View Full Version : St Johnstone

Mr. Wonderful
28-02-2021, 05:42 PM
2nd most successful Scottish club in the last decade. All the so called big Scottish clubs, like ourselves, should be utterly embarrassed by that.

28-02-2021, 05:51 PM
I'm not embarrassed and, even this weekend, I'd still rather be a Hibee.

28-02-2021, 05:55 PM
This logic means arsenal have been more successful than Liverpool over the last decade, Wigan have been as successful as Leicester, Swansea and Birmingham are in the top 10 most successful clubs.

28-02-2021, 05:57 PM
Not embarrassed. They won a cup because they deserved to. Good on them.

28-02-2021, 05:57 PM
Not embarrassed at all. Couldn't actually care less. Shame their 2k fans didn't get to see it today. Know who I'd rather support.

Magpie
28-02-2021, 06:06 PM
I won’t be embarrassed when we are playing big teams on Thursday nights next season. If anything I’ll be proud.

28-02-2021, 06:06 PM
As much as I was raging we got beat, and would’ve loved us to win them, what’s the point this year? Can’t be there, can’t celebrate other than in the house on your own, would be a total shadow of previous cup wins.

28-02-2021, 06:07 PM
2nd most successful Scottish club in the last decade. All the so called big Scottish clubs, like ourselves, should be utterly embarrassed by that.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0YxhIq6t6Fk&ab_channel=DianeBartlett

28-02-2021, 06:08 PM
Huge congratulations to St Johnstone. The best team over the course of the competition.

28-02-2021, 06:11 PM
As much as I was raging we got beat, and would’ve loved us to win them, what’s the point this year? Can’t be there, can’t celebrate other than in the house on your own, would be a total shadow of previous cup wins.

What's the point of winning a major trophy? Did you just ask that?

Heckys Wheel
28-02-2021, 06:14 PM
Wouldn’t say embarrassed is the right word but watching Liam Craig blindly hook balls over his shoulder all game then pick up a winners medal left me scunnered.

Wotherspoon obviously has a bit of talent but doubt he’d be anywhere near out team. Callum Booth never good enough and rightly let go.

A rare opportunity at a trophy blown by not turning up for the semi.

28-02-2021, 06:19 PM
What's the point of winning a major trophy? Did you just ask that?

Not from a clubs point of view obviously. As a fan this year if given the choice it would’ve been European football every day with the chance of travelling next season.

28-02-2021, 06:20 PM
Whilst I’m not embarrassed you have to wonder why a club with what maybe 2/3k season ticket holders can win as many trophies in the last 20 years. Hibs fans pump way more money into our club so you’ve got to ask whether we should expect more!

St Johnstone have an excellent manager and team just now. They all work hard for each other. and it’s easy to see why they achieved this success.

28-02-2021, 06:20 PM
Well done to them I'm happy they won today but our record could be a lot better. We need to improve on this.

28-02-2021, 06:22 PM
Not from a clubs point of view obviously. As a fan this year if given the choice it would’ve been European football every day with the chance of travelling next season.

But that isn't the choice though is it. I'm a fan (who goes when the stadium is open) but I would love to win a BCD cup. No brainer.

28-02-2021, 06:27 PM
But that isn't the choice though is it. I'm a fan (who goes when the stadium is open) but I would love to win a BCD cup. No brainer.

We would all love to win the cup but it wouldn’t be a great experience, due to the points i make. Compare and contrast to 2007 and 2016 and it wouldn’t feel like a cup win at all. It would go in the record books but it’s not one we’d be telling the kids about in 20 years time.

I guess the point I’m making is I’m not going to lose sleep over losing this years semi and the Saints winning the cup when I’m not actually there in person, the highs and the lows just don’t feel the same as when you are there week in week out.

K-Zazu
28-02-2021, 06:33 PM
What’s our record against them the last 20 years?

Mr. Wonderful
28-02-2021, 06:45 PM

So if we'd won it you wouldn't be happy? 😂

28-02-2021, 06:46 PM
So if we'd won it you wouldn't be happy? 😂

Who said that?

28-02-2021, 06:46 PM
We would all love to win the cup but it wouldn’t be a great experience, due to the points i make. Compare and contrast to 2007 and 2016 and it wouldn’t feel like a cup win at all. It would go in the record books but it’s not one we’d be telling the kids about in 20 years time.

I guess the point I’m making is I’m not going to lose sleep over losing this years semi and the Saints winning the cup when I’m not actually there in person, the highs and the lows just don’t feel the same as when you are there week in week out.

Ah right. If this thread thread is about how you feel then fair enough. It it's about the Club I would prefer to win it.

28-02-2021, 06:47 PM
Ah right. If this thread thread is about how you feel then fair enough. It it's about the Club I would prefer to win it.

The OP mentioned he was utterly embarrassed about St Johnstone winning it to move onto 2 trophies. I can’t say I share that view.

28-02-2021, 06:48 PM

Would rather win it with or without fans any year

28-02-2021, 06:49 PM
I won’t be embarrassed when we are playing big teams on Thursday nights next season. If anything I’ll be proud.

we’re playing hearts on a Thursday night?

28-02-2021, 06:54 PM

We’re Joint 2nd most successful Scottish club in the last 14 years .
Can think of other clubs that should be embarrassed.

28-02-2021, 06:54 PM
Who said that?

So if we’d won’t it you wouldn’t be fussed then, not a great experience, no lost sleep, that sort of stuff?

28-02-2021, 06:55 PM
we’re playing hearts on a Thursday night?

An eighth day in the week has been created for Hearts matches as a seven day week just simply isnt big enough to accomodate them

28-02-2021, 06:57 PM
So if we’d won’t it you wouldn’t be fussed then, not a great experience, no lost sleep, that sort of stuff?

I’d have been delighted, as I’ve said. It wouldn’t have had anywhere near the same high however. Just like losing in it had nowhere near the same low.

28-02-2021, 06:57 PM
What’s our record against them the last 20 years?

Beating them 2-1 in League Cup semis

28-02-2021, 07:05 PM
Think the key is winning on the big occasions
Semi and Finals

28-02-2021, 07:19 PM

I agree to an extent but I remain hugely frustrated that we messed up a great opportunity to win an all too rare trophy.

28-02-2021, 07:24 PM
I agree to an extent but I remain hugely frustrated that we messed up a great opportunity to win an all too rare trophy.

I was frustrated too but I am far from embarrassed.

28-02-2021, 07:30 PM
Fair play to them, the best team won the competition.

I think we should give more credit to the "wee" sides in Scotland who tend to do better than you might expect - St Johnstone, Motherwell, Ross County do an awful lot with minimal resource.

Clubs like Hibs, Hearts, Dundee United, Rangers have spent a fair bit of the past decade and more pissing about in the lower leagues and underachieving to various degrees for various reasons. That shouldn't take away from praising the teams who do well with what they have.

It's up to these clubs to up their game and get their act together. I get the feeling we're on the right track and if we perform like we should as a club then it will be much more difficult for clubs like St Johnstone and Motherwell to come out on top of us.

Let them enjoy their day though. They've been a well run club for a while, make sacrifices and difficult decisions and have been rewarded. They don't get close to the list of clubs that grind my gears for one reason or another.

28-02-2021, 07:47 PM
St Johnstone deserve their win, a well organised team in the league cup this season.

I am as disappointed as everyone that we didnt make the final of the Scottish or League cups, but St J success should be something that spurs us on further, rather than anything else.

28-02-2021, 07:50 PM
Well done Saintees

Pleased for you

Potty78
28-02-2021, 08:03 PM
Wish it had been us but saints deserve it. Being from Peebles good to see Steven Maclean doing well as an assistant!

28-02-2021, 08:12 PM

I think we should give more credit to the "wee" sides in Scotland who tend to do better than you might expect - St Johnstone, Motherwell, Ross County do an awful lot with minimal resource.

Clubs like Hibs, Hearts, Dundee United, Rangers have spent a fair bit of the past decade and more pissing about in the lower leagues and underachieving to various degrees for various reasons. That shouldn't take away from praising the teams who do well with what they have.

It's up to these clubs to up their game and get their act together. I get the feeling we're on the right track and if we perform like we should as a club then it will be much more difficult for clubs like St Johnstone and Motherwell to come out on top of us.

Let them enjoy their day though. They've been a well run club for a while, make sacrifices and difficult decisions and have been rewarded. They don't get close to the list of clubs that grind my gears for one reason or another.Well said [emoji106]

28-02-2021, 09:05 PM
Stevie May and David Wotherspoon join Lewis Stevenson in the small band of winners of both Cups in Scotland who have not played for Celtc or the Rangers. Congratulations.

28-02-2021, 09:08 PM
Stevie May and David Wotherspoon join Lewis Stevenson in the small band of winners of both Cups in Scotland who have not played for Celtc or the Rangers. Congratulations.

As does Wotherspoon.

Logie Green
28-02-2021, 09:16 PM

Michael O’Halloran is another.

28-02-2021, 10:00 PM
Michael O’Halloran is another.

O'Halloran played for Rangers although I think the poster would have meant players who won both cups with clubs other than Rangers and Celtic, in which case that is correct.

John McGinn and Craig Conway are another two who have done it.

Pretty special achievement for Wotherspoon, May and O'Halloran to have won both cups with St Johnstone.

28-02-2021, 10:02 PM
As does Wotherspoon.

After the 2014 cup final we bumped into him at the back of Hampden's east stand with his Hibs scarf on, I still have the picture we had taken with him. He turned up to support us that day and didn't even sit in the posh seats, couldn't be more pleased for him, seems a real good guy.

28-02-2021, 10:03 PM
After the 2014 cup final we bumped into him at the back of Hampden's east stand with his Hibs scarf on, I still have the picture we had taken with him. He turned up to support us that day and didn't even sit in the posh seats, couldn't be more pleased for him, seems a real good guy.

Guessing you mean the 2016 final? He was playing the drum in asda after the game. Never seen mayhem like it.

28-02-2021, 11:20 PM
Also the first Club in Scotland outside Celtic to win a major trophy since a certain team had a pretty enjoyable day out at Hampden in May 2016.
Well played Saints. Hopefully Hibs will be the next team.... if the Scottish Cup gets played.

01-03-2021, 12:54 AM
Note they had 5 shots, 3 on target and scored from a corner. Hope we have learnt our lesson from the semi.

01-03-2021, 05:47 AM

Let them enjoy their day though. They've been a well run club for a while, make sacrifices and difficult decisions and have been rewarded. They don't get close to the list of clubs that grind my gears for one reason or another.

I’ve said on many occasions that despite us, Hearts, Aberdeen and Dundee United to a certain extent having more money than the others out with the old firm or a bigger fan base it doesn’t make too big a difference.

Even though we might be able to pay an extra grand a week there’s numerous teams in England who can pay more than us. If a player is coming to Scotland it’s likely the same 3/4 teams will be interested in him then it’s personal preference.

I really don’t think there’s much between say 3-9th in the league. Ourselves in Aberdeen will have a bit more quality in the final 3rd but other than that....

01-03-2021, 06:11 AM
Note they had 5 shots, 3 on target and scored from a corner. Hope we have learnt our lesson from the semi.

What lesson is that?

01-03-2021, 06:54 AM
What lesson is that?

We have to be well organized to defend set pieces. Expect them to be stuffy and be patient in opening them up.

01-03-2021, 07:13 AM
I’ve said on many occasions that despite us, Hearts, Aberdeen and Dundee United to a certain extent having more money than the others out with the old firm or a bigger fan base it doesn’t make too big a difference.

Even though we might be able to pay an extra grand a week there’s numerous teams in England who can pay more than us. If a player is coming to Scotland it’s likely the same 3/4 teams will be interested in him then it’s personal preference.

I really don’t think there’s much between say 3-9th in the league. Ourselves in Aberdeen will have a bit more quality in the final 3rd but other than that....

Over the course of a season our budget means we have greater depth that means we can cope with injuries and suspensions better. League tends not to lie but one off games are never a given.

01-03-2021, 07:20 AM

I'd be more embarrassed by this post tbh.

01-03-2021, 07:23 AM

People seem to think that our bigger budget means we should be light years ahead of these "lesser" clubs, but the difference in budget between Hibs and a team that's 9th for example in the grand scheme of things is minimal. The gulf between the OF and everyone else is huge, the difference between the others is a few hundred pounds a week which in football money is almost nothing.

Any team in our league that avoids significant injuries and their players are all playing well at the same time will do well, they just lack the consistency that players the OF can afford will give you in general.

St Johnstone have put together a good run of results in the cup, but they are wildly inconsistent in general, we are inconsistent too but to a lesser extent.

StockholmHibs
01-03-2021, 08:10 AM
I’d have been delighted, as I’ve said. It wouldn’t have had anywhere near the same high however. Just like losing in it had nowhere near the same low.

Losing these semi's were a major low. How can any Hibby think otherwise? Was never embarrassed though. Disappointed, raging mad possibly.

01-03-2021, 08:46 AM
Losing these semi's were a major low. How can any Hibby think otherwise? Was never embarrassed though. Disappointed, raging mad possibly.

I was raging at the time but life went on by that night. If I’m at the game it would’ve been far worse and lasted far longer. Like I said, it never had the low it would’ve done had I been there, and had we won the trophy (I’d imagine as it hasn’t happened) it wouldn’t have had anywhere near the high you’d get being there in person and having the parade etc. Just the way of the world just now for me.

Allez Hibs
01-03-2021, 08:59 AM

Spot on. When you look at the list of winners and think of the years we have gifted to first time winners. 2004 Livingston, 2016 Ross County and 2021 St Johnstone. We should be achieving so much more.

01-03-2021, 09:01 AM
Great credit to Callum Davidson has done a very good job. They are up and down and don't score loads of goals however they have played some very good football this season. Wotherspoon has probably had the best season of his career. Felt sorry for Murray Davidson as that is two winning finals he has missed I think. Just imagine the outcry and hounding he would have got if he had put a shocking tackle on a Rangers player and put him out of a winning final.

01-03-2021, 09:02 AM
Spot on. When you look at the list of winners and think of the years we have gifted to first time winners. 2004 Livingston, 2016 Ross County and 2021 St Johnstone. We should be achieving so much more.

Every club in the country could say the same in any cup competition that they should have done better.

01-03-2021, 09:03 AM

That'll be Livingston who were in administration but were still outspending us and Ross County who were in the league above and were only playing half the number of games at the time of the final?

01-03-2021, 09:15 AM

That would have Hibs on 5 major trophies in 20 years. In our history we've won 10. Do you genuinely expect that?

Allez Hibs
01-03-2021, 09:20 AM
That would have Hibs on 5 major trophies in 20 years. In our history we've won 10. Do you genuinely expect that?

In the last 20 years, how many semi finals and finals have realistically had a chance of winning? A great number. We have won 3 major trophies in 40 years!!! Is that good enough for a club Hibs size?

01-03-2021, 09:26 AM
In the last 20 years, how many semi finals and finals have realistically had a chance of winning? A great number. We have won 3 major trophies in 40 years!!!

Yes, of course. We could've won more. In 2004 we beat Rangers and Celtic, Clubs who should have beat us (your logic bigger budget, better players etc) - So if everyone won games they should, we don't reach the final.

2007 we beat Hearts who were spending much more than us. Again, we lose.

in 2016 we beat Aberdeen who were 1st in the top league and spending much more than us. We're out in the last 16. No problem. We also go out the Scottish to Hearts. 1991 we beat Rangers. That cannot happen in this world where the favourite wins every game.

2021 yes, we should have won it with your logic. Thats fair. That would take us to 1 trophy in 40 years.

Upsets happen. No point crying about it now.

HibsGW
01-03-2021, 09:27 AM
Kidding ourselves on to say anything other than we’d have loved to have won it yesterday. Also, it’s not a choice between 3rd place and a cup.

01-03-2021, 09:31 AM
Kidding ourselves on to say anything other than we’d have loved to have won it yesterday. Also, it’s not a choice between 3rd place and a cup.

Of course its not. But in a 1 off semi final, anything can happen.

01-03-2021, 09:35 AM
First up, congratulations to St Johnstone. Deserved League Cup winners.

Back to the point the OP was making: St Johnstone have now won the same number of trophies since the turn of the millennium as both Hibs and Hearts, and more than Aberdeen.

I think that highlights to everybody how the three largest clubs outside of the Old Firm have continually fallen far short of their potential.

Yorkshire HFC
01-03-2021, 09:54 AM
First up, congratulations to St Johnstone. Deserved League Cup winners.

Back to the point the OP was making: St Johnstone have now won the same number of trophies since the turn of the millennium as both Hibs and Hearts, and more than Aberdeen.

I think that highlights to everybody how the three largest clubs outside of the Old Firm have continually fallen far short of their potential.

It is very disappointing how poor Hibs have been for most of the last 10 years when Rangers weren't about - it was a big opportunity to win a few more trophies. It doesn't look like it'll be as likely for the next while if both the Glasgow teams are strong.

The life of a Hibs supporter, I guess.

Sioux
01-03-2021, 10:00 AM

If Hibs should win against the teams you mention, then the glasgow mob should win everything. By your logic, celtic or rangers have gifted all competitions they didn't win.

Between them they've won the league for 30 odd years. They don't win every league game. Just the same as they don't win every cup game, although recently celtic have tried to disprove that, but failed.

Losing league games is just the same as losing cup games but its the overall consistency that counts. rangers and celtic will always be more consistent at winning games.

The embarrassment is why rangers and celtic have always been stronger than the others.

01-03-2021, 10:05 AM

Explain how we gifted a trophy in 2004 - we had a pretty young side, who were beaten on the day by a team with some real experience and quality in it

Or 2021..when we were thumped by a st Johnstone team that were better than us on the day ..

Do you feel we should beat these teams every time we play them ? Have you lost any objective reality when it comes to football ?

01-03-2021, 10:08 AM
Explain how we gifted a trophy in 2004 - we had a pretty young side, who were beaten on the day by a team with some real experience and quality in it

Or 2021..when we were thumped by a st Johnstone team that were better than us on the day ..

Do you feel we should beat these teams every time we play them ? Have you lost any objective reality when it comes to football ?

Using his logic, nobody outwith the OF should ever win anything.

01-03-2021, 10:09 AM

2004 in the middle of our financial issues where our budget was cut to smithereens. Livingston were in the middle of their overspending and finishing 3rd in the league.

Allez Hibs
01-03-2021, 10:14 AM
Using his logic, nobody outwith the OF should ever win anything.

That is clearly not what I was saying.

Allez Hibs
01-03-2021, 10:15 AM

I have referenced the opportunities we have had when the Old Firm are not remaining in the competition.

01-03-2021, 10:16 AM

I have referenced the opportunities we have had when the Old Firm are not remaining in the competition.

Nice bit of cherry picking.

01-03-2021, 10:16 AM

And defined the defeats as “gifted “.......

Allez Hibs
01-03-2021, 10:17 AM
And defined the defeats as “gifted “.......

So what.

01-03-2021, 10:18 AM
So what.Define "gifted".

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Allez Hibs
01-03-2021, 10:20 AM
Define "gifted".

Define underachieving.

Allez Hibs
01-03-2021, 10:22 AM
Nice bit of cherry picking.

It's certainly not sugar coating defeats.

01-03-2021, 10:26 AM
It's certainly not sugar coating defeats.

Defeats aren't easy to take, especially in cup finals & semis. Looking at reasons why we might have lost these matches, without assuming a default "we gifted them to the other team(s)", isn't sugar coating anything but being realistic - a concept you appear to have difficulty grasping.

01-03-2021, 10:30 AM
Define underachieving.Mmm. I think I know the definition of " not worth engaging with" now. Bye

Allez Hibs
01-03-2021, 10:45 AM
2004 in the middle of our financial issues where our budget was cut to smithereens. Livingston were in the middle of their overspending and finishing 3rd in the league.

After we had put out Celtic and Rangers.

01-03-2021, 10:47 AM

But surely, as a smaller club with worse players and resources, we couldn't have put them out?

What about 2016 when we won it with both Celtic and Rangers still in it, is that overachieving?

Allez Hibs
01-03-2021, 10:55 AM
But surely, as a smaller club with worse players and resources, we couldn't have put them out?

What about 2016 when we won it with both Celtic and Rangers still in it, is that overachieving?

You are missing the point. I'm talking about damaging defeats. Had Livingston, Ross County or St Johnstone won the Competition before in their history?

Hibs have underachieved and it's pretty eye opening that St Johnstone are the team that's 2nd most successful in last 10 years. Eye opening for Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen I guess too.

01-03-2021, 11:09 AM
I'd be more embarrassed by this post tbh.

:wink: I don't think you can embarrass the OP. IIRC in the transfer window he was condemning the club for being so willing to sell our best assets, before we (ahem) refused to sell our best assets!!

01-03-2021, 11:17 AM
You are missing the point. I'm talking about damaging defeats. Had Livingston, Ross County or St Johnstone won the Competition before in their history?

Hibs have underachieved and it's pretty eye opening that St Johnstone are the team that's 2nd most successful in last 10 years. Eye opening for Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen I guess too.

I couldn't care less if they had won it tbh. Everyone has to win it sometime.

Compared to Hibs own history, we have actually overachieved in the last 15 years.

Allez Hibs
01-03-2021, 11:22 AM
I couldn't care less if they had won it tbh. Everyone has to win it sometime.

Compared to Hibs own history, we have actually overachieved in the last 15 years.

You must be at the wind up.

Hibs have over achieved?

01-03-2021, 11:34 AM
If Hibs had won that cup yesterday I'd still be cracking open the tins right now. It would have been great and I'm not trying to say it wouldn't be but watching us win a cup in an empty stadium on TV sat at home wouldn't have been the same. Would I take it? Bloody right I would. I bet the St Johnstone fans couldn't care less right now.

01-03-2021, 11:35 AM
You must be at the wind up.

Hibs have over achieved?

Ah yeah, I disagreed, must be at the wind up.

Last 15 years 2006-2021 - 2 trophies
15 before that 1991-2006 - 1 trophy
15 before that - 1976-1991 - 0 trophies
15 before that - 1961-1976 - 1 trophy
1946-1961 - 3 league titles

Then 3 trophy wins in 70 years prior.

In line with the clubs history, the last 15/20 years have been successful. 20% of the clubs trophies have come in the last 15 years which is 10.27% of the clubs history.

Wakeyhibee
01-03-2021, 12:04 PM
Ah yeah, I disagreed, must be at the wind up.

Last 15 years 2006-2021 - 2 trophies
15 before that 1991-2006 - 1 trophy
15 before that - 1976-1991 - 0 trophies
15 before that - 1961-1976 - 1 trophy
1946-1961 - 3 league titles

Then 3 trophy wins in 70 years prior.

In line with the clubs history, the last 15/20 years have been successful. 20% of the clubs trophies have come in the last 15 years which is 10.27% of the clubs history.

Although I can just about remember before this period 76-91 were my formative and cementing years of being a Hibs supporter. So I am definitely with you on this one.

01-03-2021, 12:14 PM
I had hoped Livi would win it, but well done to Saints for winning a major trophy for only the second time. Such moments don't come around often for most clubs, so it's a big achievement.

By the way, outside the Old Firm, trophies are few and far between for all of us. It's so difficult to compete in a league where two clubs are so much bigger than the rest.

01-03-2021, 12:18 PM

Indeed. Shows anyone can beat anyone else on any given day but it’s very rare for anyone outside the old firm to win trophies regularly. You said we gifted Livingston the trophy, they had a bigger budget, a better team, a more experienced team. They thoroughly deserved it and paid a very heavy price for years not long after that.

01-03-2021, 12:24 PM
Indeed. Shows anyone can beat anyone else on any given day but it’s very rare for anyone outside the old firm to win trophies regularly. You said we gifted Livingston the trophy, they had a bigger budget, a better team, a more experienced team. They thoroughly deserved it and paid a very heavy price for years not long after that.

Yep. The poster doesn’t reflect on the negative impact on other teams ..just ours ....

01-03-2021, 12:27 PM
If it was just based on budget, we should never win any major trophies.

01-03-2021, 12:27 PM

What a bizarre take on it.

hhibs
01-03-2021, 12:38 PM
Anyhoo,we better score first when we play them as it would seem with our record in general and St Johnstone record in particular we will drop three points and give Aberdeen more hope.

Sadly, I live in hope rather than confidence ,a state of mind I suppose most of us do regarding Hibs.

01-03-2021, 12:52 PM
Anyhoo,we better score first when we play them as it would seem with our record in general and St Johnstone record in particular we will drop three points and give Aberdeen more hope.

Sadly, I live in hope rather than confidence ,a state of mind I suppose most of us do regarding Hibs.

We've won our last 3 in Perth and last lost there in March 2014.

hhibs
01-03-2021, 12:54 PM
We've won our last 3 in Perth and last lost there in March 2014.

Did we score first ?

01-03-2021, 12:55 PM
Did we score first ?

Only in 2 of them :greengrin

hhibs
01-03-2021, 12:59 PM
Only in 2 of them :greengrin

We seem fated to fail this season if we do not score first ,that has to say something about the team but I sure as hell cannot work it out.

Any opinions out there ? :confused::greengrin

01-03-2021, 01:06 PM
I think you have to applaud them for punching above their weight, when you look at clubs like ourselves, Dundee United and the like who have had spells in the lower tier they've consistently found themselves in the top flight. They stuck by Tommy Wright for quite some time and the new manager seems to have a good foundation to build off of as well. Even in the squad, the likes of Wotherspoon, Booth, Craig have been there for some time and although they've lost some key players over the years there's always been someone to replace them.

Rather than be "embarrased" by St. Johnstone, I admire them for long term thinking, consistency, loyalty to staff and that they're well run. They earn their successes.

01-03-2021, 01:20 PM
We seem fated to fail this season if we do not score first ,that has to say something about the team but I sure as hell cannot work it out.

I think it is more a playstyle thing. Our team suits counter attacking much better than it does breaking down a team defending a lead. Ross needs to figure out how to break down low blocks.

01-03-2021, 01:32 PM

It's true but for years we were told we couldn't hold on to a lead! This season (all games) we haven't lost when taking the lead. League games only, we haven't won when conceding 1st!

01-03-2021, 03:12 PM
[QUOTE=brog;6481870]It's true but for years we were told we couldn't hold on to a lead! This season (all games) we haven't lost when taking the lead. League games only, we haven't won when conceding 1st![/QUOTE

Not winning when conceding first.
A familiar occurrance under Alex Miller ,some might say !!

01-03-2021, 04:12 PM
Only club other than ourselves and the ugly sisters I can recall winning both Scottish and League cups. I know others have done it but was too young to remember Aberdeen and St Mirren win their cups in late 80's early 90"s.

*Actually remember Killie winning both

01-03-2021, 04:19 PM

FWIW, I didn't think you were saying that either.

I think people are being a bit overly defensive here, in that Hibs have had opportunities handed to them on a plate and just not taken them.

01-03-2021, 04:25 PM

Well done St Johnstone.

As for being embarrassed, I take it you are from your post?

I’m disappointed but not embarrassed.

Btw... According to my hearts associates we are the wee team and they are the big team. BeLIEve what you want. (Them being in the championship and all that)

So what are we??? Asking for a friend!

02-03-2021, 09:12 AM
Well done St Johnstone.

As for being embarrassed, I take it you are from your post?

I’m disappointed but not embarrassed.

Btw... According to my hearts associates we are the wee team and they are the big team. BeLIEve what you want. (Them being in the championship and all that)

So what are we??? Asking for a friend!

02-03-2021, 09:52 AM
Fair play to St.Johnstone for winning both Cups within the space of 7 years.

Funnily enough I don't think they are anywhere near as strong a club as they were in the late 60s and 70s when I started going to away matches.

Always loved going to Muirton Park and there was always a great atmosphere when we played them there. One game especially when we won 3-1 there in a Scottish Cup tie, Jimmy O'Rourke hat trick if I recall correctly. Game highlights were on Scotsport the next day and the ground was heaving.

Never been the same for me after they left Muirton Park and they have suffered from moving to an out of town stadium. They have now won two cups and their average attendance still won't rise next season. Shame really.

OstKurve Hibs
02-03-2021, 10:04 AM
Worth noting also that st johnstone have the third highest amount of points accumulated in the spl over the last decade aswell, celtic, aberdeen then st johnstone.

God knows how they do it on such a small budget compared to others but they're doin summit right.

02-03-2021, 06:49 PM
When they made a move to an all paid for all-seater stadium I did suspect that it would stand them in good stead in the long run. With a low cost base and living within their means and shrewd managerial a acquisitions they’ve done stunningly well. They must market the club (Perthshire will be decent draw from Grimsby) well to the recruits.

02-03-2021, 06:54 PM
St Johnstone are an average SPL side and vastly inferior to us as a team. That said cup wins are usually about bottle rather than skill and they have more of that than us. Those two semi defeats will annoy me for a long time.

Anyway, let’s not denigrate St Johnstone, let’s castigate ourselves for allowing us to lose two semis against poor opposition who just wanted it more.

02-03-2021, 09:51 PM

Looking at this post at the start of the thread no idea why there were so many arsey comments about it, it’s clear what he meant and I agree this year wouldn’t have been the same and pretty ***** to be fair. No ***** enough that wouldn’t want to win it just ***** that you couldn’t be there to Witness it and maximise the experience as a fan for what is the odd occasion we win a cup.

CB Hibs 68
02-03-2021, 10:07 PM
Fair play to St.Johnstone for winning both Cups within the space of 7 years.

Funnily enough I don't think they are anywhere near as strong a club as they were in the late 60s and 70s when I started going to away matches.

Always loved going to Muirton Park and there was always a great atmosphere when we played them there. One game especially when we won 3-1 there in a Scottish Cup tie, Jimmy O'Rourke hat trick if I recall correctly. Game highlights were on Scotsport the next day and the ground was heaving.

Never been the same for me after they left Muirton Park and they have suffered from moving to an out of town stadium. They have now won two cups and their average attendance still won't rise next season. Shame really.Remember that day well and Hibs took up to Perth a big crowd.If my memory serves me right we heard the draw for the next round on the bus back to Edinburgh.Hibs were drawn at home to either Rangers or Dundee who were playing for some reason on the Sunday.Met Dundee who were a good team in those days and went out following a replay.

Allez Hibs
03-03-2021, 11:32 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hibs-huge-club-one-trophy-23505851

Tam McManus weighing in too.

03-03-2021, 11:46 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hibs-huge-club-one-trophy-23505851

What does he think we are trying to do? Finishing 3rd and getting into the European group stages would be ****ing HUGE for this club.

houstonhibbee
03-03-2021, 12:18 PM
Remember that day well and Hibs took up to Perth a big crowd.If my memory serves me right we heard the draw for the next round on the bus back to Edinburgh.Hibs were drawn at home to either Rangers or Dundee who were playing for some reason on the Sunday.Met Dundee who were a good team in those days and went out following a replay.
Dundee beat rangers 3-0 at ibrox on that Sunday in front of a crowd of 60,000 iirc which was double their average attendance. The score, being played on a Sunday and the crowd all stuck in my head as they were all unusual to say the least.
Dundee then beat hibs in a replay at dens 3-0 and the crowd that night was over 30,000 after a 3-3 draw at Easter road. I might be wrong but did Alan Gordon and John Duncan both get hatvtricks?

03-03-2021, 03:44 PM
Anyway on to Saturday, we’ll need to sharpen up on defending against Saints corners/ set plays
The winner against Livvi in the final was a header from another dead ball move

03-03-2021, 08:08 PM
I notice Rooney went off injured. Hopefully just serious enough to keep him out on Saturday

03-03-2021, 09:24 PM

He has a cheek, he’s won **** all and failed absolutely everywhere including Hibs.
But I suppose he will have me down as a Hibs.net ‘roaster’ for having that opinion while he gets paid to ghost write ***** in the papers and I’m subjected to listening to him talk guff and fib like the chavvy wideo he is about Dougray Scott live on Hibs TV for my £k....
Balloon.

04-03-2021, 05:44 AM
He has a cheek, he’s won **** all and failed absolutely everywhere including Hibs.
But I suppose he will have me down as a Hibs.net ‘roaster’ for having that opinion while he gets paid to ghost write ***** in the papers and I’m subjected to listening to him talk guff and fib like the chavvy wideo he is about Dougray Scott live on Hibs TV for my £k....
Balloon.

Personally quite like him comes over as genuine and to me pretty decent analysis of games and a wee bit of humour thrown in. This is just a puff piece but regards expectations from fans he is probably close to the truth.

04-03-2021, 06:18 AM
Personally quite like him comes over as genuine and to me pretty decent analysis of games and a wee bit of humour thrown in. This is just a puff piece but regards expectations from fans he is probably close to the truth.

He's pretty self depreciating there with his "jinx" talk.

The only criticisms I have of him are that he can sometimes be too negative - if a match isn't going our way and it's Tam & Cliff on the mics it can be pretty soul destroying.

The other thing is that he expects players to do stuff regularly that he never did. There's a difference between "he maybe could have done better" and "he has to do better there".

04-03-2021, 06:39 AM

Tam isn’t the brightest.

04-03-2021, 07:04 AM

Really? I've not heard him provide one decent bit of analysis this season. Literally says the most obvious thing every time.

04-03-2021, 08:35 AM
Dundee beat rangers 3-0 at ibrox on that Sunday in front of a crowd of 60,000 iirc which was double their average attendance. The score, being played on a Sunday and the crowd all stuck in my head as they were all unusual to say the least.
Dundee then beat hibs in a replay at dens 3-0 and the crowd that night was over 30,000 after a 3-3 draw at Easter road. I might be wrong but did Alan Gordon and John Duncan both get hatvtricks?

Alan Gordon did, can't remember id Duncan did or not, a great game which was on Sportscene at night.

I remember the sad journey home from the replay in an overpacked Tranent Hibs bus. George Stewart was the Dundee captain at that time

04-03-2021, 08:38 AM
Really? I've not heard him provide one decent bit of analysis this season. Literally says the most obvious thing every time.

His analysis is as insightful as my 2 year old daughters’. “Daddy, Hibs”.

04-03-2021, 08:57 AM

Tend to disagree think he is pretty accurate with team shapes and things like striker movement which I quite like. Think he has his UEFA a licence may be wrong in that :greengrin

04-03-2021, 05:15 PM
Alan Gordon did, can't remember id Duncan did or not, a great game which was on Sportscene at night.

I remember the sad journey home from the replay in an overpacked Tranent Hibs bus. George Stewart was the Dundee captain at that time

Wasn’t it Alan Gordon and Jocky Scott?

MKHIBEE
04-03-2021, 09:26 PM
Alan Gordon did, can'tuntil remember id Duncan did or not, a great game which was on Sportscene at night.

A mate and myself were so pissed off when we got back to Edinburgh that we paid for a taxi to take us back to Peebles rather than hang about until 6am for the bus

05-03-2021, 10:54 PM
St Johnstone deservedly beat us in the semi final, but that doesn't mean I'm going to wish them or any other team the best of luck. The only team I'm interested in is Hibs.

06-03-2021, 07:54 AM
£17.50 for the ppv today.

06-03-2021, 08:15 AM
St Johnstone deservedly beat us in the semi final, but that doesn't mean I'm going to wish them or any other team the best of luck. The only team I'm interested in is Hibs.

:agree: In many ways it's easier for the likes of St J to punch above their weight. Little to no pressure, no local rival, no expectation, OF don't take them as seriously as they do Hibs, and players can raise game to take bigger scalps.

06-03-2021, 08:25 AM
Working in Perth today to 2pm, feels properly pish to not be able to take advantage of that and head up to see the game after. Roll on the return of fans.

06-03-2021, 08:48 AM

Just seen that. £15.00 should be the highest they can charge.

Most are 12.50 to 15.00 from memory.

06-03-2021, 08:50 AM
Just seen that. £15.00 should be the highest they can charge.

Most are 12.50 to 15.00 from memory.

I thought all bar Celtic were using the same services to stream their games, seems a bit poor of St Johnstone to charge more than most of the teams.

06-03-2021, 08:56 AM
I thought all bar Celtic were using the same services to stream their games, seems a bit poor of St Johnstone to charge more than most of the teams.

Sure Livingston charged £20

06-03-2021, 08:59 AM

Really ? That’s even worse. Still, I suppose some of the clubs have little to no season ticket sales so I get that they have to maximise revenue.

06-03-2021, 09:09 AM

Turned out to be good value though :greengrin

MunsterHibee
06-03-2021, 10:21 AM
It was a hugely missed opportunity by us in that semi final against them. Had a genuinely good chance and winning a major domestic trophy and we blew it big time. Our form in semi finals needs to improve no doubt about it but if we qualify for Europe and finish 3rd this season i'll be very happy with that.

06-03-2021, 10:30 AM

Yeh, that's pretty dear IMO (even though I have coughed up the money). I've not been to McDiarmid for years but it used to be £5 for parking as well so they're not daft, and only one way in and out of the car park. It might have changed since then of course.

06-03-2021, 10:58 AM

Just checked online banking Livi was £20.00.

Forgot about that.

cekim
06-03-2021, 01:55 PM
people still pay for a stream?

01-05-2021, 06:39 PM

Going by what I saw today this season could be a Cup double winning season. No major trophy for almost 130 years, then two Scottish Cup wins and a League Cup win in seven years.

From what I saw today, we need to be a lot better than today.

01-05-2021, 06:42 PM
Strange how we’ve switched our irrational Hearts complex for an irrational St Johnstone one.

01-05-2021, 06:51 PM
Strange how we’ve switched our irrational Hearts complex for an irrational St Johnstone one.

At least we are choosing a classier outfit to have an irrational complex about. So there is progress.

Lendo
01-05-2021, 06:56 PM
The last manager to beat St Johnstone at Easter Road in the league was Pat Fenlon.

Allez Hibs
01-05-2021, 06:57 PM
This Semi Final is massive for Jack Ross. What I don't understand is why is he saying we have a Hampden Hoodoo? Doesn't seem the smartest management move and heaps even more pressure on himself and the team. His record in important games woeful btw.

This season could be the biggest of biggest missed opportunities ever.

01-05-2021, 07:03 PM
This Semi Final is massive for Jack Ross. What I don't understand is why is he saying we have a Hampden Hoodoo? Doesn't seem the smartest management move and heaps even more pressure on himself and the team. His record in important games woeful btw.

Cheery as ever

supermcginn
01-05-2021, 07:18 PM
Cheery as ever

He's not wrong though.

01-05-2021, 07:24 PM

If he doesnt win the semi I personally think he needs to go.

01-05-2021, 07:25 PM
St Johnstone are well drilled, well organised, do the basics right and have a couple of potential match winners.

There is nothing particularly impressive about them but they do what they do extremely well. They pressed us high today to nullify the threat from our wing backs. We didn't have the ability and/or desire to move the ball quickly so their high press was never punished. Once they went ahead they were able to drop off and they are disciplined when defending. No one tries to be a hero, they hold their banks of lines well and everyone knows their role and where they should be. Today was a very similar to the game in Perth earlier this season. They went ahead, we had lots of the ball and territorial pressure but never really broke them down or created clear cut chances.

They must be a difficult side to set up against. They are quite fluid as well and rotated between 343 and 541 throughout the 1st half.

If they win a cup double it will be well deserved. We need to concentrate on beating Dundee Utd then we have a couple go weeks to figure out the puzzle.

01-05-2021, 07:28 PM

Even if we finish 3rd?

01-05-2021, 07:33 PM
Going by what I saw today this season could be a Cup double winning season. No major trophy for almost 130 years, then two Scottish Cup wins and a League Cup win in seven years.

From what I saw today, we need to be a lot better than today.

Our away form has been night and day from out home form ,,, well apart from Hampden lol ,, get through to the final first ,, then we’ll worry about who we’re playing .

01-05-2021, 07:34 PM
The last manager to beat St Johnstone at Easter Road in the league was Pat Fenlon.

Thank god ,, if we play them in the final ,, it will be at Hampden.,, wait a minute,, maybe we should play them at the PBS 😀

01-05-2021, 07:37 PM
They really annoy me. In truth they're a well run, effective team and it's mostly about our inability to beat them recently, but as an irrational football fan I can't help but blame Saints and their crap brand of football. Really hope the other Saints knock them out.

01-05-2021, 07:49 PM
Even if we finish 3rd?

I'd seriously consider it. 3rd is good but the reward is genuinely nothing compared to the cup.

01-05-2021, 09:44 PM
I'd seriously consider it. 3rd is good but the reward is genuinely nothing compared to the cup.

3rd would represent our best league finish in 16 years or something ridiculous. Not a chance should the managers position be under any threat or serious consideration after that.

01-05-2021, 11:44 PM
Why can’t we beat them?? Nobody else seems to have much of a problem!😠

01-05-2021, 11:54 PM
Why can’t we beat them?? Nobody else seems to have much of a problem!😠

St Johnstone's only lost 6 of their last 27 away games.

cubehindthegoal
01-05-2021, 11:58 PM

omg

so semis and third place is not enough at this stage of his Hibs career for you ... have you ever wanted to keep a Hibs manager ?

02-05-2021, 08:35 AM
It’s ridiculous to suggest that JR has to go if he loses the semi final. Whilst Hibs aren’t great to watch a lot of the time this has been a successful season. Hibs in my 40 years of following them have never been so successful on the park. Two semi finals and never lower than fourth in the league. Some fans need a reality check, it wasn’t that long ago we were in the Championship for 3 years. Hibs should be looking to extend JRs contract not terminate it.

02-05-2021, 08:46 AM
At least we are choosing a classier outfit to have an irrational complex about. So there is progress.

Indeed, and a slap in the face for those who doubt or progress under the Ron Gordon-Jack Ross regime.

02-05-2021, 08:46 AM
It’s ridiculous to suggest that JR has to go if he loses the semi final. Whilst Hibs aren’t great to watch a lot of the time this has been a successful season. Hibs in my 40 years of following them have never been so successful on the park. Two semi finals and never lower than fourth in the league. Some fans need a reality check, it wasn’t that long ago we were in the Championship for 3 years. Hibs should be looking to extend JRs contract not terminate it.

Absolutely agree the semi-final result should have no bearing upon his future. The four remaining teams are all capable of beating each other; it's wide open. Cup ties are always a matter of which team produces on the day. I will be far more critical if we fail to finish third from this position.

02-05-2021, 09:17 AM

Not for me. Showing a complete inability to win the big games in the only competitions we have a chance of winning is definitely a huge problem imo. I’m not saying he would HAVE to go but I do think the question would need to be asked.

We can finish third, we can point out that getting to the semi final is decent going but if you want to be successful you can’t just accept choking every time you get to the business end of the competitions you can realistically win. I wouldn’t be surprised if RG thinks the same. He clearly has big ambitions for us and I don’t think he’ll feel that being knocked out of semi finals and/or finals in games were favourites in 3 times in one season will sit well with him and I’m not sure he’ll class that as successful.

02-05-2021, 09:41 AM
Not for me. Showing a complete inability to win the big games in the only competitions we have a chance of winning is definitely a huge problem imo. I’m not saying he would HAVE to go but I do think the question would need to be asked.

We can finish third, we can point out that getting to the semi final is decent going but if you want to be successful you can’t just accept choking every time you get to the business end of the competitions you can realistically win. I wouldn’t be surprised if RG thinks the same. He clearly has big ambitions for us and I don’t think he’ll feel that being knocked out of semi finals and/or finals in games were favourites in 3 times in one season will sit well with him and I’m not sure he’ll class that as successful.

Mate, we can't go sacking managers for losing semi-finals. We're Hibs, not Real Madrid; we don't win many trophies. In my humble opinion, losing to Dundee United would hardly be the biggest shock in world football. Of course we want to make the final, but it's a fifty-fifty game against United. Third place and a cup semi or a final is a damn good season for us historically.

Weegreenman
02-05-2021, 09:43 AM
St. Johnston have four ex- Hibs players deemed not good enough for us.

Callum Booth being no worse than young Doig in my opinion and yet Doig is the best thing since sliced cheeses. I remember Callum being that guy back in the day!

David Wotherspoon - A talented player hounded out because he allegedly went a bit stale and needed to move on. Reality was that the players around him were poor and he as a young lad maybe needed a rest. To allow him to leave was a mistake in my opinion. Who in our midfield right now is better than David?

Liam Craig - Quality player. A leader. Why oh why are we allowing guys like him to leave? Again, there’s nobody in our current squad that comes near him.

Glen Middleton to a lesser extent but is starting to show he’s got great ability. Why didn’t we do more to keep this young guy?

02-05-2021, 10:20 AM

Callum Booth being no worse than young Doig in my opinion and yet Doig is the best thing since sliced cheeses. I remember Callum being that guy back in the day!

David Wotherspoon - A talented player hounded out because he allegedly went a bit stale and needed to move on. Reality was that the players around him were poor and he as a young lad maybe needed a rest. To allow him to leave was a mistake in my opinion. Who in our midfield right now is better than David?

Liam Craig - Quality player. A leader. Why oh why are we allowing guys like him to leave? Again, there’s nobody in our current squad that comes near him.

Glen Middleton to a lesser extent but is starting to show he’s got great ability. Why didn’t we do more to keep this young guy?

Callum Booth was well off the boil and spent 3 seasons at Partick after being out on loan for a lot of the end of his Hibs contract. There were rumours (I've no idea if true) that he liked a scoop too much.

Wotherspoon chose to move back to his home town club, and was often ripped to shreds on here during his time at Hibs.

Craig was also targeted by our boo boys and his confidence went down the pan. Not nice for a Hibee.

Middleton had a few decent performances for Hibs then went off the boil. He's hardly had a game for St Johnstone since going there.

02-05-2021, 10:20 AM

Yep, was about to say the same. Davidson has managed to put together a team of mismatches and rennongrades and turn them into a side capable of winning cups. Fair play to him. No mean feat. Booth, Wotherspoon, Middleton and Craig, FFS.

02-05-2021, 10:23 AM
3rd would represent our best league finish in 16 years or something ridiculous. Not a chance should the managers position be under any threat or serious consideration after that.

I probably agree, all things considered. 3rd is good, and we've made massive progress since he came in. But if we lose to Dundee United next week, that is a dreadful result. Like, significantly worse than any result since probably the Falkirk playoff loss.

Hibs winning the cup this year will genuinely give us a fantastic chance to put ourselves well ahead of the pack for years. Its big money, would attract some good players and, with Covid seriously hurting other sides, gives us a bigger advantage than it normally would.

If Ross cant get it right, get the players motivated etc and win this cup, there would be doubts over his ability to take us forward.

02-05-2021, 10:30 AM

:faf: holy ****ing moly. No one close to Liam Craig :faf:

Booth never had a season like Doig has had. Booth had literally 5 or 6 good games, didn't look after himself off the pitch, didn't want it, and took years to get anywhere near the level he was at Hibs.

No one hounded Wotherspoon out. Fans liked him. Who is better than David? The guys who are 15 points clear of him. Decent player, nothing more. Replaced by much better.

Liam Craig? Seriously mate? We let him go at a time we had McGinn, McGeouch, Fyvie, Henderson, Bartley. Thats why. He is a worse player than all of them. Not a ****ing leader :faf: What exactly did he lead us to? Relegation, failed to get promotion, lost a semi to Falkirk. Widely considered one of the worst Hibs captains.

Glenn Middleton was absolutely rubbish here. ****ing dreadful. Correctly let go. Why would we do anything to keep him?

Honestly mate, did you actually watch Hibs when these guys were here or were you one of the many to sloop away when we were struggling? Glenn ****ing middleton was genuinely awful. Him scoring an open goal doesn't change that. If he is so good, why isn't he actually getting a game?

You are honestly on another planet if you believe that rubbish. Sorry, I don't mean to be rude but that post is utter rubbish. No one comes near Craig :faf: ****ing hilarious.

02-05-2021, 10:33 AM
I probably agree, all things considered. 3rd is good, and we've made massive progress since he came in. But if we lose to Dundee United next week, that is a dreadful result. Like, significantly worse than any result since probably the Falkirk playoff loss.

Hibs winning the cup this year will genuinely give us a fantastic chance to put ourselves well ahead of the pack for years. Its big money, would attract some good players and, with Covid seriously hurting other sides, gives us a bigger advantage than it normally would.

If Ross cant get it right, get the players motivated etc and win this cup, there would be doubts over his ability to take us forward.

Why is that? United are an SPL side, just two points behind St Johnstone. It's a fifty-fifty game for me, and I wouldn't be surprised if they win. I wouldn't be confident of putting money on the outcome.

02-05-2021, 10:35 AM
Why is that? United are an SPL side, just two points behind St Johnstone. It's a fifty-fifty game for me, and I wouldn't be surprised if they win. I wouldn't be confident of putting money on the outcome.

Nothing 50/50 about it. We've been them twice this season easily and battered them in a 1-1 draw.

We are a much better side, should be winning.

The reason it would be so dreadful is because of whats at stake.

02-05-2021, 10:35 AM
:faf: holy ****ing moly. No one close to Liam Craig :faf:

Booth never had a season like Doig has had. Booth had literally 5 or 6 good games, didn't look after himself off the pitch, didn't want it, and took years to get anywhere near the level he was at Hibs.

No one hounded Wotherspoon out. Fans liked him. Who is better than David? The guys who are 15 points clear of him. Decent player, nothing more. Replaced by much better.

Liam Craig? Seriously mate? We let him go at a time we had McGinn, McGeouch, Fyvie, Henderson, Bartley. Thats why. He is a worse player than all of them. Not a ****ing leader :faf: What exactly did he lead us to? Relegation, failed to get promotion, lost a semi to Falkirk. Widely considered one of the worst Hibs captains.

Glenn Middleton was absolutely rubbish here. ****ing dreadful. Correctly let go. Why would we do anything to keep him?

Honestly mate, did you actually watch Hibs when these guys were here or were you one of the many to sloop away when we were struggling? Glenn ****ing middleton was genuinely awful. Him scoring an open goal doesn't change that. If he is so good, why isn't he actually getting a game?

You are honestly on another planet if you believe that rubbish. Sorry, I don't mean to be rude but that post is utter rubbish. No one comes near Craig :faf: ****ing hilarious.

I think the point of the post is that those players just helped St Johnstone to another win at ER. The irony is that none of them are deemed good enough to play for Hibs but they are pimping us.

02-05-2021, 10:37 AM
I think the point of the post is that those players just helped St Johnstone to another win at ER. The irony is that none of them are deemed good enough to play for Hibs but they are pimping us.

Would you swap squads or places with St Johnstone?

They are pumping nothing. Porteous was playing against us and gave them a goal. Did they have another shot?

If they get 5 more 1-0 wins at ER they'll still be behind us in the table.

02-05-2021, 10:39 AM
Nothing 50/50 about it. We've been them twice this season easily and battered them in a 1-1 draw.

We are a much better side, should be winning.

The reason it would be so dreadful is because of whats at stake.

Fair enough, we'll agree to differ there. I think it will be a tight game.

02-05-2021, 10:41 AM
Fair enough, we'll agree to differ there. I think it will be a tight game.

Yes, it will. Man city had a tight game with Palace yesterday, they are still much better, ahead of them in the league, and would win 8/10 times. Same as we should be with United.

Yorkshire HFC
02-05-2021, 10:43 AM

Where is it, exactly, that you expect a manager to take Hibs?

Better than 3rd in the league and better than regular semi-finals and Europe? That's not going to happen. I don't understand these expectations / requirements - this is a great time to be a Hibs fan - or it would be if we could actually go to the games.

Why do people think that Hibs have a divine right to beat St Johnstone, Dundee United or anyone else? It's sport, and anyone can win a one-off game.

02-05-2021, 10:45 AM

Better than 3rd in the league and better than regular semi-finals and Europe? That's not going to happen. I don't understand these expectations / requirements - this is a great time to be a Hibs fan - or it would be if we could actually go to the games.

Why do people think that Hibs have a divine right to beat St Johnstone, Dundee United or anyone else? It's sport, and anyone can win a one-off game.

Yep, the Hibs manager that doesn’t lose games of football doesn’t exist and never will.

02-05-2021, 10:45 AM
Would you swap squads or places with St Johnstone?

They are pumping nothing. Porteous was playing against us and gave them a goal. Did they have another shot?

If they get 5 more 1-0 wins at ER they'll still be behind us in the table.

We've played St Johnstone 3 times in 2021 and lost 3 times to an aggregate score of 5-0. Whether you belive we are better are not is irrelevant, we currently are their bitches. Would I swap squads, no. Do they have the better of us, yes they do, which includes their Hibs rejects.

Hope we get the better of them on 22nd May if we get there though. 1 👍

02-05-2021, 10:46 AM

I know anyone can win a one off game. St Johnstone have now beat us in 3 one off games without us scoring. Is that still a one off? Or do we have a problem that needs fixing?

Hibs will always lose games. But just this time, we really need to win these ones.

02-05-2021, 10:49 AM
Yes, it will. Man city had a tight game with Palace yesterday, they are still much better, ahead of them in the league, and would win 8/10 times. Same as we should be with United.

I agree with you.

It's not inconceivable that United could beat us. However we are miles clear off them in the league and have beaten them 2 out of 3 times this season. Neither the league table nor results against each other lies. We are a considerably better team and should be beating them.

Of course the game at Ibrox last week proves shocks can happen but that's what it was, a shock. Same as it will be if United beat us. We are favourites and rightly so. I find it quite interesting that having confidence in the team and expecting them to beat a team like Dundee Utd is almost being painted as 'negative' and building up to tearing into Ross and the players. Anything but for me, I'm expecting us to reach the SC final because we are so obviously better than United and should believe as much.

02-05-2021, 10:51 AM

There’s a lot of rewriting history going on here. None of the players listed would get into our first team. To say we’ve got no one in our current squad that comes near Liam Craig is ridiculous.

02-05-2021, 10:56 AM

Just WOW

02-05-2021, 10:58 AM

Hahahahha this cannot be serious.

Callum Booth looked good for a while, but poor defensively and very slow. Doig is already a better player and will go on to do so much more than Booth ever has.

Wotherspoon is doing well for them, so did Drey Wright and look how he is for them. Wotherspoon wasn’t good enough to be a regular starter/important player when he left and were a far better team now.

Liam Craig.....you think no one in our squad comes close to Liam Craig?? Did you watch him for us? This whole leader chat or lack of leader chat you hear is absolute nonsense.

Middleton - he scored more or less an open goal, well done. I actually thought he would do well in fairness but It was under Heckingbottom.

People need to realise how St Johnstone set up compared to us and that each game we’ve played against them they’ve scored first, that is the difference. If we score first we win.

Weegreenman
02-05-2021, 11:04 AM

I just think we go through players like there’s no tomorrow. The players I’ve mentioned are all very good players and for me similar if not better than some of the players we currently have.
I genuinely think that we are crying out for a Liam Craig. Whenever I’ve watched him, he’s played well. Outstanding at times.
As for the Booth, Doig comparison. I’d honestly take Booth. I like Doig but like when we had Booth, he’s not and is nowhere near the finished article and will probably end up moving on like the rest of hopefuls! Or someone might start a wee rumour because they once spotted him out on the town with his mate!
Easter Road has become a Merry go round for footballers! Partly because some of our supporters tend to think they know better and end up booing them off the park!

Had we kept some of those guys, I don’t think we’d be any worse off than we are now, in fact quite the opposite.

Just my opinion!

CloudSquall
02-05-2021, 11:08 AM
Just to be clear, we are talking about the same Liam Craig that captained the biggest arse collapse in Hibs history?

02-05-2021, 11:15 AM
Just to be clear, we are talking about the same Liam Craig that captained the biggest arse collapse in Hibs history?

My memory of Liam Craig the 'leader' is from the season we were releagted him collapsing to the turf at Ross County, head in his hands after a defeat. There was still a game to play and nothing had been decided but the club captain gave a very public display of having given up. It was pitiful.

I'm normally a very supportive type at games with a bit of muttering under my breath when things go wrong but that is one of the few times I have ever singled a Hibs player out for a really vitriolic mouthful. The fans in attendance had made a real effort to be there that night and deserved better from him.

Hibs1969
02-05-2021, 11:18 AM
St Johnstone are well drilled, well organised, do the basics right and have a couple of potential match winners.

There is nothing particularly impressive about them but they do what they do extremely well. They pressed us high today to nullify the threat from our wing backs. We didn't have the ability and/or desire to move the ball quickly so their high press was never punished. Once they went ahead they were able to drop off and they are disciplined when defending. No one tries to be a hero, they hold their banks of lines well and everyone knows their role and where they should be. Today was a very similar to the game in Perth earlier this season. They went ahead, we had lots of the ball and territorial pressure but never really broke them down or created clear cut chances.

They must be a difficult side to set up against. They are quite fluid as well and rotated between 343 and 541 throughout the 1st half.

If they win a cup double it will be well deserved. We need to concentrate on beating Dundee Utd then we have a couple go weeks to figure out the puzzle.

They really seem to have our number at the moment but their reserves didn’t even have to get out of second gear to beat us yesterday after being gifted their goal. At least when we lost to them in the semi we’d created quite a few chances before going behind, but yesterday there was next to nothing. Yesterday was as bad a performance as we have put in at home all season, worse than the defeats to Livi and Ross County and with the sheep winning has put us under real pressure to take something off them up there next week.

02-05-2021, 11:25 AM
They really seem to have our number at the moment but their reserves didn’t even have to get out of second gear to beat us yesterday after being gifted their goal. At least when we lost to them in the semi we’d created quite a few chances before going behind, but yesterday there was next to nothing. Yesterday was as bad a performance as we have put in at home all season, worse than the defeats to Livi and Ross County and with the sheep winning has put us under real pressure to take something off them up there next week.Had they not been gifted the goal they wouldn't have beat us. It was their regular defence yesterday and their "reserves" were sent out to stifle us, nothing more.

If you admire that in a team then that's up to you.

Logie Green
02-05-2021, 11:30 AM
My memory of Liam Craig the 'leader' is from the season we were releagted him collapsing to the turf at Ross County, head in his hands after a defeat. There was still a game to play and nothing had been decided but the club captain gave a very public display of having given up. It was pitiful.

I'm normally a very supportive type at games with a bit of muttering under my breath when things go wrong but that is one of the few times I have ever singled a Hibs player out for a really vitriolic mouthful. The fans in attendance had made a real effort to be there that night and deserved better from him.

Phew, I thought it was just me that thinks this about him!

He was such a good captain there were times he didn’t make the starting eleven. Admittedly it was a shambles under Butcher and Malpas but having him as captain certainty didn’t help. I’ve never seen a captain take so little responsibility on the pitch. The worst Hibs captain I’ve ever seen.

I accept he’s now won a League Cup medal with St Johnstone and might win a Scottish Cup too but my abiding memory of his stay is that having left St Johnstone to come to us he helped take us down and St Johnstone won the Scottish Cup.

02-05-2021, 11:37 AM
We were **** against St Johnstone regardless of the result.

Hibs1969
02-05-2021, 11:46 AM
​
Had they not been gifted the goal they wouldn't have beat us. It was their regular defence yesterday and their "reserves" were sent out to stifle us, nothing more.

What I admire is that a club with a significantly smaller budget than us and with a squad that’s less talented than ours has won one trophy this season, has reached the semi of another cup and has finished top 6. Added to that, they seem to have had our number at ER for a few years now. Would I want to watch them every week? No, but credit where it’s due and as the post I originally replied to stated, they’re well drilled and good at what they do. We were pisspoor yesterday and didn’t lay a glove on them.

02-05-2021, 11:47 AM

The sentimental longing for players that have previously failed at Hibs and succeeded elsewhere is misplaced. There are dozens of players who just cannot handle the pressure of playing for a bigger club but who are more than capable and free to perform for less demanding clubs. Liam Craig and Wotherspoon are great examples. Fit well with St J as the poor, unfashionable, undemanding underdog - able to express and "prove" themselves against better teams. They carry none of the expectation but can enjoy all the upside when they succeed.

The fact is the money Hibs pay is just enough to get us better players than St J but that doesn't mean they're able to handle the pressure that comes with chasing 3rd or being favourites to win the Cup ! Over the next 2 games, we're about to see which Hibs players have the balls and drive, and which don't.

02-05-2021, 11:51 AM
The sentimental longing for players that have previously failed at Hibs and succeeded elsewhere is misplaced. There are dozens of players who just cannot handle the pressure of playing for a bigger club but who are more than capable and free to perform for less demanding clubs. Liam Craig and Wotherspoon are great examples. Fit well with St J as the poor, unfashionable, undemanding underdog - able to express and "prove" themselves against better teams. They carries none of the expectation but can enjoy all the upside when they succeed.

The fact is the money Hibs pay is just enough to get us better players than St J but that doesn't mean they're able to handle the pressure that comes with chasing 3rd or being favourites to win the Cup ! Over the next 2 games, we're about to see which Hibs players have the balls and drive, and which don't.I agree with everything except the last sentence.

Nobody can doubt whether Porteous has "balls and drive" but he cost us the game yesterday. Difficult to manage stuff like that.

02-05-2021, 11:54 AM
Had they not been gifted the goal they wouldn't have beat us. It was their regular defence yesterday and their "reserves" were sent out to stifle us, nothing more.

You're guessing, just as Jack Ross was when saying that one mistake was the difference between the two teams. Fact is, the goal dictated the shape of the game from that point on with one team forced to chase the game. There was no need for St J to do anything other than defend their lead and they did that at a canter. Not a single shot on target by Hibs in the 2nd half says it all.

BegbieHSC
02-05-2021, 12:01 PM
St Johnstone are a poor team compared to ours, but they have our number. Their team is full of players who weren’t good enough for us, but They consistently know how to play against us, and successive managers have been too complacent to change things against them.

We need to spend more time tactically when it comes St Johnstone, and forget the arrogant, ‘they’re a wee team’ attitude we obviously have towards them.

02-05-2021, 12:03 PM
I agree with everything except the last sentence.

Nobody can doubt whether Porteous has "balls and drive" but he cost us the game yesterday. Difficult to manage stuff like that.

Anyone blaming Porteous for us losing that game is deflecting. There were half a dozen Hibs players yesterday who were abysmal and have got a lot to prove.

02-05-2021, 12:14 PM
Anyone blaming Porteous for us losing that game is deflecting. There were half a dozen Hibs players yesterday who were abysmal and have got a lot to prove.Possibly, but Porteous gifted them the goal.

02-05-2021, 12:33 PM
Possibly, but Porteous gifted them the goal.

He did but we lost against St Johnstone, and failed to score, for the 3rd game in a row. That worries me much more than a mistake by a young centre back.

02-05-2021, 12:42 PM
People have been criticising us all season about our style of play, and now they want us to play like St Johnstone?

02-05-2021, 12:43 PM
I understand. Yesterday was rank and was made worse by losing a daft goal.

It's obviously important to get the first goal, something we haven't managed in the last 3 matches against them.

I think someone like Murphy might have made a difference - someone capable of taking on defenders with the ball at his feet. As it was Doidge & Boyle scrapped well enough but our midfield simply couldn't find a way through to them.

02-05-2021, 12:44 PM
People have been criticising us all season about our style of play, and now they want us to play like St Johnstone?I made that point earlier.

Mental!

02-05-2021, 01:03 PM
People have been criticising us all season about our style of play, and now they want us to play like St Johnstone?

If the way to beat St Johnstone is to match them up and play like them then yes, I'd be perfectly happy for us to play like that when required.

02-05-2021, 01:05 PM
If the wat to beat St Johnstone is to match them up and play like them then yes, I'd be perfectly happy for us to play like that when required.

Aye, but not every week. There is a limit :greengrin

02-05-2021, 01:08 PM
If the wat to beat St Johnstone is to match them up and play like them then yes, I'd be perfectly happy for us to play like that when required.

It would be weird if we matched their setup. Would potentially be the most boring game of football ever produced.

02-05-2021, 01:10 PM
Aye, but not every week. There is a limit :greengrin

Of course.

I think JR said it himself recently though. If we are absolutely horrible at Hampden twice but win both games then he will have no complaints.

It's easy to answer people complaining about style, or alleged lack thereof, when we are winning. Harder to do that when we are losing. Yesterday we were both horrible to watch and lost. I'd happily have accepted the performance being even more horrible if we had taken 3 points.

02-05-2021, 01:12 PM
It would be weird if we matched their setup. Would potentially be the most boring game of football ever produced.

As opposed to the exciting free flowing games we were treated to yesterday or at McDiarmid Park earlier in the season?

02-05-2021, 01:34 PM
As opposed to the exciting free flowing games we were treated to yesterday or at McDiarmid Park earlier in the season?

I’m not disagreeing with you totally. We certainly need to find another way to play against them. Matching their setup wouldn’t help though.

02-05-2021, 01:36 PM
Maybe JR has a plan for St Johnstone but didn’t want to ***** it away on a league game when it could be used for a cup final.

02-05-2021, 01:50 PM
You're guessing, just as Jack Ross was when saying that one mistake was the difference between the two teams. Fact is, the goal dictated the shape of the game from that point on with one team forced to chase the game. There was no need for St J to do anything other than defend their lead and they did that at a canter. Not a single shot on target by Hibs in the 2nd half says it all.

Not really. As far as I could tell, their game plan was the same from the first minute until the 90th - keep it tight and compact, and see if O’Halloran can create a goal on the break.

We gifted them 3 points yesterday.

SonOfDavidFrancey
02-05-2021, 02:03 PM

I’m with you on this. All the love-in for Davidson is running more or less simultaneous with the hate-in for McInnes, for doing the same thing- setting up their teams to play eyebleeding football. I’m happy when a ‘smaller’ club wins something and admire the plucky backs to the wall stuff when seriously outgunned, like at Ibrox, but otherwise I can’t see much to like.

LeithMike
02-05-2021, 02:08 PM
I’m not disagreeing with you totally. We certainly need to find another way to play against them. Matching their setup wouldn’t help though.Genuinely think the way to beat teams that let you have the ball (either by sitting in or pressin hard) is to have as many mobile players as possible who can get up and down the park. Hibs are a very static and compartmentalised team. The forwards stay up, midfield sits and defenders defend. Doig and Boyle are our players who do most running.

To break teams like St Johnstone down, the forwards need to drop deep and pull the centre halves out of position with our midfielders running in behind. With Gogic and Newell pretty much two sitting midfielders it leaves a huge onus on Irvine (and he's only here on loan) which is why I think we struggle against teams of that ilk.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

Hibs1969
02-05-2021, 03:47 PM
There’s a few strands to this thread that need to be straightened out for me. First up, Hibs were rank rotten yesterday (not for the first time against St Johnstone this season) and were a poor second. Next, St Johnstone appear to have worked us out, as other teams have done. How many times have Hibs come from behind to win in the league this season? Once, maybe twice at most, so teams have worked out that if they score first and sit back, we will struggle to break them down. Finally, I’m not advocating some St Johnstone or Callum Davidson love-in here, but if we had gone to McDiarmid, gone ahead and managed the game comfortably like they did, we’d be applauding the team for sound game management. And for the record (again) I wouldn’t want to watch their style of football every week, but sometimes you can impose your game on the opposition whilst at other times have to adapt your game and go toe to toe with them.

TheHibernator
03-05-2021, 01:13 PM
I just think we go through players like there’s no tomorrow. The players I’ve mentioned are all very good players and for me similar if not better than some of the players we currently have.
I genuinely think that we are crying out for a Liam Craig. Whenever I’ve watched him, he’s played well. Outstanding at times.
As for the Booth, Doig comparison. I’d honestly take Booth. I like Doig but like when we had Booth, he’s not and is nowhere near the finished article and will probably end up moving on like the rest of hopefuls! Or someone might start a wee rumour because they once spotted him out on the town with his mate!
Easter Road has become a Merry go round for footballers! Partly because some of our supporters tend to think they know better and end up booing them off the park!

Had we kept some of those guys, I don’t think we’d be any worse off than we are now, in fact quite the opposite.

Just my opinion!

Entitled to your opinion, couldn't disagree more though. I'd take Wotherspoon over Drey Wright as an option on the bench, the rest of the players you've mentioned wouldn't get close to the first team.

03-05-2021, 01:33 PM
I agree with you.

It's not inconceivable that United could beat us. However we are miles clear off them in the league and have beaten them 2 out of 3 times this season. Neither the league table nor results against each other lies. We are a considerably better team and should be beating them.

Of course the game at Ibrox last week proves shocks can happen but that's what it was, a shock. Same as it will be if United beat us. We are favourites and rightly so. I find it quite interesting that having confidence in the team and expecting them to beat a team like Dundee Utd is almost being painted as 'negative' and building up to tearing into Ross and the players. Anything but for me, I'm expecting us to reach the SC final because we are so obviously better than United and should believe as much.

Reading that the ties in the cup are 50/50 or that we all have as good a chance as each other is nonsense imo.

We have better players, we have a much bigger budget and are miles ahead of them all in the league.

This team should have expectation put on it. Not winning the cup from here would be poor regardless of how well we’ve done to get here.

Ron Gordon wants us to establish ourselves as best of the rest. I’d like to think that starts within the club by acting like the best of the rest and expecting us to beat the 3 sides left in the cup and not just being glad we got there. Successful teams expect trophies, not hope to get to the semi final against teams you’re much better than and claim it’s a lottery from that point in and call it a success regardless.

03-05-2021, 03:06 PM

Reading that the ties in the cup are 50/50 or that we all have as good a chance as each other is nonsense imo.

We have better players, we have a much bigger budget and are miles ahead of them all in the league.

This team should have expectation put on it. Not winning the cup from here would be poor regardless of well we’ve done to get here.

Ron Gordon wants us to establish ourselves as best of the rest. I’d like to think that starts within the club by acting like the best of the rest and expecting us to beat the 3 sides left in the cup and not just being glad we got there. Successful teams expect trophies, not hope to get to the semi final against teams you’re much better than and claim it’s a lottery from that point in and call it a success regardless.

Agreed, but easier said than done. World of difference between being a better team/player and able to win trophies from the front. Except for Celtic/Sevco it invariably comes down to who has the bottle/belief/desire to take the opportunity. The teams we had in 2007 & 2016 were full of players with such belief but they either weren't our's (Stokes/Henderson) or didn't remain our's for very long (Fletcher/Brown/McGinn/Cummings). Building and keeping teams with that drive & belief takes a good manager and money - lots of it. Aberdeen with all their owner's backing and a decent manager had 10 years of being 3rd force, won 1 trophy, while poorer, smaller clubs won as much if not more.

03-05-2021, 03:11 PM
Agreed, but easier said than done. World of difference between being a better team/player and able to win trophies from the front. Except for Celtic/Sevco it invariably comes down to who has the bottle/belief/desire to take the opportunity. The teams we had in 2007 & 2016 were full of players with such belief but they either weren't our's (Stokes/Henderson) or didn't remain our's for very long (Fletcher/Brown/McGinn/Cummings). Building and keeping teams with that drive & belief takes a good manager and money - lots of it. Aberdeen with all their owner's backing and a decent manager had 10 years of being 3rd force, won 1 trophy, while poorer, smaller clubs won as much if not more.

Don’t disagree with that to some extent but I’d think the club will be looking for Jack Ross to work out a way to make our advantage over the others count in the same way the OF make there’s count over us. We have a huge financial advantage over most teams in the league and I’m sure Ron Gordon will be expecting us to make it count if we’re going to get to where he has publicly said he wants us to be.

I’ve seen a few posts that have suggested expecting to beat others is all a bit Hearts but that’s exactly what successful teams do, they expect to beat others, especially when it really matters and they certainly don’t accept not doing it because they happened to make it a decent length into a competition.

Nobody is suggesting we should be expecting to beat the OF or Aberdeen every time we play them btw, but imo we should be of a mindset where we expect to beat everyone else.

03-05-2021, 03:21 PM
The Rangers didn't manage to make their huge financial advantage over St Mirren or St Johnstone count when they were knocked out of both cups.

Anything can happen in one-off games and St Johnstone especially have shown they have no fears in those types of games this season. We've now lost three in a row to them and their manager seems to have our number, so I can't imagine anybody will be feeling especially confident against them if we both reach the final.

andudare2
03-05-2021, 03:32 PM

Spot on in what you said,amazing how many Hibs fans have spouted this about reserves,lot of nonsense,they also brought on May,Spoony and Davidson to stifle the game,a thing they are very good at.Way i seen the game was both sides were poor and if not for Porteous taking a brainfart it would have been a 0 0 draw,cant even remember either keeper making a save of any note.

03-05-2021, 03:43 PM
The Rangers didn't manage to make their huge financial advantage over St Mirren or St Johnstone count when they were knocked out of both cups.

Anything can happen in one-off games and St Johnstone especially have shown they have no fears in those types of games this season. We've now lost three in a row to them and their manager seems to have our number, so I can't imagine anybody will be feeling especially confident against them if we both reach the final.

The Rangers won the league at a canter and probably over performed in Europe, they didn’t fail every time they had a chance at glory.

Of course you’re going to lose some. Losing 3 in a season would be extremely poor though and that’s not even considering the fact that 1 of them was against our lower league neighbours.

03-05-2021, 03:53 PM
The Rangers won the league at a canter and probably over performed in Europe, they didn’t fail every time they had a chance at glory.

That doesn't negate the massive financial advantage they had over St J and St Mirren, which I thought was the point you were making.

Of course you’re going to lose some. Losing 3 in a season would be extremely poor though.

But we haven't, yet. Maybe you could hold fire on the criticism for now until we actually see what happens.

03-05-2021, 03:55 PM
That doesn't negate the massive financial advantage they had over St J and St Mirren, which I thought was the point you were making.

But we haven't, yet. Maybe you could hold fire on the criticism for now until we actually see what happens.

It’s a discussion on a forum. Others are taking part in it, yourself included on this thread and the PM board. Just because you don’t like/agree with the point in making it doesn’t mean I shouldn’t post it.

As for criticism, I haven’t criticised anybody because I’ve been quite clear numerous times that it’s all ifs and buts as have others. :dunno:

03-05-2021, 04:03 PM
It’s a discussion on a forum. Others are taking part in it, yourself included on this thread and the PM board. Just because you don’t like the point in making it doesn’t mean I shouldn’t post it.

As for criticism, I haven’t criticised anybody because I’ve been quite clear numerous times that it’s all ifs and buts as have others.

Sorry mate but it's just that it seems like we're only ever one defeat away from an incredible level of criticism of Jack Ross.

At the moment, we've just lost a game at home to St Johnstone, which is obviously disappointing, but people are now going through all the what-ifs in regards to the remaining cup games as a means of piling the pressure on even more.

TBH, I actually feel there's been a bit of a shared meltdown ever since Rangers got put out of the cup.

03-05-2021, 04:15 PM
Sorry mate but it's just that it seems like we're only ever one defeat away from an incredible level of criticism of Jack Ross.

At the moment, we've just lost a game at home to St Johnstone, which is obviously disappointing, but people are now going through all the what-ifs in regards to the remaining cup games as a means of piling the pressure on even more.

TBH, I actually feel there's been a bit of a shared meltdown ever since Rangers got put out of the cup.

Agree certainly hope our players show more bottle and positivity on Saturday than some of our fans appear to have.

WestCoastHibby
03-05-2021, 04:21 PM
Wish it had been us but saints deserve it. Being from Peebles good to see Steven Maclean doing well as an assistant!
I'd agree with that Potty. Some "fans" on here need to get a grip....

03-05-2021, 05:09 PM
We are set up to play football in a non footballing league. Only two clubs can win it so feasibly you are playing to two cups and euro slots.

I’d argue that to get success in cups we have to change the culture of the club. That would mean no more Famous Five, Turnbulls Tornadoes, McLeish’s marvels, Mowbrays Magicians and Heckys Heroes (only joking about last).

03-05-2021, 05:33 PM
Agree certainly hope our players show more bottle and positivity on Saturday than some of our fans appear to have.

Is it not showing bottle and positivity to expect us to win the cup rather than declare it a lottery and say it’s anyone’s game? :confused:

As Pretty Boy said either on this thread or the one on the PM board, people seem to be looking at the fact folk are saying we should win the cup and expect to win the cup as a negative for some reason. To me that would suggest we all think we’re the best side in the competition by a distance, something that our league position would back up.

03-05-2021, 05:37 PM
Is it not showing bottle and positivity to expect us to win the cup rather than declare it a lottery and say it’s anyone’s game? :confused:

As Pretty Boy said either on this thread or the one on the PM board, people seem to be looking at the fact folk are saying we should win the cup and expect to win the cup as a negative for some reason. To me that would suggest we all think we’re the best side in the competition by a distance, something that our league position would back up.

Aye but people don’t want us saying we should be winning the cup because it’ll then be a stick to beat Jack Ross and the club with if we get put out

03-05-2021, 06:53 PM

One game at a time. We have a decent chance but no better than St Johnstone. If we don't win we don't win it however to me will still be a decent season.

03-05-2021, 07:18 PM
One game at a time. We have a decent chance but no better than St Johnstone. If we don't win we don't win it however to me will still be a decent season.

Not for me. We have a much better chance than everyone else in the tournament. We’re miles ahead of them all because we’re better than them. We’re closer to Celtic than any of the others are to us!

03-05-2021, 07:29 PM
Not for me. We have a much better chance than everyone else in the tournament. We’re miles ahead of them all because we’re better than them. We’re closer to Celtic than any of the others are to us!

Thats very true and I agree, however having said that one of those teams certainly has our number.

03-05-2021, 07:30 PM
If the final is moved so some fans can get in, and it's us and St Johnstone, I fancy my chances of getting a ticket - this thread suggests there's loads of fearties who would faint at the thought of going.

:-)

03-05-2021, 09:29 PM
There's no doubt we are the favourites on paper and deservedly so given our league position. But it's been ably demonstrated how little that means in cup competitions this season with a plethora of upsets defining both competitions.

Lets face it - any team left in the cup can beat anyone else but we have earned the right to be fairly confident against all but St Johnstone. So - I'll hope for a St Mirren victory in the other semi while hopefully we take care of the Arabs.

03-05-2021, 09:32 PM

How can you say we have a much better chance than a team we can't beat and has beaten us three games on the bounce without conceding a goal. Makes no sense.

03-05-2021, 09:48 PM
How can you say we have a much better chance than a team we can't beat and has beaten us three games on the bounce without conceding a goal. Makes no sense.Exactly . If it`s a Hibs V St J final they should definitely be favourites given the record between the teams in recent years .

04-05-2021, 06:19 AM
How can you say we have a much better chance than a team we can't beat and has beaten us three games on the bounce without conceding a goal. Makes no sense.

It’s a fair point but I still think we have the best chance of winning the cup.

Ross County have played Celtic 4 times this season winning 2 and losing 2.

Celtic would still have a much better chance of beating them than RC have of beating them if they played tomorrow regardless of the fact that the head to head would suggest otherwise. The same applies to us and St Johnstone. We’re a much better team and imo have a much better chance of winning the cup than St Johnstone do.

04-05-2021, 06:47 AM

Over the past 3-4 months, St Johnstone have been a better team than us comfortably. They should be the favourites for it.

Allez Hibs
04-05-2021, 07:01 AM

Ah yes, but remember, we are 3rd in the league and there are a number of people saying how fantastic that is.

There seems to be two schools of thought, one where we should be winning the Scottish Cup and if we don't it's a disaster and Jack Ross position then needs seriously questioned. I share that view.

The other where 3rd this season is seen as a fantastic achievement and Jack Ross has done an amazing job and we have been successful getting to the three semi finals regardless what happens with the Scottish Cup.

Not winning a trophy this season would be a bit tough to take.

Allez Hibs
04-05-2021, 07:01 AM

Agree with that.

Mr. Wonderful
23-05-2021, 11:22 AM
Anyone's opinion changed after yesterday?

23-05-2021, 11:23 AM
Anyone's opinion changed after yesterday?

No. Still a big side who stick to their plan well.

we had no plan.

23-05-2021, 01:16 PM
nah, both teams set up and played as before.
Surprise, surprise, same result.

23-05-2021, 07:26 PM
Not getting enough credit imo. A very good cup side. Winning both cups wasn't a fluke. Beating undefeated Rangers at Ibrox wasn't either. The name St Johnstone doesn't scare anyone but their players are some of the most well organised, hungry and passionate I've seen. Fair play to Davidson and his players.

Mr. Wonderful
24-05-2021, 12:06 PM
Not getting enough credit imo. A very good cup side. Winning both cups wasn't a fluke. Beating undefeated Rangers at Ibrox wasn't either. The name St Johnstone doesn't scare anyone but their players are some of the most well organised, hungry and passionate I've seen. Fair play to Davidson and his players.

No, they deserve immense credit. They have a brilliantly put together and well drilled side that's capable of stifling most teams on their day.

The embarrassing part is they've outperformed all the so called bigger sides outside of the OF in the last 20 years. Us, Aberdeen, Hearts and even Dundee Utd should be ashamed of ourselves.

30-05-2021, 12:57 PM
Good luck to them if what Stuart Cosgrove has said is what transpires. They will probably face Galataseray in the Europa league qualification 🤣

30-05-2021, 12:59 PM
No, they deserve immense credit. They have a brilliantly put together and well drilled side that's capable of stifling most teams on their day.

The embarrassing part is they've outperformed all the so called bigger sides outside of the OF in the last 20 years. Us, Aberdeen, Hearts and even Dundee Utd should be ashamed of ourselves.
We shouldn’t be ashamed, we should be looking to emulate them for how they develop that understanding between their players. They’re the best in the league for that.

30-05-2021, 01:04 PM
Good luck to them if what Stuart Cosgrove has said is what transpires. They will probably face Galataseray in the Europa league qualification 🤣

Rangers knocked them out in qualifying quite comfortably last year, didn’t they?

I’d suggest they stand no chance but I’m presuming they’re not half the team they used to be.

30-05-2021, 01:09 PM
We shouldn’t be ashamed, we should be looking to emulate them for how they develop that understanding between their players. They’re the best in the league for that.

I agree. Too much emphasis on shame in society in general.

It will be interesting to see how they fare next season. Rivals for third place? I suspect not anywhere close, but who knows (not me).

30-05-2021, 01:12 PM

It will be interesting to see how they fare next season. Rivals for third place? I suspect not anywhere close, but who knows (not me).

It wouldn’t shock me.

30-05-2021, 04:38 PM

Wouldn’t be a surprise if they can keep most of their squad together. Had a decent second half of the season in the league, Aberdeen don’t look like being great, Livi got found out as the season went on and will likely be weaker, can’t see Hearts being all that great out the box, so why not.

Certainly after winning both cups, they deserve to be talked about in terms of pushing on to challenge for third if nothing else.