View Full Version : Jason Cummings

28-01-2021, 05:08 PM
Signed an 18 month deal with Dundee apparently.

https://twitter.com/dundeefc/status/1354849339399692289?s=21

28-01-2021, 05:09 PM
Very good signing for them.

We must have some striker lined up to come in before we let Brophy and Cummings sign for other teams.

28-01-2021, 05:11 PM
Good luck to him, hope he does well.

28-01-2021, 05:15 PM

We must have some striker lined up to come in before we let Brophy and Cummings sign for other teams.

They’ve signed for St Mirren and Dundee respectively.

28-01-2021, 05:18 PM
That’s an outstanding signing for Dundee.

28-01-2021, 05:20 PM
They’ve signed for St Mirren and Dundee respectively.

Aye, and both would have been very good options to compete with Nisbet and Doidge.

Cummings is different to both and has the ability to win a game out of nothing. Also the confidence, composure and swagger to do it in big games.

28-01-2021, 05:21 PM

or neither are anywhere near good enough

28-01-2021, 05:23 PM
The Jambos won't be pleased to see him again.

SiinDubai
28-01-2021, 05:25 PM
Good luck to him, hopefully get his career back on track.

28-01-2021, 05:28 PM
Expect him to do well - hopefully get his mojo back

28-01-2021, 05:37 PM
Played well in the Championship for us.
Hope he can get his heid down, work hard and do it again

Gaffer1875
28-01-2021, 05:37 PM
Likeable guy but has wasted his career since being at Forest. Needs to the screw the nut

28-01-2021, 05:39 PM
The hammer of the hearts. Here’s hoping he finds his feet quickly 👍🏻When are Dundee next on the tv?

28-01-2021, 05:40 PM
or neither are anywhere near good enough

Didn't brophy play every week in a 3rd placed Killie side? He probably is somewhere near good enough

Cummings definitely would offer something here off the bench. Seriously. He doesn't need to score 20 goals to be good enough. He'd be a great option. Loved a goal in big games as well.

28-01-2021, 05:41 PM
No done much since he left Hibs, but I still think he’d have scored goals if he’d found himself back here. Sometimes players just fit at certain clubs and I think that’s be the case for him here.

28-01-2021, 05:41 PM

Aye Harry Kane at least. Said nobody ever.

28-01-2021, 05:43 PM
I would quite like to have seen him back, however Hibs know all about him and I'd imagine that we could have had him back had we wanted - it seems we didn't.

28-01-2021, 06:05 PM
Great signing for Dundee.

28-01-2021, 06:09 PM

Hope we have but there’s not even a hint at who we are chasing.

We might not be after anyone??

Allez Hibs
28-01-2021, 06:10 PM
Hibs should have signed him. We know what he can do and he is a proven goalscorer.

28-01-2021, 06:10 PM
Love the way the BBC call him ex Rangers and Hibs player - remind me, which team did he play for more, score more goals for and won a Scottish Cup medal with?

Dmas
28-01-2021, 06:13 PM
Hibs should have signed him. We know what he can do and he is a proven goalscorer.

He hasn’t hit double figures since he left.

28-01-2021, 06:14 PM
Hope he goads the jambo throbbers as he overtakes them to take the title.

28-01-2021, 06:24 PM
Hope he does well.

I'm wary of saying it but is it a case of maybe finding his level? Struggled with us in the Premiership albeit he was very raw, scored for fun in the Championship, never really threatened the 1st team at Forest, 2 goals in 15 league games for Rangers in the Premiership and 11 goals in 62 games in League One over the course of the last 3 seasons.

I'd certainly be keeping an eye on him at Dundee but I can't say I'm gutted we didn't appear to be interested.

28-01-2021, 06:27 PM
Signed an 18 month deal with Dundee apparently.

https://twitter.com/dundeefc/status/1354849339399692289?s=21

His level, was good for us in the championship but has struggled moving up a level at Nottingham F and Rangers, should've stayed another year here but money down south turned him, he was never rounded enough as a player to do well in England.

28-01-2021, 06:29 PM
Didn't brophy play every week in a 3rd placed Killie side? He probably is somewhere near good enough

Cummings definitely would offer something here off the bench. Seriously. He doesn't need to score 20 goals to be good enough. He'd be a great option. Loved a goal in big games as well.

Both players are going backwards. We have a young lad in Gullan who should be playing before we sign another journeyman to sit on the bench.

Highwayman
28-01-2021, 06:48 PM
Both players are going backwards. We have a young lad in Gullan who should be playing before we sign another journeyman to sit on the bench.

Agreed.We all know Cummings assets and liabilities.For a good wee while,his liabilities have outweighed his assets.Re-signing non starter for me.
Also consider Gullan should be getting more game time.Nisbet looks like he could be doing with a rest.Let’s see how Doidge and Gullan would operate together.

28-01-2021, 07:14 PM
Hope we have but there’s not even a hint at who we are chasing.

We might not be after anyone??

I don't think we are.

28-01-2021, 07:16 PM
I don't think we are.

Unless we sell a striker I can’t see us getting another. It’s not like both players are missing loads of chances. We just aren’t creating much.

28-01-2021, 07:17 PM
About his level. Hope he continues to hammer the Hearts

28-01-2021, 07:26 PM
I don't think we are.

We really need goals! Another CF would be ideal but like you say not sure we will!

The club would face massive backlash if we sold Nisbet on the cheap and didn’t replace him!

EI255
28-01-2021, 07:36 PM
Good luck JC [emoji106]

28-01-2021, 08:23 PM
Pity Dundee only have 1 league game to play against the Yams!!!!

28-01-2021, 08:52 PM
If he screws the nut and is match fit he’ll run riot in that league. Hopefully continue to be the hammer of the Hertz.

Oranje39
28-01-2021, 08:57 PM
Would have offered him a deal with us if he was interested. We need something else up front.

28-01-2021, 09:01 PM
Watch oot for low flying tellys in the Dundee area

Would have taken him as an impact sub and to play in derbies 😃

28-01-2021, 09:13 PM
He hasn’t hit double figures since he left.

👍

28-01-2021, 09:17 PM
If he doesn't get the head down, works hard and scores goals at Dundee he'll be at Queens Park alongside Simon Murray soon. Really hope it goes well for him as he was excellent for us but last orders have been called at the last chance saloon for him and he absolutely has to take the opportunity.

28-01-2021, 11:12 PM
He’s done nothing of note since leaving us, chasing the English cash hasn’t worked out as he planned but good luck to him

03-03-2021, 07:02 AM
Scored again last night. 3 goals in 4 appearances since signing for Dundee.

Obviously it’s only over a short period of time but hopefully he’s finding his feet again and can get his career back on track. If he was to finish the season strongly at Dundee and we were to sell Nisbet I’d be seriously considering getting him back. Something I think we should have done in January anyway, although maybe he needed a spell of being top dog and banging in the goals before making the step up again?

03-03-2021, 07:22 AM
Scored again last night. 3 goals in 4 appearances since signing for Dundee.

Obviously it’s only over a short period of time but hopefully he’s finding his feet again and can get his career back on track. If he was to finish the season strongly at Dundee and we were to sell Nisbet I’d be seriously considering getting him back. Something I think we should have done in January anyway, although maybe he needed a spell of being top dog and banging in the goals before making the step up again?

I was definitely up for bringing him in as back up but I’d be a bit concerned if he was signed as a replacement for nisbet

03-03-2021, 07:41 AM
He's a good player in the Scottish Championship...

03-03-2021, 07:52 AM

Cummings will score goals anywhere he gets regular game time ...would imagine he’ll be back in the top league soon enough ....

03-03-2021, 08:10 AM
I was definitely up for bringing him in as back up but I’d be a bit concerned if he was signed as a replacement for nisbet

I would have been in January (and would be now to be fair) but if he keeps up this sort of rate at Dundee then it’ll be a similar sort of return that Nisbet and Shankland were producing in that league.

03-03-2021, 08:11 AM

So was Nisbet.

Jasons record in big games here shows he would score in this league. For hibs, against current SPL sides, he scored about 15 goals. Most against Rangers.

03-03-2021, 08:11 AM
Cummings will score goals anywhere he gets regular game time ...would imagine he’ll be back in the top league soon enough ....

If he was our first choice striker this season I wouldn’t be surprised if he’d have ended up with 15-20 goals.

He’s a cracking finisher and scores all types of goals. This is a great chance for him to prove himself again at Dundee and I’d be very surprised if top tier teams aren’t after him in the summer if he doesn’t tail off.

03-03-2021, 08:21 AM
I wish we’d gone for him in January as well, wouldn’t think he’ll be on loads at Dundee, so we’ll worth a punt. I doubt he’d go 12 games without scoring for us.

03-03-2021, 08:26 AM
I wish we’d gone for him in January as well, wouldn’t think he’ll be on loads at Dundee, so we’ll worth a punt. I doubt he’d go 12 games without scoring for us.

I agree.

03-03-2021, 08:35 AM

Doubt he'd go 12 without scoring either, but he never helped those around him anywhere near as much as Doidge does. Cummings got 2 goals in 15 games for Rangers in the league, which isn't great.

03-03-2021, 08:49 AM

His record after Hibs doesn't support that view.

14 games for Forest 1 goal
15 for The Rangers 2 goals
35 for Shrewsbury and 4 goals

64 games with only 7 goals. 1 in 9.

His time at Peterborough was a bit better with 6 goals in 22 appearances, but that's English league 1.

I accept that I don't know how many of those appearances were as a sub.

However, I don't think he's got enough to be a success at the top end of the Premiership and I doubt we'll ever find out.

rossevenil
03-03-2021, 09:04 AM

His time at Peterborough was a bit better with 6 goals in 22 appearances, but that's English league 1.

However, I don't think he's got enough to be a success at the top end of the Premiership and I doubt we'll ever find out.

Bit of a disservice with the goal scoring you`ve listed by leaving out Cup Competition?
Keeping in mind he scored 2 away at Newcastle while with Forest and 2 against the "Champions Elect" Liverpool while with Shrewsbury

In all competitions

Hibs 150 games 71 Goals
Forest 17 games 4 goals
Sevco 18 games 6 goals
Peterborough 29 games 8 goals
Shrewsbury 48 games 10 goals

112 games since leaving Hibs and scored 28 which works out 1 in 4, not prolific but considering we would all agree he hasn`t lived up to his potential isn`t the worst,Jeez Ollie Mcburnie has played 180 games with 51 goals scattered across the Conference,League 2,Championship and Premiership and was worth £17mil!

03-03-2021, 09:29 AM
Doubt he'd go 12 without scoring either, but he never helped those around him anywhere near as much as Doidge does. Cummings got 2 goals in 15 games for Rangers in the league, which isn't great.

I suppose it depends what is the greater priority, helping those around them or scoring goals. Even his biggest fan will find it hard to disagree that Doidge’s goal return hasn’t been great this season and latterly it’s been awful. It’s then a matter of debate how much his contribution in other parts of his game merits a regular start.

Like I said I thought Cummings was likely to be a cheap punt, worth taking a gamble on, even to come off the bench.

03-03-2021, 09:34 AM
I suppose it depends what is the greater priority, helping those around them or scoring goals. Even his biggest fan will find it hard to disagree that Doidge’s goal return hasn’t been great this season and latterly it’s been awful. It’s then a matter of debate how much his contribution in other parts of his game merits a regular start.

Like I said I thought Cummings was likely to be a cheap punt, worth taking a gamble on, even to come off the bench.

I agree about cummings for sure, I'd always have him coming off the bench if we could.

Just_Jimmy
03-03-2021, 09:46 AM
hammer of the hearts. I'd resign him just for that.

break glass in case of Derby...

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

03-03-2021, 09:48 AM
I'd have taken JC back in heartbeat. Proper maverick striker with swagger and love a goal against Hearts and the Huns. We needed a striker in January, he would have been my choice.

Spudster
03-03-2021, 09:54 AM

For perspective he played 90mins 3 times for rangers and scored 3 times across those games. Hard to make an impact when you are getting sub 15mins most games (see Oli Shaw and Jamie Gullan)

https://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=71941&season_id=150

03-03-2021, 10:04 AM
He's found his level, did well for us there but struggled ever since, we need better.

03-03-2021, 10:08 AM

Like many players Jason is a confidence player . I’d imagine many of those games you quote were sub appearances . I can see him coming into the top league with a Dundee , United or a St Johnstone and banging in 15-20 goals in a season .

I’d also expect him to be a decent scorer with us . Let’s be honest he wouldn’t have scored any less than Nisbet and Doidge have done since around November.

Not saying we should bring him back , but those who say he can’t score in the top league are ignoring the goals against Aberdeen, Hearts and Rangers who were easily top league standard at the time ...

03-03-2021, 10:53 AM
Not saying we should bring him back , but those who say he can’t score in the top league are ignoring the goals against Aberdeen, Hearts and Rangers who were easily top league standard at the time ...

I'm not saying we definitely shouldn't, but I don't think we'd be getting anything close to the prolific goal scorer we had in the championship.

The fact that he's a jambo hun shouldn't come into it at all :duck:

Admins: can we have a :grenade: smiley please :greengrin

HFC93
03-03-2021, 11:00 AM
Cummings is a very good Scottish Championship striker. I'm yet to be convinced that he is better than that. Regardless I would have liked to have seen us sign him in Jan.

03-03-2021, 11:02 AM
Its amazing that basically every single player who was good for us in the championship effortlessly stepped up to the premiership but our top scorer wouldn't have? Hmmm.

03-03-2021, 11:02 AM
Hindsight is wonderful and he's had a strong start for Dundee - however he's started well elsewhere and fallen away.

Take his start at Dundee away and he's a player who was (and maybe still is) in no way worth taking a gamble on signing as he's been so poor for so long.

03-03-2021, 11:21 AM
Its amazing that basically every single player who was good for us in the championship effortlessly stepped up to the premiership but our top scorer wouldn't have? Hmmm.

That’s a good point. :agree:

03-03-2021, 11:25 AM

I think his record since would cast doubts, along with his attitude where there are also question marks. I wouldn’t say he wouldn’t step up and do well, however I wouldn’t be pinning all my hopes on him, nor would I be breaking the bank for him.

03-03-2021, 11:28 AM
See all of those early crosses that Cadden whips in behind the defence and infront of the keeper that are never met by anyone.

Cummings would be there.

He always seemed to find a way of getting on those style of crosses and reading them perfectly.

Just because he’s not had much of a spell in the top flight doesn’t mean he’s not good enough, because he Absolutley is

Clarence
03-03-2021, 11:29 AM
We should have brought him back. I think he would add some much needed spice to the broth. We’re a bit bland a lacklustre at the moment.

03-03-2021, 11:36 AM
Hibs missed a trick by not offering him a deal. He would have offered options to Doidge and Nisbet and he probably wouldn’t have cost much in wages.

Good luck to the laddie, I hope he finds form and proves his doubters wrong

03-03-2021, 11:47 AM
Would love us to sign him but I think he’ll be at Hearts sooner rather than later unfortunately

03-03-2021, 12:14 PM
Big fan of Jason Cummings and would have loved it if he'd returned in Jan.

Definitely would have been a great option when our strikers went off the boil and I have faith he'd have found the net on the top flight.

If he's only on a short term deal with Dundee it would be good to see him return next season.

03-03-2021, 12:18 PM
I’d take Cummings back instantly. Always in the box and capable of being in the right place at the right time. Oh yeah he’s a rocket but we don’t have many characters in the current dressing room imo.

mcohibs
03-03-2021, 12:20 PM
Would love us to sign him but I think he’ll be at Hearts sooner rather than later unfortunately

I've a feeling this will happen too

03-03-2021, 12:29 PM

I’m not sure he will. There seems to have been a good few opportunities for it to happen now and it never does. I’d like to think if he does well at Dundee and is set for a move to a bigger club that we’d be in for him and I think he’d choose us.

03-03-2021, 01:22 PM
I would have tried to get him in January. He was ideal to fill the gaping hole in the squad for central attackers. If we could have got him on a six month deal with an option it was no gamble and the possibility of him re-energising his career. We have no issue creating chances in the box it is taking them that is a problem. Jason would be ideal in that role

TheHibernator
03-03-2021, 01:32 PM
Derek Riordan failed pretty much everywere else he went, but had 2 good spells for us scoring many goals in both and most would agree he was one of our best strikers of the modern era. Not saying Cummings is as good a footballer as Riordan was but goals don't tell the full story.

Cummings goal to game ratio since he left is skewed by the fact most of his appearances have been off the bench and that he was being played on the wing at times. Anyone who's watched him play knows that's not his position, he's a number 9 every day of the week.

I'd take him back now the way our strikers are playing, would have taken him for backup in January also, made complete sense to me.

Gordy M
03-03-2021, 01:45 PM
Derek Riordan failed pretty much everywere else he went, but had 2 good spells for us scoring many goals in both and most would agree he was one of our best strikers of the modern era. Not saying Cummings is as good a footballer as Riordan was but goals don't tell the full story.

Cummings goal to game ratio since he left is skewed by the fact most of his appearances have been off the bench and that he was being played on the wing at times. Anyone who's watched him play knows that's not his position, he's a number 9 every day of the week.

I'd take him back now the way our strikers are playing, would have taken him for backup in January also, made complete sense to me.

What if the options were Jackson Irvine, Chris Cadden or Jason Cummings?......2 out of 3. Maybe thats all that was in the budget?

03-03-2021, 01:53 PM
Wanted him back in January. Want him back now. Will happily wait till the summer to get him back.

We have 2 strikers plus Boyle who gets thrown where needed. Cummings would have been a fantastic option for us and gave us a strong depth.

03-03-2021, 01:59 PM
I'd take Jason at Hibs 100%. We are desperate for another option up front and we know he'll scored goals for us.

03-03-2021, 02:11 PM
I'd take Jason at Hibs 100%. We are desperate for another option up front and we know he'll scored goals for us.

Still don’t understand why we never signed another striker tbh.

03-03-2021, 02:12 PM
I think with Allan, Irvine, Newell, a better version of Boyle than he’s previously played with, Murphy, Cadden, then Cummings would definitely score plenty goals for us

also, he’d love playing alongside Doidge and/or Nisbet as well, he’d be a great foil for either of them

03-03-2021, 02:14 PM

Because we don't have infinite amounts of money?

03-03-2021, 02:54 PM

I'll admit I thought it was going to be ok, with Nisbet staying, Doidge unlikely to continue his barren spell and Boyle there if needed but in retrospect we definitely needed another striker in.

03-03-2021, 04:21 PM

Agreed but we do have midfielders coming out our ears.

03-03-2021, 05:23 PM
I’m not sure he will. There seems to have been a good few opportunities for it to happen now and it never does. I’d like to think if he does well at Dundee and is set for a move to a bigger club that we’d be in for him and I think he’d choose us.

I'm not sure he would. He was/is a Hearts fan and I believe his family are all jambos too.

I also think he enjoys abit of the limelight and he'd probably revel in the slight notoriety of a Scottish cup winner at Hibs playing for Hearts.

03-03-2021, 08:12 PM

or why we let one leave when we didn’t have backup.

03-03-2021, 08:16 PM
or why we let one leave when we didn’t have backup.

Are we all ignoring how well Boyle has done as a striker then?

stu in nottingham
03-03-2021, 08:56 PM

He also scored a couple in one game for Forest in a cup match but realistically, he never looked like he was going to make a first team slot his own. I saw him a couple of time for Forest and sadly, he looked a little out of his depth. Scampering around trying to get into the game, the game was going off all around him and past him. He just looked like he didn't have the speed of thinking or movement to keep up at that level, nor the physicality. Gives me no pleasure to say. It might have helped if he'd stayed and learnt his trade for another year at Hibs but I suspect it still wouldn't have been enough to make him an EPL player.

03-03-2021, 09:19 PM

Because we only play with one?

HendoDelivered
03-03-2021, 10:07 PM
I reckon Jase would jump at the chance to come back here if offered.

04-03-2021, 12:42 AM
He also scored a couple in one game for Forest in a cup match but realistically, he never looked like he was going to make a first team slot his own. I saw him a couple of time for Forest and sadly, he looked a little out of his depth. Scampering around trying to get into the game, the game was going off all around him and past him. He just looked like he didn't have the speed of thinking or movement to keep up at that level, nor the physicality. Gives me no pleasure to say. It might have helped if he'd stayed and learnt his trade for another year at Hibs but I suspect it still wouldn't have been enough to make him an EPL player.

His level looks to be Div 1 England/Championship Scotland.

04-03-2021, 05:32 AM
If it was up to some fans we'd have Jason Cummings and Oli Shaw up front with Marvin Bartley playing the holding role. Alloa away next season would be likely.

OstKurve Hibs
04-03-2021, 10:28 AM
Hes sookin up already, looks like hes back to being a jambo after claiming he was a sticky bun a wee while back,

www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/ex-hibs-striker-jason-cummings-relishing-coming-home-to-tynecastle-with-dundee-3153768%3famp

stu in nottingham
04-03-2021, 06:57 PM
His level looks to be Div 1 England/Championship Scotland.

I'd agree generally. He's struggled for game time at Peterborough, Luton and Shrewsbury though. When at Peterborough the only other teams interested in taking him, apart from Shewsbury, were MK Dons and Lincoln City.

It's seemed his career has been on a bit of a downward spiral for a while, sadly.

04-03-2021, 07:03 PM
Pretty much a certainty to score against the big team at the weekend

05-03-2021, 01:28 PM
Hes sookin up already, looks like hes back to being a jambo after claiming he was a sticky bun a wee while back,

www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/ex-hibs-striker-jason-cummings-relishing-coming-home-to-tynecastle-with-dundee-3153768%3famp
I don't think the article shows him sooking up tbh. I also don't think he owes us anything - he helped us out the championship when he could have left after one or two good seadons, and he played a vital role in bringing back the holy grail. As long as he doesn't act antagonistically towards hibs, i'll always have time for him regardless of who he chooses to play for. Obviously if he's playing for another scottish team, especially the ugly sisters or hearts, i hope he'll be on the losing side as often as possible, but that aside, i wish him all the best. Seems like a bam, but with his heart in the right place.

05-03-2021, 01:53 PM
I don't think the article shows him sooking up tbh. I also don't think he owes us anything - he helped us out the championship when he could have left after one or two good seadons, and he played a vital role in bringing back the holy grail. As long as he doesn't act antagonistically towards hibs, i'll always have time for him regardless of who he chooses to play for. Obviously if he's playing for another scottish team, especially the ugly sisters or hearts, i hope he'll be on the losing side as often as possible, but that aside, i wish him all the best. Seems like a bam, but with his heart in the right place.
:agree: Good post mate....