View Full Version : Pointless v The Chase

05-02-2021, 09:02 PM
Which one are you? I’m a pointless man myself.

05-02-2021, 09:05 PM
If I actually think about which format I like better, it’s definitely Pointless. I also can’t be arsed with Bradley Walsh.

But...I rarely ever watch Pointless, but put The Chase on every day.

05-02-2021, 09:10 PM
If I actually think about which format I like better, it’s definitely Pointless. I also can’t be arsed with Bradley Walsh.

But...I rarely ever watch Pointless, but put The Chase on every day.
I record pointless so I can watch it when I eat my dinner, it’s got to the stage where I can’t eat without it being on. I have to scour the iPlayer if I’ve not got a recording. God knows what it’s going to be like when restaurants open again.

AltheHibby
05-02-2021, 09:14 PM
The Chase. There isn't much funnier on tv than Bradley losing it at a rude question or answer.

05-02-2021, 09:23 PM
No contest... Pointless every time. I even try to predict the numbers out of 100...drives my wife daft!

05-02-2021, 09:30 PM
Watch Pointless and record the Chase which I'll watch later so i can fast forward the ads.

05-02-2021, 09:32 PM
Pointless is just..... well, it’s no The Chase eh.

EH6 Hibby
05-02-2021, 10:20 PM
I like both equally but probably watch the chase more. In an ideal world where I had unlimited time, I’d watch both. I do like Richard Osman.

I’ve started watching House of Games when I eat my tea

Bangkok Hibby
05-02-2021, 11:21 PM
Alexander Armstrong asking the finalists what they'll do with the miniscule jackpot is cringeworthy.

05-02-2021, 11:46 PM
The Chase wins it for me. Although Only Connect is the best quiz show. The satisfaction of getting a question right when 6 far more intelligent people than me can't is great.

05-02-2021, 11:57 PM
Alexander Armstrong asking the finalists what they'll do with the miniscule jackpot is cringeworthy.

The ridiculous answers are the best bit of the show.

'Well I've always wanted to go to Monte Carlo for the Grand Prix and my Grandaughter wants to go to Disneyland'.

It's £500 mate. You'll get a tank of fuel for the drive home and an M&S meal deal at the services.

06-02-2021, 12:01 AM
The Chase wins it for me. Although Only Connect is the best quiz show. The satisfaction of getting a question right when 6 far more intelligent people than me can't is great.

I love Only Connect.

It's one of those shows in which if you know the answer then it's hard to comprehend how others don't see it but if you can't see the answer it's difficult to work out how someone's brain works in such a way that they do see it.

The range of questions and the varied knowledge and logic required to get the answers is genius.

06-02-2021, 06:04 AM
I love Only Connect.

It's one of those shows in which if you know the answer then it's hard to comprehend how others don't see it but if you can't see the answer it's difficult to work out how someone's brain works in such a way that they do see it.

The range of questions and the varied knowledge and logic required to get the answers is genius.

Yes one of my favourite ones, realising how obvious the connection is after you're told it is annoying, I think your brain tries to make it too complicated at times.

06-02-2021, 06:38 AM
The ridiculous answers are the best bit of the show.

'Well I've always wanted to go to Monte Carlo for the Grand Prix and my Grandaughter wants to go to Disneyland'.

It's £500 mate. You'll get a tank of fuel for the drive home and an M&S meal deal at the services.

“Well I’ve always dreamed of having my own 30ft boat, so with this £500 I’m a quarter of a percent closer to it”

Bridge hibs
06-02-2021, 07:40 AM
I really like Beat the chasers, some good money to be won, I also like Tenable

Alfiembra
06-02-2021, 07:44 AM
Can’t say I like either, I will occasionally watch Only Connect but the only game show I’ll make an effort to watch, and more than a bit off topic, is “Would I lie to you” Especially if Bob Mortimer or Kevin Bridges are on.

06-02-2021, 07:59 AM
The chase. Pointless is fine but nothing worse than a boring category coming up and having to endure it for ages before they move on. They also have a nasty habbit of having multiple questions up that I'd like to keep reading but instead they show me the face of a contestant reading them.

I watch a lot of tipping point and catchphrase, they're probably my 2 most watched.

06-02-2021, 08:02 AM
I prefer the chase, i find pointless a bit pretentious sometimes.

Logie Green
06-02-2021, 08:19 AM

There’s a couple of other reasons Only Connect is worth watching. 😋

06-02-2021, 09:32 AM
University Challenge for me, at least when you go 15 questions without having a clue of the answer you can take the piss out of the teams.

Just_Jimmy
06-02-2021, 10:21 AM
mastermind is still the greatest ever quiz show.

the simple fact it is for nothing except a *****y wee glass bowl and the ability to swagger round like the cock of the north means it is the pinnacle of quizzing.

I like only connect by VCM is an annoying boot.

chase is better than pointless but fixed.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

06-02-2021, 10:27 AM
mastermind is still the greatest ever quiz show.

the simple fact it is for nothing except a *****y wee glass bowl and the ability to swagger round like the cock of the north means it is the pinnacle of quizzing.

I like only connect by VCM is an annoying boot.

chase is better than pointless but fixed.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Aye Mastermind is still the show that all other quizzes should be judged against. Simple format, simple prize. It does annoy me when people pass though knowing that is a potential tie breaker. Just say anything rather than pass.

I like the SAS show with Ant Middleton for similar reasons. No one wins anything or is going to get famous from it. You get beasted for a month and if you make it to the end you get a firm handshake and told well done.

06-02-2021, 10:45 AM
Can’t say I like either, I will occasionally watch Only Connect but the only game show I’ll make an effort to watch, and more than a bit off topic, is “Would I lie to you” Especially if Bob Mortimer or Kevin Bridges are on.

Would I lie to you is great. I'm a big fan of David Mitchell and Lee Mack anyway but them on opposing sides just works. It is more of a panel show than a game show though I'd say.

I like pointless but the chase is far better. More questions, faster, and more money at stake.

Also, the clips on you tube with Bradley's reaction to the question about Fanny Schmeller, or Keith Allen's reaction to the governess asking him about 'fat Les', crack me up every time.

patch1875
06-02-2021, 10:47 AM
Can’t stand either.
If pointless is on in the background all I hear is AA thanking Richard all the time for some reason!

Bangkok Hibby
06-02-2021, 12:02 PM
There’s a couple of other reasons Only Connect is worth watching. 😋

Indeed 😉

06-02-2021, 12:19 PM
Richard Osman thinks up a lot of the game shows we watch on telly & makes a fortune from royalties from them.

06-02-2021, 01:42 PM
One other favourite of mine is Taskmaster great format having celebs doing daft challenges with Alex Horn and Greg Davies brilliant hosts.

06-02-2021, 01:45 PM
Richard Osman thinks up a lot of the game shows we watch on telly & makes a fortune from royalties from them.

His brother is the bassist (I think) in suede.

I like both, the chase usually ends up on as the Mrs doesn't like pointless.

I recently discovered a few months ago a music quiz called the hitlist on BBC1. Crap presenters but as concept I liked a quiz based on just music, I think there could be more music based quizzes.

Mr Grieves
06-02-2021, 01:55 PM
One other favourite of mine is Taskmaster great format having celebs doing daft challenges with Alex Horn and Greg Davies brilliant hosts.

Taskmaster is silly, good laugh though.

Have to say I enjoy both the chase and pointless whenever I get chance to watch them

06-02-2021, 02:22 PM
Pointless lives up to its name.
Countdown best on tv and Popmaster on the radio.

Peanut Shaz
06-02-2021, 06:13 PM
The Monday night quiz fest is the same every week. Mastermind, do all right in the general knowledge and think I'm reasonably clever. Only Connect, pick up a few points and think I'm not as smart as I thought. University Challenge, realise I'm pretty thick really. 🤣

06-02-2021, 07:53 PM

Good shout. :agree:

07-02-2021, 11:36 AM
William G Stewart’s 15 to 1 was the pinnacle of quiz shows imo.

Shed loads of questions with minimal filler, really simple but still with a wee tactical angle to it.

07-02-2021, 04:33 PM
William G Stewart’s 15 to 1 was the pinnacle of quiz shows imo.

Shed loads of questions with minimal filler, really simple but still with a wee tactical angle to it.

Agree with that 15-1 was class.

Can’t abide Pointless...it’s so damn slow and the money on offer is pathetic. It also strikes me more of a show just for Osman to sit grinning and being oh so clever that the contestants.

Occasionally watch Tipping Point...mainly because I can get most of the answers and can laugh at the crazy folk that get the first answer and still play, despite the 90% likelihood of them getting zero out of the machine!

The Chase is OK but it’s far too rare that anyone wins so it’s kind of a bit annoying on that front.

Finally I used to quite like eggheads but no idea it’s still going...was just all a bit odd, not just the eggheads themselves but the quiz teams that came on always had some right weird folk [emoji23]

07-02-2021, 05:07 PM

Can’t abide Pointless...it’s so damn slow and the money on offer is pathetic. It also strikes me more of a show just for Osman to sit grinning and being oh so clever that the contestants.

Occasionally watch Tipping Point...mainly because I can get most of the answers and can laugh at the crazy folk that get the first answer and still play, despite the 90% likelihood of them getting zero out of the machine!

The Chase is OK but it’s far too rare that anyone wins so it’s kind of a bit annoying on that front.

Finally I used to quite like eggheads but no idea it’s still going...was just all a bit odd, not just the eggheads themselves but the quiz teams that came on always had some right weird folk [emoji23]
One of the eggheads died, I don’t know if that’s anything to do with it not being on anymore, it’s more likely to be covid related.

07-02-2021, 05:09 PM

That's why I love Only Connect as well. The teams are always brilliantly weird.

'United by a love of banana cultivars of the AAA group this is the Peelers'.

07-02-2021, 05:11 PM
One of the eggheads died, I don’t know if that’s anything to do with it not being on anymore, it’s more likely to be covid related.

Dave. Yet Daphne who must be about 160 by now is still going strong.

I'm sure CJ was questioned about murder after he claimed to have killed someone in his autobiography.

07-02-2021, 06:30 PM
I'm sure CJ was questioned about murder after he claimed to have killed someone in his autobiography.

You wouldn't be surprised to see him crop up in one of those "Britain's Most Evil Killers" type of programmes.

07-02-2021, 07:07 PM
Dave. Yet Daphne who must be about 160 by now is still going strong.

Aye I think it was in Amsterdam, something about pushing someone into a canal.

07-02-2021, 08:42 PM
The Chase for me although I do quite like Pointless.

08-02-2021, 07:36 PM
Only Connect had a Proclaimers answer tonight. Which nobody got on the show.

Also pronounced haver as havver as opposed to hayver. Never heard it pronounced havver before.

08-02-2021, 07:50 PM

Also pronounced haver as havver as opposed to hayver. Never heard it pronounced havver before....and the only Scot present didn't know how to pronounce it either.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

08-02-2021, 07:52 PM

Also pronounced haver as havver as opposed to hayver. Never heard it pronounced havver before.

The Scottish guy on the show, who's accent suggested centre/West, seemed to struggle with what it meant as well.

Is haver an East coast thing?

08-02-2021, 09:18 PM
The chase

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

09-02-2021, 05:40 PM
I always preferred pointless and don’t really know how I’ve managed to cross over to the chase! Maybe it’s the influence from other members of the house always watching the chase!

I agree with only connect comments though. It’s the only quiz show I make an effort to ensure I watch every week. And I also agree the pronunciation of “haver” was outrageous.

Recently started watching house of games as well. A bit different and a slower pace but a no bad watch while eating the tea!