View Full Version : Whatever happened to Eduardo “The Tank” Hurtado?

11-02-2021, 11:05 AM
What a player - mazy dribbles https://twitter.com/mundialmag/status/1359831526175895552?s=21

Deft lobs - https://twitter.com/mundialmag/status/1359831529233465351?s=21

More deft lobs - https://twitter.com/mundialmag/status/1359831530789568514?s=21

(* none of which took place at Easter Road)

Cat Stanton
11-02-2021, 11:17 AM
What a player - mazy dribbles https://twitter.com/mundialmag/status/1359831526175895552?s=21

Here's your answer: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eduardo_Hurtado.

I hadn't realised he left Hibs to join Barcelona. He must have been better than I remembered....

11-02-2021, 11:19 AM

Some nice touches there

Always thought he was signed because he was De La Cruzs’ buddy but he had an interesting career playing for LA Galaxy and is Ecuador’s second highest international goalscorer 26: 74

Thanks for posting

11-02-2021, 11:23 AM
Worst player I’ve ever seen play for Hibs. The guy couldn’t even walk fast let alone run.

Renfrew_Hibby
11-02-2021, 11:26 AM

I hadn't realised he left Hibs to join Barcelona. He must have been better than I remembered....

Barcelona S.C. is not only the largest club in Ecuador but comparable to some big better known clubs from Brazil or Argentina. Their ground is something else, massive.

Interesting to note that he also played for Emelec, Ecuadors other big side and deadly rivals of Barcelona S.C.
Quite a career the big chap had.

11-02-2021, 11:31 AM
Worst player I’ve ever seen play for Hibs. The guy couldn’t even walk fast let alone run.

Aye he was murder. McLeish's parting gift before pissing off along the M8.

I do remember his one and only goal for us v Stranraer in the cup replay where he sprang to life and you saw a glimpse of a player.

11-02-2021, 11:40 AM

I do remember his one and only goal for us v Stranraer in the cup replay where he sprang to life and you saw a glimpse of a player.

Scored another in a league game - think it was Killie iirc....didn’t look great - but neither did he get anywhere near enough game time to really form a view on him ...

Some career he has had though , so obviously shined in his home country, MLS and international football - good on him .

Stanton Spence
11-02-2021, 11:46 AM
Worst player I’ve ever seen play for Hibs. The guy couldn’t even walk fast let alone run.I had it between him and Shefki Kuqi but I think you're right about Hurtado he was brutal

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

11-02-2021, 12:04 PM
I had it between him and Shefki Kuqi but I think you're right about Hurtado he was brutal

speaking of enigmas - one word ;)

Jonatan Johansson...

Monktonhall 7
11-02-2021, 12:07 PM
I had it between him and Shefki Kuqi but I think you're right about Hurtado he was brutal

Kuqi definitely the worst I’ve seen. Couldn’t move an inch.

11-02-2021, 12:14 PM

First two links looks slimmed down. Last one like his old tank physique.

11-02-2021, 12:19 PM
Scored another in a league game - think it was Killie iirc....didn’t look great - but neither did he get anywhere near enough game time to really form a view on him ...

Some career he has had though , so obviously shined in his home country, MLS and international football - good on him .

I could be wrong but sure he scored 2 in that game against Kilmarnock? Think it might have finished 2-2 that game.

11-02-2021, 12:39 PM

Is this hyperbole or attention seeking?

If The Tank actually was the worst player we’d ever signed I’d be delighted, as it would have saved us from some of the utter dross that came later.

11-02-2021, 01:23 PM
Is this hyperbole or attention seeking?

If The Tank actually was the worst player we’d ever signed I’d be delighted, as it would have saved us from some of the utter dross that came later.

No, I genuinely think he was the worst player I’ve ever seen playing for Hibs. Especially given some international pedigree.

11-02-2021, 02:07 PM

The defending in those clips is beyond horrific :greengrin
Reading his Wiki entry we signed him 2-3 years past his sell by date.
He played for 22 clubs in his career including Kamberi's current parent club, St Gallen.
61 was his record number of appearance for a club so he didn't stick around for long.
What is surprising is that he made 74 international appearances for a country that is more than 3 times the size of Scotland which is impressive and is their 3rd highest ever goal scorer. It should be noted that he made his last international appearance and scored his last international goal a year before arriving at Hibs which lends credibility to the theory that by the time he came to Hibs he was burst.

147lothian
11-02-2021, 02:17 PM
I can remember De La Cruz bigging him up, this is probably because he was a legend in Ecuador, I can also remember him saying if the manager doesn't want to play him he'll walk away, and going on to say that he's a proud guy and is not just there for the wage, I think Sauzee might have been in charge by then, the only goal I remember him getting was when he came on as a sub against Stranraer, I might be forgetting some things though, it has to be 20 years since he signed, my own thoughts are that his best days were already behind him when he arrived.

11-02-2021, 03:12 PM

I remember Donald park taking strikers on the warm up and crossing balls to tank and zitelli with zitelli scoring bicycle kicks and ⚽️ just bouncing off Hurtado think he was past it when he came to ER

11-02-2021, 03:45 PM
Got two megs in one game in the League Cup, think he scored as well, Mon the tank

11-02-2021, 03:53 PM

Funny I said to my mates I thought I could remember he scored v killie but according to google only the one goal for us v Stranraer but that’s definitely not right.

My memories hazy, was just a young chap, my first season ticket that season I think. I remember him being gash but scoring v killie and thinking here we go but obviously never happened for him

My auld man used to refer to him as “the plank”

11-02-2021, 04:18 PM

i find that difficult to believe, worst EVER?

he scored 26 international goals for Ecuador, plus runner up in Concacafs regional ‘Fishing with The Stars’, boys a legend.

11-02-2021, 04:26 PM
i find that difficult to believe, worst EVER?

he scored 26 international goals for Ecuador, plus runner up in Concacafs regional ‘Fishing with The Stars’, boys a legend.

For Hibs. Yes. And I am being serious. Kubjabi included.

11-02-2021, 04:31 PM
Funny I said to my mates I thought I could remember he scored v killie but according to google only the one goal for us v Stranraer but that’s definitely not right.

My memories hazy, was just a young chap, my first season ticket that season I think. I remember him being gash but scoring v killie and thinking here we go but obviously never happened for him

My auld man used to refer to him as “the plank”

Deffo scored against Killie

https://www.espn.co.uk/football/report?gameId=22721

11-02-2021, 04:34 PM
Deffo scored against Killie

https://www.espn.co.uk/football/report?gameId=22721

Haha last minute equaliser there too, how very hibs

11-02-2021, 04:40 PM
O’Connor and Riordan coming off the bench!

11-02-2021, 04:45 PM

He wasn’t that bad ?

What about Vine ? Vela in recent times !

11-02-2021, 04:54 PM
O’Connor and Riordan coming off the bench!

IIRC O'Connor made his debut in the original tie @ Stranraer, I'm sure I got about 14/1 for first scorer in a bookies down there as they'd never heard of him. Missed a sitter with about 5 mins to go.

11-02-2021, 05:01 PM
The Tank’s goal against Stranraer watch until the end blink and you will miss it

https://youtu.be/eEo433W8ULY

He also scored against Kilmarnock in a 2-2 draw on 9/1/2002 Garry O’Connor also scored

Roxyhibee
11-02-2021, 05:14 PM
Hurtado was awful for us but by the time he arrived, McLeish’s magic Hibs were fading very fast as a team after those incredible two to three seasons previous.

The Ayr Utd team that beat us in the semi were captained by a 38 year old Yogi, and had a 35 year old McGinley and Lovering in the team. We still had Zitelli, De La Cruz, O’Neill, Brebner, Fenwick, Murray, Caldwell, etc on the field that night. That tells you all you know about the dressing room Hurtado found on his arrival to his departure.

He had pedigree and if he’d joined us the season we got promoted, we might have been talking about a completely different player. We will never know..

11-02-2021, 05:15 PM

Ha ha..I even checked that..

11-02-2021, 07:58 PM
Can barely remember him. Says it all.

11-02-2021, 08:04 PM
Can barely remember him. Says it all.

He was like the complete opposite of Craig Brewster. Who we inexplicably felt the need to not offer a decent contract to.

11-02-2021, 08:13 PM
He was like the complete opposite of Craig Brewster. Who we inexplicably felt the need to not offer a decent contract to.

We couldn't match Dunfermline's crazy wages...and look what happened to them as a result.

11-02-2021, 09:26 PM
For Hibs. Yes. And I am being serious. Kubjabi included.

Nowhere near. Plenty before him and plenty after. Kujabi shouldn’t even be mentioned when talking about worst player ever. Tarnished by his appearance in one game. He had more than a few decent games for us.

11-02-2021, 09:30 PM
We couldn't match Dunfermline's crazy wages...and look what happened to them as a result.

That’s incorrect. Brewster would have stayed for the same wages he was on when signed and we lowered them. I was mates through a mate with him at the time he loved being at Hibs and wanted to stay but didn’t feel wanted.

11-02-2021, 09:31 PM
Nowhere near. Plenty before him and plenty after. Kujabi shouldn’t even be mentioned when talking about worst player ever. Tarnished by his appearance in one game. He had more than a few decent games for us.

I genuinely can’t think of a worse player than The Tank. Genuinely. Maybe because he was a forward but it was torture watching him. Vine was better.

11-02-2021, 10:22 PM
I genuinely can’t think of a worse player than The Tank. Genuinely. Maybe because he was a forward but it was torture watching him. Vine was better.

Hurtado played for his country 70+ times and scored 30+ goals. He scored a goal in 12 goals for Hibs.

Vine - played 10 games for Hibs and was absolutely useless in every appearance. I used to watch him warm up and genuinely I’ve seen guys who never made it pro better at finishing.

Another useless player was OTJ but Vine offered nothing very similar to Josh Vela.

13-02-2021, 07:41 AM
Hurtado actually scored for Hibs. That automatically makes him better than Vine, who never scored and was absolutely completely dreadful.

I don't think kuqi scored either, now there was a player who was passed it. Jonathan Johansson was another who was dreadfully bad.

Moving away from strikers there's been Patrick nouboussie, who always looked off the pace but in fairness was a cheap gamble by Collins that didn't work out.

I genuinely thought Colin Murdoch had won a competition to play for Hibs after his first 2-3 games but he eventually adjusted to the Scottish game and wasn't completely terrible every week.

We've had some shockers, I don't even wanna start talking about GK's!

But in the grand scheme, hurtado isn't anywhere near the title of Hibs' worst ever player, for me.

13-02-2021, 02:54 PM
The Tank, JJ and Kuqi were all clearly finished when they came to us but were all good players in their day. Think they should be ruled out of any worst player chat.

The Tank scored a one on one with a fine finish which automatically makes him better than dunces like Alan O'Brien and James Collins.

The tank probably is such a bad memory because of the good players that had played up front for us in previous seasons during that period when we had a decent team.

delbert
13-02-2021, 04:10 PM
Hurtado played for his country 70+ times and scored 30+ goals. He scored a goal in 12 goals for Hibs.

Vine - played 10 games for Hibs and was absolutely useless in every appearance. I used to watch him warm up and genuinely I’ve seen guys who never made it pro better at finishing.

Another useless player was OTJ but Vine offered nothing very similar to Josh Vela.

I can never get over the fact that Rowan Vine once commanded a seven figure transfer fee in England. That one fact alone tells you that the money available in England is utterly bonkers because he truly was an utterly dreadful player.

wallpaperman
13-02-2021, 05:47 PM
The Tank, JJ and Kuqi were all clearly finished when they came to us but were all good players in their day. Think they should be ruled out of any worst player chat.

The Tank scored a one on one with a fine finish which automatically makes him better than dunces like Alan O'Brien and James Collins.

The tank probably is such a bad memory because of the good players that had played up front for us in previous seasons during that period when we had a decent team.

James Collins was nowhere near as bad as people make out. In a different time and a better team, he could have scored a lot of goals for Hibs. He was only 22 as well, still learning.

Stonewall
13-02-2021, 07:56 PM
James Collins was nowhere near as bad as people make out. In a different time and a better team, he could have scored a lot of goals for Hibs. He was only 22 as well, still learning.

We’re only a heartbeat away from someone mentioning Stuart Turnbull.

I’m out.

13-02-2021, 09:15 PM

Agreed - although your banging your head against a brick wall trying to convince many of the folk on here otherwise. He’s tarnished with the Butcher brush unfortunately.

13-02-2021, 10:25 PM

Agreed - although your banging your head against a brick wall trying to convince many of the folk on here otherwise. He’s tarnished with the Butcher brush unfortunately.

He was rotten for Hibs. Couldn't trap, couldn't shoot, couldn't pass, couldn't dribble. Bullied by Hearts youth teams. Dreadful with us.

17-02-2021, 10:58 AM
I can never get over the fact that Rowan Vine once commanded a seven figure transfer fee in England. That one fact alone tells you that the money available in England is utterly bonkers because he truly was an utterly dreadful player.I'm better at football than Rowan Vine, no where near as fit but I know what to do with a ball.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

17-02-2021, 11:20 AM
He was rotten for Hibs. Couldn't trap, couldn't shoot, couldn't pass, couldn't dribble. Bullied by Hearts youth teams. Dreadful with us.

He wasn't at all. He got absolutely no service, was used as a target man to hoof it to which he never was and never will be, and as such looked ineffective. He's a decent player.

17-02-2021, 12:00 PM
He wasn't at all. He got absolutely no service, was used as a target man to hoof it to which he never was and never will be, and as such looked ineffective. He's a decent player.

I disagree, he had enough opportunities to show what he could do for us, but was absolutely stinking in all aspects of his game I can think of. I’m fairly sure I didn’t miss a game he played for us at that time.

His development since he left us just has to be down to improvements in coaching or to his work rate. He’s carved out a decent career now and good luck to him, but was a disaster of a striker for us.

17-02-2021, 12:05 PM
I disagree, he had enough opportunities to show what he could do for us, but was absolutely stinking in all aspects of his game I can think of. I’m fairly sure I didn’t miss a game he played for us at that time.

His development since he left us just has to be down to improvements in coaching or to his work rate. He’s carved out a decent career now and good luck to him, but was a disaster of a striker for us.

Fair play - I look back at that era and see some players who were guff for us but were good before and after their spell at Hibs - James Collins being one of them. Victor Pallson has had a decent career since leaving us too.

We seemed to be terrible in terms of coaching, scouting and almost everything at a certain period and I can't help but feel that so many decent players may have fallen between the cracks back then.

17-02-2021, 12:10 PM
Fair play - I look back at that era and see some players who were guff for us but were good before and after their spell at Hibs - James Collins being one of them. Victor Pallson has had a decent career since leaving us too.

We seemed to be terrible in terms of coaching, scouting and almost everything at a certain period and I can't help but feel that so many decent players may have fallen between the cracks back then.

Whats Pallson up to now?

17-02-2021, 12:11 PM
Whats Pallson up to now?

It's Palsson! :grr:

17-02-2021, 12:16 PM
Whats Pallson up to now?

I think the club he's at has put in a bid for Kevin Nesbit.

allyh1bs
17-02-2021, 04:06 PM
I think the club he's at has put in a bid for Kevin Nesbit.

Played for Iceland against England recently, did he not?

17-02-2021, 04:56 PM
It's Palsson! :grr:

Typo rage should only occur in the case of current squad players. Once they’ve left we should be able to spell however we want. Leigh Anne Dempster, don’t slam the door on your way oot...

17-02-2021, 06:15 PM
Typo rage should only occur in the case of current squad players. Once they’ve left we should be able to spell however we want. Leigh Anne Dempster, don’t slam the door on your way oot...

Lee Grithiffs isn't very easy to say.

17-02-2021, 10:02 PM
Played for Iceland against England recently, did he not?

Yea played the full 90 minutes. Playing in the German second tier for Darmstadt.

17-02-2021, 10:23 PM

I sat a couple of rows back from Craig Brewster, his arm in a sling, at the first tie watching Hibs scrap to a 0-0 as our season unravelled. I remember thinking that something wasn't going quite right......

18-02-2021, 12:35 PM
Correct me if i'm wrong but i'm sure the tank scored for us against Killie, i had to get a seat in the south stand and sure he scored at that end , was it not a crucial goal that season as we were hovering above relegation ? Mind you i could be utterly wrong !

18-02-2021, 04:18 PM

He was absolutely dreadful in 4 out the 5 derbies that year against the worst Hearts team in living memory. He was terrible for Hibs and I've never seen a player have so many excuses trotted out by people to claim otherwise.

The fact he scored a few goals in the English lower leagues before and after he joined us says more about the overstated standard down there than anything else.

18-02-2021, 04:19 PM

Agree 100% with this!

Barman Stanton
19-02-2021, 06:50 AM

You must not have been at the game where Hakim Sar played.