View Full Version : Nisbet and Porteous, shop window?

Greenio
24-02-2021, 02:14 PM
Odd situation to be in really.

The two most wanted and valued assets of the club not starting games.

If they are both going in the summer, can see the offers being less if they aren't getting the chance to perform?

24-02-2021, 02:16 PM

If they are both going in the summer, can see the offers being less if they aren't getting the chance to perform?

I would imagine if someone was offering millions of pounds they won’t do so on the basis of a few months when they’ve not got back into a winning side.

I also think both will play plenty football between now and the end of the season.

24-02-2021, 02:25 PM
Given how the club reacted to offers for Nisbet I doubt they want them in the shop window at all. I have a feeling we are building a decent squad for the league campaigns going forward. I would imagine both Porto and Nisbet are in those plans. Hibs will sell when it suits them best. Also who gets dropped to get them back into the team? The team is on a winning streak and it would be silly to change it just to squeeze these two into the first 11.

24-02-2021, 02:51 PM
Also a wee taste of reality for both, no guaranteed place and if you want a high move show us in training and on the pitch. TBH both players performances had dropped in recent weeks, so being on the bench will be no big surprise.

24-02-2021, 03:19 PM
Hibs are in a far better position come the summer. Would be no need to accept less than was offered desperately in January.

rossevenil
24-02-2021, 03:36 PM
4 games they`ve been dropped we have won all 4,granted Ryan came on and scored against St Mirren but why bring them back if its working without them? Sure their time will come but i`ll be honest I`m not sure we are missing them at the moment,and even when he comes on
I don`t think Nisbet has had any real impact.

ElginHibbie
24-02-2021, 03:40 PM
Securing third is the priority, while the current team keeps winning and stays fit they can wait

24-02-2021, 04:34 PM

The summer will take care of itself, third or higher is rightly the priority just now!

24-02-2021, 05:19 PM

First priority has to be results and the team are getting better ones without them in it at the moment

24-02-2021, 05:23 PM

They maybe valued assets but they still need to earn their spot in the starting 11.

They’ll need to work very hard to get back in.

As for offers, teams will know we won’t be mucked about so they need to pay what we value them at.

24-02-2021, 05:23 PM
If the offers aren't good they won't be moving.

24-02-2021, 05:27 PM
I think Nisbet will start the next game, either in place or Doidge or Murphy. Most likely Doidge.

Thought he looked really sharp on Saturday when he came on and was much more of a goal threat Doidge had been.

Doidge has been important to us and whilst I don’t think he’s been brilliant, he makes it awkward and is a good foil for Boyle. He’s now not scored in something like 13 games though.

24-02-2021, 05:29 PM

It’s not that odd really. Young central defender gets dropped , an auld heid comes in and plays well, steadying the team and shoring up a defence that was looking well ropey.

Equally Nisbet was looking out of form. Doidge isn’t scoring either, but he’s teaming up well with Boyle who has had a change of role and is scoring consistently.

Both need to earn their place in the side and the guys who keep winning games will be doing their best to stay in the team. A masterclass in man management and tactical awareness from our manager.

shetlandhibee
24-02-2021, 05:46 PM
They maybe valued assets but they still need to earn their spot in the starting 11.

They’ll need to work very hard to get back in.

As for offers, teams will know we won’t be mucked about so they need to pay what we value them at.

:top marksand a bit of reality for both players as well IMO no player is bigger than the club, boths form had dipped they can have no complaints, fight for the right of the jersey lads i hope you have a long wait:agree:

1875Sean
24-02-2021, 07:31 PM
In hindsight we should have took the money, doubt we will get more in the summer unless they back in the team and hit form

24-02-2021, 07:34 PM
The team won’t stay the same until the end of the season. Even when winning you need to freshen it up and change to each games needs. ‘Don’t change a winning team’ is something I’d expect to hear in the 70’s. Last week we brought Newell in because it suits him better. We were garbage against St Mirren and those two players changed the game coming on yet we give credit to the starters. Nisbet and Porteous will play a big part of our last 8 games.

24-02-2021, 07:35 PM
In hindsight we should have took the money, doubt we will get more in the summer unless they back in the team and hit form

We might see a feel good factor in the summer if the end of this pandemic is actually in sight. Clubs might go on a spending spree to celebrate.

Let’s slap a price tag of £20m on each and see if anyone bites.

24-02-2021, 07:37 PM

No ambition.

Do we just drop our drawers at the first sign of cash?

24-02-2021, 07:37 PM

They both add to the squad. They are excellent replacements if someone gets injured or suspended. Both will have a big part to play in the remaining games so definitely think it was right not to sell. What Aberdeen would give for a player like Nisbet right now and we've got him on the bench while winning game after game. Surely that will get in their heads in the race for 3rd. Any advantage is worth it.

24-02-2021, 07:54 PM
Squad game. ‘nuff said.

Greenio
24-02-2021, 08:12 PM

This was what I was getting at.

Sure Nisbet would have been told hell get his move in the summer seeing as he showed he wants it.

Not staying we should have sold.

But imo, we ain't going to get what was on the table for either given the changed circumstances

1875Sean
24-02-2021, 08:54 PM
No ambition.

Do we just drop our drawers at the first sign of cash?

No but I don’t think Nisbet and Porto are worth much more to be honest, all good thinking you might get more but look at teams like Aberdeen, they could have had around £8m for McKenna, held off and ended up getting around £3m

24-02-2021, 09:12 PM
No but I don’t think Nisbet and Porto are worth much more to be honest, all good thinking you might get more but look at teams like Aberdeen, they could have had around £8m for McKenna, held off and ended up getting around £3m

Who offered them £8m???

24-02-2021, 09:14 PM
Who offered them £8m???

Hearts :greengrin

1875Sean
24-02-2021, 09:16 PM
Who offered them £8m???

Aston Villa supposed to have offer them it when they were in the championship, sure it was supposed to be £6.5 mill up front then add ons, crazy they rejected it

24-02-2021, 09:18 PM

Thankfully the powers at Hibs decided they are worth more. We could’ve sold Nisbet, lost Doidge to injury and then been goosed for the second half of the season. Even if we got the same £3m in the summer it’s a far better time to sell. However, who’s to say ours might no go the other way, reject the £3m and get £5m? Would you still be saying we should’ve sold him in January then?

24-02-2021, 09:25 PM
Hope I'm wrong, but I don't think we'll ever get a better offer for Nisbet. But there's nothing more important than Hibs winning games and whilst he's here we have a better squad so I'm glad we turned it down. Porteous I think should be worth more than what Millwall were offering.

The financial landscape is changing though with Scotland's co-efficient improving- we can now make money through sustained good performance by the team as a whole, which is a much better incentive than purely being a showcase for young talent.

Greenio
24-02-2021, 09:27 PM
Hope I'm wrong, but I don't think we'll ever get a better offer for Nisbet. But there's nothing more important than Hibs winning games and whilst he's here we have a better squad so I'm glad we turned it down. Porteous I think should be worth more than what Millwall were offering.

The financial landscape is changing though with Scotland's co-efficient improving- we can now make money through sustained good performance by the team as a whole, which is a much better incentive than purely being a showcase for young talent.

Interesting way of looking at it.

24-02-2021, 09:29 PM
Given how the club reacted to offers for Nisbet I doubt they want them in the shop window at all. I have a feeling we are building a decent squad for the league campaigns going forward. I would imagine both Porto and Nisbet are in those plans. Hibs will sell when it suits them best. Also who gets dropped to get them back into the team? The team is on a winning streak and it would be silly to change it just to squeeze these two into the first 11.

Hibs won’t keep unhappy players look how that has worked out for Celtic this year. If they want to go they will both go it will be all about trying to get the best deals.

Personally if we get third and the transfer window allows it I would ask them to stay for the European qualifying round then let them leave with our blessing.

24-02-2021, 09:44 PM

As long as he gets back to doing what he was doing, we’ll get at least an equivalent offer. He’s a good player, he’ll be back in the team before too long.

24-02-2021, 09:48 PM
Hibs won’t keep unhappy players look how that has worked out for Celtic this year. If they want to go they will both go it will be all about trying to get the best deals.

Personally if we get third and the transfer window allows it I would ask them to stay for the European qualifying round then let them leave with our blessing.

Who at Celtc wanted to go and wasn’t allowed?

Edouard? Top scorer in the league.
Ajer? One of their best players this season.

I don’t think keeping players who wanted to leave has been Celtcs problem this season.

24-02-2021, 09:49 PM
Plenty games left for both to be involved in. I’m glad we’ve stuck with a winning team.

CB Hibs 68
24-02-2021, 10:01 PM
Who would run a football club.One minute you are applauded for turning down what could be considered fairly derisory offers from two poor English championship teams for two of our best young talents. Fast forward a couple of weeks and some fans are thinking we should have taken what was on the table.Look time will tell but I think both Nisbet and Porteous will get back into the team and there value will grow Nisbet in particular should thank his lucky stars that we didn't sell him to Birmingham as they are a club in freefall.

24-02-2021, 10:17 PM
Who would run a football club.One minute you are applauded for turning down what could be considered fairly derisory offers from two poor English championship teams for two of our best young talents. Fast forward a couple of weeks and some fans are thinking we should have taken what was on the table.Look time will tell but I think both Nisbet and Porteous will get back into the team and there value will grow Nisbet in particular should thank his lucky stars that we didn't sell him to Birmingham as they are a club in freefall.
#
Too many on here spend all their time moaning about what the club does.

24-02-2021, 10:47 PM
Porteous is going nowhere in the summer.
He simply isn't ready yet. Improving but more to learn.
When he is ready we will be wanting a lot more than £1 million for him.
and
we need him for next season. Daz will be 36 in the summer so this season might be his last harrah.

Nisbet - re the £3 million fee offered, it would have been addontastic and we would have been lucky to have received £2 million in installments for him with the other £1 million dying when the duffers of Birmingham fail to get promoted etc.
We might sell him in the summer or we might keep him for the European campaign and sell him in January if the money is right.

Route back into the team?
Perhaps Porteous in for McGinn who deserves a rest
Getting Nisbet in is more difficult given the Doidge/Boyle combo is working so well
Would Nisbet for Murphy work or are we better sticking with the uniqueness of Murphy?

The luxury of choice is a good problem and not one a Hibs manager usually faces.

24-02-2021, 11:14 PM
We might see a feel good factor in the summer if the end of this pandemic is actually in sight. Clubs might go on a spending spree to celebrate.

Let’s slap a price tag of £20m on each and see if anyone bites.

Does the ‘m’ stand for monopoly? :greengrin

24-02-2021, 11:27 PM
Does the ‘m’ stand for monopoly? :greengrin

We’ve just got to move the dial.

No one wants to miss the next SJM.

25-02-2021, 11:49 AM
They’ll play their part in the run in. Players get injured, suspended and lose form. Football is a squad game now. But it shows all the players no one is bigger than the club. Rocky and Irvine have been told the same. There’s a contract do you want it or not because we are moving forward.

25-02-2021, 12:23 PM
They’ll play their part in the run in. Players get injured, suspended and lose form. Football is a squad game now. But it shows all the players no one is bigger than the club. Rocky and Irvine have been told the same. There’s a contract do you want it or not because we are moving forward.

There’s a recent video of Marciano with his wife and wee boy on the Recast app ( probably on Hibs TV as well ) which, as we are all aware of, suggests he is perfectly happy here, so I assume it might be 50-50 in his case. Fingers crossed. Personally, I don’t think there’s much chance of Irvine re-signing. I hope they don’t do a Fyvie and try to leave it till the last minute. The club’s future is bigger than both of them.

25-02-2021, 12:26 PM
Hearts will be more interested in Josh Doig being in the shop window and Hibs selling him for £mm so they can get their £25k development fee 😂

26-02-2021, 03:18 PM
There’s a recent video of Marciano with his wife and wee boy on the Recast app ( probably on Hibs TV as well ) which, as we are all aware of, suggests he is perfectly happy here, so I assume it might be 50-50 in his case. Fingers crossed. Personally, I don’t think there’s much chance of Irvine re-signing. I hope they don’t do a Fyvie and try to leave it till the last minute. The club’s future is bigger than both of them.

Fyvie wasn't left until the last minute, his offer was on the table for ages but kept putting off signing it, he was given a deadline to sign it. He didn't and the offer was withdrawn. He eventually came back prepared to sign it but was too late.

26-02-2021, 03:48 PM
Fyvie wasn't left until the last minute, his offer was on the table for ages but kept putting off signing it, he was given a deadline to sign it. He didn't and the offer was withdrawn. He eventually came back prepared to sign it but was too late.

Wonder how much he regretted that.

There aren’t that many players who leave Hibs and go to a better club. For all the talk of there being more money elsewhere, it must be a pretty small percentage who leave and go on to make more or play at a better level.

26-02-2021, 04:12 PM
The Europa League would be an unbelievable shop window for them

26-02-2021, 04:12 PM

There aren’t that many players who leave Hibs and go to a better club. For all the talk of there being more money elsewhere, it must be a pretty small percentage who leave and go on to make more or play at a better level.

Biggest mistake of his career. Only 27 still.

26-02-2021, 04:19 PM

Indeed, I think he would admit that himself.

With the Hibs offer on the table he was trying to get a better deal. He gambled thinking he had the Hibs contract to fall back on, he lost.

Has never been the same player since.

26-02-2021, 04:42 PM

You’ve misunderstood my point. I didn’t mean that the club might leave it till the last minute. I said that I hoped Marciano and Irvine don’t leave it till the last minute and end up like Fyvie.

26-02-2021, 04:45 PM

Indeed Lucky. We are moving in the right direction and slowly but surely we have out and are continuing to put a good quality squad together. Europe (and group stages) would allow us to move even further in the right direction.

Whilst I’m not getting too carried away I’m sure JR and co will have it drummed into the players what they can actually achieve this season if they stay focussed

26-02-2021, 06:02 PM
You’ve misunderstood my point. I didn’t mean that the club might leave it till the last minute. I said that I hoped Marciano and Irvine don’t leave it till the last minute and end up like Fyvie.

Apologies, I did indeed misunderstand your point.

27-02-2021, 01:22 PM
Nisbet really needs tae be playing if he wants tae get anywhere near the Scotland squad in the summer.

27-02-2021, 01:29 PM
Nisbet really needs tae be playing if he wants tae get anywhere near the Scotland squad in the summer.

Yep. He might have thought about that when he tried to push through his move .....the teams winning so he can’t have any complaints at the moment, particularly as he was struggling to find form before the transfer stuff ...

27-02-2021, 01:33 PM
Yep. He might have thought about that when he tried to push through his move .....the teams winning so he can’t have any complaints at the moment, particularly as he was struggling to find firm before the transfer stuff ...

Expect him to be back and firing when he gets his chance. Hopefully learned a small lesson in diplomacy this time around. The higher he goes up the tree, and I’m sure he will, the less he’ll find he and his agent can influence movement. He’s a great prospect and Hibs will be good for him in realising that potential I’m sure

27-02-2021, 01:40 PM
When he gets back playing the spotlight will be well and truly on him, which means he will have to try harder and maybe more clubs will take notice..

27-02-2021, 02:00 PM
A lot of challenging things have happened in the young guys life in the last 9 months.
This wee spell on the sidelines will have taken the heat out that had built up and when he comes back he will be well mentally rested and ready to go for it again.

27-02-2021, 03:23 PM
Porteous is going nowhere in the summer.
He simply isn't ready yet. Improving but more to learn.
When he is ready we will be wanting a lot more than £1 million for him.
and
we need him for next season. Daz will be 36 in the summer so this season might be his last harrah.

Nisbet - re the £3 million fee offered, it would have been addontastic and we would have been lucky to have received £2 million in installments for him with the other £1 million dying when the duffers of Birmingham fail to get promoted etc.
We might sell him in the summer or we might keep him for the European campaign and sell him in January if the money is right.

Route back into the team?
Perhaps Porteous in for McGinn who deserves a rest
Getting Nisbet in is more difficult given the Doidge/Boyle combo is working so well
Would Nisbet for Murphy work or are we better sticking with the uniqueness of Murphy?

The luxury of choice is a good problem and not one a Hibs manager usually faces.

I’m not saying he will leave in the summer, but how can a player possibly not “be ready” to be bought and move on. Young players with potential get snapped-up for decent money all the time. And he’s no longer just a youngster with potential anyway.

There’s an argument for persuading him that Easter Road is the best place for him to develop just now.. but ruling out a move because he’s “simply not ready” just doesn’t make any sense to me.

On the overall topic thread... the two of them haven’t been starting because we’ve been winning. Simple as that for me.

We might see them both start the next game with the way today has gone. I think Nisbet at least will be back in.

Robbo6-2
27-02-2021, 07:27 PM
Porteous was excellent when he came on today.

Nisbet on other hand looks like his confidence is shot to pieces

27-02-2021, 08:54 PM

Fair summary that for me ...Porto will start next week . Nisbet might , but only due to Doidge performance level, not due to his ...

27-02-2021, 09:01 PM

Is it confidence where Nisbet is concerned? Or is it attitude because he didn’t get his move (that he asked for)?

He’s not started a game for over a month so he might just be lacking sharpness, but he did nothing when he came on today.

27-02-2021, 09:07 PM
Is it confidence where Nisbet is concerned? Or is it attitude because he didn’t get his move (that he asked for)?

He’s not started a game for over a month so he might just be lacking sharpness, but he did nothing when he came on today.

At risk of causing a riot, I’m not convinced yet that he’s all that good.

Strong start certainly, scored a few goals, but our team looked better once he wasn’t in it and it might be that having played against him a couple of times now defenders have sussed out how to play against him.

He’s still got time to improve his game etc but for me he’s got a long way to go before he can be considered too good for us and worthy of a multi million pound move.

May yet be a very good player, has certainly shown promise but has a lot yet to prove.

27-02-2021, 09:09 PM

Strong start certainly, scored a few goals, but our team looked better once he wasn’t in it and it might be that having played against him a couple of times now defenders have sussed out how to play against him.

He’s still got time to improve his game etc but for me he’s got a long way to go before he can be considered too good for us and worthy of a multi million pound move.

May yet be a very good player, has certainly shown promise but has a lot yet to prove.

I certainly think he has dipped a lot since his strong start..long before the transfer mess..

That said, his movement and finishing were excellent early on, so he’s obviously got a bundle of talent ...

27-02-2021, 09:16 PM

He’s obviously already worthy of a multi million pound move considering a team literally bid multi millions for him. He’s an outstanding talent who has scored goals at every level. Still our best centre forward and should be in the side every week.

27-02-2021, 09:20 PM

He definitely has something about him for me. I think he scores goals that nobody else at the club will, just the instinctive ones.

Think he made a mistake in January with the transfer request. It almost got forgotten about because we went on a winning run as it happened. I don’t think it reflected well on him though and he needs to get the head down and score a few goals between now and the end of the season.

27-02-2021, 10:52 PM
He definitely has something about him for me. I think he scores goals that nobody else at the club will, just the instinctive ones.

Think he made a mistake in January with the transfer request. It almost got forgotten about because we went on a winning run as it happened. I don’t think it reflected well on him though and he needs to get the head down and score a few goals between now and the end of the season.Yeh, him handing in a transfer request like that was nuts when you look back at it now. What was the guy thinking, I get he'll have his agent in his ear but come on.

I wonder how much that's affected relations and is impacting his current performance levels

27-02-2021, 11:00 PM
Indeed, I think he would admit that himself.

With the Hibs offer on the table he was trying to get a better deal. He gambled thinking he had the Hibs contract to fall back on, he lost.

Has never been the same player since.

I think shattering his knee was what caused the decline in his career rather than not signing a new deal with us.

27-02-2021, 11:12 PM

I respect your opinion, S, but I think he’s easily the best striker we’ve had since we enjoyed having Stokes and Cummings to select (I guess that’s not saying too much given what we’ve had since). Hopefully he’s either here long enough to prove that, or we get serious money for him to go and prove it elsewhere.

He has a first touch, movement and awareness that we’ve not had from a goal scorer in quite a while.

I remember a lot of .net posters keen to play down the quality of Shankland compared to both Doidge and Nisbet (before we signed him). I still think both Shankland and Kevin are two proper quality scottish strikers.. and for me only a fully fit and sharp Leigh Griffiths could claim to be ahead of them in that regard.

Greenio
28-02-2021, 08:07 AM
Yeh, him handing in a transfer request like that was nuts when you look back at it now. What was the guy thinking, I get he'll have his agent in his ear but come on.

I wonder how much that's affected relations and is impacting his current performance levels

I actually don't think it was nuts at all. He saw a chance to make the kind of money that might set him up for life by playing at a higher level of football on a bigger stage.

His loyalty to the club is prob on a par with the clubs loyalty to him, in that if he went off the boil majorly and wasn't cutting it any more, he'd be moved on, same as any club do to any player that doesn't make the cut.

It's a business.

I think he will be away in the summer, just for less that we got offered in Jan

Salisbury Hibby
28-02-2021, 08:22 AM
I actually don't think it was nuts at all. He saw a chance to make the kind of money that might set him up for life by playing at a higher level of football on a bigger stage.

His loyalty to the club is prob on a par with the clubs loyalty to him, in that if he went off the boil majorly and wasn't cutting it any more, he'd be moved on, same as any club do to any player that doesn't make the cut.

It's a business.

I think he will be away in the summer, just for less that we got offered in JanI think he'd be best advised not to. If he carries on like that, he'll get a reputation of always being a flight risk. Compare and contrast with SJM.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

28-02-2021, 08:53 AM

Think he made a mistake in January with the transfer request. It almost got forgotten about because we went on a winning run as it happened. I don’t think it reflected well on him though and he needs to get the head down and score a few goals between now and the end of the season.

Pretty much where I am. Made no sense at all for him to kick up given he is just in the door at our wonderful club. Wee bit disrespectful imo.

28-02-2021, 09:15 AM
Pretty much where I am. Made no sense at all for him to kick up given he is just in the door at our wonderful club. Wee bit disrespectful imo.

Not only that but to the first club who came calling. A club who may be in a big city but are utter pish. Doesn’t strike me that his agent was acting in his best interests.

Edinburgh Green
28-02-2021, 10:52 AM

It's a business.

I think he will be away in the summer, just for less that we got offered in Jan

The club showed its loyalty to him by giving him a 4 years deal on vastly improved terms than he was on. The very least he could do was to not ask for a transfer request 6 months later.

eaststandJJ
28-02-2021, 11:42 AM
Has Nisbet submitted a transfer request?

eaststandJJ
28-02-2021, 12:41 PM
Has Nisbet submitted a transfer request?

28-02-2021, 02:29 PM
I respect your opinion, S, but I think he’s easily the best striker we’ve had since we enjoyed having Stokes and Cummings to select (I guess that’s not saying too much given what we’ve had since). Hopefully he’s either here long enough to prove that, or we get serious money for him to go and prove it elsewhere.

He has a first touch, movement and awareness that we’ve not had from a goal scorer in quite a while.

I remember a lot of .net posters keen to play down the quality of Shankland compared to both Doidge and Nisbet (before we signed him). I still think both Shankland and Kevin are two proper quality scottish strikers.. and for me only a fully fit and sharp Leigh Griffiths could claim to be ahead of them in that regard.

He's good.

But let's be honest here, he's had a good half a season. The same as what someone like Jamie Maclaren had when he first showed up and look at how his second loan went (although there was probably A LOT more that contributed to that being poor than just Maclaren).

Someone offered us a massive opportunity to get a huge return on our investment and I said it at the time when it was kicking off but I felt that it was a mistake to not accept the bid for him. I'm yet to feel different in the 28 days since. I would be delightedly surprised if that level of offer comes back this summer, or the following windows.

03-03-2021, 06:45 PM
He's good.

But let's be honest here, he's had a good half a season. The same as what someone like Jamie Maclaren had when he first showed up and look at how his second loan went (although there was probably A LOT more that contributed to that being poor than just Maclaren).

Someone offered us a massive opportunity to get a huge return on our investment and I said it at the time when it was kicking off but I felt that it was a mistake to not accept the bid for him. I'm yet to feel different in the 28 days since. I would be delightedly surprised if that level of offer comes back this summer, or the following windows.

Don’t get me wrong - he’s still to prove he’s as good as I think he is. But I am a lot more excited about his talent than I was Jamie McLaren’s.

Certainly wouldn’t be the first time I’ve been spectacularly wrong of course!

CJHibby
24-03-2021, 12:36 AM
I think if we get good money for both in the summer it would be good business. I wish the pair of them all the success in the world but feel with Porteous, he makes far too many mistakes for my liking. He looks comfortable on the ball but finesse isn't a defender's priority..think more Darren McGregor, a much more commanding guardsman.

24-03-2021, 05:55 AM
I wouldn’t be playing Porteous right now - far too many mistakes that lead to goals.

We looked better with McGregor in the team, and I still think we should pick our best team over putting folk in the shop window.

There won’t be many players in the league flogging the sorts of goals Porteous is flogging on a weekly basis right now.

24-03-2021, 06:05 AM
I think he'd be best advised not to. If he carries on like that, he'll get a reputation of always being a flight risk. Compare and contrast with SJM.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

This ! Any player handing in a transfer request after just 6 months is nuts or very badly advised.

24-03-2021, 06:16 AM
I wouldn’t be playing Porteous right now - far too many mistakes that lead to goals.

We looked better with McGregor in the team, and I still think we should pick our best team over putting folk in the shop window.

There won’t be many players in the league flogging the sorts of goals Porteous is flogging on a weekly basis right now.

Likewise. I posted on the private forum the other day, but imo Daz whilst limited in appearances has put in the best performances out of all our centre halves this season.

He won’t be around forever, so whilst he is and performing at that level he should be the first centre half on the team sheet. I’d then say Hanlon plays ahead of Porteous.

24-03-2021, 06:25 AM
Porteous isn’t ready for a big move yet. Daz should definitely be in the team as he only has so much time left till it’s time to stop though it looks like he’s trying everything possiblebto play for a good while yet. Nisbet on the other hand is definitely a player who other clubs will be watching. He has what all good striker have,the knack of being in the right place to score and is a very composed finisher. His goal at Ross county looked simple only because his anticipation and his one at parkheid was very missable but he made it look easy. I’m sue hibs have their price so Kevin will know he’s not leaving till it’s met. Shows we’re doing something right when others want our players. Not the likes of Birmingham or millwall mind you. Nisbet would be ideal for Norwich imho.

24-03-2021, 06:27 AM
I honestly don't think Porto has had a great season at all...would not have concerned me 1 bit had he been sold in Jan...has let us down on numerous occasions this season - terrible in both Semis at Hampden and been too many individual errors from him like Sat. Bring back Daz for Top 6 games imho...him alongside Hanlon and McGinn is the best way to tackle these games

24-03-2021, 06:55 AM
I think if we get good money for both in the summer it would be good business. I wish the pair of them all the success in the world but feel with Porteous, he makes far too many mistakes for my liking. He looks comfortable on the ball but finesse isn't a defender's priority..think more Darren McGregor, a much more commanding guardsman.

Finesse is 100% a priority for any footballer if we want the game to improve. If Porto cuts out the daft mistakes that create chances for the opposition he will do just fine. It’s the mental side of his game that needs to improve.

CJHibby
24-03-2021, 10:29 AM
If Porteous could iron out the mistakes, he'd be some player. I hope he gets there.

cam75
24-03-2021, 05:14 PM
In his interview on you YouTube he holds his hands up and admitted his concentration needs to be 90mins other whys it can lead to the opposition scoring,also good to hear that he wants more goals in his game👍