View Full Version : Potential for Ross County game to be off? - Game postponed
09-02-2021, 05:09 PM
I wonder if the game could be called off early, would make sense to me, I doubt conditions will improve much over the next few days
09-02-2021, 05:24 PM
I wonder if the game could be called off early, would make sense to me, I doubt conditions will improve much over the next few days
According to the BBC, snow ends at midnight tonight in Dingwall.
Sunny but very cold days between then and the match on Saturday.
Accordingly a brick hard pitch is the liikely issue and undersoil heating can deal with that.
Tomorrow nights SPFL matches in Kilmarnock, Paisley & Livingston will be awfy cold if they take place.
09-02-2021, 05:24 PM
Theres no snow forecast for Dingwall on Thursday, Friday or Saturday, according to the Met. Office anyway.
As long as they can keep the frost out of the ground the game should be on.
09-02-2021, 05:33 PM
Theres no snow forecast for Dingwall on Thursday, Friday or Saturday, according to the Met. Office anyway.
As long as they can keep the frost out of the ground the game should be on.
Yep don't see it being off.
One Day In Time
09-02-2021, 05:40 PM
Hopefully it's game on as we need to keep the momentum going. We'll have had a huge boost from Saturday - RC are fighting for their lives so it won't be easy but teh three points are there if we want them badly enough.
09-02-2021, 05:52 PM
Wish I was able to go. Always liked the a day out there and the pies were brilliant.
09-02-2021, 06:33 PM
Don’t see any problem as Ross County closed their stadium roof on Sunday so the pitch will be playable.
09-02-2021, 06:40 PM
Don’t see any problem as Ross County closed their stadium roof on Sunday so the pitch will be playable.
Thank god for that, as our bus deposit is non refundable.
Devonhibs
09-02-2021, 07:28 PM
Thank god for that, as our bus deposit is non refundable. :not worth
09-02-2021, 08:16 PM
According to the BBC, snow ends at midnight tonight in Dingwall.
Sunny but very cold days between then and the match on Saturday.
Accordingly a brick hard pitch is the liikely issue and undersoil heating can deal with that.
Tomorrow nights SPFL matches in Kilmarnock, Paisley & Livingston will be awfy cold if they take place.
Indeed - although if my memory isn’t playing tricks on me I’m sure we once kicked off in either winter 2009 or 2010 in a temperature of minus 6?
09-02-2021, 08:55 PM
Indeed - although if my memory isn’t playing tricks on me I’m sure we once kicked off in either winter 2009 or 2010 in a temperature of minus 6?
According to the BBC it will be -6 in Edinburgh between 0001 and 0400 hrs on Thursday and then -7 between 0400 and 0500 hrs before reverting to -6 for another hour!
Think I will stay in bed until 11am when it reaches a balmy 1 degree above freezing.............forecast showing as below freezing for 18 hours straight before that!!!
Magpie
09-02-2021, 09:41 PM
Was that the night they knocked us out of the Scottish Cup and swine flu was kicking about? Horrible evening.
10-02-2021, 05:59 AM
That would have been the 1-1 draw at home to Hearts on 3rd January 2010.
The Baldmans Comb
10-02-2021, 06:12 AM
There was a midweek away game around January 2013 when Fenlon was the manager.
There was a mini storm on the way to the ground which soaked the fans and the temperature then plummeted prior to kick off which froze the condensation to your hat, gloves, coat and shoes.
A very miserable experience and lost 1:0.
seanshow
10-02-2021, 08:20 AM
NHC - just been down to the local lidl next to the toni macaroni enormodome, and pretty bleak looking situation for their game tonight, if fans were involved it would definitely be a non starter.
10-02-2021, 08:25 AM
NHC - just been down to the local lidl next to the toni macaroni enormodome, and pretty bleak looking situation for their game tonight, if fans were involved it would definitely be a non starter.
Have they left the snow on the park, as it may keep it warmer, then sweep off later on
10-02-2021, 08:31 AM
It has no bearing on our game at all but it's mental out there.
I left the car at home and walked to work. London Road was nose to tail from Leopold Place all the way back past Meadowbank. One of my colleagues phoned to say he is stuck on the Mound because 2 cars are stuck and I had to help 2 guys push a car up Annandale Street.
I reckon games may go ahead because it is only the team parties travelling. If fans were involved I think a fair few would be off.
HendoDelivered
10-02-2021, 08:43 AM
It has no bearing on our game at all but it's mental out there.
I left the car at home and walked to work. London Road was nose to tail from Leopold Place all the way back past Meadowbank. One of my colleagues phoned to say he is stuck on the Mound because 2 cars are stuck and I had to help 2 guys push a car up Annandale Street.
I reckon games may go ahead because it is only the team parties travelling. If fans were involved I think a fair few would be off.
Chaos out there to say the least. I lost control of the car a few times last night coming home, was actually quite scary. Luckily the roads were dead but they were very dangerous. Seemingly wee flurries here and there still to come today.
seanshow
10-02-2021, 09:36 AM
Have they left the snow on the park, as it may keep it warmer, then sweep off later on
Yip first thing this morn it was under a foot of snow so no problem that it could be cleared, after that can they keep it above zero without using the undersoil heating who knows.
another game added to the fixture backlog does us no harm. :greengrin
10-02-2021, 11:23 AM
Livingston game off tonight - 8 inches of snow on the pitch and nowhere to put it!
10-02-2021, 11:28 AM
Livingston game off tonight - FROZEN PITCH
Tin pot club, what a joke.
10-02-2021, 11:29 AM
Livingston game off tonight - 8 inches of snow on the pitch and nowhere to put it!
How about where the stands are?
10-02-2021, 11:34 AM
Tin pot club, what a joke.
I updated my post from frozen pitch (given a bum steer) to nowhere to put the vast amount of snow on the pitch
Apparently they pushed a 15 meter section in the car park and ended up with a 6ft high wall of snow and from that decided there was no room to bank the same depth of snow that is lying on the pitch.
Due to be -3 at 6pm kick off so all in all a miserable package.
Hopefully this week is the end of the worst of the weather.
10-02-2021, 11:37 AM
Game will be on. Forecast to be cold but dry
Garymcl
10-02-2021, 11:40 AM
That will be I think there third game off this season due to inclement weather where other games have went ahead on grass pitches embarrassing so called all weather pitches as well
10-02-2021, 11:58 AM
Livingston pitch
10-02-2021, 11:58 AM
Game will be on. Forecast to be cold but dry
Good job the game is not on in the early hours of tomorrow when the temperature in Dingwall will be -12!!!
Temp below freezing all day tomorrow, a sexy 1 degree for a few hours on Friday and settling at 0 degrees for kick off on Saturday.
Game on.
HendoDelivered
10-02-2021, 02:16 PM
Livingston pitch
Looks playable to me :greengrin
10-02-2021, 02:32 PM
Livingston’s postponed game suits us as it prevents them gaining three points on us, maintaining a psychological hurdle. :smug:
10-02-2021, 02:41 PM
Livingston pitch
I get the feeling this shower just suit themselves in taking advantage of weather conditions. They should be expelled from the league if they are frequently incapable of staging games. Under soil heating and decent drainage seem to be mysteries to Livingston management. Surely the SPFL need to investigate
10-02-2021, 02:49 PM
Livingston pitch
Played on worse😁
10-02-2021, 02:59 PM
Livingston pitch
Probably get a more natural bounce out of that than normal
10-02-2021, 03:07 PM
Why can't Livingston not put excess snow from their pitch into the stands? Surely that couldn't be that difficult. Sounds like they fancied the game off imo.
10-02-2021, 03:30 PM
Livingston’s postponed game suits us as it prevents them gaining three points on us, maintaining a psychological hurdle. :smug:
a little fixture pile-up for Livi would do us no harm
10-02-2021, 03:35 PM
Why can't Livingston not put excess snow from their pitch into the stands? Surely that couldn't be that difficult. Sounds like they fancied the game off imo.
not just that but they have so much room around the stadium that isn't being used because of no fans, they have a huge car park and loads of room at the other side of the stadium as well. It just seems like a lazy excuse to me.
The dalmeny
10-02-2021, 03:35 PM
you for real?
10-02-2021, 03:42 PM
Would be more about concern for their players (and Hamilton's) travelling, no?
10-02-2021, 03:49 PM
Would be more about concern for their players (and Hamilton's) travelling, no?
They said in their tweet that the game was off because there was so much snow on the pitch, they didn't have enough space round the sides to put it all.
10-02-2021, 03:52 PM
not just that but they have so much room around the stadium that isn't being used because of no fans, they have a huge car park and loads of room at the other side of the stadium as well. It just seems like a lazy excuse to me.
Have you read the BBC article?
10-02-2021, 03:53 PM
Have you read the BBC article?
nah I saw their tweet earlier saying they cant be bothered to clear the pitch.
Theres nothing in that article to say they couldn't have put the snow in the car park or behind the stadium. They didn't even try.
10-02-2021, 03:55 PM
nah I saw their tweet earlier saying they cant be bothered to clear the pitch.
They did a test in the car park and it ended up 6ft high. The amount of snow I think would make piling it anywhere difficult.
10-02-2021, 03:55 PM
They said in their tweet that the game was off because there was so much snow on the pitch, they didn't have enough space round the sides to put it all.
Fair do's, but I think they have a responsibility to the players and officials as well.
10-02-2021, 04:03 PM
They did a test in the car park and it ended up 6ft high. The amount of snow I think would make piling it anywhere difficult.
They have so much spare ground around the stadium, they didn't even try. By the looks of the photos posted on their social media, it was like someone trying to convince everyone that their snow day is justified.
I hope their fixture backlog hammers them.
10-02-2021, 04:25 PM
They did a test in the car park and it ended up 6ft high. The amount of snow I think would make piling it anywhere difficult.I find it strange as it's standard for groundsmen to wait as late as possible to clear snow as it insulates the pitch against frost.
Most teams will have encountered this situation before but I've never heard that excuse.
10-02-2021, 04:28 PM
They have so much spare ground around the stadium, they didn't even try. By the looks of the photos posted on their social media, it was like someone trying to convince everyone that their snow day is justified.
I normally don’t have much sympathy for Livingston and their pitch but I do on this. How do they get it out there? What equipment is needed and how many people? They’ve obviously assessed it they tried to see how much they could pile and where and didn’t think they could do it in time to play the game.
10-02-2021, 04:35 PM
I normally don’t have much sympathy for Livingston and their pitch but I do on this. How do they get it out there? What equipment is needed and how many people? They’ve obviously assessed it they tried to see how much they could pile and where and didn’t think they could do it in time to play the game.
As above they played about in the car park with a tractor, so it would seem they have at least one of those to use. I get that games get called off but that they didn't even try clearing the pitch has irked on this occasion.
10-02-2021, 04:44 PM
As above they played about in the car park with a tractor, so it would seem they have at least one of those to use. I get that games get called off but that they didn't even try clearing the pitch has irked on this occasion.
I think figuring out how and where to clear 8 inches of snow from a 110 x 76 yard area might be a bit trickier than just kicking about with a tractor.
10-02-2021, 04:48 PM
It's fairly standard for groundsmen - normally they put out an appeal for bodies to help.
Maybe it's Covid considerations that are hindering them?
skankomcphee
10-02-2021, 04:50 PM
Do they still have that awful nightclub in the stadium?
10-02-2021, 04:54 PM
It's fairly standard for groundsmen - normally they put out an appeal for bodies to help.
Maybe it's Covid considerations that are hindering them?
They can’t do that when the public are being told to stay at home. I’m also not sure if 8 inches of snow is what you hear about being cleared or not.
Someone calculated that’s about 1300 tonnes which is fairly significant. No idea how accurate that is.
10-02-2021, 04:56 PM
I think figuring out how and where to clear 8 inches of snow from a 110 x 76 yard area might be a bit trickier than just kicking about with a tractor.
Especially when you consider it is about 53.5k (I think) inches of snow.
10-02-2021, 05:00 PM
Hahaha, that was my local haunt years ago - the ‘Livi nightspot’.
It’s been shut for a while and I think turned into a gym.
10-02-2021, 05:02 PM
I loved that place, a pound a drink on a Thursday night with bits & pieces banging away :partyhibb
10-02-2021, 05:07 PM
I'll agree to disagree, I get the feeling from their social media is that they took one look at it and just called it off. The shop up the road for me has a bigger car park than a football pitch with less room to work with and they got it done somehow.
10-02-2021, 05:12 PM
Why couldn't they just set fire to the place, that would thaw things out and improve the place in one fell swoop. :wink:
It does make things a little bit of a mockery, when you install an all weather pitch, but it's not really an all weather pitch if you cant play with some snow?
Personally and i know it has been said before, but these pitches should not be allowed in the top division until such times as they are as good or better than grass pitches. I've yet to see any plastic pitch in Scotland anywhere near good enough to play professional football on.
10-02-2021, 05:21 PM
Why couldn't they just set fire to the place, that would thaw things out and improve the place in one fell swoop. :wink:
It does make things a little bit of a mockery, when you install an all weather pitch, but it's not really an all weather pitch if you cant play with some snow?
Personally and i know it has been said before, but these pitches should not be allowed in the top division until such times as they are as good or better than grass pitches. I've yet to see any plastic pitch in Scotland anywhere near good enough to play professional football on.
I’m sure they would have had the same problem if it was grass
I’m hoping Ron puts a roof over ER in the not too distant future, instead of these big screens😎
10-02-2021, 05:24 PM
Is it still a rule that top flight clubs have undersoil heating?
10-02-2021, 05:25 PM
I’m sure they would have had the same problem if it was grass
I’m hoping Ron puts a roof over ER in the not too distant future, instead of these big screens😎
Would they Billy, or would they like Hibs have done in the past, kept the snow on the park until it was time to get it off then put the undersoil heating on to thaw the park?
Can you tell i'm not aa fan of plastic pitches. :greengrin
skankomcphee
10-02-2021, 05:28 PM
I loved that place, a pound a drink on a Thursday night with bits & pieces banging away :partyhibb
After a Hibs visit to Almondvale many moons ago, and fuelled by a post match Wetherspoon sojourn, someone who posts on this board but who shall remain nameless developed "an infection" after some late night socialising following a visit to said nightclub which caused alarm amongst Lauriston Place medics due to the severity of the particular strain, which had never been seen in the Lothians until that time and indeed was very rare in the UK as a whole . Does make me wonder what they were serving in there 😂
j'adorehibs
10-02-2021, 05:37 PM
Is it still a rule that top flight clubs have undersoil heating?
it would melt their pitch
10-02-2021, 05:39 PM
Would they Billy, or would they like Hibs have done in the past, kept the snow on the park until it was time to get it off then put the undersoil heating on to thaw the park?
Can you tell i'm not aa fan of plastic pitches. :greengrin
I’m not either BH
dchibs
10-02-2021, 05:44 PM
The problem that I heard is that the one man that does all the work is the one and only man that multi tasks, that one man who takes the cash at the gates the last time we played there I missed 40 minutes of the first half is also the guy that dose the bar,looks after the pitch and picks the team, lookes after the kits, and sings all their football songs when the fan where allowed, somebody told me he has been snowed under.
10-02-2021, 05:46 PM
oh right, didn't realise they were that hot
et_hibby
10-02-2021, 05:49 PM
The problem that I heard is that the one man that does all the work is the one and only man that multi tasks, that one man who takes the cash at the gates the last time we played there I missed 40 minutes of the first half is also the guy that dose the bar,looks after the pitch and picks the team, lookes after the kits, and sings all their football songs when the fan where allowed, somebody told me he has been snowed under.
😀👍
10-02-2021, 06:34 PM
Meanwhile on Hibs twitter
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1359529308226781189?s=09https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210210/fca988fc8ec760ccdccc723916adaa18.jpg
10-02-2021, 06:42 PM
After a Hibs visit to Almondvale many moons ago, and fuelled by a post match Wetherspoon sojourn, someone who posts on this board but who shall remain nameless developed "an infection" after some late night socialising following a visit to said nightclub which caused alarm amongst Lauriston Place medics due to the severity of the particular strain, which had never been seen in the Lothians until that time and indeed was very rare in the UK as a whole . Does make me wonder what they were serving in there 😂
That sounds about right to be honest :hilarious
10-02-2021, 08:31 PM
Meanwhile on Hibs twitter
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1359529308226781189?s=09https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210210/fca988fc8ec760ccdccc723916adaa18.jpg
A thing of real beauty. No game this weekend but prudent use of the under soil heating and that lot is gone in plenty of time for our next game, even if it was this weekend. Livingston, on the other hand ?
10-02-2021, 08:35 PM
A thing of real beauty. No game this weekend but prudent use of the under soil heating and that lot is gone in plenty of time for our next game, even if it was this weekend. Livingston, on the other hand ?
Does under soil heating deal with 8 inches of snow in a day?
I have to assume some of you haven’t dealt all that much with a good volume of snow. Takes my wife half the morning just to clear the drive...
10-02-2021, 09:41 PM
How do the groundsmans wellies survive in this heat, this awful heat?
10-02-2021, 09:49 PM
I have to assume some of you haven’t dealt all that much with a good volume of snow. Takes my wife half the morning just to clear the drive...
And to think she was ungrateful for getting a snow shovel for Xmas!
11-02-2021, 07:44 AM
She has obviously built in a few coffee breaks and chatting to the neighbours.
11-02-2021, 09:11 AM
Can't you send her to Livi to help out?
11-02-2021, 09:17 AM
Homer's on the way,
He's going to save the day!
https://external-content.duckduckgo.com/iu/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.simplyhired.com%2Fblog%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2015%2F02%2FMr_Plow.jpg&f=1&nofb=1
11-02-2021, 09:38 AM
Not just the 8 inches of snow, if you're using heat to deal with it you better have great drainage for the water it leaves behind.
11-02-2021, 10:17 AM
Not just the 8 inches of snow, if you're using heat to deal with it you better have great drainage for the water it leaves behind.
Surely wouldn’t be 8” in one go if they had undersoil heating though, would be able to turn it on early and melt it as it fell.
green with envy
11-02-2021, 11:00 AM
Can this thread be re-named... Potential for the Livi game to be postponed.
11-02-2021, 12:52 PM
I'm sure they scrape most of the snow off first using a tractor then turn the under soil heating on to melt the rest, Livi could have removed the snow and put it in the car parks at the back and side of the ground with a tractor and trailer, but after getting beat and losing there good run it would be better for the players to have a rest and get the result out there system, the manager isn't daft.
11-02-2021, 12:53 PM
Can this thread be re-named... Potential for the Livi game to be postponed.
Or “or potential for Livi t take their responsibility seriously”
11-02-2021, 01:20 PM
I'm sure they scrape most of the snow off first using a tractor then turn the under soil heating on to melt the rest, Livi could have removed the snow and put it in the car parks at the back and side of the ground with a tractor and trailer, but after getting beat and losing there good run it would be better for the players to have a rest and get the result out there system, the manager isn't daft.
I don't think there's anywhere you can get a tractor in and out of the stadium.
11-02-2021, 01:24 PM
There's one "open" corner.
11-02-2021, 01:25 PM
Diddy tractor for a diddy ground?
11-02-2021, 01:33 PM
Presumably it's a requirement of all grounds that emergency vehicle access is possible? Either a gap between stands or something like those big concrete tunnels at Hampden.
11-02-2021, 01:37 PM
Presumably it's a requirement of all grounds that emergency vehicle access is possible? Either a gap between stands or something like those big concrete tunnels at Hampden.
It will be
Livingston have a big gap, to the right of the home stand.
Kano Kirsty
11-02-2021, 05:01 PM
I don’t think the ground itself will be the problem, I expect the game will be called off as the A9 will be treacherous if it’s even open at the snow gates.
12-02-2021, 07:52 AM
Any updates ?
Will Hibs travel up on morning of the game or ?
12-02-2021, 08:00 AM
Any updates ?
Will Hibs travel up on morning of the game or ?
Hibs will travel up today and stay overnight, assuming of course it isn't called off today.
I would imagine Hibs are in constant contact with them getting updates.
12-02-2021, 08:07 AM
I don’t think the ground itself will be the problem, I expect the game will be called off as the A9 will be treacherous if it’s even open at the snow gates.
Think the roads will be fine. Not been any significant snow last couple of days or forecast.
12-02-2021, 08:12 AM
I
Hibs will travel up today and stay overnight, assuming of course it isn't called off today.
I would imagine Hibs are in constant contact with them getting updates.
I would have thought it cheaper and less Covid risk to charter a flight Edinburgh - Inverness on Saturday morning than staying overnight in a hotel.
12-02-2021, 08:16 AM
I
I would have thought it cheaper and less Covid risk to charter a flight Edinburgh - Inverness on Saturday morning than staying overnight in a hotel.
I would have no idea what would work out to be cheaper.
Not sure it would be any different regarding Covid risk, you would still need to get transport from Inverness airport to ground and back again.
12-02-2021, 08:21 AM
It will be
Livingston have a big gap, to the right of the home stand.
What about S****castle?
12-02-2021, 08:29 AM
I would have no idea what would work out to be cheaper.
Not sure it would be any different regarding Covid risk, you would still need to get transport from Inverness airport to ground and back again.
I’m thinking more about the Covid risk staying overnight in a hotel, small I know, but another one just the same.
12-02-2021, 08:44 AM
I’m thinking more about the Covid risk staying overnight in a hotel, small I know, but another one just the
same.
I would have thought staying overnight in a hotel where you're probably the only guests would be safer than a trip to the supermarket.
12-02-2021, 09:07 AM
-5C tonight in Dingwall and staying sub-zero all day Sat. Hope their undersoil heating doesn't trip or pack in like my boiler!
Even with a playable pitch it will be baltic for the players, esp the goalies not running about. Not a day for getting a ball in the coupon that's for sure.
12-02-2021, 09:41 AM
What about S****castle?
Their new stand has a large ‘tunnel’ at the roseburn end for access.
12-02-2021, 09:45 AM
The day before their first match in front of the new stand there was a crane (maybe 2?) that they couldn't get off the pitch as the tunnel didn't have enough headroom. The had to send an excavator to dig it out in a last minute panic.
12-02-2021, 10:40 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210212/d17fa30f9ed452558cccd3cb62d1f3fe.png
12-02-2021, 10:44 AM
Not a good sign if they’re inspecting the day before. I know we’ll be travelling up but youd imagine they’d have a clear idea just now if it’s got a chance or not without an official inspection.
12-02-2021, 10:50 AM
That will be that then. I can’t see them holding an inspection today if they think it’s going ahead.
12-02-2021, 10:56 AM
Fingers crossed but if it is not playable at 2pm today it ain't gonna be playable tomorrow at 3pm given the overnight temperature. Under soil heating is more to prevent frost getting into the ground rather than to defrost, but even then it might struggle to deal with a prolonged deep frost such as we have had, especially if there is a lot of moisture in the ground. Glass half empty.
12-02-2021, 11:15 AM
Not a good sign if they’re inspecting the day before. I know we’ll be travelling up but youd imagine they’d have a clear idea just now if it’s got a chance or not without an official inspection.
I think the inspection is possibility taking place to help Hibs.
No point in Hibs travelling up if there is no chance of the game getting played.
No point in throwing away money on transport and hotels in times where it is hard financially.
12-02-2021, 11:20 AM
I think the inspection is possibility taking place to help Hibs.
No point in Hibs travelling up if there is no chance of the game getting played.
No point in throwing away money on transport and hotels in times where it is hard financially.
Should just move it to the Sunday, as none of us have midweek games
12-02-2021, 11:22 AM
Good shout Billy. Precedent been set for that earlier this season by Livingston.
12-02-2021, 11:33 AM
Not a bad call Billy.
12-02-2021, 11:36 AM
:agree: The temperature's to go up quite a bit by Sunday, 6°C by 3pm on Sunday in Dingwall and that should make a significant dent in the snow.
CB Hibs 68
12-02-2021, 11:51 AM
Sounds like a good shout.
12-02-2021, 11:52 AM
Or even play the game elsewhere, if Sunday's not an option?
I honestly can't see any problem in switching the game to Easter Road, given the fact there's no supporters attending anyway.
banchoryhibs
12-02-2021, 11:58 AM
I believe that it's the biggest, best and most beautiful tunnel in the world too:hmmm:
12-02-2021, 12:32 PM
Or even play the game elsewhere, if Sunday's not an option?
I honestly can't see any problem in switching the game to Easter Road, given the fact there's no supporters attending anyway.
Apart from a 6 hours return trip, nowhere for your players to shower nor to stop on the way up or down for a meal. If it was Hibs being asked to give up a home game i would not be happy
12-02-2021, 12:40 PM
Apart from a 6 hours return trip, nowhere for your players to shower nor to stop on the way up or down for a meal. If it was Hibs being asked to give up a home game i would not be happy
Yes that won't happen on short notice however nothing stopping the game being moved to Sunday
12-02-2021, 12:41 PM
Playing games away from ER doesn't seem to have done Hibs much harm...
12-02-2021, 12:41 PM
Surely they can rearrange to Sunday or Monday ?
Does anyone know for certain if Hibs will stay over in a hotel ? Will they open a hotel as they are elite sports people?
12-02-2021, 12:50 PM
Inverness game is off, it's not looking good for us.
12-02-2021, 12:52 PM
I'm thinking another weeks rest could be a good thing for our squad as a whole, the game being postponed would not be the worst thing in my opinion.
And we'd be another week undefeated. :greengrin
12-02-2021, 12:56 PM
Inverness haven't played a home game in months whereas Ross County have.
12-02-2021, 12:56 PM
Surely they can rearrange to Sunday or Monday ?
Does anyone know for certain if Hibs will stay over in a hotel ? Will they open a hotel as they are elite sports people?
100% staying in a hotel.
BlackSheep
12-02-2021, 01:14 PM
Pitch inspection was at 2pm
12-02-2021, 01:19 PM
Pitch inspection was at 2pm
The inspection at Inverness was at 1:30pm and the game was announced as postponed at 1:50pm so I'm expecting to hear very soon.
12-02-2021, 01:21 PM
The inspection at Inverness was at 1:30pm and the game was announced as postponed at 1:50pm so I'm expecting to hear very soon.
Possibly the same referee for both inspections.
If so I guess it's a question of how long it takes for him to get from Inverness to Dingwall
skyehibee
12-02-2021, 01:30 PM
Games off
12-02-2021, 01:31 PM
Postponed.
Games off
Game off
12-02-2021, 01:32 PM
Baws
BlackSheep
12-02-2021, 01:33 PM
Where’s it reported?
Ignore me I see it now.
12-02-2021, 01:33 PM
Where’s it reported?
https://twitter.com/rosscounty/status/1360234951757676547?s=21
murray26
12-02-2021, 01:35 PM
That’s disappointing but I’m sure we have a free week soon with no SC matches ATM
12-02-2021, 01:35 PM
FFS. Going to have to go for another walk instead now :boo hoo:
12-02-2021, 01:37 PM
That’s disappointing but I’m sure we have a free week soon with no SC matches ATM
We have on 13th March
12-02-2021, 01:39 PM
Gutted! Was really looking forward to the game this weekend.
12-02-2021, 01:39 PM
**** sat now. :rolleyes:
12-02-2021, 01:45 PM
No surprise but a bit crap all the same.
Where am I going to release my pent up frustration and existential angst now?
12-02-2021, 01:46 PM
No surprise but a bit crap all the same.
Where am I going to release my pent up frustration and existential angst now?
Scotland v Wales in the rugby at 4:45?
12-02-2021, 01:47 PM
So much for the snow protecting the pitch!
Frozen now and temperature forecast for Dingwall is below freezing for the whole of tomorrow.
Hats of to the OP who said that it was likely to be postponed.
Was looking forward to the game but postponement gives Irvine, Gogic & Newell another week to recover fully
12-02-2021, 01:48 PM
:boo hoo:
Hibeesforever
12-02-2021, 01:50 PM
Amateur club no undersoil heating....should be mandatory for all clubs!
King Cosell
12-02-2021, 01:51 PM
No reason why they can't play on Monday or Tuesday. No messing around.
12-02-2021, 01:51 PM
Typical Ross.
12-02-2021, 01:52 PM
They do have understood heating and it's been on. Not much good at -15 though
12-02-2021, 01:55 PM
Let’s be honest, it is no surprise. The weather has been the worst in decades. Very little Ross County could have done
12-02-2021, 01:57 PM
No reason why they can't play on Monday or Tuesday. No messing around.
Agree temperatures forecast to rise from Sunday. Maybe suits both teams not to play not sure.
King Cosell
12-02-2021, 01:58 PM
Means I can watch the whole 1st day on the 2nd test in India and have a long sleep afterwards. Swings and roundabouts.
:coffee:
ElginHibbie
12-02-2021, 02:06 PM
Would have been good to keep momentum going but if a week allows Newell, Irvine and Gogic to all get back to full fitness maybe not bad timing
12-02-2021, 02:16 PM
Let’s be honest, it is no surprise. The weather has been the worst in decades. Very little Ross County could have done
Not quite as bad at the Beast from the East in 2018 but it's certainly pretty bad.
12-02-2021, 02:19 PM
Not quite as bad at the Beast from the East in 2018 but it's certainly pretty bad.
In Dundee it’s been horrible. Knee deep in places. Worse for us than in 2018. Great chance to head to the woods and get some Christmas 2021 card photos done of the wildlife though!
12-02-2021, 02:20 PM
FFS. Going to have to go for another walk instead now :boo hoo:
You lucky b****rd. I’ll get roped into shopping now🤬
12-02-2021, 02:20 PM
Shame to break up our winning momentum. I'd have fancied us to take revenge for that post Christmas defeat at ER.
Is it likely to be rescheduled for next midweek do we know?
12-02-2021, 02:23 PM
I'll have to go shopping ..... oh
Afternoon in the pub with the lads .....oh
12-02-2021, 02:26 PM
Ross County out
Cat Stanton
12-02-2021, 02:26 PM
Means I can watch the whole 1st day on the 2nd test in India and have a long sleep afterwards. Swings and roundabouts.
surely if it's watching cricket, you can have the long sleep during it?
12-02-2021, 02:30 PM
Hopefully if Newell, Gogic and Irvine were feeling less than 100% then it gives us a wee chance to get them fully fit. Sit back and hope Aberdeen and Livi lose now.
12-02-2021, 02:31 PM
Its probably just as well, its way too cold for us English lads, Macey, Wright and Newell cant be out in this weather and Irvine well its not exactly barbie weather is it. I'd include Gogic in the list but the lad's as hard as nails.
12-02-2021, 02:31 PM
Gutted! Was really looking forward to the game this weekend.
Me anaw.
12-02-2021, 02:43 PM
I thought it was for SPL?
12-02-2021, 02:44 PM
They do have understood heating and it's been on. Not much good at -15 though
Must be a simpler boiler than mine then.
12-02-2021, 02:49 PM
Just messaged the other half to let her know than I refuse to sit in and watch football on valentines weekend and I’d love to go for that romantic walk instead😎😂
seanshow
12-02-2021, 02:51 PM
'kin boooooooo :grr: petrie!
12-02-2021, 03:12 PM
surely if it's watching cricket, you can have the long sleep during it?
i actually fell asleep once when someone mentioned cricket, just glad i wasn't driving at the time
glorified rounders ;)
12-02-2021, 03:25 PM
Disappointed.
Will just have to watch the rugby now and scrutinise the taking of the knee procedures and see if Stuart Hogg is spotting giving a YLT sign.
12-02-2021, 03:41 PM
Ross County out
Dross County surely?
12-02-2021, 04:11 PM
Horlicks. Rugger it is. Will check the scores around 5. Just as we were on a roll.
Silversand
12-02-2021, 04:12 PM
Crystal Palace v Burnley on Sky Sports at 3pm [emoji852]
Think I'd rather go shopping with the missus, but that's not an option either [emoji848][emoji16]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
12-02-2021, 04:16 PM
Crystal Palace v Burnley on Sky Sports at 3pm [emoji852]
Think I'd rather go shopping with the missus, but that's not an option either [emoji848][emoji16]
Probably find a steam of the St Mirren Aberdeen game. Big game for us that.
12-02-2021, 04:27 PM
i'l flick between...
Aberdeen v st.mirren
Dundee utd v Livingston
motherwell are also creeping up for that last top six place
Silversand
12-02-2021, 04:29 PM
Probably find a steam of the St Mirren Aberdeen game. Big game for us that.Yeah, good shout [emoji106]
12-02-2021, 04:31 PM
i actually fell asleep once when someone mentioned cricket, just glad i wasn't driving at the time
glorified rounders ;)
Surely that baseball?
12-02-2021, 04:34 PM
Postponement coming at the wrong time as we're flying. Maybe a blessing though with Irvine having a knock and getting Allan back up to speed
12-02-2021, 04:35 PM
Surely that baseball?
i can't even remember ever watching baseball but i think you're right
12-02-2021, 04:54 PM
I wonder if the squad will play a bounce game, few guys need match minutes.
Green Reaper
12-02-2021, 05:05 PM
The thing I was looking forward to being able to do on my Birthday 😡 ah well, at least I have my free beers to drink 😁
Magpie
12-02-2021, 05:19 PM
That will be a two break going into the Hamilton game then. Hopefully we can now go into that game with Newell, Irvine and Gogic fit. Organising a bounce game for the likes of Magennis and Allan would be good too.
12-02-2021, 05:53 PM
I’m getting quite used to supporting St Mirren these days.
12-02-2021, 06:03 PM
I’m getting quite used to supporting St Mirren these days.
I like the Buddies. Definitely have a soft spot for them
12-02-2021, 06:19 PM
Must be a simpler boiler than mine then.
:hilarious :top marks
Stonewall
12-02-2021, 07:16 PM
sounds like a plan.
12-02-2021, 08:32 PM
You lucky b****rd. I’ll get roped into shopping now🤬
It should only be one person at a time in a shop - there's your "get out of jail free" card
12-02-2021, 08:57 PM
A steam? Bit like Apache war smoke?
WWFTWTG
12-02-2021, 09:12 PM
Can someone explain why the game is off if they have an effective undersoil heating system? I don't anything about these systems and would be interested to know.
Renfrew_Hibby
12-02-2021, 09:36 PM
Can someone explain why the game is off if they have an effective undersoil heating system? I don't anything about these systems and would be interested to know.
I'm sure your average undersoil heating system can only cope with temperatures down to say between -5C and -10C max. I believe it's been between -13C and -16C the last three nights and as a result the system would have been totally ineffective, as ours would also have been.
Add to that the face that theres about 10 inches of snow on the pitch and A9 is extremely treacherous at several points means that the game was always going to be off.
Wakeyhibee
12-02-2021, 10:07 PM
I know this is the SPFL but is there not a chance to replay it tues/wed to avoid more fixture congestion. Weather turns milder from Sunday.
King Cosell
12-02-2021, 10:08 PM
I'm sure your average undersoil heating system can only cope with temperatures down to say between -5C and -10C max. I believe it's been between -13C and -16C the last three nights and as a result the system would have been totally ineffective, as ours would also have been.
Add to that the face that theres about 10 inches of snow on the pitch and A9 is extremely treacherous at several points means that the game was always going to be off.
It's nowhere near that cold, according to BBC weather it'll drop to -5 for a couple of hours 7-9am, 10am it's -2, 1pm it's -1 for the rest of the day. A decent heating would easily cope.
12-02-2021, 10:11 PM
I know this is the SPFL but is there not a chance to replay it tues/wed to avoid more fixture congestion. Weather turns milder from Sunday.
Ive played the match out tonight on my Subbuteo table. Didnt actually have a Ross County team, Brazil stood in for them, Hibs won 7-2. I've informed the SPL and they are going with the result.
Wakeyhibee
13-02-2021, 12:40 AM
Ive played the match out tonight on my Subbuteo table. Didnt actually have a Ross County team, Brazil stood in for them, Hibs won 7-2. I've informed the SPL and they are going with the result.
:faf: where was the link for the PPV?
13-02-2021, 01:12 AM
Its probably just as well, its way too cold for us English lads, Macey, Wright and Newell cant be out in this weather and Irvine well its not exactly barbie weather is it. I'd include Gogic in the list but the lad's as hard as nails.
Cold enough here that I have to stop wearing shorts for the next week and get jeans on instead. This is BS.....
13-02-2021, 06:01 AM
It's nowhere near that cold, according to BBC weather it'll drop to -5 for a couple of hours 7-9am, 10am it's -2, 1pm it's -1 for the rest of the day. A decent heating would easily cope.
Mibbe you have to take windchill into it, could be doon tae -13?
13-02-2021, 07:14 AM
Did you have the stands up?
County could be in real bother here with the SFA and government if you had those wee supporters in the crowd.
Safe travels home to all involved though.
13-02-2021, 07:50 AM
Did Doidge score? He deserves a goal
13-02-2021, 09:15 AM
If Diclonius is reading this, that was my prediction for the scoreline. 3 points please :greengrin
13-02-2021, 09:43 AM
It's nowhere near that cold, according to BBC weather it'll drop to -5 for a couple of hours 7-9am, 10am it's -2, 1pm it's -1 for the rest of the day. A decent heating would easily cope.It's what they have had for the whole week that's the problem - prolonged and deep. (Sounds like a film I saw once.)
13-02-2021, 11:55 AM
What I and probably the SFA too would like to know is Which corrupt official was taking charge of the game?
13-02-2021, 12:23 PM
If we can play this on the Scottish Cup that’s free, will be best for Hibs
Last thing we need is a midweek game, between 2 big games, when we have a free weekend
So we’ve got 2 home games and 3 away games before the split, and next 2 are at home
Home
Hamilton 20th Feb
Motherwell 27th Feb
Away
St Johnstone 6th March
Livingston 20th March
Ross County TBC