View Full Version : League Cup Winning Squad ‘72
05-02-2021, 07:03 PM
This fantastic photograph was posted on an Edinburgh FB page. Colourised from the original by the Derek Binnie who had made a great job of this one.
https://i.postimg.cc/bJK1BPWn/126-B09-DE-DF69-4805-8-AAD-966040-DCB7-CC.jpg (https://postimg.cc/LY3qJcH4)
05-02-2021, 07:11 PM
I for one wish he hadn’t coloured this one, he has a tendency to colour everything and while some of it is remarkable, some of it is better left alone.
I have this photo in its frame, given to me by Alex Cropley on the night he shut his pub. It used to hang on the wall opposite the bar, one of very few football momentoes he displayed.
It was meant to be black and white in my opinion. Only my opinion mind.
05-02-2021, 07:13 PM
Wilson Humphreys never knew he was involved ps was at the game
05-02-2021, 07:16 PM
Wilson Humphreys never knew he was involved ps was at the game
He was a coach, no?
05-02-2021, 07:18 PM
He was a coach, no?
He was, as was John Fraser I think, who’s not in the photo, and no Tam McNiven either.
05-02-2021, 07:20 PM
Yeah but didn’t realise he was part of the cup winning team / also a total gentleman
05-02-2021, 07:20 PM
He was, as was John Fraser I think, who’s not in the photo, and no Tam McNiven either.
Tam is in the back row. Looking a lot younger than I remember him :greengrin
05-02-2021, 07:21 PM
Tam is in the photo
05-02-2021, 07:21 PM
So he is and I’ve stared at that photo for over 30 years!
05-02-2021, 07:22 PM
Tam is in the photo
Amazing what a bit of colour does.....
05-02-2021, 07:27 PM
Tam was a fantastic physio and a great personality until wee Bertie came in he had him a mini bus driver to reserve games all over the
Place mainly mid week
05-02-2021, 07:41 PM
Is that him between Crops and Edwards?
05-02-2021, 07:42 PM
Is that him between Crops and Edwards?
Aye!
05-02-2021, 07:47 PM
Looks as though it was taken in the NB after the game
You can see Wee Jimmy planning his escape and how he is gonna get doon to the Grassmarket and see his family 😃
Coach Jon
05-02-2021, 08:19 PM
He was a coach, no?
Best coach we ever had IMO.
I for one wish he hadn’t coloured this one, he has a tendency to colour everything and while some of it is remarkable, some of it is better left alone.
I have this photo in its frame, given to me by Alex Cropley on the night he shut his pub. It used to hang on the wall opposite the bar, one of very few football momentoes he displayed.
I have a black and white photo of the double cup winning team of 72 in the snow in front of the old main stand. All signed too!!
05-02-2021, 08:43 PM
Tam was a fantastic physio and a great personality until wee Bertie came in he had him a mini bus driver to reserve games all over the
Place mainly mid week
A story about Tam (I thought it was interesting anyway). Me and my pals used to bunk off and find out where they were training and get along there for a look, sometimes having to bike it to the Jack Kane. We would be about 12. And it was a fair route from EH6.
Tam would always have time for us and after telling us that Mickey was a genius and Shades was a bit less than that but fit as ****, he’d ask us how we played and if we ever got sore feet playing or training. Of course we moaned about something. “Cut yer toenails straight boys or you’ll suffer” was his advice as he got back to his work.
Ahead of his time. An absolute toff.
05-02-2021, 08:55 PM
i was just about to ask who on earth that was between crops and edwards ....now answered :) but there's two players i just can't seem to recognise:greengrin,
1. at the end next to pat stanton
2. between John Brownlie and Jim Herriot
maybe if i saw them in their strips i might recognise them ;)
i feel terrible now :(
05-02-2021, 08:55 PM
Dig Jim Herriot’s Beatle Boots ?
Cool! :greengrin
05-02-2021, 08:57 PM
i was just about to ask who on earth that was between crops and edwards ....now answered :) but there's two players i just can't seem to recognise:greengrin,
First one is Shades and you should feel terrible!
Second is Johnny Hamilton.
Both resting in peace.
05-02-2021, 08:58 PM
1 Erich Schaedler
2 Johnny Hamilton
05-02-2021, 09:00 PM
First one is Shades and you should feel terrible!
Second is Johnny Hamilton.
Both resting in peace.
flip ! ta, positive he had shorter hair, maybe that was when he had the pub :(
my mind it totally blank re johnny hamilton
05-02-2021, 09:02 PM
1 Erich Schaedler
2 Johnny Hamilton
05-02-2021, 09:07 PM
Hammy was a good player sold to the Hun went on to give them good service
05-02-2021, 09:13 PM
flip ! ta, positive he had shorter hair, maybe that was when he had the pub :(
my mind it totally blank re johnny hamilton
Here he is front centre, hope no one colours it in!
05-02-2021, 09:44 PM
Here he is front centre, hope no one colours it in!
muchas gracias, and i recognise erich in this photo...with his hair shorter :cb
05-02-2021, 09:50 PM
Absolutely scandalous the physical abuse Alex Edwards took. What a player he was.
05-02-2021, 10:23 PM
Jim Black was pretty short for a centre half. Maybe he us slouching?
I like the colour. It’s an iconic photo from my childhood.
green with envy
06-02-2021, 09:46 AM
Moving away slightly but this was my first ever Hibs game aged 10. The memory is still with me from the Friday night when my dad told me to get to bed, when I asked why so early his reply was your Uncle John is taking you to the cup final. I never looked back from that day on.
06-02-2021, 10:32 AM
I think the colouring brings the image alive and makes the players look younger.
I am 50, and can remember being at school and tormenting Hearts fans about 7-0 in first year, and the famous derby was only 10 years in the past but the Hearts fans would scoff “you’re not still going on about that game are you?”. The funny thing is that for me as a 12 year old back then the 7-0 game felt as long in the past as it does now! I think the black and white images from the time made it feel a lot older time wise. Hadn’t seen any colour images of the game until the VHS of the match started doing the rounds in the late 80’s.
Some of the colourising of old images don’t quite look right, but Derek Binnie does tend to make a good job of them and I really liked this one and thought it worth sharing. To own the copy you have given to you by Alex Cropley is a special piece of memorabilia indeed.
He was a coach, no?
I think he was assistant manager, he was formally Motherwell's manager, if my memory isn't playing tricks.
Hammy was a good player sold to the Hun went on to give them good service
His contract was up and wasn't renewed, joined Rangers on a free at the end of 72/3 season.
Niddrie looks half canned already.
06-02-2021, 12:04 PM
Thanks for the memories.
06-02-2021, 01:46 PM
I think the colouring brings the image alive and makes the players look younger.
I am 50, and can remember being at school and tormenting Hearts fans about 7-0 in first year, and the famous derby was only 10 years in the past but the Hearts fans would scoff “you’re not still going on about that game are you?”. The funny thing is that for me as a 12 year old back then the 7-0 game felt as long in the past as it does now! I think the black and white images from the time made it feel a lot older time wise. Hadn’t seen any colour images of the game until the VHS of the match started doing the rounds in the late 80’s.
Some of the colourising of old images don’t quite look right, but Derek Binnie does tend to make a good job of them and I really liked this one and thought it worth sharing. To own the copy you have given to you by Alex Cropley is a special piece of memorabilia indeed.
You’re right to share it and I’ve bought a couple of prints from him previously and he restored one of the few pics I have of my folks and my sister for me, but I just don’t fancy this one or some others I’ve seen him do across FB and Twitter where colour doesn’t belong, it’s over the top.
It’s only my opinion though, I can also see the attraction.
And I know it was the 70s, but I doubt very much the trousers were green to match the blazers...:greengrin