View Full Version : Stuart Hogg
08-02-2021, 05:33 PM
I bumped into Stuart Hogg in the Clep once.
Good we are back on track.
08-02-2021, 05:37 PM
I bumped into Stuart Hogg in the Clep once.
Was he kneeling down or burning fivers?
Stonewall
08-02-2021, 05:44 PM
Was he kneeling down or burning fivers?
I’m sworn to secrecy.
Earlydelivery
08-02-2021, 05:52 PM
Just to check. How many pages do I have to scroll back to find a post about Stuart Hogg?
It was initially about a video him saying ‘ and the Hibs won’ after the game at Twickenham which I posted earlier .. and nobody has said anything about it .. LOL
SideBurns
08-02-2021, 07:11 PM
My old man loves Dundee because so many of the pubs sell Mcewans 80! 🍺
He's now become partial to Mcewans Champion Ale during the numerous lockdowns.
I had a few of the McEwan's Champion ales on Saturday- £1.83 or thereabouts in Aldi; great stuff, but wreck the hoose juice!
The link with Stuart Hogg in this post is that he is, of course, a Calcutta Cup Champion.
08-02-2021, 07:12 PM
I had a few of the McEwan's Champion ales on Saturday- £1.83 or thereabouts in Aldi; great stuff, but wreck the hoose juice!
Aye, it's one to be enjoyed within staggering distance of your bed! 😃
SideBurns
08-02-2021, 07:21 PM
Aye, it's one to be enjoyed within staggering distance of your bed! 😃
😉😄for sure. I can see why yer auld man will like it if he's an 80 bob man though. As close as you'll get in a bottle, imo. Barry!
Stuart Hogg probably likes it too.
08-02-2021, 07:24 PM
Popular with Hawkhill people and often a very tough choice back then about whether to actually go around to the game!
A hazy story from back in the day. We were in before a game and I think it started snowing. We eventually decided to make our way down to the game and came up the steps of the terracing behind the goal. Graham Mitchell was in goals and we thought it was the Clep beer playing tricks. Budgie had been sent off early doors but we were oblivious to that at the time.
The Green Sea
08-02-2021, 07:55 PM
I’ll summarise the thread for those new to it.
Stuart Hogg, Scotland rugby captain, Calcutta winning captain and Hibs fan is a racist posh boy, who might not be a racist after all and probably isn’t that posh as he’s from Hawick or possibly Melrose despite being born and bred in Hawick, likes burning £20 notes up town and is a total bellend but may not be that but he does like a bevy and his favourite tipple is McEwans 80 or Red Death as it’s also known. And after 9 pages of p**h I still think he’s a Hibs fan who somebody thought he heard mentioning the Hibees glorious victory over the sheep on telly after the rugby on Saturday.
Other than that, I think lockdown may finally be getting to me.
08-02-2021, 08:29 PM
I’ll summarise the thread for those new to it.
Stuart Hogg, Scotland rugby captain, Calcutta winning captain and Hibs fan is a racist posh boy, who might not be a racist after all and probably isn’t that posh as he’s from Hawick or possibly Melrose despite being born and bred in Hawick, likes burning £20 notes up town and is a total bellend but may not be that but he does like a bevy and his favourite tipple is McEwans 80 or Red Death as it’s also known. And after 9 pages of p**h I still think he’s a Hibs fan who somebody thought he heard mentioning the Hibees glorious victory over the sheep on telly after the rugby on Saturday.
Other than that, I think lockdown may finally be getting to me.
He went to Hawick High School, second largest state school in Scotland. His father,John, played rugby for Hawick and was the town cornet. I knew him from the same school and he is a Hibs fan and good footballer. The family are neither posh or racist. Oh and his son helped pump the English on Saturday.
They are related to the George Best. John's mother's grandmother is sisters with George Best's grandmother. They all found out when Irish relatives saw Stuart playing rugby for Scotland.
I am from Hawick and played rugby during the school day and Saturdays. We played football after school and on Sundays. Many played both codes
08-02-2021, 10:17 PM
To be honest, I think this all just goes to show what a pointless and divisive excercise all this virtue signalling is. A minutes silence that was for..all black people, some white people if they have died of covid (but not if they have died of other diseases I assume) everybody who works for the NHS ( or should that be all key workers) and of coarse Captain Tom Moore. Generally it is good practice to stand for a minutes silence to commemorate the dead...but it’s also expected that you kneel for Black Lives Matter....so which should they have done ?
it’s all nonsense....treat people as you would like to be treated, judge people by their actions, not their skin colour, religion or ethnicity and deal severely with anyone in sport or attending sport who abuses people in a racist or homophobic manner. We need to call a halt to this confused if well intention virtue signalling nonsense and concentrate on football and rugby being about.......football and rugby.
While a well-intended post, I’d challenge it and say... so we just go back to how we were? most of us white heterosexuals go back to enjoying our favourite sports blissfully unaware of there really being any serious issue. When in reality our games are rife with racism and other issues.
Maybe the approach needs looked at and altered. Maybe it’s doing a fair job as we are all at least talking about the issues now. But either way, reverting to sweeping it under the carpet and pretending that perpetrators are dealt with properly definitely isn’t the answer.
If people were actually capable of doing what you suggest in your second post then we wouldn’t have an issue and we could just let football be football. That’s the ideal.
08-02-2021, 10:19 PM
I think it's fair enough that questions are asked as to why only 4 players in the Scotland squad participated. The fact Vunipola prepared a statement suggests the players involved in the game had an awareness it was happening. Scotland have a leadership group in the rugby squad so you would assume this was exactly the kind of thing they should be discussing.
It's not about forcing anyone to do anything but rather seeking an explanation as to why a group representing our country chose not to participate in a simple gesture that sportspeople across the world have observed for months now. I believe this is consistent with Scotlands club rugby sides also not taking a knee. Scotlands football players held a vote and unanimously agreed to continue the act, have rugby players done similar and was there a different outcome?
I agree. Like others, we don’t have any place to tell people whether or not to take the knee (and it in some ways defeats the purpose of instructed to) but I’d be interested in their reasons and ultimately disappointed if there was a conscious decision from individuals not to take part.
The Green Sea
09-02-2021, 06:11 AM
I agree. Like others, we don’t have any place to tell people whether or not to take the knee (and it in some ways defeats the purpose of instructed to) but I’d be interested in their reasons and ultimately disappointed if there was a conscious decision from individuals not to take part.
And the whys and why nots of the Scottish rugby team taking or not taking the knee has already been answered elsewhere on this thread.
09-02-2021, 08:49 AM
And the whys and why nots of the Scottish rugby team taking or not taking the knee has already been answered elsewhere on this thread.
"Answered on this thread" :greengrin.. Hibs.net solves what the rest of the internet/world can't again.
No really - been some healthy enough debate among some mindless rambling on both sides, but it's hardly case closed.
Consensus is that it must have been some sort of mix-up which I'd be leaning towards too. I just found it strange someone didn't come out straight away and state that e.g. Townsend seemed to focus more on it being the individual's choice. I thought there would have been a quick statement, maybe even something indicating that they all would have taken the knee had they known what was going on.
But if this thread has answered it, happy to leave it there.
09-02-2021, 09:02 AM
Can we not move this to the non Football area of the forum? Stuart Hogg being a Hibs fan is the only link i can see in the thread.
09-02-2021, 11:18 AM
While a well-intended post, I’d challenge it and say... so we just go back to how we were? most of us white heterosexuals go back to enjoying our favourite sports blissfully unaware of there really being any serious issue. When in reality our games are rife with racism and other issues.
Maybe the approach needs looked at and altered. Maybe it’s doing a fair job as we are all at least talking about the issues now. But either way, reverting to sweeping it under the carpet and pretending that perpetrators are dealt with properly definitely isn’t the answer.
If people were actually capable of doing what you suggest in your second post then we wouldn’t have an issue and we could just let football be football. That’s the ideal.
When is the last time a Scottish sportsperson, or anyone competing in Scotland at any sporting event, complained of racist behaviour towards them?
I can’t think of any off the top of my head.
Latapy tried suggesting he didn’t get a managers job cause of his colour but other than that I can’t think of a single time it’s been raised.
To say that racism is rife in Scotland is just wrong. It may be an issue in society at some level but not in sport and it’s definitely not rife.
Hannah_hfc
09-02-2021, 11:47 AM
When is the last time a Scottish sportsperson, or anyone competing in Scotland at any sporting event, complained of racist behaviour towards them?
Latapy tried suggesting he didn’t get a managers job cause of his colour but other than that I can’t think of a single time it’s been raised.
To say that racism is rife in Scotland is just wrong. It may be an issue in society at some level but not in sport and it’s definitely not rife.
Marvin Bartley had racist abuse directed to him at Tynecastle and has spoken out about racist abuse at other grounds.
One of our own supporters were caught on Sky mouthing clearly racist slurs at Uche Ikpeazu
Alex Dyer received a racist abuse via a letter while at Kilmarnock (quite recently as well)
Rangers fans pictured giving monkey gestures to Scott Sinclair
All these incidents got quite a lot of media attention so it’s a bit naive to say that sport in Scotland doesn’t have an issue. Football certainly does.
09-02-2021, 12:22 PM
Can we not move this to the non Football area of the forum? Stuart Hogg being a Hibs fan is the only link i can see in the thread.
He's a walloper, though, apparently. There's a link right there 😁
09-02-2021, 01:02 PM
Marvin Bartley had racist abuse directed to him at Tynecastle and has spoken out about racist abuse at other grounds.
One of our own supporters were caught on Sky mouthing clearly racist slurs at Uche Ikpeazu
Alex Dyer received a racist abuse via a letter while at Kilmarnock (quite recently as well)
All these incidents got quite a lot of media attention so it’s a bit naive to say that sport in Scotland doesn’t have an issue. Football certainly does.
As does society as football reflects it.
09-02-2021, 01:26 PM
Latapy tried suggesting he didn’t get a managers job cause of his colour but other than thatI can’t think of a single time it’s been raised.
As per above - there are numerous examples. Although I wasn't talking about specifically Scotland, but in the games we love. I don't think, even if Scotland was free of incident, we should turn a blind eye and let the rest of the world get on with it.
It is rife in the sports we love, which is what I said.. that is not wrong. And it is the reason all the BLM stuff is taking place.
There is also still far too much of it goes in in this country, in our sports, and in our stadium. We may have different opinions on what level constitutes it being a problem. But the fact you can't think of any examples off the top of your head (which I find difficult to believe) doesn't mean it doesn't happen... indeed it maybe reinforces the need for raising awareness.
Of course there will always be those (not aiming this at you) who simply deny there is an issue at all and demand people stop kneeling because it somehow offends them. For instance, the majority of those on social media that are suddenly using the word "Marxist" despite not being able to spell it or ever using it in their lives before.
I maintain there's nothing (or at least there shouldn't be anything) politically divisive about wanting equality for black people. It's convenient for some to either deny it's an issue, or dress BLM up as something else, because they don't want it being a part of football. And of course there are some that are just plain racist and don't hide it.
A a lot of progress has been made, and we should continue doing what we can to improve it. Across all sports and around the world. Some people will never change - but it would be nice to think we can get to a place where it is the racists who are made to feel uncomfortable rather than the victims.
09-02-2021, 02:55 PM
As this thread has gone back to the politics/race issues, shouldn't it be on the Holy Ground?
09-02-2021, 03:24 PM
Back on topic I think it was brilliant to see Scotland winning at Twickenham for the first time in 38 years and one of Hoggs first things to think about is Hibs. That's what this football club does to you.
09-02-2021, 03:38 PM
I remember the Hibs fan being caught on camera now that you mention it but not the others you list here. Fair dos.
I guess I don’t count that as being rife.
09-02-2021, 03:55 PM
I'm with the Chief. From what I can tell, racism in sport (and in society) whilst still too prevalent, is nowhere near as bad as it was. It is wrong to say it is rife in sport in this country. It just gets far more attention these days through the media, social media etc. And rightly so.
On the other hand, there is also evidence of the racism card getting played too often. Saw a You Tube clip just the other day of someone, who from his accent was maybe Eastern European, filming two Asian guys fly-tipping a car load of rubbish and an old mattress in a quiet residential lane and saying to them if they didn't put it back he was going to send his footage to the police. "That's racism" they said. Aye right enough. I blame Ali G. Is it cos I is black.
11-02-2021, 12:52 AM
A hazy story from back in the day. We were in before a game and I think it started snowing. We eventually decided to make our way down to the game and came up the steps of the terracing behind the goal. Graham Mitchell was in goals and we thought it was the Clep beer playing tricks. Budgie had been sent off early doors but we were oblivious to that at the time.
Trips north back then were full of it T.
Aberdeen was also gutterage after hours on the bus drinking discreetly with a stop in Forfar or Laurencekirk or Stonehaven.
I recall a good friend of mine, out his brain, asking me for a reminder of the score at Pittodrie. When I reminded him we were getting ****ed he stressed we would batter them in the 2nd half.
We were well into 92 mins by that stage and all we had to look ahead to was who might get battered in that hike over the hill.
Wouldn’t swap it though :greengrin
11-02-2021, 01:09 PM
I'm with the Chief. From what I can tell, racism in sport (and in society) whilst still too prevalent, is nowhere near as bad as it was. It is wrong to say it is rife in sport in this country. It just gets far more attention these days through the media, social media etc. And rightly so.
On the other hand, there is also evidence of the racism card getting played too often. Saw a You Tube clip just the other day of someone, who from his accent was maybe Eastern European, filming two Asian guys fly-tipping a car load of rubbish and an old mattress in a quiet residential lane and saying to them if they didn't put it back he was going to send his footage to the police. "That's racism" they said. Aye right enough. I blame Ali G. Is it cos I is black.
I see the Swansea player with an Indian father is getting racist abuse on social media. Trump and Brexit have revealed especially through social media how deep rooted racism is. Glad of these campaigns such as taking the knee and give racism the red card to counter it. Proud to of our footballers who unanimously support these campaigns. My American relations who are a Latino/African American mix were so pleased to see our stance here in UK football.
11-02-2021, 06:16 PM
I see the Swansea player with an Indian father is getting racist abuse on social media. Trump and Brexit have revealed especially through social media how deep rooted racism is. Glad of these campaigns such as taking the knee and give racism the red card to counter it. Proud to of our footballers who unanimously support these campaigns. My American relations who are a Latino/African American mix were so pleased to see our stance here in UK football.
Is it not time you gave this political stuff a rest. I just want to know what Stuart Hogg said.
11-02-2021, 06:49 PM
Is it not time you gave this political stuff a rest. I just want to know what Stuart Hogg said.
He said "the Hibs won".
11-02-2021, 09:06 PM
Along as people post on here saying that racism not a problem in our game or our society then people will reply with the inconvenient truth.
Admins I would close the thread. We know what Stuart said and we know about his family history.
13-02-2021, 05:22 PM
Hogg scores a 2nd try, they’ll be burning twenties in the streets of Melrose tonight.
13-02-2021, 05:45 PM
Along as people post on here saying that racism not a problem in our game or our society then people will reply with the inconvenient truth.
Admins I would close the thread. We know what Stuart said and we know about his family history.
are you the thread police ?
13-02-2021, 06:04 PM
Well done, Hoggy. Hard lines today.
13-02-2021, 06:27 PM
It's not just Scottish football referees that are terrible.
13-02-2021, 07:38 PM
It's not just Scottish football referees that are terrible.
Ruined the game for us
13-02-2021, 07:54 PM
Ruined the game for us
How? Disallowed try was the correct call on field, backed up by replays/TMO, and the red card was a red card by the letter of the law. It wasn't as blatant as O'Mahoney's hit last week but the ref can't go against the black and white of the law. He made contact with the head with his shoulder = red card. Silly tbh.
13-02-2021, 08:43 PM
Ruined the game for us
when a refs a talking point he has had a bad game.
He certainly likes his mug on the telly.
13-02-2021, 08:47 PM
The ref never lost the game. Hogg said the team make the onfield decisions. Like last week, they went for glory rather than racking up easy three pointers. They got away with it last week but paid the price this week. The players poor decision making cost them the game.
13-02-2021, 08:58 PM
How? Disallowed try was the correct call on field, backed up by replays/TMO, and the red card was a red card by the letter of the law. It wasn't as blatant as O'Mahoney's hit last week but the ref can't go against the black and white of the law. He made contact with the head with his shoulder = red card. Silly tbh.
Correct on the disallowed try but ref should have gone back for penalty to Scotland as no advantage came from the previous 2 penaltys that the ref was playing during the same phases of play on the Welsh line. Should have been yellow to 1 of the Welsh players and penalty in front of the posts to Scotland NOT a penalty to Wales for obstruction at the disallowed try :grr:
As for the red card absolute nonsense the ref used his own interpetation of the law it was not black and white as you suggest. The TMO says it wasn't a red but ref decided to go his own route and award it.
14-02-2021, 09:21 AM
Correct on the disallowed try but ref should have gone back for penalty to Scotland as no advantage came from the previous 2 penaltys that the ref was playing during the same phases of play on the Welsh line. Should have been yellow to 1 of the Welsh players and penalty in front of the posts to Scotland NOT a penalty to Wales for obstruction at the disallowed try :grr:
As for the red card absolute nonsense the ref used his own interpetation of the law it was not black and white as you suggest. The TMO says it wasn't a red but ref decided to go his own route and award it.
Sorry x2.
1. To all the non-rugby .netters that this should really be on a different forum. 2. To say Half Pint that you are wrong.
There was no advantage being played. That phase started with us taking a tap and go penalty (Turner) and there was no advantage called during the lead-up to Graham going over while shielded illegally by Cummings. (Also not even sure Graham grounded the ball.) 100% hard lines but correct call from the ref.
On the red card it is black and white. Interpretation only comes into it if there are any mitigating circs to explain the contact with the head with his shoulder and there were not any. Clear sightline, clear run in. Again, fine lines, but correct call.
However, having looked again at the closing phase of the match, Townsend is correct that Harris was in a text book position at the very final breakdown to steal the ball and the ref's call to "let it go", thus letting Wales kick it out to end the game, was plain wrong. Scotland denied a potentially match winning kick at goal with the clock red.
vercol36
14-02-2021, 09:29 AM
He said "the Hibs won".
I thought he said 'Boo Urns'?
14-02-2021, 09:42 AM
So they lost a game of Egg Chasing.
No big deal
14-02-2021, 01:49 PM
Sorry x2.
1. To all the non-rugby .netters that this should really be on a different forum. 2. To say Half Pint that you are wrong.
There was no advantage being played. That phase started with us taking a tap and go penalty (Turner) and there was no advantage called during the lead-up to Graham going over while shielded illegally by Cummings. (Also not even sure Graham grounded the ball.) 100% hard lines but correct call from the ref.
On the red card it is black and white. Interpretation only comes into it if there are any mitigating circs to explain the contact with the head with his shoulder and there were not any. Clear sightline, clear run in. Again, fine lines, but correct call.
However, having looked again at the closing phase of the match, Townsend is correct that Harris was in a text book position at the very final breakdown to steal the ball and the ref's call to "let it go", thus letting Wales kick it out to end the game, was plain wrong. Scotland denied a potentially match winning kick at goal with the clock red.
I am a non-rugby .netter so fully willing to accept if I don’t understand the game properly - but it seemed to me that the TMO suggested there could be mitigating circumstances (and videos clearly showed the boy’s head popped up at the last second and wasn’t lined up from a distance as has been suggested) and after a bit of passing the buck, the ref didn’t want to know and sent the boy off.
As I say I’m not a big rugby man but having spoke to a number of people who are, including one former professional, the consensus seems to be that it was a crazy red card and you would get about 40 of them in a game.
Doesn’t appear black and white to me.. and certainly not in the favour of a red. The Welsh co-commentator Warburton seemed to think it was very harsh as well. In fact I think you’re the first person I’ve seen claim it was a clear red card... maybe with the exception of Jonathan Davies (need I say more :))
Seemed to me Scotland made plenty of their own mistakes but no doubt that red card swung the game against them.
14-02-2021, 01:52 PM
I watch about three games of rugby a year on the tv. The refs nattering last night was insufferable. Me, me , me. Prick.
I am a non-rugby .netter so fully willing to accept if I don’t understand the game properly - but it seemed to me that the TMO suggested there could be mitigating circumstances (and videos clearly showed the boy’s head popped up at the last second and wasn’t lined up from a distance as has been suggested) and after a bit of passing the buck, the ref didn’t want to know and sent the boy off.
As I say I’m not a big rugby man but having spoke to a number of people who are, including one former professional, the consensus seems to be that it was a crazy red card and you would get about 40 of them in a game.
Doesn’t appear black and white to me.. and certainly not in the favour of a red. The Welsh co-commentator Warburton seemed to think it was very harsh as well. In fact I think you’re the first person I’ve seen claim it was a clear red card... maybe with the exception of Jonathan Davies (need I say more :))
Seemed to me Scotland made plenty of their own mistakes but no doubt that red card swung the game against them.
The red card was correct by the letter of the law, it was rash to clear the man out by not raising his right arm above his shoulder, instead he went in with his arm by his side and shoulder charged the player out, hence red card. Naivety by the Scottish player and again too many silly penalties have cost us the game, frustrating game when we controlled large amounts of it.
14-02-2021, 02:31 PM
The red was correct. If you read the wording of the the law the ref was correct. He was not bound onto another player, he did make contact with the head. The referee doesn't have to take the advice if the TMO as the decision is ultimately his. It is black and white, the ref saw no mitigating circumstance to reduce from red to yellow. The law has been brought in to make rugby safer and to reduce concussions. I remember when it was legal to be able to walk all over players in the ruck. That was changed to make rucks safer and players adapted. Players will need to adapt to this law change as well. That means there won't be 40 red cards in a game. O'Mahony last week was worse as the player he hit wasn't a threat to Ireland losing ball. Fagerson was a wee bit unlucky as Jones was a threat and had to be rucked out, but he didn't do it according to the law.
14-02-2021, 02:41 PM
Checking in on this thread.
https://i.imgflip.com/3u0tsz.jpg
14-02-2021, 03:24 PM
The ref never lost the game. Hogg said the team make the onfield decisions. Like last week, they went for glory rather than racking up easy three pointers. They got away with it last week but paid the price this week. The players poor decision making cost them the game.
Bang on. Last week we could have lost a match we were comfortably the better team by simply not taking the points. This week we did. For all he played well his captaincy has been terrible imo
14-02-2021, 04:02 PM
A couple of years ago you’d be correct - it would never have been a red but refs have been told by World Rugby to be very strict on head contact. You will see more and more “soft” reds like that.
14-02-2021, 04:37 PM
Bang on. Last week we could have lost a match we were comfortably the better team by simply not taking the points. This week we did. For all he played well his captaincy has been terrible imo
Absolutely. Deferring to his pack leader to make key decisions. Very poor captaincy.
14-02-2021, 04:42 PM
A couple of years ago you’d be correct - it would never have been a red but refs have been told by World Rugby to be very strict on head contact. You will see more and more “soft” reds like that.
The Welsh player raised his head a split second before contact, that’s the mitigation that made it a yellow IMHO. The slow motion made it look much worse.
As a side note, if it was such a serious head clash, why didn’t he go off for a HIA?
14-02-2021, 06:06 PM
The Welsh player raised his head a split second before contact, that’s the mitigation that made it a yellow IMHO. The slow motion made it look much worse.
As a side note, if it was such a serious head clash, why didn’t he go off for a HIA?
Contact with the head is contact with the head. The law say nothing more eg about how serious it is or whether the victim requires a HIA.
Mind he went off not long after rubbing his head iirc, although maybe that was just for effect. A soft boiled egg is still a boiled egg.
14-02-2021, 06:51 PM
Contact with the head is contact with the head. The law say nothing more eg about how serious it is or whether the victim requires a HIA.
Mind he went off not long after rubbing his head iirc, although maybe that was just for effect. A soft boiled egg is still a boiled egg.
He stopped to score a try before he went off:greengrin
15-02-2021, 08:13 AM
There’s mitigation rules - the ones the TMO was trying to remind the ref off.
Also on HIA:
When there is a suspected incident of head impact by a player or players, this should be identified by match officials on the field, team doctors or independent match-day doctors who have access to video replays.
Presumably they more than suspected a head knock?
The red was correct. If you read the wording of the the law the ref was correct. He was not bound onto another player, he did make contact with the head. The referee doesn't have to take the advice if the TMO as the decision is ultimately his. It is black and white, the ref saw no mitigating circumstance to reduce from red to yellow. The law has been brought in to make rugby safer and to reduce concussions. I remember when it was legal to be able to walk all over players in the ruck. That was changed to make rucks safer and players adapted. Players will need to adapt to this law change as well. That means there won't be 40 red cards in a game. O'Mahony last week was worse as the player he hit wasn't a threat to Ireland losing ball. Fagerson was a wee bit unlucky as Jones was a threat and had to be rucked out, but he didn't do it according to the law.