23-02-2021, 03:49 PM
Fantastic News!

Green Reaper
23-02-2021, 03:50 PM
That is fantastic news😃

23-02-2021, 03:50 PM
Extra 2 year with an option of a further year. Great business. Hopefully Doig and Irvine follows.

mayo hibee
23-02-2021, 03:51 PM
Great news. The reference to European football is interesting - it sounds like it influenced his decision to stay and could well be a driver to keep others at the club beyond this season, Marciano and Irvine perhaps, might keep the likes of Doig here longer as well

23-02-2021, 03:52 PM
Happy with that

Fantastic news. If we can keep Irvine and rocky on longer deals it would be great.

Brilliant business, very happy that he's remaining. Such a skillful player.

Great news , top footballer . Hopefully more in the pipeline

hhibs
23-02-2021, 03:53 PM
That is good news ,some stability in he squad going forward with this and the Boyler deal.

23-02-2021, 03:55 PM
Great news. The reference to European football is interesting - it sounds like it influenced his decision to stay and could well be a driver to keep others at the club beyond this season, Marciano and Irvine perhaps, might keep the likes of Doig here longer as well

Imagine a full house at Easter road with European group stage games 😍

7 Up
Very good news.

Just_Jimmy
good news.

need rocky and Irvine next

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

aljo7-0
23-02-2021, 03:57 PM
Chuffed with that

23-02-2021, 04:00 PM
Absolutely fantastic news. If we can get Rocky and Jackson signed I'll be over the moon!

Keyser Sauzee
23-02-2021, 04:02 PM
Excellent news. I had resigned myself to him leaving, had a feeling he would have wanted to go back down to England but I was wrong. Good job Hibs!

23-02-2021, 04:02 PM
Delighted with this, quality player. Superb turnaround in Joe's Hibs career since JR came in.

23-02-2021, 04:03 PM
Joe Newell, New Dowell

23-02-2021, 04:05 PM
Great news ....

Mikey_1875
23-02-2021, 04:06 PM
Superb news, didn’t expect that at all. Great work all involved

23-02-2021, 04:07 PM
Another piece in next seasons jigsaw.
Rocky and Irvine next then we are only looking for strikers and centre halves in the summer?

Joe has only had 2 other clubs and spent 4 seasons at each so not a massive surprise he is staying.
Suspect the other pair will be more difficult to get over the line.

Rocky at 31 isn't.a kid and has only played for 2 clubs (excluding 6 games on loan in Belgium before Hibs).
His 2nd child will be born in the summer and his wife appears settled so I reckon the odds on him staying are probably 60/40.
Obviously if someone offers him big bucks to go elsewhere he will go.
Fingers crossed.

23-02-2021, 04:07 PM
Excellent news.

Magpie
23-02-2021, 04:08 PM
Really happy with that. Marciano and Irvine next please 🤞

23-02-2021, 04:09 PM
Very good news. We're quietly going about our business building a solid team. Come on Rocky, Jackson and Josh you know it makes sense.

23-02-2021, 04:13 PM
Brilliant

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

23-02-2021, 04:16 PM
Don’t rate him but fair enough.

23-02-2021, 04:21 PM
Great news, took him a bit to settle but a very good player at this level, whether as a starter or a squad player it gives the team stability and that's what we've not had for a bit.

23-02-2021, 04:24 PM
Great news, took him a bit to settle but a very good player at this level, whether as a starter or a squad player it gives the team stability and that's what we've not had for a bit.

Maybe shows other good players at lower end Championship clubs/high end League One clubs that coming up to Hibs is a good career move.

23-02-2021, 04:25 PM
Brilliant news, never thought I would have said that after his initial few games but he’s a top class player. Fantastic Hibs 👍👍🇳🇬

147lothian
23-02-2021, 04:28 PM
Its starting to fall into place for Jack Ross, and it seems like he's being supprted by the board, this is fantastic news.

23-02-2021, 04:28 PM
Fan-bloody-awesome ! Rocky, Irvine and a new deal for Doig and we're sorted !

23-02-2021, 04:30 PM
Fantastic news.

A central 3 of him, Irvine and Allan could be unbelievable as they can all offer different qualities and I imagine each other’s game would compliment the others.

Rocky, Irvine and Doig next.

23-02-2021, 04:32 PM
Very talented player who has had an excellent season. Great news. :flag:

23-02-2021, 04:37 PM
Irvine deal and Marciano please would be some start with only one or two additions needed in summer I think.

23-02-2021, 04:38 PM
Great news !

And is a statement of intent by RG to try hold onto our key players.

GonzoReturns
23-02-2021, 04:47 PM
Brilliant news 👏👏👏👏💚💚💚

23-02-2021, 04:55 PM
That is immense news. I was completely consigned to losing him in the summer to the English Championship. The guy is a brilliant footballer and exactly the level we want and need at Hibs to progress. We’ve got a brilliant squad tied down now - if we can get Marciano and Irvine done we are absolutely laughing.

23-02-2021, 04:58 PM
Nae body bit man. Great news that Joey stays a Hibee. Best years of his career tae.

23-02-2021, 05:03 PM
Superb news.

Ron Gordon-ponying up.

Crunchie
23-02-2021, 05:03 PM
Superb news and a superb player on his day.

23-02-2021, 05:07 PM
Maybe shows other good players at lower end Championship clubs/high end League One clubs that coming up to Hibs is a good career move.

Think it shows Hibs are a good club.

Don’t doubt Newell would have had interest but I never thought it would be the level of interest that a lot of other folk did. Might have got a few quid extra down south but I don’t think he’d have got a better club.

23-02-2021, 05:11 PM
Wants to get the ball down and play and isnt afraid of taking the ball in awkward/tight areas of the park because he is confident in his own ability. The kind of player i want to see at Hibs.

23-02-2021, 05:14 PM
That is fantastic news !

Honestly though he'd be off back down South , Brilliant !

HendoDelivered
23-02-2021, 05:16 PM
Thats made my day! Delighted.

23-02-2021, 05:19 PM
I’ve been critical of him at times but no doubt when he plays as he can he’s an excellent player. May not be a supported view on here considering how popular he was but for me he plays the role McGeouch did but at a better level.

23-02-2021, 05:20 PM
Great stuff.

23-02-2021, 05:23 PM
Good news. Hopefully Irvine stays as well as he’s the key to our midfield IMO.

23-02-2021, 05:24 PM
I don’t rate him as highly as others obviously do but pleased that JR is getting the players he wants.

Stability is key this summer. We don’t need wholesale changes, just a couple of tweaks.

23-02-2021, 05:26 PM
Didn't think he was going to sign . Good news

23-02-2021, 05:27 PM
I don’t rate him as highly as others obviously do but pleased that JR is getting the players he wants.

Stability is key this summer. We don’t need wholesale changes, just a couple of tweaks.

Agree, I think now with Irvine and Cadden we've got a potentially excellent team and the priority needs to be keeping it together

23-02-2021, 05:28 PM
Wants to get the ball down and play and isnt afraid of taking the ball in awkward/tight areas of the park because he is confident in his own ability. The kind of player i want to see at Hibs.

Very good summary.

23-02-2021, 05:29 PM
Great news and with a fit again Scott Allan we have a core of the midfield.

23-02-2021, 05:29 PM
That is immense news. I was completely consigned to losing him in the summer to the English Championship. The guy is a brilliant footballer and exactly the level we want and need at Hibs to progress. We’ve got a brilliant squad tied down now - if we can get Marciano and Irvine done we are absolutely laughing.

Irvine and Rocky and add a centre back and a forward in the summer and we are looking at a very good squad.

23-02-2021, 05:32 PM
The board have backed the manager superbly. Really fee like we're building something here.

zitelli62
23-02-2021, 05:37 PM
C'mon rocky and Irvine and Doig you know it makes sense or am I just dreaming.

23-02-2021, 06:12 PM

Strange post if you don’t rate him why would it be fair enough :confused:

Looks like a good player to me happy he has signed up :aok:

23-02-2021, 06:13 PM
Really good bit of news, that. Our midfield, IMHO, is very strong and we have some great options in there.

23-02-2021, 06:21 PM
Delighted by this, which I wouldn't have believed when he was my poster boy for Heckingbottom not having a clue.

Loved his good humoured reference to those of us who were sceptical about him back then, which was most of us :blushie:

Joe Newell on Twitter: "Delighted to extend my stay here at this great club and in this great city �� thank you for all the nice messages... bit different to 18 months ago ����" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/joe_newell93/status/1364274508522283009)

23-02-2021, 06:21 PM

Nae body bit man. Great news that Joey stays a Hibee. Best years of his career tae.

More u turns than Boris :greengrin

Gordy M
23-02-2021, 06:30 PM
For anyone who doesnt think that players dont read social media and web forums, should check his latest tweet:wink:

https://twitter.com/joe_newell93/status/1364274508522283009?s=19

banchoryhibs
23-02-2021, 06:39 PM
I'm delighted with this news:thumbsup:

His new contract won't have been cheap and I've no doubt at all that the HSL donations have helped our club find the funds to make this happen:aok:

Superb effort by all :flag:

23-02-2021, 06:46 PM
Great to hear Joe committing to the Club for another couple of years. :thumbsup:

23-02-2021, 06:52 PM
Surprised at that. Good news though :agree:

23-02-2021, 06:58 PM
Delighted to read this news. Not just because we’ve kept a good player but it a fantastic statement of intent by the club 👍🏻

23-02-2021, 07:01 PM
More u turns than Boris :greengrin

That’s moi 🤣

Hibees1973
23-02-2021, 07:05 PM
Hibs Rolls-Royce.

Hope our pitch improves so he can play on it.

Pure footballer and more good news from the club.

All the best Joe and thanks Hibs.

23-02-2021, 07:07 PM
We simply could not have let that hair leave the club!

Great news (not actually because of the hair!).

We are getting our ducks in a row for next season already.

23-02-2021, 07:37 PM
Both surprised and delighted!

Another indication I wonder that our new owner is prepared to invest what is needed for us to be competitive as opposed to us just surviving?

23-02-2021, 07:50 PM
Both surprised and delighted!

Another indication I wonder that our new owner is prepared to invest what is needed for us to be competitive as opposed to us just surviving?

Think the past year has been unkind to Ron, he came out with what he wanted for hibs and the plans he had in store. Then the whole covid situation happened at the start of last year and income has been tight, think HSL has been a god send to us and I do think he is prepared to pony up. Do I think he will take us to the next level? It's certainly looking that way with our signings and the fees/wage we are prepared to spend to cement our place in the league. Don't think we will be bullied into selling anymore though, unless a mental offer comes in.

23-02-2021, 11:04 PM
Ron’s a ****.

23-02-2021, 11:06 PM
Ron’s a ****.

Big. Screen.

Perd Hapley
23-02-2021, 11:44 PM
The Tamworth Iniesta. Well in Joe, thought you'd be away in the summer for sure. Get us into Europe and the anglocentric numpties of Twitter will pipe doon, get us past the qualifiers and you'll make history

24-02-2021, 07:33 AM
Delighted with this. A gifted player who works hard and brings composure to the team. Great bit of business by the club.

24-02-2021, 08:42 AM
We simply could not have let that hair leave the club!

Great news (not actually because of the hair!).

We are getting our ducks in a row for next season already.

Playfully ruffling his own hair in the announcement photo.

The tease.

25-02-2021, 07:08 PM
Excellent interview on Hibs TV with Joe, interviewed by Kenny Millar

25-02-2021, 07:43 PM

Caught a clip on FB. Now we know why he really signed ..... golf courses :greengrin

25-02-2021, 09:05 PM

Do we get it free with season tickets ? Can never remember ?

26-02-2021, 05:57 AM
Caught a clip on FB. Now we know why he really signed ..... golf courses :greengrin

As long as he doesn’t go down the Owen Tudor-Jones route we’ll be fine - tweeted more about golf than football whilst mainly being injured.

26-02-2021, 09:53 AM
Fantastic news that Joe has extended. He has been among our best and most consistent performers this season and this means we can continue to build the squad rather than revert to the soul destroying cycle of relative-success/sell-off prized assets/restart again from mediocrity (if not worse) which most Hibs fans have become resigned to considering normality over the decades.

Following on from Martin Boyle's extension last summer though - when everyman and his dug had him sold as a fait acomplit - this inspires some hope in my battered Hibee soul that maybe - finally! - we've turned a corner and can look forward to a period of sustained season on season growth and success ON the pitch. Is this really happening or am I dreaming???

Monktonhall 7
26-02-2021, 09:56 AM
Fantastic news that Joe has extended. He has been among our best and most consistent performers this season and this means we can continue to build the squad rather than revert to the soul destroying cycle of relative-success/sell-off prized assets/restart again from mediocrity (if not worse) which most Hibs fans have become resigned to considering normality over the decades.

Following on from Martin Boyle's extension last summer though - when everyman and his dug had him sold as a fait acomplit - this inspires some hope in my battered Hibee soul that maybe - finally! - we've turned a corner and can look forward to a period of sustained season on season growth and success ON the pitch. Is this really happening or am I dreaming???

I agree 100% with your comments. We need some stability from the management team through to the squad. It would be great if they can continue to build on their reasonably solid start and have a good few seasons to evolve and improve.

Steve88
26-02-2021, 10:56 AM
Glad to hear he has signed. Interesting comment he made about receiving nice messages this time around from Hibs fans.

Reading between the lines he clearly still holds some bitterness at the abuse he was receiving towards the start.

Top bloke, onwards and upwards JN