra income
which they'll then use to buy European superstars for their triumphant return to the Premier and increase the height of their stand so they can see the castle?

I've heard with the extra income they will actually move the castle rather then mess about increasing the height of the stand.

17-03-2021, 04:52 PM
I've heard with the extra income they will actually move the castle rather then mess about increasing the height of the stand.

Nope, they will just tell us that you can see the castle and keep repeating it until it becomes a fact. Then claim it cost a fortune.

147lothian
17-03-2021, 07:30 PM
The latest gem from Kiwidug on JKB

I'm pissed off that Hibs will be in the top 6

I couldn't give a **** about Aberdeen

17-03-2021, 08:02 PM
I get the dry boak just thinking about having to cheer on the Huns in a cup final.

If they were playing Hearts we would all be doing it, distasteful as it is.

17-03-2021, 08:07 PM
Nope, they will just tell us that you can see the castle and keep repeating it until it becomes a fact. Then claim it cost a fortune.
Just like they keep claiming that Tynecastle holds more than 20,000?

18-03-2021, 11:17 AM
Just like they keep claiming that Tynecastle holds more than 20,000?

Exactly and they have the best atmosphere in Scotland.

18-03-2021, 11:21 AM
The latest gem from Kiwidug on JKB

I'm pissed of that Hibs will be in the top 6

I couldn't give a **** about Aberdeen

Imagine how raging he would be if we somehow snuck a win to get in the Europa groups with the big boys.

147lothian
18-03-2021, 02:13 PM
Imagine how raging he would be if we somehow snuck a win to get in the Europa groups with the big boys.

Kiwidug is so obsessed by us that he is probably taking more interest in our game against Livi on Saturday than whoever they are playing in the seaside league, its all very sad