View Full Version : Potential Transfer News - Out the way
09-02-2021, 01:23 PM
Young goalkeeper Murray Johnson who has impressed the backroom staff
https://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2021/02/09/easter-road-starlet-murray-johnson-joins-manchester-city-on-trial/amp/?__twitter_impression=true
09-02-2021, 01:32 PM
We dont Bring many keepers through the ranks ,that make the grade ,pity we are not giving him the opportunity to hone his talents with us ,and Sell later down the line .But maybe we need to do this every so often to help pay the running costs of east mains ?
09-02-2021, 02:05 PM
It's a tough situation for Hibs.
He's highly rated and obviously in an ideal world we'd keep him here and develop him into a 1st team goalkeeper. However he's only 16 and a reported 6 figure fee for someone who could quite possible stagnate in his development is not to be sniffed at. Equally it's a huge opportunity for the player to join one of the top clubs in Europe and probably make a decent amount of money for himself. Is it in Hibs best interests to stand in his way?
09-02-2021, 02:07 PM
Wonder if we could promise to fast track his progression to the first team in order to keep him. Sure we did similar with Porteous when Celtc wanted him, although appreciate it’s slightly different given he’s a goalkeeper.
09-02-2021, 02:39 PM
Sell, that's silly money for a kid who has, on average, a very slim chance of making it.
09-02-2021, 02:44 PM
Young goalkeeper Murray Johnson who has impressed the backroom staff
https://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2021/02/09/easter-road-starlet-murray-johnson-joins-manchester-city-on-trial/amp/?__twitter_impression=true
Boo!
The big teams take all the best players from the small clubs.
Give them a trial. Keep the very best ones, giving their clubs a couple of quid in compensation and chuck back the ones they don't fancy.
09-02-2021, 03:46 PM
Sell, that's silly money for a kid who has, on average, a very slim chance of making it.
It really isn't silly money. He doesn't even have to "make it" as you claim, he just has to be good enough to command a decent sell on fee and their interest is justified. Even better if were he to make it to the first team of course. Speculate to accumulate, just like we try to do, just on a much larger budget.
09-02-2021, 04:09 PM
It really isn't silly money. He doesn't even have to "make it" as you claim, he just has to be good enough to command a decent sell on fee and their interest is justified. Even better if were he to make it to the first team of course. Speculate to accumulate, just like we try to do, just on a much larger budget.
Is there no chance of a sell on fee for Hibs? Is he on a contract at that age or is the fee purely for his development so far?
09-02-2021, 04:17 PM
100k is silly money for a 16 year old.
09-02-2021, 04:35 PM
OK we'll have to disagree then. Man City clearly think he worth the financial risk, which is pretty small given their budget.
09-02-2021, 04:48 PM
I know a lad that’s just gone to one of the Manchester clubs. He’s 15 YO and they paid his previous club around )£150k plus add ons. That’s the going rate. ( his club wanted £250k) I’ve no doubt that this lad will be worth many millions in the future so a paltry layout for potential return. That’s EPL clubs unfortunately. I would imagine we will see a lot more of this in the future for Scottish clubs
09-02-2021, 04:56 PM
He's only going for a trial.
It will be a player factory down there.
09-02-2021, 05:04 PM
OK we'll have to disagree then. Man City clearly think he worth the financial risk, which is pretty small given their budget.Yes, the risk is nothing for them. Its not a risk. Us turning down 100k for a player who hasn't kicked a ball, and maybe never will, is madness.
I know a lad that’s just gone to one of the Manchester clubs. He’s 15 YO and they paid his previous club around )£150k plus add ons. That’s the going rate. ( his club wanted £250k) I’ve no doubt that this lad will be worth many millions in the future so a paltry layout for potential return. That’s EPL clubs unfortunately. I would imagine we will see a lot more of this in the future for Scottish clubs
You have no doubt a 15 year old be worth millions? The odds of him even making it long term professionally are extremely slim.
09-02-2021, 05:14 PM
Yes, the risk is nothing for them. Its not a risk. Us turning down 100k for a player who hasn't kicked a ball, and maybe never will, is madness.
You have no doubt a 15 year old be worth millions? The odds of him even making it long term professionally are extremely slim.
I think if Man City are sniffing about him at this age and considering paying £100k for him the chances of him making it as a footballer at some level are probably quite high.
My concern with a potential sell on % is that if he ends up being brilliant and breaks into the Man City side the chances of him being sold are quite slim. If he doesn’t break into the side then he won’t be worth much.
I’d hope we include some add ons that include him playing for the first team.
Did Ron not say we were in talks with a big club about a potential link up, think Mathie did as well? Wonder if it’s Man City and this is the start of it.
BlackSheep
09-02-2021, 05:17 PM
It's a tough situation for Hibs.
He's highly rated and obviously in an ideal world we'd keep him here and develop him into a 1st team goalkeeper. However he's only 16 and a reported 6 figure fee for someone who could quite possible stagnate in his development is not to be sniffed at. Equally it's a huge opportunity for the player to join one of the top clubs in Europe and probably make a decent amount of money for himself. Is it in Hibs best interests to stand in his way?
And to answer your final question, I would say it’s not in hibs best interest to stand in their way... they risk alienating other young talent who may think the same could happen to them.
09-02-2021, 05:18 PM
Yes, the risk is nothing for them. Its not a risk. Us turning down 100k for a player who hasn't kicked a ball, and maybe never will, is madness.
With all due respect you don’t know the lad I’m talking about. Of course anything could happen. Just been selected for England U16, been training and will play several age groups above where he is now. Hopefully selects Scotland as his country.
09-02-2021, 11:45 PM
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;6461439]Sell, that's silly money for a kid who has, on average, a very slim chance of making it.[/QUO
2 days salary for Ozil when he was at Arsenal
09-02-2021, 11:51 PM
A 6 figure sum for a 16 year old?!
Bite there hand off and include a 10% selling on fee.
Worst case scenario he doesn’t make it whatsoever. After that Man City will probably buy him cheap and sell him for a couple of million to a championship team without anything to really justify paying that for him but that’s the English market.
The odds on him being first choice is Man City in this day are slim to none, they’ll go out and buy the best keeper in the world.
Some move for him though and he’s clearly talented. A lot of the bigger clubs seem to buy all the best talent for cheap though knowing they’ll make a profit.
10-02-2021, 01:57 AM
I doubt there is much Hibs can do to stop the lad leaving anyway. He’s only 16.
10-02-2021, 05:08 AM
2 days salary for Ozil when he was at Arsenal
If this kid has a tenth of Ozils career he'll retire a happy man.
10-02-2021, 05:58 AM
I doubt there is much Hibs can do to stop the lad leaving anyway. He’s only 16.
He has just signed a senior contract with us.
Souter96Mac
10-02-2021, 07:09 AM
I imagine teams like City, take hunners of young players on trial. No discredit to the young goalie btw, but I get the impression City will be searching all ends of the globe for the very best talents.
10-02-2021, 08:19 AM
Depends how good they are. If City are interested they must be seeing something.
10-02-2021, 08:31 AM
With all due respect you don’t know the lad I’m talking about. Of course anything could happen. Just been selected for England U16, been training and will play several age groups above where he is now. Hopefully selects Scotland as his country.
is that an option? Would be good if he did
10-02-2021, 08:35 AM
Agree
10-02-2021, 09:12 AM
I dont see how £100k for a 16 year old is silly money. If a team she's potential in a player then they will pay for that.
10-02-2021, 09:18 AM
£100k? It’s worth turning that down to give the lad a chance to make it imo. I hope the club see it that way, considering we knocked back getting on for £3m over the January window.
10-02-2021, 09:22 AM
£100k? It’s worth turning that down to give the lad a chance to make it imo. I hope the club see it that way, considering we knocked back getting on for £3m over the January window.
I agree.
£100k for someone that’s ***** is like money for old rope so good to get a wee bit income.
£100k for someone that could potentially be worth millions (must have some potential for Man City to be looking at him) doesn’t seem like a smart cash out option to me.
If he has his heart set on a move and we felt it unfair to stop him then I’d be looking for more potentially lucrative returns than £100k
Clarence
10-02-2021, 11:29 AM
We dont Bring many keepers through the ranks ,that make the grade ,pity we are not giving him the opportunity to hone his talents with us ,and Sell later down the line .But maybe we need to do this every so often to help pay the running costs of east mains ?
We don’t bring goalies through the ranks or at least haven’t in my lifetime
The dalmeny
10-02-2021, 11:52 AM
As folk have said it’s just a trial but it would be a decent bit business. It’s a big move though to be away from home at that age. I’ve seen the academy set up at MC and it’s some gig.
I wonder how many keepers they have at that age group. Putting its MC aside for a minute IMO it’s far better to be at a team where you’ll get decent game time although I wouldn’t blame the laddie for going for it
TheGreenMan
10-02-2021, 11:52 AM
Cup winning Andy McNeil?
10-02-2021, 11:53 AM
Cup winning Andy McNeil?
We signed him from Southampton.
10-02-2021, 11:54 AM
Cup winning Andy McNeil?
Signed from Southampton iirc?
TheGreenMan
10-02-2021, 12:07 PM
We signed him from Southampton.
I always thought he was from the youth team! And was a Hibby too?
green with envy
10-02-2021, 12:54 PM
He actually played at Wembley in a youth FA Cup final for Southampton before signing for Hibs.
The Count
10-02-2021, 01:08 PM
If he fails at Hibs he will be released with no money in his pocket.If he fails at Man City he will be released after a great experience at a top top club with the added bonus of having a decent wee wedge in his pocket.Can any 16 year old working class laddie turn that down???
Booker5time
10-02-2021, 03:56 PM
Would be disapointed to lose him as he seems highly rated but at 16 he years away from any first team action as not many keepers are playing first team football in there teens.
On a side note, think Man City been scouting the Scottish youth teams as they allready taking a few from Celtic and Rangers with Liam Smith, Josh Adams and Adedire Mebude going down there recently.
10-02-2021, 04:46 PM
He’s from Leith, so good chance he is
Chris Reid maybe the last?
10-02-2021, 05:49 PM
He’s from Leith, so good chance he is
Andy McNeil went to Sciennes and Boroughmuir, he was a contemporary of my laddie (also a goalie). Both played at the same age group at Boys club. Felt for the laddie when he was at Hibs, some horrible mistakes, but he is a cup winner so he’s in a pretty elite group of Hibs players
10-02-2021, 07:21 PM
Has the £100K actually been confirmed?
I only read '6 figure sum'. Of course that could be £100K but it could also be £999K.
10-02-2021, 07:37 PM
Signing youth players for a relatively cheap fee and selling on at a profit has been a good earner for Man City. £150m over the past five years from academy sales. The bulk of the guys have never been near the first team.
10-02-2021, 07:44 PM
Signing youth players for a relatively cheap fee and selling on at a profit has been a good earner for Man City. £150m over the past five years from academy sales. The bulk of the guys have never been near the first team.
They and the likes of Chelsea have
Thought UEFA were introducing a system, where you could only loan out so many players
I shudder to think how many good players have gone into their academies, who may have developed elsewhere, if they’d only played for their local teams
10-02-2021, 08:05 PM
They and the likes of Chelsea have
Thought UEFA were introducing a system, where you could only loan out so many players
I shudder to think how many good players have gone into their academies, who may have developed elsewhere, if they’d only played for their local teams
I think the bulk of the guys they sell do make it at a decent level though. The approach Man City takes also helps with their FFP commitments.
Glass half full
10-02-2021, 10:13 PM
Potentially makes UK youngsters more valuable.
From FA
Under FIFA’s rules, the UK’s exit from the EU will also mean that clubs will not be able to sign players from overseas until they are 18.
10-02-2021, 11:08 PM
Potentially makes UK youngsters more valuable.
From FA
Under FIFA’s rules, the UK’s exit from the EU will also mean that clubs will not be able to sign players from overseas until they are 18.
It does and Scottish clubs, players and agents are well aware of it.
11-02-2021, 08:28 AM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.skysports.com/amp/football/news/11669/12213077/harvey-elliott-liverpool-ordered-to-pay-fulham-record-compensation-fee-for-16-year-old
Maybe £100k is a little low😀
11-02-2021, 11:30 AM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.skysports.com/amp/football/news/11669/12213077/harvey-elliott-liverpool-ordered-to-pay-fulham-record-compensation-fee-for-16-year-old
Maybe £100k is a little low[emoji3]
By a few million That’s an incredible amount they have had to pay for a 16 year old
11-02-2021, 11:53 AM
Chris Reid maybe the last?
That was my thought as well.
Did Jason Gardiner ever play for the first team, there was high hopes for him at one time?
11-02-2021, 11:57 AM
That was my thought as well.
Did Jason Gardiner ever play for the first team, there was high hopes for him at one time?
Don't recall him breaking into the first team. I remember seeing him play in goals when we won the BP youth cup at Easter Road maybe against Dundee Itd?
Had high hopes for Chris and Jason
Edit.. Just looked back and looks like it was Ayr Utd that we won against at ER
11-02-2021, 12:24 PM
Don't recall him breaking into the first team. I remember seeing him play in goals when we won the BP youth cup at Easter Road maybe against Dundee Itd?
Had high hopes for Chris and Jason
Edit.. Just looked back and looks like it was Ayr Utd that we won against at ER
We played Dundee United around that time as well.
I think it was tannadice and I might even have been there. My family knew one of the players so had an interest at the time. Travelling to tannadice tk watch a youth game doesn’t sound like something we would have done so every chance I’ve got my memories mixed up.
Sure we played them around that time though.
EI255
11-02-2021, 12:39 PM
Went to a good school I see. Same school as Ian Murray as well.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
11-02-2021, 01:21 PM
Who was the goalie Ally someone? Sure he got a few games early 00s.
Glass half full
11-02-2021, 03:18 PM
I remember Utd away.
Must have been the final away against Utd as I only used to go to the home games as a Club 86 member.
Alot of players in that team that I thought could have made it, Gardiner in goals, Graham Love at LB. Colin Mcdonald. Tweed did come through.
Huge leap to our first team though
11-02-2021, 03:20 PM
Has the £100K actually been confirmed?
I only read '6 figure sum'. Of course that could be £100K but it could also be £999K.
No it was a media assumption to spice the story up that was based on him having a contract at Hibs.
The kid hadn't even had his trial at Man City and will be one of over a hundred talented youngsters who go there for trials each and every month.
Any young player that shows real promise at a club like Hibs which separates them from the crowd will find themselves contacted by lots of big teams and asked to go for a trial. Our kid should enjoy it for what it is but not be too disappointed if they don't want to sign him up. As I said there will likely be another trial with another big club round the corner. It's a brutal business and the odds are, that in the end, the kid won't even earn his living playing football.
Caveat - I haven't seen the kid play so Billy Whizz will be along in a minute to say the kid is the best young keeper he has ever seen at Hibs and that he will definitely make it :greengrin.
11-02-2021, 03:21 PM
Who was the goalie Ally someone? Sure he got a few games early 00s.
Ally Brown.
Jason Gardiner dropped out the game and years ago I met him and he was a store detective at M&S or BHS in Princes Street if I recall. Good guy :aok:
11-02-2021, 03:39 PM
Ally Brown.
Jason Gardiner dropped out the game and years ago I met him and he was a store detective at M&S or BHS in Princes Street if I recall. Good guy :aok:
Did he let you off? :wink:
Was also a joiner and soccer school coach after retiring.
Jason the randy goalie represented Scotland at every age group up to and including U21 but didn't play a single game for Hibs in his 7 or 8 senior seasons at the club. A season at Stirling Albion and career finished by knee injuries
A good example of how hellishly difficult it is to have a full time career in the mens game even when everyone thinks you will make it.
11-02-2021, 03:54 PM
Did he let you off? :wink:
:greengrin:aok:
...visions of the opening scene in Trainspotting
Think I was with my ex missus when I bumped into him.......went in with a full wallet and left with an empty one, so he maybe should have lifted her :faf:
13-03-2021, 09:40 PM
https://www.footballinsider247.com/sources-wolves-set-to-beat-man-city-to-six-figure-signing-of-johnson/
13-03-2021, 09:44 PM
https://www.footballinsider247.com/sources-wolves-set-to-beat-man-city-to-six-figure-signing-of-johnson/
Seen somebody tweet this morning it was £400k
surely not??
13-03-2021, 09:50 PM
surely not??
Yeah, seems to be the figure doing the rounds on Twitter.
Pocket change for a club like Wolves so not outwith the realms of possibility.
Hopefully we still manage to get decent add ons to that as well.
13-03-2021, 10:23 PM
400k plus Ruddy to us 😉😁
14-03-2021, 09:27 AM
surely not??
I think that proves just how daft the money is down south. That's a serious transfer fee for us, Aberdeen and Hearts and far beyond affordable for any other team in Scotland that isn't an Ugly Sister. Yet it's being paid for a kid who has done nothing but has "potential".
Good luck to Johnson. Let's hope he makes it at a decent level.
Percy Vere
14-03-2021, 09:45 AM
Poor decision to sell. Might only be £100k. Why are we not developing this lad into a first team keeper?
Highly rated and being fought over by three Premiership teams.
I think he has more than a slim chance.
14-03-2021, 09:53 AM
Poor decision to sell. Might only be £100k. Why are we not developing this lad into a first team keeper?
I can't think of one keeper who we've developed to that level in my 30 years following hibs. He may have a good chance of making it but his chances surely improve with a move. A deal makes sense for both parties.
14-03-2021, 10:44 AM
If 400k is true, amazing business for someone who has never kicked a ball for us. We aren't developing him because he obviously wants to go only 2 months after signing a deal.
14-03-2021, 10:45 AM
Scott Burns saying 250k from Wolves for Johnson plus further incentives. Another youngster, Ethan Laidlaw, also been on trial with Leeds recently but he’s just signed a deal with us too so if they want him they’ll need to pay.
This is good money. We don’t know how he will progress. We have to make a judgement on all age groups and income like this is always welcome. Could be the difference of signing Jackson Irvine on long term deal.
14-03-2021, 10:58 AM
This is good money. We don’t know how he will progress. We have to make a judgement on all age groups and income like this is always welcome. Could be the difference of signing Jackson Irvine on long term deal.
Exactly. £250k would basically cover what we paid for Nisbet too I think. It’s not cash we can turn down for a player that’s never kicked a ball for the first team.
14-03-2021, 11:49 AM
Hopefully we can stick a decent sell-on-fee into the deal as well, sounds like the guys got a bright future.
14-03-2021, 11:52 AM
Wasn't aware Laidlaw had been training with Leeds. A few highly rated youngsters at Hibs just now.
Edit... Found this
https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/news/leeds-united-hand-trial-to-hibs-striker-ethan-laidlaw/
14-03-2021, 11:55 AM
I have often wondered if it is worthwhile having an academy due to the lack of players we seem to bring through. These two players fees would cover the cost of the academy for a long time.
14-03-2021, 12:08 PM
I have often wondered if it is worthwhile having an academy due to the lack of players we seem to bring through. These two players fees would cover the cost of the academy for a long time.
There hardly seems a point if we let all the better ones leave before we've managed to develop them into first team material.
Although I understand that money is tight just now, the whole point of an academy is to invest in and develop young players in the expectation that the better ones will generate a good transfer fee after giving a good return via the first team on the playing field. Otherwise, why not just not invest in our own coaches and players and become a satellite academy of an EPL team?
14-03-2021, 12:10 PM
There hardly seems a point if we let all the better ones leave before we've managed to develop them into first team material.
Although I understand that money is tight just now, the whole point of an academy is to invest in and develop young players in the expectation that the better ones will generate a good transfer fee after giving a good return via the first team on the playing field. Otherwise, why not just not invest in our own coaches and players and become a satellite academy of an EPL team?
All of them is it? Am I imagining Ryan Porteous? Or Josh Doig?
14-03-2021, 12:11 PM
Exactly. £250k would basically cover what we paid for Nisbet too I think. It’s not cash we can turn down for a player that’s never kicked a ball for the first team.
Money for Hibs to hopefully reinvest in the academy
I often wonder why young players go down to these big clubs, very very few seem to make it
Look at Billy Gilmour, one of the best talents to come out of Scotland in last few years, not even playing now
14-03-2021, 12:16 PM
All of them is it? Am I imagining Ryan Porteous? Or Josh Doig?
Where do I say "all of them"? And Doig came from Hearts academy.
Since the days of the golden generation of O'Connor, Brown, Fletcher, Riordan how many players have we brought through on average per season? The training centre and academy have been in place for what - 14 years, 15 years? Not very many - especially compared to clubs like Motherwell, etc.
14-03-2021, 12:24 PM
Money for Hibs to hopefully reinvest in the academy
I often wonder why young players go down to these big clubs, very very few seem to make it
Look at Billy Gilmour, one of the best talents to come out of Scotland in last few years, not even playing now
With all due respect it’s not hard to figure out why they do it.
If you’re at Hibs you’re probably getting paid very little as a youth player with a very slim chance of making it, if you go out on loan it’s to the lower divisions and if you get released it’s most likely going to be the same and before you know it you’re part time.
Signing for an English premiership team is completely different, whilst the chance of making it for them is slim they’ll be on much better money and will probably get a couple of decent moves to other teams off the back of it.
If Murray signs for wolves and it doesn’t work out, worse case scenario he’s probably back in Scottish football in a couple of years.
I think Hibs are right to accept the 250k plus incentives for him, fanatastic business for a 16 year old keeper. He has a hell of a long way to go before he would be considered first choice for us.
Andy McNeil, David Grof and now Dabrowski are all recent keepers that big things were expected of.
I think it’s worth remembering a lot of English clips buy the best youngsters going with no intention of playing them, but to sell them at a later date for a profit.
Orchard_Hibs
14-03-2021, 12:25 PM
Before anyone says it I know a 16 year old won’t be ready for first team football, but if we have a 250-400k rated goalie or n the ranks and we are losing our first choice Keeper in the summer surly we should be looking to getting the young guy in amongst the first team and keeping him instead of letting him go now.
14-03-2021, 12:28 PM
Hibs can’t afford to turn down six figure offers for youth players. I wish both lads all the best and as a club we move on.
#LUFC have taken highly rated Hibernian striker Ethan Laidlaw on trial ahead of a potential summer move!
Laidlaw who recent turned 16, signed his first professional contract with the Scottish club.
Mate just sent me this. Not sure if it has been mentioned?
14-03-2021, 12:33 PM
Not every academy prospect needs to play for Hibs, if we are selling youth players to big clubs down south for good money and keeping a few players to play in our squad before selling for even more then that's a great mix to have.
This is the kind of thing that makes a youth academy worthwhile
14-03-2021, 12:43 PM
#LUFC have taken highly rated Hibernian striker Ethan Laidlaw on trial ahead of a potential summer move!
Laidlaw who recent turned 16, signed his first professional contract with the Scottish club.
Mate just sent me this. Not sure if it has been mentioned?
There's virtually nothing Hibs could do to stop youngsters like him and the keeper, moving to big English clubs.
If we told him we weren't letting him go, they'd undoubtedly just leave for nothing at the end of their contracts which won't be particularly lengthy.
In Ethan's case, he just signed pro terms with us so we would get a fee and a sell on.
Good luck to the boy.
https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/news/leeds-united-hand-trial-to-hibs-striker-ethan-laidlaw/
14-03-2021, 12:59 PM
Key for me is not just the fee but further incentives. Its sad but that's how clubs our size in Scotland will make real money.
A fee for appearances, sell on % is probably a better longer term bet than an extra £100k given we seem to be in a healthy financial position.
I'd always like to keep our best young players but if he is desperate to go then it's just about getting the best deal for the club.
14-03-2021, 01:03 PM
Since the days of the golden generation of O'Connor, Brown, Fletcher, Riordan how many players have we brought through on average per season? The training centre and academy have been in place for what - 14 years, 15 years? Not very many - especially compared to clubs like Motherwell, etc.
Has their academy really produced that much? Turnbull and Campbell, otherwise who?
14-03-2021, 01:21 PM
Our club was a basket case until 2014. What happened prior to that is well worth forgetting about. We were fortunate with the golden generation in the fact that we never had a choice but to play them. We were skint and had to Chuck them in under Bobby. That years experience meant when Mowbray came in they were flying.
We are now reaping the rewards of the structure put in place in 2014. That wasn’t going to be a quick fix and those who were signed then will be late teens now and making their mark.
14-03-2021, 01:43 PM
Has their academy really produced that much? Turnbull and Campbell, otherwise who?
They got a decent fee for James Scott.
17-03-2021, 05:22 AM
There's virtually nothing Hibs could do to stop youngsters like him and the keeper, moving to big English clubs.
If we told him we weren't letting him go, they'd undoubtedly just leave for nothing at the end of their contracts which won't be particularly lengthy.
In Ethan's case, he just signed pro terms with us so we would get a fee and a sell on.
Good luck to the boy.
Bit of a further update:
https://www.footballinsider247.com/leeds-united-laidlaw-mandate-agent-permission/
17-03-2021, 05:59 AM
Bit of a further update:
https://www.footballinsider247.com/leeds-united-laidlaw-mandate-agent-permission/
Anyone seen either of these kids play?
17-03-2021, 07:33 AM
Cadden. Got good fees for Hastie and Scott. Barry Maguire highly rated and in the Scotland U21 squad.
That’s an impressive amount over the last few years, particularly for a club the size of Motherwell IMO.
17-03-2021, 07:55 AM
Cadden. Got good fees for Hastie and Scott. Barry Maguire highly rated and in the Scotland U21 squad.
That’s an impressive amount over the last few years, particularly for a club the size of Motherwell IMO.
They always seemed to have a good youth team in the Scottish every year and have been in a lot of semis and finals.
17-03-2021, 08:13 AM
They always seemed to have a good youth team in the Scottish every year and have been in a lot of semis and finals.
Think their and Hamiltons location is very good as that area has always produced players and also near enough to Glasgow to pick up kids released by OF. Think James Scott started at Celtic youth. Can also offer players and parents quicker route to first team opportunity.
17-03-2021, 08:22 AM
While I understand the current financial climate will necessitate we being income in I just think we need to be careful all our best young talent isn’t cherry picked at such a young age
We know English Teams are now going to be more interested in trying to get young Scottish talent on the cheap
Leeds now also quoted with an interest in josh Doig
However part of following a Club like hibs is the pleasure and joy of watching raw talent emerge and progress
We have rarely brought throw lots of players at once only twice can I remember a handful all breaking through together But those teams supplemented with good experienced players were the best to watch
All good players if they want to move will that’s a given ,but if for example we lost our best youth players and Doig and Nisbet fir next season it’s harder to build a team
I know there is no guarantee the young players will go on and be first team players
But you have to assume the best will be cherry picked
17-03-2021, 08:28 AM
While I understand the current financial climate will necessitate we being income in I just think we need to be careful all our best young talent isn’t cherry picked at such a young age
We know English Teams are now going to be more interested in trying to get young Scottish talent on the cheap
However part of following a Club like hibs is the pleasure and joy of watching raw talent emerge and progress
We have rarely brought throw lots of players at once only twice can I remember a handful all breaking through together But those teams supplemented with good experienced players were the best to watch
All good players if they want to move will that’s a given ,but if for example we lost our best youth players and Doig and Nisbet fir next season it’s harder to build a team
I know there is no guarantee the young players will go on and be first team players
One of the dangers of the Old Firm B teams. It gives them the opportunity to tell youngsters they have a route to the first team.
They can then hoover up all the young players in Scotland.
17-03-2021, 08:28 AM
You make a very good point there, one of the best things when watching Hibs is seeing one of our own come through the youth set up, and break through into being a first team regular.
Could this be a thing of the past?
17-03-2021, 08:40 AM
You make a very good point there, one of the best things when watching Hibs is seeing one of our own come through the youth set up, and break through into being a first team regular.
Could this be a thing of the past?
Hopefully it’s just the start of a more productive production line and there are still hibs supporters in the ranks that have the desire and ambition to want to play fir the club they support before moving on to bigger and better opportunities
But I guess only time will tell
17-03-2021, 08:46 AM
Half a million pays for the training centre for a year. Worth it imo, take it while you can.
BlackSheep
17-03-2021, 08:52 AM
Half a million pays for the training centre for a year. Worth it imo, take it while you can.
Pays for the training centre? To run it...?
17-03-2021, 09:07 AM
We should do a "Gay Future" on Wolves by sending them Paddy Martin instead.
17-03-2021, 09:08 AM
I get that during these troubled times it makes sense to cash in on these youth players but I find it disappointing that we've not had the chance to watch them before they are being transferred.
I guess there must be a high casualty rate in English clubs doing this so we may get some players back in Scotland if it doesn't work out for them.
I just think 16 seems awful young to leave home to pursue a professional career but good luck to the boys.
17-03-2021, 09:18 AM
I'd imagine that's what it would take to run it annually.
We probably expected to be producing more youngsters to help pay for the facility but in recent times it would be costing us a fair whack for running costs.
17-03-2021, 09:24 AM
Ten grand a week to run HTC? Does that include wages of youth coaches, kitchen staff etc?
17-03-2021, 09:24 AM
Never heard of these guys,so can get too upset about it tbh.
If my son was looking to move to Leeds in a years time when he was 16, I wouldnt be that keen and would prefer him to stay a couple more years in Scotland but I am sure the cash on offer is fantastic. However the boys in question may be more mature than mine, so who knows?
Hibs, however, cant force these guys to stay - the days of arm locks to sign 7 year contracts are long gone, thankfully, and if the player wants to earn multiples of their salary then who are we to stand in their way?
If their families reckon they are up to that move, then thats their call. I doubt Hibs are actively touting these players down south, but if they leave and we get a few quid, thats life.
17-03-2021, 09:26 AM
I get that during these troubled times it makes sense to cash in on these youth players but I find it disappointing that we've not had the chance to watch them before they are being transferred.
I guess there must be a high casualty rate in English clubs doing this so we may get some players back in Scotland if it doesn't work out for them.
I just think 16 seems awful young to leave home to pursue a professional career but good luck to the boys.
Hopefully we've got a first refusal clause if he doesn't reach EPL standard.
17-03-2021, 09:34 AM
I'd imagine that's what it would take to run it annually.
We probably expected to be producing more youngsters to help pay for the facility but in recent times it would be costing us a fair whack for running costs.
Ten grand a week to run HTC? Does that include wages of youth coaches, kitchen staff etc?
Widely reported that that is the annual running cost of HTC.
17-03-2021, 11:00 AM
Hopefully we've got a first refusal clause if he doesn't reach EPL standard.
That would be ideal.
17-03-2021, 11:46 AM
Plus 18 year old Stuart McKinstry is apparently doing well in Leeds U23s.
Difficult decision. Suppose it's a good deal if they were to turn out like 16 year old Harry Cochrane.
17-03-2021, 01:23 PM
Difficult decision. Suppose it's a good deal if they were to turn out like 16 year old Harry Cochrane.
You've cheered me up with that :greengrin
Better than McGinn... 👌🏻😅
The dalmeny
17-03-2021, 04:18 PM
Your last point is very valid. Moving away from home can be overwhelming. If they aren't going to the end of this season at least they should finish their school year.
Are they going to stay in digs, with a family, Man City have something akin to a hotel on site?
At least here they can come home, lock themselves in their room and batter their xbox or watch telly but come down and make food etc when they want.
Wakeyhibee
17-03-2021, 08:48 PM
Moving away from home can be unsettling but lads were doing that in the 60s, Billy Bremner springs to mind.
It is a shame to not see them at Hibs first. I can't remember the last GK we produced through the ranks that got any real playing time.. Chris Reid?
17-03-2021, 10:14 PM
Your last point is very valid. Moving away from home can be overwhelming. If they aren't going to the end of this season at least they should finish their school year.
Are they going to stay in digs, with a family, Man City have something akin to a hotel on site?
At least here they can come home, lock themselves in their room and batter their xbox or watch telly but come down and make food etc when they want.
I think your missing another viewpoint, moving away into a professional environment allows you to focus purely on your football removing the temptation to go out on the piss with your mates who you’ve grown up with that arnt aspiring footballers,
Therefore this is a great opportunity and should be seen as a positive
17-03-2021, 11:22 PM
I think your missing another viewpoint, moving away into a professional environment allows you to focus purely on your football removing the temptation to go out on the piss with your mates who you’ve grown up with that arnt aspiring footballers,
This is true. How often did we read the ITK posts of the mums dads sisters bothers and mates, the tattoos, the taxi drivers, the nights out of Edinburgh footballers who, if they’d been 200 miles south of here, we’d never have thought twice about?
17-03-2021, 11:57 PM
Before anyone says it I know a 16 year old won’t be ready for first team football, but if we have a 250-400k rated goalie or n the ranks and we are losing our first choice Keeper in the summer surly we should be looking to getting the young guy in amongst the first team and keeping him instead of letting him go now.
We're never going to play him, we can't afford for him to make mistakes and learn from them which is crucial to his development. Best that would happen is he'd sit on the bench but he's not developing there. The clubs down south have far more competitive development leagues so they are a great option for him to go, learn and grow as a player.
Likely he'll be back in Scotland at the age of 18/19 on loan to a club as so many of the English keepers have. Our league is almost the last step of their development. Hopefully we can get first refusal on any future loans in case he develops as expected.
The dalmeny
18-03-2021, 06:39 AM
6499133 (tel:6499133)[/URL]]I think your missing another viewpoint, moving away into a professional environment allows you to focus purely on your football removing the temptation to go out on the piss with your mates who you’ve grown up with that arnt aspiring footballers,
it’s a fair point, there are plenty of 16 yo striking out on their own but it’s not for everyone.
Realistically how much training are you going to have each day, 3/4 hours, days off after games, that’s a lot of time to fill. If your 16yo is tempted to go out on the piss is professional sport for them? ( but you have to be realistic too)
if you’ve got the talent there’ll be those who can do it anywhere but there will those that need the support of doing it from home.