View Full Version : Worst gigs you've been to
12-02-2021, 04:39 PM
Was just reminded by the weather we've had of a gig probably a good twelve or thirteen years ago. Back when you used to be able to get cheap tickets for gigs on eBay, we got four tickets for Julian Casablancas from the Strokes at Glasgow ABC. Drove through from Montrose to Glasgow in the snow with my mates expecting tunes from the new album and some Strokes classics in a reasonably small venue. Got there - and waited something like 60-90 minutes for a really boring support act to play for half an hour. Waited another hour - Julian Casablancas comes on, plays for 35 minutes, does a really half hearted version of a Strokes song (can't remember which one), seven songs off his really pish solo album, and ****s off. Lights come on. £27.50 a ticket at face value (which back then was a hell of a lot), we got them for £18 each for barely over an hours worth of awful music. I don't think anyone left happy.
Got stopped by the Glasgow police heading back home (four young lads in a Vauxhall Corsa, of course they did a "random check"), stopped for ages as they were as arsey as humanly possible to us. Got home late, tired, pissed off and unable to listen to a Strokes album since :greengrin
12-02-2021, 04:47 PM
Kings Of Leon in Aberdeen just after their 3rd album was released.
The AECC is a crap venue in just about every way anyway but they were just so disinterested and obviously didn't want to be there. They came out to play Four Kicks as an encore, Caleb wasn't happy with his guitar so handed it to his tech, chucked his water bottle into the crowd and ****ed off.
12-02-2021, 04:50 PM
Kings Of Leon in Aberdeen just after their 3rd album was released.
The AECC is a crap venue in just about every way anyway but they were just so disinterested and obviously didn't want to be there. They came out to play Four Kicks as an encore, Caleb wasn't happy with his guitar so handed it to his tech, chucked his water bottle into the crowd and ****ed off.
Seen them back in 2004 and they were brilliant - less so on I think what must have been a similar time to yours. Soon as they came off the hard drugs they lost it as a band.
12-02-2021, 05:00 PM
Seen them back in 2004 and they were brilliant - less so on I think what must have been a similar time to yours. Soon as they came off the hard drugs they lost it as a band.
Yep I'd seen them before and they were brilliant. The 2nd time was the last.
They are one of those bands I used to love but just can't stand now.
Bridge hibs
12-02-2021, 05:10 PM
New Order at the Playhouse many years ago, thought at the time Bernard Sumner was out of his skull, couldnt sing a note and was quite abusive to the crowd. Still love them though, enjoy Peter Hook and the Light too
For venues it has to be the Corn Exchange, not too keen on gigs there
12-02-2021, 05:18 PM
Black Rebel Motorcyle Club at Barrowland s a few years ago Sound poor ,didn’t know Thier material and got soaked with beer lol
12-02-2021, 05:36 PM
Dr Feelgood at the Usher Hall back in about 78. Eddie & The Hotrods were support and blew them offstage. The Feelgoods played the most lack lustre set I've ever seen and couldn't wait to get off, fans were away before they could even think about an encore. It was the wrong venue for them but still strange as they were regarded as the best live band in the business.
12-02-2021, 05:37 PM
Clapton at the Hydro a few years back. Not so much the music, but he was a dick.
Honourable mention to Primal Scream, who I love. They get worse every time I see them 😆 Last time was at Heaton Park, supporting the Roses. They were unlistenable.
12-02-2021, 06:03 PM
Badly Drawn Boy at the Corn Exchange was terrible. He kept stopping mid song complaining that something didn't sound right and he walked off after half a dozen songs. (Also unable to listen to anything of his since).
Portishead somewhere was as full as dishwater. Just boring from the start.
Kaiser Chiefs at the SECC. They didn't appear until 9.45 which really angered me and I booed them on and at every opportunity. I may have spent too long in the Hilton executive lounge beforehand, who can say?
Late addition; The Weekend. He came on at Leeds, stood on his own, sang his set and that was it. No band, no light show, no interaction. Rubbish experience.
Oasis at the SECC 1997. Someone threw a quarter bottle of vodka on the stage and they stormed off. Was just reading there that they had played for around 50 minutes, my hazy memories had them down as only playing a few songs before walking off. Was a poisonous atmosphere after that trying to get out the SECC.
Contrast to that one of my best gigs was the night before at the barrowlands watching black grape. Then sandwiched in between the concerts was the small matter of the hibs game at ibrox. Oh to be 16 again!!!
12-02-2021, 06:17 PM
Oh... the most disappointing has to be Bowie at Ingliston.
All the hits, but with ****ing Tin Machine. They really exposed his voice as being not very good. It was like a bad tribute band.
12-02-2021, 06:19 PM
Another from me is Bob Dylan at the Playhouse, must have been 2008/09ish.
No interaction with the crowd, which is standard for him. Backing band were fine but emotionless and his voice was shot. It was like a cross between a William Shatner spoken album and a slurring drunk singing karaoke. Most of the crowd lapped it up because it was seeing Bob Dylan live but I was tempted to leave after about 3 songs.
12-02-2021, 06:23 PM
No interaction with the crowd, which is standard for him. Backing band were fine but emotionless and his voice was shot. It was like a cross between a William Shatner spoken album and a slurring drunk singing karaoke. Most of the crowd lapped it up because it was seeing Bob Dylan live but I was tempted to leave after about 3 songs.
Van Morrison is a similar experience, but added to that he’s an utter ****.
Seen Van Morrison at the Playhouse and he was outstanding.
Worst has to be a support band called Gojira, a French heavy thrash metal band, supported Alter Bridge but the lead singer just roared and shouted through every song, to me it was just a noise.
12-02-2021, 08:16 PM
Aerosmith. 9 lives tour 1999 at the SECC. They just looked like they couldn't be arsed and I think they only played for an hour or so. Made worse by one of the guys in our group who saw them earlier in the tour down in England saying that it was a brilliant show and they were superb. Total let down
Bridge hibs
12-02-2021, 08:46 PM
Oh, Oi Polloi Porty in park just when they were starting out, asked us to be their warm up, it didnt happen, they became much more successful than we did 😆
Jumbo
12-02-2021, 08:57 PM
Julian Cope at the Queens Hall around 1986? only gig I've ever left early
12-02-2021, 09:04 PM
Social Distortion at the garage in Glasgow. Was the first time, perhaps the only time, they've played in Scotland and I'd never seen them before. For a band with so many classic songs and some great albums they did what seemed like a whole set of slow paced country type rock and almost none of the classic tunes.
Most disappointing.
12-02-2021, 09:16 PM
Meatloaf in Las Vegas 3 or 4 years ago. He hobbled round the stage like someone who had had a hip replacement that morning, the singing was awful and we were treated to various sermon like speeches about how great God/America/his family is.
12-02-2021, 09:20 PM
Julian Cope at the Queens Hall around 1986? only gig I've ever left earlyI saw the Teardrop Explodes supporting Queen at Ingliston. I thought they were very good, but they got booed off the stage anyway because it wasn't what Queen fans were wanting.
The worst I've seen were the Cocteau Twins supporting OMD at the Playhouse. They were also booed off the stage but deservedly so as they were rank.
12-02-2021, 09:24 PM
Meatloaf in Las Vegas 3 or 4 years ago. He hobbled round the stage like someone who had had a hip replacement that morning, the singing was awful and we were treated to various sermon like speeches about how great God/America/his family is.I saw Meatloaf at the Playhouse (1983?) and it was phenomenal, but he had trouble with his voice/vocal cords pretty soon thereafter and has been pretty ropey ever since from what I can make out.
12-02-2021, 09:31 PM
No interaction with the crowd, which is standard for him. Backing band were fine but emotionless and his voice was shot. It was like a cross between a William Shatner spoken album and a slurring drunk singing karaoke. Most of the crowd lapped it up because it was seeing Bob Dylan live but I was tempted to leave after about 3 songs.I have friends/colleagues who organised what was the 2nd biggest festival in France. They've had dealings with all sorts of global mega stars and apparently Dylan is by far the worst. You get the impression they want to spit on the ground whenever his name is mentioned.
Some of their stories about the stars, their demands & behaviour are brilliant.
12-02-2021, 09:45 PM
Seen Van Morrison at the Playhouse and he was outstanding.
Worst has to be a support band called Gojira, a French heavy thrash metal band, supported Alter Bridge but the lead singer just roared and shouted through every song, to me it was just a noise.
I've heard of Van Morrison gigs where he's thrown a big stop because of multiple reasons such as the crowd looking at him, someone taking a photo and stuff like that. Glad you caught him on a good day!
Caught Paul Simon on a bad day, he moaned about having a sore throat or something like that and then went on to putting in the most half hearted show I've seen. Considering how full of joy a lot of his music is, it was one of the most miserable experiences I'd had.
Also caught both sides of Primal Scream. First time I seen them they were phenomenal, high energy, Bobby Gillespie bounding about the stage like a man possessed. Second time I seen them headline Wickerman festival and during 'Shoot Speed/Kill Light' I timed how long he stood at the front of the stage fixing his shirt sleeves. Over a minute. He then went into a several minute long monotone monologue about their new album and the songs on it before spending the set fixing and refixing his shirt sleeves, looking bored and boring everyone to tears.
MagicSwirlingShip
12-02-2021, 10:18 PM
Seen Van a few times.
Once at the playhouse he was intolerable,
Then a couple of summers ago at the Kelvingrove Bandstand he was truly magical
12-02-2021, 11:04 PM
Travis in Amsterdam 2003. It was the night before Scotland played the Netherlands in the play-off we lost 6-0. Lots of Tartan Army at the gig which turned out to be dull as ****. Should’ve stayed up the RLD.
12-02-2021, 11:08 PM
Seen Van a few times.
Once at the playhouse he was intolerable,
Then a couple of summers ago at the Kelvingrove Bandstand he was truly magical
Was the playhouse gig the one where he sang Judy Collins Send In The Clowns
And as he sang that line he muttered Dont worry there here and he walked off stage and didn’t come back on
Bangkok Hibby
13-02-2021, 06:01 AM
Velvet underground early 70's in the Caley (I think) I know Lou Reed isn't one to get the crowd jumping but he just couldn't be arsed and he was totally out of it. A total borefest.
The other was Macfloyd a Scottish Pink Floyd tribute band. Capable enough and I know tribute bands aren't necessarily meant to be clones of the real band, but the constant wisecracking by the "Dave Gilmour" character was so maddening I walked out at the interval. One of the stewards thought I was crazy for leaving. I pointed out I'd seen the real floyd, Aussie floyd and Britfloyd multiple times and this lot were a joke in comparison.
13-02-2021, 06:56 AM
Red Hot Chili Peppers - you can take your pick as to which gig - been dragged to see them 3 times and they're not enjoyable at all live. Memorable one was at Murrayfield, supported by NERD and Ash - Anthony Keidis is a dreadful front man. No interaction with the crowd at all and singing questionable at best...
Taking Back Sunday - saw them headline a festival back in 2012 - I loved them at the time but their lead singer broke his leg a few weeks before they came out on tour and was out of his face on painkillers - vocally the worst performance I've heard from any artist.
And not a headline act but I saw Korn at the SECC back in 2001 who were supported by TrustCOMPANY (who were phenomenal) and Puddle of Mudd - Puddle of Mudd were eventually booed off stage and had stuff launched at them en-masse. Their lead singer was a complete ****** and I don't know if they ever played Scotland again.
13-02-2021, 07:30 AM
I remember falling asleep standing up at a deer hunter gig but I suppose that wasn't really their fault.
I was going to that many gigs when living in Dublin that I'd just leave if I wasn't feeling it so never really had a worst gig as I was always gone.
Most dissapointing was probably FKA Twigs at Primavera Festival. Mainly because going to that festival was a thing I based my whole year around for 7 years. I loved it & always on a massive buzz day one! She was the first thing I saw one year, she was the opener. She was on a big stage herself during the day which isn't easy in the first place, her sound went, her laptop played up & for half the gig she just spent dancing and whooping to some muffled tunes. Very underwhelming.....
For some reason The Farm springs to mind back in the day....very edgy, not a nice atmosphere..thing ccs attacked the roadies after the gig? Was that the cameo?
13-02-2021, 08:15 AM
AC⚡DC in the Olympic Stadium in Berlin. They might have been brilliant but the sound was reaching me milliseconds apart from 2 different sources making it distorted.
Green Man
13-02-2021, 07:48 PM
Smashing Pumpkins at the SECC, must have been about 2001. The band clearly didn’t want to be there, put in a half arsed effort and the sound was poor.
Primal Scream supporting The Stone Roses at Glasgow Green. I expected them to be up for a good show in front of a home crowd, but Bobby Gillespie just looked miserable.
13-02-2021, 08:19 PM
Oasis at the SECC 1997. Someone threw a quarter bottle of vodka on the stage and they stormed off. Was just reading there that they had played for around 50 minutes, my hazy memories had them down as only playing a few songs before walking off. Was a poisonous atmosphere after that trying to get out the SECC.
Contrast to that one of my best gigs was the night before at the barrowlands watching black grape. Then sandwiched in between the concerts was the small matter of the hibs game at ibrox. Oh to be 16 again!!!
I saw them the night after, it was the day after Rangers beat us 1-0 at Ibrox with a dodgy pen, Gattusso, Porrini and Amarouso were sat in the seats right in front of me so I got to give Amarouso and Gattusso pelters, I let Porrini alone as he looked liked a mad man
Travis were supporting and I'd never heard of them at that point, think they just had a loyal following in the weege at the time, they put on one of the worst sets I've ever witnessed and I've hated them ever since
13-02-2021, 08:41 PM
Ohhh there's another one.😆 Black Grape at the Forum.
Started off like a train. Superb for about 3 or 4 numbers.
Then the drugs wore off....or kicked in 😂 By song 7, they were a mess. I left after about 9 or 10.
Stop doing this to me, guys. I like to put these memories in a big airtight box....
13-02-2021, 09:24 PM
Feeder at one of the O2s in Glasgow, 2010 I think. An hour and a half of distorted noise. Think they were trying to reinvent themselves or something.
13-02-2021, 10:04 PM
Smashing Pumpkins at the SECC, must have been about 2001. The band clearly didn’t want to be there, put in a half arsed effort and the sound was poor.
Seen them on their reunion tour. They were absolutely terrible and for some reason Billy Corgan must have wanted the fans to leave when he was still on stage at the end so had a big meltdown on stage. Really weird gig and completely unenjoyable.
14-02-2021, 03:37 PM
I remember falling asleep standing up at a deer hunter gig but I suppose that wasn't really their fault.
I was going to that many gigs when living in Dublin that I'd just leave if I wasn't feeling it so never really had a worst gig as I was always gone.
Most dissapointing was probably FKA Twigs at Primavera Festival. Mainly because going to that festival was a thing I based my whole year around for 7 years. I loved it & always on a massive buzz day one! She was the first thing I saw one year, she was the opener. She was on a big stage herself during the day which isn't easy in the first place, her sound went, her laptop played up & for half the gig she just spent dancing and whooping to some muffled tunes. Very underwhelming.....
For some reason The Farm springs to mind back in the day....very edgy, not a nice atmosphere..thing ccs attacked the roadies after the gig? Was that the cameo?
Farm gig you speak of was at Cav, canny mind what it was called at the time. Was pretty radge.
14-02-2021, 05:59 PM
The killers at the SECC touring their first album. They were totally disinterested and I still hold a grudge against them.
Ian Brown at the corn exchange, the sound barely worked. Seen him loads and always very good live but that night was a write off. Although did see him at the O2 once and he was chatting about a champions league match a night or two before, think it was Rangers. I’ve now forgotten what we thought he said but it was either no surrender or f the IRA. Me and my mate both looked at each other and asked the same question if he said what we thought he had. Never heard it mentioned anywhere so we possibly misheard but I have my doubts.
The worst was Marnie Stern in Glasgow. Was in a small venue like the caves in Edinburgh. They were stop start all night, she can’t sing live, and the banter during all the stop start breaks was excruciating. Made worse by the fact there was nowhere to hide and avoid eye contact during the awkwardness given how small a gig it was. Think we left after about 3 songs in.
HibbyDave
14-02-2021, 08:18 PM
Meatloaf in Las Vegas 3 or 4 years ago. He hobbled round the stage like someone who had had a hip replacement that morning, the singing was awful and we were treated to various sermon like speeches about how great God/America/his family is.
Meatloaf at Secc was absolute *****e too. Worst concert ever. We left after 30mins
Bangkok Hibby
15-02-2021, 12:47 AM
Meatloaf at Secc was absolute *****e too. Worst concert ever. We left after 30mins
there's a documentary about this tool on tour somewhere. His female singers thought he was a sleazeball and his manager just thought he was an attention seeking knob.
Jumbo
15-02-2021, 06:02 PM
Social Distortion at the garage in Glasgow. Was the first time, perhaps the only time, they've played in Scotland and I'd never seen them before. For a band with so many classic songs and some great albums they did what seemed like a whole set of slow paced country type rock and almost none of the classic tunes.
Most disappointing.
I was at that one as well, thought it wasn’t too bad, though knew what to expect as had seen them at Rebellion a few weeks previous.
Though that reminds me of seeing the Supersuckers at O2abc when they done a country set, wasn’t the best!
15-02-2021, 08:05 PM
Farm gig you speak of was at Cav, canny mind what it was called at the time. Was pretty radge.
Ahhh yeah the Cavendish...It was kinda hazy, thanks :wink:
15-02-2021, 11:44 PM
Was at the last ever Stone Roses gig at Hampden a few years back. I enjoyed it but there was a number of ********s out in force at the gig.
We got free tickets for a Britpop festival gig at the O2 in Glasgow, Geneva and The Supernaturals were brutal, sounded like they hadn't played together for years and it showed, on the other hand Chris Helme (Seahorses) and Nigel Clark (Dodgy) were excellent though, seen them both again at Vicky Baths venue a year later.
G15 Hibs
16-02-2021, 09:25 AM
I was sat next to Jackie McNamara in the circle at that gig, oddly enough. Never bothered going to see Dylan again after that gig, was definitely a case of diminishing returns each time. You know his voice is what it is, but live it was getting difficult to even distinguish what song he was singing.
Velvet underground early 70's in the Caley (I think) I know Lou Reed isn't one to get the crowd jumping but he just couldn't be arsed and he was totally out of it. A total borefest.
If it was the early 70s it would either be a Lou Reed solo gig or the Velvet Underground with Doug Yule after Lou had left as they never played in Europe with Lou (or any of the original members I think) until they reformed in the 90s. And I know a lot of people will say the 1993 gigs are the Playhouse could be included in this thread, but I enjoyed the one I went to.
16-02-2021, 09:27 AM
Was at the last ever Stone Roses gig at Hampden a few years back. I enjoyed it but there was a number of ********s out in force at the gig.
See the above and Oasis (and now probably Gerry Cinnamon) for absolute helmet magnets.
All these bands are followed by neds My niece(now 41) grew up during the Stone Roses and loved them but hated their farewell gig due to the bellends in the crowd tossing piss and generally being dicks.
16-02-2021, 12:36 PM
We got free tickets for a Britpop festival gig at the O2 in Glasgow, Geneva and The Supernaturals were brutal, sounded like they hadn't played together for years and it showed, on the other hand Chris Helme (Seahorses) and Nigel Clark (Dodgy) were excellent though, seen them both again at Vicky Baths venue a year later.
Chris Helme is excellent live, seen him a few times. Oops wrong thread!
16-02-2021, 12:56 PM
The Exploited at the Triangle Club in Pilton.
16-02-2021, 01:22 PM
Not sure if this was what was really meant but I was at a Stingrays gig in about 86ish in the Endrick Hotel in Alloa. Was a nightmare, took the worst whitey ever, slid under the table, spewed everywhere and went to sleep in it. No idea how good, bad or indifferent the band were but definitely up there with my worst gig experience!
A mate of mine has missed dozens of concerts due to substance abuse, even though he was actually there. He slept through Led Zeppelin at Knebworth in 79! Their last ever gig before John Bonham died.
16-02-2021, 01:39 PM
The Courteeners can be added to that too.
16-02-2021, 05:52 PM
All these bands are followed by neds My niece(now 41) grew up during the Stone Roses and loved them but hated their farewell gig due to the bellends in the crowd tossing piss and generally being dicks.
It’s a bit like Hibs games at Hampden. Far too many folk who can’t handle all day drinking and overly cut ching. I would say tho, tho be throwing if cups of piss us a myth. I’ve been to hundreds of gigs, many with the type of crowd being discussed and I genuinely don’t think folk throw piss. Pints of lager aye.
16-02-2021, 06:01 PM
It’s a bit like Hibs games at Hampden. Far too many folk who can’t handle all day drinking and overly cut ching. I would say tho, tho be throwing if cups of piss us a myth. I’ve been to hundreds of gigs, many with the type of crowd being discussed and I genuinely don’t think folk throw piss. Pints of lager aye.
Seen it happen on more than one occasion at T in the Park. That was a haven for absolute pricks, that festival.
16-02-2021, 06:23 PM
I worked at two Robbie Williams gigs at Murrayfield around 2004. His show was superb but one of the support acts was Kelly Osbourne. Truly bad performance with poor sound in a mostly empty stadium and crap material was the worst performance I have ever seen and I fell asleep during the Waterboys at the Playhouse. Given the set length available during a full day event I think it counts as a gig.
Curried
17-02-2021, 12:15 PM
Queen and the Teardrop Explodes at Ingliston in the early 80's was without doubt the most horrendous gig i've ever attended. The smell was agricultural, but the acoustics were like listening to the songs played down a toilet bowl.
17-02-2021, 02:48 PM
Queen and the Teardrop Explodes at Ingliston in the early 80's was without doubt the most horrendous gig i've ever attended. The smell was agricultural, but the acoustics were like listening to the songs played down a toilet bowl.
I'd suggest that's a huge improvement on what Queen normally sound like :greengrin
17-02-2021, 03:23 PM
Queen and the Teardrop Explodes at Ingliston in the early 80's was without doubt the most horrendous gig i've ever attended. The smell was agricultural, but the acoustics were like listening to the songs played down a toilet bowl.I enjoyed it.
https://youtu.be/r4xRRQaun6s
17-02-2021, 05:00 PM
Another one was Four Tet also at The Barrowland s
Curried
18-02-2021, 10:18 AM
I enjoyed it.
https://youtu.be/r4xRRQaun6s
I rest my case.
20-02-2021, 11:52 AM
I used to run a gig venue in Aberdeen and had the ‘pleasure’ of hosting The Fall. Now, I know you’re not supposed to speak ill of the dead but what and complete cock Mark E Smith was. Awful man and awful show. Genuinely felt sorry for the fans in the half full venue, who’d forked out £40 a ticket. Hilariously though, the reaction in The Fall fans forum was really positive. 🤦🏻
20-02-2021, 12:38 PM
I used to run a gig venue in Aberdeen and had the ‘pleasure’ of hosting The Fall. Now, I know you’re not supposed to speak ill of the dead but what and complete cock Mark E Smith was. Awful man and awful show. Genuinely felt sorry for the fans in the half full venue, who’d forked out £40 a ticket. Hilariously though, the reaction in The Fall fans forum was really positive.
What venue was that and what year roughly? Was it the Lemon Tree by chance?
Billy Bragg once said - "There are two types of people - those that like Mark E Smith and those who have met him".
20-02-2021, 09:12 PM
What venue was that and what year roughly? Was it the Lemon Tree by chance?
Billy Bragg once said - "There are two types of people - those that like Mark E Smith and those who have met him".
Haha I can definitely relate to that.
The Warehouse (FKA Moshulu) & Bassment 2009/10.
20-02-2021, 09:27 PM
Haha I can definitely relate to that.
The Warehouse (FKA Moshulu) & Bassment 2009/10.
Ah, no, I didn't see The Fall there.
Did see Johnny Marr and Ash at the Warehouse and both were top gigs :aok:
G15 Hibs
22-02-2021, 03:09 PM
I used to run a gig venue in Aberdeen and had the ‘pleasure’ of hosting The Fall. Now, I know you’re not supposed to speak ill of the dead but what and complete cock Mark E Smith was. Awful man and awful show. Genuinely felt sorry for the fans in the half full venue, who’d forked out £40 a ticket. Hilariously though, the reaction in The Fall fans forum was really positive. 🤦🏻
I saw a few dreadful Fall gigs over the years, but they were more than balanced out by performances of absolute wonder and awe as well as the generally fairly good. Back in about 1999 or 2000 they were playing at the Queen's Hall and I was invited by the tour manager, who I'd been in touch with on other matters, to come along to a certain boozer during the day and possibly meet Mark, however I thought the better of it for all the well documented reasons. Never meet your heroes and all that.
25-02-2021, 08:56 PM
Ian Brown at the picture house circa 2010
Horrendous. Kicked off about a pint being chucked towards the stage and made out we should have been grateful for him playing Fools Gold which was the only Roses number he played. Used the pint episode as his excuse. Absolutely awful
25-02-2021, 09:47 PM
Ian Brown at the picture house circa 2010
Horrendous. Kicked off about a pint being chucked towards the stage and made out we should have been grateful for him playing Fools Gold which was the only Roses number he played. Used the pint episode as his excuse. Absolutely awful
I was at the Roses reunion gig at Heaton Park. My son was near the front, but I stayed well back.😉
From where I was, I couldn't hear Brown as everybody around me was belting out every word.
I was a bit disappointed by that, until my son said "Dad, think yourself lucky..." 😂
26-02-2021, 11:46 AM
Without doubt one of the worst gigs I have ever been to was The Stone Roses comeback gig at Heaton Park on the opening night. It was blowing a gale, the sound was horrendous and Ian Brown was murder, the rest of the band carried him. With it being so windy the sound was drifting from left to right. There was a right bunch of toss pots in the crowd as well. Mind getting the tram from Piccadilly Gardens and some whopper pulled the emergency brake for a laugh. This was about 5:30 at night, peak time and the tram was full and standing. 40 minutes we sat there before the tram driver managed to get it going again and by the time we got to Heaton Park station, which is a fair bit from the city centre virtually the whole tram emptied and the station became a giant urinal because we'd all been on the bevy. It was horrendous.
Seen the Stone Roses again at Glasgow Green as well and Ian Brown was just as bad there too. I was in the front pit against the barrier and I swear this is true, 2 jakey wifeys behind me and 3 other mates I was with were so determined to get on the barrier one of them actually ducked under one of my mates arm a bit him hard as **** on his arm just down from his armpit, he flung his elbow back as a natural reaction and caught jakey woman on the coupon. He was so pissed off he buggered off, after the gig he showed us his arm and there was clear teeth marks where the wifey had clamped her teeth down into his flesh, horrendous behaviour. As someone mentioned above, Primal Scream supported along with The View. Primal Scream were dreadful and Gillespie started rabbiting on about the obelisk in the middle of Glasgow Green, he looked like he was out his face but The View were great though.
I was lucky (or unlucky) enough to be one of the 300 at the Bongo club to see The View. Was really looking forward to that gig in a small venue where you could literally reach out and touch the band. Unfortunately the band walked off after about 6 songs after some utter fanny hit Kyle Falconer in the head pint a pint of some form of liquid, I'm not convinced it was beer though. That was that, gig over thanks to one rasper.
The Streets at the Corn Exchange during T on the Fringe one year. Dreadful and £35 a ticket as well.
Nickleback at the SECC, dragged along by a few mates. Just a noise and not enjoyable at all.
Babyshambles. Terrible and Doherty was clearly on something strong.
Honourable mention to Kraftwerk at the Usher Hall/Playhouse - all seated gig? Not me but my good mate and his laddie got thrown out for standing and singing - seriously. They couldn't believe it.
26-02-2021, 01:21 PM
Without doubt one of the worst gigs I have ever been to was The Stone Roses comeback gig at Heaton Park on the opening night. It was blowing a gale, the sound was horrendous and Ian Brown was murder, the rest of the band carried him. With it being so windy the sound was drifting from left to right. There was a right bunch of toss pots in the crowd as well. Mind getting the tram from Piccadilly Gardens and some whopper pulled the emergency brake for a laugh. This was about 5:30 at night, peak time and the tram was full and standing. 40 minutes we sat there before the tram driver managed to get it going again and by the time we got to Heaton Park station, which is a fair bit from the city centre virtually the whole tram emptied and the station became a giant urinal because we'd all been on the bevy. It was horrendous.
Seen the Stone Roses again at Glasgow Green as well and Ian Brown was just as bad there too. I was in the front pit against the barrier and I swear this is true, 2 jakey wifeys behind me and 3 other mates I was with were so determined to get on the barrier one of them actually ducked under one of my mates arm a bit him hard as **** on his arm just down from his armpit, he flung his elbow back as a natural reaction and caught jakey woman on the coupon. He was so pissed off he buggered off, after the gig he showed us his arm and there was clear teeth marks where the wifey had clamped her teeth down into his flesh, horrendous behaviour. As someone mentioned above, Primal Scream supported along with The View. Primal Scream were dreadful and Gillespie started rabbiting on about the obelisk in the middle of Glasgow Green, he looked like he was out his face but The View were great though.
I was lucky (or unlucky) enough to be one of the 300 at the Bongo club to see The View. Was really looking forward to that gig in a small venue where you could literally reach out and touch the band. Unfortunately the band walked off after about 6 songs after some utter fanny hit Kyle Falconer in the head pint a pint of some form of liquid, I'm not convinced it was beer though. That was that, gig over thanks to one rasper.
The Streets at the Corn Exchange during T on the Fringe one year. Dreadful and £35 a ticket as well.
Nickleback at the SECC, dragged along by a few mates. Just a noise and not enjoyable at all.
Honourable mention to Kraftwerk at the Usher Hall/Playhouse - all seated gig? Not me but my good mate and his laddie got thrown out for standing and singing - seriously. They couldn't believe it.
You need to pick your gigs more wisely mate. 🤣 Every band in your post, except Kraftwerk & maybe Niickleback, attracts more ****bags that Tynecastle when Hearts play the Sticky Buns.
26-02-2021, 11:40 PM
Seen PD round about the same time as the Ian Brown gig and also at the Picture House - one of the rare times he was genuinely off the smack and he was unreal, he was touring his first solo album and Graham Coxon was playing guitar for him
Got a Saturday ticket for T purely to see the Libertines at T in I think 2015 and they were horrendous. What made it worse was we left after 4 songs and the tent for the proclaimers was full and we couldn’t get in
27-02-2021, 09:55 AM
Seen PD round about the same time as the Ian Brown gig and also at the Picture House - one of the rare times he was genuinely off the smack and he was unreal, he was touring his first solo album and Graham Coxon was playing guitar for him
Got a Saturday ticket for T purely to see the Libertines at T in I think 2015 and they were horrendous. What made it worse was we left after 4 songs and the tent for the proclaimers was full and we couldn’t get in
That reminds me. Got couple of freebies to T I T P the year Noel Gallagher and the Stone Roses headlined (2012?). You were literally knee deep in mud and god knows what else. The weather was absolutely brutal. One of the tents flooded and had to be closed IIRC. I just remember wading through mud and whatever else, the closer you got to the stage the deeper it got, I gave up when it got up to my knees. I remember people just stopping mid stride and just standing there pissing and folk openly sniffing coke off the back of their hands with no ****s given. NG was brilliant but again the Stone Roses were howling. Won't ever got back to T I T P or TRNSMT, whatever its been reinvented as. Horrible experience and not enjoyable.
27-02-2021, 10:14 AM
That reminds me. Got couple of freebies to T I T P the year Noel Gallagher and the Stone Roses headlined (2012?). You were literally knee deep in mud and god knows what else. The weather was absolutely brutal. One of the tents flooded and had to be closed IIRC. I just remember wading through mud and whatever else, the closer you got to the stage the deeper it got, I gave up when it got up to my knees. I remember people just stopping mid stride and just standing there pissing and folk openly sniffing coke off the back of their hands with no ****s given. NG was brilliant but again the Stone Roses were howling. Won't ever got back to T I T P or TRNSMT, whatever its been reinvented as. Horrible experience and not enjoyable.
Funnily enough the best Glastonbury I ever had was 2016 where the weather was horrible on the run up to it - there were doubts if it could go ahead due to the amount of mud and standing water. The sun came out from day one which meant the mud dried to a thick, claggy, clay like cement which made walking hugely difficult (I lost eleven pounds over the five days in weight, some in our group lost over a stone) but as soon as it was due to dry to the point where you could walk on it rather than through it, there was a shower of rain for an hour or so which reset it back to the horrible state.
There are still some ********s at Glastonbury but a lot less and seen PJ Harvey play an incredible set on the Sunday, followed by LCD Soundsystem who blew everyone away. Billy Bragg the day after the Brexit referendum was on fire, Mercury Rev were outstanding - so much amazing music and comedy and even circus stuff. Watched the sun set on the Thursday at the stone circle, stayed up all night going from late night area to late night area, dancing to 80s cheese to reggae to hip hop, then head off to watch the sun rise then slept for two hours, grabbed a coffee and went to see James at half past ten in the morning. Great times.
I went to TRNSMT the following year as well as Glastonbury and hated every second of TRNSMT. Where Glasto has so much for you to do when you're not watching music, all there is at TRNSMT is awful food stalls, drinking and advertisements. No thought put into it at all and no wonder people make complete tits out of themselves. The crowd was ****ing dreadful for Radiohead as well.
BarneyBreslin
27-02-2021, 10:42 AM
Funnily enough the best Glastonbury I ever had was 2016 where the weather was horrible on the run up to it - there were doubts if it could go ahead due to the amount of mud and standing water. The sun came out from day one which meant the mud dried to a thick, claggy, clay like cement which made walking hugely difficult (I lost eleven pounds over the five days in weight, some in our group lost over a stone) but as soon as it was due to dry to the point where you could walk on it rather than through it, there was a shower of rain for an hour or so which reset it back to the horrible state.
There are still some ********s at Glastonbury but a lot less and seen PJ Harvey play an incredible set on the Sunday, followed by LCD Soundsystem who blew everyone away. Billy Bragg the day after the Brexit referendum was on fire, Mercury Rev were outstanding - so much amazing music and comedy and even circus stuff. Watched the sun set on the Thursday at the stone circle, stayed up all night going from late night area to late night area, dancing to 80s cheese to reggae to hip hop, then head off to watch the sun rise then slept for two hours, grabbed a coffee and went to see James at half past ten in the morning. Great times.
I went to TRNSMT the following year as well as Glastonbury and hated every second of TRNSMT. Where Glasto has so much for you to do when you're not watching music, all there is at TRNSMT is awful food stalls, drinking and advertisements. No thought put into it at all and no wonder people make complete tits out of themselves. The crowd was ****ing dreadful for Radiohead as well.
Loved 2016 Glastonbury despite the mud. Underworld Friday night, Mercury rev Saturday and LCD soundsystem Sunday were my three headliners. The joy in the field during LCD is something thy will live me for ever. It had been a tough 5 days but there was a real sense of togetherness for those 2 hours.
As for crap gigs, Primal Scream deserve a mention. Reckon I've seen them about 15 times. Half of which they were outstanding, the other half utter garbage.
Re the roses at Heaton Park, I was there on the Sunday and loved every second of it.
27-02-2021, 10:45 AM
Loved 2016 Glastonbury despite the mud. Underworld Friday night, Mercury rev Saturday and LCD soundsystem Sunday were my three headliners. The joy in the field during LCD is something thy will live me for ever. It had been a tough 5 days but there was a real sense of togetherness for those 2 hours.
As for crap gigs, Primal Scream deserve a mention. Reckon I've seen them about 15 times. Half of which they were outstanding, the other half utter garbage.
Re the roses at Heaton Park, I was there on the Sunday and loved every second of it.
Maybe they managed to sort the sound by then and maybe put a backing track/vocals over Ian Browns voice. :greengrin
27-02-2021, 10:55 AM
I was at LCD in the mud. Hated it 😁
27-02-2021, 11:03 AM
Maybe they managed to sort the sound by then and maybe put a backing track/vocals over Ian Browns voice. :greengrin
When I was a teenager and in my early twenties, I wrote about music freelance. I was once asked to review an Ian Brown gig and still haven't bettered "like someone's taught a Dyson how to yodel" to describe his vocals :greengrin
27-02-2021, 11:06 AM
Two weeks later at the last T in the Park they literally played to about 300-400 people. That was another death knell for T in the Park - booking Kraftwerk and not even filling King Tuts a third full for them, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds getting a couple of thousand tops, John Grant getting a couple of hundred people tops. If you're not a Courteeners, David Guetta or Rita Ora then it's not worth a stop on your tour for.
Richard Hawley was magical on the Friday at that Glastonbury. Someone lit a flare during 'Coles Corner' in the encore and rather than feeling laddish, it was beautiful. I was on the TV wearing my Christmas jumper during that set
BarneyBreslin
27-02-2021, 11:08 AM
Different strokes for different folks I guess! I managed to rip the whole set of iplayer and still love watching it back.
Green Man
27-02-2021, 04:06 PM
Two weeks later at the last T in the Park they literally played to about 300-400 people. That was another death knell for T in the Park - booking Kraftwerk and not even filling King Tuts a third full for them, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds getting a couple of thousand tops, John Grant getting a couple of hundred people tops. If you're not a Courteeners, David Guetta or Rita Ora then it's not worth a stop on your tour for.
Richard Hawley was magical on the Friday at that Glastonbury. Someone lit a flare during 'Coles Corner' in the encore and rather than feeling laddish, it was beautiful. I was on the TV wearing my Christmas jumper during that set
I remember watching the TITP highlights that year and being shocked at just how small the crowd was for LCD. It was just a few rows.