View Full Version : Taking the knee

Pages : 1 [2]

09-06-2021, 10:37 AM

I'm still not defining anyone by race. It is a term coined for right wing men who rant about things of which they know very little and understand less and go red in the face doing so. Someone like Alan Brazil or Andrew Neil is an example.

I don't use the term personally but the term has nothing to do with race IMO.

09-06-2021, 10:46 AM
I'm still not defining anyone by race. It is a term coined for right wing men who rant about things of which they know very little and understand less and go red in the face doing so. Someone like Alan Brazil or Andrew Neil is an example.

I think the two previous posters are saying there was no need for the word ‘white’ to be included.

For what it’s worth - I don’t think you’re a racist person regardless of whether you use the word gammon.. and I don’t think it’s a racist term in the slightest 🙄

09-06-2021, 10:59 AM
I probably would if I’d ever heard it. Quote us an anti English rant and I’ll tell you for sure.

I’ve heard Scots make anti-English remarks and jokes, I’ve heard the same towards France and Germany from English and I’ve heard numerous variations from random people that joke about people from other countries.

I’ve never heard an SNP or independent voter (assume that’s what you qualify as a ‘Scot nat’) make their political case with an “anti English rant” though. It’s not like we’re looking to ‘send those English folk home’ or anything.

https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/scottish-independence/snp-councillor-accused-xenophobia-deleted-online-rant-english-dj-543280

09-06-2021, 11:34 AM
I think the two previous posters are saying there was no need for the word ‘white’ to be included.

For what it’s worth - I don’t think you’re a racist person regardless of whether you use the word gammon.. and I don’t think it’s a racist term in the slightest 🙄

You are probably right there.

09-06-2021, 12:08 PM
Surely defining a person by their race is racist? Red in the face is not a race.

Explain that to the Washington Redskins who were pretty much forced to change their name by Nike

09-06-2021, 12:10 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/scottish-independence/snp-councillor-accused-xenophobia-deleted-online-rant-english-dj-543280

She seems a bit of a controversial character but I’m not sure what bit I am meant to be reading as a racist rant, maybe the ads and paywall are covering some of it though.. where she says Scotland isn’t a holiday park and he should do some reading?

Assuming that is the bit you’re supplying (it’s not an example of someone making the case for independence/SNP) then to answer your question - no I wouldn’t call that out as racism, because it’s not.

I would question the character of the MSP based on what I’ve read though. Nothing more.

09-06-2021, 12:11 PM
Explain that to the Washington Redskins who were pretty much forced to change their name by Nike

Yeah, thats totally the same thing.

09-06-2021, 12:11 PM

You do understand the difference don't you?

09-06-2021, 12:15 PM
Yeah, thats totally the same thing.

I was jesting.

09-06-2021, 12:19 PM
Apropos of nothing in particular the use of terms such as 'woke', 'gammon' and 'Karen' get right on my thruppenies.

These and others seem to me lazy, dismissive, insular and almost deliberately playing into the whole culture-war false binary choice between them and us which right wingers in particular are keen to promote.

**** your extremes, 'mon the centrist dads.

09-06-2021, 12:50 PM
Apropos of nothing in particular the use of terms such as 'woke', 'gammon' and 'Karen' get right on my thruppenies.

These and others seem to me lazy, dismissive, insular and almost deliberately playing into the whole culture-war false binary choice between them and us which right wingers in particular are keen to promote.

**** your extremes, 'mon the centrist dads.

I agree with this, but from a far-left point of view.

09-06-2021, 01:29 PM
Is gammon not a racist slur then ?

It's not part of a societal problem that ruins lives and effects millions of people on a daily basis.

The only people who think 'gammon' is a term that can cause actual harm do so in order to play down racism, or to feel like geniuses by pointing out superficial 'hypocricy'.

I'd recommend reading 'Natives' by Akala to get a picture of what black-british people experience.

09-06-2021, 01:35 PM
^^^
Or listen to any Fire in the Booth session with Akala on YouTube :aok:

09-06-2021, 02:10 PM
Do you include some Scot. Nats anti English rants as racist ?

Yes I would

09-06-2021, 02:14 PM

That SNP councillor sounds like a xenophobic moron. Although, it does seem she apologised and deleted her Twitter account. If only ***** like Farage and Fox would do the same.

In the main, Scots nationalism is a world away from English nationalism, although the online vitriol can be just as bad.

09-06-2021, 05:48 PM

I hope there's gammon women too or you'll be up for sexism . Can't have men only clubs in 2021 , gotta move with the times

cappoquinboy
09-06-2021, 05:56 PM
men who rant about things of which they know very little and understand less and go red in the face doing so

Seems entirely appropriate for this forum at the moment

green leaves
09-06-2021, 08:24 PM

Can someone from the Bame community be a gammon?

09-06-2021, 08:41 PM

Even if the word 'gammon' used in this sense is racist, do you think it's harmful?

Do you think it's racist if a white person calls another white person a 'gammon', even if it is a racist word?

Why do you care?

09-06-2021, 08:48 PM

James Cleverley - big gammon vibes from him.

09-06-2021, 08:59 PM
Q-Why do you care?

A-Whataboutery.

09-06-2021, 09:24 PM

I don’t know. I’ve never used the word and only learned what it actually means today.

Calmbegbie
09-06-2021, 09:33 PM
Do you include some Scot. Nats anti English rants as racist ?

As a Scot living in England i would contend that there is more anti Scottishness down here than anti Englishness up there. There has been since devolution a strong undercurrent in England and its media that quite frankly, if written about BAME communities, would be considered racist. I’m referring to articles written by the likes of Kelvin Mackenzie and Richard littlejohn to name but two. Reading them and some of these stances, people would think Scotland only exists because of the English and that we are all tartaned knuckle dragging benefit junkies

09-06-2021, 10:11 PM
As a Scot living in England i would contend that there is more anti Scottishness down here than anti Englishness up there. There has been since devolution a strong undercurrent in England and its media that quite frankly, if written about BAME communities, would be considered racist. I’m referring to articles written by the likes of Kelvin Mackenzie and Richard littlejohn to name but two. Reading them and some of these stances, people would think Scotland only exists because of the English and that we are all tartaned knuckle dragging benefit junkies

That's not my experience at all but I suppose it depends where you are. Most English folk seem full of admiration for the Scots and some have wondered if Sturgeon would care to stand as UK pm!
People like Littlejohn and Mackenzie exist to cause offence- bit like the old firm up in Scotland!
The trick is not to read their outpourings.

green leaves
09-06-2021, 10:28 PM
Even if the word 'gammon' used in this sense is racist, do you think it's harmful?

Do you think it's racist if a white person calls another white person a 'gammon', even if it is a racist word?

Why do you care?

Because I abhor racism in all its forms,using an insult based on someone's skin colour is racist even if the person it's directed at is a fascist,intolerant racist bigot

09-06-2021, 10:56 PM
Because I abhor racism in all its forms,using an insult based on someone's skin colour is racist even if the person it's directed at is a fascist,intolerant racist bigot

sorry, but i'm not buying that. do you literally abhor one white person calling another white person 'gammon'? what about when a black person calls a white person 'cracker'?

can you not see that there is an absolute world of difference between the above examples and what i would consider actual racism, i.e. race being used as an insult in a way that is actually harmful to someone?

one of the working definitions of the word 'racism' is that it is when prejudice and power intersect. googling a definition of racism throws this up: "prejudice, discrimination, or antagonism by an individual, community, or institution against a person or people on the basis of their membership of a particular racial or ethnic group, typically one that is a minority or marginalized."

the black community is both a minority, and is marginalized on the basis of their being black people. though some white people are maginalized based on a variety of things, their skin colour is not one of them.

10-06-2021, 06:35 AM

It’s not.

10-06-2021, 09:00 AM
https://twitter.com/bbccomedy/status/1016951590102667269

Essential viewing

10-06-2021, 09:04 AM

For what it’s worth - I don’t think you’re a racist person regardless of whether you use the word gammon.. and I don’t think it’s a racist term in the slightest ��

I think quite the opposite is true, he seems to care a lot (going by what he posts) about race issues, which is quite admirable.

My post was actually intended in a light-hearted way to comment on a bit of a boo-boo in his logic, which seemed funny at the time.

FWIW, I think gammon is mildly racist, but the racism suffered by non-white people in their everyday lives is way off the scale in comparison.

10-06-2021, 10:01 AM

James Cleverley - big gammon vibes from him.

Priti Patel is very gammony.

As is that troubled Pakistani Rangers fan who was signing a defamatory song about his own family.

H18S NX
10-06-2021, 10:13 AM

Essential viewing....Brilliant:aok::top marks

10-06-2021, 11:40 AM

Essential viewing

:top marksIt’s funny cause it’s true.

Brilliant.

10-06-2021, 12:15 PM

Brilliant.

I found it amusing too and accurate of some people today.

The problem is when people file everything e.g. standing up to racists or objecting to booing of anti-racism under the same category, so basically people can continue behaving however they want and saying what they like, because it’s everyone else’s fault for being too “woke”.

10-06-2021, 12:28 PM

Brilliant.

Yes it’s funny.

But please let’s rise above the tribal culture war that many (including UK government) is fostering. We are better than that.

It’s easy to mock young people and their naive opinions. But there’s more - a lot more - to it than that.

10-06-2021, 03:02 PM
It’s just a comedy sketch folks, take a breather!

11-06-2021, 02:03 PM
Interesting development in Scotland now deciding to take the knee at Wembley while standing against racism in other games. Not sure what to make of it wouldn't like to think SFA were cowtowing to red top press however happy if this was player driven and looking to show solidarity with English players.

11-06-2021, 02:31 PM
Interesting development in Scotland now deciding to take the knee at Wembley while standing against racism in other games. Not sure what to make of it wouldn't like to think SFA were cowtowing to red top press however happy if this was player driven and looking to show solidarity with English players.

I think it is player solidarity and probably driven by the Scottish players who ply their trade in England.

11-06-2021, 02:36 PM

The England players, many of them black, want to take the knee for a few seconds despite being booed by their own fans. I think Scotland kneeling with them at that game despite doing their own thing at the other games speaks volumes and is a great gesture of solidarity.

11-06-2021, 03:01 PM
The boo boys are scared of being thought to be woke. It's embarrassing to them.
What's wrong with being woke for a brief moment?
There are worse things in the world.

11-06-2021, 03:08 PM

I think it's the opposite of cowtowing to the press. The likes of Toby Young, Julia Hartley Brewer, Laurence Fox.....(**** every one of them) were praising Scotland yesterday for standing. As Steve Clarke says, they were misrepresenting Scotland's position.

Kneeling in solidarity with England does not allow the team's view to be hijacked by these morons.

11-06-2021, 03:24 PM
Just take the knee full stop.

11-06-2021, 03:28 PM
I heard on BBC Scotland someone saying how it could potentially look to the worldwide audience when a team that might include quite a few black players are taking the knee for England whilst the entirely white Scottish team stood.

I don't know what to think of it to be honest. If the squad had made the decision to stand, and it was to take a stand against all racism is how I heard it originally put across, then what has made them change their minds.

11-06-2021, 03:33 PM
Why did they change from kneeling to standing anyway? Daft

11-06-2021, 03:51 PM
I think it's the opposite of cowtowing to the press. The likes of Toby Young, Julia Hartley Brewer, Laurence Fox.....(**** every one of them) were praising Scotland yesterday for standing. As Steve Clarke says, they were misrepresenting Scotland's position.

Kneeling in solidarity with England does not allow the team's view to be hijacked by these morons.

I try to ignore those chancers as much as possible, but I’m glad Scotland is sticking it to them.

11-06-2021, 05:42 PM

[emoji817]

11-06-2021, 05:58 PM

So footballers are saying that by standing they are also taking a stand against racism.

Will one gesture end racism more quickly than another one?

We are well into poppy style tick boxing territory here. What actions everyone is taking is important not squabbling about what type of gesture should be imposed.

11-06-2021, 06:59 PM

They have changed their mind they are kneeling now

11-06-2021, 07:51 PM
They have changed their mind they are kneeling now

Only in the England game - mainly so the racists can’t claim they agree with them.

11-06-2021, 08:00 PM
Only in the England game - mainly so the racists can’t claim they agree with them.

Okay, so at some point the players will have agreed that they should not take the knee in the other games. That must mean there actually is a debate to be had about whether it’s right to keep doing it or not? Unless they are being a bit racist in those other games?

11-06-2021, 09:00 PM

Just devalues doing it fir one game when everyone now knows they don’t agree with it and won’t be doing it for other games
Has there been an official reason given for the change for this one game ?

11-06-2021, 09:08 PM
Just devalues doing it fir one game when everyone now knows they don’t agree with it and won’t be doing it for other games

To demonstrate solidarity with England and their decision to take the knee.

It’s the correct decision, IMHO. Happy enough if we “take a stand” in the other games but i think the fact that morons will boo the English players taking the knee, the opportunity to show solidarity and metaphorically stand beside them in solidarity is there.

It’s a great decision, and the Scotland team deserve immense credit for their reading of the situation and the bravery to change their position for these specific circumstances.

11-06-2021, 09:11 PM

It’s the correct decision, IMHO. Happy enough if we “take a stand” in the other games but i think the fact that morons will boo the English players taking the knee, the opportunity to show solidarity and metaphorically stand beside them in solidarity is there.

It’s a great decision, and the Scotland team deserve immense credit for their reading of the situation and the bravery to change their position for these specific circumstances.

It saddens me that so many will boo taking the knee but that seems to be the undercurrent in England (and Eastern Europe) for a sizable minority. As an Englishman I'm proud that Scotlands team will kneel alongside our own players in a sign of solidarity.

11-06-2021, 09:13 PM
So footballers are saying that by standing they are also taking a stand against racism.

Will one gesture end racism more quickly than another one?

We are well into poppy style tick boxing territory here. What actions everyone is taking is important not squabbling about what type of gesture should be imposed.

Player dares to refuse to wear a poppy? Right wing media tear them apart and ***** send them vile abuse on social media.

Player dares to take the knee? Right wing media tear them apart and ***** send them vile abuse on social media.

I guess there is a similarity there after all.

11-06-2021, 09:42 PM

There’s a statement from Clarke and Robertson.

11-06-2021, 09:44 PM

:agree: ensure the racists have nothing to cling onto - leave them with the spurious nonsense about the politics of BLM.

11-06-2021, 10:01 PM
:agree: ensure the racists have nothing to cling onto - leave them with the spurious nonsense about the politics of BLM.

We all want solidarity and a level playing field. I don't know anything much about the BLM and their politics? What are their politics?

11-06-2021, 10:03 PM
Why would anyone boo players protesting against racism?

Don't bother answering, I think I know the answer.

11-06-2021, 10:03 PM
We all want solidarity and a level playing field. I don't know anything much about the BLM and their politics? What are their politics?

Lots of people clearly DON’T want either of those things.

11-06-2021, 10:15 PM
Lots of people clearly DON’T want either of those things.

Aye, fair do's. Cheers, God Bless and all who sails in the good ship Hibernian.

11-06-2021, 10:34 PM

https://www.spectator.co.uk/article/revealed-what-black-lives-matter-really-stands-for

Here is one summary of BLM’s politics. Don’t know how accurate it is, I’m sure there are other opinions out there.

11-06-2021, 10:38 PM

BLM isn't a monolithic entity with specific politics other than standing up to racism. There are people from all parts of the political spectrum involved, though generally it's from the centre to the left.

I agree with standing up to racism in football, because football is a domain in which racism often manifests itself. Personally, i think BLM sometimes provides cover for otherwise reactionary elements in society to appear progressive, but i think opposition to it has also revealed that racism and ignorance is still a problem and that these gestures still have a role to play in provoking debate and conversation.

11-06-2021, 10:40 PM
https://www.spectator.co.uk/article/revealed-what-black-lives-matter-really-stands-for

Here is one summary of BLM’s politics. Don’t know how accurate it is, I’m sure there are other opinions out there.

BLM isn’t a single entity. That article is a pile of pish frankly.

11-06-2021, 10:41 PM

Certainly don't represent my frontline politics.

They sound as if they're against any kind of real Workers Solidarity.

Frightening stuff.

We All Matter.

The spectator is a right wing outlet, so i would take their interpretation with a pinch of salt and wouldn't expect them to explain BLM's position properly.

How about we make it that taking the knee before games is just a way of highlighting that racism is unacceptable? If there is baggage associated with BLM, and to be honest I don't know enough about that, why don't we just move it on from that? Make it a constant reminder that we need to sort things out.

SloopJB
11-06-2021, 10:42 PM
The thing is, taking the knee or standing against racism has opened up the debate again.
Keeping the dialogue/debate open keeps the message at the forefront of a lot of people’s minds.
Probably more so than going with the flow where it may become part of the game, like pre match handshakes, as opposed to a message being sent.

11-06-2021, 10:42 PM
Certainly don't represent my frontline politics.

They sound as if they're against any kind of real Workers Solidarity.

Frightening stuff.

We All Matter.

That's exactly what the spectator wants you to think. Devide and conquer.

11-06-2021, 10:46 PM
That's exactly what the spectator wants you to think. Devide and conquer.

The exact opposite. I've never read the Spectator. Please get real. Mon the Hibs.

11-06-2021, 11:00 PM
The exact opposite. I've never read the Spectator. Please get real. Mon the Hibs.

Did you not read the article that you based your previous post on?

11-06-2021, 11:10 PM

I’ve never read The Spectator either. Or Hibs net.

11-06-2021, 11:11 PM
I’ve never read The Spectator either. Or Hibs net.

I’ve not read your post.

12-06-2021, 12:00 AM
I’ve not read your post.

That's exactly what the spectator wants you to think.

12-06-2021, 12:18 AM
That's exactly what the spectator wants you to think.

Well more fool them, i don’t ever think.

12-06-2021, 07:04 AM

Probably the same reason Hibs changed

12-06-2021, 07:17 AM
Probably the same reason Hibs changed

Which is?

12-06-2021, 07:23 AM
Which is?

It was immediately after the Kamara incident, after taking the knee had been a thing for months.

On the decision to now stand, Club captain David Gray added: “We’ve seen lots of Scottish teams come together on this issue in the past few days, and we think that by our clubs demonstrating our unity we can send a message to Uefa, the justice system and others that they need to take strong action against those who perpetuate hatred.

"No-one, including footballers, should have to endure this kind of abuse. Enough is enough.”

12-06-2021, 09:11 AM

Yeah, it's a clever decision. Well done to whoever in the Scotland camp thought that out.

Interestingly re the gesture itself, the booers keep it relevant.
Without booing and opposition it is done as an anti racism vehicle.

Wish folk could just look for the good and positive.
Football has a high profile in most of our lives and the knee, stand etc is simply using it to highlight and educate that racism exists and is unacceptable.
Similarly the poppy is an annual reminder that millions of people like you and me lost their lives in wars and that we must all ensure it never happens again. Like racism it means ensuring we are always aware of and disrupt those on the far right.

If adults struggle with moral issues they should consult a child. The kid will tell them racism is wrong, the kid will them war is wrong etc etc etc.
All the various online publications like The Spectator do is intellectualise, emotionalise, distort and scare to manipulate us on what should be simple issues.

Green_one
12-06-2021, 09:24 AM

Yeah I agree. I think moving away from knelling was a sensible decision but altering it to support their team mates on the other side was amazing. Shows too that it’s not a war out there, it’s a game of football and supporting their pals is still the key to them. Important message there.

Can we just play football now please.

12-06-2021, 10:01 AM
It was immediately after the Kamara incident, after taking the knee had been a thing for months.

On the decision to now stand, Club captain David Gray added: “We’ve seen lots of Scottish teams come together on this issue in the past few days, and we think that by our clubs demonstrating our unity we can send a message to Uefa, the justice system and others that they need to take strong action against those who perpetuate hatred.

"No-one, including footballers, should have to endure this kind of abuse. Enough is enough.”

I’m totally behind that as well, and the reason for doing it.

Whether it’s taking a stand or taking a knee, it’s keeping it on the agenda. It’ll not be long before people are booing taking a stand for some spurious reason that’s definitely not a smokescreen for their racism.

ClermistonGreen
12-06-2021, 10:12 AM
I’m totally behind that as well, and the reason for doing it.

Whether it’s taking a stand or taking a knee, it’s keeping it on the agenda. It’ll not be long before people are booing taking a stand for some spurious reason that’s definitely not a smokescreen for their racism.
Get on with the Fitba !

12-06-2021, 10:19 AM

The Spectator are stirring the pot.

No longer a credible news source (they’ve always been right wing, but I like to think that in the past they did at least adhere to some basic standards of integrity and accuracy).

Best ignored.

12-06-2021, 12:42 PM

No longer a credible news source (they’ve always been right wing, but I like to think that in the past they did at least adhere to some basic standards of integrity and accuracy).

Best ignored.

https://www.spectator.co.uk/about

I think the Spectator magazine would disagree with your description.

hhibs
12-06-2021, 01:01 PM

I Would disagree very much with their description of themselves,right wing and sometime "neo" publication.

ElginHibbie
12-06-2021, 01:29 PM

Can’t trust news entities describing themselves, Fox News in America for years called themselves “fair and balanced” when they were anything but

12-06-2021, 02:03 PM

Best ignored.

You can add The Telegraph to that too. It’s gone from a kind of old, traditional rural demographic to catering for slavering hysteric right wing extremists. Angry angry people.

12-06-2021, 02:52 PM

Totally agree. Great decision.

12-06-2021, 08:23 PM

‘Our writers have no party line’ :faf:

Their former editor is literally the prime minister.

12-06-2021, 08:55 PM

They should be continuing to take the knee then if they want to show solidarity with England They have the courage of their conviction to do it for the whole tournament not just for one game

BoB the Hibby
12-06-2021, 09:23 PM
I'm sorry taking the knee has lost it's meaning, unless society actually changes. The media change their tune to whatever they feel will gain an audience

Kaff
12-06-2021, 09:36 PM
Many teams have decided kneeling has lost its impact, none more so than QPR with Les Ferdinand as lead spokesman, having many black players and from a Borough in London with high % black population.
However after the Millwall players got booed by their own fans they knelt in solidarity so them standing couldn't be used against the Millwall players and was more a protest to those booing.
Scotland have judged this correctly.

12-06-2021, 10:10 PM
I'm sorry taking the knee has lost it's meaning, unless society actually changes. The media change their tune to whatever they feel will gain an audience

The fact we are facing this debate and the very vocal group of booing England fans are showing themselves to be the bigots that they are means that it has an effect. It’s shining a spotlight on how much society still has to change.

12-06-2021, 10:11 PM
The fact we are facing this debate and the very vocal group of booing England fans are showing themselves to be the bigots that they are means that it has an effect. It’s shining a spotlight on how much society still has to change.

12-06-2021, 11:16 PM

How quickly do you expect society to change?

Do you think the people kneeling think that this act alone is going to be enough to change it?

12-06-2021, 11:27 PM
***tried to delete this post because i misread the post i was replying to - please can a admin delete this!***

Don't worry about it. This thread belongs in the Politics forum. Most football supporters don't care about taking the knee as its purely political ideology not football news.

Kaff
13-06-2021, 01:23 AM
This is a situation, as far as I can tell, that doesn't necessarily have a problem in Scottish football.
Yes we have racism/sectarianism but the general consensus has been that if a team decides to kneel or stand then that's their perogative and there's not been any backlash either way. Fair minded supporters have backed the clubs stance I think.
In England there has been multiple occasions of booing those taking the knee and they do have to address this, those booing say its the original alignment with the BLM 'political' movement that's the problem while those kneeling insist it's a symbolic act with no political agenda.
Scotland footballers showing solidarity with their English counterparts can't be dismissed and equally the mixture of players/staff in the Scotland camp should be appreciated at this time. It's a good thing we are choosing to kneel in that game even if we have chosen a different path for other matches.
If Che Adams and Stephen Reid, particularly, want to show a united front then its right the squad do so. Of course they may have no strong feelings on the matter.
I think the likes of OldFirmfacts criticising the SFA is a mistake, so far Scottish Football has taken a middle path and the appointment of Marvin as an advisor will surely have been instrumental in the decisions made. He certainly won't be shy of pointing out when the wrong choices have been made, and rightly so.

Edit. Of course we haven't had crowds at many games to fully test this, I'm going by the general tone about the game

13-06-2021, 03:02 AM
Don't worry about it. This thread belongs in the Politics forum. Most football supporters don't care about taking the knee as its purely political ideology not football news.

Is opposing racism, a problem prevalent in football, a political ideology?

13-06-2021, 03:12 AM
This is a situation, as far as I can tell, that doesn't necessarily have a problem in Scottish football.
Yes we have racism/sectarianism but the general consensus has been that if a team decides to kneel or stand then that's their perogative and there's not been any backlash either way. Fair minded supporters have backed the clubs stance I think.
In England there has been multiple occasions of booing those taking the knee and they do have to address this, those booing say its the original alignment with the BLM 'political' movement that's the problem while those kneeling insist it's a symbolic act with no political agenda.
Scotland footballers showing solidarity with their English counterparts can't be dismissed and equally the mixture of players/staff in the Scotland camp should be appreciated at this time. It's a good thing we are choosing to kneel in that game even if we have chosen a different path for other matches.
If Che Adams and Stephen Reid, particularly, want to show a united front then its right the squad do so. Of course they may have no strong feelings on the matter.
I think the likes of OldFirmfacts criticising the SFA is a mistake, so far Scottish Football has taken a middle path and the appointment of Marvin as an advisor will surely have been instrumental in the decisions made. He certainly won't be shy of pointing out when the wrong choices have been made, and rightly so.

Edit. Of course we haven't had crowds at many games to fully test this, I'm going by the general tone about the game

I mostly agree with this, but what this knee/stand business is supposed to do is highlight that racism is a problem, and a lot of the booing demonstrates not only that it is an issue, bit how uncomfortable and reluctant people are to acknowledge it. It wouldn't surprise me if there's booing at easter road when fans return, if hibs were to kneel. Same goes for any ground in scotland.

Calmbegbie
13-06-2021, 08:42 AM
I’m sorry, I’m going to say this and if I’m banned, so be it. I’ve long since got used to the idea this is only a democracy if you don’t rock the boat in this country. I can fully understand the booing of this and I’ll go through the reasons why,

1. George Floyd. All this for a man who was a career criminal with a rap list as long as your arm. A man who held a gun to a pregnant woman. Yes, the polis there went over the top but no one can tell me the polis in America don’t have a tough time and it’s conveniently forgotten people like Floyd are one of the reasons why.

2. People in this country are sick of being labelled racist. We have welcomed people from all over the world. Provided them with refuge and a way of life and conditions which are far better than the lands they come from. A lot of people from refugee or immigrant backgrounds have made a good life here and what do we get told? We are racist. One of the most welcoming countries in the world is racist ffs

3. Immigration. When is enough enough? I’ve seen a few posts about bigoted Englishmen here and gammons and it’s pathetic. I don’t see anything wrong with keeping immigration checked and I’m sorry, when we see major towns and cities seeing British people or Caucasians become a minority, I think that it proves things have gotten way out of control. When we see illegal immigrants openly flooding over the channel, it’s a problem and it doesn’t make you a gammon if you have had enough of it

4. Hypocrisy. Last year, it came to light there was a number of Asian/Muslim grooming gangs targeting and abusing vulnerable girls up and down the country in many towns and cities across the UK. That should have been a national scandal. Instead, quickly brushed aside and glossed over. Shameful.

People have been brainwashed. Everyone and every thing in this country is supposed to be racist despite the fact we have an open country that has welcomed people from everywhere, many of whom who have had opportunities they wouldn’t have had elsewhere. No wonder there are so many people, gammons or whatever else the left like to generalise them as, who have had enough and this booing will increase and for one, I don’t blame them

13-06-2021, 08:49 AM
At last......a sensible post in a long line of self righteous tosh.

13-06-2021, 08:49 AM
I’m sorry, I’m going to say this and if I’m banned, so be it. I’ve long since got used to the idea this is only a democracy if you don’t rock the boat in this country. I can fully understand the booing of this and I’ll go through the reasons why,

1. George Floyd. All this for a man who was a career criminal with a rap list as long as your arm. A man who held a gun to a pregnant woman. Yes, the polis there went over the top but no one can tell me the polis in America don’t have a tough time and it’s conveniently forgotten people like Floyd are one of the reasons why.

2. People in this country are sick of being labelled racist. We have welcomed people from all over the world. Provided them with refuge and a way of life and conditions which are far better than the lands they come from. A lot of people from refugee or immigrant backgrounds have made a good life here and what do we get told? We are racist. One of the most welcoming countries in the world is racist ffs

3. Immigration. When is enough enough? I’ve seen a few posts about bigoted Englishmen here and gammons and it’s pathetic. I don’t see anything wrong with keeping immigration checked and I’m sorry, when we see major towns and cities seeing British people or Caucasians become a minority, I think that it proves things have gotten way out of control. When we see illegal immigrants openly flooding over the channel, it’s a problem and it doesn’t make you a gammon if you have had enough of it

4. Hypocrisy. Last year, it came to light there was a number of Asian/Muslim grooming gangs targeting and abusing vulnerable girls up and down the country in many towns and cities across the UK. That should have been a national scandal. Instead, quickly brushed aside and glossed over. Shameful.

People have been brainwashed. Everyone and every thing in this country is supposed to be racist despite the fact we have an open country that has welcomed people from everywhere, many of whom who have had opportunities they wouldn’t have had elsewhere. No wonder there are so many people, gammons or whatever else the left like to generalise them as, who have had enough and this booing will increase and for one, I don’t blame them

Correct 👏👏

13-06-2021, 08:52 AM

Despite his background Floyd shouldn't have been killed. I've no idea if it was racially motivated or whether a white man would have been treated differently.

Despite how it's portrayed in this country we are, on the whole in my experience, not a racist society. That doesn't mean we don't have racists, we do and there are both black and white racist people, or that black people don't suffer prejudice at times.

My issue with taking the knee is I don't actually think it's making race relations any better.

13-06-2021, 09:01 AM

That is almost word for word complete bollocks, it would take too long to point out everything that’s wrong with it. Personally I’m delighted you and others have broken cover so I can put you on ignore :aok:

13-06-2021, 09:02 AM
Despite his background Floyd shouldn't have been killed

I think that goes without saying.

ElginHibbie
13-06-2021, 09:04 AM
. I’m sorry, when we see major towns and cities seeing British people or Caucasians become a minority,

So keep Britain white basically?

“People have been brainwashed”, well you clearly have

13-06-2021, 09:10 AM

Immigration - so out of control that the hospitality, care and healthcare industries can’t get enough staff to run their businesses. Oh for freedom of movement again.

Give your head a shoogle and you might uncover a valid thought in there.

13-06-2021, 09:17 AM
Immigration - so out of control that the hospitality, care and healthcare industries can’t get enough staff to run their businesses. Oh for freedom of movement again.

Give your head a shoogle and you might uncover a valid thought in there.

Could you give us a few examples of hospitality venues who have had to close due to lack of immigrants? I'm not saying you are wrong I'm just interested.

Wee Effen Bee
13-06-2021, 09:25 AM

Speak with her pal Tommy Robinson much? You’ve just reeled off all the excuses that real racist idiots try to put forward to support the systemic racism which exists here. Go and read any statistic on immigration and see the truth. Bradley nwashed? **** me, what a 🤡!

13-06-2021, 09:27 AM
Could you give us a few examples of hospitality venues who have had to close due to lack of immigrants? I'm not saying you are wrong I'm just interested.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-57285428.amp

Can’t offer specific venues just now but heard horror stories of staff working massive overtime as staffing just isn’t there. Care sectors and the NHS rely largely on immigration too and are being screwed by a lack of it.

ElginHibbie
13-06-2021, 09:28 AM

COVID will have masked a lot of problems in the last year, but when you have Brexiteer Tim Martin saying we suddenly need more EU immigration if Wetherspoons is worried imagine the whole industry will be

13-06-2021, 09:32 AM

Your not wrong about the brainwashing unfortunately assume you didn't mean yourself.

13-06-2021, 09:38 AM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-57285428.amp

Can’t offer specific venues just now but heard horror stories of staff working massive overtime as staffing just isn’t there. Care sectors and the NHS rely largely on immigration too and are being screwed by a lack of it.

Thanks. I didn't think you would have examples.

13-06-2021, 09:42 AM
Thanks. I didn't think you would have examples.

You’re denying there is an issue? I’m not the trade body, I just keep up to date with how a lack of freedom of movement and trade screws us over.

The NTIA (night time industries association) has warned that a number of businesses could face closure as little as ten days after reopening once restrictions are lifted. In what way are you more qualified than them?

13-06-2021, 10:30 AM

You are racist, as is anyone who agrees with this pish.

Lendo
13-06-2021, 10:32 AM

How did a Ranger Media/Follow Follow poster sneak on to Hibs Net?

13-06-2021, 10:45 AM
You’re denying there is an issue? I’m not the trade body, I just keep up to date with how a lack of freedom of movement and trade screws us over.

The NTIA (night time industries association) has warned that a number of businesses could face closure as little as ten days after reopening once restrictions are lifted. In what way are you more qualified than them?

The trade bodies and the CBI are saying this? Marxists the lot of them. Or something.

HNA1
13-06-2021, 10:46 AM
That is almost word for word complete bollocks, it would take too long to point out everything that’s wrong with it. Personally I’m delighted you and others have broken cover so I can put you on ignore :aok:

We will be clear here: there is no place for racist propaganda, like that which was posted, on hibs.net.

In the clearest terms, those views are not, and never will be, welcome here.

StevesFamau5
13-06-2021, 10:52 AM

People have been brainwashed. Everyone and every thing in this country is supposed to be racist despite the fact we have an open country that has welcomed people from everywhere, many of whom who have had opportunities they wouldn’t have had elsewhere. No wonder there are so many people, gammons or whatever else the left like to generalise them as, who have had enough and this booing will increase and for one, I don’t blame themWow, that's a lot of words for "I'm a *****"

When you wrote this did you have the Dailly Mail open on one side and your union jack mug on the other side, wearing your "don't tread on me' t-shirt and humming along to Skrewdriver?

Do the world a favour, don't breed, thanks.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

13-06-2021, 11:22 AM

And this is why this taking a knee business is sort of working - it's opening up discussion and prompting people to out themselves.

Have you tried to find out anything about the issues in question, particularly points of view that appear to be opposed to your own?

13-06-2021, 11:22 AM

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-57285428

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-56919575

Lendo
13-06-2021, 11:23 AM

”Joined April 2021”

suspicious.

13-06-2021, 11:25 AM
You are racist, as is anyone who agrees with this pish.

Just a frankly awful collection of words, tbh.

13-06-2021, 11:27 AM

Are you at a loose end just now Nigel??

13-06-2021, 11:27 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-57285428

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-56919575

Aye, but other than that evidence, what evidence is there?

13-06-2021, 11:29 AM
”Joined April 2021”

suspicious.

Been here before under a different guise no doubt, just to stir things up. Quite a few of them unfortunately.

13-06-2021, 11:29 AM

Why does criticism of booing somehow suggest we are not living in a democracy? On this point alone you make no sense.

You are free to express your opinions, but can’t seem to cope with the fact that many disagree with them.

I’ll agree with you on this: people have been brainwashed. Those people being you and those who express similar opinions. You have been tricked into thinking the country’s problems are the fault of those who have less than you do.

I hope you find a way back out from this hole.

13-06-2021, 11:48 AM
Anyone who agrees with that racist muck above is clearly in the wrong place if they think they're gonna get away with posting it on here.

13-06-2021, 11:48 AM

I’m not sure about being banned (we can but hope) but you are the perfect example, despite your protests, of why there is an issue with racism in this country.

I knew that after your first few words in point number 1. The rest of it is that consistently bigoted and pathetic that I’m fairly sure you’re looking for a reaction.

13-06-2021, 11:52 AM

Apparently he’a more qualified because everyone who opposed racism is just being self-righteous and immigrants are actually really bad.

Another one outed.

13-06-2021, 11:55 AM

That’s strange as most football supporters that I know (the non-racist ones anyway) don’t have any issue with taking the knee due to it being politics-related. Some are concerned about the effectiveness of it and what we can do next but that’s it.

13-06-2021, 12:16 PM
Apparently he’a more qualified because everyone who opposed racism is just being self-righteous and immigrants are actually really bad.

Another one outed.

More than one as some of the responses show.

At last......a sensible post in a long line of self righteous tosh.

Correct 👏👏

13-06-2021, 12:21 PM
More than one as some of the responses show.

3 racists.