View Full Version : Leigh

30-01-2021, 04:33 PM
Just been thrown under the bus again. We should move heaven and earth to bring him in, even on loan. He’s wasted there and still has lots to offer.

30-01-2021, 04:34 PM
Just been thrown under the bus again. We should move heaven and earth to bring him in, even on loan. He’s wasted there and still has lots to offer.
What was said?

30-01-2021, 04:34 PM

By Lennon? What did he say?

30-01-2021, 04:35 PM
What was said?

He was a player picked out by Lennon for not contributing and when asked if he’d been let down NL agreed with the interviewer.

speedy_gonzales
30-01-2021, 04:36 PM
By Lennon? What did he say?

Heavily paraphrasing, but he (Leigh) has personal reasons as to why he might not be performing to the best of his abilities.

30-01-2021, 04:36 PM
He was a player picked out by Lennon for not contributing and when asked if he’d let the manager down NL agreed with the interviewer.

Why would Hibs want a player who’s downed tools on quite a few occasions

Mikey_1875
30-01-2021, 04:37 PM
Think Griff will be confident enough he will outlast Lennon at the club.

I couldn’t see that issue arising here.

He also has the best minutes per goal ratio for Celtic in the league this season .

Imagine McGregor Irvine and leigh what a spine

30-01-2021, 04:47 PM
Lennon did similar pre-match, talking about his fitness levels.

30-01-2021, 04:49 PM

And yet he picks him. It’s like someone’s cat has walked over a laptop keyboard whilst Football Manager is on.

30-01-2021, 04:50 PM

Yet he still started him today

30-01-2021, 04:51 PM

Is it not up to Lennon to make sure he's fit? Why play him if he isn't?

30-01-2021, 04:51 PM

Has he?

Would be great box office for Hibs I think when STs are looking like a challenge. I’d add a fiver on my monthly HSL as well.

Rumble de Thump
30-01-2021, 04:55 PM
Unless Griffifths scored two own goals I would think there are other players more to blame for Celtic's defeat today. Celtic have been a disaster this season.

Helensburghhibs
30-01-2021, 04:57 PM
Lennon used him as a scapegoat because the interviewer was questioning his dud signings. Instead of answering the question regarding signings he picked out leigh and used him as an example of a player who is letting him down. Take him back in a heartbeat

30-01-2021, 04:57 PM
Time for the wee man to come home to where he'll feel wanted.

Bridge hibs
30-01-2021, 04:58 PM
Yet he still started him todayDid he have a choice though ? His other Strikers havent exactly been banging them in, is the West Ham Striker permanent or is he on loan with an option to buy ?

30-01-2021, 04:59 PM
We just cant afford him. He would need to take a massive paycut to get anywhere near Easter Road

30-01-2021, 05:00 PM
Did he have a choice though ? His other Strikers havent exactly been banging them in, is the West Ham Striker permanent or is he on loan with an option to buy ?

Precisely, the strikers he’s spent good money on have been pish but rather than blame them and in turn his recruitment, it’s Leigh who gets it. It’s pathetic.

30-01-2021, 05:00 PM
Has he?

Would be great box office for Hibs I think when STs are looking like a challenge. I’d add a fiver on my monthly HSL as well.

Iggy, I think Leigh has said himself he’s let Celtic/Lennon down this season

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.glasgowlive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/leigh-griffiths-makes-celtic-disgrace-19600078.amp

30-01-2021, 05:07 PM
I didn’t think he particularly slaughtered him. Was the interviewer that asked about taking him off and he said he hadn’t contributed enough. Nothing earth shattering I didn’t think .

30-01-2021, 05:09 PM
Iggy, I think Leigh has said himself he’s let Celtic/Lennon down this season

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.glasgowlive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/leigh-griffiths-makes-celtic-disgrace-19600078.amp

Downing tools though? Something different to my mind.

30-01-2021, 05:14 PM
It's like the end of Lennon's time with is all over again.

Has a pop at a player before the game, plays him then singles him out again after the game. It will be somebody else who gets it next week.

I wouldn't normally care about Celtic but having LG fit, focused and happy would be huge for Scotland this summer. Sooner he's out of that environment the better. I suspect the 'environment' may be removed before he is though.

30-01-2021, 05:16 PM
I didn’t think he particularly slaughtered him. Was the interviewer that asked about taking him off and he said he hadn’t contributed enough. Nothing earth shattering I didn’t think .

The interviewer did ask about taking him off, but I heard the he hadn’t contributed enough in the context of the season, not just today. Of course, it may be accurate 'irregardless' of the time context.

n.b. I do not claim rights to Irregardless. New Hibs.net word from today's match thread. :greengrin

30-01-2021, 05:17 PM
Downing tools though? Something different to my mind.

The Griffiths of 3/4 years ago, I’d take in a heartbeat
Something not right with him, would love to see him get it back though

30-01-2021, 05:17 PM
Lennon is a particular unlucky manager with all these disruptive players to manage. First Kamberi, and now Griffiths....

30-01-2021, 05:19 PM

The question was around his recruitment and why he never put any of his huge money strikers on in his place, lennon to save his own face then turns it into a criticism of Griffiths when there was no need. Same before the game bringing up what’s happened previously and saying he hasn’t looked after himself enough when all he was asked was how happy he was to have him back regularly and scoring goals.

30-01-2021, 05:20 PM
The Griffiths of 3/4 years ago, I’d take in a heartbeat
Something not right with him, would love to see him get it back though

Still a goal scorer though. Might have his failings personally but not seen him stop trying when on the park, unlike his big money partners.

30-01-2021, 05:24 PM
The interviewer did ask about taking him off, but I heard the he hadn’t contributed enough in the context of the season, not just today. Of course, it may be accurate 'irregardless' of the time context.

n.b. I do not claim rights to Irregardless. New Hibs.net word from today's match thread. :greengrin

Aye I think it was in regards to the season, but I think it was just on the back of the interviewer referencing Griffiths and questioning the new signings. He then just said it wasn’t just the new signings hadn’t done enough and mentioned Griffiths as he’d formed part of the question. I didn’t think it was really that bad to be fair. Or in accurate. But amusing that they’re pish, nonetheless.

Magpie
30-01-2021, 05:28 PM
6 goals in 661 minutes for Celtic this season (also came off the bench to score in the Cup final which isn’t included in those minutes). He’s a natural goalscorer and has been one of if not the best at that in this league for the last decade. Would take him back in a heartbeat.

30-01-2021, 05:30 PM

Exactly. How is he suddenly going to start putting some effort in for Hibs is he can't be bothered doing it for Celtic and when there's a place in the Euros squad up for grabs.

That ship has sailed long ago.

30-01-2021, 05:32 PM
Aye I think it was in regards to the season, but I think it was just on the back of the interviewer referencing Griffiths and questioning the new signings. He then just said it wasn’t just the new signings hadn’t done enough and mentioned Griffiths as he’d formed part of the question. I didn’t think it was really that bad to be fair. Or in accurate. But amusing that they’re pish, nonetheless.

Seconds before that the interviewer picked Duffy and Klimala as signings who hadn't been good enough and Lennon replied "Well that's your opinion" - fair enough, defends the players without having to stick up too much for them. He could leave it there with a similar tact but then names Griffiths up front - doesn't need to do that and in the context of the overall interview it's a bit of a shocker.

30-01-2021, 05:34 PM
Exactly. How is he suddenly going to start putting some effort in for Hibs is he can't be bothered doing it for Celtic and when there's a place in the Euros squad up for grabs.

As I've said before in this thread, his goals per minute in the league are the best of anyone in the squad. I don't believe he's not putting any effort in as he's scoring goals well.

30-01-2021, 05:35 PM
Throwing LG under the bus in front of his signings. Pathetic stuff.

Come home Leigh

30-01-2021, 07:26 PM
Seconds before that the interviewer picked Duffy and Klimala as signings who hadn't been good enough and Lennon replied "Well that's your opinion" - fair enough, defends the players without having to stick up too much for them. He could leave it there with a similar tact but then names Griffiths up front - doesn't need to do that and in the context of the overall interview it's a bit of a shocker.

Isn't Duffy the one who said he could score for fun up here when he first arrived - obviously takes after his namesake Jim

Davy Mac
30-01-2021, 07:29 PM
Yes please, let's get Griffiths and Scott Brown back at the Hibees.

Two talisman, brilliant.

30-01-2021, 07:33 PM
Isn't Duffy the one who said he could score for fun up here when he first arrived - obviously takes after his namesake Jim

I think it was the Rep Ireland coach who said that coming up to Scotland was the wrong decision as he wouldn't get tested enough and basically it would be a stroll in the park for him. Turns out the guys a complete donkey. 😆

30-01-2021, 07:37 PM
If we sell Nisbet, bring Griffiths home.

30-01-2021, 07:52 PM
it's not just neil lennon getting it tight on that kerrydale street, though they do have a point about sparky in regards to turning up rather overweight at the start of season

30-01-2021, 08:02 PM
Yes please, let's get Griffiths and Scott Brown back at the Hibees.

Two talisman, brilliant.

These 2 would add serious character / bite and quality if we got them.

I think LG could easily still plenty of goals. Browns legs have nearly gone but would definitely bring experience and leadership.

My old man
30-01-2021, 08:39 PM
Just been on the Kerrydale site about Leigh
They really really don’t like him
Paraphrasing here “ send him back thru to fn Edinburgh etc

Wish I could post the photos I took Ach well fudbook it is

30-01-2021, 09:11 PM
:hyper

30-01-2021, 09:13 PM
Bring him home

He’s a boy

He is only a boy

30-01-2021, 09:15 PM

30-01-2021, 10:07 PM
Even if we could afford him - which is frankly highly dubious....I’m not sure about Griffiths tbh. He’s not been disciplined enough to keep himself fit and ready for Celtic - what chance he would be the right behaviour and dressing room influence back at us ??

Nitten
30-01-2021, 10:24 PM

Agree totally. Professional with a small p. First and foremost LG must look in the mirror, paid good wages I imagine, in a team challenging for 10 in a row and he apparently can’t get himself fit? Why would we want a player with that attitude at our club? LG of old would be an asset, in his current state a liability....no thank you.

30-01-2021, 10:41 PM
It would certainly create a bit of excitement but I honestly can’t see JR taking a gamble on Griffiths.

30-01-2021, 10:45 PM
It would certainly create a bit of excitement but I honestly can’t see JR taking a gamble on Griffiths.

Ross would need his head tested if he had the chance to take Griffiths and said no. More likely is that Griffiths wouldn’t take the wage cut.

30-01-2021, 10:48 PM
Lennon is a prick ,obviously has been told his time is up .
Totally belittled LG and his keeper.

Regardless of LG's lifestyle, he's consistently pulled that welt of out of a hole .

Was neither here or there regarding Lennon, he's now confirmed his prick status
Cheerio Dinosaur.

30-01-2021, 10:51 PM
Agree totally. Professional with a small p. First and foremost LG must look in the mirror, paid good wages I imagine, in a team challenging for 10 in a row and he apparently can’t get himself fit? Why would we want a player with that attitude at our club? LG of old would be an asset, in his current state a liability....no thank you.

...and yet Lennon picked him today.

30-01-2021, 10:53 PM
Told tonight that Lennon and Sparky had a big rammy at half time and Duffy separated them. Sparky raging, hooked and left the stadium not watching the rest of the game. No idea if true but from a decent source.

30-01-2021, 10:53 PM

And hooked him at half time.....

30-01-2021, 10:58 PM

And hooked him at half time.....

Lennon’s at the ‘any port in a storm’ stage. He’s not got a clue how to get them back on track.

KingPat4
30-01-2021, 11:00 PM
The only place left for LG to make a mark now is back at ER. I would drive him here myself to sign on. (I no longer have a driving license).

I don't want to knock Lennon, he's had to put up with so many things in his life, I'm not surprised he's been driven half daft, Celtic - a pathetic excuse for a football club - should have put him out of his misery, weeks ago.

There must be people on here who know LG? Any info?

He has made money in the game, assuming it has been wisely looked after, it's time to come home, where the love is unconditional.

30-01-2021, 11:11 PM
Celtic fans have a bloody cheek tearing into leigh, short memories that lot have given the amount of goals he's scored for them.
Anyway, we haven't, so get back home and smash them in for us again.
Maybe, and I don't know the laddie, but maybe his attitude is shot having had lennon tear into him at training etc...I get the feeling leigh is one of these players that needs an arm around the shoulder.

30-01-2021, 11:11 PM
Told tonight that Lennon and Sparky had a big rammy at half time and Duffy separated them. Sparky raging, hooked and left the stadium not watching the rest of the game. No idea if true but from a decent source.

The only thing Duffy has intercepted since he signed!

31-01-2021, 03:18 AM

Duffy is an absolute bomb-scare (the second goal was comical today) and you have to wonder if there is some clause in the loan contract that insists he must play if fit. He once got man of the match for the opposing team after he scored 2 og's and was sent off. Fingers crossed he plays every game until the end of the season 🙂

Charlie123
31-01-2021, 03:33 AM

Would agree on this, wasted through in Glasgow. If nisbet goes, makes this our number 1 target to replace.

31-01-2021, 04:48 AM

Firm agree

31-01-2021, 04:49 AM

Indeed.

31-01-2021, 04:59 AM
Indeed.

Here mate, my house for a Superbowl party? 😁

31-01-2021, 05:12 AM
Here mate, my house for a Superbowl party? 😁

I'm on my way mate, hopefully it's warmer and without 15 inches of ****ing snow

31-01-2021, 05:34 AM
I'm on my way mate, hopefully it's warmer and without 15 inches of ****ing snow
Beautiful here today - 22C here though it's a little cooler for the next few days. Only meant to be 13C on Superbowl Sunday right enough which sucks - all be standing round the BBQ trying to keep warm :greengrin

31-01-2021, 06:23 AM
How long is left on his Celtic contract? I’ll guess he’s on somewhere around 10-15K a week at Celtic, he’ll be going nowhere until that contract is over unless a team is happy to either pay his wages in full or a fair %, if you think he’s coming here to pick up 3k a week or that Celtic would let us loan him at that level you’reliving in cloud cookoo land. Only chance would be Celtic paying up his contract and can’t see that happening either.

31-01-2021, 08:05 AM
Lennon is a particular unlucky manager with all these disruptive players to manage. First Kamberi, and now Griffiths....

F*** Kamberi.

come home Leigh.

31-01-2021, 08:39 AM
Has a contract till end of 21/22 and on £15k a week. No way will he leave without a big payout.

https://www.sportingfree.com/football/celtic-fc-players-salaries/