View Full Version : This is how it feels (Aberdeen 06 02 21)

06-02-2021, 05:25 PM
Back in action after their fine win in Paisley, Hibs fielded the same starting eleven whilst David Gray returned with a place on a strong looking substitutes bench at the expense of young Bradley. The pitch looked a bit better than it has of late, but the overhead conditions were testing as the wind swirled around the pitch.

Hibs opened brightly and early efforts by Boyle and Cadden set the tone as the home side took a grip of the game with the latter chasing a hopeful through ball. The latter’s presence forced Leigh into under hitting a pass back and as Chris shaped his shot, Joe Lewis managed a block to stop his side going 1-0 down. Leigh was injured in that instance and had to be replaced by McLennan who announced his arrival by firing a shot at Marciano, but the ball was blocked before it reached the keeper.

The Dons were having their best period of possession and further efforts by McCrorie and Ferguson had them on the front foot but that didn’t last. The midfield battle was entertaining, and those two Dons players were more than matched by the dynamic efforts of both Gogic and Irvine. On twenty five minutes, Boyle was set free by a stunning Murphy pass, but Joe Lewis thwarted the Hibs man by making his body big. Moments later, Boyle would feature again as he opened the scoring from the penalty spot. Murphy had come in from the left and was clearly fouled by Lewis Ferguson, resulting in Wille Collum pointing to the spot.

Another chance fell to Boyle but once again Lewis thwarted him. Hornby who had been well marshalled by McGregor got a shot away, but the effort was blocked. At the other end, Paul McGinn had an attempt blocked as Hibs pushed on looking for a second goal. Doidge had a shot saved by Lewis before he and Irvine were caught offside in the nest two phases of play. Leigh had been down for some time earlier in the game but even then, it was mystifying where Willie Collum got four additional minutes from. At least he was consistent because he added another four on at the end of the game, a decision that rightly prompted Jack Ross to ask questions of the fourth official.

The second half started as the first had with Hibs winning the possession battle and had he shown a little more composure Doig may have doubled the lead, but the youngster shot wildly over the bar. Gogic, who had been winning his personal battle over Ross McCrorie, was booked around fifty five minutes in but to his credit he didn’t let that influence his combative style of play.

Realising his team were getting nowhere, Derek McInnes made a double change, bringing on more attack minded players but Hibs were defending very well as a unit and any efforts on goal were either blocked or wide of the mark. Indeed, Rocky had had a quiet afternoon of it and that alone offered evidence that Hibs were in control. The next chance fell to Doidge who chest controlled a wonderful pass from Irvine but as he made to shoot, Joe Lewis got down to smother the ball. I felt that if Doidge had gone with his left foot he may have got there before the keeper.

Obviously, a one goal lead can be at risk and when Jackson Irvine went down clutching his shoulder it forced his replacement by Kyle Magennis. At the same time, Lewis Stevenson replaced Josh Doig and with his first touch of the ball, Stevenson delivered a sumptuous pass to Boyle who ran on to the through ball before stroking it through the legs of the advancing Joe Lewis. It was needless to say a crucial strike at an important point in the game, given that the Dons had introduced a greater attacking threat with their substitutions.

Efforts from Niall McGinn and Hornby were dealt with and as the tiring Jamie Murphy was replaced by Hallberg, Hibs looked even more secure in protecting their lead. Having said that, Hibs enjoyed a slice of luck when a Hornby header glanced off the top of Hanlon’s head with the ball striking the bar before being cleared by Stevenson. With the end of the game drawing near, Nisbet won a free kick around twenty five yards from goal but his resultant effort of a shot at goal sailed miles over the bar.

With the game over and having had time to reflect I’d say we were well worth our win, never really looked like conceding and though Aberdeen were not great it doesn’t take away from the fact that had good chances been taken it could easily have finished 5-0. The three points gives us a five point cushion although they have a game in hand. Add to that the fact that Livi finally lost a game, we now have a ten point cushion over them although they too have a game in hand.

The players

Marciano – A quiet afternoon for Rocky as his goal was well protected throughout.

McGinn – I found myself shouting at the screen a couple of times when Paul gave away possession by lofting the ball down the right but then I thought to myself, he had nowhere else to put the ball so those ahead of him should have realised that and moved accordingly.

McGregor – The man is a colossus and never lost a header all day. I hope that when he’s getting changed, he remembers to remove Hornby from his back pocket.

Hanlon – Paul always looks more assured when partnered by Daz and today he defended well but his use of the forward pass could have been better on occasion.

Cadden – We’ve won a watch with this laddie. Great energy in getting up and down the park and his quick use of the ball often opens up opportunities for his team mates. Possibly could have done better in his one on one but I reckon he thought Leigh was still behind him and that made him rush the effort.

Gogic – Is there a blade of grass out there that he hasn’t stood on? From the first whistle to the last he bullied and often dominated the Dons midfield, putting on a far better show than the much admired McCrorie. Despite clearly taking a sore one to the shoulder he simply got up and got on with it and he wins my man of the match award.

Irvine – Was having a fine game before he went off injured. I still feel I’d like to see him further forward, but I guess that’s just me being greedy. I was happy to hear that his shoulder problem seems to be an impact injury rather than a dislocation.

Murphy – Jamie seems to get better with every game he plays and for his time on the park today I reckon he showed the kind of ability we’ve all waited to see.

Doig – I like Josh, a lot but I don’t think he was at his best today. One of his skills is whipping in crosses but today’s efforts for the most part either hit the first man or were over hit and sailed out of play.

Boyle – Martin can’t seem to stop scoring at the minute and long may that continue. He is back to his best I reckon and with a little more composure could have had a hat trick. I know he was the sponsor’s man of the match but Gogic just pipped him for mine.

Doidge – Much will be made of his current lack of goals and to an extent I can understand that but for me he offers so much both attacking and defending I’m happy to ride out his drought as I’m sure the goals will come again soon.

Magennis – Kyle is still getting up to speed, but he irked me when he went charging down the middle with team mates left and right only to run straight into trouble.

Stevenson – What a fantastic pass that was for Boyle’s second goal. It’s no secret I’m an admirer of Lewis but the pass didn’t surprise me because he’s done similar down through the years.

Hallberg – Brought on to ensure we continued to dictate the play and although Aberdeen had a wee spell after going two down, Hallberg and others ensured there was no way through to Rocky’s goal.

Nisbet – I thought he might have been brought on earlier but when he did come on, he featured favourably enough, apart from that horrendous free kick!

Jack Ross – A happy man and rightly so as his team were by far the best on the day. Contrast that with McInnes’s interview where he suggested there wasn’t a lot in the game and that the penalty wasn’t a penalty. Sounds like the dying cries of a manager about to get the boot.

Referee – Willie Collum got most things right – these are words I never thought I’d ever type.

Bridge hibs
06-02-2021, 05:30 PM
Thanks again Jonny, MOM must have been tough but I agree with your account, thank you 👍

06-02-2021, 05:36 PM
I agree with all that John. Think Irvine has played a much deeper role that his 1st few games.
The system change with Boyle up top, and Murphy drifting has made hit sit a bit more, but made the midfield a bit more compact
Our pitch is still shocking though, and we have so many good players who like to run with the ball

06-02-2021, 05:40 PM
Well done JC.

It's on nights like this I really miss The Pink Paper.

06-02-2021, 06:10 PM
Good choice for MOTM👍 on a day we had a few contenders.

Inch joe
06-02-2021, 06:16 PM
Great insight jonny, nearly spot on, but to me murphy was MOM

06-02-2021, 06:18 PM
Great insight jonny, nearly spot on, but to me murphy was MOM

Particularly playing on, just after he picked up a painful injury

06-02-2021, 06:20 PM
Well done JC.

I shouldn't laugh but i did. :wink:

06-02-2021, 06:28 PM
Great write up JB. Gogic played well but Murphy mom for me and thought Cadden wasn't at his best today.

Great win and performance though. We stood up to them physically which we haven't done previously. Good team selection and correct subs at the right times from JR.

My old man
06-02-2021, 06:34 PM
Thanks again Jonny, MOM must have been tough but I agree with your account, thank you 👍

Agree with it all also
I also thought gogic was outstanding

hibee316
06-02-2021, 06:36 PM
The windy conditions won't have helped Doig with his crossing.

06-02-2021, 06:37 PM
Pretty well spot on assessment of the match. Though I would point out that the ridiculous 4 minutes added in the first half actually turned into 7, I honestly though Collum was determined to keep play going until Aberdeen scored. A super and well deserved result and one in the plus column in the debate over whether Jack Ross can win a big game.

Marciano .... 6 .... Only because he only had one save to make, otherwise probably the quietest game he's ever had against Aberdeen.

McGinn .... 7 .... Defended solidly enough, a pretty bog standard game for him, though he was kept busy as Aberdeen seemed determined to attack down our right all the time.

McGregor .... 8 ... Won every header, I won't reduce him to a 7 over a horribly overhit pass from a good forward position and another one that gifted them the ball deep in our half, that aside he was solid as a swear word beginning with 'F' for the 3rd game running.

Hanlon ... 7 .... Part of a defence that closed down really well and gave Aberdeen little to work with, his usually decent forward passing was poor at times though.

Doig ... 6 .... Not quite at it today, but only to be expected from a youngster. As the OP said his crossing was below it's usual standard, but he didn't make any major mistakes either. No problem with his shot even if it was miles over, the kid can hit a ball and I'd rather see him have a go than be afraid to.

Gogic .... 9 .... Absolutely bloody immense, he was everywhere and at times as someone said elsewhere on here it was like there was two of him. Picked up an absolutely ridiculous booking for a challenge that wasn't even a foul. Got hurt and just got on with it ... a great performance and MOM by some way for me.

Irvine ... 8 ... Along with Gogic coped extremely well with the usual physical Aberdeen approach and played some nice passes, especially the one to Doidge. Thankfully doesn't seem to have picked up a serious injury which is good news because he has made a real difference to our midfield. He's making a mockery of the theory that you can't play well if you lack game time as well.

Cadden .... 7 .... Might have done better with the chance he had, but up and down the right all afternoon, he can be happy with a good performance and like Irvine doesn't appear to be suffering through a lack of game time apart from being short a wee bit of stamina to last 90 minutes. No complaints over the signing of this guy, more and better to come from him I feel.

Murphy ... 7 .... You always think something can happen when he's on the ball and for the second game running he won a penalty with good driving play, a good days work from him.

Boyle .... 8.5 ... His best game in months, heavily involved and made some terrific runs into the box, took his penalty and the goal he scored from open play well. On another day could have had a hat trick, perhaps he should think about trying to dink the ball over an advancing keeper. A baw hair from MOM but it would be criminal to take it away from Gogic after that performance.

Doidge ... 7 .... Worked hard without once again looking like scoring, he must think being within a yard of a defender constitutes a foul in Scottish football because he gets penalised time after time for what looks nothing more than competing fairly for the ball.

Subs:

Stevenson .... 6 .... Never looked in any bother defensively and played a super pass for Boyle's second goal.

Hallberg ... 6 .... Came on and did exactly what he was supposed to, closed down high up the pitch and hassled them a lot, well done to him.

Nisbet .... 5 .... Did ok when he came on, but phew that free kick. He has to move on from this Birmingham stuff and get it together, because sitting on the bench isn't where he want's to be, or should be. Hopefully it's just Jack Ross easing him back to normality and there isn't an attitude problem there.

Magennis ... 3 .... Normally would be a 4 just for getting on in a good win like that. But like the OP I was tearing my hair out at his midfield brain fart, why the hell allow yourself to get needlessly closed down when your team is 2 - 0 up and working hard to see out the win. His failure to pass to one of 3 available teammates who were all set up to get down the park was bloody criminal.

Jack Ross .... Cudos to him for this one, I was really beginning to question if he was an unlucky / poor manager when it comes to vital games like this one. This doesn't lay that theory to rest, but it certainly dilutes it a bit.

Collum. Not going to be quite as kind as the OP was, for no other reason than Gogic's challenge happened right in front of him and was so clearly not a foul, never mind a booking, that you would have to have never watched or played in a game of football to think it was. The standard of our refs is really quite shocking as Ryan Porteous and Murray Davidson will no doubt testify.

06-02-2021, 07:13 PM
Sorry, but don't agree at all with your Lewis review.

The pass for the assist was clearly his second touch.

06-02-2021, 07:14 PM
Well done JC.

Used to love picking up the pink from St Andrews bus station after walking up there , after the game ( well , when we had won :) always an enjoyable read on the bus home .
Great summary as per JB 👍🇳🇬

06-02-2021, 07:17 PM
Well done JC.

Remember being a bairn and a pile of them getting dumped at the end of the bar at the back of six on a Saturday night. Was always first up with my 20p in the jar. Think I still have quite a few copies from games we’d won (obviously).

06-02-2021, 07:44 PM
Braw. Very braw. Again lots of contenders for MoM. Irvine was doing well playing a tad deeper giving us the much needed out ball instead of hoofs/speculative diagonals from defenders.

06-02-2021, 07:48 PM
I felt Gogic, Irvine and Murphy gave us control of the middle of the park but no weak links. Thought Cadden and Doig were a bit sloppy at times with their passing / crossing but they never hide and still contributed to a very good team effort

06-02-2021, 07:53 PM
Sorry, but don't agree at all with your Lewis review.

The pass for the assist was clearly his second touch.

My bad :greengrin

06-02-2021, 07:54 PM
My bad :greengrin

You should be taken of this review, not good enough analysis😂

06-02-2021, 08:26 PM
Magennis just looks totally shot of sharpness and confidence.

Against Kilmarnock, St Mirren and today he’s had moments when it looks like his feet isn’t doing what his brain want, even things like his first touch. Even one today was a simple pass along the deck to him (granted the surface is shocking) but his first touch took it head height and in fairness he rescued it.

Decision making has been questionable too.

The decision yous actually mention when he broke through the middle and turned back all started from his touch looking like he was controlling a bomb not a football and he got the break of it.

What he did do in fairness was make a lot of interceptions and clearances at the edge of the box.

The games earlier in the season he looked good, skilful and assured but not hugely involved during the game, I put this down to match fitness and playing out of position.

Ive seen enough from him in his St Mirren days to know he’s a good player and can offer a lot but fans can be quick to make a decision especially when we’ve paid a fee for someone.

Hopefully he gets in his stride quickly.

Drumlanrig
06-02-2021, 08:40 PM
Used to love picking up the pink from St Andrews bus station after walking up there , after the game ( well , when we had won :) always an enjoyable read on the bus home .
Aye me too! Used to get back to Dunbar and pick up the pink in the Masons arms , celebrate with a pint of Guinness and a cheese and onion toasted while warming my fat arse at the coal fire...... good days!!

06-02-2021, 08:48 PM
Fair's fair, the ref had a good game for me.

07-02-2021, 09:15 AM
You should be taken of this review, not good enough analysis😂

😎

07-02-2021, 09:41 AM
Magennis just looks totally shot of sharpness and confidence.

Against Kilmarnock, St Mirren and today he’s had moments when it looks like his feet isn’t doing what his brain want, even things like his first touch. Even one today was a simple pass along the deck to him (granted the surface is shocking) but his first touch took it head height and in fairness he rescued it.

Decision making has been questionable too.

The decision yous actually mention when he broke through the middle and turned back all started from his touch looking like he was controlling a bomb not a football and he got the break of it.

What he did do in fairness was make a lot of interceptions and clearances at the edge of the box.

The games earlier in the season he looked good, skilful and assured but not hugely involved during the game, I put this down to match fitness and playing out of position.

Ive seen enough from him in his St Mirren days to know he’s a good player and can offer a lot but fans can be quick to make a decision especially when we’ve paid a fee for someone.

Hopefully he gets in his stride quickly.

I’ve resigned myself to the fact that he’ll be playing a bit part until next season, after a good pre season. As you say, looks well short of match sharpness. It would be great if the likes of Kyle and Allan, and the other squad players, could get game minutes under their belt but with the current restrictions I assume any 2nd string games won’t be possible or encouraged.......especially at this point of the season.

07-02-2021, 09:43 AM
Good report as usual. Always like when there is debate about the man of the match. Shows it has been a team performance.

Big Daz has made a massive difference to the team. He provides the leadership that I felt had been lacking in the previous few games.

07-02-2021, 09:55 AM
Thanks as ever John. Just one thought, having seen the penalty a few times now, I'm convinced Ferguson's stamp was intentional. For years we've seen it with Aberdeen, taking turns to get booked & leaving a bit on it after the tackle. All credit to Willie Collum, did I really say that? His positioning was spot on & he saw the foul clearly. Karma for Ferguson & McInnes, When Steven Naismith says its a pen then you can count on it!

07-02-2021, 09:58 AM

Thanks for posting Jonnyboy

Brilliant!

07-02-2021, 10:19 AM
Thanks as ever John. Just one thought, having seen the penalty a few times now, I'm convinced Ferguson's stamp was intentional. For years we've seen it with Aberdeen, taking turns to get booked & leaving a bit on it after the tackle. All credit to Willie Collum, did I really say that? His positioning was spot on & he saw the foul clearly. Karma for Ferguson & McInnes, When Steven Naismith says its a pen then you can count on it!
Also think that Murphy's poor dink forward is partly because he knows a "robust" challenge is coming. You can see him start to brace himself for it. The fact that the ball goes out of play is irrelevant. Foul every day of the week, unless against the Stickies when it would have been a goal kick and a yellow for Murphy for simulation.

07-02-2021, 10:23 AM

I agree about the stamp, B.

BBC report suggesting the ball was already out of play when the challenge was made. BBC wrong as usual if you watch the replay from behind the goals.

07-02-2021, 12:50 PM
Good to see Boyle back to his old self and scoring a few, I have been critical of him recently :agree::thumbsup:

JammyDoidger
07-02-2021, 01:46 PM
How good was some of Irvine's through balls, like watching scott allan in his prime. Superb stuff. Still buzzing with that one.

Tom Hart RIP
07-02-2021, 02:16 PM
Hope Gogic is OK. He was clearly in a lot of pain pain after Hornby's barge (which Collum missed and should have been a foul) but he got up and defended the corner before going down for treatment then playing on.

07-02-2021, 02:18 PM
Hope Gogic is OK. He was clearly in a lot of pain pain after Hornby's barge (which Collum missed and should have been a foul) but he got up and defended the corner before going down for treatment then playing on.

Jack Ross said after the match Gogic's and Irvine's were impact injuries and not as serious as they might have been.

07-02-2021, 02:36 PM
How good was some of Irvine's through balls, like watching scott allan in his prime. Superb stuff. Still buzzing with that one.
Aye, we should be breaking the bank with a record club wage to get him on a one-year extension, help us in Europe, then let him go (if he wants) Jan 22 and recoup our wages outlay.

07-02-2021, 03:12 PM
In Kirkcaldy I used to stand outside the newsagents waiting for the newspaper van to arrive, it could either be the Evening Telegraph from Dundee or the Pink from Edinburgh. Happy days

07-02-2021, 10:39 PM
It's 30yrs since the song from which the thread title took its name charted and the Inspiral Carpets made their debut on ToTP.

I would also like to applaud Jonnyboy for a far more professional and impartial review of games than the embarrassingly amateurish summation on the official Aberdeen website.

08-02-2021, 09:20 AM
Fair's fair, the ref had a good game for me.

His biggest mistake was the Gogic booking which (IMHO) wasn't even a foul.

08-02-2021, 11:35 AM

what about Stevenson's through ball for the 2nd goal..perfect weight...:hibees

08-02-2021, 12:01 PM
The pass from Lewis was indeed sumptuous. What made it even better was that Boyle did not even have to touch it before opening his body and shooting.

08-02-2021, 05:38 PM
The pass from Lewis was indeed sumptuous. What made it even better was that Boyle did not even have to touch it before opening his body and shooting.Same for his goal against Dundee Utd last weekend. He let the ball run without touching it before finishing.

08-02-2021, 05:40 PM
Same for his goal against Dundee Utd last weekend. He let the ball run without touching it before finishing.

Very similar, I agree ✅