Thats fine Derek, there's nothing wrong, change nothing, carry on. :greengrin

06-02-2021, 04:35 PM
He must be under huge pressure now.

07BigD
On sportsound now.

His take on the game is a ****ing joke "not much in it" :greengrin

Absolutely laughable.We absolutely bossed them, I don't remember the last time I enjoyed a game so much, was completely confident throughout.

Sent from my CPH1931 using Tapatalk

EI255
Short dick man

Accept defeat ya muppet

06-02-2021, 04:37 PM
Nothing in it apart from 2 goals and his keeper saving 3 one on ones.
Utter helmet

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

06-02-2021, 04:38 PM
Couldn't compete with us this transfer window [emoji16]

06-02-2021, 04:38 PM

Be careful what you wish for, they could go for Ross

06-02-2021, 04:40 PM
Wish our manager would’ve referred to today’s game as being like a cup final just like Derek. What a difference that would’ve made.

allmodcons

:agree: but sounded in complete denial.

"Hibs scored from the one chance they made second half" wtf!!

If I were an Aberdeen fan I'd want him to be telling it how it was (i.e. - beaten (well) by the better time).

Jack said the same after we lost up there.

Aberdeen are a piss poor outfit at the moment. I think McInness has passed his shelf life there.

I've a feeling he will be gone soon and Goodwin will be their next manager.

Davy Mac
06-02-2021, 04:41 PM
In denial with his mob, maybe we've dodged a few bullets with some of his signings.

No chance we lose players or managers currently with us to Aberdeen.

On sportsound now.

Absolutely laughable.

Well, with the money you got, there should be !

06-02-2021, 04:42 PM
No luck you wee roaster. Long trip back to Aberdeen with a huge 3 points handed to their main rivals on a silver platter.

06-02-2021, 04:43 PM
I suppose you could argue we didn't create loads of clear cut chances and it was a bit of a battle at times.

However we 100% won said battle and what chances there were generally fell to us. They had 3 I can recall and I'm reluctant to even call the deflected header a chances.

Tbf to McIness he was pretty magnanimous when we pumped them at ER a couple of seasons ago so he may have just been trying to play to his audience.

In denial with his mob, maybe we've dodged a few bullets with some of his signings.

I would still love us to have Dylan back. :agree:

No chance we lose players or managers currently with us to Aberdeen.

McInnes salary is at least 3 times what Ross gets

06-02-2021, 04:44 PM
On sportsound now.

Absolutely laughable.

He's a man trying to cling on to his £900k a year job.

McInnes has been there long enough that there's a risk they could go into a tailspin if/when they replace him. I don't think Jack Ross is daft enough to leave a team on the up to Aberdeen who have plateaued at absolute best.

:greengrinHe has done pretty good for a number of years now, not pretty but effective, now his time may well be up, no sympathy for the weedgie prick that he is, it is one thing sticking up for your team but to be such a pwrick takes a wee bit of doing.
**** em all We are the Hibs

Gloucester Hibs
Couldn't compete with us this transfer window [emoji16]

Too true. They downgraded their squad, we upgraded ours. Results there for all to see this afternoon

Bridge hibs
06-02-2021, 04:45 PM
His new striker, huddy, did he even have a shot at goal ?

xyz23jc
06-02-2021, 04:45 PM

Bridge hibs
06-02-2021, 04:46 PM
I would still love us to have Dylan back. :agree:Was Dylan playing ?

McInnes has been there long enough that there's a risk they could go into a tailspin if/when they replace him. I don't think Jack Ross is daft enough to leave a team on the up to Aberdeen who have plateaued at absolute best.

I don't know. They signed half the players he wanted. He might really want to work with McCrorie and Funso Ojo!

Was Dylan playing ?

I thought he played well in a piss poor side.

06-02-2021, 04:47 PM
He’s been there 8 years - not very common in modern football.

Got a feeling he will get till end of the season.

Contract ends 2022. He would have to go down south for his next job so probably won’t resign as he’s getting paid well.

06-02-2021, 04:48 PM

Yup - wasted in that side - looked to be only one getting foot on ball and trying to play.

Bridge hibs
I thought he played well in a piss poor side.Honestly never noticed he was on the park mate

allmodcons
I suppose you could argue we didn't create loads of clear cut chances and it was a bit of a battle at times.

However we 100% won said battle and what chances there were generally fell to us. They had 3 I can recall and I'm reluctant to even call the deflected header a chances.

Tbf to McIness he was pretty magnanimous when we pumped them at ER a couple of seasons ago so he may have just been trying to play to his audience.

We had 4 clear one v ones on their keeper and scored once.

Neily1982

Seemingly McInnes wage is one of the main reasons that Dave Cormack wants rid

06-02-2021, 04:50 PM

He's wasted there.

I would struggle to say he played well but he was at least trying to get the ball down.

06-02-2021, 04:51 PM

McGeouch, McCrorie, Hornby and Kamberi .......... eat your hearts out. :hibees

06-02-2021, 04:51 PM
Seemingly McInnes wage is one of the main reasons that Dave Cormack wants rid

He’s under contract until end of next season, going to cost them a few bob to pay him off

06-02-2021, 04:52 PM

Not on today's showing.. looks a shadow of his former self...his fault he should have stayed at Hibs rather than chasing the money at Sunderland...very poor move from him for his career

HibeeHibernian4
06-02-2021, 04:52 PM
I say it all the time - he's the new Levein. He'll be at Hearts some point this decade, mark my words.

06-02-2021, 04:53 PM

He probably is, but he’s more than earned a “bad” season - they’re 4th and 5 points clear of 5th so not convinced it can even be described as a bad season. He’s definitely taken them as far as he can though and on a bit of a hiding to nothing trying to maintain what he’s achieved all with a glass ceiling of 3rd. Does seem it’s maybe time for a mutual parting at the end of the season though.

06-02-2021, 04:54 PM
We had 4 clear one v ones on their keeper and scored once.

Is 4 loads?

I wouldn't call the Boyle one in the first half a real chance as he was forced well wide. The Cadden one we didn't create, although I accept that could be construed as semantics, as it came from a short pass back.

I'm not criticising Hibs performance, far from it. However from an Aberdeen point of view you are probably concentrating on your own individual errors and how they impacted the game. Much as we did after losing 2-0 up there. The game was dead after 20 minutes but we argued there wasn't much in it after that. That was nonsense, as was McIness comments today albeit I can see why he made them.

JammyDoidger
06-02-2021, 04:54 PM
Giruy Mciness. Today is the day the tables turn, c'mon the cabbage!!

06-02-2021, 04:55 PM

Anonymous today. I’ve not seen anything from him since he went there to suggest he can recapture the form he showed with us. Happy for them to pick up the tab for his fleeting appearances.

06-02-2021, 04:57 PM
He probably is, but he’s more than earned a “bad” season - they’re 4th and 5 points clear of 5th so not convinced it can even be described as a bad season. He’s definitely taken them as far as he can though and on a bit of a hiding to nothing trying to maintain what he’s achieved all with a glass ceiling of 3rd. Does seem it’s maybe time for a mutual parting at the end of the season though.

I don't know, 4th last season when he has comfortably the third biggest budget in the league and blown a ton of money on that Hernandez boy, potentially 4th or 5th this season. Said it on another thread that if some on here don't enjoy watching our football just now that McInnes makes Jack Ross look like Guardiola. A lot of their key players aging and 14 players either out of contract or their loans ending in the summer. It's just not a bad season, it's chickens coming home to roost.

06-02-2021, 04:59 PM
He's a man trying to cling on to his £900k a year job.17 grand a week to manage Aberdeen????

06-02-2021, 05:00 PM
17 grand a week to manage Aberdeen????

Every time Rangers approached him to be Manager, they upped his contract

allmodcons
06-02-2021, 05:01 PM
Is 4 loads?

I wouldn't call the Boyle one in the first half a real chance as he was forced well wide. The Cadden one we didn't create, although I accept that could be construed as semantics, as it came from a short pass back.

I'm not criticising Hibs performance, far from it. However from an Aberdeen point of view you are probably concentrating on your own individual errors and how they impacted the game. Much as we did after losing 2-0 up there. The game was dead after 20 minutes but we argued there wasn't much in it after that. That was nonsense, as was McIness comments today albeit I can see why he made them.

Aye, 4 one v ones is loads during 90 minutes versus Aberdeen.

We had numerous other good scoring opportunities where poor control or bad decision making maybe let us down. The Doidge one second half springs to mind and both Boyle and Doig found themselves in really good scoring positions were delaying proved costly.

06-02-2021, 05:02 PM
I don't much care for McInnes but Aberdeen should think very carefully before getting rid of him. I know he works with a bigger budget than most but his overall record is very good compared to where they were before he came in. Four 2nd place finishes and always in the top 4. It's the failure to win more than a solitary cup which has been his problem. Sure, his teams play less than pretty football but I'm not sure they would do better under another boss. This stuff about managers being at a club too long doesn't really ring true for me and I often think more managers should be given longer than they get in what is an absurdly cut-throat profession.

06-02-2021, 05:04 PM
Even though Hibs lost last 2 games against Aberdeen game we have definitely improved against them.

Jack Ross won 3-0 at home and 2-0 today.

Away we should have got something and our away record against them needs changed - last away win 2012.

The home game this season Gogic missed it due to that Covid carry on and the penalty.

06-02-2021, 05:04 PM
17 grand a week to manage Aberdeen????

Supposedly. It's up for debate.

http://www.afc-chat.co.uk/forums/index.php?/search/&q=17k&search_and_or=or

06-02-2021, 05:15 PM
I still have a feeling Aberdeen will move for Ross and try and tempt him with a huge salary. Been in the back of my mind for a while.

06-02-2021, 05:16 PM
The Aberdeen match report is a joke

Not sure I watched the same game

https://www.afc.co.uk/report/report-hibernian-2-aberdeen-0/#match-report

GRA
06-02-2021, 05:18 PM
Absolutely deluded. Bossed the game. Missed four really good chances. I only recall Rocky making one save of note in the 1st half and that deflected header that hot the bar near the end. Pressure is getting to him methinks.

LeithMike
06-02-2021, 05:29 PM
I like McInnes. A pretty honourable guy and showed that with his loyalty to Aberdeen when Rangers came calling.

He's under pressure now, and his football isnt everyone's cup of tea, but he's had 8 great years and deserves time to see out this bad spell for them.

The glass ceiling in Scottish football can really hurt teams. It's so hard to challenge the old firm and there hasnt really been much scope to improve Aberdeen whcih usually ends up in you going backwards. He's done well to sustain Aberdeen in that position for so long.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

H113EE5
06-02-2021, 06:24 PM

Ideal opportunity to show us what we’re missing when not surrounded by the talent of McGinn and Allan. He was hopeless, usual square or backwards passes and then hooked on 60 minutes. Yeh, we need him back, right enough.

EI255
06-02-2021, 06:33 PM
He actually says Aberdeen were the better team. Then, near the end, he says Hibs were defensively better and better in attack [emoji848]

He didn't like the question re his job security [emoji1787]

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

06-02-2021, 06:38 PM
He actually says Aberdeen were the better team. Then, near the end, he says Hibs were defensively better and better in attack [emoji848]

I sometimes think it’s disrespectful asking about losing your employment status
What other industry would this questioning happen in
Ross went off on one after the St Johnstone defeat

06-02-2021, 06:39 PM
Crazy ramblings from a Manager under pressure. He has a decent record at Aberdeen but his signings have been poor recently. Take out Kennedy from that team today and Aberdeen were honking. So slow at the back and no cutting edge.

Davy Mac
06-02-2021, 06:39 PM

https://www.afc.co.uk/report/report-hibernian-2-aberdeen-0/#match-report

That report reminds me of another deluded bunch who live in the 'denial and deluded' world don't ya think!

06-02-2021, 06:41 PM
Crazy ramblings from a Manager under pressure. He has a decent record at Aberdeen but his signings have been poor recently. Take out Kennedy from that team today and Aberdeen were honking. So slow at the back and no cutting edge.

His comments about the penalty today are hilarious!

06-02-2021, 06:43 PM

To hit 50 yd passes back to Rocky?

06-02-2021, 06:45 PM
He's a Hun welt and best ignored.

06-02-2021, 06:46 PM
To hit 50 yd passes back to Rocky?

I can’t remember him ever doing similar at Hibernian.

06-02-2021, 06:47 PM
Every time Rangers approached him to be Manager, they upped his contract

Shoooorly can't be 17k pw

06-02-2021, 06:48 PM
I like McInnes. A pretty honourable guy and showed that with his loyalty to Aberdeen when Rangers came calling.

He's under pressure now, and his football isnt everyone's cup of tea, but he's had 8 great years and deserves time to see out this bad spell for them.

The glass ceiling in Scottish football can really hurt teams. It's so hard to challenge the old firm and there hasnt really been much scope to improve Aberdeen whcih usually ends up in you going backwards. He's done well to sustain Aberdeen in that position for so long.

Agree with all of this. McInnes and Aberdeen have been an excellent match. For a club that knew it could never win the league, his record is outstanding. Should have had many more cup wins though, and the football was industrial and bland. He's perfect for Hearts.

06-02-2021, 06:52 PM

I think he's been loyal to his wallet. He gets paid a good deal, gets a fair bit to spend on player wages too and given that Sevco weren't in the top league for some of that reign he should a) have won a good deal more silverware and b) be closer to the OF now both are back in the league. They rarely give the old firm that good a game and have been beaten to third by Killie and Motherwell in the last two seasons. There's a chance they may be pipped to fourth by Livi and ourselves this time around. Again, no silverware.

I've said before that he's had the easiest job in Scottish football - I don't know if Aberdeen would be asking if they're getting value for money for him if it wasn't for money being tighter than normal due to COVID restrictions.

06-02-2021, 09:12 PM
Think he said something like Kamberi will make a big difference when he arrives. Don't get your hopes up too much Del Boy. 😂

Wouldn't it be a shame for Kamberi if McInnes gets the bullet before he even turns up for his 1st day there.

06-02-2021, 09:15 PM
I still have a feeling Aberdeen will move for Ross and try and tempt him with a huge salary. Been in the back of my mind for a while.

No chance.

06-02-2021, 09:19 PM
Think he said something like Kamberi will make a big difference when he arrives. Don't get your hopes up too much Del Boy. 😂

Wouldn't it be a shame for Kamberi if McInnes gets the bullet before he even turns up for his 1st day there.

And Lennon leaves Celtic for Aberdeen :greengrin

06-02-2021, 09:24 PM
McInnes’ s take on the game today in his BBC interview was something else. Not sure what he watched but if that’s what he really thinks then Aberdeen fans are right to be worried.

ben johnson
06-02-2021, 09:35 PM
Aberdeen over the years was a game I looked forward to
until DM turned up
It became a frustrating afternoon of play acting, time wasting and big strong defenders fouling at every opportunity to break the game up. They seemed to lead a charmed life with referees ( Shinnie ).
If we went a goal down all the above actions intensified
I believe it came under game management
Brutal to watch and ruined many a day at ER
Absolutely delighted we stuck it to them today

06-02-2021, 09:38 PM
McInnes’ s take on the game today in his BBC interview was something else. Not sure what he watched but if that’s what he really thinks then Aberdeen fans are right to be worried.

I saw him say that earlier in the season he though they were better in defence and attack but today we were - and that they have work to do. Other than that he had excuses about players leaving and hopes for the contribution of players (Kamberi) still to come in. Not a lot wrong there.

I don't dislike McInnes and hope he gets a chance to fix things. I'd think Ross's hibs matching wits with a McInnes Aberdeen will drive both clubs forward in the long run.

EI255
06-02-2021, 09:38 PM
Agree with all of this. McInnes and Aberdeen have been an excellent match. For a club that knew it could never win the league, his record is outstanding. Should have had many more cup wins though, and the football was industrial and bland. He's perfect for Hearts.Perfect for Hearts in that he likes to sign giants.

06-02-2021, 11:52 PM

Agree with this. Usually gives a pretty honest assessment of games and he’s never done anything to make me think he’s anything other than a decent guy. He’s been an excellent manager for Aberdeen overall.

07-02-2021, 12:01 AM
Agree with this. Usually gives a pretty honest assessment of games and he’s never done anything to make me think he’s anything other than a decent guy. He’s been an excellent manager for Aberdeen overall.

The problem for McInnes and any Aberdeen manager is they are stuck in the Fergie era and feel entitled, it's never left them - much like our city neighbours. Stuck in the past.

He's been an excellent manager for them and it's case of 'careful what you wish for'.

07-02-2021, 12:18 AM
Is that true now, or a stick we use to beat them with?

There’s a generation of fans that Fergie is someone their parents hark on about, they never missed a thing though.

If anything, they’re living through their golden years now. They’ll be hard pushed to maintain third place finishes or qualifying for Europe every season if they don’t find the right replacement.

Teenage lads following them won’t even remember a season without Europe. They’re about to experience real dross over the next few seasons!

Stanton Spence
07-02-2021, 12:35 AM
He's a Hun welt and best ignored.Exactly he didn't think twice about dropping his drawers soon as his contract was up
Fantastic player once we persevered with his injuries and a cup legend but it stops there

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

07-02-2021, 12:50 AM
McCrorie is a Rolls Royce of a player, remember that p1sh McInnes was spouting when he sneaked a win at ER the last time. Well you could have 11 Rolls Royce's and you wouldn't have a clue how to line them up ya fud. That was the most one sided game you will see and you're trying to claim there was nothing in it....you are a fud.

07-02-2021, 01:54 AM
Aberdeen under McInnes have without doubt been the worst away team to watch at ER. Away teams have no obligation to be entertaining, but there's not being entertaining and there's just making a mockery of the game as an entertainment that people pay to watch. Pity help any team that goes 1 - 0 down to them at home, they have made fouling in rotation and time wasting into an art form and it's hellish to watch.

That being said, their regular top 4 finishes are a testament to his ability to get consistency out of his teams, they don't tend to do well against the Ugly Sisters, but they regularly beat the rest, so much so that away wins at Pittodrie are pretty rare. That has meant regular European football and some nice away trips for their fans, especially to Spain, Holland and England in his time.

But, it is also a fact that he has had the 3rd biggest budget in the league and at the end of the day how many trophy rooms can people tell me about stuffed with awards for 2nd or 3rd in the league or pictures of the day you made the third qualifying round in the UEFA cup? Who ever heard of an open topped bus parade for such things? For every club winning trophies is the tangible reward for their efforts and considering the budget he has had his return in the only two competitions Aberdeen have a realistic chance of winning, IE one win in roughly 16 goes during his tenure, is the wrong side of bang average.

I have to say I wouldn't be all that impressed by a Hibs manager with his budget and the players he has had to work with who only managed to deliver one League cup in nearly a decade.

Paul1642
07-02-2021, 02:08 AM
Aberdeen under McInnes have without doubt been the worst away team to watch at ER. Away teams have no obligation to be entertaining, but there's not being entertaining and there's just making a mockery of the game as an entertainment that people pay to watch. Pity help any team that goes 1 - 0 down to them at home, they have made fouling in rotation and time wasting into an art form and it's hellish to watch.

That being said, their regular top 4 finishes are a testament to his ability to get consistency out of his teams, they don't tend to do well against the Ugly Sisters, but they regularly beat the rest, so much so that away wins at Pittodrie are pretty rare. That has meant regular European football and some nice away trips for their fans, especially to Spain, Holland and England in his time.

But, it is also a fact that he has had the 3rd biggest budget in the league and at the end of the day how many trophy rooms can people tell me about stuffed with awards for 2nd or 3rd in the league or pictures of the day you made the third qualifying round in the UEFA cup? Who ever heard of an open topped bus parade for such things? For every club winning trophies is the tangible reward for their efforts and considering the budget he has had his return in the only two competitions Aberdeen have a realistic chance of winning, IE one win in roughly 16 goes during his tenure, is the wrong side of bang average.

I have to say I wouldn't be all that impressed by a Hibs manager with his budget and the players he has had to work with who only managed to deliver one League cup in nearly a decade.

Crazy to think however since he took over in 2013 he has won one league cup. In that time no team other than Celtic have won more than one trophy therefore he is joint second on the list.

The Celtic team of the last 10 years has been exceptionally far ahead of the rest of the country which is reflected in the lack of silver wear for any other team. McInnes has done great for Aberdeen and they would be daft to let him go based on one bad run (which could well still result in a 3rd place finish for them and is near enough guaranteed European football yet again)

Yorkshire HFC
07-02-2021, 05:30 AM

Surely you've heard enough managers interviews to know that they are not worth listening to? They know they'll get hammered if they actually say what they really think.

I think he's been a really good manager for Aberdeen - finishing 2nd or 3rd every year sounds pretty good to me. They've also had some good European trips and a Cup win.

He's maybe had his time now - but who do Aberdeen fans think will give them a better next 5 years?

It's easy to say he should have won more cups - but he's been up against a strong Celtic.

07-02-2021, 06:37 AM

Can honestly only remember him kicking the ball 30 yards back their goalkeeper.....twice.

07-02-2021, 07:02 AM
No question that Aberdeen were punching below their weight prior to McInnes managing them, he’s delivered pretty consistent league finishes based on their financial resources but really, not much else. 1 cup win during that period I think, consistently pumped by the Old Firm, eye bleeding football, can’t recall anything of note in Europe. I get the sense that Stewart Milne was happy to settle for ‘best of the rest’ in the league each year forgoing the quality of football, not so sure Dave Cormack will put up with that.

07-02-2021, 07:05 AM

Almost anonymous.

07-02-2021, 07:14 AM

It was weasely Brian McLaughlin doing the interview and not exactly being subtle or aware how his questions were landing with McInnes. I thought he was going to deck him near the end 😂

07-02-2021, 07:40 AM
Exactly he didn't think twice about dropping his drawers soon as his contract was up
Fantastic player once we persevered with his injuries and a cup legend but it stops there

Who on earth are you talking about?

07-02-2021, 07:45 AM
Mcglaughlin is a poor interviewer. Bad patter asking a guy in 4th place and almost certainly getting a Euro place if he was going to resign. Utterly farcical and shows him trying to be the headline instead of maybe asking what the issues are with them. That they can’t bleeding score for toffee and yet let their best attacking midfielder leave and also Cosgrove and Anderson.

Exactly he didn't think twice about dropping his drawers soon as his contract was up

What does this actually mean? I’m totally clueless.

Who on earth are you talking about?

Was the same when reading it, had to go back and see if anyone was quoted etc. Presuming the post is about McGeouch going by the content of it.

07-02-2021, 08:00 AM
It was weasely Brian McLaughlin doing the interview and not exactly being subtle or aware how his questions were landing with McInnes. I thought he was going to deck him near the end 😂

Was actually cringing at his questions

07-02-2021, 08:44 AM
Aberdeen over the years was a game I looked forward to
until DM turned up
It became a frustrating afternoon of play acting, time wasting and big strong defenders fouling at every opportunity to break the game up. They seemed to lead a charmed life with referees ( Shinnie ).
If we went a goal down all the above actions intensified
I believe it came under game management
Brutal to watch and ruined many a day at ER
Absolutely delighted we stuck it to them today

McInnes teams take cynicism and cheating to a whole new level. And he as manager set that tone. Its given them a level of league place consistency I'd take but not the style of football or cynical "game management" that McIness insists his team follow. While the average sheep has an over-inflated opinion of their teams place in Scottish football and familiarity does breed contempt lots of them seem to have finally had it with McInnes "style" of football.

Every manager has a shelf life doesn't matter if it was Ferguson, Wenger, or Turnbull or Miller at ER. I think McIness has probably outstayed his welcome up there but I'm hoping he stays as I think he's a spent force.

07-02-2021, 08:54 AM
Not really sure that he is under pressure to get any more than fourth place. The board of directors must have sanctioned or even demanded the selling of Cosgrove and McKenna earlier and it's not obvious that the money has gone back into the team. McRorie has come in, but they had to move Wright to balance the books for him.

07-02-2021, 08:54 AM
Mcglaughlin is a poor interviewer. Bad patter asking a guy in 4th place and almost certainly getting a Euro place if he was going to resign. Utterly farcical and shows him trying to be the headline instead of maybe asking what the issues are with them. That they can’t bleeding score for toffee and yet let their best attacking midfielder leave and also Cosgrove and Anderson.

Would love for some manager to turn the tables and say to the lousy interviewer that his questions were stupid and his match analysis were crap and if the interviewer worried about his job or had considered resigning. :greengrin

07-02-2021, 09:04 AM

Yeah just watched Sportscene. The BBC position seems to be “well Tom English said this was a must win game and you might be in trouble. You didn’t win. Will you resign?”

Pathetic.

07-02-2021, 09:09 AM

Not a clue, it was a reply to my post when I was talking about McInnes.

07-02-2021, 09:31 AM
Would love for some manager to turn the tables and say to the lousy interviewer that his questions were stupid and his match analysis were crap and if the interviewer worried about his job or had considered resigning. :greengrin

Did Jack not do that with Kenny McIntyre after the semi loss to St Johnstone

07-02-2021, 09:35 AM
Aberdeen losing Hedges for the season is a massive miss for them. Would be the equivalent of us losing Boyle.

Stanton Spence
07-02-2021, 10:13 AM
Who on earth are you talking about?I think I now know why I felt so rough this morning [emoji53] and take whatever it means back [emoji23]

07-02-2021, 12:09 PM
As enjoyable as yesterday's win was I really have sympathy for McInnes in the post match interview. There's no reason he should be thinking of resigning, whereas the BBC interviewer put it across in such a way that it should be a certainty that he does just because Tom English said so?
Took the shine off my gloating for a couple of minutes for sure.

I get that the fans are bored if watching horrible football, absolutely understandable. I'm just not sure who they get in to replace him if they do give McInnes the boot. Might be a case of be careful what you wish for....

07-02-2021, 12:36 PM
As enjoyable as yesterday's win was I really have sympathy for McInnes in the post match interview. There's no reason he should be thinking of resigning, whereas the BBC interviewer put it across in such a way that it should be a certainty that he does just because Tom English said so?

I get that the fans are bored if watching horrible football, absolutely understandable. I'm just not sure who they get in to replace him if they do give McInnes the boot. Might be a case of be careful what you wish for....

Yip, I thought Tom English's piece was irresponsible and laced with his usual 'I'm a thinking man's journalist so I'm wiser than most'. While I think clubs can sometimes over-react to media stories, I'd say Aberdeen would be entitled to give him some stick for it.

I increasingly find the football reporter's role a distasteful one. The haste (and seemingly glee) with which some of them tried to whip up a 'Nisbet v Hibs' angle was tiresome.

07-02-2021, 12:39 PM
Was laughable. How were hibs going to deal with a problem player. Win our next two games and he’s on the bench. Silence from the media. Only interested in stirring controversy.

delbert
07-02-2021, 12:44 PM

McLaughlin wouldn’t dare be so forthright with Lennon, he knows the flak he would take, but a non Old Firm manager is regarded as fair game. He certainly wouldn’t speak in that manner to any employee of his beloved Hearts either, in fact his performances in the so called Hearts ‘documentary’ was utterly risible, and only notable for the fact that you could still make out what he was saying even with his tongue jammed quite so far up Budge’s posterior !

07-02-2021, 12:51 PM
Mclauchlin always tries to bait Jack Ross and the Hibs players into saying something they shouldn't.

07-02-2021, 12:59 PM
McLaughlin wouldn’t dare be so forthright with Lennon, he knows the flak he would take, but a non Old Firm manager is regarded as fair game. He certainly wouldn’t speak in that manner to any employee of his beloved Hearts either, in fact his performances in the so called Hearts ‘documentary’ was utterly risible, and only notable for the fact that you could still make out what he was saying even with his tongue jammed quite so far up Budge’s posterior !

Spot on terrible journo and his questions to Mcinness were hugely disrespectful imo.

07-02-2021, 01:01 PM
Aberdeen losing Hedges for the season is a massive miss for them. Would be the equivalent of us losing Boyle.

Also Wright to Rangers seemed an odd sale on top of Cosgrove leaving

07-02-2021, 01:07 PM
Also Wright to Rangers seemed an odd sale on top of Cosgrove leaving
I think that was all down to money as they had to pay the Hun for McCrorie at some point. They seem to be struggling. Built a new training ground and need to develop Pittodrie or build a new stadium. All costs a heap of cash. Makes our decision 20 years ago to rebuild ER and build HTC look even more sensible

07-02-2021, 01:11 PM

Brian McGloughlin is a useless Jambo prick.

He should leave the BBC as well and run the Ann Budge fanzine instead.

07-02-2021, 01:16 PM

What as? A ballboy?

Stokesy's on fire
07-02-2021, 03:06 PM

Hedges couldnt lace Boyles boots

07-02-2021, 03:21 PM
What as? A ballboy?

Could be a good shout, put him behind the goals if so, he got some good practice kicking the ball back to their goalkeeper yesterday😉

07-02-2021, 03:32 PM
Could be a good shout, put him behind the goals if so, he got some good practice kicking the ball back to their goalkeeper yesterday😉

Another player whose career peaked at Hibs. Scottish Cup winner, a couple of international caps and players' and fans' player of the year the season SJM got his move to Villa. Ok, he's increased his salary but the playing side of his career is gradually going downwards.

07-02-2021, 07:55 PM
"Wnning games by luck and 0-0 draws, beaten by teams like Livingston, Ross County, freezing when playing the old firm, tactics inept..."

An Aberdeen point of view but does sound familiar. Their biggest gripe seems to be the style of football.

07-02-2021, 08:06 PM
Is he really in danger of being sacked?

He's qualified them for Europe every season irregardless of how it's been done. If they bin him they could end up in freefall.

07-02-2021, 08:09 PM

He's qualified them for Europe every season irregardless of how it's been done. If they bin him they could end up in freefall.

He must be, Tom English says so.

07-02-2021, 08:24 PM

I think their form points to them being in freefall anyway.

For all his relative success I don’t think he’s ever captured the imagination of the Aberdeen fans. They’ve got terrible home crowds and the fans can’t stand him.

It seems inevitable he’ll be off soon but I don’t think it’s necessarily down to their league position.

07-02-2021, 08:31 PM
Every manager has a shelf life. 7/8 years is a very long time to be at a club these days.

allmodcons
07-02-2021, 08:45 PM
Hedges couldnt lace Boyles boots

The only thing Hedges has that Boyle would like is a hair band .

07-02-2021, 08:50 PM
Deleted

Dear Admin.
How does this stuff get through your firewall when I get my knuckles rapped for being sexist whilst using the term “wummin”?

07-02-2021, 08:58 PM

Nope. They’re skint and he’s obviously not walking away due to what he’d be due. That welt Brian McLaughlin asking ‘who should we speak to about your future’, and then saying ‘but you won’t resign yourself?’ and when McInnes replied ‘why would I’ he said ‘exactly’ 😂 it was cringey and laughable. Bellend of a man.

Clarence
07-02-2021, 09:02 PM

The clues were:

1) A player that won the cup with us
2) A player that was injured a lot
3) A player that left us once his contract was up
4) Given that the thread is concerning the manager of Aberdeen, there’s a clue that it could be an Aberdeen player

07-02-2021, 09:05 PM
As always, money will dictate what happens to McIness. If the sheep vote with their hooves, he'll be ditched otherwise he'll be given time to turn it around. To date, he's done a decent job for the Dons and will be hard to replace - unless football suddenly becomes important to the Board / fans, rather than industrial thuggery.

Amusing that a club which shamelessly steals and signs so many of our targets looks like finishing below us. And having paid so much more for the privilege. Delicious !

07-02-2021, 09:07 PM

No idea how you know that, but assuming you are in the right ballpark, might that not have to do with McInnes having been in the job for 8 years during which time he has been a marked success for Aberdeen, provoked interest from other clubs and won a couple of extensions with improved wages?

07-02-2021, 09:08 PM
Dear Admin.
How does this stuff get through your firewall when I get my knuckles rapped for being sexist whilst using the term “wummin”?

surely not, i always say wummin :confused: a guid scottish term for the fairer sex

07-02-2021, 09:08 PM
The only thing Hedges has that Boyle would like is a hair band .

👏😂😂

07-02-2021, 09:10 PM
surely not, i always say wummin :confused: a guid scottish term for the fairer sex

My post was deleted and I got telt. Maybe I got reported. “DELETED” is obviously much less offensive even if the spelling offends.

07-02-2021, 09:17 PM
As always, money will dictate what happens to McIness. If the sheep vote with their hooves, he'll be ditched otherwise he'll be given time to turn it around. To date, he's done a decent job for the Dons and will be hard to replace - unless football suddenly becomes important to the Board / fans, rather than industrial thuggery.

Amusing that a club which shamelessly steals and signs so many of our targets looks like finishing below us. And having paid so much more for the privilege. Delicious !

Rumors on social media (know not reliable) he is gone. Who would they get in ? Do people think they would try and steal Ross?

07-02-2021, 09:18 PM
Rumors on social media (know not reliable) he is gone. Who would they get in ? Do people think they would try and steal Ross?

Zero chance that Aberdeen take a manager from us that’s already here.

07-02-2021, 09:18 PM
My post was deleted and I got telt. Maybe I got reported. “Mongle ****” is obviously much less offensive even if the spelling offends.

That is ridic, wummin is the Scottish for woman/women.

For what it’s worth. McInnes’s team have played an odious brand of football. Given the talent he’s had at Pittodrie, he’s never manufactured a side anyone could enjoy watching. Nasty, anti football approach from a horrible hun prick.

07-02-2021, 09:20 PM
My post was deleted and I got telt. Maybe I got reported. “Mongle ****” is obviously much less offensive even if the spelling offends.

aye maybe :greengrin agree with the M*****

07-02-2021, 09:21 PM

Aberdeen ITK crowd are claiming he’s sacked and will be announced tomorrow.

Few Journalists, including the ever popular Scott Burns, are saying that’s not true though.

A quick look at their forum and a lot to them are wanting Jim Goodwin. Nobody mentioning Jack Ross though.

07-02-2021, 09:52 PM
Honestly never noticed he was on the park mate:top marks i never knew he was there, until i saw the highlights, and his name was on the "card"

07-02-2021, 09:58 PM
Is 4 loads?

I'm not criticising Hibs performance, far from it. However from an Aberdeen point of view you are probably concentrating on your own individual errors and how they impacted the game. Much as we did after losing 2-0 up there. The game was dead after 20 minutes but we argued there wasn't much in it after that. That was nonsense, as was McIness comments today albeit I can see why he made them.by that, do you feel we did not press them enough to justify the fact that we were by far the better team?

HNA1
07-02-2021, 10:00 PM
Dear Admin.

“Wummin” on its own would not have seen a post deleted, accompanied by a post suggesting a woman should only be allowed to comment on women’s football was the unacceptable part.

As for the post to highlighted, that too is unacceptable and will get immediate attention.

Please use the “report post” function to bring stuff like this to it attention.

07-02-2021, 10:03 PM

https://www.afc.co.uk/report/report-hibernian-2-aberdeen-0/#match-reportno, it is no joke. it was the condition of the pitch that hugely contributed to the dons defeat, :rolleyes:

07-02-2021, 10:14 PM
Zero chance that Aberdeen take a manager from us that’s already here.

They take players we're interested in because they pay better. Ross might be tempted at McInnes salary. They'd probably scoff at the compensation though to be fair.

07-02-2021, 10:20 PM
They take players we're interested in because they pay better. Ross might be tempted at McInnes salary. They'd probably scoff at the compensation though to be fair. i think goodwin would be a good shout, unless they definately are prepared to pay similar wages as the reported wage their current man is on. would like them to get big elvis, or some other gorgie reject personally.

LeithMike
07-02-2021, 11:14 PM
i think goodwin would be a good shout, unless they definately are prepared to pay similar wages as the reported wage their current man is on. would like them to get big elvis, or some other gorgie reject personally.Goodwin's made a good start but you often dont really learn about a manager until they can bring a team through a bad spell. Would be a very risky appointment. Replacing McInnes is a huge call and one Aberdeen could get badly wrong, at least in the short-term.

07-02-2021, 11:23 PM
A week after a transfer window has closed would be a strange time to sack a manager. Particularly if he's only 5 points off 3rd place with a game in hand, with the 3rd biggest budget in the league. Pretty much level par for the season at the moment. Could be wrong but I can see Cormack sticking with him for a bit longer.

Yorkshire HFC
08-02-2021, 05:50 AM
A week after a transfer window has closed would be a strange time to sack a manager. Particularly if he's only 5 points off 3rd place with a game in hand, with the 3rd biggest budget in the league. Pretty much level par for the season at the moment. Could be wrong but I can see Cormack sticking with him for a bit longer.

I'm sure the owner of a football club wouldn't be silly enough to sack a manager just because a few fans on the internet are demanding it!

08-02-2021, 06:06 AM
I'm sure the owner of a football club wouldn't be silly enough to sack a manager just because a few fans on the internet are demanding it!

Ross would have been be a gonner a couple of weeks ago if that was the case 😉

Crunchie
08-02-2021, 06:33 AM
Spot on terrible journo and his questions to Mcinness were hugely disrespectful imo.

The BBC have form for this kind of interviewing and should be pulled for it.

Remember Jim McLean with John Barnes? I thought back then the way he was stitched up was wrong and still do. He had agreed to an interview as long as a certain question wasn't asked, sure enough the smug Barnes asked him and the rest is history. McLean was chairman at the time.

The journos and commentators can't wait to be the first to question a managers job these days and it's pretty pathetic if you ask me. The knock on effect from their actions is often the premature sack.

08-02-2021, 06:51 AM
They take players we're interested in because they pay better. Ross might be tempted at McInnes salary. They'd probably scoff at the compensation though to be fair.

Have they ever taken a player or manager who is with us?

No chance they’d get Ross.

08-02-2021, 06:56 AM

I really don’t think he’d be interested at this stage. I genuinely feel he’s on his way to creating something special with us. When he signed Im sure he said something along the lines of being in it for the long haul (yes we can all change our minds but i think he’ll want to see through what he’s started)

08-02-2021, 06:59 AM
Ross got shafted at Sunderland and should never went. Like Stubbs he will have known it was a mistake. He has us in third now and couldn’t do better with the sheep and eventually they will grumble and want him sacked. His family still stay in Northumberland and I don’t think he would fancy the drive and the hassle to move to a club of a similar size as us. It would be a very weird move for him. Now Levein has left hearts I would be more worried he could be the first manager to go directly over the divide.

08-02-2021, 08:03 AM
We took Eddie Turnbull from them when he managed them. :greengrin

08-02-2021, 08:18 AM
“Wummin” on its own would not have seen a post deleted, accompanied by a post suggesting a woman should only be allowed to comment on women’s football was the unacceptable part.

As for the post to highlighted, that too is unacceptable and will get immediate attention.

Please use the “report post” function to bring stuff like this to it attention.

I was more curious in how you viewed it than anything I thought about it..
Thanks.

The Count
08-02-2021, 08:33 AM
Ross got shafted at Sunderland and should never went. Like Stubbs he will have known it was a mistake. He has us in third now and couldn’t do better with the sheep and eventually they will grumble and want him sacked. His family still stay in Northumberland and I don’t think he would fancy the drive and the hassle to move to a club of a similar size as us. It would be a very weird move for him. Now Levein has left hearts I would be more worried he could be the first manager to go directly over the divide.

Jack lives in Pointeland Northumberland so we have him as long as we want him.He is tainted after the Sunderland job in England,Aberdeen is a side ways move and further from his family and the Old Firm will only come calling if he is really successfull with Hibs.So its all good news on the Ross situation.

08-02-2021, 08:43 AM

Yes indeed. Of course, it might be that McInnes himself feels that he wants a new challenge sooner or later... maybe the Rangers will offer him the job again if Gerrard leaves. But he has done a fine job there, if perhaps a little short on fireworks.

Stokesy's on fire
08-02-2021, 08:59 AM

Why would Jack Ross leave hibs to join the likes of Aberdeen?

08-02-2021, 09:10 AM
My post was deleted and I got telt. Maybe I got reported. “DELETED” is obviously much less offensive even if the spelling offends.

DELETED is that the new De-Premierisation?

08-02-2021, 09:14 AM
Chuffed Aberdeen have sacked McInnes. A totally terrible decision on their part.

08-02-2021, 09:18 AM

Jim Leighton - About 1998

Broke my wee heart

08-02-2021, 09:19 AM
Why would Jack Ross leave hibs to join the likes of Aberdeen?

...especially as the next Aberdeen manager will be lucky to be on a quarter of what they are over paying McInnes.

Part of their problem is they have diverted so much liquidity in the direction of their manager that they have had to off load their best assets to rause enough cash to keep the lights on because Cormack doesn't have the resources to keep them afloat on his own any longer.

08-02-2021, 09:24 AM
Jack lives in Pointeland Northumberland so we have him as long as we want him.He is tainted after the Sunderland job in England,Aberdeen is a side ways move and further from his family and the Old Firm will only come calling if he is really successfull with Hibs.So its all good news on the Ross situation.

Yeah thats completely my understanding too. :aok:

08-02-2021, 09:31 AM
Chuffed Aberdeen have sacked McInnes. A totally terrible decision on their part.

Where are you reading this

08-02-2021, 10:07 AM
Where are you reading this

Ah, might have jumped the gun. Saw a Dons fan I follow on twitter because of youth footy talking as if it was a done deal and didn’t bother to check for official confirmation.

08-02-2021, 10:07 AM
If they sacked him they'd probably get an initial bounce before slipping into mid table mediocrity. He's been outstanding for them. Would be a huge chance for Hibs to cement themselves as best of the rest.

08-02-2021, 10:20 AM
Would it be a good idea if they did sack McInnes for us to get rid of Jack Ross and quickly replace him with him? He'd virtually have us qualifying for Europe every season, and Jack Ross has never done that for us? :greengrin

08-02-2021, 10:28 AM
Would it be a good idea if they did sack McInnes for us to get rid of Jack Ross and quickly replace him with him? He'd virtually have us qualifying for Europe every season, and Jack Ross has never done that for us? :greengrin

Funnily enough I was taking to a Jambo mate yesterday about that. Swapping Robbie Replay for McInnes would be a no brainer for them.

08-02-2021, 12:02 PM
Jack lives in Pointeland Northumberland so we have him as long as we want him.He is tainted after the Sunderland job in England,Aberdeen is a side ways move and further from his family and the Old Firm will only come calling if he is really successfull with Hibs.So its all good news on the Ross situation.Ponteland no? As a serial bad speller, not have a go. Pointyland sounds like the place the Pointy birds come from. You need to know the Man with Two Brains to get it.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

08-02-2021, 12:03 PM
I don’t think they’ll sack him just now. Unless they see a definite downwards trend and are aware of internal ‘strife’, they’ll probably give him time to overtake us and secure third place. If it’s looking like a lost cause by the time the split comes, they’ll let him go and get the new guy in to prepare for the new season.

08-02-2021, 12:09 PM
Ponteland no? As a serial bad speller, not have a go. Pointyland sounds like the place the Pointy birds come from. You need to know the Man with Two Brains to get it.

Sounds right. It’s the wee town just north of Newcastle Airport.

08-02-2021, 12:22 PM
Ponteland no? As a serial bad speller, not have a go. Pointyland sounds like the place the Pointy birds come from. You need to know the Man with Two Brains to get it.

The Pointy Birds,
Oh pointy pointy
anoint my head
anointy, nointy

Spudster
08-02-2021, 12:58 PM
...especially as the next Aberdeen manager will be lucky to be on a quarter of what they are over paying McInnes.

Part of their problem is they have diverted so much liquidity in the direction of their manager that they have had to off load their best assets to rause enough cash to keep the lights on because Cormack doesn't have the resources to keep them afloat on his own any longer.
Is he not worth 10x what Ron Gordon has?

08-02-2021, 01:05 PM
Is he not worth 10x what Ron Gordon has?

Cormack was said to have made over 500M in 2016 selling his company - so he certainly will have a Bob or two

08-02-2021, 01:23 PM
Cormack was said to have made over 500M in 2016 selling his company - so he certainly will have a Bob or two

Was said?

Donald Trump is a billionaire allegedly who is up to his eyes in debt particularly to a certain German bank who are calling in hus loans. He doesn't gave the luquidity to clear his debts in much the same way many who are asset rich but cash poor.

Cornack is not carrying $500m in his wallet, never mind his Santander Account.

He may have a high net worth but unless he actually has a very large wad of rolled up $1000 bills in a very large biscuit tin to pay AFCs running costs he would need to cash in sone of his assets in a buyers market. Even Benny Factor and his mate Phil Anthropissed have had to reign it back of late.

08-02-2021, 02:00 PM
Was said?

Donald Trump is a billionaire allegedly who is up to his eyes in debt particularly to a certain German bank who are calling in hus loans. He doesn't gave the luquidity to clear his debts in much the same way many who are asset rich but cash poor.

He may have a high net worth but unless he actually has a very large wad of rolled up $1000 bills in a very large biscuit tin to pay AFCs running costs he would need to cash in sone of his assets in a buyers market. Even Benny Factor and his mate Phil Anthropissed have had to reign it back of late.

In what way?

Stock markets are at, or close to, record highs and if you check out the top performing investment funds of the last year you'll see Baillie Gifford funds are the top performers in a lot of sectors having delivered returns of over 100% in the last year. That's astronomical in comparison to most of their peers.

No chance anyone at Baillie Gifford is feeling the pinch.

08-02-2021, 02:07 PM

Unless there´s direct flights from Aberdeen to Newcastle?

08-02-2021, 02:51 PM
Unless there´s direct flights from Aberdeen to Newcastle?

Loganair fly Aberdeen to Newcastle, about 5/6 times per week

08-02-2021, 03:05 PM
In what way?

Stock markets are at, or close to, record highs and if you check out the top performing investment funds of the last year you'll see Baillie Gifford funds are the top performers in a lot of sectors having delivered returns of over 100% in the last year. That's astronomical in comparison to most of their peers.

No chance anyone at Baillie Gifford is feeling the pinch.

You’re bringing facts to a debate again and it just won’t do!

One Day In Time
08-02-2021, 03:07 PM
Aberdeen fans want him gone. He's pretty much failed given the opportunities they've had with us, the Huns and them, down in the Championship and below. I think we're better off with JR who we need to give time to.

08-02-2021, 03:11 PM
Wonder if Steve Clarke would be interested in the Aberdeen job after the Euros?

08-02-2021, 03:14 PM
Wonder if Steve Clarke would be interested in the Aberdeen job after the Euros?

He’s got a World Cup to plan for, much much bigger than Aberdeen

08-02-2021, 03:18 PM
I reckon he'll leave by mutual consent if us and Livi finish above them or if they finish 4th and someone other than the OF/us wins the Scottish Cup.

08-02-2021, 03:19 PM
He’s got a World Cup to plan for, much much bigger than Aberdeen

Could be out of the running by the time the season ends.

(Ever the optimist)

08-02-2021, 03:20 PM
I reckon he'll leave by mutual consent if us and Livi finish above them or if they finish 4th and someone other than the OF/us wins the Scottish Cup.

All about his pay off though. How much would it cost?

Spudster
08-02-2021, 03:21 PM
Was said?

This place gets more ridiculous by the day.

So Dave Cormack can't be as rich as alleged because Donald Trump is allegedly poorer than he states. By this same logic I assume Hibs (and all other clubs owned by millionaires) are also in trouble?
Or if not and again by your logic Ron Gordon has the money in his wallet or current account and not in other assets?

Cormack's deal did go through at that approx price btw as I know someone got paid on the same share valuation.

08-02-2021, 03:30 PM

So Dave Cormack can't be as rich as alleged because Donald Trump is allegedly poorer than he states. By this same logic I assume Hibs (and all other clubs owned by millionaires) are also in trouble?
Or if not and again by your logic Ron Gordon has the money in his wallet or current account and not in other assets?

Cormack's deal did go through at that approx price btw as I know someone got paid on the same share valuation.

Our Ron worth a few bob as well
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/ron-gordon-net-worth-hibs-16523414.amp

Spudster
08-02-2021, 03:38 PM
Our Ron worth a few bob as well
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/ron-gordon-net-worth-hibs-16523414.amp

Aye I'm not disputing that. Just pointing out the daftness of the claim that Cormack will be struggling to keep Aberdeen afloat.

08-02-2021, 03:50 PM
Was said?

If Trumps so cash poor , why did he give his Presidential salary away every year ?

08-02-2021, 03:52 PM
Aye I'm not disputing that. Just pointing out the daftness of the claim that Cormack will be struggling to keep Aberdeen afloat.

He won’t be, but the fact they are looking to now possibly stay at Pittodrie, means he’s not intending throwing all his money at the Dons

08-02-2021, 04:07 PM

I am not doubting what the company was bought for but 70% was owned by a Boston based fund. He got 30%. He didn't put his money in a savings account at the post office. A fair chunk went into a Charitable Foundation and his wife Fiona controls 50% sialtb.

My point is he doesn't have the readies in his back pocket. He has re-invested and its his liquidity that is the issue. If it wasn't how come he was bleating about the £6m black hole 'his' Aberdeen needed to fill with outside investment? The Atlanta mob are not ponying up extra cash atm so he has to find it himself from his liquid assets. Sure he's worth a ton but he needs to convert some of that to instant cash, especially given some of the other AFC related commitments he has underwritten.

08-02-2021, 04:15 PM
Aberdeen fans want him gone. He's pretty much failed given the opportunities they've had with us, the Huns and them, down in the Championship and below. I think we're better off with JR who we need to give time to.

I don't see how McInnes can be seen to have failed in any way whatsoever as Aberdeen manager. In the four seasons that immediately preceded his first full one, Aberdeen finished 9th, 9th, 9th and 8th. In seven seasons since he arrived they've finished 3rd (won League Cup same season), 2nd, 2nd, 2nd (lost both domestic cup finals to Celtic), 2nd, 4th (on goal difference) and 4th (on PPG).

In all of the fully completed seasons, his lowest number of league wins in a season is 20. He was never going to win the league with Aberdeen, and the lowest he finished with no Rangers in the league was 3rd. They finished second the first year Rangers were back in the league also. He absolutely maximised the opportunity they had with no Rangers in the league, bringing in a huge amount of extra revenue as a result. It could maybe be argued that he could've done more in the cups, but he did win them their first trophy in 18 years, and has a decent record of going far in both cup tournaments. Fergie's Aberdeen win ratio was 58% - McInnes' is 54%. I think it's pretty crazy to not refer to his overall tenure as a resounding success, never mind calling him a failure.

The one accusation that has been well earned in recent years is the poor quality of football on display. It certainly wasn't always that way, the team of his first few seasons was a good footballing side, though since we've come back up - certainly away to us - they've been that niggly defensive team that a lot of us on this board have disliked quite intensely. To be fair though, those are away performances, and they have displayed a lot of qualities (street smarts, defensive solidity, being able to see out games) that many posters on here have been desperate to see in us after we've had a negative result. To be perfectly honest, if we had a real go against anyone at home and played like that in our trickier away games, I'd have no issue with it.

I did feel for him in that McLaughlin interview on Saturday - as others have pointed out, all this controversy seemed to solely stem from Tom English deciding that Saturday was a make or break for him, and then that narrative being pushed by McLaughlin. When his record is laid out in black and white, it is preposterous to suggest that there should be any thought of him being sacked or resigning. He's also stayed loyal to them one some bigger paying jobs have come calling.

I know the Dons fans are unhappy, but they truly should be careful what they wish for. In recent times, their only other manager who has been anywhere near as influential in terms of taking over a team in huge decline and improving them was Jimmy Calderwood - he was nowhere near as good as McInnnes, and his team was a proper basket case in the domestic cups. In JC's time in charge they finished 4th, 6th, 3rd, 4th and 4th - they got rid of him and went into the decline that McInnes saved them from.

I truly think it would be a huge boost for Hibs if they were daft enough to sack him. The chances of them getting another one as successful are extremely remote, IMO.

08-02-2021, 04:31 PM
I did feel for him in that McLaughlin interview on Saturday - as others have pointed out, all this controversy seemed to solely stem from Tom English deciding that Saturday was a make or break for him, and then that narrative being pushed by McLaughlin. When his record is laid out in black and white, it is preposterous to suggest that there should be any thought of him being sacked or resigning. He's also stayed loyal to them one some bigger paying jobs have come calling.

I was amazed by that line of questioning - from a red top tabloid I might understand, but not from the BBC who should aim to be far better than that. I'd referenced before that Saturday wasn't nearly as a game as some were made out as both Aberdeen and Hibs would like to finish third this season and irrelevant of who won, neither team would be out of it. A strong run in for either team would likely still be enough to finish third. If either team slips up against a team lower down the league then the gap disappears, there's still not a margin for error as such. You try and rest a couple of players against a Hamilton or Ross County and it backfires then you may have thrown away third and group stages next season.

Neil Lennon being asked is one thing as his task was to win 10IAR and there's no chance that Celtic are catching the gap back up, so he's failed in his objective. Much as I think McInnes is over-rated as a manager and should have won more in the past with Aberdeen, they're still right in the hunt for 3rd and it's still completely in their hands.

Really, really poor from Tom English.

08-02-2021, 04:35 PM
I was amazed by that line of questioning - from a red top tabloid I might understand, but not from the BBC who should aim to be far better than that. I'd referenced before that Saturday wasn't nearly as a game as some were made out as both Aberdeen and Hibs would like to finish third this season and irrelevant of who won, neither team would be out of it. A strong run in for either team would likely still be enough to finish third. If either team slips up against a team lower down the league then the gap disappears, there's still not a margin for error as such. You try and rest a couple of players against a Hamilton or Ross County and it backfires then you may have thrown away third and group stages next season.

Neil Lennon being asked is one thing as his task was to win 10IAR and there's no chance that Celtic are catching the gap back up, so he's failed in his objective. Much as I think McInnes is over-rated as a manager and should have won more in the past with Aberdeen, they're still right in the hunt for 3rd and it's still completely in their hands.

Really, really poor from Tom English.

Yup, looks like English started the “McInnes out” campaign

08-02-2021, 05:00 PM
I don't see how McInnes can be seen to have failed in any way whatsoever as Aberdeen manager. In the four seasons that immediately preceded his first full one, Aberdeen finished 9th, 9th, 9th and 8th. In seven seasons since he arrived they've finished 3rd (won League Cup same season), 2nd, 2nd, 2nd (lost both domestic cup finals to Celtic), 2nd, 4th (on goal difference) and 4th (on PPG).

In all of the fully completed seasons, his lowest number of league wins in a season is 20. He was never going to win the league with Aberdeen, and the lowest he finished with no Rangers in the league was 3rd. They finished second the first year Rangers were back in the league also. He absolutely maximised the opportunity they had with no Rangers in the league, bringing in a huge amount of extra revenue as a result. It could maybe be argued that he could've done more in the cups, but he did win them their first trophy in 18 years, and has a decent record of going far in both cup tournaments. Fergie's Aberdeen win ratio was 58% - McInnes' is 54%. I think it's pretty crazy to not refer to his overall tenure as a resounding success, never mind calling him a failure.

The one accusation that has been well earned in recent years is the poor quality of football on display. It certainly wasn't always that way, the team of his first few seasons was a good footballing side, though since we've come back up - certainly away to us - they've been that niggly defensive team that a lot of us on this board have disliked quite intensely. To be fair though, those are away performances, and they have displayed a lot of qualities (street smarts, defensive solidity, being able to see out games) that many posters on here have been desperate to see in us after we've had a negative result. To be perfectly honest, if we had a real go against anyone at home and played like that in our trickier away games, I'd have no issue with it.

I know the Dons fans are unhappy, but they truly should be careful what they wish for. In recent times, their only other manager who has been anywhere near as influential in terms of taking over a team in huge decline and improving them was Jimmy Calderwood - he was nowhere near as good as McInnnes, and his team was a proper basket case in the domestic cups. In JC's time in charge they finished 4th, 6th, 3rd, 4th and 4th - they got rid of him and went into the decline that McInnes saved them from.

I truly think it would be a huge boost for Hibs if they were daft enough to sack him. The chances of them getting another one as successful are extremely remote, IMO.

Good post. I fail to see how he can be criticised for his consistency either. He may have had a favourable budget in comparison to those outside of Rangers & Celtc, but you only have to look at Celtc post Rodgers and look at the mess of the squad they’ve made. How many rebuilds has Mcinnes had to do all without sacrificing Aberdeen’s league position.

He’s had to replace the likes of Fyvie, Fraser, Christie, Maddison, Hayes, McLean, Jack, McGinn, Rooney, Shinnie, McKay-Stevens, McKenna, Cosgrove. Looking at the list of transfers they’ve done very well at loaning players from England just before they made their breakthrough.

08-02-2021, 05:19 PM

He certainly gets my ‘***** stirring journalist of the year award’. ...... and as for that nasal, whining voice of his ........ I can’t tolerate the man.

08-02-2021, 05:22 PM
He certainly gets my ‘***** stirring journalist of the year award’. ...... and as for that nasal, whining voice of his ........ I can’t tolerate the man.

Kenny McIntyre just asked him on Sportsound, was this an inside story, which English body swerved

08-02-2021, 05:29 PM
Stuck in the 80's FC have been absolutely ***** for the majority of my lifetime. Especially growing up in the 90's. Spared relegation because Falkirk's Brockville was a midden, maybe another time because of league reconstruction too if I remember rightly. Jimmy Calderwood did a good job with them for a few years but McInnes has taken them to a different level. They'll go back to their default pish when he goes. I'll be quite happy with that as some Aberdeen fans are getting too big for their boots.

08-02-2021, 05:44 PM
Good post. I fail to see how he can be criticised for his consistency either. He may have had a favourable budget in comparison to those outside of Rangers & Celtc, but you only have to look at Celtc post Rodgers and look at the mess of the squad they’ve made. How many rebuilds has Mcinnes had to do all without sacrificing Aberdeen’s league position.

He’s had to replace the likes of Fyvie, Fraser, Christie, Maddison, Hayes, McLean, Jack, McGinn, Rooney, Shinnie, McKay-Stevens, McKenna, Cosgrove. Looking at the list of transfers they’ve done very well at loaning players from England just before they made their breakthrough.

Good points made about continuous rebuilding and that list of players does remind you of the talent he’s brought to Pittodrie. Pretty impressive and even more so when you add the likes of Lewis, Ferguson, Logan and McGeouch and McCrorie.

Aberdeen have pretty much punched their weight under McInnes and you only have to laugh at Hearts and Huns to see that budget doesn't always get spent that wisely.

McInnes is a decent manager and it is a bit ridic that he’s under pressure. Who are the Sheep going to persuade to manage them that will do better? Sacking him would be a high risk strategy to me.

As Stevie Reid said in his earlier post ( a very good analysis) the Sheep did play some decent high intensity football. Excellent on the swift counter attack. There was a spell when we had some great games against them cup semi and c 17-18 season.

That said, the nasty, cheating, cynical rotational fouling, petulant manner of how they set about things on field removed any grudging respect I had for them, and more particularly for McInnes.

Sometimes your times up and perhaps McInnes will want to try and test himself elsewhere, particularly as the Sheep finances look to be less rosy for the foreseeable future ( new stadium, training ground). Hopefully that somewhere else will never be Gorgie. Too horrific to contemplate.

08-02-2021, 07:41 PM
https://twitter.com/clydessb/status/1358877684672118788?s=21

Not going anywhere

08-02-2021, 07:47 PM

Being a bit pedantic but Maddison was never their player.

08-02-2021, 07:54 PM

He played for them though. Once he goes back it’s a position that needs replaced again. Constant cycle of replacing very good players. The only thing I’d disagree with is that he was never going to finish above Celtic. They had a huge chance in 2016 but fell short. A difficult task but not an impossible one.

08-02-2021, 07:54 PM

Neither was Christie, but both did well and needed replaced the following season.

08-02-2021, 08:08 PM

For me the valid criticism of Aberdeen and McInnes of recent times has been their poor and expensive recruitment of for example:
Ronnie Hernandez signed for an eye watering £800k - they appear to have sneaked him out the back door after a year of nothing.
Stevie May for £400k from Preston when the chat was that he had suffered an almost career ending injury and was unlikely to come back the same player and so it proved
Craig Bryson - good player but it was evident he had gone over the hill and was injured. No problem to Aberdeen. Nice fat contract. Eventually ejected after great expense
Dylan McGeouch: his recent ex manager wasn't interested in bringing him to Hibs but Aberdeen didn't worry about that and signed him up. Surprise, surprise, issues with injuries prevent him playing much

Others:
James Wilson ex Man Utd who he had on loan where he did brussel sprout but still signed him up permanently whereupon he still did zilch and was soon on his way
Curtis Main - signed the clumsy oaf and found he was a clumsy oaf. eventually ejected.
Ojo: sneaked in on front of us, paid a transfer fee to his club and gave him a salary greater than his ability. Found he could not pass the ball forward so sent on loan to Wigan

Re signed players who were past it - Niall McGinn and a guy we all knew was poor from his first spell - Ash Taylor

Good Aberdeen signings in the same time frame:
McCrorie £350k no brainer
Kennedy £80k decent player
Hoban - good solid defender

Overall poor and in some cases foolish recruitment. Whose fault McInnes or Cormack.

This window just passed, they dumped ALL their forwards and hastily brought in three poor replacements on loan. Kamberi is probably the best of them.
All 3 brought in too late in the window to get up to speed. In doing that Cormack handed 3rd place to Hibs who recruited well in the window.

08-02-2021, 08:22 PM
Neither was Christie, but both did well and needed replaced the following season.

Of course. Was Christie not on loan there for a couple of seasons?

08-02-2021, 08:22 PM
For me the valid criticism of Aberdeen and McInnes of recent times has been their poor and expensive recruitment of for example:
Ronnie Hernandez signed for an eye watering £800k - they appear to have sneaked him out the back door after a year of nothing.
Stevie May for £400k from Preston when the chat was that he had suffered an almost career ending injury and was unlikely to come back the same player and so it proved
Craig Bryson - good player but it was evident he had gone over the hill and was injured. No problem to Aberdeen. Nice fat contract. Eventually ejected after great expense
Dylan McGeouch: his recent ex manager wasn't interested in bringing him to Hibs but Aberdeen didn't worry about that and signed him up. Surprise, surprise, issues with injuries prevent him playing much

Others:
James Wilson ex Man Utd who he had on loan where he did brussel sprout but still signed him up permanently whereupon he still did zilch and was soon on his way
Curtis Main - signed the clumsy oaf and found he was a clumsy oaf. eventually ejected.
Ojo: sneaked in on front of us, paid a transfer fee to his club and gave him a salary greater than his ability.After Found he could not pass the ball forward so sent on loan to Wigan

Re signed players who were past it - Niall McGinn and a guy we all knew was poor from his first spell - Ash Taylor

Good Aberdeen signings in the same time frame:
McCrorie £350k no brainer
Kennedy £80k decent player
Hoban - good solid defender

Poor and in some cases foolish recruitment. Whose fault McInnes or Cormack.

This window just passed, they dumped their forwards and hastily brought in three poor replacements on loan. Kamberi is probably the best of them. All 3 brought in too late in the window.
In doing that Cormack handed 3rd place to Hibs who recruited well in the window.

As poor as Aberdeen were on Saturday, I thought Kennedy was decent, particularly in the 2nd half. He was their only threat.

08-02-2021, 08:38 PM
As poor as Aberdeen were on Saturday, I thought Kennedy was decent, particularly in the 2nd half. He was their only threat.

He is one of the few players Aberdeen have contracted after the summer.
Covid came a year to early for them.
As it was they got caught holding a massive contracted squad last summer.

08-02-2021, 09:07 PM
https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/2884267/aberdeen-boss-derek-mcinnes-retains-backing-of-dons-board/

I see McInnes has had a vote of confidence from the board.

They don’t often end well for managers.

08-02-2021, 09:18 PM
https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/2884267/aberdeen-boss-derek-mcinnes-retains-backing-of-dons-board/

I see McInnes has had a vote of confidence from the board.

They don’t often end well for managers.

The bit from deadly Dave that would scare me if I were DI would be

“The board met today and are fully behind Derek getting us back on track, as he’s demonstrated countless times over his eight year tenure. We’re at the business end of the season and we still have 33 points to play for"

Not a problem if McInnes still had his forwards but deadly Dave sold all the good ones in the window and brought in unimpressive child replacements.
McInnes is on a hiding to nothing.
No way are they catching us unless Kamberi catches fire and that is unlikely.

08-02-2021, 09:19 PM
https://twitter.com/clydessb/status/1358877684672118788?s=21

Not going anywhere

The vote of confidence.

Sacked by April.

09-02-2021, 01:58 AM
The vote of confidence.

Sacked by April.

Only problem with that is they have to pay up his contract.

Yorkshire HFC
09-02-2021, 04:38 AM
Only problem with that is they have to pay up his contract.

No - their only problem would be getting someone as good to replace him.

If it was that easy to finish 2nd / 3rd every season, then what have Hibs been messing about at?

09-02-2021, 06:47 AM
Had Aberdeen appointed a new manager at start of season and they were exactly where they are now, the fans would probably think it’s been a good start and a 3rd/4th place where they’d expect to be.

They’re just bored with Derek McInnes after 8 years. One League Cup, regular top 3 finishes and regular European football which has’t been too bad for them but it’s natural to fancy a freshen up.

They’ll look back on McInnes’s time as one of their better spells, albeit without a lot of silverware to show for it.

Jdawg
09-02-2021, 06:53 AM
Had Aberdeen appointed a new manager at start of season and they were exactly where they are now, the fans would probably think it’s been a good start and a 3rd/4th place where they’d expect to be.

They’re just bored with Derek McInnes after 8 years. One League Cup, regular top 3 finishes and regular European football which has’t been too bad for them but it’s natural to fancy a freshen up.

They’ll look back on McInnes’s time as one of their better spells, albeit without a lot of silverware to show for it.

Spot on. Pretty hard to win trophies when Celtic have been so dominant and had a budget that dwarfed everyone else’s.

To consistently finish that high is excellent.

09-02-2021, 07:18 AM

I think that is an excellent summary. I think in many cases the reason we have been irritated by them was because they were doing what Hibs fans wanted us to do in terms of winning games being difficult to beat and going far in cups. His loyalty to their club seems to have been overlooked by Aberdeen fans and genuinely think they will find it very difficult to get better. The tone of the BBC output recently with English and McLaughlin just about sums them up imo especially in contrast to their putrid pro Hearts stance they have.

09-02-2021, 07:23 AM
Personally I think Tom English should consider his position. He's had an absolutely shocking twelve months. He must be under pressure.

09-02-2021, 07:25 AM
Personally I think Tom English should consider his position. He's had an absolute shocking twelve months. He must be under pressure.

Wouldn't bank on it to be honest seems to be able to do whatever he wants

09-02-2021, 08:03 AM

Can we make a more concerted effort on the ‘English out’ campaign please?

09-02-2021, 08:05 AM
Personally I think Tom English should consider his position. He's had an absolutely shocking twelve months. He must be under pressure.

I’ve said it before - if he wants to be a controversy-stirring pundit then he should go and do that.

His continued employment as chief Scottish sports writer for the BBC is untenable IMO.

09-02-2021, 08:12 AM
Now that they’re not beating “the rest” all the time he’s coming under pressure due to his style of football.

I’ve said it a few times after losing 1-0 to them that I couldn’t watch that every week - the defensive attitude, rotational fouling etc etc but when it gets you wins it seems to be ok in many folks eyes. When you lose a couple they soon jump on it though.

09-02-2021, 08:14 AM

I agree.

I used to be a fairly avid listener, now I just can’t bear Sportsound and I’d be amazed if I was alone. Tbh I used to think a lot of the criticism of sport sound was petty and that those who got irritated by the likes of Richard Gordon being a bit pro- Aberdeen needed to grow a set. Sometimes if you follow football you have to hear opinions you don’t like, sometimes they are even right.

I’m fairly convinced English is on the payroll at Hearts. There is simply no way that anyone with any credibility, integrity or neutrality could come up with the nonsense he has for the past year or two. Fine, be swayed pro-Hearts (funnily enough I find Levein possibly the best of the rest of them, other than Michael Stewart) based on loyalties etc but there needs to be some balance.

The editorial stance on the BBC has been simply abysmal over the past year or so and I don’t see it improving whilst English is there. He holds too much sway and is hopeless. McInnes is going through a tough spell but he has enough credit in the bank to be allowed to pick his way through this, particularly when considered relative to the finest business person in the land who finds her club “marooned” in the Championship at this time...

09-02-2021, 08:14 AM

Would you swap Hibs adventure 2014 - 20 including relegation, Europe, SC Win for a regular top 4/6 finish in the league with no cup wins ?

09-02-2021, 08:29 AM
With the new European competition, better access for Scottish clubs to the group stages, Hibs appearing to get their act together and presumably Hearts coming back fairly soon throwing somebody’s money around, I get why Aberdeen’s board might be a bit twitchy.

3rd place looks like becoming a bigger prize and Aberdeen look like they’re about to get quite a lot more competition for that spot.

I still reckon McInnes is just at a critical point of a rebuild and with a decent big of backing to sort out their attack he’d get them sorted out. Not a good time for him or them to be going through a dip though.

09-02-2021, 08:33 AM
Would you swap Hibs adventure 2014 - 20 including relegation, Europe, SC Win for a regular top 4/6 finish in the league with no cup wins ?

Nobody would.

09-02-2021, 08:45 AM

Except they have won a cup and they have had several 2nd place finishes and several 3rd.

Not sure of the point of the comparison though? McInnes has done a decent job at the Sheep, but with funds they have had and the poor quality Rangers side, they should have done better than one cup.

09-02-2021, 08:50 AM
Nobody would.

I guess that might be different if the league placings had led to decent runs in Europe.

There's no point in finishing high up the league if you get papped out of Europe by some rubbish in June/ July.

On the other hand, if you start to do a bit better in Europe then you need to be getting the league positions to keep qualifying and progressing.

That doesn't happen when you're dicking around in the Championship.

No, I wouldn't swap it either, although the next few years might be different.

09-02-2021, 08:52 AM
I agree.

I used to be a fairly avid listener, now I just can’t bear Sportsound and I’d be amazed if I was alone. Tbh I used to think a lot of the criticism of sport sound was petty and that those who got irritated by the likes of Richard Gordon being a bit pro- Aberdeen needed to grow a set. Sometimes if you follow football you have to hear opinions you don’t like, sometimes they are even right.

I’m fairly convinced English is on the payroll at Hearts. There is simply no way that anyone with any credibility, integrity or neutrality could come up with the nonsense he has for the past year or two. Fine, be swayed pro-Hearts (funnily enough I find Levein possibly the best of the rest of them, other than Michael Stewart) based on loyalties etc but there needs to be some balance.

The editorial stance on the BBC has been simply abysmal over the past year or so and I don’t see it improving whilst English is there. He holds too much sway and is hopeless. McInnes is going through a tough spell but he has enough credit in the bank to be allowed to pick his way through this, particularly when considered relative to the finest business person in the land who finds her club “marooned” in the Championship at this time...

Totally agree. I also used to be an avid listener and enjoyed catching up on the podcast however was genuinely sickened with it over the summer with the ridiculous Hearts stance and completely running down the game when it was at its lowest ebb given the Covid threat. Unforgivable imo.

09-02-2021, 08:57 AM
You're just saying that to try to demonstrate that you have a superior knowledge of the game than the rest of us, have the inside track on what is going to happen, and to seek attention for yourself. Smug and pretentious. Reminds me of someone.:hmmm: Only difference being that the other party wouldn't preface his words with "personally I think". :wink:

09-02-2021, 08:59 AM
I guess that might be different if the league placings had led to decent runs in Europe.

There's no point in finishing high up the league if you get papped out of Europe by some rubbish in June/ July.

On the other hand, if you start to do a bit better in Europe then you need to be getting the league positions to keep qualifying and progressing.

That doesn't happen when you're dicking around in the Championship.

No, I wouldn't swap it either, although the next few years might be different.

I wouldn’t swap the fact that it happened but now we’ve won it we don’t want to be a team that is getting relegated and spending 3 years in the Championship. I don’t think I’d swap another cup win for that.

Anyway, as the real world doesn’t work like that our best chance of being able to win cups and get into Europe is by consistently ending up higher in the league and trying to get decent European runs.

For Aberdeen fans it is difficult because really they aren’t going to get any better than they’ve been in the last 8 years - they can only keep matching it. Maybe a better trophy return but that is difficult as we know. Still, we’ve seen in about a year how increased expectation leads to you getting very little credit for what’s gone before unless you are doing something better again and when you’ve done well the scope for improving gets much smaller.

09-02-2021, 09:01 AM
You're just saying that to try to demonstrate that you have a superior knowledge of the game than the rest of us, have the inside track on what is going to happen, and to seek attention for yourself. Smug and pretentious. Reminds me of someone.:hmmm: Only difference being that the other party wouldn't preface his words with "personally I think". :wink:

Now I demand one of my cronies interview him and ask him that question to his face while I hide on the radio to work on my smugness

09-02-2021, 10:27 AM
No - their only problem would be getting someone as good to replace him.

If it was that easy to finish 2nd / 3rd every season, then what have Hibs been messing about at?

I wouldn't be sacking him either. It's been a perfect storm.
Hibs covid strategy has played out better than Aberdeens which was predicated on fans being back in grounds by November and their budget was further damaged by having a large number of contracted players in the summer and adding to it. They should probably allowed us to get McCrorie
3rd best squad until the winter window but selling Cosgrove and Wright on top of McKenna earlier in the season to balance the books, without replacing them has left Aberdeen now weak at both ends of the pitch. Now unable to rebuild until summer and with Hibs finally adding a midfield engine early in the last window they won't head us.
Their only hope must be that Kamberi catches fire quickly but that isn't a gameplan that is likely to bare sufficient fruit.

09-02-2021, 10:54 AM
Genuinely feel they've made three poor signings in Hornby, Hendry and Kamberi. Can see them being toothless up front from now until the end of the season and that on top of unorganised poor defending is a recipe for disaster. They'll be looking over their shoulders at Livingston more than looking at Hibs I feel.

09-02-2021, 11:02 AM
Genuinely feel they've made three poor signings in Hornby, Hendry and Kamberi. Can see them being toothless up front from now until the end of the season and that on top of unorganised poor defending is a recipe for disaster. They'll be looking over their shoulders at Livingston more than looking at Hibs I feel.

Can’t say I was overly impressed with Hornby, he didn’t get much service mind you. I’m not sure Hendry even touched the ball?

Their issues are at the back and creativity in midfield which looks like they’ve lost after selling Wright and losing Hedges. Brought in 3 strikers that’ll struggle to get any service

09-02-2021, 11:06 AM
I don’t get the belief because of budgets team should win trophies. Sevco budget the last four seasons has dwarfed Aberdeen’s yet they have won sod all. Tottenham have won zilch with huge amounts spent. Mcinnes has done a decent job but they look at their weakest for years. He will need to earn his big salary now if he wants third.

09-02-2021, 11:16 AM
Except they have won a cup and they have had several 2nd place finishes and several 3rd.

Not sure of the point of the comparison though? McInnes has done a decent job at the Sheep, but with funds they have had and the poor quality Rangers side, they should have done better than one cup.

They won that cup - their only piece of silverware under McInnes - back in 2014. In 2016 they had that tantalising run where they were pushing Celtc at the top of the table, before losing against them and falling away.

I think McInnes is suffering for overachieving in his first few seasons and raising expectations that they’ve not quite managed to live up to since.

EI255
09-02-2021, 11:24 AM
Why is anyone wasting time worrying about a dud sticky bun?

Let him carry on and get the bullet... When it comes.

09-02-2021, 12:05 PM
Back to their usual 9th place finishes when McInnes leaves.

09-02-2021, 12:12 PM
They won that cup - their only piece of silverware under McInnes - back in 2014. In 2016 they had that tantalising run where they were pushing Celtc at the top of the table, before losing against them and falling away.

I think McInnes is suffering for overachieving in his first few seasons and raising expectations that they’ve not quite managed to live up to since.

Ordinarily I would like seeing any team challenging the dominance of the OF ( almost any) but the horrible approach to the game alienated me and many other neutrals. Given the talent at his disposal Mc Innes choose to cheat, frustrate and time waste his way to success. I would always want to see a Hibs side with a bit of steel, but I can’t say I would love watching that.

If they had actually won an additional final and maybe done better in Europe, then mibbies the end justifies the means. The Aberdeen fans probably feel he could have done better with the resources and in circumstances where the Hun were at their weakest for many years.

Reflecting on it. The level of investment has yielded very little return and the Sheep still play in an antiquated stadium ( do they have a training complex?). This is despite a turnover that is 40% greater than ours. This shows how low the risk/ return opportunities are in Scottish football. Hibs are perhaps looking to do the same, but with more success. Gordon will know the pitfalls, but you could argue there is a better foundation to build on at Hibs, with a proper stadium, training ground and a bigger fanbase.

09-02-2021, 12:24 PM
Ordinarily I would like seeing any team challenging the dominance of the OF ( almost any) but the horrible approach to the game alienated me and many other neutrals. Given the talent at his disposal Mc Innes choose to cheat, frustrate and time waste his way to success. I would always want to see a Hibs side with a bit of steel, but I can’t say I would love watching that.

If they had actually won an additional final and maybe done better in Europe, then mibbies the end justifies the means. The Aberdeen fans probably feel he could have done better with the resources and in circumstances where the Hun were at their weakest for many years.

Reflecting on it. The level of investment has yielded very little return and the Sheep still play in an antiquated stadium ( do they have a training complex?). This is despite a turnover that is 40% greater than ours. This shows how low the risk/ return opportunities are in Scottish football. Hibs are perhaps looking to do the same, but with more success. Gordon will know the pitfalls, but you could argue there is a better foundation to build on at Hibs, with a proper stadium, training ground and a bigger fanbase.

I agree about the looking on as a neutral bit and I've mentioned it to my mate who supports Aberdeen a few times. FWIW he didn't disagree.

They've had some very decent players over the past few years who could have done with being given a bit of freedom to just go out and play. If Hibs had GMS in the form he's been in, or Hayes, or Niall McGinn at times, I'd want them playing on the front foot and attacking teams rather than nicking a goal then keeping shape.

They might have benefitted from that against Celtic and Rangers at times when they've not necessarily been at their strongest too.

09-02-2021, 12:26 PM
I wouldn't be sacking him either. It's been a perfect storm.
Hibs covid strategy has played out better than Aberdeens which was predicated on fans being back in grounds by November and their budget was further damaged by having a large number of contracted players in the summer and adding to it. They should probably allowed us to get McCrorie
3rd best squad until the winter window but selling Cosgrove and Wright on top of McKenna earlier in the season to balance the books, without replacing them has left Aberdeen now weak at both ends of the pitch. Now unable to rebuild until summer and with Hibs finally adding a midfield engine early in the last window they won't head us.
Their only hope must be that Kamberi catches fire quickly but that isn't a gameplan that is likely to bare sufficient fruit.
If we had, we probably would not have signed Gogic.
McCrorie or Gogic? Interesting debate. McCrorie has probably got more room for improvement and a sell-on profit, but Gogic has been fantastic and alongside others, has given us steel and a good balance in midfield. Can't go against the big man on his recent form.
EDIT: Checked and I see we signed Gogic a few weeks before McCrorie went to the Sheep. Still an interesting debate though.

09-02-2021, 10:09 PM
With the new European competition, better access for Scottish clubs to the group stages, Hibs appearing to get their act together and presumably Hearts coming back fairly soon throwing somebody’s money around, I get why Aberdeen’s board might be a bit twitchy.

3rd place looks like becoming a bigger prize and Aberdeen look like they’re about to get quite a lot more competition for that spot.

I still reckon McInnes is just at a critical point of a rebuild and with a decent big of backing to sort out their attack he’d get them sorted out. Not a good time for him or them to be going through a dip though.

I had a look through an Aberdeen forum and their key concern is that the signing approach has become a scattergun approach over the last 3 or 4 years with a huge number of questionable signings. They just don't seem to have any confidence that there is any strategy in his signing policy. It's sounds quite familiar to our policy pre LD and the latter years of Potters reign across the city.

10-02-2021, 09:42 AM
It’s seems a totally bizarre strategy. Let go wright,main,Cosgrove and Anderson, all decent spl players then signed on deadline day a st Johnstone’s second choice striker,an unproven Hornby and Kamberi who we know all too well. If he gets third he has earned his wage. Was quite sad listening to him pinning his hopes on Kamberi whose hardly played recently. Definitely a feel of Harry Potter about their transfer dealings. Compare that to Cadden and Irvine.

10-02-2021, 12:34 PM
If we had, we probably would not have signed Gogic.
McCrorie or Gogic? Interesting debate. McCrorie has probably got more room for improvement and a sell-on profit, but Gogic has been fantastic and alongside others, has given us steel and a good balance in midfield. Can't go against the big man on his recent form.
EDIT: Checked and I see we signed Gogic a few weeks before McCrorie went to the Sheep. Still an interesting debate though.

We had to wait however I think we have a far better player in Irvine than McCrorie. Hopefully we can get him signed up on a long deal. You build your team around guys like that.

hibee316
10-02-2021, 12:54 PM
Why is anyone wasting time worrying about a dud sticky bun?

Let him carry on and get the bullet... When it comes.

I find it quite interesting seeing how our rivals are getting on.