View Full Version : 'But Jack Ross Never Wins Big Games'..

06-02-2021, 05:36 PM
The Ross out brigade running out of excuses by the week.

Look I myself at times want it to be prettier, however when you lay it all out...

Clean Sheet ✅
Most Goal Scored outside Old Firm ✅
Least Goals Conceded outside Old Firm ✅
3rd In the table 5 points clear ✅

We were very good today. I honestly can't remember the last time we were that comfortable against Aberdeen. Outwith the 2 goals we've had great chances for Cadden and Boyle, could easily have been even more emphatic. Apart from them hitting the bar via the deflection I can only think of 1 shot they had the entire game, in the first half.

Livingston beat and a big win for Hibs and Jack Ross. It's onwards and upwards, at this rate we are in course for our highest ever points total surpassing Lennons record!

06-02-2021, 05:40 PM
I don’t see how the big game thing could be disputed prior to today’s game?!

There were arguments as to how important they actually were and if we were putting too much emphasis on them but he simply did have a terrible record in the big games.

That said though; I’m not sure why you’re so keen to come on and provoke people into defending their arguments against him?!

Hibs were excellent today, we won a very big game, 3 points today was absolutely huge in the race for third place and Ross deserves all the credit coming his way tonight.

06-02-2021, 05:40 PM
Absolutely mental folk want him out.

On course for our best season with 3pts per game.

06-02-2021, 05:41 PM
Absolutely mental folk want him out.

On course for our best season with 3pts per game.

I don’t think you’ll find many that want him out now.

Not saying there’s none but they’ll be few and far between now.

06-02-2021, 05:42 PM
The decision to play Martin Boyle on the shoulder of their defence was superb. He could have scored 4 or 5 himself today.

Good decision to stick with the winning team as well.

Nothing nothing about us today, no luck needed, a comfortable and commanding win against a team with big ambitions for third.

06-02-2021, 05:48 PM

Until we lose a game then we'll hear more hysterical nonsense.

06-02-2021, 05:52 PM
Waste of a thread. This talk is already over several threads. Provocation at best.

06-02-2021, 05:53 PM
Until we lose a game then we'll hear more hysterical nonsense.

We can cross that bridge when we come to it.

Until then Ross has put some major credit in the bank today and it's one to enjoy.

There seems a determination to cause division among some tonight, not aimed at you but more generally. Of course people will argue that negativity runs rampant when we are losing and that's true. The negative posters want to be negative though so that suits them. If people want to be positive then on a night like tonight they have 2 choices. Be positive, enjoy the win and try to carry some people with them or try to settle scores and provoke a reaction. That only leads to more negativity in the short and long term.

06-02-2021, 05:54 PM
Why do people want to continue arguing and bickering man?

Stanton Spence
06-02-2021, 05:55 PM
I think the Ross in kinda covers this thread? Can the mods please merge and I'm a bit of a Rossite

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

06-02-2021, 05:56 PM
Waste of a thread. This talk is already over several threads. Provocation at best.

Maybe so, but when we lose a game, ANY game these days, they are fighting over themselves to see who can start the worst thread.

I can understand it when we are in the bottom 6 or staggering towards a relegation place, but not at all this season, not at all.

06-02-2021, 05:57 PM
Maybe so, but when we lose a game, ANY game these days, they are fighting over themselves to see who can start the worst thread.

I can understand it when we are in the bottom 6 or staggering towards a relegation place, but not at all this season, not at all.

Well said.

06-02-2021, 05:57 PM
No need to rub the Ross haters’ noses in it. They’re not daft and will come round in the end if we can continue to get results. Quite a few have already had a change of heart. Welcome back to the fold.

06-02-2021, 05:59 PM

I’m agreeing with that but it’s not something that needs a new thread tonight, it’s only going to drag them out, the Doidge haters, the Ross haters, the Ron haters, blah blah blah. There’s plenty discussion on here already with the content necessary for a scrap, why start another one?

06-02-2021, 05:59 PM

Until then Ross has put some major credit in the bank today and it's one to enjoy.

There seems a determination to cause division among some tonight, not aimed at you but more generally. Of course people will argue that negativity runs rampant when we are losing and that's true. The negative posters want to be negative though so that suits them. If people want to be positive then on a night like tonight they have 2 choices. Be positive, enjoy the win and try to carry some people with them or try to settle scores and provoke a reaction. That only leads to more negativity in the short and long term.When you are criticised for being too positive (on a Hibs supporters' site FFS) then I for one understand the GIRUY attitude.

As for saying that "not many people will be wanting him out now" - that just shows how wrong the hysterical knee-jerk whining was in the first place.

Anyway, good day for Hibs & Scottish Rugby.

The vast majority on here should be happy and holding hands tonight. Long may it continue!

06-02-2021, 06:01 PM
I’m agreeing with that but it’s not something that needs a new thread tonight, it’s only going to drag them out, the Doidge haters, the Ross haters, the Ron haters, blah blah blah. There’s plenty discussion on here already with the content necessary for a scrap, why start another one?

It's not going to drag them out, most of the worst offenders are never seen on here post victories.

06-02-2021, 06:02 PM
Just look at the reaction on here tonight. And to think folk were claiming there’s no games that are bigger than others etc :greengrin:

This is exactly why people wanted our record to improve in the big games. The forum is jumping and the stadium would have been as well. A massive difference today.

06-02-2021, 06:02 PM
It's not going to drag them out, most of the worst offenders are never seen on here post victories.

Great.

Let's not talk about them then and enjoy the freedom from their negativity.

06-02-2021, 06:03 PM

If it doesn’t drag them out what’s the point in it? The title alone is a poke.

06-02-2021, 06:04 PM
No need to rub the Ross haters’ noses in it. They’re not daft and will come round in the end if we can continue to get results. Quite a few have already had a change of heart. Welcome back to the fold.

I can’t think of any reason in general why any supporter of any club would hate Jack Ross especially Hibs fans?

06-02-2021, 06:05 PM
Just look at the reaction on here tonight. And to think folk were claiming there’s no games that are bigger than others etc :greengrin:

This is exactly why people wanted our record to improve in the big games. The forum is jumping and the stadium would have been as well. A massive difference today.

Yeah, daft imo that folk wanted him out but he was under a bit of pressure to start winning the bigger games.

Good result, time to kick on and get 3rd.

Stupid thread. Why can we not just enjoy the win?

There seems a determination to cause division among some tonight, not aimed at you but more generally. Of course people will argue that negativity runs rampant when we are losing and that's true. The negative posters want to be negative though so that suits them. If people want to be positive then on a night like tonight they have 2 choices. Be positive, enjoy the win and try to carry some people with them or try to settle scores and provoke a reaction. That only leads to more negativity in the short and long term.

All seems quite straightforward to me. Do well, win a big game, folk are happy.

On the flip side when we don’t do well and get beat in a big game, folk aren’t happy.

Vast majority are somewhere in the middle. The folk who aren’t interested in any debate but just want to get one up on those on the other side of the argument make it more tiresome than anything else.

Today was a good day, just enjoy the result.

06-02-2021, 06:07 PM

People like arguing and fighting it seems.

Allez Hibs
06-02-2021, 06:09 PM

Exactly.

06-02-2021, 06:09 PM

After the last semi I saw plenty of posts alluding to and slagging off posters who were still trying to stick up for jack Ross. Nobody then was critisiscing those posts for being needless or baiting.

Some proper over the top reactionary doomsday nonsense has been posted on here in recent weeks and I think the posters who stuck by Jack Ross are well within their rights to point that out tonight.

06-02-2021, 06:10 PM
Exactly.

You literally just posted on the other thread to see where we are at the end of the season. Cannae have it both ways sunshine :greengrin

06-02-2021, 06:11 PM

The OP is addressing a common criticism of Ross, and giving some stats to challenge it.

I don't see anything wrong with that or see it as an unnecessary "poke".

Allez Hibs
06-02-2021, 06:14 PM
You literally just posted on the other thread to see where we are at the end of the season. Cannae have it both ways sunshine :greengrin

Why are you having a dig now? Im agreeing with the posters point that todays game was clearly a big game going by the reaction to todays win. Give it a rest.

06-02-2021, 06:14 PM

Aye it's pathetic. Why anyone's first instinct would be to slag off fellow fans after a brilliant win like that is completely beyond me.

06-02-2021, 06:15 PM
Why are you having a dig now? Im agreeing with the posters point that todays game was clearly a big game going by the reaction to todays win. Give it a rest.

:greengrin You've literally just responded "exactly" to a post with someone saying "And to think folk were claiming there’s no games that are bigger than others "

I'm gutted when we lose and delighted when we win, irregardless of the game. You went from playing up today as a big game on a thread where JR was getting it tight for "not winning big games". After he wins it's "let's see where we are at the end of the season". You've come round to seeing my point, glad to see we agree that every game is a big game in the league.

06-02-2021, 06:16 PM

Next defeat and they’ll be throwing abuse on social media.

Robbo6-2
06-02-2021, 06:16 PM
The OP is just as bad as a negative post.

Get a grip mate and enjoy the win.

Stil a long way to go but we are in pole position for 3rd place. Also a good run of fixtures to come and try cement it.

06-02-2021, 06:18 PM

More so due to the never ending posts about it being a ‘big game’ and Ross never winning one.

06-02-2021, 06:20 PM
Honestly - what do some people expect? If you don't like the thread, don't read it and don't comment. Simple really.

06-02-2021, 06:22 PM
I don’t see how the big game thing could be disputed prior to today’s game?! .

It could be disputed because he won 2 “big” games last season as well as today’s game.

06-02-2021, 06:22 PM
Said on numerous occasions that the big game thing was nonsense. You don't get to two semi finals in a year and 5 points clear in 3rd in February without winning big games. Hopefully it can be put to bed now and he can get on with building something without an unnecessary monkey put in his back by his own "fans".

Allez Hibs
06-02-2021, 06:24 PM
:greengrin You've literally just responded "exactly" to a post with someone saying "And to think folk were claiming there’s no games that are bigger than others "

I'm gutted when we lose and delighted when we win, irregardless of the game. You went from playing up today as a big game on a thread where JR was getting it tight for "not winning big games". After he wins it's "let's see where we are at the end of the season". You've come round to seeing my point, glad to see we agree that every game is a big game in the league.

Ok, still not agreeing with you but anyway, I was trying to temper the reaction to today's result as its one win in over a year against lets just say the bigger teams. All it does is put us 5 points clear of Aberdeen who have a game in hand. Why I said lets see where we are at the end of the season is because we havent clinched 3rd place today by winning what is regarded as a big game if that makes sense. We need to see more wins in games like today is I guess the wider point about big games. Not sure that needs persistent digs.

06-02-2021, 06:28 PM
Ok, still not agreeing with you but anyway, I was trying to temper the reaction to today's result as its one win in over a year against lets just say the bigger teams. All it does is put us 5 points clear of Aberdeen who have a game in hand. Why I said lets see where we are at the end of the season is because we havent clinched 3rd place today by winning what is regarded as a big game if that makes sense. We need to see more wins in games like today is I guess the wider point about big games. Not sure that needs persistent digs.

Basically, if we play the same way and win well against Ross County in a week, I'll be just as delighted.

If we lose against them and both Aberdeen and Livi win, then today was for nothing.

I kind of feel the opposite of a lot of people on here and thought that both under Lennon and Stubbs we were excellent in the so called "big games" but were always liable to a slump after a "big" result. If we'd focused on picking up three points week in, week out against the smaller teams in the Championship then the games against Hearts and Rangers would almost have become free hits and we'd have stood a better chance of getting out of that league as we'd have accumulated enough of the so called "low hanging fruit".

When you get to the situation where you have to go to somewhere like Celtic Park or Ibrox and have a must win game, then you've created yourself a problem. If we keep this same attitude into the next few fixtures then we likely to into those games as "must not lose" or being able to afford a loss against someone like Rangers and keep third.

I'm having a wee bit of fun on this thread, dinnae get me wrong, give as good as you get and all that but I think we see the same broad point. The three points today is exactly the same as next week and we need to keep it going.

06-02-2021, 06:29 PM
Honestly - what do some people expect? If you don't like the thread, don't read it and don't comment. Simple really.

Would that no apply to all the threads/posts you respond to telling folk how negative they’re being, criticising them for moaning and so on?

06-02-2021, 06:30 PM

Fair comment but why the hell is there a 'Sack Jack Ross' thread up near the top of the thread?

06-02-2021, 06:31 PM
Aye it's pathetic. Why anyone's first instinct would be to slag off fellow fans after a brilliant win like that is completely beyond me.

I don’t get it. Like I’ve said numerous times we should all want the same thing and just enjoy this evening. Instead it’s kind of got it up other supporters.

06-02-2021, 06:32 PM
Said on numerous occasions that the big game thing was nonsense. You don't get to two semi finals in a year and 5 points clear in 3rd in February without winning big games. Hopefully it can be put to bed now and he can get on with building something without an unnecessary monkey put in his back by his own "fans".

The big game thing is not nonsense based on what we’ve seen to date.

Today is a very goof result and performance and means that we can, perhaps, start moving forward from previous disappointments by going on to get third place

The way to get rid of the big game thing is to win games like today.

06-02-2021, 06:32 PM
It could be disputed because he won 2 “big” games last season as well as today’s game.

First big game win of a the year.

GRA
06-02-2021, 06:33 PM
Not sure where this whole 'don't win big games' myth for Jack Ross comes from... he's beaten the Dons twice and won at Tynie. The semi defeats were games that could have gone either way. Taken our chances and scored first (like today) it could have been a different story.... anyways onwards and upwards!

06-02-2021, 06:34 PM

Look I myself at times want it to be prettier, however when you lay it all out...

Clean Sheet ✅

We were very good today. I honestly can't remember the last time we were that comfortable against Aberdeen. Outwith the 2 goals we've had great chances for Cadden and Boyle, could easily have been even more emphatic. Apart from them hitting the bar via the deflection I can only think of 1 shot they had the entire game, in the first half.

Livingston beat and a big win for Hibs and Jack Ross. It's onwards and upwards, at this rate we are in course for our highest ever points total surpassing Lennons record!

Aye but we’re no Hearts with a potential Ballon d’or winner.

Taken from their fans comments after their 1-0 win against Ayr
“ThisMyStoryPod: “Job done. Boyce is stellar. McEneff showed enough in the 29 minutes to show he’ll be a real ballon d’or contender. GMS needs a rest or time to get fitness, he’s miles off it the now understandably. Liked the directness of Kastaner. Halliday better as well. 3points, move on”

06-02-2021, 06:34 PM
Would that no apply to all the threads/posts you respond to telling folk how negative they’re being, criticising them for moaning and so on?Not at all. This thread and it's title are obviously a pop at the doom mongers. The threads you're speaking about are football discussions.

06-02-2021, 06:37 PM

No they don’t.

Allez Hibs
06-02-2021, 06:37 PM
Basically, if we play the same way and win well against Ross County in a week, I'll be just as delighted.

If we lose against them and both Aberdeen and Livi win, then today was for nothing.

I kind of feel the opposite of a lot of people on here and thought that both under Lennon and Stubbs we were excellent in the so called "big games" but were always liable to a slump after a "big" result. If we'd focused on picking up three points week in, week out against the smaller teams in the Championship then the games against Hearts and Rangers would almost have become free hits and we'd have stood a better chance of getting out of that league as we'd have accumulated enough of the so called "low hanging fruit".

When you get to the situation where you have to go to somewhere like Celtic Park or Ibrox and have a must win game, then you've created yourself a problem. If we keep this same attitude into the next few fixtures then we likely to into those games as "must not lose" or being able to afford a loss against someone like Rangers and keep third.

I'm having a wee bit of fun on this thread, dinnae get me wrong, give as good as you get and all that but I think we see the same broad point. The three points today is exactly the same as next week and we need to keep it going.

Ok, I see where you are coming from now and agree with you in a way. I guess its having a balance of the two but how realistic is that? Under managers like McLeish, Mowbray, Collins, Stubbs and Lennon we would generally get a result against the bigger teams and then lose the next match to a daft team we'd generally expect to beat. Its easy to look past the importance of beating all the lower sides and as you say that gives you some breathing room in the tougher games. Thanks for your reply. I would agree that we are now where you see us and how we should be looking at matches after today with 10 games to go. We are in a great position now and if we could finish 3rd it would be looked back on as a successful season. The Group Stage European Football could be massive for the club, massive. And, we should all be getting behind the club now fully for that.

06-02-2021, 06:38 PM
Not at all. This thread and it's title are obviously a pop at the doom mongers. The threads you're speaking about are football discussions.

You’re all over every thread criticising anything you perceive to be negative. Don’t get why you don’t just ignore it if you don’t like it, as you seem to want others to do.

06-02-2021, 06:39 PM
No they don’t.

06-02-2021, 06:39 PM
First big game win of a the year.

Not bad - it’s only February.

06-02-2021, 06:42 PM

Clean Sheet ✅

He had never won a big game, until today, so we weren’t wrong?

Glad that was turned round today.

06-02-2021, 06:43 PM

Seriously? Coming from you??

You’re all over every thread telling people they’re wrong every day!!

06-02-2021, 06:43 PM
You’re all over every thread criticising anything you perceive to be negative. Don’t get why you don’t just ignore it if you don’t like it, as you seem to want others to do.Who are you to judge me? When did you decide what I can or can't post on here? Put me on ignore if you want.

As I said it's pretty obvious what this thread is about and it's easy enough to give it a swerve.

06-02-2021, 06:44 PM
He had never won a big game, until today, so we weren’t wrong?

Glad that was turned round today.Hadn't we beaten hearts and Aberdeen previously?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Seriously? Coming from you??

You’re all over every thread telling people they’re wrong every day!!Am I? I don't think so.

Not bad - it’s only February.

Including all of last year.

06-02-2021, 06:47 PM
Am I? I don't think so.

Ok, so next time there’s an obviously negative thread title, you’ll just ignore it?? Cool!

ABZHFC
06-02-2021, 06:47 PM

Clean Sheet ✅

Last time we were that comfortable against them was December 2019, a 3-0 win at home, another big game which Jack Ross presided over

06-02-2021, 06:48 PM
Ok, so next time there’s an obviously negative thread title, you’ll just ignore it?? Cool!If it's football/Hibs related (eg. "Ross Out")? Why should I?

Including all of last year.

Of which we didn’t play for a number of months. It’s strange like cos normally folk chop and change parameters of stats to make their team look better not worse.

To question whether he is a poor / unlucky manager in big games is pretty reasonable given his record in such matches up until today. If he is to turn that conversation around then results like this are the way to do it. In the context of the season this wasn't a vital game to win, but it was hugely important and could still be pivotal in the end. So well done Jack Ross, long may it continue :aok:

06-02-2021, 06:49 PM

Probably means at least half of them are Jambo trolls.

06-02-2021, 06:50 PM
Of which we didn’t play for a number of months. It’s strange like cos normally folk chip and change parameters of stats to make their team look better not worse.

Who's to say we wouldn't have won the semi if it wasn't postponed until December or more big games if the season was allowed to continue. Maybe nobody would have been talking about the big game thing? Who knows.

06-02-2021, 06:51 PM
This is yet another car-crash thread.

147lothian
06-02-2021, 06:52 PM
Have we secured a top 6 finish yet? Anyone got a calculator handy?

06-02-2021, 06:52 PM
Have we secured a top 6 finish yet? Anyone got a calculator handy?Somebody said elsewhere that it was confirmed.

06-02-2021, 06:53 PM
Who are you to judge me? When did you decide what I can or can't post on here? Put me on ignore if you want.

As I said it's pretty obvious what this thread is about and it's easy enough to give it a swerve.

Your original comment I responded to, on this thread was “If you don't like the thread, don't read it and don't comment. Simple really”

Maybe pay some attention to your own words. And don’t take the internet so seriously perhaps. Unfortunately, if I put you on ignore I’d still see every post you quote.

Crunchie
06-02-2021, 06:54 PM
Exactly, the Ross out thread should have been closed long before it was, imo it was a disgrace and an embarrassment.

I hope it never rears its ugly head again but we're probably only a game or 2 away from another.

06-02-2021, 06:55 PM
This is yet another car-crash thread.

:rolleyes:If those who are targeted by the thread title & OP stop biting, then the thread will disappear down the board soon enough.

06-02-2021, 06:56 PM
Your original comment I responded to, on this thread was “If you don't like the thread, don't read it and don't comment. Simple really”

Maybe pay some attention to your own words. And don’t take the internet so seriously perhaps. Unfortunately, if I put you on ignore I’d still see every post you quote.

Only on your phone, they're still hidden on PC or laptop.

06-02-2021, 06:57 PM
If those who are targeted by the thread title & OP stop biting, then the thread will disappear down the board soon enough.

That's as good as an admission that you're trolling.

As well closing the thread now in that case.

06-02-2021, 06:57 PM

Leave it, you obviously aren't understanding where I'm coming from.

06-02-2021, 06:58 PM
If those who are targeted by the thread title & OP stop biting, then the thread will disappear down the board soon enough.

Does that not basically describe trolling? ‘Targeting’ other posters. Is that the football debate you mention?

06-02-2021, 06:58 PM
That's as good as an admission that you're trolling.

As well closing the thread now in that case.How am I trolling? I never started the thread.

06-02-2021, 06:59 PM
Does that not basically describe trolling? ‘Targeting’ other posters. Is that the football debate you mention?I never started the thread and would never have considered doing so.

06-02-2021, 07:00 PM
Who are you to judge me? When did you decide what I can or can't post on here? Put me on ignore if you want.

Is it easy to give it a swerve when you’re posting it on the match thread though during a wholly positive performance? Why don’t you simply put the posters you feel are unreasonably negative, or “usual suspects” as you like to use, on ignore?

On a day when it’s surely as easy as it gets for starting positive threads are their two threads for petty point scoring, as well as on the match thread during the game? It’s probably only about 15 or 20 posters (from either side) who seem to dominate the majority of threads. If they put each other on ignore this place would be a far more enjoyable place to read for the majority IMO.

06-02-2021, 07:00 PM
Last time we were that comfortable against them was December 2019, a 3-0 win at home, another big game which Jack Ross presided over

Boyle got a brace that day too, like he did 3 weeks later in another big game victory for Jack Ross at Tynie. 😛🙃😀