View Full Version : Players who deserve more recognition
beensaidbefore
29-01-2021, 09:34 PM
After reading the 'which two moments' thread I watched the highlights of the Skol Cup Final. This led me onto the wiki pages of various ex players.
I was surprised to read Alan Sneddon played over 300 games for us and got a testimonial. I remeber him when I was young but can't remeber him playing that much for us. Pat Mcginlay over 350 games. These guys hardly get a mention on here. Got me thinking there must be a few others who served us well who we don't really talk about.
A lot of the Alex Miller palyers could fall into that category but due to the way his style of football is remembered the Willie Miller and Graham Mitchell type players maybe don't get the credit they deserve for serving the club like they did.
What players do you think need to be given a bit more recognition for what they gave to the club?
30-01-2021, 07:15 AM
Mickey Weir, Gareth Evans etc spring to mind.
30-01-2021, 07:55 AM
Liam Fontaine. Always thought he was a good player. When he came back to ER with Ross County it all went a bit unnoticed in comparison to the reception the likes of Marv got.
30-01-2021, 08:26 AM
Boozy for me, always seems to be the player when you talk of the golden generation team that people go “oh aye, I forgot about him”. He’s goal in the 2-0 unbeatables derby was a quality finish.
30-01-2021, 08:33 AM
After reading the 'which two moments' thread I watched the highlights of the Skol Cup Final. This led me onto the wiki pages of various ex players.
I was surprised to read Alan Sneddon played over 300 games for us and got a testimonial. I remeber him when I was young but can't remeber him playing that much for us. Pat Mcginlay over 350 games. These guys hardly get a mention on here. Got me thinking there must be a few others who served us well who we don't really talk about.
A lot of the Alex Miller palyers could fall into that category but due to the way his style of football is remembered the Willie Miller and Graham Mitchell type players maybe don't get the credit they deserve for serving the club like they did.
What players do you think need to be given a bit more recognition for what they gave to the club?The players mentioned were with us so long that those born before the mid 70s will easily remember them.
Pre-bosman there was far less movement of players and far fewer foreign players in Scotland. In a normal league match, supporters could recognise the majority (and often all) of the players from other teams without the need for names on shirts.
As for the question, I'd go for Jackie Mcnamara. He wasn't a tornado and left before Alex Miller arrived but was a huge player for us in what could be described as our wilderness years.
30-01-2021, 08:49 AM
Arthur Duncan must have contributed something to the club to have played over 400 games, but he's not often mentioned when people are discussing favourite games, and the like.
I sometimes wonder if our view of him is coloured a bit because he was still playing during our early 80s wilderness years.
30-01-2021, 08:55 AM
Arthur Duncan must have contributed something to the club to have played over 400 games, but he's not often mentioned when people are discussing favourite games, and the like.
I sometimes wonder if our view of him is coloured a bit because he was still playing during our early 80s wilderness years.Pretty much in the same boat as McNamara for me (I was too young to remember much about the early 70s), although he was a bit okder/earlier.
sauzee=legend
30-01-2021, 08:55 AM
Paul Fenwick and Gary Smith in the 352 season under Judas.
30-01-2021, 09:05 AM
Pretty much in the same boat as McNamara for me (I was too young to remember much about the early 70s), although he was a bit okder/earlier.
Yeah, McNamara's a good shout as well.
The problem was we always had a half decent team (including Jackie Mac)... but the other half were usually pretty useless.
30-01-2021, 09:30 AM
Pretty much in the same boat as McNamara for me (I was too young to remember much about the early 70s), although he was a bit okder/earlier.
He was magic
30-01-2021, 09:49 AM
He was magicI started going regularly when we were in the 1st division under Bertie Auld. It's safe to say that Arthur was past his best by then and often got a bit of stick from the terracing, although it was pretty mild and even affectionate.
30-01-2021, 09:54 AM
Would want to see a continuity in the formation so would stick with 3-5-2. Would be harsh on Daz but would go with our regular defensive three in the hope they have ‘learned a lesson’.
As for midfield I would go with Gogic, Irvine and if Scotty thinks he can bump his minutes up to 45-60 then then get him in from the start and lets see if he can unlock what could be a stubborn defence after shipping 5 last time. We have good options for replacements in Newell, Magennis and Hallberg so if he can manage it then from the start pleaseAh, memories....
Mikey_1875
30-01-2021, 09:55 AM
Ah, memories....
Whoops 😂
beensaidbefore
30-01-2021, 10:06 AM
Some good shouts. Had forgotten about Fenwick and Smith too. They were a pretty solid pairing at a time when we had lots of other players getting the plaudits and headlines.
beensaidbefore
30-01-2021, 10:09 AM
The players mentioned were with us so long that those born before the mid 70s will easily remember them.
Pre-bosman there was far less movement of players and far fewer foreign players in Scotland. In a normal league match, supporters could recognise the majority (and often all) of the players from other teams without the need for names on shirts.
As for the question, I'd go for Jackie Mcnamara. He wasn't a tornado and left before Alex Miller arrived but was a huge player for us in what could be described as our wilderness years.
Exactly the kind of player I was meaning. Didn't realise he played over 250 times for us! Good shout
30-01-2021, 10:11 AM
Guys like Derek Collins, Paul Lovering and Justin Skinner done a job getting us out of the 1st division and helped us consolidate our place back in the Premier League. Tbf Skinner always get's a bit of praise. Everyone remembers Mixu, Latapy and Sauzee but guys like the above were brought in to do a job and they got it done.
I'd add Shaun Dennis and Michael Renwick to that list for their contributions in the adventure season.
30-01-2021, 10:24 AM
Gary Smith a good example. Solid servant and played a good number of games for us. Signed by McLeish and was still a starter under Mowbray.
30-01-2021, 10:28 AM
Shaun Dennis. Was immense before his bad injury
30-01-2021, 10:34 AM
I sometimes wonder if our view of him is coloured a bit because he was still playing during our early 80s wilderness years.Good shout, Arthur was a brilliant winger, entertainer and goalscorer, a pivotal member of the tornadoes, we used to say "Nijinsky" must have been a nightmare to defend against because he never knew what he was going to do next himself.
We've not had a winger like him since in my view and I've seen a few good ones at Hibs.
30-01-2021, 10:37 AM
Gordon Rae, solid and straightforward centre half. Career pretty much spanned what someone else has described as the wilderness years
30-01-2021, 10:45 AM
Gordon Rae, solid and straightforward centre half. Career pretty much spanned what someone else has described as the wilderness years
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkGood shout. Another that would have ran through walls for the team. I was disappointed when we let him go to Partick Thistle as I always thought he'd have been good to have around. He started off as a CF and was our top scorer one season with something like 8 goals.
Those were the days!
30-01-2021, 10:50 AM
Good shout. Another that would have ran through walls for the team. I was disappointed when we let him go to Partick Thistle as I always thought he'd have been good to have around. He started off as a CF and was our top scorer one season with something like 8 goals.
Those were the days!Gordon was the sort of player we could do with right now, I think he was well regarded by fans at the time. Was always a fan of his.
30-01-2021, 11:23 AM
[QUOTE=Radium;6443325]Gordon Rae, solid and straightforward centre half. Career pretty much spanned what someone else has described as the wilderness years
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE
Was at a player of the year evening at an hotel on the North Bridge when he won our supporters group (Dean Hotel-Learmonth Crescent) POY and we got him on our table. After getting presented with his trophy (a large SC style cup) he filled it with 4 bottles of the best champagne on the menu and passed it round the table. Unfortunately there were eight of us and by the time it got to me it was frigging empty. Still it was a good night with Happy Howden on stage but turned into a wild west saloon fight when one of the guests (invited by a supporter) got up and slagged off Happy for having a very un-PC act (regarding women) and he got leapt on and about half the guests joined in including some from our table. Mr Rae, Happy Howden and I stayed at the table watching this unscheduled cabaret and he was laughing his socks off. When all had calmed down and folk started to leave he told us he hadn't had so much fun in ages. Very good player and top man.
30-01-2021, 11:43 AM
Graeme Mitchell was one of Miller’s shrewdest signings. He came from Hamilton, where he had captained the side. He served us well, at left back and as sweeper beside Gordon Hunter ( a player who knew what being a solid centre half was all about) .
Mitchell had a sweet left foot, he could defend and he could certainly play a bit. His weakness was that he lacked a bit of pace, otherwise he could have played at a higher level than Hibs. As it was, we got many years of fine service from an absolute stalwart.
30-01-2021, 11:51 AM
Ally McLeod. What a player and my hero as a youngster. Someone said above about Jackie Mac that he played in teams that were almost decent. Well Ally was the same, 99 goals I think I'm mostly struggling Hibs teams. Would have been great to watch in a good side
Potty78
30-01-2021, 11:58 AM
From going to my first game in 86, I always liked Eddie May, George mccluskey briefly as I think he was coming towards the end of his career. Mid 90s Danny Lennon and I agree about Fenwick and Smith!
30-01-2021, 12:13 PM
Claros was really good during the 12/13 season.
Tommy75
30-01-2021, 12:19 PM
Paul Fenwick and Gary Smith in the 352 season under Judas.
Agree. Also thought John O'Neil was different class in that team.
fiolex1
30-01-2021, 12:34 PM
Willie Miller a no nonsense player, and played for the jersey. Played 244 times for the club
30-01-2021, 01:35 PM
Shaun Dennis. Was immense before his bad injury
Seriously
30-01-2021, 04:25 PM
I always thought Neil Orr was a good player, but he didn't play in a particularly good Hibs side, maybe that's why he does'nt really get much of a mention these days.
30-01-2021, 04:30 PM
Kenny Davidson better than Marinello for a few games then just evaporated dont remember what happened to him, butover a few European games he was immense on the wing.
Really two many players to mention, what about Alec Pringle, played amazing as Blackleys stand in against the hun at hampdump, always liked Johnny Graham as well.
30-01-2021, 04:32 PM
Tommy McIntyre
30-01-2021, 04:37 PM
kenny Davidson better than Marinello for a few games then just evaporated dont remember what happened to him, butover a few European games he was immense on the wing.
Really two many players to mention, what about Alec Pringle, played amazing as Blackleys stand in against the hun at hampdump, always liked Johnny Graham as well.
Bad leg break, whilst playing for the reserves, pretty much did for him. Ended up at Meadowbank.
30-01-2021, 04:40 PM
Bad leg break, whilst playing for the reserves, pretty much did for him. Ended up at Meadowbank.
Cheers Iggy,
he was a bit special when he first broke through I am sure he played in a European game and the other team could not believe just how good he was. shame I could not remember but a lot of strong drink was downed in them days.
31-01-2021, 06:58 PM
Looking back some of the Tornadoes bench warmers were decent:
Johnny Hamilton
John Hazel
Bobby Smith
Iain Munro
Des Bremner
Tony Higgins
31-01-2021, 08:17 PM
Cheers Iggy,
he was a bit special when he first broke through I am sure he played in a European game and the other team could not believe just how good he was. shame I could not remember but a lot of strong drink was downed in them days.
Played against Liverpool in 1970/71 but just a wee bit outside my vintage. Bound to be others here that will recall it.
31-01-2021, 08:21 PM
Looking back some of the Tornadoes bench warmers were decent:
Johnny Hamilton
John Hazel
Bobby Smith
Iain Munro
Des Bremner
Tony Higgins
Decent indeed,there's a European cup winner in there!
31-01-2021, 09:16 PM
Cheers Iggy,
Played against Liverpool in 1970/71 but just a wee bit outside my vintage. Bound to be others here that will recall it.
Kenny Davidson played against Liverpool in1970. His first game was also a European game away to Malmoe when we went there with a six goal lead from the first leg. I've a feeling that Bobby Duncan also played in Malmoe-his first game after his leg break.
killie-hibby
31-01-2021, 09:56 PM
Stan Vincent, signed from Falkirk in the early sixties. Hard as nails centre forward, who literally, would have run through a brick wall for Hibs. Was with us for two or three seasons and did some youth coaching for us after his playing days.
zitelli62
31-01-2021, 10:59 PM
Lewis Stevenson always split the fans only recently we all agree how good he was, but John o'Neill for me great player as every player in that team would vouch for.
01-02-2021, 01:06 AM
Ironically your username. Love the man.
DetroitHibs
01-02-2021, 03:37 AM
I didn't think Chris Hogg got enough credit. Was always solid and reliable, decent captain too.
Crunchie
01-02-2021, 04:40 AM
What players do you think need to be given a bit more recognition for what they gave to the club?
I was at Cyclops testimonial although I cannot remember a thing about it. He won 2 Championship medals in 1981 with Hibs and Celtic.
Solid right back who always gave 100% and one who would undoubtedly come into the Stevenson category and split the support.
Joe Tortolano was very underrated for me, great servant to the club and came in for some brutal abuse from the terraces, can't imagine the daily abuse he'd get on here.
Lust like Sneddon though he always gave 100%.
01-02-2021, 04:54 AM
Decent indeed,there's a European cup winner in there!
:cup:
01-02-2021, 06:02 AM
Darren Jackson.
I mean, he got plenty of recognition, but for a year or two he was absolutely outstanding for us and imo one of the best players in the country.
One of my favourite players of all time and really carried us at times.
Septimus
01-02-2021, 07:16 AM
Apart from the great Tommy Younger who was my boyhood hero I rated Joe McBride (the elder) as one of Hibs great players. He scored 44 times for Hibs and it was a standing joke in our house when I got home after a match for my wife to say "And how many did the lovely Joe McBride score today?"
01-02-2021, 07:21 AM
Stevie mallan lol good player on his day
The Baldmans Comb
01-02-2021, 07:23 AM
As previously mentioned Graham Mitchell held down the left back position for around 10 years and well over 250 appeareances.
Absolutely rock solid, very few bad games and was a member of Alex Millers league cup winning team.
Barely mentioned as one of Millers best ever signings.
Gary Smith at centre half would be another very unsung player who gave 6/7 years of exemplary service.
hibstag
01-02-2021, 09:11 AM
Liam Fontaine. Always thought he was a good player. When he came back to ER with Ross County it all went a bit unnoticed in comparison to the reception the likes of Marv got.
Aye he came over for a sneaky wee clap of the away support up at Victoria park in his first appearance against us (a 1-1 draw in 2018)
A very underrated player in terms of what he offered us.
beensaidbefore
01-02-2021, 05:49 PM
Some good shouts, John O'Neil, forgot about him. Part of a great Hibs team. Probably my favourite time supporting Hibs.
Fontaine was a nice guy. Not so sure about his singing though!
Loved Jackson too, still irks me he played for the jambos though! Was he not a poster boy for excile?
Hibiza
01-02-2021, 06:16 PM
Willie Miller .
01-02-2021, 06:16 PM
‘The Hibs are Here 90s Hibs’ account has been posting goals on Twitter. Darren Jackson’s goals are absolutely brilliant. If Nisbet is worth £2.6m then we’d be looking for no less than £5m for Jackson if he was playing for us now.
Hibiza
01-02-2021, 06:24 PM
Just for sentiment , Ally " Benny " Brazil.
Hibiza
01-02-2021, 06:29 PM
Forgive me can't remember this fellas name , apologies , tall dude , German , holding midfielder.
01-02-2021, 06:30 PM
Forgive me can't remember this fellas name , apologies , tall dude , German , holding midfielder.Did he play the Matty Jack role?
Hibiza
01-02-2021, 06:37 PM
Did he play the Matty Jack role?
Matty Jack : cheers sur