View Full Version : Derek mcinnes has left Aberdeen.

AugustaHibs
08-03-2021, 07:32 PM
As the title says.

Can we expect a turn in form from them now?

08-03-2021, 07:34 PM
Wow, that's a shock at this point. Didn't see that coming.

Will it help or hinder them for the final few games?

08-03-2021, 07:35 PM
Not good news that.

I think he’s done a decent job there but in terms of the here and now I don’t think anybody else could do any worse.

08-03-2021, 07:36 PM
Assistant away too. Apparently Barry robson taking interim charge

08-03-2021, 07:37 PM
Whit's goin' oan up there?

08-03-2021, 07:38 PM
Bad news short term, great news long term. He's got great results out of some mediocre teams.

08-03-2021, 07:40 PM
Lennon to Aberdeen maybe? 😂

08-03-2021, 07:42 PM
Don't think he has, it was a fake Aberdeen account tweeting that was it not?

Lennon to Aberdeen maybe? 😂

Can't see it, but it's a big job in our game and they won't be short of candidates.

ionahibby
Better hope we get our act together, we’re in trouble if Aberdeen go on a better run now.

08-03-2021, 07:43 PM
well that's a strange one

08-03-2021, 07:43 PM
It had gone a bit stale for him but he's done a good job there over the piece.

Surprised at the timing and hopefully they don't get that new manager boost that sometimes happens.

08-03-2021, 07:44 PM

Whit? Has he left or no? :greengrin

08-03-2021, 07:44 PM
Lennon to Aberdeen maybe? 😂 Fingers crossed. He would be lucky to last a season, would do poorly and would cost them a fortune. McInnes probably had to go and they can't really get much worse at present so with 3rd being so potentially lucrative they had to do something.

08-03-2021, 07:45 PM
Whit? Has he left or no? :greengrin

Haha! Absolutely no idea. A fake Aberdeen account tweeted that he had left earlier on today. And now it's been reported by the press that's he's left. No official word yet though!

08-03-2021, 07:45 PM

it is true

08-03-2021, 07:46 PM
sorry so small

08-03-2021, 07:47 PM
Its true

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

08-03-2021, 07:48 PM
I wonder if we could interest them in Jack Ross?👀

08-03-2021, 07:49 PM
Appears.to be true. P&J and S*n reporting he s been sacked

08-03-2021, 07:49 PM
I wonder if we could interest them in Jack Ross?👀

Why would we do that?

08-03-2021, 07:50 PM
Wonder who they will go for? Goodwin? Kennedy?

08-03-2021, 07:50 PM
I've got Don's fans all posting but its not knocked Der Hun off every BBC thread

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Garymcl
08-03-2021, 07:51 PM
Not on sky sports or bbc you think that it would be on by now

Nobody until the end of the season is my guess. They’re skint and sacking McInnes would cost them a bob or two.

Appears.to be true. P&J and S*n reporting he s been sacked

Sacked? That's even more surprising if true. I'm rubbernecking on their official site - nothing yet.

Wonder if Strachan would be convinced? Thinking back to the Craig Brown days, they don't mind going with an older manager.

He’s a stick on to turn up at Hearts once Robbie replay inevitability gets sacked again.

08-03-2021, 07:52 PM
Aberdeen sack manager Derek McInnes after eight years at the helm (eveningexpress.co.uk) (https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/donsnews/aberdeen-derek-mcinnes-2021/)

Keyser Sauzee
08-03-2021, 07:52 PM
He’s a stick on to turn up at Hearts once Robbie replay inevitability gets sacked again.

Would be happy with that tbh, he’s an average manager who’s had more money than most to spend.

davy67 +
08-03-2021, 07:54 PM
Paul Lambert , Craig Levien

08-03-2021, 07:54 PM
Would be happy with that tbh, he’s an average manager who’s had more money than most to spend.

:agree: For what he's spent and for how long he's had to work with the team, one league cup on penalties is a pitiful return.

08-03-2021, 07:57 PM
Fingers crossed. He would be lucky to last a season, would do poorly and would cost them a fortune. McInnes probably had to go and they can't really get much worse at present so with 3rd being so potentially lucrative they had to do something.

It's Cormacks fault he ditched all McInnes forwards in the last window and brought in Snap, Crackle and Pop late in the window to replace them.
That was them done. All after we signed Irvine and Cadden.
Cormack selt the jerseys and gave up on 3rd with that stunt although we have done our best in the last 2 games to reject his gift.

Now McInnes is gone and I presume Cormack had to pay him and Docherty big bucks to go. They will now have a big bill for the new guy and all the new players required in the summer. If Hibs get another couple of good additions in this summer Aberdeen will be in our rear view mirror next season
......... and still they have a crumbling stadium.

McInnes big fault was his player recruitment which has been appalling. Loads and loads of expensive duffers with only a half dozen of quality in Ferguson, McCrorie etc.
That and Cormack's failed Covid strategy finally cooked the McInnes goose.

08-03-2021, 07:58 PM
Lambert just left his club, possibility?

08-03-2021, 07:59 PM
Wouldn't surprise me to see Stephen Robinson as their next manager.

Must have someone lined up to go straight in, surely? Bizarre timing.

08-03-2021, 08:00 PM
https://twitter.com/billthemax/status/1369027789303734277?s=21

Don’t know who this guy is but he seems to think Steve Robinson is taking over.

:agree: For what he's spent and for how long he's had to work with the team, one league cup on penalties is a pitiful return.

And never really looked like adding to that league cup, his teams have been consistently towards top end of league, but lacking any flair, and not a lot of fun to watch - a bit like the best we will ever be under Ross I suspect.

Sacked, that is a bit of a shocker to be fair.

08-03-2021, 08:01 PM
I think they’ll get a caretaker until the summer. Alex McLeish must be a good shout surely?

08-03-2021, 08:02 PM
Wow. He's been a great manager for the Dons over a long time. Expect they will get an immediate bounce now, so Hibs know what's coming. Stumbling our way to 3rd isn't an option any more. Hoping Aberdeen are not quite as crap as us, won't cut it.

Hibs need to strike now, and strike hard to make 3rd place our's. Anything less will not cut it.

I don’t think it’s bizarre timing, they’ve got a relatively decent squad but can’t score a goal, this Isn’t just over a couple of weeks, it’s been a good while they’ve struggled.

If Mcinnes got wind he was getting sacked in the summer he’s maybe just thought **** it, might as well go now then.

Sacked, that is a bit of a shocker to be fair.

Says mutual.

Magpie
08-03-2021, 08:05 PM
Interesting. I thought they would have given him until at least the end of the season but their form suggests a replacement is probably the correct decision if they want to finish 3rd.

08-03-2021, 08:07 PM
Nobody until the end of the season is my guess. They’re skint and sacking McInnes would cost them a bob or two.

Contracted for another 2 years along with assistant.

08-03-2021, 08:07 PM

Apart from one season at Norwich, his CV is terrible

08-03-2021, 08:08 PM
I don’t think it’s bizarre timing, they’ve got a relatively decent squad but can’t score a goal, this Isn’t just over a couple of weeks, it’s been a good while they’ve struggled.

If Mcinnes got wind he was getting sacked in the summer he’s maybe just thought **** it, might as well go now then.

But he's been sacked though, he's not left the position?

They're three points off third place. I'd imagine every manager in the world would back themselves to be able to make that up.

Can't say I feel sorry for him though. The amount of times we've outplayed them and they've snuck a goal and put 11 behind the ball and time wasted.

08-03-2021, 08:08 PM
Robinson could be a dreadful appointment for them long term but short term he might get something out of them

Garymcl
08-03-2021, 08:10 PM
Sacked is the headline in the Aberdeen journal

Allez Hibs
Ruthless.

https://twitter.com/billthemax/status/1369027789303734277?s=21

Don’t know who this guy is but he seems to think Steve Robinson is taking over.

Thought Bill Oddie was deid!

Paul1642
08-03-2021, 08:11 PM
Not all sackings result in a new manger bounce. (Look at Kilmarnock and Celtic right now). McInnis has done well for them and going forward this is good for us.

Garymcl
08-03-2021, 08:12 PM
Still no word on bbc website unbelievable!!

08-03-2021, 08:14 PM
Not sure that’s great news for us as their form certainly couldn’t get much worse so I can’t see it going any other way than them getting some kind of bounce.

We should have had 3rd more than wrapped up over the past couple weeks imo

Magpie
08-03-2021, 08:15 PM
If there is an American link at the club they might try and go for someone like Klinsmann.

Obviously a bit surprised that they've canned him at this stage, why not just let him go at the end of the season?

Naturally there will be some concerned that the Dons might get a new manager 'bounce' in a sense, but suspect that might be cancelled out by fans putting a lot of pressure on McInnes' interim replacement to try to get results in order to achieve 3rd.

Seeing as how it's not on the Aberdeen sites either, they may end up being one of the few to not look stupid if it does indeed not turn out to be true.

08-03-2021, 08:16 PM
If there is an American link at the club they might try and go for someone like Klinsmann.

Stephen Glass probably more likely from an American connection.

08-03-2021, 08:16 PM
Back to relegation fodder for the sheep then

08-03-2021, 08:17 PM

Trump needs a job and it's near his golf course.
Dodgy Dave & Treacherous Trump.
Cue the Dallas theme music.

Argylehibby
08-03-2021, 08:20 PM

Still celebrating the Rangers league win...

08-03-2021, 08:21 PM

Lambert will be banging the door at Celtc surely?

08-03-2021, 08:22 PM

As posted above, they can’t score a goal because the chairman sold all the strikers in January.

BlackSheep
08-03-2021, 08:23 PM
Lambert will be banging the door at Celtc surely?

He has already bowed out of that race, doesn’t want to sully his reputation.

08-03-2021, 08:26 PM
As posted above, they can’t score a goal because the chairman sold all the strikers in January.

Don’t think they were prolific goal scorers before the last day of the transfer window.

I think whoever comes in, the first thing they’ll do is take the hand break off.

I don’t know exactly how that works in practice but seems to be the said thing about a new manager coming in these days.

08-03-2021, 08:30 PM
Aberdeen sack manager Derek McInnes after eight years at the helm (eveningexpress.co.uk) (https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/donsnews/aberdeen-derek-mcinnes-2021/)
Maybe cos he was out in Union St Sunday setting off flares and fireworks?

08-03-2021, 08:32 PM
Don’t think they were prolific goal scorers before the last day of the transfer window.

I think whoever comes in, the first thing they’ll do is take the hand break off.

I don’t know exactly how that works in practice but seems to be the said thing about a new manager coming in these days.

Yes, you’re probably right. I think it’s what you do when you don’t want to park the bus but drive it instead.

08-03-2021, 08:33 PM
Official statement by Aberdeen confirming it now too.

"interim team, led by Paul Sheerin and supported by Barry Robson and Neil Simpson, will strive to deliver European football with a third placed finish"

08-03-2021, 08:34 PM
Maybe cos he was out in Union St Sunday setting off flares and fireworks?

Union Bears Street?

08-03-2021, 08:36 PM
Official

https://www.afc.co.uk/2021/03/08/derek-mcinnes-leaves-aberdeen-football-club-by-mutual-consent/ (https://www.afc.co.uk/2021/03/08/derek-mcinnes-leaves-aberdeen-football-club-by-mutual-consent/)

08-03-2021, 08:39 PM

They're to busy sticking their noses up the ***** of the sticky buns.

08-03-2021, 08:39 PM

"interim team, led by Paul Sheerin and supported by Barry Robson and Neil Simpson, will strive to deliver European football with a third placed finish"

Robson is a useless coach and thick as mince.

Sheerin is a good guy and decent coach.

08-03-2021, 08:41 PM
The Kamberi effect..

08-03-2021, 08:42 PM
Wonder who’ll be in the frame for the post?

The only person that really jumps out as someone I’d want back at Hibs as Stubbs but I’m aware that’s heavily based on his time here - an advantage he wouldn’t have at Aberdeen so it won’t be him.

I’d be surprised to see them go for Lennon but other than that there’s no obvious candidates in Scotland really.

Lambert? Would Alex Neill be beyond them?

08-03-2021, 08:46 PM
Wonder who’ll be in the frame for the post?

The only person that really jumps out as someone I’d want back at Hibs as Stubbs but I’m aware that’s heavily based on his time here - an advantage he wouldn’t have at Aberdeen so it won’t be him.

I’d be surprised to see them go for Lennon but other than that there’s no obvious candidates in Scotland really.

Lambert? Would Alex Neill be beyond them?

Jim Goodwin and Stephen Robinson will be the two front runners I’d have thought

John Kennedy would be another but he’ll need his Celtic future clarified first.

justlikebrazil
08-03-2021, 08:46 PM
May come for Jack Ross 🤔

Just_Jimmy
08-03-2021, 08:47 PM
for kamberis sake I hope it's Lennon.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

08-03-2021, 08:51 PM
this would be quite funny :greengrin

https://i.ibb.co/sqGX78r/Screenshot-20210308-210630-Whats-App.jpg

08-03-2021, 08:52 PM
Jim Goodwin and Stephen Robinson will be the two front runners I’d have thought

John Kennedy would be another but he’ll need his Celtic future clarified first.

Next manager could be the rebound guy especially if the likes of Rangers come and take Ferguson off their hands in the summer.
The new manager could be seeing Hibs driving into the distance whilst taking lots of abuse.

They only have 10 first team players contracted for next season.
Luckily for them lots of their junk is out of contract.

Centre Back Tommie Hoban is the best of the out of contract guys.
JR should get in touch and offer him a cheeky wee pre-contract.

08-03-2021, 08:52 PM
Has Mowbray just left Blackburn? Seen the other day he was about to leave

08-03-2021, 08:53 PM
for kamberis sake I hope it's Lennon.

For our sake I hope not. Much as I don't rate him at all and think he's an absolute dinosaur, he may well get a short term reaction.

08-03-2021, 08:56 PM
https://twitter.com/mcbookie/status/1369043089227124742?s=21

Stephen Glass the early favourite.

08-03-2021, 09:02 PM

Calum Davidson is now highly rated and won’t be on big money at St Johnstone!

darwenhibby
08-03-2021, 09:03 PM
Has Mowbray just left Blackburn? Seen the other day he was about to leave

Folk around here are looking for a change of manager
They think Mowbray has run out of ideas but don’t know who they want to replace him with
Think Alex Neill has done all he can at Preston
He would be a good shout for Aberdeen

08-03-2021, 09:06 PM

Has only 6 months of top level managerial experience.
Would be better waiting until the rebound guy at Aberdeen is binned first.

08-03-2021, 09:10 PM
Smacks of desperation from Aberdeen. They are on a bad run but still have a great chance to finish third. You’d have thought they have waited till the summer.

08-03-2021, 09:11 PM
Smacks of desperation from Aberdeen. They are on a bad run but still have a great chance to finish third. You’d have thought they have waited till the summer.

Season tickets to sell

08-03-2021, 09:14 PM
Has only 6 months of top level managerial experience.

6 months more than Gerrard had.

From that list, if it was Hibs I’d like us to go for Darren Fletcher, no management experience but I like the idea of recently retired players that have played at a high level.

Sure there’s plenty examples of it not working but Gerrard, Lampard at Derby, Rooney at Derby, Scott Parker at Fulham, sure there’s others but you get the jist.

08-03-2021, 09:16 PM
Calum Davidson is now highly rated and won’t be on big money at St Johnstone!

That's a good call.
Intelligent guy who Cormack will respect.
Has rebuilt the St J team which has won a cup and is moving forward and upwards.

08-03-2021, 09:17 PM

Sounds like they aren't appointing anyone until the end of the season.

08-03-2021, 09:20 PM
6 months more than Gerrard had.

From that list, if it was Hibs I’d like us to go for Darren Fletcher, no management experience but I like the idea of recently retired players that have played at a high level.

Sure there’s plenty examples of it not working but Gerrard, Lampard at Derby, Rooney at Derby, Scott Parker at Fulham, sure there’s others but you get the jist.

Gerrard was just the face. Behind him he had top coach Michael Beale who is the business.

Would rather Hibs go for Calum Davidson. Much better than Lampard, Rooney or Parker for Hibs.
Lamps wouldnae be happy having a £500k transfer budget and a wages budget of a few million quid. Wouldn't know what to do ........beyond calling in favours.

08-03-2021, 09:21 PM

Even playing as badly as we have in the last two games, under McInnes Aberdeen were never going to catch us. They've scored one goal in ten games. That's absolutely horrific form.

Even if it cost a million to sack him, it could turn out that third is worth a lot more money than that to a club this time around.

08-03-2021, 09:36 PM

The mere THOUGHT or suggestion of losing 3rd place to Hibs is enough to get the manager sacked :cb

mayo hibee
08-03-2021, 09:39 PM
Next manager could be the rebound guy especially if the likes of Rangers come and take Ferguson off their hands in the summer.
The new manager could be seeing Hibs driving into the distance whilst taking lots of abuse.

They only have 10 first team players contracted for next season.
Luckily for them lots of their junk is out of contract.

Centre Back Tommie Hoban is the best of the out of contract guys.
JR should get in touch and offer him a cheeky wee pre-contract.

Good player but awfully injury prone. A consistently fit version of him would be a fantastic signing, but I'm not sure that's what we'd get.

08-03-2021, 09:42 PM
Sounds like they aren't appointing anyone until the end of the season.

End of an era. McInnes was a great choice for Aberdeen at that point in time. He was supported with huge sums of money and did an excellent job. Repeating anything like that will be incredibly hard. Hibs, Jack Ross and Ron have the chance to step into that void ... unless Hearts steal the show.

08-03-2021, 09:46 PM
Even playing as badly as we have in the last two games, under McInnes Aberdeen were never going to catch us. They've scored one goal in ten games. That's absolutely horrific form.

Even if it cost a million to sack him, it could turn out that third is worth a lot more money than that to a club this time around.

He’s done a good job over a prolonged period.

Form is form, it could easily have turned next week, with McInnes, just as easily as it could with a new manager. Doubt it will make much odds really, it will still be tight between us through to the end of the season.

08-03-2021, 09:49 PM

I'm quite shocked that they've chosen to sack him at this point of the season. Perhaps a row with Cormack, who will be feeling the pressure of what it will cost the club NOT to finish third.

davhibby
08-03-2021, 09:50 PM

The fact that they’re not bringing anyone in until the season is over is a bit of a strange one though. That’s calmed me down a bit about any bounce they might have had in the next few games.

Wouldn’t be surprised if they do something weird like loan Glass from Atlanta, the Cormack link there seems quite dodgy

08-03-2021, 10:06 PM
Season tickets to sell

And seemingly they don’t trust McInnes to reshape the squad and want to get started with that work.

08-03-2021, 10:12 PM
Good player but awfully injury prone. A consistently fit version of him would be a fantastic signing, but I'm not sure that's what we'd get.

Yeah, two anterior cruciate ligament injuries in the last 4 years. However, he has played 35 matches this season which is a good sign. Might fancy trying to get himself back into the English Championship where he has played over 70 matches but nothing to stop Hibs approaching him.

08-03-2021, 10:23 PM
He’s done a good job over a prolonged period.

Form is form, it could easily have turned next week, with McInnes, just as easily as it could with a new manager. Doubt it will make much odds really, it will still be tight between us through to the end of the season.

If they don’t beat United on the last day prior to the split, then get given Rangers and Celtic first two games after then any new manager bounce is effectively out the window. And in reality, it doesn’t matter what the new manager does as we should be 6 clear before he gets the chance to get into the dugout.

08-03-2021, 11:32 PM
McInnes needed to win another trophy. A penalty victory after a turgid 0-0 versus ICT is hardly what dreams are made off.

Let’s be honest clubs like Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen get far more kudos from fans, increased season ticket etc from a glorious Scottish cup victory than they do from finishing 3rd or 4th with a run of 1-0 results agains Hamilton and St Johnstone.

I remember the previous owner Stewart Milne saying after we won’t be cup and our season tickets went from c7-8k to 13k that he couldn’t but admire what we had achieved.

The Baldmans Comb
09-03-2021, 12:18 AM
There is around £4million at stake for being 3rd rather than 4th in the SPL this year and a Macinnes led team showed no signs of catching us.

Someome new might just get the deid cat bounce needed to chase us down so sacking was the only option or "mutually consenting" for those who like it fluffy.

It was a very easy gamble to take.

09-03-2021, 03:50 AM
Bad news for us as they’ll unfortunately get that new manager bounce and probably kick on for 3rd now.

Overall he’s done a brilliant job at Aberdeen though.

Even though he’s only won 1 cup, he’s takes them from a mid table team, similar to us, to finishing 2/3/4 consistently in an 8 year period and getting European football every season. He’s a big part of them being able to spend more money on players, attract better players and justify the new training ground and stadium.

We’ve finished 3rd 4 times in 40 odd years, Mccinnes has achieved that what 5/6 times for Aberdeen in 8 years? He deserves huge credit and I think it’s taken for granted.

Even though they’ve been poor this season they’re in 4th place, 3 points off 3rd. He’s a victim of his own success.

I hope Ross is able to install the same amount of consistency in us, starting with a 3rd place finish this season.

The football may not be the best right now but the more consistent we are, the more European football we get then we’ll be able to attract better players and our football will improve.

09-03-2021, 04:46 AM

I think the timing may have been prompted by our result against Motherwell as it opens the door a bit in the race for 3rd. I posted a few weeks ago that Aberdeen's own projections are that Europe could be worth £4m next season. If they are successful in getting 3rd by firing him they will still be about £3m on side after the rumoured £1m cost of getting rid of him. It's a massive gamble though and let's hope it doesn't pay off 🙂

09-03-2021, 04:51 AM
Bad news for us as they’ll unfortunately get that new manager bounce and probably kick on for 3rd now.

Even though he’s only won 1 cup, he’s takes them from a mid table team, similar to us, to finishing 2/3/4 consistently in an 8 year period and getting European football every season. He’s a big part of them being able to spend more money on players, attract better players and justify the new training ground and stadium.

We’ve finished 3rd 4 times in 40 odd years, Mccinnes has achieved that what 5/6 times for Aberdeen in 8 years? He deserves huge credit and I think it’s taken for granted.

Even though they’ve been poor this season they’re in 4th place, 3 points off 3rd. He’s a victim of his own success.

I hope Ross is able to install the same amount of consistency in us, starting with a 3rd place finish this season.

The football may not be the best right now but the more consistent we are, the more European football we get then we’ll be able to attract better players and our football will improve.
Expect they're not getting a new manager. They could be even worse with a bunch of guys with no experience. It's a totally lottery this sacking. I can't see some miracle new manager boost.

The Count
09-03-2021, 05:44 AM
As bad as the style of football was under McInnes Aberdeen were always going to be 3rd/4th.This might change in a negative direction under a new manager.So as i see it this could be good news for Hibs insecuring 3rd place this year and the seasons to come.Lets hope so anway.

09-03-2021, 06:12 AM
I think this is a crazy decision at this stage of the season.
Fingers crossed that I'm right.

09-03-2021, 06:23 AM
Expect they're not getting a new manager. They could be even worse with a bunch of guys with no experience. It's a totally lottery this sacking. I can't see some miracle new manager boost.

Very true.

I sometimes think that even the interim manager can get a big boost out of them though as they’ve nothing to lose and will just tell them to go for it etc.

Look at us when Heckingbottom left, the next game we pumped St Johnstone and Doidge scored a hat trick.

09-03-2021, 06:23 AM
All about money i think. It looks like they are skint and need to finish 3rd for the additional revenue for that and for the European money.

09-03-2021, 06:24 AM
Have Aberdeen not had the 3rd biggest budget for a long time. A lot of people saying he’s done a good job yet not many fans like the style of football? So if Hibs turn into Aberdeen over the next few season will our fans be happy?

Crunchie
09-03-2021, 06:56 AM
His record speaks for itself, and he's way above average imo. I think he'll get a bigger gig down England.

09-03-2021, 07:05 AM
Cannot stand Aberdeen. They've been rotten the vast majority of my lifetime. Couple of relegations escaped by default, neglected their stadium while their biggest rivals improved theirs. Now they're too big for their boots and punt their best manager since Ferguson when they're 3 points off 3rd. Hell mend them. Bring back Craig Brown or Roy Aitken. Short memories up there.

09-03-2021, 07:17 AM
There is around £4million at stake for being 3rd rather than 4th in the SPL this year and a Macinnes led team showed no signs of catching us.

Someome new might just get the deid cat bounce needed to chase us down so sacking was the only option or "mutually consenting" for those who like it fluffy.

It was a very easy gamble to take.

There’s not that gap now the Scottish Cup is being played out this season. The group stage euro place goes to the winner of that rather than 3rd place. The difference between third and fourth is now where you enter into the Conference cup. Unless one of the uglies win the cup. I maybe wrong but that’s how I understand it.

09-03-2021, 07:35 AM

Will this be the new manager bounce Hearts got last season.

09-03-2021, 07:39 AM
Will this be the new manager bounce Hearts got last season.

I remember reading (or hearing, might have been a podcast) that the new manager bounce is a myth and very rarely happens.

Fwiw if we win our next 2 games then that’ll be enough, regardless of how they do.

If we go into the split with a 6 point gap and much better goal difference they’d be needing to win 3 of the final 5 games and hope we lose all of ours. Can’t see either of those things happening.

Winning our last 2 games won’t be easy though.

09-03-2021, 07:44 AM
I remember reading (or hearing, might have been a podcast) that the new manager bounce is a myth and very rarely happens.

Fwiw if we win our next 2 games then that’ll be enough, regardless of how they do.

If we go into the split with a 6 point gap and much better goal difference they’d be needing to win 3 of the final 5 games and hope we lose all of ours. Can’t see either of those things happening.

Winning our last 2 games won’t be easy though.

Certainly didn't happen with Hearts, not happened at WBA under Allerdyce and definitely didn't happen with us under Butcher, I think the mentality of the players determine if you get a bounce from a new manager, we certainly got it when Ross came in and dare I say it when Heckingbotom took over.

09-03-2021, 07:48 AM
There’s not that gap now the Scottish Cup is being played out this season. The group stage euro place goes to the winner of that rather than 3rd place. The difference between third and fourth is now where you enter into the Conference cup. Unless one of the uglies win the cup. I maybe wrong but that’s how I understand it.

Yes that's correct.

09-03-2021, 07:58 AM
Certainly didn't happen with Hearts, not happened at WBA under Allerdyce and definitely didn't happen with us under Butcher, I think the mentality of the players determine if you get a bounce from a new manager, we certainly got it when Ross came in and dare I say it when Heckingbotom took over.

There was definitely a "bounce" when Butcher arrived.

Coming off the back of 4 losses (including the match against Inverness where he sat out), we went on a run of W4 D4 L1 in his first 9 matches - then things went tits up.

09-03-2021, 08:01 AM
We did well under butcher until we chucked a 2 goal lead at Tannadice which i think was right after the new year derby. We barely won a game after that

BlackSheep
09-03-2021, 08:37 AM
Do we think they'll replace him this side of the end of the season?

I think they've struggled financially this year so league position and cup run could really influence who they go for......?

09-03-2021, 08:54 AM
Must be looking back and very much regretting deciding against, or being persuaded not to go for, the gig at Ipox when he had the chance before Slippy was appointed. Doubt he will get the chance of that sort of gig again.

09-03-2021, 08:58 AM
Must be looking back and very much regretting deciding against, or being persuaded not to go for, the gig at Ipox when he had the chance before Slippy was appointed. Doubt he will get the chance of that sort of gig again.

Were Rangers not a basket case at that time? Think he was offered it when Murty was there. He would have got a decent increase at Aberdeen no doubt. Will be interesting to see where he goes now. Would assume down south

Yorkshire HFC
09-03-2021, 09:02 AM
Have Aberdeen not had the 3rd biggest budget for a long time. A lot of people saying he’s done a good job yet not many fans like the style of football? So if Hibs turn into Aberdeen over the next few season will our fans be happy?

Finishing 2nd / 3rd every year for the next 8 years together with a Cup and Europe every year? Sounds pretty good to me.

09-03-2021, 09:21 AM
Very odd timing. There is no new manager bounce likely and inexperienced management team in charge for last six games. If they were going to boot him should have been after the game at er. We can only focus on our games but I can’t see them binning McInnes as anything but a plus for us.

Pilrig_Sauzee
09-03-2021, 09:40 AM
Surprising timing, he knows how to beat Hibs, which is what they need to do. Hopefully Ross can take advantage, and secure third place.

MagicSwirlingShip
09-03-2021, 09:43 AM
On reflection, he probably would have been away a fortnight ago if we had picked up some points

09-03-2021, 09:50 AM
Has it been confirmed yet?

It would signal to me they are gambling on a Yogi-style new manager bounce. If they appoint rookies it's a win-win - if they get third its a masterstroke, if they don't it's because of the state the previous incumbent left behind.

09-03-2021, 09:56 AM

It would signal to me they are gambling on a Yogi-style new manager bounce. If they appoint rookies it's a win-win - if they get third its a masterstroke, if they don't it's because of the state the previous incumbent left behind.

They’ve said Paul Sheerin the youth coach til the end of the season.

09-03-2021, 10:06 AM

Not sure about that, highly doubt he would be a success there. And we all know that it's either success or abject failure at the old firm with not much room inbetween

Having said that he probably should have left aberdeen last summer or even earlier

09-03-2021, 10:26 AM

It was announced last night.

https://www.afc.co.uk/2021/03/08/derek-mcinnes-leaves-aberdeen-football-club-by-mutual-consent/

09-03-2021, 11:26 AM

Speaking for myself, I’d not be happy in that scenario. Playing the way Aberdeen have for the last 5 or 6 years would negate any success for me. What’s the point in success if the 90 mins on a Saturday feels like a chore. For a season or two as a means to an end, maybe. As a preferred playing style, despite the success, not what I’d spend my time and money on.

09-03-2021, 11:30 AM
Speaking for myself, I’d not be happy in that scenario. Playing the way Aberdeen have for the last 5 or 6 years would negate any success for me. What’s the point in success if the 90 mins on a Saturday feels like a chore. For a season or two as a means to an end, maybe. As a preferred playing style, despite the success, not what I’d spend my time and money on.

Exactly where I am and I’d suspect if it ever came to that there would be more fans in the same boat than would let on. Not enjoying going to watch Hibs because of the style of football on show would get old fast.

09-03-2021, 11:32 AM

Couldn’t agree more.

One of my concerns of the Jack Ross reign so far was that he may be using the Aberdeen blueprint for success. As a manager I can completely understand why anyone would go down that route, as a supporter though it’s not for me.

I appreciate for some though it’s all about the end result.

09-03-2021, 11:40 AM
Couldn’t agree more.

One of my concerns of the Jack Ross reign so far was that he may be using the Aberdeen blueprint for success. As a manager I can completely understand why anyone would go down that route, as a supporter though it’s not for me.

I appreciate for some though it’s all about the end result.
What makes you say that?

I don’t see many parallels with our playing style and Aberdeen’s under McInnes.

For me the only the only element of McInnes that Ross wants is to be constantly in the top 4. Aberdeen have built their relative success through being powerful and scrappy/niggly. I don’t see those traits in our game.

09-03-2021, 11:42 AM
What makes you say that?

For me the only the only element of McInnes that Ross wants is to be constantly in the top 4. Aberdeen have built their relative success through being powerful and scrappy/niggly. I don’t see those traits in our game.

I agree Matty, we play decent, if at times lethargic, football. We do also have a bit more pragmatism in the side, but we are not hammer-throwers.

It's not swashbuckling, but people seem to forget that last time we played great football was under Lennon when we had McGinn and DM in the side.

09-03-2021, 11:42 AM
It was announced last night.

https://www.afc.co.uk/2021/03/08/derek-mcinnes-leaves-aberdeen-football-club-by-mutual-consent/

Cheers SDG

09-03-2021, 11:44 AM
I have a couple of friends who are Arbroath fans - they highly rated Sheerin when he was their player/manager and was surprised that he took a youth role in coaching as opposed to looking for a bigger management job.

Greenio
09-03-2021, 11:45 AM
Don't see any decisive correlation between Ross n McInnes tbh.

And, I like winning too much to be bothered about how we win. So long as there are goals and victories...that's sweet enough for me. Much prefer that to silky play and losing.

09-03-2021, 11:48 AM
What makes you say that?

I just think we’re boring to watch to be honest.

I know there’s plenty counter arguments to that in terms of the stats and league position, it’s just how I’ve felt watching this Hibs team.

09-03-2021, 11:50 AM
Always liked McInnes, hope he finds another decent club.

I don’t blame Aberdeen though, the time was right to make the change.

McCormack comes across well to me and I see him in a similar way to Ron Gordon. A strong Aberdeen alongside us is good for the league and gives us someone to compete against for Europe!

09-03-2021, 11:55 AM
What makes you say that?

Personally, I think there are some parallels between Mcinnes and Ross in terms of style. There’s no parallel between Aberdeen’s sleekit, rotational fouling by a team of giants. I do see similarities in the emphasis being on being hard to beat first and foremost. The importance in getting the first goal and when done so looking to manage the game rather than go for the kill. None of that is meant as a criticism (I’ve my own thoughts on whether I like that style or not) but those are similarities I see between both teams/managers.

09-03-2021, 12:10 PM
Personally, I think there are some parallels between Mcinnes and Ross in terms of style. There’s no parallel between Aberdeen’s sleekit, rotational fouling by a team of giants. I do see similarities in the emphasis being on being hard to beat first and foremost. The importance in getting the first goal and when done so looking to manage the game rather than go for the kill. None of that is meant as a criticism (I’ve my own thoughts on whether I like that style or not) but those are similarities I see between both teams/managers.

Rome also wasn’t built in a day. It’s easier to evolve when your consistently where you aspire to be, than to evolve when struggling around mid table. Now we have the argument that playing nice silky football won’t have you mid table, but that’s hypothetical just now and Ross, without fans in the stadium for atmosphere, has built us from the back where we were hopeless previously, and ensured we are beating the majority of the league more often than not.

We are third, we should finish there, that gives us a decent whack of cash, it allows us to spend more again, evolving, and looking to build on that, as Gordon said it’s a project he’s building. It’s not Mowbray style football but then we don’t have those players, it’s also a very difficult league to play that way where even Rangers struggle most weeks to play that football. Sometimes and some seasons results are everything, and we’re achieving that this season.

I’ve enjoyed decent chunks of it, others have been hard, none of it is helped by sitting in the house. I’d say it’s a million miles away from Aberdeen’s style of play, never once have I seen us chuck one defender after defender to shut out a 1-0 win by kicking and fouling our way to it.

09-03-2021, 12:29 PM
Rumours of Aberdeen getting Stephen Glass in as manager as Jim Whyte and Gordon Hunter were on the radio said they spoke to the appointed manager last night who is an ex Aberdeen player.

09-03-2021, 12:34 PM
Don't see any decisive correlation between Ross n McInnes tbh.

And, I like winning too much to be bothered about how we win. So long as there are goals and victories...that's sweet enough for me. Much prefer that to silky play and losing.

Same with me.

Win at all costs and I don’t care how we do it.

What I would like to see is a bit more control about or performances though as sometimes I think we lack this and puts us in a dangerous position.

I suppose Ross would say were in control defensively though as we seem at our best and most threatening when we don’t have the ball and can counter. Teams appear to do that to us when we are dictating the game.

A couple of shrewd additions in the summer as well as retaining certain players will bring this.

MagicSwirlingShip
09-03-2021, 12:39 PM
Rumours of Aberdeen getting Stephen Glass in as manager as Jim Whyte and Gordon Hunter were on the radio said they spoke to the appointed manager last night who is an ex Aberdeen player.

Paul Sheerin is Ex Aberdeen.

EI255
09-03-2021, 12:40 PM
Drew Jarvie?

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

09-03-2021, 12:42 PM
Paul Sheerin is Ex Aberdeen.

Yeah I think they were meaning who will get the gig full time based on what I’ve been told.

Always the chance they were trying to be smart with it being Sheerin

A lot seem to thing Glass due to his links with Aberdeen and Atlanta though.

Cat Stanton
09-03-2021, 01:00 PM
Had a quick look at the Aberdeen fans forum - yes, that's working from home for you. Anyway, jeezo - makes this place seem like a haven of calm, thoughtful inner peace, and love-thy-neighbourness. All f-ing and c-ing at each other, almost to the point of squaring up. Amazing. Oh, and they all seem to hate McInnes. Be careful what you wish for, people...

LeithMike
09-03-2021, 01:16 PM
Speaking for myself, I’d not be happy in that scenario. Playing the way Aberdeen have for the last 5 or 6 years would negate any success for me. What’s the point in success if the 90 mins on a Saturday feels like a chore. For a season or two as a means to an end, maybe. As a preferred playing style, despite the success, not what I’d spend my time and money on.Certainly can understand this comment but I think it underrates a lot of what McInnes has achieved. Yes, they have been built on a solid defence and have been a bit industrial in style (particularly the last couple of years) but they were also a good attacking side when Niall McGinn and Hayes were in their prime and bombing down the wings. They also gave Brendan Roger's Celtic side (which was pretty much untouchable for a while) a really good run for their money at times, particularly the 2017 Scottish Cup Final. McInnes is miles ahead of other anti-footballing managers like Levein.

Aberdeen certainly need a refresh but McInnes is a good manager who perhaps outstayed his shelf life at Aberdeen. Have to say I wouldn't mind Hibs incorporating a bit of their stuffiness into our play. I certainly think we need add a bit more aggression and desire in our play which is a bit lacking and why we seem to lose so many games when we go behind.

On your overall sentiment though, I agree. I think 4th place under Lennon was a far greater achievement and far more enjoyable experience than this year even if we get 3rd.

The problem for Hibs if we do get 3rd is where do we go from there? There is a glass ceiling in Scottish football which has clearly resulted in the Aberdeen fans becoming dissatisfied with 3rd.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

09-03-2021, 01:55 PM
Can only be due to them wanting to sell season tickets. Mcinnes going will help in that regard.

09-03-2021, 01:56 PM
Didn't Sheerin do well at Arbroath?

09-03-2021, 02:04 PM

He did.

Six or seven years since he’s been in that sort of position though.

davhibby
09-03-2021, 02:58 PM
Rome also wasn’t built in a day. It’s easier to evolve when your consistently where you aspire to be, than to evolve when struggling around mid table. Now we have the argument that playing nice silky football won’t have you mid table, but that’s hypothetical just now and Ross, without fans in the stadium for atmosphere, has built us from the back where we were hopeless previously, and ensured we are beating the majority of the league more often than not.

We are third, we should finish there, that gives us a decent whack of cash, it allows us to spend more again, evolving, and looking to build on that, as Gordon said it’s a project he’s building. It’s not Mowbray style football but then we don’t have those players, it’s also a very difficult league to play that way where even Rangers struggle most weeks to play that football. Sometimes and some seasons results are everything, and we’re achieving that this season.

I’ve enjoyed decent chunks of it, others have been hard, none of it is helped by sitting in the house. I’d say it’s a million miles away from Aberdeen’s style of play, never once have I seen us chuck one defender after defender to shut out a 1-0 win by kicking and fouling our way to it.

We have at times played some good enjoyable football. Some of the stuff in the second half of the 2-2 against Celtic is a game that comes to mind for me. I can’t help but think that we were so poor defensively last season that JR wanted to make sure that was dealt with first and foremost this season. On the whole there’s been a big improvement there.

If a Hibs manager played the way McInnes has at Aberdeen they’d be lucky to last 3 years never mind 8.

09-03-2021, 05:22 PM
Glass is 4/5 fav for the gig, then Enzo Maresca at 6/1, Lennon, Sheerin and Robinson 8's and Darren Fletcher and Moloney at 10's.(Ross is 25/1)

09-03-2021, 05:27 PM
We have at times played some good enjoyable football. Some of the stuff in the second half of the 2-2 against Celtic is a game that comes to mind for me. I can’t help but think that we were so poor defensively last season that JR wanted to make sure that was dealt with first and foremost this season. On the whole there’s been a big improvement there.

If a Hibs manager played the way McInnes has at Aberdeen they’d be lucky to last 3 years never mind 8.

Lol I'm trying to remember how long Bertie Auld was in charge at Hibs. On second thoughts, I'd rather not lol

09-03-2021, 06:51 PM
Lol I'm trying to remember how long Bertie Auld was in charge at Hibs. On second thoughts, I'd rather not lol

"Right boys, yous huv goat a point. Don't lose it!"

The pre-match pep talk of a god.

09-03-2021, 07:00 PM
Glass is 4/5 fav for the gig, then Enzo Maresca at 6/1, Lennon, Sheerin and Robinson 8's and Darren Fletcher and Moloney at 10's.(Ross is 25/1)

Maresca is the kind of rumour I love to here when we’re looking for a manager :agree:

09-03-2021, 07:18 PM
Maresca is the kind of rumour I love to here when we’re looking for a manager :agree:

Same.

There’s another boy that’s randomly turned up at 20/1 on the betting odds called Kjetil Knudsen that would be an interesting appointment as well.

10-03-2021, 12:00 PM
Lol I'm trying to remember how long Bertie Auld was in charge at Hibs. On second thoughts, I'd rather not lolCertainly responsible for me stopping going for a while

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

10-03-2021, 12:02 PM

Is Maresca not currently the favourite for the Celtic job?

10-03-2021, 12:20 PM
Is Maresca not currently the favourite for the Celtic job?

Yes, I suspect his agent is trying to get his name out there and Scottish Premiership or English championship will be the level he hopes to get in at.

10-03-2021, 12:20 PM

Stephen Glass ? What's he been up to in recent years :confused:

10-03-2021, 12:21 PM

He's a coach at the American side Aberdeen have a partnership with

10-03-2021, 12:21 PM

He’s manager of Atlanta United II. He was interim manager after they sacked F De Boer recently.

mcohibs
10-03-2021, 12:28 PM

As a Hibs fan I'd be delighted with the league finishes that McInnes has achieved during his time at Aberdeen

10-03-2021, 12:28 PM
He’s manager of Atlanta United II. He was interim manager after they sacked F De Boer recently.

Watched a couple of interviews with him out of curiosity to see what he was like and he came across very well I think.

I know you can’t tell very much from a couple of interviews but seems like a good guy, was very positive and spoke well about how he wants his team to play.

I’ve no idea if he’d be a good choice for Aberdeen but I could imagine he will interview well.

Just_Jimmy
10-03-2021, 12:52 PM
mind when we "appointed" that big Icelandic bloke? then at the press conference Rod Introduced Mowbray and everyone went... "eh?"

10-03-2021, 12:53 PM
"Right boys, yous huv goat a point. Don't lose it!"

The pre-match pep talk of a god.

I forget who it was, but in someone's autobiography Auld went "STAP THE ****IN GAME" in training and yelled at them every time they tried to pay football on the deck.

10-03-2021, 01:14 PM

Fletcher announced today as Technical Director at Man Utd so he can be crossed of your list

10-03-2021, 01:16 PM

He's a coach at the American side Aberdeen have a partnership with

Aberdeen fans terrified that their partners at Atlanta will force Glass on them.

Magpie
10-03-2021, 01:29 PM

I don’t think it will be any of them. I would predict a foreign manager though.

10-03-2021, 02:42 PM
I always think back to the time an Aberdeen manager won two cups (Scottish and League Cup), yet this still wasn't good enough for the Aberdeen fans. It was post Ferguson, so they were obviously used to league titles and European success.

Alex Smith was the manager.

10-03-2021, 05:04 PM
Reading that Caveman has thrown his name into the hat for the Dons job
He must have some good friends in the press, to continually get linked with jobs, he has no chance of getting

10-03-2021, 06:20 PM
Reading that Caveman has thrown his name into the hat for the Dons job
He must have some good friends in the press, to continually get linked with jobs, he has no chance of getting

Neilson or Pressley

10-03-2021, 06:23 PM
Neilson or Pressley

Pressley, Neilson is mini caveman, Jim

10-03-2021, 06:49 PM
Pressley, Neilson is mini caveman, Jim

10-03-2021, 06:51 PM
Aberdeen fans terrified that their partners at Atlanta will force Glass on them.

Forcing glass on someone used to be a regular occurrence in Aberdeen.

10-03-2021, 07:02 PM

Yes, had many a good game, good game.

11-03-2021, 06:41 AM

That late winner against Aberdeen at Easter Road; a wonderful goal. Always think of that when I think of Stephen Glass.

11-03-2021, 07:14 AM
That late winner against Aberdeen at Easter Road; a wonderful goal. Always think of that when I think of Stephen Glass.

Decent player for us. Moved on for budget reasons but never grumbled about the club.

11-03-2021, 08:57 AM

One of the best goals I’ve seen in the flesh.

11-03-2021, 05:07 PM
I forget who it was, but in someone's autobiography Auld went "STAP THE ****IN GAME" in training and yelled at them every time they tried to pay football on the deck.

IIRC, it was one of the defenders (McNamara?) that made the comment that Auld shouted that when he started creating an attack and dared to cross the half-way line.

11-03-2021, 09:39 PM
Glass apparently the new manager and Scott Brown to become his assistant.

11-03-2021, 09:42 PM

That would be a brave appointment.

Paul1642
11-03-2021, 09:55 PM

I don’t see it. Brown probably has his future mapped out as a Celtic assistant manager to either the next manager or the one after, and should that go well he would have every chance at being Celtic manger himself thereafter.

Why swap that for a risky move to Aberdeen.

11-03-2021, 09:57 PM
Glass I could see, Brown no chance.

11-03-2021, 10:02 PM
Talk of Allan Russell being his other first team coach, Russell is currently England's striker coach and started at Hibs?
Talk of Sven Goran Erikson as DOF with Glass, Brown and Russel. That does seem a but far fetched

11-03-2021, 10:22 PM
I'm sure Brown said recently that he planned on continuing playing for a few seasons and that if it wasn't at celtic then so be it.

11-03-2021, 10:33 PM
Brown go and play for a year or two and be assistant.

BlackSheep
12-03-2021, 07:35 AM
Press reporting Brown would move to become player/assistant if Glass gets the managers job.... so not as far fetched as some would have you believe.

12-03-2021, 08:02 AM
Press reporting Brown would move to become player/assistant if Glass gets the managers job.... so not as far fetched as some would have you believe.

They would have played together at Hibs, I think

12-03-2021, 08:26 AM

I always think of his goal at Motherwell, at our end
Ran to the advertising board between the stands, that was promoting an ad for the “Glassman”

12-03-2021, 09:02 AM
Talk of Allan Russell being his other first team coach, Russell is currently England's striker coach and started at Hibs?
Talk of Sven Goran Erikson as DOF with Glass, Brown and Russel. That does seem a but far fetched

Surely not that would cost them a fortune

12-03-2021, 09:03 AM
Glass I could see, Brown no chance.

Agree

12-03-2021, 09:24 AM
They would have played together at Hibs, I think

They did, and got on very well.

12-03-2021, 11:16 AM
If Scott Brown is playing for a provincial club he will be booked every week and most likely sent off a few times too.

Logie Green
12-03-2021, 11:18 AM
If Scott Brown is playing for a provincial club he will be booked every week and most likely sent off a few times too.

He’s been playing for a provincial club since he left Hibs.

12-03-2021, 11:19 AM

Do you not remember Shinnie playing for Aberdeen? 😂

Absolutely incredible what he used to get away with.

12-03-2021, 11:28 AM
Pretty sure Aberdeen aren't a provincial club though?

Provincial means outside the capital so all non Edinburgh teams are provincial.

12-03-2021, 11:31 AM

Brain fart moment i actually knew that and don't even know what i was trying to say 😅. Please ignore

Logie Green
12-03-2021, 11:31 AM

Correct. Here’s the dictionary definition of provinces in Britain.

‘The whole of a country outside the capital, especially when regarded as lacking in sophistication or culture’.

12-03-2021, 11:39 AM
Correct. Here’s the dictionary definition of provinces in Britain.

‘The whole of a country outside the capital, especially when regarded as lacking in sophistication or culture’.

The first part is fine, especially in relation to the ugly sisters, whose fans certainly qualify for the second part.:greengrin

12-03-2021, 11:47 AM
He’s been playing for a provincial club since he left Hibs.

:top marks:aok:

12-03-2021, 12:36 PM
One of the best goals I’ve seen in the flesh.
It was brilliant, saw it from behind all the way into the net & still couldn't believe it.

12-03-2021, 12:45 PM

I remember this being pointed out to one of our ‘football journalists’ who responded by saying Glasgow was the football capital of Scotland so Hibs and every other team apart from the Bigot Brothers were provincial clubs.

Logie Green
12-03-2021, 12:54 PM
I remember this being pointed out to one of our ‘football journalists’ who responded by saying Glasgow was the football capital of Scotland so Hibs and every other team apart from the Bigot Brothers were provincial clubs.

This doesn’t surprise me but makes me assume that Partick Thistle are regarded as ‘provincial’ despite playing in the football ‘capital’.

What they really mean when they say ‘provincial club’ is ‘diddy club’.

I suppose that’s what happens when wordsmiths like Billy Dodds and Derek Ferguson are let loose on national radio and television.

12-03-2021, 01:22 PM

6 to 10 fouls a game in the fixtures I saw against Hibs, rarely spoken too never mind booked. May's chest high Kung Fu kick appeared to legal in the eyes of the ref as well.

12-03-2021, 02:11 PM
What they really mean when they say ‘provincial club’ is ‘diddy club’.

I suppose that’s what happens when wordsmiths like Billy Dodds and Derek Ferguson are let loose on national radio and television.

As long as the pundits and journos are Rantic minded all other clubs are of little or no importance.

Of course there is the honourable exception of Tom English who is fixated on a Scottish Championship Club.

12-03-2021, 03:50 PM
I’m sure Alan Russell was a youth player with us ?

12-03-2021, 04:14 PM
I’m sure Alan Russell was a youth player with us ?

Yep he was. Moved on to Hamilton then St Mirren. Had a decent spell down South before coming back up.

Pretty average player but has done well for himself on the coaching front.

12-03-2021, 04:45 PM

:agree: This!

Magpie
25-03-2021, 02:42 PM
Brown now confirmed as Player/Coach much to the surprise of many on here I assume.

25-03-2021, 02:44 PM
booooooo :(

25-03-2021, 02:58 PM
Brown now confirmed as Player/Coach much to the surprise of many on here I assume.

Definitely surprised. Hope its an absolute disaster.

25-03-2021, 03:06 PM

Not surprised at all and ensures he has a playing contract to within a month of his 38th birthday.
No room currently for him at Hibs with SDG etc and the current coaches.

hhibs
25-03-2021, 04:04 PM

Part of the reason I would like him at Hibs.

25-03-2021, 04:39 PM
Part of the reason I would like him at Hibs.

,,,,but he would't get away with that at Hibs.