View Full Version : Maggenis
28-02-2021, 02:28 PM
He’s almost become the forgotten man. Does anyone think he’ll have any impact during the run in or would he be better writing this season off and be fit and ready for the start of next season? He’s had a really bad run of things so far with us, hopefully he’ll come good.
28-02-2021, 02:32 PM
He’s almost become the forgotten man. Does anyone think he’ll have any impact during the run in or would he be better writing this season off and be fit and ready for the start of next season? He’s had a really bad run of things so far with us, hopefully he’ll come good.
I can’t see him offering anything of note this season.
He’s been a huge disappointment so far. Even when he’s been available he’s looked nothing to write home about.
Hopefully a good pre season and he can offer something next season as he really needs to bring more to the table - like you said, I’d actually forgot he even played for us recently.
28-02-2021, 02:34 PM
I can’t see him offering anything of note this season.
He’s been a huge disappointment so far. Even when he’s been available he’s looked nothing to write home about.
Aye, I wouldn’t say he’s done anything wrong, but he’s not stood out either. I think that’s probably down to fitness more than any lack of ability or desire.
28-02-2021, 02:36 PM
I hold out hope for the guy as a player. Clearly has something about him to be St Mirren captain so young and be chased by Hibs to be worth paying for.
But at this point in time I'd almost be happy to say to him the season is finished for him and we're going to focus on getting his body in a shape that won't break down every 2nd or 3rd week with a niggle connected to X or Y. If that requires a wee surgery or seeing a specialist etc then so be it. But whatever is happening at the moment is clearly not setting him up for a long spell in the side.
28-02-2021, 02:38 PM
I think we are being patient with him after his injury & hope to see him coming into the team properly next year. Seen little flashes of what he can do but I dont think its fair to put any sort of judgment on him yet. Ive high hopes for him.
28-02-2021, 02:39 PM
This season is definitely a write off for him.
Been a bit unlucky to pick up some niggles but there was always going to be a risk of that when you’re signing someone coming back from a cruciate injury. A proper pre season and, hopefully, he’s good to go next season.
Aye, I wouldn’t say he’s done anything wrong, but he’s not stood out either. I think that’s probably down to fitness more than any lack of ability or desire.
Unfortunately there's no reserve league for him to get games, just the very odd behind doors games, he missed all of pre season and it's shown.
28-02-2021, 02:42 PM
I think he'll be glad to see the back of this season, but I'd like to see him get a couple of games under his belt before the season's out. He's an excellent prospect, one that we were absolutely right to sign on a long contract. Get a full pre-season into him and I think we'll be impressed next season when he's up and running properly.
28-02-2021, 02:45 PM
I'm yet to see any of these flashes of what he might be. I think back to players like McGeouch who broke down every 2nd game but is was clear as day what he brought to the team when he was in it, not seen that with Magennis yet unfortunately.
I'm holding out hope that next season we will see him shine but he probably doesn't have too long next season to prove himself before he starts too look like a duff signing to most Hibs fans I'd say.
28-02-2021, 02:47 PM
Unfortunately there's no reserve league for him to get games, just the very odd behind doors games, he missed all of pre season and it's shown.
That’s definitely a problem for him, it’s the same for Allan.
28-02-2021, 02:47 PM
Everytime i have seen him hes been out wide, i thought he had been signed as a centre mid.
28-02-2021, 02:57 PM
Some players take a while to get going after injuries, definitely wouldn't write him off yet although he's shown nothing so far.
Just highlights the risk of signing injured players. His wage this season could have been put to better use as it turns out by signing another striker.
Cat Stanton
28-02-2021, 03:06 PM
Just highlights the risk of signing injured players. His wage this season could have been put to better use as it turns out by signing another striker.
Think he'll come good. Very, very highly rated at St. Mirren. Saints pal always raving about him.
28-02-2021, 05:24 PM
I’m not hugely optimistic about him tbh.
We’ve got quite a few of these players who are coming back from very serious injuries and illnesses. It’s hard because we don’t know what he was like pre-injury but I’ve not seen anything at all from him to suggest he’ll ever be more than a squad filler who gives you 10 minutes or so every third week.
Our recruitment has been very good of late and it’s probably being picky but I think you have to take issue with us signing Magennis, Wright and Murphy all in quick succession off the back of serious injuries and expecting them all to work out.
28-02-2021, 05:33 PM
Poor signing.
We, as a club, cannae afford to spend money on a player who isn’t contributing. That money could, and probably should, have been spent elsewhere this season.
He’s clearly a talented young player, from how he’s performed before he came to Hibs, and he might well kick on, but I really don’t think we’ve got the kind of budget that can afford to take these risks.
Think he'll come good. Very, very highly rated at St. Mirren. Saints pal always raving about him.
I hope he comes good next year but that won’t help us secure third place this season and perhaps another striker brought in with his wage would. I also agree with the comments above about Wright and Murphy. Taking a risk on one injured player is questionable but three is ludicrous.
28-02-2021, 06:05 PM
I’m not hugely optimistic about him tbh.
We’ve got quite a few of these players who are coming back from very serious injuries and illnesses. It’s hard because we don’t know what he was like pre-injury but I’ve not seen anything at all from him to suggest he’ll ever be more than a squad filler who gives you 10 minutes or so every third week.
Our recruitment has been very good of late and it’s probably being picky but I think you have to take issue with us signing Magennis, Wright and Murphy all in quick succession off the back of serious injuries and expecting them all to work out.
Likewise. I hope he comes good but I don’t hold out the same amount of hope that others have for him based on what we’ve seen for Hibs. We keep hearing about his injury but he’s been back for about 5 months now.
28-02-2021, 06:14 PM
Likewise. I hope he comes good but I don’t hold out the same amount of hope that others have for him based on what we’ve seen for Hibs. We keep hearing about his injury but he’s been back for about 5 months now.
Has he? Missed the whole of November, missed a whole month January-February. Having made his debut four and a half months ago, he’s then missed a further two months. Coming back from a lengthy layoff takes a while to get up to speed, then missing out due to niggles likewise halts progress on the fitness front. He’s now missing due to
Covid, again not something he or the club can control.
Folk saying his wages could’ve been better spent elsewhere, if he goes on to be a real success with us we won’t be complaining about a few lost grand in wages for his first season when the club would’ve known about this risk.
28-02-2021, 06:18 PM
Has he? Missed the whole of November, missed a whole month January-February. Having made his debut four and a half months ago, he’s then missed a further two months. Coming back from a lengthy layoff takes a while to get up to speed, then missing out due to niggles likewise halts progress on the fitness front. He’s now missing due to
Folk saying his wages could’ve been better spent elsewhere, if he goes on to be a real success with us we won’t be complaining about a few lost grand in wages for his first season when the club would’ve known about this risk.
Obviously if things turn out well people won’t be complaining.
Things aren’t going well for him...that’s the problem.
28-02-2021, 06:21 PM
Obviously if things turn out well people won’t be complaining.
Things aren’t going well for him...that’s the problem.
He signed with a very bad injury on a 4 year contract. He was never going to hit the ground running.
28-02-2021, 06:30 PM
He signed with a very bad injury on a 4 year contract. He was never going to hit the ground running.
I’d be amazed if when we signed him, we were thinking that by March we’d still be waiting for him to contribute anything significant to the team.
I hope he gets back to being the player he was, and improves, but as things stand, his signings not been a success.
28-02-2021, 06:31 PM
I'd agree with this, I'd have thought this was the outlook generally, but it was absolutely baffling he started in the semi v hearts. Missed a huge chance at 0-0 too.
I've hope he'll work out, I'd be surprised if he makes himself a fixture in the starting team by the end of the season. All about getting a good pre-season and building from there.
28-02-2021, 06:33 PM
He’s played more minutes this year than Drey Wright who has 56 minutes to his name.
Murphy / Wright / Magennis really haven’t done enough between them this season.
All have had previous injuries but we need can’t turn into a rehab club for players to spend months getting ready to be fit.
I like Magennis and think he still has more to give. Murphy has shown he has talent but we need more. Wright - unless something drastically changes he should probably move on in summer.
28-02-2021, 06:34 PM
I’d be amazed if when we signed him, we were thinking that by March we’d still be waiting for him to contribute anything significant to the team.
I hope he gets back to being the player he was, and improves, but as things stand, his signings not been a success.
No, but he never had a pre season, had a very serious injury that muscle injuries are common after, and he’s now got Covid. I’d be mightily surprised if the club had huge hopes for him and a big reason why he was signed on a very long contract.
I have every sympathy for Magennis himself and hope to goodness he recovers quickly from Covid for his own sake and that of his family. Nothing would give me greater pleasure than to see him being our midfielder who would play forward passes to our front men and then run past them to take a return pass and score - something we sadly lack.
However Hibs didn’t sign him on a four year contract thinking we will need to write off year one because of his recovery from injury and subsequent niggles and hope he plays well for the last three years! There is no doubt they hoped he would make a significant contribution to at least the second half of this season (why would they play him when they have had the chance if this is not the case).
My original comment was that his signing was risky and unfortunately hasn’t paid off for this season and perhaps his wage could have been spent strengthening another area of the team in order to help the team achieve third place this season and I stand by that.
28-02-2021, 07:23 PM
I have every sympathy for Magennis himself and hope to goodness he recovers quickly from Covid for his own sake and that of his family. Nothing would give me greater pleasure than to see him being our midfielder who would play forward passes to our front men and then run past them to take a return pass and score - something we sadly lack.
However Hibs didn’t sign him on a four year contract thinking we will need to write off year one because of his recovery from injury and subsequent niggles and hope he plays well for the last three years! There is no doubt they hoped he would make a significant contribution to at least the second half of this season (why would they play him when they have had the chance if this is not the case).
My original comment was that his signing was risky and unfortunately hasn’t paid off for this season and perhaps his wage could have been spent strengthening another area of the team in order to help the team achieve third place this season and I stand by that.
Of course they’d have hoped he’d play, but they’d have known the risk after his injury and lack of pre season plus the fact there is no reserve games to get up to speed in. Every signing is a risk but we are clear in third place with him signed.
28-02-2021, 07:25 PM
He’s been back 4 and a half months. He made his first appearance on 17/10/20. It’s now 4 and a half months on and he’s still contributed next to nothing over 14 games - not an insignificant amount of opportunities.
He’s been a disappointing signing so far that hasn’t worked out. Hopefully he’ll come good in future but there’s been little so far to suggest he will.
28-02-2021, 07:29 PM
He’s been back 4 and a half months. He made his first appearance on 17/10/20. It’s now 4 and a half months on and he’s still contributed next to nothing over 14 games - not an insignificant amount of opportunities
But then missed another two months in amongst that (two single full months). He’s never been fully match fit due to the injuries and lack of opportunity in amongst that.
He has played >45 minutes on 3 occasions and never played 90 once. Hardly a big opportunity.
28-02-2021, 07:45 PM
Have I been majorly impressed by him? No.
But he’s had a horrible time of it and his confidence has completely gone since he joined so I’m not close to writing him off as he needs a run in the team, even a run of sub appearances where nothing happens to find his feet.
When he first came in is when he looked his most impressive, just back from the injury but he looked sharp to get shots away with a drop of the shoulder and try get into the box.
He then got injured, then injured again and now Covid. I’ve been back from a knee injury before and you wouldn’t believe the niggles you’d get and how hard it is to be confident when that keeps happening.
Getting used to the speed of games especially on the pitches at this time of year is another thing to consider.
I just hope he gets fit before the end of the season and finishes it on a high.
Hopefully we can finish 3rd, get European football and he’s raring to go for next season.
He’s very highly rated by a lot of people, he’ll come good.
28-02-2021, 07:54 PM
Don’t think Magennis is really to blame for the lack of impact. It’s not his fault he was coming back from a bad injury, not his fault he has had other niggles and not his fault he caught COVID. He probably couldn’t believe his luck when he was getting offered the security of a five year deal having been out injured for so long though.
I did find his signing a bit strange at the time. We’d obviously been in for McCrorie, missed him and then moved on to Magennis is a totally different type of player. And you had the injury situation as well. When he was getting played out on the left it felt, to me, that we were just trying to get him in to the team rather than having signed him for any particular purpose.
28-02-2021, 08:16 PM
But then missed another two months in amongst that (two single full months). He’s never been fully match fit due to the injuries and lack of opportunity in amongst that.
He has played >45 minutes on 3 occasions and never played 90 once. Hardly a big opportunity.
Yes. But he’s been back from the serious injury that people keep harking back to for nearly 5 months. It’s time we stopped using it as an excuse and expected him to actually offer something when he’s fit/gets an opportunity.
If he’s as good as people claim he is then he’d be forcing the manager to give him game time. He’s made 14 appearances. That’s 14 games where he’s been deemed fit enough to get on the pitch. Instead of making a claim for a starting slot he makes it very easy for the manager to only give him less than 45 mins and never give him 90 mins. He’s been a huge disappointment so far.
The same excuses have been getting trotted out for Drey Wright who returned from his serious injury in mid 2019!
28-02-2021, 08:24 PM
off topic a tad but where is this other McGinn brother we signed from st.mirren, what's going on
injured ? or what
asking for a friend
28-02-2021, 08:28 PM
I'm yet to see any of these flashes of what he might be. I think back to players like McGeouch who broke down every 2nd game but is was clear as day what he brought to the team when he was in it, not seen that with Magennis yet unfortunately.
I'm holding out hope that next season we will see him shine but he probably doesn't have too long next season to prove himself before he starts too look like a duff signing to most Hibs fans I'd say.
Oh I think he’s definitely got something. Unfortunately he’s not been fit enough to show us more than glimpses of his ability so far.
I’m still hoping he’s going to be a big player for us, and the closest we’ve had to SJM since SJM himself.
28-02-2021, 08:29 PM
He wasn't signed with a bad njury he had recovered from that. Very good player imo but been very stop start due to niggles.
Robbo6-2
28-02-2021, 08:33 PM
Huge gamble to pay and hand out the length of contract for a player coming back from such a serious injury.
Hes looked poor apart from 45mins vs Dundee Utd.
28-02-2021, 08:34 PM
Yes. But he’s been back from the serious injury that people keep harking back to for nearly 5 months. It’s time we stopped using it as an excuse and expected him to actually offer something when he’s fit/gets an opportunity.
If he’s as good as people claim he is then he’d be forcing the manager to give him game time. He’s made 14 appearances. That’s 14 games where he’s been deemed fit enough to get on the pitch. Instead of making a claim for a starting slot he makes it very easy for the manager to only give him less than 45 mins and never give him 90 mins. He’s been a huge disappointment so far.
The same excuses have been getting trotted out for Drey Wright who returned from his serious injury in mid 2019!
He may have been fit as in injury free for those 14 games, but he’s nowhere near match fit, the same as the likes of Scott Allan just now, may be fit enough but as we can’t play reserve games there’s no way of getting players up to speed. He never had a preseason and the niggles are always going to come with the injury he had. It’s been stop start but through absolutely no fault of his own. You’ve said it yourself, ‘when he’s fit’ but he’s never been match fit as he can’t get a run of games under his belt.
Couple all of that with the fact that in the main we’ve won the majority of our games then it’s always going to be difficult for players to work there way into our side who have been out.
28-02-2021, 08:36 PM
He wasn't signed with a bad njury he had recovered from that. Very good player imo but been very stop start due to niggles.
Yup. He made his debut 2 days after he signed. I actually thought it was longer but he came off the bench against Brora on 7/10 after signing on 5/10.
28-02-2021, 08:40 PM
Yup. He made his debut 2 days after he signed. I actually thought it was longer but he came off the bench against Brora on 7/10 after signing on 5/10.
That was him building up from nearly 9 months out, he played 4 periods of games before breaking down and missing another month with a muscle injury. He then played another three parts of games building back up after that to then break down again. He then built up 4 times off the bench in the middle of our winning run before being hit with Covid.
A player coming back from that length of time out would normally play a number of friendlies/reserve games slowly building up to full match fitness, Magennis never had that luxury and had to use the league cup games against very physical lower league sides on plastic pitches.
28-02-2021, 08:41 PM
off topic a tad but where is this other McGinn brother we signed from st.mirren, what's going on
injured ? or what
asking for a friend
Fit but loads of midfielders in the queue before him with the 2 January additions in that area and Allan back.
Billy Whizz mentioned that he was doing scouting work for JR which may or may not be true.
His contract expires in 3 months and can't see him getting another playing contract.
Only 32 so maybe not ready to stop playing.
Next destination?
28-02-2021, 08:51 PM
That was him building up from nearly 9 months out, he played 4 periods of games before breaking down and missing another month with a muscle injury. He then played another three parts of games building back up after that to then break down again. He then built up 4 times off the bench in the middle of our winning run before being hit with Covid.
A player coming back from that length of time out would normally play a number of friendlies/reserve games slowly building up to full match fitness, Magennis never had that luxury and had to use the league cup games against very physical lower league sides on plastic pitches.
He’s had 14 appearances to get up to speed. Does he now need to get up to speed after every niggle?
Newell has missed a few games - there’ll rightly be no excuses about getting back up to speed made for him.
For the faith we’ve shown in Magennis with the contract we’ve offered he’s been very disappointing, whether that’s being injured frequently or his performances. Hibs will have signed him expecting him to contribute this season. We signed him and played him 2 days later, there’s no way we signed him expecting him to offer next to nothing for the majority of a season when he signed ready to play.
28-02-2021, 08:56 PM
Fit but loads of midfielders in the cue before him with the 2 January additions in that area and Allan back.
Billy Whizz mentioned that he was doing scouting work for JR which may or may not be true.
His contract expires in 3 months and can't see him getting another playing contract.
Only 32 so maybe not ready to stop playing.
Next destination?
ta for that :aok: that is indeed an odd one
according to ihibs he's played 9 and scored one goal, i can only remember him playing one game and he wasn't even very good in that :( oh well
28-02-2021, 09:00 PM
He’s had 14 appearances to get up to speed. Does he now need to get up to speed after every niggle?
Newell has missed a few games - there’ll rightly be no excuses about getting back up to speed made for him.
For the faith we’ve shown in Magennis with the contract we’ve offered he’s been very disappointing, whether that’s being injured frequently or his performances. Hibs will have signed him expecting him to contribute this season. We signed him and played him 2 days later, there’s no way we signed him expecting him to offer next to nothing for the majority of a season when he signed ready to play.
He never signed ready to play, it was clear we were using those games as we would bounce games if he was coming back from that injury. He was out for (I’m going to be kind) 8 months, you don’t just turn up and be ready to play 90 minutes straight away. When he’s been out for so long and not had any pre season, and hasn’t got fully up to speed before breaking down then yes, he does need to come back from every injury.
‘He’s had 14 appearances to get up to speed’ - one of those was 1 minute, one of those was 8 minutes, the majority were 20-30 minutes. He’s played a grand total of 440 minutes which is less than 5 full games, after missing 8 months, 1 month and 1 month with no pre season. Your expectations are so far from reality. Thankfully we’ve a medical and sports science team that will understand his injuries and his fitness far better than Calum on .net.
When he signed the club would’ve wanted more this year, however they’d also have expected we’d be able to play bounce games to help our situation out with recovering from injuries, and we wouldn’t have thought he’d be quite so unlucky with the injuries he has had.
28-02-2021, 09:09 PM
He never signed ready to play, it was clear we were using those games as we would bounce games if he was coming back from that injury. He was out for (I’m going to be kind) 8 months, you don’t just turn up and be ready to play 90 minutes straight away. When he’s been out for so long and not had any pre season, and hasn’t got fully up to speed before breaking down then yes, he does need to come back from every injury.
‘He’s had 14 appearances to get up to speed’ - one of those was 1 minute, one of those was 8 minutes, the majority were 20-30 minutes. He’s played a grand total of 440 minutes which is less than 5 full games, after missing 8 months, 1 month and 1 month with no pre season. Your expectations are so far from reality. Thankfully we’ve a medical and sports science team that will understand his injuries and his fitness far better than Calum on .net.
I honestly don’t understand why some people are so unwilling to cut anyone some slack. Magennis’ time at Hibs has been stop start through injury and illness, players need games to hit their peak, he’s not had that yet but he’ll get there.
28-02-2021, 09:11 PM
He didn’t sign ready to play yet Hibs played him 2 days later? That would suggest a serious neglect of the players well-being on Hibs part.
If he played 2 days after he signed I’d suggest he had been doing a considerable amount of rehab and been back in full training for a good while - do you really think he wasn’t ready to play, coming back from a serious injury yet Hibs decided to play him anyway, against Brora Rangers who we wouldn’t have needed him against and risked someone who we’ve invested so much in getting another serious injury? :confused:
He was deemed by Hibs and JR as being more than fit enough to get on the pitch and contribute, something which he’s not done nearly enough of - whether that’s not being on the pitch which is out of his hands, or contributing on the pitch which is absolutely in his hands.
Ask yourself why he’s only been put on for 1 minute or 8 minutes in some of these games. Was it to get his fitness up? Of course it wasn’t - 1 minute or 8 minutes isn’t going to do that. If he had shown more than he has then he would have got more than one minute or 8 minutes or 20 minutes. Using his injury which he’s been back from for 5 months as the sole excuse for the fact he’s offered so little far is what is so far from reality.
28-02-2021, 09:15 PM
He didn’t sign ready to play yet Hibs played him 2 days later? That would suggest a serious neglect of the players well-being on Hibs part.
If he played 2 days after he signed I’d suggest he had been doing a considerable amount of rehab and been back in full training for a good while - do you really think he wasn’t ready to play, coming back from a serious injury yet Hibs decided to play him anyway, against Brora Rangers who we wouldn’t have needed him against? :confused:
He was deemed by Hibs and JR as being more than fit enough to get on the pitch and contribute, something which he’s not done nearly enough of - whether that’s not being on the pitch which is out of his hands, or contributing on the pitch which is absolutely in his hands.
Ask yourself why he’s only been put on for 1 minute or 8 minutes in some of these games. Was it to get his fitness up? Of course it wasn’t - 1 minute or 8 minutes isn’t going to do that. If he had shown more than he has then he would have got more than one minute or 8 minutes or 20 minutes. Using his injury which he’s been back from for 5 months as the sole excuse for the fact he’s offered so little far is what is so far from reality.
To build his fitness, that’s why he played two days after he signed. All part of his rehab to get back to full match fitness. If you think a player is going to hit the ground running after 8+ months out in his first game back and then be flying thereafter your detached from reality.
He would’ve been fit, but being fit and match fit couldn’t be further apart. He needed games, his minutes were building then he got injured for a month. Same again and then injured for a month.
He got 1 minute and 8 minutes because we were winning and it was to run the clock down. He wasn’t fit enough to start and the team were on winning runs. It’s not rocket science.
He’s been injured three times and been out with Covid, he’s not been injury free for 5 months. He’s made appearances to build fitness in between injuries before breaking down and having to start again. Reality.
28-02-2021, 09:21 PM
jackson irvine played just days after signing and after being out of competitive football for several months, i was majorly surprised to say the least :greengrin i always thought their was a big difference between being fit and match fit, i've no idea if he had been playing bounce games for another club right enough
28-02-2021, 09:21 PM
To build his fitness, that’s why he played two days after he signed. All part of his rehab to get back to full match fitness. If you think a player is going to hit the ground running after 8+ months out in his first game back and then be flying thereafter your detached from reality.
He would’ve been fit, but being fit and match fit couldn’t be further apart. He needed games, his minutes were building then he got injured for a month. Same again and then injured for a month.
He got 1 minute and 8 minutes because we were winning and it was to run the clock down. He wasn’t fit enough to start and the team were on winning runs. It’s not rocket science.
He’s been injured three times and been out with Covid, he’s not been injury free for 5 months. He’s made appearances to build fitness in between injuries before breaking down and having to start again. Reality.
So he’s went from being injured when he signed to not being fit when he signed to being fit but not being match fit when he signed?
He got 8 minutes after starting the week before - a game in which he was poor. He didn’t get 8 minutes because he wasn’t fit enough to start as he was fit enough to start the week before.
He got 1 minute after coming off the bench for decent lengths of time the 2 games previous. Again, he didn’t get 1 minute because he wasn’t fit enough to start. He got 1 minute and 8 minutes in these games because he hasn’t shown nearly enough to justify much more than that so far. That’s the reality.
28-02-2021, 09:30 PM
So he’s went from being injured when he signed to not being fit when he signed to being fit but not being match fit when he signed?
He got 8 minutes after starting the week before. He didn’t get 8 minutes because he wasn’t fit enough to start as he was fit enough to start the week before.
He got 1 minute after coming off the bench for decent lengths of time the 2 games previous. Again, he didn’t get 1 minute because he wasn’t fit enough to start. He got 1 minute and 8 minutes in these games because he hasn’t shown nearly enough to justify much more than that so far. That’s the reality.
He wasn’t going to start week after week after 8 months out. Managing players back to full fitness is all part of management. He started one week, was on the bench the next week, got injured.
If you wanted him to return to play 90 minutes week after week after 8 months out then fair enough, you’ll be disappointed more often than not. Thankfully he’ll be managed back to full fitness and especially now when he’s suffering from Covid symptoms. The season wasn’t planned to be a write off but the way it has gone for him with injuries it’s ended up that way. He’ll still be a huge player for us for years to come and has shown plenty to prove that over his career to date.
28-02-2021, 09:37 PM
He wasn’t going to start week after week after 8 months out. Managing players back to full fitness is all part of management. He started one week, was on the bench the next week, got injured.
If you wanted him to return to play 90 minutes week after week after 8 months out then fair enough, you’ll be disappointed more often than not. Thankfully he’ll be managed back to full fitness and especially now when he’s suffering from Covid symptoms. The season wasn’t planned to be a write off but the way it has gone for him with injuries it’s ended up that way. He’ll still be a huge player for us for years to come and has shown plenty to prove that over his career to date.
I can say with a degree of certainty that his rehab wouldn’t have dictated that he could start a game, play 60 minutes and then wouldn’t be able to start the next game a full week later. He would never have started that first game if that was the case - if your body is still that fragile after an injury you’re not starting games. He didn’t start the next game cause he was totally ineffective against County, something which has unfortunately been the story of his appearances for us so far.
Nobody on this thread has suggested he was to play 90 minutes every single game from the off either, regardless of how many times you suggest it.
28-02-2021, 09:43 PM
I can say with a degree of certainty that his rehab wouldn’t have dictated that he could start a game, play 60 minutes and then wouldn’t be able to start the next game a full week later. He would never have started that first game if that was the case - if your body is still that fragile after an injury you’re not starting games. He didn’t start the next game cause he was totally ineffective against County, something which has unfortunately been the story of his appearances for us so far.
Nobody on this thread has suggested he was to play 90 minutes every single game from the off either, regardless of how many times you suggest it.
And have you sat back and thought why he might be ineffective? Your sharpness and match fitness doesn’t just appear. It takes games and time, something that would normally be done in friendlies and bounce games, something we haven’t had. His body isn’t fragile enough that he can’t play, he just isn’t fully up to full match speed, it’s fairly obvious.
Scott Allan came on for a good period against st Johnstone and has barely been seen since. He’s fit enough, he just can’t get games, when he does come on he’s ineffective as he’s off the pace. It’s the same situation.
Players need games to get up to speed but when your in the middle of a season and fighting for 3rd place, we don’t have that luxury to give them.
28-02-2021, 09:48 PM
And have you sat back and thought why he might be ineffective? Your sharpness and match fitness doesn’t just appear. It takes games and time, something that would normally be done in friendlies and bounce games, something we haven’t had. His body isn’t fragile enough that he can’t play, he just isn’t fully up to full match speed, it’s fairly obvious.
Scott Allan came on for a good period against st Johnstone and has barely been seen since. He’s fit enough, he just can’t get games, when he does come on he’s ineffective as he’s off the pace. It’s the same situation.
Players need games to get up to speed but when your in the middle of a season and fighting for 3rd place, we don’t have that luxury to give them.
You said yourself it was part of managing him back to full fitness not starting him the next week yet now you’re saying he was in fact able to play. :confused:
You’re tying yourself in knots here trying to desperately defend what is a fairly innocuous point that some folk have made - that his Hibs career to date has been a real disappointment - both performances on the pitch and injuries/COVID. I would be surprised if he wouldn’t acknowledge that himself.
28-02-2021, 09:53 PM
You said yourself it was part of managing him back to full fitness not starting him the next week yet now you’re saying he was in fact able to play. :confused:
You’re tying yourself in knots here trying to desperately defend what is a fairly innocuous point that some folk have made - that his Hibs career to date has been a real disappointment - both performances on the pitch and injuries/COVID. I would be surprised if he wouldn’t acknowledge that himself.
If he’s not fully match fit he’s not going to play week after week. No knots. He started one week, he dropped out the next. Your inferring this is performance related.
He’ll be extremely disappointed that his injuries have destroyed his first season in a Hibs shirt. His ability is unquestionable however. I’m glad we forked out for him and look forward to his career in a Hibs top.
28-02-2021, 10:02 PM
If he’s not fully match fit he’s not going to play week after week. No knots. He started one week, he dropped out the next. Your inferring this is performance related.
He’ll be extremely disappointed that his injuries have destroyed his first season in a Hibs shirt. His ability is unquestionable however. I’m glad we forked out for him and look forward to his career in a Hibs top.
If he’d played well against County when he started and played 60 minutes then he’d have started the next game a full 7 days later. You’re kidding yourself on if you think he wouldn’t have. That makes it performance related.
01-03-2021, 06:00 AM
ta for that :aok: that is indeed an odd one
according to ihibs he's played 9 and scored one goal, i can only remember him playing one game and he wasn't even very good in that :( oh well
Played in a few of the League cup group games.
01-03-2021, 06:16 AM
When he signed the club would’ve wanted more this year, however they’d also have expected we’d be able to play bounce games to help our situation out with recovering from injuries, and we wouldn’t have thought he’d be quite so unlucky with the injuries he has had.
Spot on. Don't get how this is hard to understand.
Crunchie
01-03-2021, 06:41 AM
I honestly don’t understand why some people are so unwilling to cut anyone some slack. Magennis’ time at Hibs has been stop start through injury and illness, players need games to hit their peak, he’s not had that yet but he’ll get there.
My take on it too, how anyone can even contemplate questioning his ability, or writing him off before he's had any run in the team beggars belief. By all accounts he's a great prospect and I've no doubt he'll prove his worth, and some.
Future captain and star in the making, I predict a great career for the lad.
01-03-2021, 06:44 AM
Spot on. Don't get how this is hard to understand.
It’s ‘hard to understand’ because the idea that every niggle means Magennis is hitting the reset button on his return from his major injury is nonsense. He’s back from that injury. Hes done the rehab, he’s played games. He’s not still returning from it and when he gets a thigh strain or something similar he’s not “starting again” on his return from it.
01-03-2021, 06:56 AM
It’s ‘hard to understand’ because the idea that every niggle means Magennis is hitting the reset button on his return from his major injury is nonsense. He’s back from that injury. Hes done the rehab, he’s played games. He’s not still returning from it and when he gets a thigh strain or something similar he’s not “starting again” on his return from it.
No, its quite clear he was never fully up to speed. Scott Allan has made 4 appearances since returning, do you expect him to be fit as well? Its about minutes played and Kyle has sadly struggled to get many.
Him getting injured is no different from Scott Allan. Its unlucky and could happen to anyone. He deserves our support, not being labed a disappointment. Just my opinion, though.
01-03-2021, 06:57 AM
It’s ‘hard to understand’ because the idea that every niggle means Magennis is hitting the reset button on his return from his major injury is nonsense. He’s back from that injury. He’s not still returning from it.
You are wasting a lot of energy on something that isn’t that tricky.
He has been signed long term after we’ve also been after him for years.
We knew he was coming off a bad injury. I’m sure we had hoped we could have built his fitness back up and got him back playing more regularly.
As it turned out he has picked up other little niggles, which happens, and now Covid.
We might have hoped he would have been playing more of a part but I’m sure we also knew that these things happen after big injuries. He is a long term signing and will become a good player for us.
01-03-2021, 06:59 AM
No, its quite clear he was never fully up to speed. Scott Allan has made 4 appearances since returning, do you expect him to be fit as well? Its about minutes played and Kyle has sadly struggled to get many.
Him getting injured is no different from Scott Allan. Its unlucky and could happen to anyone. He deserves our support, not being labed a disappointment. Just my opinion, though.
We’ll have to agree to disagree. He’s been up to speed enough that Ross thought he has been ready to start 4 different games now, 2 of them in the league and 1 of them a cup semi final so certainly not games that were being treated as bounce games. He was also fit enough after his serious injury to play games in quick succession 2, 5 and 8 days after signing and starting one of them.
I’m sure he’ll not get massively upset at people saying his time at Hibs has been disappointing. As I said earlier, I would very much doubt he wouldn’t admit that himself. People don’t need to get so sensitive about it on his behalf and start using an injury he returned from 5 months ago as an excuse for it.
01-03-2021, 07:21 AM
He will be an outstanding player for us in due course.
01-03-2021, 08:32 AM
He will be an outstanding player for us in due course.
Yep pretty clear why he hasnt been seen at his best thus far.
01-03-2021, 04:32 PM
We’ll have to agree to disagree. He’s been up to speed enough that Ross thought he has been ready to start 4 different games now, 2 of them in the league and 1 of them a cup semi final so certainly not games that were being treated as bounce games. He was also fit enough after his serious injury to play games in quick succession 2, 5 and 8 days after signing and starting one of them.
I’m sure he’ll not get massively upset at people saying his time at Hibs has been disappointing. As I said earlier, I would very much doubt he wouldn’t admit that himself. People don’t need to get so sensitive about it on his behalf and start using an injury he returned from 5 months ago as an excuse for it.
I'm with you. Far too much is still said these days about how much players need to play in matches to get back to "match fitness". That is stone age talk which is considerably less applicable to this generation of players compared to previous generations. The progress and professionalism in the fitness and sports science fields over the last 20-30 years are enormous. With all the monitors and analysis used these days, it should be expected that decent fitness and technical coaches can replicate in training the nature and effort levels that each individual player will be expected to experience and exert in a match situation, not just in terms of overall fitness/stamina/speed but also in terms of their speed of play and thought when under pressure. Physically, they should be able to hit the ground running when they are deemed ready to return to play. What is harder to get right after a prolonged absence is getting them prepared psychologically for a match situation, dealing with pre-match nerves etc. But with no crowds to get on your back and empty stadia making it easy to hear your team-mates or coach from the sidelines, currently there are minimal excuses in this area too.
01-03-2021, 05:50 PM
I'm with you. Far too much is still said these days about how much players need to play in matches to get back to "match fitness". That is stone age talk which is considerably less applicable to this generation of players compared to previous generations. The progress and professionalism in the fitness and sports science fields over the last 20-30 years are enormous. With all the monitors and analysis used these days, it should be expected that decent fitness and technical coaches can replicate in training the nature and effort levels that each individual player will be expected to experience and exert in a match situation, not just in terms of overall fitness/stamina/speed but also in terms of their speed of play and thought when under pressure. Physically, they should be able to hit the ground running when they are deemed ready to return to play. What is harder to get right after a prolonged absence is getting them prepared psychologically for a match situation, dealing with pre-match nerves etc. But with no crowds to get on your back and empty stadia making it easy to hear your team-mates or coach from the sidelines, currently there are minimal excuses in this area too.
Ask any sports science department or manager and they’ll tell you that you can’t fully replicate game like situations and intensity in training. No matter how hard you try it just doesn’t work like that, hence why managers need bounce games to get players up to speed (listen to jack Ross’ disappointment about not getting games for Scott Allan to aid his recovery).
01-03-2021, 06:00 PM
Of course he has been disappointing. Everyone is agreeing with that.
Most reasonably minded people though can see there are reasons for that though, that’s all. Of course his fitness issue is an excuse and a good one at that.
01-03-2021, 06:19 PM
Of course he has been disappointing. Everyone is agreeing with that.
Most reasonably minded people though can see there are reasons for that though, that’s all. Of course his fitness issue is an excuse and a good one at that.
His general fitness issue is an excuse to some degree. His injury from 5 months ago? Not so much. The idea that he gets say a thigh injury now and he’s “starting again” as was suggested on his recovery from his serious knee injury is nonsense.
Jack Ross has felt he’s been fit enough to play 3 games in 8 days or so when he signed. He felt he was fit enough to start in a cup semi final. He’s felt he’s fit enough to start league games. That serious injury has been and gone. He needs to start performing. Coming back from a slight niggle a couple of times isn’t an excuse for the fact he’s offered nothing imo and an injury that he’s long since recovered from isn’t either.
01-03-2021, 07:32 PM
His general fitness issue is an excuse to some degree. His injury from 5 months ago? Not so much. The idea that he gets say a thigh injury now and he’s “starting again” as was suggested on his recovery from his serious knee injury is nonsense.
Jack Ross has felt he’s been fit enough to play 3 games in 8 days or so when he signed. He felt he was fit enough to start in a cup semi final. He’s felt he’s fit enough to start league games. That serious injury has been and gone. He needs to start performing. Coming back from a slight niggle a couple of times isn’t an excuse for the fact he’s offered nothing imo and an injury that he’s long since recovered from isn’t either.
The reason for his ‘slight niggles’ (full month of football missing twice, pulled muscles), were his big injury though. It’s common, Murphy was exactly the same. When you’ve been out the game for 8 months with big injuries then you end up with muscle injuries.
HendoDelivered
01-03-2021, 08:25 PM
The amount of folk writing him off already 😂
01-03-2021, 09:09 PM
The amount of folk writing him off already 😂
I never knew there were so many disappointed sports scientists and doctors on Hibs.net!
01-03-2021, 09:32 PM
Okay, you are a lost cause on this one - coming back from a serious injury having played virtually no football for months end and then picking up, which is common with these things, some other niggles, followed by Covid.
None of that is a factor and I suppose then he's just rubbish always has been and this is an indication of how he will play for the next 4 years. That's your argument is it?
01-03-2021, 10:28 PM
Nonsense. Look at the money English Premier League clubs have. They can employ the best coaches with state of the art facilities and the best medical treatment money can buy in this country. Yet their players can't just hit the ground running and need to build up their minutes to get match fitness.
Scott Allan said in his recent interview he's the fittest he's ever felt but he's not match fit because he hasn't been able to play any bounce games.
01-03-2021, 10:47 PM
I wonder if people's opinions on gaining match fitness after a long spell out will change once we all get back to playing 5 a sides again [emoji23]
I'll probably have a new found sympathy for Magennis when I do
01-03-2021, 11:50 PM
Poor signing.
We, as a club, cannae afford to spend money on a player who isn’t contributing. That money could, and probably should, have been spent elsewhere this season.
He’s clearly a talented young player, from how he’s performed before he came to Hibs, and he might well kick on, but I really don’t think we’ve got the kind of budget that can afford to take these risks.
Completely disagree. I think it's because of our budgetary constraints that we have to take risks of this kind. We've generally taken such gambles with talented players who have injury issues, or might have discipline problems, or are just plain inconsistent, because they potentially improve the team and excite the fans. I'd rather see us go down this route than sign tried, tested (and basically failed to reach any other level) journeymen.
I don't think there's anything wrong with the strategy of buying/developing talented young players and then not standing in their way when they have the opportunity to play in a more lucrative (higher standard) league than Scotland's. In the case of MaGennis, I've heard from St Mirren fans that he's not only a talent but a natural leader. Given his injury, this year was always going to be convalescence for him. Hopefully he'll be an established player next term.
02-03-2021, 05:53 AM
Have you ever played the game? As if you had you would likely have a bit more understanding of the difficulties in coming back from a serious knee injury and some of the smaller injuries that can occur. He is a quality player at a new club and it has been stop start. Give him a bit time please.
Crunchie
02-03-2021, 06:24 AM
Have you ever played the game? As if you had you would likely have a bit more understanding of the difficulties in coming back from a serious knee injury and some of the smaller injuries that can occur. He is a quality player at a new club and it has been stop start. Give him a bit time please.
There's just no convincing some, Jim. I think the only time some of our illustrious posters have played the game was on their computer.
02-03-2021, 07:18 AM
Okay, you are a lost cause on this one - coming back from a serious injury having played virtually no football for months end and then picking up, which is common with these things, some other niggles, followed by Covid.
None of that is a factor and I suppose then he's just rubbish always has been and this is an indication of how he will play for the next 4 years. That's your argument is it?
People saying he’s been disappointing so far has now turned into them saying he’s rubbish, always has been and is guaranteed to be for the next 4 years. Talk about getting all worked up and defensive over something that the player himself would probably agree with to the point your making things up. Yet it’s me that’s the lost cause?
Not once have I said he’s rubbish, not once have I said he always has been and not once have I said he’s guaranteed to be rubbish for the next 4 years. So quite how you’ve managed to decide ‘that’s my argument’ I’ve no idea.
02-03-2021, 07:21 AM
I’ve played football to East of Scotland level before the Lowland League came in, so probably a higher level than most on here.
Nobody has ever suggested he shouldn’t be getting injured. He should however be showing more than he has been - he’s had 14 appearances to show something - and he has fully recovered from his knee injury. I’d bet good money that Kyle Magennis wouldn’t go around telling people he’s still recovering from his knee injury now and I’d bet good money he would admit his start at Hibs has been disappointing.
Crunchie
02-03-2021, 07:29 AM
I’ve played football to East of Scotland level before the Lowland League came in, so probably a higher level than most on here.
Nobody has ever suggested he shouldn’t be getting injured. He should however be showing more than he has been - he’s had 14 appearances to show something - and he has fully recovered from his knee injury. I’d bet good money that Kyle Magennis wouldn’t go around telling people he’s still recovering from his knee injury now and I’d bet good money he would admit his start at Hibs has been disappointing.
If you've played football you'll know everything isn't black and white. There are so many factors involved you can bet you have no idea what the reasons are, it certainly isn't because he is a bad player.
Did you also write off Joe Newell after his first few games for us?
02-03-2021, 07:31 AM
If you've played football you'll know everything isn't black and white. There are so many factors involved you can bet you have no idea what the reasons are, it certainly isn't because he is a bad player.
Did you also write off Joe Newell after his first few games for us?
Are people even reading what has been written on this thread? When have I written him off? :confused: Infact when has anyone written him off? :confused:
02-03-2021, 07:35 AM
Nonsense. Look at the money English Premier League clubs have. They can employ the best coaches with state of the art facilities and the best medical treatment money can buy in this country. Yet their players can't just hit the ground running and need to build up their minutes to get match fitness.
Scott Allan said in his recent interview he's the fittest he's ever felt but he's not match fit because he hasn't been able to play any bounce games.
These days I do not accept that benefits arising from bounce games cannot be replicated in training. It is nothing to do with "fitness" as indeed you have admitted with your Scott Allan example. It is about competitive match readiness in terms of performing under pressure when it really means something - like the difference between the practice putting green and the 4 foot putt on the last to win the Saturday medal. I agree you need some properly competitive minutes to get that side of your readiness back. But nowhere near as much as some folk are suggesting, as was the case 20+ years ago.
Crunchie
02-03-2021, 07:38 AM
Are people even reading what has been written on this thread? When have I written him off? :confused: Infact when has anyone written him off? :confused:
From your comments I thought that's what you were implying, if that's not the case I don't get the criticism at this early stage of his career with us.
02-03-2021, 07:41 AM
From your comments I thought that's what you were implying, if that's not the case I don't get the criticism at this early stage of his career with us.
All my comments and others on this thread have said is that his start to his Hibs career has been disappointing both in terms of injuries and performances, something which I’d be stunned if Hibs and Magennis didn’t acknowledge himself. Nothing particularly scathing.
This has somehow morphed into folk saying that people are writing him off, saying he’s not good enough, never has been and never will be over the next 4 years.
02-03-2021, 07:43 AM
These days I do not accept that benefits arising from bounce games cannot be replicated in training. It is nothing to do with "fitness" as indeed you have admitted with your Scott Allan example. It is about competitive match readiness in terms of performing under pressure when it really means something - like the difference between the practice putting green and the 4 foot putt on the last to win the Saturday medal. I agree you need some properly competitive minutes to get that side of your readiness back. But nowhere near as much as some folk are suggesting, as was the case 20+ years ago.
Once you’ve made 14 appearances upon your return from a serious knee injury, starting 4 of them including a cup semi final, a couple bounce games against 17 year olds and guys who aren’t starting at their clubs looking to keep ticking over whilst everyone is playing at 50% really isn’t going to do much for you in terms of coming back from that injury.
02-03-2021, 07:53 AM
I'm hopeful he will be a good signing.
A full pre season and crowds back will be a better platform for him to perform.
I don't we will get much this season unfortunately.
02-03-2021, 08:03 AM
Out of interest what kind of player should we expect when he’s up to speed? More a McGinn or a McGeouch? My concern is that when he has played he’s been shunted to the left side. I hope we bought him with a specific midfield position in mind and not simply signing a good player who we will work out how to fit in later.
02-03-2021, 08:17 AM
Who said he hasn’t recovered from a knee injury? His knee is fine, due to the length of time he was out he’s ended up with two muscle injuries on the back of that. You are the one that keeps banging on about his injury 5 months ago failing to acknowledge he’s been out a further two months, and then a number of weeks now with Covid, on the back of that and as a result never quite getting fully up to speed. It’s been disappointing due to his injuries, absolutely.
02-03-2021, 08:26 AM
So you agree playing 30-40 minutes a couple of times before getting injured isn’t enough time to be properly sharp and firing, before getting injured again. He’s never had a run of games to get his sharpness up, 2 games then 3 games then 4 games was his league record before getting injured.
02-03-2021, 08:27 AM
Who said he hasn’t recovered from a knee injury? His knee is fine, due to the length of time he was out he’s ended up with two muscle injuries on the back of that. You are the one that keeps banging on about his injury 5 months ago failing to acknowledge he’s been out a further two months, and then a number of weeks now with Covid, on the back of that and as a result never quite getting fully up to speed. It’s been disappointing due to his injuries, absolutely.
You’ve brought it up numerous times. Others have brought it up numerous times. If he’s recovered from it then it’s not really relevant this far down the line.
I’m not quite sure how I’ve failed to acknowledge he’s been out again seeing as I’ve mentioned it on more than one occasion. I’ve even said he’ll be disappointed in how his time at Hibs has went, be that injuries or performance. Seems like an acknowledgement to me.
His performances have also been disappointing. Read the match threads, player ratings etc from the games he’s played. Magennis will be disappointed in how he’s performed when he’s got on the pitch, of that I’ve no doubt, especially if he’s as good as people claim he is. I’d actually be slightly concerned if he thought his performances have been good enough but thankfully I doubt that’s the case.
02-03-2021, 08:31 AM
You’ve brought it up numerous times. Others have brought it up numerous times. If he’s recovered from it then it’s not really relevant this far down the line.
Of course it is, it’s a factor of his future injuries that he got. I’d hedge my bets that his two muscle injuries are as a direct result of his lengthy knee absence.
02-03-2021, 08:32 AM
Its weird to be on the other side of this for once.
02-03-2021, 08:43 AM
I’m not quite sure how I’ve failed to acknowledge he’s been out again seeing as I’ve mentioned it on more than one occasion. I’ve even said he’ll be disappointed in how his time at Hibs has went, be that injuries or performance. Seems like an acknowledgement to me.
His performances have also been disappointing. Read the match threads, player ratings etc from the games he’s played. Magennis will be disappointed in how he’s performed when he’s got on the pitch, of that I’ve no doubt, especially if he’s as good as people claim he is. I’d actually be slightly concerned if he thought his performances have been good enough.
Can’t really argue with any of that, the main point I’ve taken from your posts is that he has been disappointing for us. I don’t see how anyone can really argue with that. I was pleased when he came in, but for various reasons this season has been a washout for him. Still hopeful he will go on to be a very good signing for us, but if I’m honest that’s based more from the reputation from his time at St Mirren rather than anything he has shown in a Hibs jersey to date.
02-03-2021, 08:54 AM
His performances have also been disappointing. Read the match threads, player ratings etc from the games he’s played. Magennis will be disappointed in how he’s performed when he’s got on the pitch, of that I’ve no doubt, especially if he’s as good as people claim he is. I’d actually be slightly concerned if he thought his performances have been good enough but thankfully I doubt that’s the case.
But you plainly refuse to acknowledge that due to lack of sustained minutes on the pitch he isn’t up to speed therefore of course his performances will be lacking. His sharpness won’t be there. Over three separate spells he has amassed less than 5 full games. So in essence he comes back from injury, plays a game and a half, gets injured, plays a game and a half, gets injured, plays a game and a half, gets Covid. In that game and a half it would be unjust to expect him to put performances in after his lay offs. Your touch, your vision, your confidence doesn’t just appear. Especially when he never played with us prior to his injuries, therefore he will have very little chemistry on the pitch with his team mates, that takes time to build that understanding. Everything comes back to his injuries and that’s purely unlucky. Hardly worth him being called a waste of money over.
02-03-2021, 09:04 AM
But you plainly refuse to acknowledge that due to lack of sustained minutes on the pitch he isn’t up to speed therefore of course his performances will be lacking. His sharpness won’t be there. Over three separate spells he has amassed less than 5 full games. So in essence he comes back from injury, plays a game and a half, gets injured, plays a game and a half, gets injured, plays a game and a half, gets Covid. In that game and a half it would be unjust to expect him to put performances in after his lay offs. Your touch, your vision, your confidence doesn’t just appear. Especially when he never played with us prior to his injuries, therefore he will have very little chemistry on the pitch with his team mates, that takes time to build that understanding. Everything comes back to his injuries and that’s purely unlucky. Hardly worth him being called a waste of money over.
When on earth have I ever called him a waste of money :faf:
Do you believe Magennis will be happy with his performances when he’s been on the pitch?
02-03-2021, 09:10 AM
When will we see him on the bench? Is he back training?
02-03-2021, 09:10 AM
When on earth have I ever called him a waste of money :faf:
Do you believe Magennis will be happy with his performances when he’s been on the pitch?
Who said you called him it? He was called it on this thread. No he won’t be, again, that’s been acknowledged, the reasons for his ‘poor performances’ are clear for all to see. Hence why you look at his pedigree and his attitude when looking to the future rather than his stop start nature for us.
02-03-2021, 09:11 AM
When will we see him on the bench? Is he back training?
Ross said he would need scans etc over the weekend due to him having Covid symptoms, not just testing positive. Would expect all going well he’d be back in training this week.
02-03-2021, 09:14 AM
Who said you called him it? He was called it on this thread. No he won’t be, again, that’s been acknowledged, the reasons for his ‘poor performances’ are clear for all to see. Hence why you look at his pedigree and his attitude when looking to the future rather than his stop start nature for us.
So you’ve spent numerous pages arguing with me because someone else has called him a waste of money and you agree that his injuries and performances have been disappointing which is all I’ve really said throughout the whole thread.
I’m out.
02-03-2021, 09:19 AM
So you’ve spent numerous pages arguing with me because someone else has called him a waste of money and you agree that his injuries and performances have been disappointing which is all I’ve really said throughout the whole thread.
I’m out.
No, that was acknowledged a long time ago, his performances have been poor due to his injuries and failure to get fully up to speed before getting injured again. Your insistence that he should hit the ground running as his knee injury had gone 5 months ago is what carried it on. You said you don’t hold out hope for him due to his performances with us 😂
02-03-2021, 09:19 AM
Magennis has showed glimpses of the classy player he can be but it's fair to say I've not seen him really impose himself on any games so far.
Early days though - his chances to get on the pitch have been pretty slim - and that's partly been down to picking up niggling injuries and partly due to the fact he's competing with several other midfielders - most with much more game time under their belts this season - for a place in a team that has been winning much of the time. I'm pretty sure he'll turn out to be a very good signing but we may have to wait to next season to see the best of him.
Patience required.
02-03-2021, 09:37 AM
14 appearances with 4 of them being starts over 6 months really isn’t much at all. Especially when you consider the sub appearances will be 10-15 minutes here and there.
The bounce games aren’t so much for getting him fit but for him to feel sharp and comfortable on the ball in a game.
Training is fine, you always have an out all and the games tend to be smaller so you can look a lot better. But sometimes I’m a game you’ll receive the ball in the middle of the pitch, very little options and have the opposition pressing you - this is where you need the minutes under your belt to get out of that situation.
Nothing can replicate a game.
He’s had quite a few injuries, between serious, niggles and Covid. His confidence will be completely shot and he won’t have much faith in his body holding up.
Give it time.
Once you’ve made 14 appearances upon your return from a serious knee injury, starting 4 of them including a cup semi final, a couple bounce games against 17 year olds and guys who aren’t starting at their clubs looking to keep ticking over whilst everyone is playing at 50% really isn’t going to do much for you in terms of coming back from that injury.
I would say that missing the full pre season prep wasn't perfect for Magennis and he's been behind most of the season, we seen exactly the same last season when Stevenson was rushed back too early when the team and young Mackie had that mare of a game against Rangers. Hecky pumped Mackie out to Dundee and brought Stevenson back weeks too early, he never fully recovered and it was probably his worst season he's had for us.
We have 3 players who have come back from serious knee injuries, Wright and Murphy the other 2, Wright had the pre season but looks a player shot of confidence and basically not good enough, Murphy came after having a decent loan but apart from the odd flash has been disappointing. Magennis was St Mirren captain and was the main man in their team, we're hoping he can be like McGinn was and grow to his level, I'm sure he'll be as disappointed with his start as the fans have been.
02-03-2021, 09:40 AM
Thats incorrect - march sharpness only comes from playing matches.
02-03-2021, 09:44 AM
Thats just wrong.
02-03-2021, 10:28 AM
No, that was acknowledged a long time ago, his performances have been poor due to his injuries and failure to get fully up to speed before getting injured again. Your insistence that he should hit the ground running as his knee injury had gone 5 months ago is what carried it on. You said you don’t hold out hope for him due to his performances with us 😂
I don’t hold out hope for him?
The second post on this thread is from me and says:
“Hopefully a good pre season and he can offer something next season“
That’s literally the definition of holding out hope for him.
Give it up. You’ve got yourself tangled up over and over again throughout this thread looking for an argument.
Thats incorrect - march sharpness only comes from playing matches.
That's the term I would have thought more appropriate, "sharpness" rather than "fitness".
02-03-2021, 10:40 AM
If you have played at that level you will know significant injuries can be difficult to return from. I think he has done ok in some games but injuries and now assuming Covid will not help him.
02-03-2021, 10:40 AM
I don’t hold out hope for him?
The second post on this thread is from me and says:
“Hopefully a good pre season and he can offer something next season“
That’s literally the definition of holding out hope for him.
Give it up. You’ve got yourself tangled up over and over again throughout this thread looking for an argument.
‘ I don’t hold out the same amount of hope that others have for him based on what we’ve seen for Hibs.’
Your words, not mine. Who’s getting tangled again? Seems like you just like contradicting yourself then.
02-03-2021, 10:44 AM
‘ I don’t hold out the same amount of hope that others have for him based on what we’ve seen for Hibs.’
Your words, not mine. Who’s getting tangled again? Seems like you just like contradicting yourself then.
So not that I don’t hold out hope for him, just that I don’t hold out as much hope as others. Keeping in mind some folk on this thread have said he’ll be outstanding I don’t think that’s a massively disparaging comment. A very different thing from what you’ve claimed I’ve said where you’ve claimed I don’t hold out hope for him at all, but as you’re looking for an argument it would be much more suitable to make things up. :aok:
Cheerio.
02-03-2021, 10:47 AM
If you have played at that level you will know significant injuries can be difficult to return from. I think he has done ok in some games but injuries and now assuming Covid will not help him.
Not something I’d argue with Jim. But regardless of that, i would fully expect that he’d be disappointed himself with his contribution on the pitch so far and that he’ll have expected himself to have come back and performed better than he has. I don’t think anyone would disagree he’ll be disappointed with the injuries.
That to me adds up to a disappointment start to his Hibs career for all parties - the player, the club and the fans.
02-03-2021, 10:51 AM
Not something I’d argue with Jim. But regardless of that, i would fully expect that he’d be disappointed himself with his contribution on the pitch so far and I’m fairly certain he’ll be disappointed with the injuries.
That to me adds up to a disappointment start to his Hibs career for all parties - the player, the club and the fans.
3 pages or so later this is what everyone has been saying - except you are not prepared to make allowances for the fact he was off the back of a serious injury or that the follow up niggles regularly happen to players in that position. In fact, you are adding those things on to the disappointment..
It is just a situation where no real blame can be attached. We have him on a long contract and we will expect much more from him when he gets fully fit again. Don't think much more than that has really needed to be said.
02-03-2021, 10:53 AM
3 pages or so later this is what everyone has been saying - except you are not prepared to make allowances for the fact he was off the back of a serious injury or that the follow up niggles regularly happen to players in that position. In fact, you are adding those things on to the disappointment..
It is just a situation where no real blame can be attached. We have him on a long contract and we will expect much more from him when he gets fully fit again. Don't think much more than that has really needed to be said.
No, it’s really not.
You’ve been saying I said he wasn’t good enough, never has been and never will be.
Sam has been claiming I’ve been saying I hold out no hope for him whatsoever and that he was to completely hit the ground running. Again, things I’ve never once said.
I’m adding them on to the disappointment because he’ll be disappointed by them as will the club. I’d suggest the club and Kyle will be disappointed that he hasn’t played better when he has been on the pitch regardless of previous injuries.
If you don’t believe that and you think they’ll be happy enough with either aspect, whether it’s injuries or performances then crack on.
02-03-2021, 10:59 AM
So not that I don’t hold out hope for him, just that I don’t hold out as much hope as others. A very different thing from what you’ve claimed I’ve said where you’ve claimed I don’t hold out hope for him at all, but as you’re looking for an argument it would be much more suitable to make things up. :aok:
Cheerio.
Not looking for any argument, just pointing out the clear discrepancies in arguments, like the one where he’s been back from injury for 5 months, when in reality he’s been injured for two full months in that time and missed a number of weeks through Covid. You could have left it at the fact he has missed the majority of the season through injury thus far and will be better when fully fit and after a full pre season, but your insistence that he’s rarely played due to factors of his own doing rather than bad luck through injury and the other members of the team performing well says it’s you looking for and getting arguments, no one else.
02-03-2021, 11:01 AM
No, it’s really not.
You’ve been saying I said he wasn’t good enough, never has been and never will be.
Sam has been claiming I’ve been saying I hold out no hope for him whatsoever and that he was to completely hit the ground running. Again, things I’ve never once said.
I’m adding them on to the disappointment because he’ll be disappointed by them as will the club. I’d suggest the club and Kyle will be disappointed that he hasn’t played better when he has been on the pitch regardless of previous injuries.
If you don’t believe that and you think they’ll be happy enough with either aspect, whether it’s injuries or performances then crack on.
They’ll be understanding of the reasons, of that I’m 100% sure. If they weren’t they wouldn’t keep putting him back in for minutes when he’s fit. Wouldn’t see a thread like this for Scott Allan and shouldn’t see one for Kyle Magennis either, utterly pointless.
02-03-2021, 11:04 AM
Not looking for any argument, just pointing out the clear discrepancies in arguments, like the one where he’s been back from injury for 5 months, when in reality he’s been injured for two full months in that time and missed a number of weeks through Covid. You could have left it at the fact he has missed the majority of the season through injury thus far and will be better when fully fit and after a full pre season, but your insistence that he’s rarely played due to factors of his own doing rather than bad luck through injury and the other members of the team performing well says it’s you looking for and getting arguments, no one else.
You’re making yourself dizzy Sam.
That’s enough now.
I could have left it by posting your thoughts rather than my own. That’s a cracker.
02-03-2021, 11:07 AM
I'm going to stick my neck out at say he's going to be next season's Newell and we'll be raving about him and the impact he's having on the team.
Please feel free to bookmark this and call me out if he turns out to be more of a Vela than a Newell.
02-03-2021, 11:09 AM
I'm going to stick my neck out at say he's going to be next season's Newell and we'll be raving about him and the impact he's having on the team.
Please feel free to bookmark this and call me out if he turns out to be more of a Vela than a Newell.
Fingers crossed. :aok:
02-03-2021, 11:16 AM
I have really high hopes for him too. Here's hoping he proves us right.
02-03-2021, 11:18 AM
You’re making yourself dizzy Sam.
That’s enough now.
I could have left it by posting what you want me to post. That’s a cracker.
It’s exactly what you posted in your first post, you could’ve left it at that. It’s you that’s adamant it’s purely performance related on the pitch and nothing to do with the previous injuries when he steps on. He wouldn’t play if he wasn’t fully up to speed according to you.
Any player that misses pre season and the majority of a season through injury is going to struggle, it really is that simple. To use this season as a reason to doubt that he will come good in the future rather than anything he’s done prior to that is blinkered to say the least.
02-03-2021, 01:07 PM
For me the start of next season is most important.If Murphy,Wright and Magennis don't start to show what they're made of and influence games then it'll ask big questions on our signing policy .
02-03-2021, 01:24 PM
Just another day on HibsDotNet...
02-03-2021, 03:00 PM
Just another day on HibsDotNet...
You'll need to change your bio, "Ultimate Slaver" should be bestowed upon at least two others.
Magpie
02-03-2021, 04:09 PM
I totally agree that if he wasn’t match fit he shouldn’t have started the semi final. Those involved at the club must have thought he was.
02-03-2021, 04:22 PM
Not really had a chance this season with his niggling injuries. Hopefully a good pre season means he’s raring to go. If we get to this time next year and we’re still in the same boat with him I’d probably be a bit more worried
Think he could be a great player for us
02-03-2021, 05:13 PM
Not really had a chance this season with his niggling injuries. Hopefully a good pre season means he’s raring to go. If we get to this time next year and we’re still in the same boat with him I’d probably be a bit more worried
Agree and good post.
02-03-2021, 05:31 PM
Agree and good post.
First for everything on both counts haha!
02-03-2021, 05:59 PM
02-03-2021, 06:04 PM
He was nowhere near match fit for the semi final. You can't blame him for that though, the management team shoulder the consequences of that.
He certainly hasn't performed at a level id have hoped when we first signed him but he's not really had a change due to his injuries.
The time to judge him will be this time next season.
I still think (or possibly hope) that he will turn out to be a really good signing.
02-03-2021, 06:11 PM
You'll need to change your bio, "Ultimate Slaver" should be bestowed upon at least two others.
That's a good point
loanheadhibby
03-03-2021, 09:36 PM
Would it not be more accurate to say you hope he will be a great player for us.
So far he has shown absolutely nothing.
03-03-2021, 09:45 PM
And I’d already provided an explanation as to why I think he’s shown absolutely nothing.
I am also confident that he’ll be a great player for us. Not through anything he’s shown so far but due to the fact the club tried so hard to secure his signature for some time
04-03-2021, 07:43 AM
We BOUGHT St Mirrens captain, their best player after he had a cruciate injury. He's had a stop start time at Hibs, because he's had a number of muscle injuries, probably attributed to his recovery from that cruciate.
Now Covid, he's not had it easy. To be perfectly honest, i'd never took any notice of him at St Mirren, but he needs a run of games to get fit, get match fit and get confident his body has recovered sufficiently to let him play and express himself without worry.
I dont think now is the time to judge him.
04-03-2021, 08:36 AM
Not true.
04-03-2021, 08:52 AM
Not true.
For Hibs? It is true.
04-03-2021, 08:54 AM
We BOUGHT St Mirrens captain, their best player after he had a cruciate injury. He's had a stop start time at Hibs, because he's had a number of muscle injuries, probably attributed to his recovery from that cruciate.
Now Covid, he's not had it easy. To be perfectly honest, i'd never took any notice of him at St Mirren, but he needs a run of games to get fit, get match fit and get confident his body has recovered sufficiently to let him play and express himself without worry.
I dont think now is the time to judge him.
Pretty much nailed it. :greengrin
04-03-2021, 08:59 AM
5 pages on a player who hasnt even had a chance to start his Hibs career is pretty special. Imagine once he get fit!
04-03-2021, 09:07 AM
5 pages on a player who hasnt even had a chance to start his Hibs career is pretty special. Imagine once he get fit!
I’m only speaking for myself, but I’d imagine everyone who thinks he’s been a disappointing signing, would still say they can’t wait for him to be fit and doing what he’s capable of.
It’s not his fault he’s been injured.
For me, the club knew he was injured, we don’t have a budget that’s big enough we can spend money on someone who can’t play. Budget should have been used better.
04-03-2021, 09:16 AM
I’m only speaking for myself, but I’d imagine everyone who thinks he’s been a disappointing signing, would still say they can’t wait for him to be fit and doing what he’s capable of.
For me, the club knew he was injured, we don’t have a budget that’s big enough we can spend money on someone who can’t play. Budget should have been used better.
Depends. As it turns out once his loan finished Greg Docherty was out of our price range. If we got a player who we couldn’t afford normally because we’ve taken him a year before the optimal time and still have four years of him then that’s good business IMO.
04-03-2021, 09:22 AM
The club has to plan longer term, though. They cant just sign short term solutions. Its clear from our league performance we can afford him, because we're currently on course for an excellent league season.
04-03-2021, 09:35 AM
The club has to plan longer term, though. They cant just sign short term solutions. Its clear from our league performance we can afford him, because we're currently on course for an excellent league season.
We are on course for an excellent season, but that doesn’t mean everything has been excellent.
Drey Wright has been a poor signing. He might end up doing brilliant. Who knows? Doesn’t mean he’s been a good signing to this point, just because the season has gone well. Same applies to the signing of Magennis.
loanheadhibby
04-03-2021, 11:17 AM
For Hibs? It is true.
The lads pretty much missed 18 months of football. Not a great signing to date, that’s for sure.
04-03-2021, 11:25 AM
Agreed. It would be shortsighted to dismiss potentially good signings simply because they are injured.
04-03-2021, 11:49 AM
For Hibs? It is true.
Well I can’t make you appreciate the difference between a good player and an average one.
In his few appearances so far I’ve seen the way Magennis shows for the ball and the way he receives the ball, and I’m satisfied we’ve got a proper footballer here.
It’s all about him getting in the best shape physically now.
04-03-2021, 11:59 AM
Well I can’t make you appreciate the difference between a good player and an average one.
In his few appearances so far I’ve seen the way Magennis shows for the ball and the way he receives the ball, and I’m satisfied we’ve got a proper footballer here.
It’s all about him getting in the best shape physically now.
I don’t need you to explain what a good footballer is, thanks very much. I’ve also never said anything disparaging about Magennis ability as a footballer.
He’s not been a good signing. We paid a relatively large amount of money, for Hibs, for someone who’s not contributed anything so far.
04-03-2021, 12:03 PM
I don’t need you to explain what a good footballer is, thanks very much. I’ve also never said anything disparaging about Magennis ability as a footballer.
He’s not been a good signing. We paid a relatively large amount of money, for Hibs, for someone who’s not contributed anything so far.
His contribution so far and whether or not he has been a good signing are two different things.
04-03-2021, 12:08 PM
His contribution so far and whether or not he has been a good signing are two different things.
I completely disagree. I expect our signings to contribute to the the team. That’s why we should sign them, and that’s what the success or failure of a signing should be judged on.
If he’s good next season, which is entirely possible, I’ll change my opinion on the signing.
loanheadhibby
04-03-2021, 12:09 PM
How are they 2 different things? His contribution/appearances have been poor and therefore, at this point it’s been a poor signing.
Maybe this time next year we’ll see what he offers but to date, it’s minimal at best.
04-03-2021, 12:19 PM
For Hibs? It is true.
Maggenis has shown quality in flashes - not as much as we might have hoped at this stage but it's been there.
04-03-2021, 12:20 PM
How are they 2 different things? His contribution/appearances have been poor and therefore, at this point it’s been a poor signing.
Maybe this time next year we’ll see what he offers but to date, it’s minimal at best.
I don't think we can say at this stage whether he's been a good or a poor signing.
Hibs will be disappointed that he hasn't had a run of games but I don't think either the club nor the player would be disappointed in how he's played when he has had time on the pitch.
They'll know exactly where is fitness is, and will have set their expectations accordingly. Disappointment would have come if they'd expected him to be terrific right from the word go and the reality was much different.
My thoughts are that they'll have an idea of what he was reasonably capable of and based their expectations on that.
04-03-2021, 12:23 PM
I completely disagree. I expect our signings to contribute to the the team. That’s why we should sign them, and that’s what the success or failure of a signing should be judged on.
If he’s good next season, which is entirely possible, I’ll change my opinion on the signing.
We've signed him on a long contract.
What you are talking about is his form or contribution so far. That is different to whether he is a good signing or not.
There's far more to judging the value of a signing than form, particularly when he has been injured. We are buying his potential, the fact that other teams can't now sign him etc.
I don't think anyone is arguing that he hasn't really contributed, that doesn't mean you have to equate it to a bad signing.
04-03-2021, 12:24 PM
I don't think we can say at this stage whether he's been a good or a poor signing.
Hibs will be disappointed that he hasn't had a run of games but I don't think either the club nor the player would be disappointed in how he's played when he has had time on the pitch.
They'll know exactly where is fitness is, and will have set their expectations accordingly. Disappointment would have come if they'd expected him to be terrific right from the word go and the reality was much different.
My thoughts are that they'll have an idea of what he was reasonably capable of and based their expectations on that.
I think both Hibs and the player will both be disappointed with how he’s played when he’s been on the pitch.
04-03-2021, 12:24 PM
I will tell you what's two different things, his contributions and his appearances.
His number of appearances is a disappointment.
His contribution when he's played has been ok, nothing special but not hopeless by any manner.
04-03-2021, 12:28 PM
What you are talking about is his form or contribution so far. That is different to whether he is a good signing or not.
There's far more to judging the value of a signing than form, particularly when he has been injured. We are buying his potential, the fact that other teams can't now sign him etc.
I don't think anyone is arguing that he hasn't really contributed, that doesn't mean you have to equate it to a bad signing.
Surely all that matters is a players form or contribution ? Potential is pointless unless there is a product on the pitch. Based on this season it’s hard to argue he has been anything other than a bad signing. Hopefully moving forward that viewpoint will change though.
04-03-2021, 12:31 PM
I assume you’re not judging Drey Wright as a poor signing, up to this point, either then? Seeing as we signed him for 2 years, and he’d had a long term injury in the not too distant past as well. We shouldn’t judge him til next season?
Wrights played 22 times, Magennis 15. Should they be judged differently?
04-03-2021, 12:38 PM
I assume you’re not judging Drey Wright as a poor signing, up to this point, either then? Seeing as we signed him for 2 years, and he’d had a long term injury in the not too distant past as well. We shouldn’t judge him til next season?
Instead of labelling players just let them play. If Magennis leaves us for nothing after 4 years because he’s produced nothing then he’ll have been a poor signing. If he goes onto be successful and either produces for us or makes us plenty money then he’ll be a huge success.
04-03-2021, 12:47 PM
Instead of labelling players just let them play. If Magennis leaves us for nothing after 4 years because he’s produced nothing then he’ll have been a poor signing. If he goes onto be successful and either produces for us or makes us plenty money then he’ll be a huge success.
I wouldn’t really say I’m labelling anyone.
Are you one of the few football fans in the world who never say anything negative about a player? Or is it just about Magennis that we shouldn’t have an opinion?
Look at Van De Beek at Man Utd for a comparison, he’s been a poor signing for Man Utd. It’s not his fault, I’m not saying he’s **** and will never be good enough. I’m just pointing out that he’s not been a good signing. The same as I am with Magennis.
I don’t really understand why that’s in any way controversial? We paid money for a player (we don’t do that particularly often) who hasn’t performed well. Regardless of the reason, it’s been a poor signing so far.
04-03-2021, 01:05 PM
Are you one of the few football fans in the world who never say anything negative about a player? Or is it just about Magennis that we shouldn’t have an opinion?
Look at Van De Beek at Man Utd for a comparison, he’s been a poor signing for Man Utd. It’s not his fault, I’m not saying he’s **** and will never be good enough. I’m just pointing out that he’s not been a good signing. The same as I am with Magennis.
I don’t really understand why that’s in any way controversial? We paid money for a player (we don’t do that particularly often) who hasn’t performed well. Regardless of the reason, it’s been a poor signing so far.
We actually do these days. :greengrin
04-03-2021, 01:13 PM
He hasn't performed well? If Al Pacino gets sick and doesn't star in the Godfather films will that go down as a poor performance? Give the boy a change to perform and then lets judge eh.
04-03-2021, 01:17 PM
There’s no need to be negative about him. He’s not been *****, he’s shown enough in his career to be optimistic once injuries are a thing of the past that he’ll be a very good player and therefore a very good signing.
04-03-2021, 01:20 PM
He hasn't performed well? If Al Pacino gets sick and doesn't star in the Godfather films will that go down as a poor performance? Give the boy a change to perform and then lets judge eh.
If Al Pacino was signed up to star in the films then got sick and didn’t contribute, and they made the films without Michael Corleone, but Pacino was still paid...then yeah I’d say it was a poor signing.
04-03-2021, 01:28 PM
If Al Pacino was signed up to star in the films then got sick and didn’t contribute, and they made the films without Michael Corleone, but Pacino was still paid...then yeah I’d say it was a poor signing.
But you were talking about his performance. He hasn't performed yet - so once he does that then we can judge him.
04-03-2021, 01:48 PM
But you were talking about his performance. He hasn't performed yet - so once he does that then we can judge him.
He’s played in 15 games, not particularly well.
I’m judging him now, based on his contribution to the team. Dunno how many times I have to say it?
04-03-2021, 02:02 PM
Those stats on appearances are out of context, Wright has more than double the amount of minutes played than Magennis.
Magennis has only played 400 minutes of football for us, most of which has been off the bench, unlike Wright who has started plenty of games.
IMO, they can and should be judged differently as Wright has played much more football for us, and has been been fit for selection almost the whole season, whereas Magennis has had two separate injuries that each kept him out for several weeks after recovering from his cruciate ligament and now has COVID.
04-03-2021, 02:04 PM
I’m judging him now, based on his contribution to the team. Dunno how many times I have to say it?
How many starts has he had in the league, 2?
I don't think he played particularly poorly in either of them from what I remember.
If you're confident enough to be able to properly judge a player based on 10 minute cameo sub appearances then fair enough, but I know I'm certainly not.
04-03-2021, 02:13 PM
How many starts has he had in the league, 2?
I don't think he played particularly poorly in either of them from what I remember.
If you're confident enough to be able to properly judge a player based on 10 minute cameo sub appearances then fair enough, but I know I'm certainly not.
Ross county and dundee united IRCC. Scored in 1, hit the post in the other.
04-03-2021, 02:26 PM
Ross county and dundee united IRCC. Scored in 1, hit the post in the other.
Sell him. :greengrin
04-03-2021, 02:30 PM
If it’ll stop folk greeting then I’ll change my mind. He’s actually been a great signing, and money well spent based on what we’ve got out of him.
04-03-2021, 02:33 PM
If it’ll stop folk greeting then I’ll change my mind. He’s actually been a great signing, and money well spent based on what we’ve got out of him.
Good lad. :aok:
04-03-2021, 02:44 PM
Hoo-ah!
04-03-2021, 04:28 PM
hibeejeebies
04-03-2021, 05:47 PM
Hoo-ah!
Hibs are signing Al Pacino? 😯
04-03-2021, 06:03 PM
Al would stiffen up that midfield.
04-03-2021, 06:31 PM
Sounds good to me.
Al would stiffen up that midfield.
I've changed my mind. We've got enough midfielders as it is.
04-03-2021, 06:36 PM
Sounds good to me.
I've changed my mind. We've got enough midfielders as it is.
Good luck to Jack with that one. Telling Al Pacino we don't want him.
04-03-2021, 06:47 PM
04-03-2021, 07:19 PM
The Paisley Pacino.
Sparface
04-03-2021, 07:28 PM
Some dreadful comments on here. He's coming back from a bad injury, picked up new niggles and contracted covid. Give the lad the support he needs. He's not had a decent run in the side for umpteen reasons but has looked decent from what I've seen. There's more to come so let's get behind him.
Robbo6-2
04-03-2021, 07:36 PM
Serious question but where is he going to play when he does get fit?
I thought he was a centre mid but played the majority out wide for us.
With Irvine, Newell and Gogic hes 4th choice imo. That's what surprises me the most, the fact we spent money on him and I dont think hes any better than what we have.
04-03-2021, 07:39 PM
Some dreadful comments on here. He's coming back from a bad injury, picked up new niggles and contracted covid. Give the lad the support he needs. He's not had a decent run in the side for umpteen reasons but has looked decent from what I've seen. There's more to come so let's get behind him.
Dreadful. Lol
For all the talk of bounce games, fitness etc, this is what Magennis said when he joined -
“I’ve played 45-minutes with the young boys at St Mirren and am feeling fit. I have been fully training for three or four weeks and I’ll be ready if the gaffer wants to put me in.
“It’s been very difficult having to rehab an ACL but I have done a good job and I am sure that I’m fit.”
Seems he certainly didn’t consider himself nearly as far off it as some on here would have you believe, and that’s before he got an hour as a sub over two games and 60 minutes as a starter twice within 2 weeks of signing.
thebausburst
04-03-2021, 07:58 PM
Was a gamble given his injury and it’s not (yet) paid off.
04-03-2021, 08:32 PM
Imagine ‘Scent of a Woman’ Pacino at the helm of Hibs TV though. I’d pay twice. Even blind he’d make more sense than the Hun balloon we have the now.