View Full Version : European qualifiers
bob12345
02-02-2021, 07:19 PM
Just a reminder that whoever comes 3rd in the league (assuming a team outwith the top 2 don’t win the Scottish Cup) will be 1 tie away from guaranteed group stage football (UEFA conference league) or 2 away from the group stage of the Europa league. Also if they lose the first tie they have one more crack of the whip. 4th place will have to get through 3 ties to get into the conference league.
It’s the best chance a non OF Scottish team has had in a long time. This weekend is a huge match!
Access list:
https://editorial.uefa.com/resources/0263-10c848fb43cc-49ac1262ab7c-1000/access_list_2021-22_final.pdf
02-02-2021, 07:21 PM
If the Scottish Cup is cancelled this season then finishing 3rd will be really important then
02-02-2021, 07:51 PM
Just a reminder that whoever comes 3rd in the league (assuming a team outwith the top 2 don’t win the Scottish Cup) will be 1 tie away from guaranteed group stage football (UEFA conference league) or 2 away from the group stage of the Europa league. Also if they lose the first tie they have one more crack of the whip. 4th place will have to get through 3 ties to get into the conference league.
It’s the best chance a non OF Scottish team has had in a long time. This weekend is a huge match!
Access list:
https://editorial.uefa.com/resources/0263-10c848fb43cc-49ac1262ab7c-1000/access_list_2021-22_final.pdf
It’s actually guaranteed group stage of the conference league or 1 tie away from the Europa league.
02-02-2021, 07:52 PM
another reason i don't really mind the old squirm doing well in European games, though neil lennons sellick have done their utmost this season to set us back a lot
davhibby
02-02-2021, 08:14 PM
Access list:
3rd place is going straight to the EL playoff so guaranteed group stage football no matter what
Magpie
02-02-2021, 08:16 PM
Would happily just see the Scottish Cup cancelled this season if we finish 3rd.
Hibs in Europe every week 😍 be gutted if fans are not allowed to travel which is probably likely.
How many teams will be in each group of the Conference League? Has that been announced yet?
02-02-2021, 08:26 PM
It’s actually guaranteed group stage of the conference league or 1 tie away from the Europa league.
Yeah that’s what I thought I had read. Big incentive.
02-02-2021, 08:28 PM
Would happily just see the Scottish Cup cancelled this season if we finish 3rd.
Hibs in Europe every week 😍 be gutted if fans are not allowed to travel which is probably likely.
How many teams will be in each group of the Conference League? Has that been announced yet?
What countries are likely to have teams competing in the conference league?
Did I read somewhere when it was being announced that Scotland would be the highest ranked country in that competition? If that’s the case presumably the Scottish representative should have a chance of winning it?
hibee1875
02-02-2021, 08:31 PM
Did I read somewhere when it was being announced that Scotland would be the highest ranked country in that competition? If that’s the case presumably the Scottish representative should have a chance of winning it?
With teams dropping in from the europa I think it will still end up with relatively big teams in the knock out rounds
02-02-2021, 08:34 PM
With teams dropping in from the europa I think it will still end up with relatively big teams in the knock out rounds
Ah right, that’s a shame.
I thought it was just the wee diddy countries that were in the Europa qualifiers so teams dropping down to the conference would still be from small countries.
hibee1875
02-02-2021, 08:36 PM
Will be interesting to see the make up mind you, potentially a lot of long trips to Eastern Europe
Wakeyhibee
02-02-2021, 08:40 PM
Top Countries get 1 place Spain, England etc, next set get 2, lower countries including some decent ones get 3 (but no EL place). Its on the wikipedia co-efficient page
But like said bigger teams will also drop down from EL to ECL
02-02-2021, 08:41 PM
Would it actually benefit us more in terms of progressing in Europe if we finished 3rd rather than 2nd?
Wakeyhibee
02-02-2021, 08:43 PM
Would it actually benefit us more in terms of progressing in Europe if we finished 3rd rather than 2nd?
Think 3rd is better sadly. 2nd gets CL R2 qualifying with no safety net.
bob12345
02-02-2021, 09:03 PM
If you look at the link in the OP I’m sure it says Scottish Cup winner to enter at qualifying round 3.
02-02-2021, 09:15 PM
If you look at the link in the OP I’m sure it says Scottish Cup winner to enter at qualifying round 3.
Was confirmed last week that Scotland have received the conference league winners spot in the Europa league play off.
mayo hibee
02-02-2021, 09:17 PM
Yes, but if the cup winner is Celtic or Sevco, which it usually is, or if it doesn't take place at all, the automatic group stage place is reallocated to the third placed team.
02-02-2021, 09:23 PM
Think 3rd is better sadly. 2nd gets CL R2 qualifying with no safety net.
Is this really the case? Insane way to organise it if true
davhibby
02-02-2021, 09:29 PM
Is this really the case? Insane way to organise it if true
It’s not, whilst you could end up out of Europe before the group stage, you’d have to lose 3 ties of decreasing difficulty to get to that point. If you manage to sneak a result in the first CL round you’d be in the EL groups minimum
02-02-2021, 09:31 PM
For the hard of thinking... Mainly me 😁
If we finish 3rd what are we most likely getting?
How much are the group stages worth for whatever competition we would most likely to be in?
02-02-2021, 09:36 PM
For the hard of thinking... Mainly me 😁
If we finish 3rd what are we most likely getting?
How much are the group stages worth for whatever competition we would most likely to be in?
If we finish 3rd, and one of the OF sides (or us) win the Scottish (very likely), or the Scottish doesn’t get played (again, likely), then we would join Europe in the play off round of the Europa League. One tie away from the groups, which are fairly lucrative but made more so by winning games within them.
If we lose the play off game, we would drop down into the conference league groups. As it’s new I have no idea how lucrative that would be, but if imagine it would certainly be worth our while, and hopefully give us fans some decent trips come October/November.
02-02-2021, 09:48 PM
If we finish 3rd, and one of the OF sides (or us) win the Scottish (very likely), or the Scottish doesn’t get played (again, likely), then we would join Europe in the play off round of the Europa League. One tie away from the groups, which are fairly lucrative but made more so by winning games within them.
If we lose the play off game, we would drop down into the conference league groups. As it’s new I have no idea how lucrative that would be, but if imagine it would certainly be worth our while, and hopefully give us fans some decent trips come October/November.
Fantastic thank you got it now.
02-02-2021, 09:50 PM
You would think that with it being a new competition they’ll throw decent money at it so clubs take it seriously.
03-02-2021, 06:34 AM
So is the Europa Conference League going to have teams from decent countries in the groups? For example, could you potentially see a draw against a Spanish team and end up going to somewhere like Seville to see us play Betis or Florence to play Fiorentina? Or is it more likely to be Serbia to play a Serbian team etc?
Green Man
03-02-2021, 06:48 AM
One team from each of the five highest ranked countries goes in at the playoff round.
03-02-2021, 06:55 AM
So is the Europa Conference League going to have teams from decent countries in the groups? For example, could you potentially see a draw against a Spanish team and end up going to somewhere like Seville to see us play Betis or Florence to play Fiorentina? Or is it more likely to be Serbia to play a Serbian team etc?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2021%E2%80%9322_UEFA_Europa_Conference_League
Countries in there bud
seanshow
03-02-2021, 07:03 AM
I honestly had no idea we now had three european tournaments.
revolutionary idea... . these guys at uefa really are forward thinking visionaries. :greengrin
I
Crunchie
03-02-2021, 07:14 AM
I honestly had no idea we now had three european tournaments.
revolutionary idea... . these guys at uefa really are forward thinking visionaries. :greengrin
I
The European tournaments are a joke now and there purely to make money for the big wigs at UEFA, and the bigger clubs.
I think Liverpool were 4th in the League one year they won it.