View Full Version : On yersel' the admins!

Cat Stanton
09-03-2021, 01:39 PM
Posted part of this message below on the Aberdeen/McInnes thread, but worth repeating as a more general point. When I saw the aggressive nonsense being spouted on the Aberdeen forum, it made me feel very grateful for the efforts of admins who keep control on here. You may be a bit annoying sometimes (!!), but your efforts are genuinely much appreciated. Cheers!

Had a quick look at the Aberdeen fans forum - yes, that's working from home for you. Anyway, jeezo - makes this place seem like a haven of calm, thoughtful inner peace, and love-thy-neighbourness. All f-ing and c-ing at each other, almost to the point of squaring up. Amazing.

09-03-2021, 01:48 PM
I've always said this place is very civilised for a football forum, so credit to the Hibs fans who contribute and the admins who keep it that way. I've also seen other forums that are carnage; complete madhouses where everyone seems to be the worse for drink.

09-03-2021, 02:13 PM
Aberdeen forum is savage. Thankfully their team is far less threatening than their fans.

09-03-2021, 02:18 PM
I've always said this place is very civilised for a football forum, so credit to the Hibs fans who contribute and the admins who keep it that way. I've also seen other forums that are carnage; complete madhouses where everyone seems to be the worse for drink.

A lot of folk on here have been going on about how this place has went downhill, loads of posters have left because it’s crap etc but this forum is street ahead of any other football forum I’ve been on.

09-03-2021, 02:20 PM
Well said. 👏

09-03-2021, 02:22 PM

A lot of folk on here have been going on about how this place has went downhill, loads of posters have left because it’s crap etc but this forum is street ahead of any other football forum I’ve been on.

Maybe the one's you don't go on are s**t hot! :greengrin

09-03-2021, 03:05 PM
Is it maybe because most of the posters on here are old fogeys (myself included)?

hughio
09-03-2021, 03:08 PM
Is it maybe because most of the posters on here are old fogeys (myself included)?

:aok:Mon the oldies!

Nice to see folk like the OP putting up randon thanks to the backroom guys.Classy.

09-03-2021, 03:59 PM

We shall not, we shall not be moved!! Mainly because our knees are gone and the wheels on our walking strollers are stuck.:greengrin

CloudSquall
09-03-2021, 04:00 PM
Regarding the Aberdeen forum you have to consider that the entire city has been bitter since the 1980s.

09-03-2021, 04:21 PM
Aberdeen forum is savage. Thankfully their team is far less threatening than their fans.

It’s only been that for maybe a season and a half I’d say. The frustration with the performances have built up over time and reached boiling point in the last few months. Mind you if we had scored one goal in 8 matches I think a few on here would have gone tonto too. Their podcasts are usually very fair mind you.

09-03-2021, 04:24 PM

Definitely one of the better ones but far less good natured banter than their use to be. The same as most of society where civil discourse is in very short supply. Imho of course.

09-03-2021, 04:43 PM
Definitely one of the better ones but far less good natured banter than their use to be. The same as most of society where civil discourse is in very short supply. Imho of course.

While there are a handful of posters that are (IMHO) just complete idiots, most negative or argumentative posts are probably just folk having a bad day.

09-03-2021, 04:52 PM
I mind nipping over to the Dons forum after we beat them a few weeks back and finding it was far more toxic than I'd expected. It was far worse than Kickback, which is saying something.

09-03-2021, 05:03 PM
100% agree this is a brilliantly run site

Basildon Hibs
09-03-2021, 06:00 PM
100% agree this is a brilliantly run site

It would be even better if it had things such as 'like' and 'dislike' buttons on it. That would attract more members who wouldn't have to repeat/quote a lot of existing posts.

09-03-2021, 06:32 PM
If you looked on Aberdeen's forum then took in one of their games at Pittodrie you'd think it was the wrongs clubs forum you were on. Act like lions online, act like lambs in reality. ***** support with about as much bite as the queen at 6am.

10-03-2021, 07:10 PM
It’s only been that for maybe a season and a half I’d say. The frustration with the performances have built up over time and reached boiling point in the last few months. Mind you if we had scored one goal in 8 matches I think a few on here would have gone tonto too. Their podcasts are usually very fair mind you.

speaking of Tonto - I really should have known this but... it’s Portuguese ...

10-03-2021, 09:36 PM
It would be even better if it had things such as 'like' and 'dislike' buttons on it. That would attract more members who wouldn't have to repeat/quote a lot of existing posts.

That's an interesting idea and I'd be tempted to Like it if the option was there - and many's the post I would have liked to have liked for that matter.

But would it not alter the tone of the site such that it just became a big like race? And would we like that?

The only way to find out I suppose would be to give it a trial run and we could have endless arguments about it and divide into camps of likey-likers and likey-no-likers - and then have a poll about it (to see who liked it)

So it's over to you admins - that should be a doddle for you eh? :wink: (yous all do a sterling job by the way and it's much appreciated (as long as you don't ban me) :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

loanheadhibby
10-03-2021, 10:01 PM
If you looked on Aberdeen's forum then took in one of their games at Pittodrie you'd think it was the wrongs clubs forum you were on. Act like lions online, act like lambs in reality. ***** support with about as much bite as the queen at 6am.
They care about their team just the same as we do.
This notion that our fans forum is great and theirs is rubbish is juvenile.

1875godsgift
10-03-2021, 10:33 PM
That's an interesting idea and I'd be tempted to Like it if the option was there - and many's the post I would have liked to have liked for that matter.

But would it not alter the tone of the site such that it just became a big like race? And would we like that?

The only way to find out I suppose would be to give it a trial run and we could have endless arguments about it and divide into camps of likey-likers and likey-no-likers - and then have a poll about it (to see who liked it)

So it's over to you admins - that should be a doddle for you eh? :wink: (yous all do a sterling job by the way and it's much appreciated (as long as you don't ban me) :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

I don't like that idea.

On the other hand, if I had a simple like/dislike option, I could have just pressed dislike instead of having to reply :confused:

:panic: horns of a dilemma :panic:

10-03-2021, 11:05 PM
I don't like that idea.

On the other hand, if I had a simple like/dislike option, I could have just pressed dislike instead of having to reply :confused:

:panic: horns of a dilemma :panic:

As Mr Spock would have said "I believe we are stuck in an infinite logical loop captain". Ach well - sit back relax - crack open a beer ....

Cat Stanton
10-03-2021, 11:12 PM
They care about their team just the same as we do.
This notion that our fans forum is great and theirs is rubbish is juvenile.

Speaking for myself (as the OP), I wasn't making that claim. I was saying ours was helpfully controlled and managed, and theirs didn't seem to be. And without any such control, it was pretty rabid stuff: people insulting and swearing at each other, stuff like "I'd like to kick your f-----g in" etc.

11-03-2021, 04:32 AM
This is a good forum but it can be overly sanatized at times IMO.

If hibs.net was a stand at Easter Road it would definitely be more the West Stand than the East Stand. You could argue if that's a good or bad thing but it does feel like it's perhaps too regulated at times.

11-03-2021, 05:02 AM
This is a good forum but it can be overly sanatized at times IMO.

If hibs.net was a stand at Easter Road it would definitely be more the West Stand than the East Stand. You could argue if that's a good or bad thing but it does feel like it's perhaps too regulated at times.

Not too sure that the analogy is helpful. Do we need to have niche sub forums for people seemingly specialising in admitted abuse of players? For example? Are we really trying to mimic the terrace/stands? We are one support labelling sections even bedsetters and happyclappers is that helpful?

I think the admins have got the balance about right. If things started to slide then I think as has been noted of late we’d see people engaging less - there will be a tipping point - maybe that’s what happened to other forums.

I wasn’t here so don’t know what the deal was around the formation of the bounce (was it a difference of opinions?) and the setup of therealhibs.net (did that really take off?)

This forum was forged from earlier incantations and has its identity (which I suppose can evolve) from the days of the Hibs list and the like iirc. Taliban.net was a term used by some perhaps in a pique of frustration but I think that’s uncalled for.

But I’d hate it to slide into anythinggoes.net.

11-03-2021, 05:32 AM
As for the likes what purpose does it serve? Attract more visitors? Not sure I follow why we need t go down this fb-esque route?

Let’s not perpetuate and extend the social dilemma (excellent documentary on Netflix) It’s a no from me.

11-03-2021, 05:37 AM

Even a Trial - no thanks as you say disrupts the tone IMO.

Gloucester Hibs
11-03-2021, 05:39 AM
Not too sure that the analogy is helpful. Do we need to have niche sub forums for people seemingly specialising in admitted abuse of players? For example? Are we really trying to mimic the terrace/stands? We are one support labelling sections even bedsetters and happyclappers is that helpful?

I think the admins have got the balance about right. If things started to slide then I think as has been noted of late we’d see people engaging less - there will be a tipping point - maybe that’s what happened to other forums.

I wasn’t here so don’t know what the deal was around the formation of the bounce (was it a difference of opinions?) and the setup of therealhibs.net (did that really take off?)

This forum was forged from earlier incantations and has its identity (which I suppose can evolve) from the days of the Hibs list and the like iirc. Taliban.net was a term used by some perhaps in a pique of frustration but I think that’s uncalled for.

But I’d hate it to slide into anythinggoes.net.

True but sometimes I feel we fool ourselves into thinking the opinions expressed on here are representative of our support as a whole. Which isn’t the case IMO.

11-03-2021, 06:04 AM
Just to spice it up, maybe we should have a forum called The East Stand, where folk can shout at each other in LOCK CAPS, and challenge each other to virtual square goes.

11-03-2021, 07:04 AM
Just to spice it up, maybe we should have a forum called The East Stand, where folk can shout at each other in LOCK CAPS, and challenge each other to virtual square goes.

I miss the East Stand.

11-03-2021, 07:25 AM
As for the likes what purpose does it serve? Attract more visitors? Not sure I follow why we need t go down this fb-esque route?

Let’s not perpetuate and extend the social dilemma (excellent documentary on Netflix) It’s a no from me.

I don't see likes adding more traffic (appreciate you were asking a question rather than giving an opinion). If anything I would imagine it would mean a lot of conversation and debate is lost as people would just like a post instead of making their own point.

For me online "likes" serve little more than self gratification when it comes to social media, their soul purpose is to give people a small endorphin spike when someone has given their point of view kudos. Personally I'm not sure losing the debates we have on hear is a worthwhile trade off.

It's a no from me too.

11-03-2021, 09:12 AM
True but sometimes I feel we fool ourselves into thinking the opinions expressed on here are representative of our support as a whole. Which isn’t the case IMO.

I'm not sure who thinks that or why they would to be honest. It was a lazy dig thrown at the site quite often in the past when in reality it's a place with a few thousand members but considerably less active posters. How anyone can begin to equate that to 'speaking for the support' is beyond me.

11-03-2021, 11:49 AM
Just to spice it up, maybe we should have a forum called The East Stand, where folk can shout at each other in LOCK CAPS, and challenge each other to virtual square goes.As well as a like/dislike I'd want a throw rugby ball option just to replace the hijack in that particular forum. Probably a queue to get out too.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

11-03-2021, 11:51 AM

It’s also crazy how active it is compared to forums of other teams

11-03-2021, 01:33 PM
It’s also crazy how active it is compared to forums of other teams

I'm obviously biased (and I thank the OP for the gesture in starting the thread) but I honestly love this place, even when it's pish there's enough regulars who contribute that the crap spells never really last long enough.

It's a great community on here, is it too sanitised? I don't think so - we want it to be a welcoming place for anyone and part of achieving that is asking/expecting people to treat the site and the other users with respect and to think about what they're posting.

I think the fact that we're still going strong, despite now established alternatives on Facebook and Twitter, shows how established the site is and how strong a connection our users have with it.

I hope it stays that way for years to come, I've met tons of folk on here, some I now consider good friends, have re-connected with a best friend after losing touch years ago etc, as well as being fortunate enough to see people benefiting from things like training centre tours, cup semi/final buses etc and a number of great prizes over the years.

'Mon the hibs.net!

1 8 7 5
11-03-2021, 02:13 PM
Been a member at different times over quite a few years.....

A like/dislike button would go a long way to reducing the many posts in threads which all say the same thing.

I dont think this site is over regulated, in fact there are a few posters who "get away" with much more than most.

There is a function on the bounce where if another poster quotes you, you get an alert. It makes it very easy to reply and maintain a discussion with a fellow Hibby. A couple of times i have been in a discussion and its got lost, or days later the poster has replied, but you dont see it unless you were trawling through that thread. (however there is probably a function im not using which fixes this)

Whats great on this site is that admins have a keen eye on eg trolls from other clubs. It definately helps... but its the input from all the PMs which separate this site from others. To weigh in with around £120,000 to our club, tax free, is beyond fantastic!

So despite the site being a bit old and clunky, I visit almost everyday and think most of the posters, and all the admins do a really great job!

11-03-2021, 02:22 PM
I'm obviously biased (and I thank the OP for the gesture in starting the thread) but I honestly love this place, even when it's pish there's enough regulars who contribute that the crap spells never really last long enough.

It's a great community on here, is it too sanitised? I don't think so - we want it to be a welcoming place for anyone and part of achieving that is asking/expecting people to treat the site and the other users with respect and to think about what they're posting.

I think the fact that we're still going strong, despite now established alternatives on Facebook and Twitter, shows how established the site is and how strong a connection our users have with it.

I hope it stays that way for years to come, I've met tons of folk on here, some I now consider good friends, have re-connected with a best friend after losing touch years ago etc, as well as being fortunate enough to see people benefiting from things like training centre tours, cup semi/final buses etc and a number of great prizes over the years.

'Mon the hibs.net!

:agree::agree::top marks

11-03-2021, 03:05 PM
Been a member at different times over quite a few years.....

A like/dislike button would go a long way to reducing the many posts in threads which all say the same thing.

I dont think this site is over regulated, in fact there are a few posters who "get away" with much more than most.

There is a function on the bounce where if another poster quotes you, you get an alert. It makes it very easy to reply and maintain a discussion with a fellow Hibby. A couple of times i have been in a discussion and its got lost, or days later the poster has replied, but you dont see it unless you were trawling through that thread. (however there is probably a function im not using which fixes this)

Whats great on this site is that admins have a keen eye on eg trolls from other clubs. It definately helps... but its the input from all the PMs which separate this site from others. To weigh in with around £120,000 to our club, tax free, is beyond fantastic!

So despite the site being a bit old and clunky, I visit almost everyday and think most of the posters, and all the admins do a really great job!

The Bounce's notifications are excellent - I really like that feature. I actually really like a lot about how the Bounce is set up for its functionality.

1 8 7 5
11-03-2021, 03:28 PM
The Bounce's notifications are excellent - I really like that feature. I actually really like a lot about how the Bounce is set up for its functionality.

:agree: Jamie has done a great job over there Matty... however the bounce is full of radges:wink:

11-03-2021, 03:36 PM
I enjoyed the Bounce and used to post semi regularly until an admin told me to f*** off back to .net, the reason why remains a mystery.

I tried to contact him via PM to sort it out but he didn't even other getting back to me, so I took his advice and off I did f***.

I haven't been back since (apart from 5 minutes ago to see if my log in still worked).

1 8 7 5
11-03-2021, 03:41 PM
I enjoyed the Bounce and used to post semi regularly until an admin told me to f*** off back to .net, the reason why remains a mystery.

I tried to contact him via PM to sort it out but he didn't even other getting back to me, so I took his advice and off I did f***.

I haven't been back since (apart from 5 minutes ago to see if my log in still worked).

Man up Peeve, I think you're in the minority if you've NOT been told tae GTF by someone on the bounce at some point :greengrin

11-03-2021, 03:44 PM
I haven't even taken a look at The Bounce in ages; completely forgot about it. Is it busy over there?

11-03-2021, 04:42 PM

You used to get that on here for a while.
It was a great feature as it would notify you if someone quoted you.

Met Jamie a couple of times. Sound guy.

11-03-2021, 04:43 PM
I mind when this site was down , loads of posters signed up to the bounce. The locals were not too ammused and I remember Stevo getting dogs abuse :greengrin:

11-03-2021, 04:46 PM

It's not a mystery to any of us that have to read your posts on here...

:duck:

11-03-2021, 04:55 PM
I think hibs.net has largely stood the test of time because we don't claim to be anything we are not and stick to what we are good at. We wouldn't claim to be a voice of or an influence on the support, though critics often try to tag us with the latter. Likewise we stick to being a forum that is by and large family friendly.

I am not dead against the idea of a like/dislike button but I do appreciate the fact that people currently have to construct a post either in support off or an argument against another post. The likes of Twitter and Facebook are much more suited to like buttons as it's a more compact way of making a point. Of course it can be a pain in the erse on here when arguments become cyclical or are dredged up for the purposes of making a point but I still prefer the more long winded way of doing things.

With regards to being family friendly I think we generally get the balance about right. Everyone has different tolerance levels but I look at some other forums and wonder what they are thinking. I love a good swear word but there is a time and a place and I wouldn't want that for here. I'd maybe argue it's not as funny a place as it was a few years back but I think that's true of large part of the Internet in general. I'd certainly say things offline that I wouldn't want displayed digitally for eternity.

I've always said when this place is done then it's done. When people don't want it anymore we will know. A couple of years ago I was pretty pessimistic about how long we had left but we are still doing well and I think we'll be around for a few years yet. I always say that people get the forum they deserve, if you don't like the threads or opinions on offer then start or say something different. For the most part though I think we have a good forum and that is largely down to the users, you lead the conversation and it's generally good.

11-03-2021, 06:24 PM
I love Hibs.Net. It’s a huge part of my life.

11-03-2021, 06:26 PM

Going back to the Elfsborg away leg as an example, the Bounce guys (Mark in particular) were extremely helpful in running a bus from the Gothenburg base to the game. Getting there was proving difficult. There’s nothing to question about their commitment and at times like those I think their communication has outstripped anything I’ve seen amongst the users on Hibs.net in terms of information sharing. Just my opinion. I don’t really have an opinion on the swearie words.

Gloucester Hibs
11-03-2021, 07:00 PM
Going back to the Elfsborg away leg as an example, the Bounce guys (Mark in particular) were extremely helpful in running a bus from the Gothenburg base to the game. Getting there was proving difficult. There’s nothing to question about their commitment and at times like those I think their communication has outstripped anything I’ve seen amongst the users on Hibs.net in terms of information sharing. Just my opinion. I don’t really have an opinion on the swearie words.

That was a great trip (crap score obviously) and Mark and Jerry did a fantastic job arranging the buses and pubs etc. A tipsy Irvine Welsh chatting to our group in the Dubliner bar a highlight!

I think the thing I like most about dotnet is how active it is. I can log in any time of the day or night and there will be dozens of new posts to catch up on. Sometimes too many and it can be easy to lose track of threads you’re interested in. A good problem to have though.

11-03-2021, 07:17 PM
That was a great trip (crap score obviously) and Mark and Jerry did a fantastic job arranging the buses and pubs etc. A tipsy Irvine Welsh chatting to our group in the Dubliner bar a highlight!

I think the thing I like most about dotnet is how active it is. I can log in any time of the day or night and there will be dozens of new posts to catch up on. Sometimes too many and it can be easy to lose track of threads you’re interested in. A good problem to have though.

Mild!