View Full Version : You know you're getting older when.......

07-02-2021, 01:53 PM
You plan more sprouts than spuds for the Sunday roast.

07-02-2021, 05:07 PM
When you touch every radiator as you pass them

HibbyDave
07-02-2021, 05:08 PM
When you enter a room and wonder why you went in there.

07-02-2021, 05:50 PM
When you hear things that last happened 30+ years ago (st mirren winning against Celtic) and instinctively think that’s the 70s or early 80s, then someone says naw, that was in the 90s :shocked:

07-02-2021, 06:41 PM
When you need a pee around 4am

07-02-2021, 06:44 PM
You have very little joy trying to explain black and white tv existed to a teenager.

07-02-2021, 07:40 PM
When you’re telling your 8 year old, Aberdeen supporting step son that they once beat Real Madrid to win a European trophy and he just laughs at you as he’s never heard anything so ridiculous in his short life.

07-02-2021, 08:35 PM
You stop counting grey hairs and just accept they are there and they aren't going away.

My daughter asked me the other day WHY I had grey hair. I don't think she believed me when I answered 'because of you'.

07-02-2021, 08:43 PM
You have very little joy trying to explain black and white tv existed to a teenager.

I tried explaining the speaking clock to my teenager a few months ago, he couldn't get his head around it at all

AltheHibby
07-02-2021, 09:16 PM
When you realise that you were born during an event they now teach in history classes. (Cuban missile crisis if you must know)

08-02-2021, 10:46 AM
I opened this thread to add my contribution but now I can't remember what I was going to write.

08-02-2021, 12:27 PM
When you describe someone on a TV show as “the old looking one” then look them up and realise they are younger than you.

08-02-2021, 12:48 PM
When the local charity shop is basically your record collection recreated (although some tosser has added Robbie Williams to it)

08-02-2021, 12:58 PM
You talk to your son about a football game you were at and he tells you that was forty years ago.

08-02-2021, 01:07 PM
As I drove my 16 year old daughter to school this morning, "Don't Stop me Now" by Queen came on the radio and she happily sang along (me too TBH!).

I remember it's release in 1979 - 42 years ago!

The equivalent for when I was 16 would have been to sing along with a song that came out in 1942 (eg. Vera Lynn - the White Cliffs of Dover).

F*** me!

08-02-2021, 01:13 PM
When you start calling players ‘son’ when shouting at them from the stands.

08-02-2021, 01:14 PM
When you describe someone on a TV show as “the old looking one” then look them up and realise they are younger than you.

Or when you fancy somebody on a TV show and realise that the person playing her Mum is the same age as you.

Oh well, I suppose her Mum is quite attractive as well...

08-02-2021, 01:58 PM
When you put your glasses on to look for your glasses.

08-02-2021, 02:26 PM
When your browsing Apple Music for something to listen to and all the best songs are listed under playlists called "Retro" or "Throwback"

08-02-2021, 02:30 PM
When you read through this thread and recognise most of the posts as being actual issues rather than something your Dad jokes about.

08-02-2021, 02:37 PM
I was speaking to someone who used to play rugby for Scotland on Saturday.

He played in the same team as Bryan Redpath, and having one of his team-mates sons playing for the team on Saturday afternoon made him suddenly feel a generation older. It was quite funny, he was obviously affected by it.

I'm pretty sure the last player to play for Hibs who was older than me was Shefki Kuqi. It's a bit depressing to know that nobody older than me will ever play for Hibs again.

08-02-2021, 03:22 PM
When you get slippers at Christmas and are genuinely happy as Larry

08-02-2021, 03:27 PM
When you have the cash to splash on the latest piece of high-tech gear but you convince yourself that you don't really need it.

NGP
08-02-2021, 04:23 PM
When many of the futuristic Sci-Fi movies from your younger days are set in what is now the past.
Blade Runner was set in 2019 and Back to the Future part 2 was 2015. 2001 also being an obvious one.

08-02-2021, 04:55 PM
You stop counting grey hairs and just accept they are there and they aren't going away.

My daughter asked me the other day WHY I had grey hair. I don't think she believed me when I answered 'because of you'.Its when the grey hairs do start going away that you know you're knocking on..[emoji16]

08-02-2021, 05:23 PM
When you need a pee around 4am

But you don't get up until eight.

08-02-2021, 05:31 PM
When you can remember players' grandas playing 😳

eg Jordan Holsgrove was mentioned on another thread. . Tom Hateley was another one.

08-02-2021, 05:48 PM
When you realise it was 14 years this year since we won the league cup, and fourteen years before that would have been 1993. And you can remember 1993.

08-02-2021, 06:00 PM
When sleeping through the night is a huge achievement that you honestly can't quite believe. Well it happened once last year, not all that hopeful of another one though!

08-02-2021, 06:38 PM
When you enter a room and wonder why you went in there.

Pretty much the reason why I lost my job as a fireman.

08-02-2021, 06:40 PM
When you realise it was 14 years this year since we won the league cup, and fourteen years before that would have been 1993. And you can remember 1993.I can't remember 1993 but thats a completely different thread [emoji16]

08-02-2021, 06:44 PM
When you go round the house turning lights off and shout “it’s not Blackpool illuminations

Peanut Shaz
08-02-2021, 06:51 PM
When you have to scroll for ages to get the year you were born when filling in your DOB on forms.

08-02-2021, 07:15 PM
When you go round the house turning lights off and shout “it’s not Blackpool illuminations

Used to do this all the time when my kids still lived here.

08-02-2021, 07:16 PM
My partner and I took the sledge out today and someone giggled at us when walking past. That stung :greengrin

Prof. Shaggy
08-02-2021, 07:18 PM
One word: wind.

08-02-2021, 10:01 PM

Guilty as charged m'lud. Except I say Las Vegas because nobody in my house would understand if I said Blackpool.

08-02-2021, 10:02 PM
One word: wind.

One word? Pfft, I can fart whole sentences.

09-02-2021, 10:12 AM

Picadilly Circus.

AltheHibby
09-02-2021, 11:36 AM
When you have to scroll for ages to get the year you were born when filling in your DOB on forms.

Or some spotty yoof asks "is that 1962" when you say you were born in xx/yy/62.

09-02-2021, 11:58 AM
You make an arghhhh sound getting up from a chair despite being in no pain

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

09-02-2021, 12:28 PM
When you can't wait to clear the snow from the front street, because you care more about oldies slipping on it than bairns having their fun.

09-02-2021, 01:54 PM
Putting your socks on in the morning is a struggle and involves getting into some strange positions.

09-02-2021, 01:57 PM
Putting your socks on in the morning is a struggle and involves getting into some strange positions.

Yep that's another favourite! All my thick socks were in the washing so I tried to pull on a pair of my old football socks over my normal socks to get ready to take the dog out for a walk this morning....it was like a one-man game of Twister and far more painful.

KdyHby
09-02-2021, 01:59 PM
Pretty much the reason why I lost my job as a fireman.

🤣

09-02-2021, 02:38 PM
Yep that's another favourite! All my thick socks were in the washing so I tried to pull on a pair of my old football socks over my normal socks to get ready to take the dog out for a walk this morning....it was like a one-man game of Twister and far more painful.

09-02-2021, 02:40 PM
When you get a wee box for your pills with the the days of the week on it so you can check if you've taken them today...

...but can't remember what day it is.

09-02-2021, 02:44 PM
I look like I'm doing some kind of complex yoga movement. But sadly without any kind of suppleness and with a high degree of pain!

09-02-2021, 02:48 PM
I look like I'm doing some kind of complex yoga movement. But sadly without any kind of suppleness and with a high degree of pain!

Do you have specially large socks for your six toed Clackmannanshire feet?

09-02-2021, 03:48 PM
Do you have specially large socks for your six toed Clackmannanshire feet?

Only five toes here mate!! All with perfectly formed webbing in between them🙂

09-02-2021, 04:00 PM
Only five toes here mate!! All with perfectly formed webbing in between them🙂

09-02-2021, 04:03 PM
When you see a scantily clad young babe and you think she must be freezing

09-02-2021, 04:59 PM
When getting up or sitting down is a noisy affair.

09-02-2021, 05:00 PM
You fancy footballers' mums as well as their wives

AltheHibby
09-02-2021, 06:08 PM
When you see a scantily clad young babe and you think she must be freezing

And at the same time your late teens son is drooling.

09-02-2021, 06:19 PM
When you say that Aberdeen keeper looks like ‘hen Broon’ and the Blank faces you get

09-02-2021, 08:20 PM
Trying to wash your feet in the shower without slipping and breaking your hip and being out of breath drying yourself afterwards.

Casey1875
09-02-2021, 08:33 PM
You try to sign up as a bone marrow donner only to find you are too old.

09-02-2021, 09:14 PM
What was the question?

Bridge hibs
10-02-2021, 04:48 PM
When you start pricing Tena for men 🤢

10-02-2021, 05:18 PM
You have to walk somewhere instead of driving because of the snow and your knackered after 15 minutes

Just_Jimmy
11-02-2021, 08:46 AM
you realise your Dad was often actually right...

but you'd never tell him

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

11-02-2021, 08:58 AM
When you have to start trimming your nose hair

11-02-2021, 10:09 AM
When you have to start trimming your nose hair

And ear hair, who designs a body that as you get older you get more deaf, so lets stuff the ears with more hair to make it even harder to hear, genius.

11-02-2021, 01:55 PM
And ear hair, who designs a body that as you get older you get more deaf, so lets stuff the ears with more hair to make it even harder to hear, genius.
It is a complete design flaw. I am 52 and still have a pretty decent head of hair, thinning but not bad. But is as grey as a grey thing and has been for years. The hair in my lugs which grows thicker than my head now is also now jet black. WTF is that all about

11-02-2021, 03:01 PM
When a night in sounds better to you than a night out. Also getting up two or three times a night for a pee. Getting up (eventually) and walking out the room only to forget why you did that.

My last 2 GPs have been significantly younger than me.

The thing that really gets to me is on social media when someone puts this album was released 30/35 years ago today and you remember buying it as a teenager. Most of my favourite thrash metal albums are heading fast towards the 40 year old mark:eek:

11-02-2021, 04:22 PM
Wee red milk tokens

12-02-2021, 12:01 PM
Attractive young ladies start opening the door for you, instead of the other way round.

Logie Green
12-02-2021, 02:28 PM
Attractive young ladies start opening the door for you, instead of the other way round.

That’s saunas for you.

AltheHibby
12-02-2021, 07:48 PM
That’s saunas for you.

🤣🤣🤣

12-02-2021, 10:29 PM
When you post something here which is a duplicate of something you posted here a few days ago.

Bangkok Hibby
13-02-2021, 01:58 AM
When you post something here which is a duplicate of something you posted here a few days ago.

I know I've posted something, but what is was and what thread?

Prof. Shaggy
15-02-2021, 07:20 PM
One word? Pfft, I can fart whole sentences.

:greengrin:greengrin
I suggest you exercise some caution there.

15-02-2021, 11:41 PM
You can remember the days when every pub had the name of the licensee above the door.

15-02-2021, 11:58 PM
You can remember Hearts paying their creditors.

16-02-2021, 11:34 AM
You can remember Hearts paying their creditors.

Sorry, but I refuse to believe anybody on here is that old.

16-02-2021, 12:11 PM
Sorry, but I refuse to believe anybody on here is that old.

May have been an alcohol induced post as evidenced by the time of the post. 😀

18-02-2021, 12:43 PM
When you think the Yodel delivery driver looks like a 15 year old school girl.

18-02-2021, 05:42 PM
When you call the remote control the big finger or the do da etc

18-02-2021, 06:14 PM
When purchasing bathroom scales and a new attachment for a food processor is considered quite an exciting way to spend £50.

18-02-2021, 07:57 PM
When purchasing bathroom scales and a new attachment for a food processor is considered quite an exciting way to spend £50.

I hope I get put down before that happens! 😀

Bangkok Hibby
19-02-2021, 06:32 AM

The buttons 😀

19-02-2021, 08:38 AM

It's called the doobry!

:tsk tsk:

19-02-2021, 09:30 AM

Always found that odd....different if it had a ridiculously long name but since you can just call a remote control a remote, a 6 letter 2 syllable word that describes it perfectly why on Earth do people need to make up really stupid names for it?

Humans! I’ll never understand them [emoji2957]

19-02-2021, 09:33 AM
When you realise that you were born during an event they now teach in history classes. (Cuban missile crisis if you must know)

I was watching 'the people's history show' last night. They covered a speed record attempt at loch ness from 1952. 1952 is fine - proper ancient history. Then they covered the Scottish Claymore's world bowl win from 1996! 1996!! I immediately thought of your post when I saw that 🤨

19-02-2021, 09:54 AM
I was watching 'the people's history show' last night. They covered a speed record attempt at loch ness from 1952. 1952 is fine - proper ancient history. Then they covered the Scottish Claymore's world bowl win from 1996! 1996!! I immediately thought of your post when I saw that 🤨

I'm sure it's happened to most blokes of a certain age, but it really hits you hard when you first start encountering women that you find "fit" and you realise that you were already working in the year that they were born.

19-02-2021, 10:40 AM
I'm sure it's happened to most blokes of a certain age, but it really hits you hard when you first start encountering women that you find "fit" and you realise that you were already working in the year that they were born.

It's even worse when you're closer in age to her granny than her mother.

19-02-2021, 10:54 AM
When you read that Oasis are trending on Twitter because Don't Look Back in Anger was released as a single 25 years ago today. I was 9.....

19-02-2021, 10:55 AM
When you read that Oasis are trending on Twitter because Don't Look Back in Anger was released as a single 25 years ago today. I was 9.....

I was in my late 20s & in the process of splitting up with the first Mrs Peeve.

19-02-2021, 11:02 AM
I was in my late 20s & in the process of splitting up with the first Mrs Peeve.

It's funny because at the time and right through my early teens I could never understand how my parents could still find the music they listened to in the 60s and 70s relevant. I get it now alright.

19-02-2021, 11:06 AM
It's funny because at the time and right through my early teens I could never understand how my parents could still find the music they listened to in the 60s and 70s relevant. I get it now alright.

One I posted earlier making this very point.

As I drove my 16 year old daughter to school this morning, "Don't Stop me Now" by Queen came on the radio and she happily sang along (me too TBH!).

I remember it's release in 1979 - 42 years ago!

The equivalent for when I was 16 would have been to sing along with a song that came out in 1942 (eg. Vera Lynn - the White Cliffs of Dover).

F*** me!

19-02-2021, 12:35 PM
It's even worse when you're closer in age to her granny than her mother.

But you look at the mother and think "nah, she's too old".

19-02-2021, 01:53 PM
Always found that odd....different if it had a ridiculously long name but since you can just call a remote control a remote, a 6 letter 2 syllable word that describes it perfectly why on Earth do people need to make up really stupid names for it?

Humans! I’ll never understand them [emoji2957]

That's how it works for us too.

AltheHibby
19-02-2021, 03:44 PM

1996!!!! Both my kids were alive, well and turning my hair grey with their antics at primary school.

I saw an ad recently for "seniors aged 45 or over". My then 47 year old niece wasn't amused at me forwarding it to her!🤣

19-02-2021, 07:49 PM
Jamie and Jimmy’s Friday Night Feast is considered an above average Friday night...maybe that’s just COVID

19-02-2021, 07:57 PM
When the blue Covid jab envelope pops through the letterbox and you weren't expecting it so soon thinking it was all the over 70's getting done right now.

ACLeith
19-02-2021, 08:35 PM
When the combined ages of 4 of our subs doesn’t add up to your age
⚽️ ⚽️⚽️⚽️

20-02-2021, 01:27 PM
But you look at the mother and think "nah, she's too old".

But what does the mother think when she looks at you?

:cool2:

20-02-2021, 10:28 PM
But what does the mother think when she looks at you?

:cool2:

A few vodkas and the auld guy might get it

20-02-2021, 11:22 PM
A few vodkas and the auld guy might get it

There's not enough vodka in Russia.

21-02-2021, 04:07 PM
There's not enough vodka in Russia.

A young lady once told me it's amazing how the Danny De Vito
lookalike turns into a dead ringer for Richard Gere after a 40 ouncer.

davy67 +
21-02-2021, 05:09 PM
When the referees are all younger than you

ACLeith
21-02-2021, 05:17 PM
When the referees are all younger than you

For some of us it’ll be the referees’ parents 😱

21-02-2021, 06:32 PM
For some of us it’ll be the referees’ parents 😱

Do they have parents?

21-02-2021, 07:17 PM
Do they have parents?

Fathers unknown.

21-02-2021, 08:17 PM
When you get your Vaccination appointment through the post. Good news, then you realise you must actually be old 😠

21-02-2021, 08:18 PM
When the blue Covid jab envelope pops through the letterbox and you weren't expecting it so soon thinking it was all the over 70's getting done right now.

Haha snap!

ACLeith
22-02-2021, 05:55 AM
Do they have parents?

TBH I was going to add a similar comment at the end of my post but wanted to open up for others 😉

22-02-2021, 09:40 AM
When you first utter the immortal words...

"You call that music?"

22-02-2021, 10:59 AM
When you first utter the immortal words...

"You call that music?"

Followed by "In my day"

22-02-2021, 06:42 PM
You look at old clips of George and Mildred and quite fancy Mildred.

23-02-2021, 09:03 AM

Oh god, not you as well?

23-02-2021, 09:13 AM

Oh god, not you as well?

Thank you gentlemen, because if that's the case then I'm definitely still young.

23-02-2021, 12:53 PM
Thank you gentlemen, because if that's the case then I'm definitely still young.

Aw come on, Bro, how could you possibly say no to that sexy lady?

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/00/ab/be/00abbe459d355d1c7aa8b4e717dc3158.jpg

23-02-2021, 12:57 PM

Next your going to tell us that Olive from on the buses is another of your secret crushes!!

23-02-2021, 02:49 PM
OK, while we're in this mode ... Richie's mom in Happy Days would definitely get it.

23-02-2021, 03:54 PM
Next your going to tell us that Olive from on the buses is another of your secret crushes!!

Nah, I do have some standards

23-02-2021, 04:27 PM

I'm officially old👍

23-02-2021, 05:19 PM

I recall that she did get her kit off in that classic film Holiday On The Buses :cb

23-02-2021, 06:09 PM
I'm officially old👍

:agree: George was definitely punching above his weight.

23-02-2021, 06:13 PM
You keep adding to the pet peeves thread

23-02-2021, 07:28 PM

Boak!!

green leaves
16-03-2021, 05:05 AM
You try to sign up as a bone marrow donner only to find you are too old.

Worst kebab ever

green leaves
16-03-2021, 05:12 AM
When a night in sounds better to you than a night out. Also getting up two or three times a night for a pee. Getting up (eventually) and walking out the room only to forget why you did that.

My last 2 GPs have been significantly younger than me.

The thing that really gets to me is on social media when someone puts this album was released 30/35 years ago today and you remember buying it as a teenager. Most of my favourite thrash metal albums are heading fast towards the 40 year old mark:eek:

Master of puppets turned 35 last week😩

16-03-2021, 05:11 PM
The highlight of your week is pointing out the latest wrinkle on your forehead.

29-03-2021, 12:08 AM
It bothers you that every single football pundit seems to wear trainers with suits when on tv.

29-03-2021, 11:33 AM
You know you're getting older when...

You can't remember the E-Mail address for ordering the Viagra.

(posting for a friend)

29-03-2021, 02:00 PM
You know you're getting older when...

You can't remember the E-Mail address for ordering the Viagra.

(posting for a friend)

Aye it’s a hard one to remember.

29-03-2021, 05:40 PM
Aye it’s a hard one to remember.

Any need for being a d1ck? 🙄

29-03-2021, 05:43 PM
You know you're getting older when.....

Having a stiff one means something different to what it used to.

AltheHibby
29-03-2021, 10:15 PM
Any need for being a d1ck? 🙄

Excuse me, there's no need for you to use that sort of language to an upstanding member of the forum!

30-03-2021, 08:56 AM
Excuse me, there's no need for you to use that sort of language to an upstanding member of the forum!

Ok, I’m out.

30-03-2021, 09:02 AM
Ok, I’m out.

I didn't even notice you were in.

30-03-2021, 09:08 AM
I didn't even notice you were in.

Oh wrap-up, will you.

30-03-2021, 09:26 AM
Ok, I’m out.

Congratulations.

Better that than staying in the closet the rest of your life

AltheHibby
30-03-2021, 02:22 PM
Ok, I’m out.

Not sure if I offended you or not? I was just using you as my, ahem, straight man for my pun.

30-03-2021, 03:54 PM
Not sure if I offended you or not? I was just using you as my, ahem, straight man for my pun.

His comment certainly made me stand to attention.

30-03-2021, 05:44 PM

Not at all... I was playing with it too ;)

AltheHibby
30-03-2021, 08:18 PM
Not at all... I was playing with it too ;)

👍

Edit: you were too subtle there. It took me a minute 🤣

30-03-2021, 08:21 PM
👍

Edit: you were too subtle there. It took me a minute 🤣

Only a minute? Another problem with getting old...

AltheHibby
31-03-2021, 08:35 AM
Only a minute? Another problem with getting old...

🤣🤣🤣

20-04-2021, 09:58 PM
I seem to have completely lost the ability to butter a slice of bread without ripping it. This was never a problem when I was in my prime.

21-04-2021, 07:58 AM
I seem to have completely lost the ability to butter a slice of bread without ripping it. This was never a problem when I was in my prime.

That's probably more to do with the declining standard of bread than a deterioration in your own good self.

21-04-2021, 10:55 AM
That's probably more to do with the declining standard of bread than a deterioration in your own good self.
I hope so :greengrin

05-06-2021, 06:17 PM
When you’re looking forward to Father’s Day in order to get a new pair of slippers.

04-07-2021, 08:46 AM
You walk past a public toilet and think "I might as well pee whilst I'm here". My wife thinks I've started marking my territory.

04-07-2021, 09:27 AM
When your knee feels like it needs a rebuild.

AltheHibby
06-07-2021, 09:05 PM
When your knee feels like it needs a rebuild.

Thanks. Now I have just realised that I was old in my twenties!😫

07-07-2021, 08:40 AM
When you can remember the last time Scotland actually won a game during the World-Cup/Euros Finals

07-07-2021, 04:21 PM
When your eyebrows start sprouting new random long/curly/wirey/grey hairs pretty much every few days

07-07-2021, 05:08 PM
When your eyebrows start sprouting new random long/curly/wirey/grey hairs pretty much every few days

Dennis Healy style (one for the older Hibbies)

Or when your getting your haircut and the barber asks do you want your ears done too.

07-07-2021, 05:14 PM
Dennis Healy style (one for the older Hibbies)

Or when your getting your haircut and the barber asks do you want your ears done too.

Last time I was at the barbers he asked if I wanted some hair added. Bloody Dundee Utd supporters!!

16-07-2021, 11:34 PM
You're Covid passport Q code arrives on your phone meaning you can go to nightclubs - making no difference whatsoever!

Caversham Green
20-07-2021, 01:20 PM
You look at the celebrations for nightclubs opening (in England) and think 'thank god I'm not there.'

20-07-2021, 10:21 PM
You think my days of paying a 5er for a pint are behind me. In Edinburgh at least, I can cope with it in London for a long weekend or so.

CloudSquall
21-07-2021, 12:29 AM
When you have a night out planned for Friday and you ask for Monday off as you might be touch and go given the hangover recovery just isn't what it used to be.

21-07-2021, 11:13 PM
When you look in the mirror and some old guy with grey hair and bags under his eyes stares back at you.

Block
21-07-2021, 11:36 PM
When a long shoe horn becomes a part of life.

22-07-2021, 07:44 PM
When you look in the mirror and some old guy with grey hair and bags under his eyes stares back at you.

I won’t scare you and tell you what I see at my age, the wrinkly neck is not a good look. :greengrin

26-07-2021, 09:33 AM
Mick Jagger is 78 today. It doesn't give me any "satisfaction " to see that.

26-07-2021, 03:23 PM
When you need a half hours notice to warm up :-)

26-07-2021, 08:34 PM
When you have to sit on the bed to put your pants on because you'd topple over if you tried to do it while standing.

26-07-2021, 09:08 PM
When you have to sit on the bed to put your pants on because you'd topple over if you tried to do it while standing.

You could have just written ‘wearing pants’ [emoji1787][emoji2957]

01-08-2021, 08:07 AM
When thinning hair results in sunburn on the bonce for the first time.

01-08-2021, 12:36 PM
You could have just written ‘wearing pants’ [emoji1787][emoji2957]

Boxers then, I stole that from FB. :greengrin

HibbyDave
08-08-2021, 05:06 PM
When you go for lunch having completely forgot there was a match at ER.

14-08-2021, 07:53 PM
When you genuinely fear the prospect of a hangover because a) it hurts too much and b) your 18 month old kid won't give a **** so that's double the pain trying to look after him. I now studiously avoid drinking in quantities that will give me anything more than a mild ringing of the temples

14-08-2021, 08:13 PM
When you genuinely fear the prospect of a hangover because a) it hurts too much and b) your 18 month old kid won't give a **** so that's double the pain trying to look after him. I now studiously avoid drinking in quantities that will give me anything more than a mild ringing of the temples

I met a mate who I hadn't seen in ages last night.

I was dreading it a bit because I'd been out on Thursday and whilst not totally hungover I could feel I'd had a drink. He was always a 'just one more' type. We sat there, spoke about us both now being a dad, spoke about both having another on the way, compared a few anecdotes about jobs and the like then called it a night after 4 pints.

I still like a sesh from time to time but I'm increasingly good at calling it a night early doors. A couple of years ago when that happened I worried about it because I knew it meant I was getting old; now I like getting a decent night's sleep and feeling fresh in the morning. It still means I'm getting old, I just don't worry anymore.

Key West
14-08-2021, 09:42 PM
When you go back to the house to make sure you have locked the door.

14-08-2021, 10:04 PM

I've only started feeling like this in the last 5 years or so and since covid I just don't want to go out at all, now that I'm out the habit. The whole thing is just a pain in the erse, only having 3 or 4 pints is boring but if I do have a sesh I'll be desperate for a pish on the way from the pub to the train station then again from the station to my house. And the hangover....I just don't want another one, they exacerbate every minor ailment I have. Maybe once a year at Christmas but that's it. I'm out on Monday and Wednesday next week and not looking forward to it at all.

Block
14-08-2021, 11:05 PM
The older I get the more I want to drink every day and get sozzled.

My favourite time of night is when my wife goes to her bed and i can crack open my alcohol and put on my television after being sickened earlier at watching Emmerdale and Corrie.

Am I alone with this?

Block
14-08-2021, 11:09 PM
When you go back to the house to make sure you have locked the door.

Who have you got locked up in there?

Alfiembra
15-08-2021, 09:28 AM

I was dreading it a bit because I'd been out on Thursday and whilst not totally hungover I could feel I'd had a drink. He was always a 'just one more' type. We sat there, spoke about us both now being a dad, spoke about both having another on the way, compared a few anecdotes about jobs and the like then called it a night after 4 pints.

I still like a sesh from time to time but I'm increasingly good at calling it a night early doors. A couple of years ago when that happened I worried about it because I knew it meant I was getting old; now I like getting a decent night's sleep and feeling fresh in the morning. It still means I'm getting old, I just don't worry anymore.

Guys in their 30’s that say they are getting old :wink: not a dig at you personally, but wait till you hit 50 things really take a nosedive then.

Key West
15-08-2021, 11:46 AM
Guys in their 30’s that say they are getting old :wink: not a dig at you personally, but wait till you hit 50 things really take a nosedive then.

Exactly, 50 is the turning point thereafter you are on a jet plane!

15-08-2021, 11:59 AM
It seems I must be one of the few who have found hangovers a thing of the past once I got older. I can have a massive session and have no after affects the next day.

15-08-2021, 04:22 PM
It seems I must be one of the few who have found hangovers a thing of the past once I got older. I can have a massive session and have no after affects the next day.

Pretty much where I am, once in a blue moon I get a pounding headache but, touch wood, spewing pretty much a thing of the past.

Bangkok Hibby
15-08-2021, 04:56 PM
Pretty much where I am, once in a blue moon I get a pounding headache but, touch wood, spewing pretty much a thing of the past.

Yea me too. I used to have 48 hour hangovers but nothing now.

15-08-2021, 07:06 PM

I’m only 30, so I wouldn’t say I’m ‘older’ but I’m the same. I used to get stinking hangovers when I was younger. I can’t remember the last time I had one now though and the last few times ive been smashed I’ve woke up feeling brand new.

The mrs hates me for it as she can hardly have half a bottle of wine without feeling a bit ropey the next day :greengrin

15-08-2021, 10:49 PM
The older I get the more I want to drink every day and get sozzled.

My favourite time of night is when my wife goes to her bed and i can crack open my alcohol and put on my television after being sickened earlier at watching Emmerdale and Corrie.

Am I alone with this?
No you’re definitely not mate.

15-08-2021, 10:52 PM
There’s definitely something in that, I can have a decent session and be fine the next day, but if I have two days in a row on it I’m struggling. I’m looking forward to getting older and being able to handle that second day. :greengrin

16-08-2021, 09:19 AM
The stiffest part of your body when you waken up is your joints.

16-08-2021, 09:25 AM
I love all these 30 and 40 year olds on a thread about getting old, when I was 47 I came 2nd in the Scottish masters in the British Natural Bodybuilding Championship, fittest I'd ever been in my life. Now 62 with 2 new hips and some excess fat, I know about getting old. 😂

Bangkok Hibby
16-08-2021, 09:30 AM
I love all these 30 and 40 year olds on a thread about getting old, when I was 47 I came 2nd in the Scottish masters in the British Natural Bodybuilding Championship, fittest I'd ever been in my life. Now 62 with 2 new hips and some excess fat, I know about getting old. 😂

Haha yes, bloody cringeworthy when 30 year olds (not necessarily on here)
talk about getting old.

16-08-2021, 09:41 AM

Compared to young folk they are old, we're just even older:wink:

16-08-2021, 10:17 AM

Absolutely. In the battle of "Go big vs go home", it's usually "go home" that wins and I have yet to regret that especially over the last few years.

alhibby
16-08-2021, 11:56 AM
Ive just had an "episode", been working in the garden this morning on my hands and knees, when it was time to stand up i couldnt !!!!! Had to knee march over to the fence and pull myself up. Really hope the neighbours are out:greengrin

19-08-2021, 11:28 AM
Ive just had an "episode", been working in the garden this morning on my hands and knees, when it was time to stand up i couldnt !!!!! Had to knee march over to the fence and pull myself up. Really hope the neighbours are out:greengrin

Knee marching :greengrin. Think I might take that up, for exercise, as my bones get older. Not so far to fall if you trip, so less chance of breaking anything.

19-08-2021, 12:13 PM
When taking the dogs for a 5 mile walk leaves you in as much pain as 80 minutes of rugby used to

23-08-2021, 05:08 PM

Knee marching :greengrin. Think I might take that up, for exercise, as my bones get older. Not so far to fall if you trip, so less chance of breaking anything.

If my missus has to bend down to put in a DVD, she goes back to the couch on all fours, as it's much easier than standing back up.

23-08-2021, 09:13 PM
If my missus has to bend down to put in a DVD, she goes back to the couch on all fours, as it's much easier than standing back up.

Evolution should sort that out in a few millennium.

HibbyDave
17-09-2021, 07:55 AM
When you were alive when they last won the wee cup😀

17-09-2021, 03:25 PM
I've found a period without alcohol has had rejuvenating effects. My mind is sharper for a start and I've saved quite a bit of cash.

It probably won't last. The novelty will wear off or some stressful thing will send me to the Tesco wine dept again but I can highly recommend a dry few weeks.

17-09-2021, 09:11 PM
I've found a period without alcohol has had rejuvenating effects. My mind is sharper for a start and I've saved quite a bit of cash.

It probably won't last. The novelty will wear off or some stressful thing will send me to the Tesco wine dept again but I can highly recommend a dry few weeks.

Hmmmmm....I was feeling well peed off about a few things after no bevvy since last Saturday but it's only taken 2 beers and 2 wines tonight to get me feeling great again :greengrin

18-09-2021, 07:01 AM

I stopped drinking alcohol completely on school nights after starting a career change and wholeheartedly agree with you. Having a couple before bed after a hard day was becoming a habit. I feel so much better getting out of bed on workdays now, still feel **** at weekends though :wink:

18-09-2021, 11:13 AM
Knees creaking!!

Started doing a Parkrun on Saturday mornings, did my 4th this morning. Sit down for any length of time and my knees seize up. 🤔

18-09-2021, 12:11 PM
Knees creaking!!

Started doing a Parkrun on Saturday mornings, did my 4th this morning. Sit down for any length of time and my knees seize up. 🤔

Exactly the same, can be on my feet for ten hours a day no problem, sit down for 30 minutes and can hardly move when I get up.

Key West
18-09-2021, 09:57 PM
When just about everything annoys you.

19-09-2021, 06:54 AM
When just about everything annoys you.Don't start!

Key West
19-09-2021, 09:44 PM
Don't start!

:timebomb:

22-09-2021, 12:56 PM
When just about everything annoys you.

Oh **** me that's a good one.

22-09-2021, 03:04 PM
Was out for a walk and a daddy long legs kept flying into my eye..i knew it wasn’t my fringe as i had a hat on (plus ive a bowl cut tiny fringe)…kept coming at me then eventually realised it was my eyebrows!

23-09-2021, 03:14 PM
You phone the opticians to make an appointment, write it down so that you know when it is. You drive the 28 miles to the city where you're appointment is, do other shopping and are sitting having a coffee until your appointment time when the opticians phone you to remind you about your appointment TOMORROW!!! 🙄

23-09-2021, 04:01 PM
When a good book or film is more appealing than sex. Unthinkable when you're a young rooster with raging hormones.

23-09-2021, 06:30 PM
When you lose all track of time and things that happened years ago still feel recent.

Hibs winning the CIS Cup feels like it was a couple of years ago. I was 21.

Somehow pulling the girl everyone in work fancied and managing to be uncharacteristically cool and subtle about doing so? 16 years ago.

Falling asleep because I was so drunk in a 1st date? 11 years ago and we are engaged with 2 kids now.

Even the Scottish Cup win feels like it only happened about a year ago. Nearly 5 and a half years ago FFS.

23-09-2021, 09:41 PM
When you lose all track of time and things that happened years ago still feel recent.

Somehow pulling the girl everyone in work fancied and managing to be uncharacteristically cool and subtle about doing so? 16 years ago.

Falling asleep because I was so drunk in a 1st date? 11 years ago and we are engaged with 2 kids now.

Even the Scottish Cup win feels like it only happened about a year ago. Nearly 5 and a half years ago FFS.

I absolutely feel your pain mate, it keeps on happening as well

23-09-2021, 09:57 PM

Even the Scottish Cup win feels like it only happened about a year ago. Nearly 5 and a half years ago FFS.Ha ! Bairn!

The first concert I went to with my mates - OMD at the Playhouse.

40 F*****' YEARS AGO!

ACLeith
23-09-2021, 10:07 PM
Ha ! Bairn!

The first concert I went to with my mates - OMD at the Playhouse.

40 F*****' YEARS AGO!

Ha! Bairn!

The first concert I went to was The Searchers in Llandudno on holiday in August 1963. Too old to work out how long ago THAT was 😱

23-09-2021, 10:14 PM
You win - although I'm waiting on Jonnyboy jumping in and beating us both!

30-09-2021, 07:19 AM
You start wondering when space rockets started looking like a massive cock. When did they replace the pointy end with a bell-end?

30-09-2021, 08:52 AM
When you are still freezing 3 hours after being soaked taking the dogs for their morning walk. Had a hot shower and have turned the heating up in the office but am still cauld. Blood getting thinner?!

HibbyDave
05-10-2021, 01:13 PM
When you receive an email advertising xmas party night at ER and you are unsure if £45pp is a good deal or not😁

Think I’m old because that seems a lot to me (£90 a couple) for a Turkey dinner.

13-11-2021, 04:37 PM
You watch an episode of celebrity pointless and don't recognise a boyhood crush because she's absolutely mutilated herself with plastic surgery. I'm talking about Leslie Ash, she was an absolutely stunning lady and I'm gutted that it's turned out this way for her.

Bridge hibs
13-11-2021, 05:00 PM
You watch an episode of celebrity pointless and don't recognise a boyhood crush because she's absolutely mutilated herself with plastic surgery. I'm talking about Leslie Ash, she was an absolutely stunning lady and I'm gutted that it's turned out this way for her.Im sure she was under pressure from her dick head of a Husband Lee Chapman, started with her trout pout and continued after that, from beautiful to plug ugly

AltheHibby
16-11-2021, 09:06 AM
When you watch a programme about 70s music and Suzi Q states that she's 71.

16-11-2021, 09:40 AM
When you take a week off work and rather than see it as an excuse to go for a couple of day sessions you use it to take a pair of trousers to a tailor, put up some shelves, build a cot and do your Christmas shopping.