View Full Version : Scott Brown - player / manager
Hibiza
24-01-2021, 05:10 PM
It's obvious.
What makes you think it’s obvious? He’s not even been in a management position and all of a sudden you think it’s obvious he should be our manager?
Nah. No thanks.
linlithgowhibbie
24-01-2021, 05:11 PM
It's obvious.
Stop drinking eh!
What on earth has Scott Brown ever done to suggest he is anywhere near good enough to manage Hibs?
He can start at the bottom like everyone else.
Not as a manager but may be the leader on the park that we are crying out for.
24-01-2021, 05:14 PM
No
eezyrider
24-01-2021, 05:15 PM
EZ
24-01-2021, 05:15 PM
Celtc are due to make a change, maybe this is the cheap option for them?
24-01-2021, 05:37 PM
Finished as a player and no managerial experience. Let him cut his cloth at some diddy team or Celtic under 21's.
I'm hoping Hibs aren't daft enough to go down the O'Connor route and offer him a playing contract this summer so we effectively end up as his retirement home.
H18S NX
24-01-2021, 05:40 PM
Nah,no thanks.
24-01-2021, 05:42 PM
Not as a manager but may be the leader on the park that we are crying out for.Not much of a leader for the minute he was on the park against Livi
Allez Hibs
24-01-2021, 05:43 PM
No thanks.
Don't let him anywhere near Easter Road. He's made his bed at Celtic with his antics. He has no class.
24-01-2021, 06:00 PM
lol
24-01-2021, 06:09 PM
And I thought the Ron Gordon thread was pish but this has trumped it :faf:
24-01-2021, 06:11 PM
I've heard we've lined Roy Race up.
24-01-2021, 06:11 PM
One thing is for sure. If Scott Brown was at the club in any capacity we wouldn't be getting pumped by St Johnstone in a semi final without laying a glove on them.
24-01-2021, 06:16 PM
One thing is for sure. If Scott Brown was at the club in any capacity we wouldn't be getting pumped by St Johnstone in a semi final without laying a glove on them.
Yeah. Just hearts, dundee united and dunfermline for Scotty while he was here. Much better.
Turkish Green
24-01-2021, 06:19 PM
No thanks.
Don't let him anywhere near Easter Road. He's made his bed at Celtic with his antics. He has no class.Apart from helping out charity. Thats class
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
24-01-2021, 06:20 PM
We’d be getting pumped while getting loads of bookings and red cards instead.
HibbyDave
24-01-2021, 06:22 PM
Don’t think he is manager material just now. Player/coach yes please.
Oh, and I think Porto will go in opposite direction.
24-01-2021, 06:28 PM
Yeah. Just hearts, dundee united and dunfermline for Scotty while he was here. Much better.
I'm talking about now.
24-01-2021, 06:36 PM
Much as I loved him playing for us, there are two words that can sum up Scott Brown - found out
24-01-2021, 06:40 PM
I'm talking about now.
He played the full 90 minutes when Celtic got pumped out 2 rounds previous by Ross County.
24-01-2021, 06:46 PM
Brown obviously has vast experience but he cant do the role at Celtic he found fame and fortune with anymore. As a player he's a yard, or two, too slow. He can do it in his head but his body cant do it anymore.
24-01-2021, 06:48 PM
Don’t think he is manager material just now. Player/coach yes please.
Oh, and I think Porto will go in opposite direction.
That would be one of the worst deals I’ve seen.
24-01-2021, 06:49 PM
Much as I loved him playing for us, there are two words that can sum up Scott Brown - found out
Found out? He’s been one of the best players in the country for 10+ years. He’s older, and his body can’t do what it used to, but he’s not been “found out”.
24-01-2021, 06:53 PM
lol, yep he will be absolutely gutted reaching the end of his playing career with all those medals and a few million in the bank, magic European nights against some of the best players in the world, playing so many times for his country...fair gutted he shall be at finally getting "found out" :)
24-01-2021, 06:58 PM
Found out? He’s been one of the best players in the country for 10+ years. He’s older, and his body can’t do what it used to, but he’s not been “found out”.[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
24-01-2021, 06:59 PM
Brown obviously has vast experience but he cant do the role at Celtic he found fame and fortune with anymore. As a player he's a yard, or two, too slow. He can do it in his head but his body cant do it anymore.
i still remember a brilliant right back sellick had, Danny McGrain, he kept our very own john brownlie out of scotland sides unfortunately, but when he started losing his pace he developed in to quite a dirty player imo, probably frustration i think
24-01-2021, 07:12 PM
lol, yep he will be absolutely gutted reaching the end of his playing career with all those medals and a few million in the bank, magic European nights against some of the best players in the world, playing so many times for his country...fair gutted he shall be at finally getting "found out" :)
Ach, I was just being mischievous - given that thread title, I thought it was free range to spout any amount of guff
mcohibs
24-01-2021, 07:39 PM
Aye, he's certainly rallied the troops this season for celtic hasn't he. Biggest season possibly in their history and they've shat the bed. What a leader
NC1875
24-01-2021, 07:42 PM
**** it, let’s get Brown, Thomson, O’Connor and Deek. 4 man management team
24-01-2021, 08:05 PM
Posters on here still drunk from yesterday by the look of it. 😂😂
Crammond Hibee
24-01-2021, 08:14 PM
No !
24-01-2021, 08:27 PM
Scott Brown as player coach, yep happy with that if it happened
24-01-2021, 08:30 PM
Posters on here still drunk from yesterday by the look of it.
Not been sober since May 2016 :wink:
24-01-2021, 08:33 PM
Out of Hughes, Strachan, Collins, Stubbs and Wright this suggestion is the worst yet 😂
24-01-2021, 08:35 PM
This is so ridiculous that I was going to ignore it but as its gone into a second page it already has some credibility. Whether I think it deserving or not. So my input is no bleeding way.
EI255
24-01-2021, 08:36 PM
We don't need another pantomime villain anywhere near Easter Road
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
1875godsgift
24-01-2021, 08:42 PM
We don't need another pantomime villain anywhere near Easter Road
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
Oh yes we do!
24-01-2021, 08:44 PM
Oh no we dont
Dr What If?
24-01-2021, 08:54 PM
I can't believe no one else is seeing what is really happening here!!! What is truly obvious.....Benitez says he doesn't want the Celtic gig.....he's waiting on the call from us!!!! :party:
24-01-2021, 09:30 PM
No thanks.
24-01-2021, 09:43 PM
Brown didn't play against Hearts in the semi-final, he was injured.
24-01-2021, 10:00 PM
Brown didn't play against Hearts in the semi-final, he was injured.
He was still employed by hibs in some capacity. That alone is apparently enough to make semi finals easy wins.
Cat Stanton
25-01-2021, 04:16 PM
It's obvious.
Should there not be some sort of insanity-vetting process that these posts should go through before being published?
andudare2
25-01-2021, 05:24 PM
i still remember a brilliant right back sellick had, Danny McGrain, he kept our very own john brownlie out of scotland sides unfortunately, but when he started losing his pace he developed in to quite a dirty player imo, probably frustration i thinkHe would never have kept Onion out if he hadn't suffered the broken leg, Was a great player though ,would have had to settle for playing left back for Scotland or share that position with Jardine.
#2 Double Tap
25-01-2021, 05:28 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4vjVetZPpM
25-01-2021, 06:07 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4vjVetZPpM
Dawn Penn Class.
Hibiza
25-01-2021, 06:18 PM
Just my humble opinion , no need to go nuclear about it.
25-01-2021, 06:24 PM
Just my humble opinion , no need to go nuclear about it.
I’ve been tempted to write a scathing reply to this thread but now that the dust has settled a wee bit I don’t want to spar with anyone. There’s been plenty of that.
What qualifies Brown to come back to Hibs? He’s been away for 14 years, never managed or as far as we know done any coaching and in all likelihood will be like Lennon was for Celtic and go straight in to a job with them.
linlithgowhibbie
25-01-2021, 06:58 PM
I heard the favourite for the Celtc job is a Chinese bloke,,,,, WIN WAN SOON:thumbsup:
Hibiza
25-01-2021, 07:07 PM
Should there not be some sort of insanity-vetting process that these posts should go through before being published?
Trying my best to keep sane Cat. Hard at times though.
25-01-2021, 07:13 PM
Not exactly the worst idea I've ever heard. No manager is ever guaranteed to be a success and we've had plenty managers with experience who turned out to be pish.
I think he'd get the respect of the players and you don't captain Celtic for a decade without having something about you. I think he is also the most successful player in Scottish football history in terms of domestic honours won.
It won't happen but if it did I think he's as much chance of being a success as anyone else we could attract.
PortoHSC
25-01-2021, 07:14 PM
I wouldn’t want him anywhere near the managers job, however if he was interested in coming in and playing some football I’d have him over Gogic as our defensive midfielder every day of the week
25-01-2021, 07:20 PM
If Scott Brown as player/manager is the answer, I really don't want to know what the question was.
**** no.
He has more fight in him than half of the SPFL combined, but he's a shadow of his former self as a player and has zero managerial/coaching experience.
I reckon he has attributes that will make him a decent coach, but he's way off taking charge of an SPFL team. Who was the last truly successful player/manager at this level?
Cat Stanton
25-01-2021, 09:23 PM
Trying my best to keep sane Cat. Hard at times though.
Fair enough. And madness is all relative, especially on here..
25-01-2021, 10:00 PM
Wouldn’t take him as a player never mind both
25-01-2021, 10:01 PM
I can only think you mean for Celtic? I’m up for that.
We’re not looking for a new manager and are unlikely to be anytime soon. We’re definitely not looking for Scott Brown to take over.
25-01-2021, 10:02 PM
I don’t see Brown going into management at all, just doesn’t seem the type.
25-01-2021, 10:24 PM
I don’t see Brown going into management at all, just doesn’t seem the type.
:agree: I can see him coaching at a reasonable level but IMHO he doesn’t have the qualities required for managership.
Bright_Hibee
25-01-2021, 11:26 PM
It's obvious.
I'll have whatever you've had... And make it a double
Yorkshire HFC
26-01-2021, 05:43 AM
If Scott Brown as player/manager is the answer, I really don't want to know what the question was.
**** no.
He has more fight in him than half of the SPFL combined, but he's a shadow of his former self as a player and has zero managerial/coaching experience.
I reckon he has attributes that will make him a decent coach, but he's way off taking charge of an SPFL team. Who was the last truly successful player/manager at this level?
Alex McDonald and Sandy Jardine.
26-01-2021, 05:52 AM
This ****ing forum...
26-01-2021, 06:35 AM
**** no.
Souness
26-01-2021, 07:05 AM
Not as a manager but may be the leader on the park that we are crying out for.
26-01-2021, 07:55 AM
He no longer plays at a level required for us, and the other part of the thread title is laughable.
Just_Jimmy
26-01-2021, 11:40 AM
it's obviously one of the worst ideas spouted on the site.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk