View Full Version : That might be the most important win this season
13-03-2021, 03:53 PM
Stopped a couple of bad games becoming a slump. Showed we can come from behind. Got Nisbet back on the scoresheet. Gone six clear of Aberdeen. Started with intensity.
Not the prettiest win on another terrible pitch but that is an absolutely massive three points.
13-03-2021, 03:54 PM
Every win right now is a significant step closer to 3rd place and Europe, huge victory for us.
13-03-2021, 03:56 PM
:agree: Every win is vital at this point of the season but thats a massive win to get the show back on the road.
13-03-2021, 03:57 PM
Huge win today. That’s effectively a 7 point lead with our goal difference. 3rd place is ours to lose now.
DIXIHIBS
13-03-2021, 03:59 PM
Great to see fight and commitment like that. Same again next week against livi. Hopefully utd take points off aberdeen.
13-03-2021, 04:15 PM
It was also significant that we came from behind to win for the first time in the league this season.
13-03-2021, 04:17 PM
Was this another big win for Ross?
13-03-2021, 04:18 PM
Stopped a couple of bad games becoming a slump. Showed we can come from behind. Got Nisbet back on the scoresheet. Gone six clear of Aberdeen. Started with intensity.
Not the prettiest win on another terrible pitch but that is an absolutely massive three points.
To be fair to them we have always stopped short from going into full slump mode. Have always managed to dig out a result after a disappointing result or two with Ja k Ross.
This was a hugely important win and hopefully the platform to push forward for a strong finish. Great position for us to be in at this stage and we showed a lot of character to see this one out.
Cat Stanton
13-03-2021, 04:19 PM
Can't be. Apparently he can't win big games.
Bridge hibs
13-03-2021, 04:21 PM
Delighted, tough gig but 3 points in the bag
13-03-2021, 04:26 PM
That was a big win for us.
Was good to see the team dig deep and show a bit of fight/resolve that seemed to be lacking lately.
13-03-2021, 04:31 PM
It’s a great win and a huge 3 points.
The defending for their goal was absolutely shocking though and shouldn’t be happening at that level. But what was good to see was our reaction after conceding.
Delighted for the boys, they deserved it today.
Brilliant to see Nisbet on the score sheet again.
13-03-2021, 04:31 PM
Games we win aren’t big games, only the ones we lose are classed as big games 😅
Steve88
13-03-2021, 04:34 PM
Aberdeen game is the biggest
13-03-2021, 04:39 PM
It was an excellent team performance.
We totally dominated the first half, but County made it very difficult for us to find space for our forwards.
Taking Cadden off for Nesbit allowed County room to attack us, but it paid off so credit to JR for making that change.
Doig for Stevenson was also significant because County were creating a lot down Doig's wing and they got literally nothing there after the substitution. Again, JR changed the game positively.
No doubt we got the benefit of the doubt, big style, with the penalty award and that's the second time we've had a break like that this season, the other one being the sending off against Hamilton. It makes a change for us to benefit from controversial decisions, so no complaints here.
We deserved a more comfortable lead, but when push came to shove, our soon to be departing keeper, and the goalpost, came to our rescue.
Hopefully Nesbit will kick on now because if we can add goals to performances like that, we'll do very well.
13-03-2021, 04:47 PM
That was a big win for us.
Was good to see the team dig deep and show a bit of fight/resolve that seemed to be lacking lately.
We need to keep winning starting wi 3 points on the plastic pitch next week.
Pilrig_Sauzee
13-03-2021, 04:51 PM
Our bigliest win of the season
13-03-2021, 05:32 PM
Six points ahead with six games to go.
We're in a good position to get third.
13-03-2021, 05:33 PM
Six points ahead with six games to go.
We're in a good position to get third.
Think our GD is about 11 better than theirs as well. Worth a point.
13-03-2021, 05:36 PM
100%. Was huge
13-03-2021, 05:42 PM
I'd love to see us playing silky entertaining Brazil '70 style football, we all would, but at this stage of the season and a very lofty prize of third spot with all its potential European opportunity almost in our grasp its not the time to be pretty, but the time to be effective. Today we were effective and got the job done.
Enjoy the evening fellas and well done and thanks Hibees.
Certainly is. Pressure was on off the back of two poor results and having gone a goal down as well. Against a team thats already held on to leads against us, Aberdeen and Celtic (twice) this season. First comeback win in the league this season. Six points clear of 3rd at this stage is an incredibly strong position.
As others have said we seldom finish 3rd. Since the 70s its only happened 4 times. I don't think the team get enough credit this season, especially for their away performances.
13-03-2021, 05:50 PM
Games we win aren’t big games, only the ones we lose are classed as big games 😅
I don't know why people can't just enjoy the win. The obvious point regarding big games is that none of these games are cup semi finals - a hoodoo that is still hanging over Ross. We don't need to go there though as we should all be celebrating a very good result.
14-03-2021, 02:11 AM
I don't know why people can't just enjoy the win. The obvious point regarding big games is that none of these games are cup semi finals - a hoodoo that is still hanging over Ross. We don't need to go there though as we should all be celebrating a very good result.[emoji122][emoji122]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Crunchie
14-03-2021, 06:11 AM
Surely not, he can't win big games can he? I make that 10 away wins this season :not worth
14-03-2021, 07:09 AM
Was unable to follow any of the game yesterday, absolutely thrilled we won this game I thought we would lose, from what I have read Ross made the right subs aswell and we played well. Third place is for us to throw away. Driving seat and all that, European fitba might be enough to keep Marciano tae. Six to go, every game is a big game from now on, lets see what we are made of. Dons game will be massive. GERINTAETHUM.
14-03-2021, 08:12 AM
I liked the fact that the players clearly knew the importance of winning the game. When Boyle equalised there wasn’t any celebration, it was a case of getting the ball back and getting on with the game. We got a break with getting the penalty so quickly but attitude to going behind was much better.
Crunchie
14-03-2021, 08:18 AM
I liked the fact that the players clearly knew the importance of winning the game. When Boyle equalised there wasn’t any celebration, it was a case of getting the ball back and getting on with the game. We got a break with getting the penalty so quickly but attitude to going behind was much better.
I don't know why they can't go out with that mindset every game, the OF have that mentality for every game, we should be no different. It's always frustrated me when I see a Hibs team start the game in training mode.
147lothian
14-03-2021, 10:13 AM
It was a huge win, but I feel our game against Livi is even bigger, a win there and the 3rd spot is virtually done and dusted irrespective of how Aberdeen get on at Tannadice, anything can happen at Livi on the plastic surface but I feel we will be know a lot more about our final place in the league after Saturday
14-03-2021, 10:23 AM
Huge. All good and well having a game in hand as a comfort blanket but you've got to go and win it. We did.
14-03-2021, 10:25 AM
Yup. Apart from all the big games he wins he never wins big games.
Souter96Mac
14-03-2021, 10:25 AM
Couldn't care how well we play between now and the end of the season. Main thing now is results. Yesterday was a great start to that, hopefully we can kick on next week away to Livi.
14-03-2021, 01:29 PM
Couldn't care how well we play between now and the end of the season. Main thing now is results. Yesterday was a great start to that, hopefully we can kick on next week away to Livi.
Next week may be our last opportunity to play decent football before the season is out. The grass pitches are all looking like ploughed fields just now and ironically it's the plastic pitches that will have a more consistent roll to be able to confidently pass the ball about.