View Full Version : Hibs Player Isolating
16-02-2021, 04:04 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/club-statement-3
16-02-2021, 04:12 PM
Hopefully not one of our first 11. Good the player hasn't been at training centre
16-02-2021, 04:19 PM
I reckon he caught it from one of the 4 Rangers players he invited to his place on Saturday night.
16-02-2021, 04:32 PM
Suppose it was still to hit us. Potentially a good thing our game got called off after all
davhibby
16-02-2021, 04:32 PM
Hopefully not one of our first 11. Good the player hasn't been at training centre
Unlike earlier in the season when Gogic was missing and it was a bit of a disaster, I don’t really think there’s anyone that could miss out now and wouldn’t be well replaced. Our squad is pretty strong, especially when it’s only one player.
Main thing is that the player is okay and hopefully they’ll be back ready to go for the Motherwell game
16-02-2021, 04:40 PM
That's a big positive. We can cope with the loss of 1 player for a game against Hamilton.
A big CV hit on Hibs affecting vital players is the only thing that could stop us finishing 3rd so hopefully we have dodged another bullet.
16-02-2021, 04:42 PM
Suppose it was still to hit us. Potentially a good thing our game got called off after all
Good point
jingler1954
16-02-2021, 04:50 PM
I suppose we will find out if it is a 1st eleven player when the team is announced on Saturday.
16-02-2021, 04:50 PM
I suppose we will find out if it is a 1st eleven player when the team is announced on Saturday.
I reckon there’ll be something leaked before then maybe
davym7062
16-02-2021, 05:04 PM
most importantly i hope hes ok
16-02-2021, 05:17 PM
Showing no symptoms so hopefully alright.
No symptoms is a good sign. The really bad cases are hell from day one.
Hopefully he will be right and his family too.
16-02-2021, 05:34 PM
Well, I saw David gray's wife out and about on Sunday, so I'd assume it isn't him.
16-02-2021, 05:40 PM
Showing no symptoms so hopefully alright.
I think it just goes to show (and it’s just a gut feel as that’s 3 “sensible”* people I know that have caught it in the last month) that have caught it.
* ie not a bunch of numpties partying and not following the rules.
16-02-2021, 05:42 PM
GO'C on Facebook
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210216/77b9aed9308176b96e778cb286a24ac1.jpg
16-02-2021, 06:00 PM
GO'C on Facebook
Good news from GO'C. And good use of the apostrophe in it's too. :wink:
EI255
16-02-2021, 06:10 PM
Unlike earlier in the season when Gogic was missing and it was a bit of a disaster, I don’t really think there’s anyone that could miss out now and wouldn’t be well replaced. Our squad is pretty strong, especially when it’s only one player.
Main thing is that the player is okay and hopefully they’ll be back ready to go for the Motherwell gameQuite sure we'd miss McGregor big time, if it were him.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
The Tubs
16-02-2021, 06:30 PM
Quite sure we'd miss McGregor big time, if it were him.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
While I agree with you, I think the other players need to observe and act on what was missing when he wasn’t in the team. Maybe easier said than done though.
16-02-2021, 07:47 PM
Does him being in the know mean Gary's laddie has caught it off Gary :wink:
16-02-2021, 08:44 PM
GO'C on Facebook
If Gaz is correct then it suggest it’s either Steven Bradley or Stephen McGinn, as I don’t think you could describe anyone else as “no really broke into the first team” except Magennis maybe ? Everyone else has played decent numbers of matches, except DG I suppose or is on loan.
16-02-2021, 08:46 PM
If Gaz is correct then it suggest it’s either Steven Bradley or Stephen McGinn, as I don’t think you could describe anyone else as “no really broke into the first team” except Magennis maybe ? Everyone else has played or is on loan.SDG if only referring to this season?
16-02-2021, 08:48 PM
SDG if only referring to this season? haha just added him in an edit before I read your post..I doubt he would use the expression “broke” into the team with SDG..sounds more like a ‘new’ player.
16-02-2021, 08:50 PM
Could be Drey Wright
Then again the source is O'Connor so wouldn't be surprised if it was actually a key player :greengrin
16-02-2021, 09:24 PM
First player I thought of ready GOC tweet is Drey Wright. Either way, it sounds like we will not be severely hit by it
16-02-2021, 09:36 PM
First player I thought of ready GOC tweet is Drey Wright. Either way, it sounds like we will not be severely hit by it
Not that GOC is much of a reliable source but taken as written it reads much more like a young player who hasn’t broken into the first team yet.
Drey Wright has been part of the first team squad all season.
GO'C on Facebook
GOC posting stuff like this ain’t gonna help his son ..
Hopefully the player recovers
16-02-2021, 09:38 PM
Hope they are ok
K-Zazu
16-02-2021, 09:45 PM
Why all the mystery?
16-02-2021, 09:55 PM
Why all the mystery?
Privacy?
K-Zazu
16-02-2021, 10:02 PM
Privacy?
Like Salah, Zlatan etc?
16-02-2021, 10:09 PM
Like Salah, Zlatan etc?
It's a choice each of them will have made, probably in consultation with their clubs.
Magpie
16-02-2021, 10:12 PM
Ross out
16-02-2021, 10:18 PM
Like Salah, Zlatan etc?
No, like a Hibs player who doesn’t want his private business disclosed.
HFC93
16-02-2021, 10:24 PM
Like Salah, Zlatan etc?
Some players won't mind folk knowing and some will.
Cat Stanton
16-02-2021, 11:04 PM
Although if we were going to mark his grammar...
Mr. Wonderful
17-02-2021, 12:20 AM
Ross out
Macron OUT
17-02-2021, 05:21 AM
For me the most important thing is that the player returns to training none the worse for the virus.
Next is the hope that he isolated quick enough that it doesn't spread to other members of the squad.
It shouldn't be too hard to narrow it down, look at the players listed on Saturday and that's 20 ruled out.
Match the remaining ones to GOC's clue and it should become narrowed down to one or two.
badabing67
17-02-2021, 10:22 AM
Macron OUT
Is that a ITK about our kit providers for next season?????
jws1875
17-02-2021, 12:22 PM
He's not had the best of starts but at least he has another 4years left to prove himself. Hope he recovers with no issues!
17-02-2021, 01:35 PM
Is that a ITK about our kit providers for next season?????
i thought it was about Emmanuel
17-02-2021, 01:44 PM
i thought it was about Emmanuel
The film?
17-02-2021, 03:31 PM
He's not had the best of starts but at least he has another 4years left to prove himself. Hope he recovers with no issues!
Who’s this?
17-02-2021, 03:34 PM
Well that makes it sound like Magennis
18-02-2021, 11:08 AM
Well it's not Boyle anyway.
Saw him at tesco yesterday.
18-02-2021, 12:56 PM
Hope they are ok
Out of all the players in Scotland (and England - or anywhere else for that matter) that have tested positive have any of them caught it bad I wonder?
If a player caught the "long covid" it would surely keep them out for a protracted period from what I've been hearing about it. So we would surely know about it by now.
18-02-2021, 01:00 PM
Out of all the players in Scotland (and England - or anywhere else for that matter) that have tested positive have any of them caught it bad I wonder?
If a player caught the "long covid" it would surely keep them out for a protracted period from what I've been hearing about it. So we would surely know about it by now.
Lascelles and Saint Maximin at Newcastle had long covid and it kept them out for quite a while as they recovered.
hibee316
18-02-2021, 01:58 PM
Footballers are young, fit and healthy. There chances of getting very ill are extremely low.
18-02-2021, 02:07 PM
Not Ofir either, he passed me at the bus stop on Pilrig Street yesterday with Sun on a wee bike. I nodded to him as he went past then whispered "sign a new deal" but I think I was drowned out by the traffic. He is an awfy handsome fella up close :love ya!:
Peanut Shaz
18-02-2021, 05:20 PM
He is an awfy handsome fella up close :love ya!:
Agreed. I saw him on Musselburgh beach on Sunday close up. 😁
18-02-2021, 05:54 PM
Hope it’s not meant to be him. How bad would that be if he was out and about 😉
19-02-2021, 11:55 AM
Footballers are young, fit and healthy. There chances of getting very ill are extremely low.
Obviously - but I keep getting told about young fit people getting long COVID so footballers present a ready set of data from which to analyse the prevalence
19-02-2021, 12:01 PM
Lascelles and Saint Maximin at Newcastle had long covid and it kept them out for quite a while as they recovered.
Glad to hear that they recovered - looks like it kept them out of action for 6-8 weeks.
hibee316
19-02-2021, 12:09 PM
Obviously - but I keep getting told about young fit people getting long COVID so footballers present a ready set of data from which to analyse the prevalence
It seems to me (quite happy to be corrected!) That it is like when a plane crashes.
All over the news, people then assume it is a regular occurance. But, it's on the news because it is so uncommon..
Same as long covid maybe?!
(Obviously not taking away from the seriousness of it for people who do get it).
19-02-2021, 12:23 PM
A good friend of mine who runs 10kms a lot in London caught COVID and his lungs are covered in blood clots - he'll be on blood thinners for the rest of his life.
There's the potential of a COVID case really buggering up a sportspersons career, irregardless of their fitness, which makes the breaches at Rangers all the more infuriating IMO.
19-02-2021, 01:01 PM
Hope it’s not meant to be him. How bad would that be if he was out and about 😉
That would be the **** storm of **** storms
19-02-2021, 01:03 PM
A good friend of mine who runs 10kms a lot in London caught COVID and his lungs are covered in blood clots - he'll be on blood thinners for the rest of his life.
There's the potential of a COVID case really buggering up a sportspersons career, irregardless of their fitness, which makes the breaches at Rangers all the more infuriating IMO.
That's an eye opener.
20-02-2021, 01:01 PM
Aaaaaand it's Kyle Magennis.
20-02-2021, 04:51 PM
Hope Kyle is ok and recovers.
Seems to be unable to catch a break this season for us.
20-02-2021, 05:09 PM
Hope Kyle is ok and recovers.
Seems to be unable to catch a break this season for us.
Yep very stop start. Think he is an excellent player too.
20-02-2021, 07:05 PM
Think it's going to be next season before we even begin to see Kyle properly. Still yet to see much from him when he's been fit.
Hope he is alright and back training soon