What’s the weather like at Hampden?

https://i.imgur.com/Yoq05RQ.png

Not great.

23-01-2021, 03:09 PM
Just win. No excuses.

23-01-2021, 03:15 PM
Marciano back in for Macey. Don't agree with that.

23-01-2021, 03:16 PM
Any team news?

What’s the weather like at Hampden?

2C, blue sky and practically wind free.

23-01-2021, 03:16 PM
That's a strong team and bench

23-01-2021, 03:17 PM

Not in our house, we had lentil soup for lunch.

No Newell, full strength 4-3-3 apart from that. Allan back on the bench.

Is it a 3-5-2? Not sure?

Shame no Newell

Why? Marciano is the first choice keeper, he wasn't dropped due to form so only right he comes back in, accept Macey has done ok but rocky is the better keeper

Glad to hear you are practically wind free 💨😉

23-01-2021, 03:18 PM
Cadden for boyle

Rocky back in

Allan on bench

Maggennis on bench

No Newell

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Need Doig and Cadden to offer us width. Decent team.

Not in our house, we had lentil soup for lunch.

Aye, but you're not at Hampden.

...thank goodness

.................Marciano............

.......McGinn....Porteous....Hanlon.....

Cadden......Irvine....Gogic..........Doig..

....................Murphy........

.............Nisbet.........Boyle.....

No Newell or Mallan.

Like I said I can see Mallan going to Ross County with Ross Stewart coming here.

23-01-2021, 03:19 PM
https://i.imgur.com/Yoq05RQ.png

Not great.

Grrrr cold.
The zero degrees expires at 5pm so the game starts at -1 and finishes at -2

Glad to hear you are practically wind free 💨😉

I wasn't the one that had Lentil Soup for lunch.

Well we can’t complain about that line up and bench. V strong.

Play your best players when they’re fit

No Newell or Mallan.

Like I said I can see Mallan going to Ross County with Ross Stewart coming here.

Yip i thought is was a 3-5-2

23-01-2021, 03:20 PM
. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210123/c2c55b792709485b1b82be4191a45e91.jpg

23-01-2021, 03:20 PM
Cadden for boyle

Rocky back in

Allan on bench

Maggennis on bench

No Newell

Boyle is playing.

Mikey_1875
23-01-2021, 03:21 PM
Be interesting to see the formation we set up with there. Strong enough XI to get the job done regardless. Come on Hibs

No Newell or Mallan.

County want 500k

Edit - I see Boyle is there [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Assumed Cadden in for him

23-01-2021, 03:23 PM
I wasn't the one that had Lentil Soup for lunch.

I remember my sister in law stayed with us the day before an interview, we had lentil curry, she didn't get the job. 😁 It went to an internal candidate

Be interesting to see the formation we set up with there. Strong enough XI to get the job done regardless. Come on Hibs

I reckon a back three.

Cadden could play tucked in if it was a 433 but think that’s less likely.

Need Boyle, Nisbet and Murphy to really up their game and win this for us.

Coach Jon
Surprised at that selection, I hope Jack Ross knows what he is doing.

Ive got a feeling that Boyler will be at it today stepping up for the big occasion. Fingers Xd

23-01-2021, 03:24 PM
Hopefully getting guys like Allan and Magennis back just pushes everyone on.

Those 2 along with Macey, Doidge and Hallberg won’t want to sit on the bench and will be desperate to get back in the team.

Competition for places will hopefully lift everyones levels.

That’s not including Newell.

23-01-2021, 03:25 PM
Absolutely brilliant to have Allan, Magennis and Doidge available from the bench! Night and day from a few weeks back.

23-01-2021, 03:27 PM
Whilst we’re at it I’ll predict the subs we will make already :greengrin

Doidge on for Cadden with Boyle going right wing back - 70 minutes

Hallberg for Irvine - 80 minutes

23-01-2021, 03:28 PM
Surprised at that selection, I hope Jack Ross knows what he is doing.

Cheers coach

23-01-2021, 03:29 PM
Surprised to see both new boys starting bearing in mind how long they have both been out especially against a battle hardened Saints side

Macey can consider himself unlucky

Fingers crossed

23-01-2021, 03:30 PM
Like it Jack Ross, like it.

Goals incoming.

23-01-2021, 03:31 PM
Pretty flexible team. Ability to go 352, 433 or even 442.

Quite sad to see David Gray not even make the bench. It's like he's just going to slip quietly out the back door at some point.

yerauldda
23-01-2021, 03:31 PM
Legs in that team, shame about Newell but it’s bloody strong.

So, so happy to see Allan’s name on that team sheet.

Souter96Mac
23-01-2021, 03:32 PM
This will be a tactical game. The players in that lineup means we can play a variety of formations, depending on the circumstances. I'm happy with it. We have plenty on the bench to come on and make a difference if needed

23-01-2021, 03:32 PM
Very strong bench! Cmon Hibs let's just ****ing do this

Magpie
23-01-2021, 03:34 PM
Here’s hoping 🤞

23-01-2021, 03:35 PM
No Gray at all. Beginning of the end probably.

23-01-2021, 03:36 PM
Like the look of the team. Let's do it.

Bridge hibs
23-01-2021, 03:36 PM
Im starting to feel nervous, come on the hibs 🇳🇬

23-01-2021, 03:37 PM
No Gray at all. Beginning of the end probably.

Not surprised at that, more shocked with no Mallan in the squad, unless he’s injured

1875Sean
23-01-2021, 03:38 PM
Hallberg injured or dropped?

23-01-2021, 03:39 PM

It’s a good thing ...

https://twitter.com/mundialmag/status/1352503490183110658?s=21

Hallberg injured or dropped?On the bench to assume dropped

I'm starting to feel nervous as well.

This could easily go either way.

That’s a strong line up from us. Lots of good options on the bench if we need to adapt our game plan. What a boost having someone with the magic of Scott Allan on our bench and back in our armoury. Would be amazing if he makes an appearance today, although can only see that happening if we are comfortably ahead.

I knew I'd have similar thoughts so i started drinking moretti at 12. Working so far

houstonhibbee
23-01-2021, 03:41 PM
Hallberg injured or dropped?
Dropped
on the bench

Leighonel
I'm seeing a 3-4-3.

Marciano

McGinn
Porteous
Hanlon

Cadden
Irvine
Gogic
Doig

Boyle
Nisbet
Murphy

That's a really strong side on paper, I like what Ross is doing with this team. Allan on the bench as well is fantastic.

Come on Hibs!!

Legs in that team, shame about Newell but it’s bloody strong.

So, so happy to see Allan’s name on that team sheet.

A Hibs team with the potential to outrun the opposition. That is a real rarity and I think it is a decent more selection wise but would have been good to have had a go at it in a few games beforehand. Not possible though so hopefully the changes gets us a win in a big game, Ross could do with that tag taken away

newmarket_hibbee
mon hibs

Bridge hibs
23-01-2021, 03:42 PM
I knew I'd have similar thoughts so i started drinking moretti at 12. Working so farNow thats a plan, might just neck a couple before kick off 😆

Magpie
23-01-2021, 03:43 PM
St Johnstone team been announced yet?

23-01-2021, 03:43 PM
St Johnstone team been announced yet?

Bit strange it hasn’t so far

23-01-2021, 03:44 PM
I remember my sister in law stayed with us the day before an interview, we had lentil curry, she didn't get the job. 😁 It went to an internal candidate

23-01-2021, 03:44 PM
Bit strange it hasn’t so far

The manager hasn’t released who’s playing up front for them, but Stevie May.

23-01-2021, 03:45 PM
Boyler, Cadden and McGinn on the same side is nightmare fuel for defenders

Yorkshire HFC
23-01-2021, 03:46 PM
Big chance to get to a Final - time for the big men to step up - come on Kevin Nisbet.

23-01-2021, 03:47 PM
Pretty flexible team. Ability to go 352, 433 or even 442.

Quite sad to see David Gray not even make the bench. It's like he's just going to slip quietly out the back door at some point.

The signing of Cadden was the final nail in his playing coffin.
Sadly he was done when they gave him the new contract 18 months ago.
It comes to every player eventually.

The Count
23-01-2021, 03:47 PM
Semi Final and we are playing Cadden and Irvine who have hardly played in months and have we also have two players on the bench that have not played for months.If they were all match fit i would be delighted with that team but it plants a seed of doubt.Anyway lets hope we scud them.

23-01-2021, 03:48 PM
St Johnstone team;

Clark
Kerr
Rooney
Tanser
Mccart
Gordon
Mccann
Davidson
Conway
Wotherspoon
Kane

I think they’ll go 343

................Clark...........

......Kerr......Gordon.....McCart...

Rooney...McCann...Davidson.....Tanser..

........Conway...........Wotherspoon....
...................Kane.......

23-01-2021, 03:49 PM
Semi Final and we are playing Cadden and Irvine who have hardly played in months and have we also have two players on the bench that have not played for months.If they were all match fit i would be delighted with that team but it plants a seed of doubt.Anyway lets hope we scud them.

And yet folk were crying out for players to be signed before the semi.

No issues with either of them starting.

HiBremian
23-01-2021, 03:50 PM

"semi final". "hasn't played for months".

Why does that ring a bell? :greengrin

23-01-2021, 03:52 PM

Only advantage of starting them is they can be changed once knackered so no need for them to conserve energy to get through the game. Loads of quality on the bench.

hibbydog
23-01-2021, 03:54 PM
In a very childish way, I am bricking it. I hate being favourites, especially at Hampden.

I’m 42 this year and I should be able to enjoy these games. But somehow I can’t.

It’s only a damn game of football, man.

23-01-2021, 03:55 PM
Cadden and Irvine will be fine.

Cadden has played for the team in the MLS that have recently won a cup. Although not starting every week he’s been training consistently and I’m sure played in bounce games.

Irvine had been training and playing bounce games with a team before joining us.

Both are naturally fit guys and I don’t think the match sharpness as important without fans because it takes away a bit of the chaos and it’s not so 100mph.

23-01-2021, 03:57 PM
Massive game for jack ross this

Huge

23-01-2021, 03:58 PM
Looking forward to the game starting, 5.30 kick offs are all well and good when you’ve got an afternoon in the boozer to enjoy pre game......this day has really dragged on!😂

23-01-2021, 03:59 PM
Nerves are in full flow. Mon the Hibees! 🇳🇬

23-01-2021, 04:01 PM

Huge

Also a massive game for the players.

Coach Jon
23-01-2021, 04:01 PM
Cadden and Irvine will be fine.

Cadden has played for the team in the MLS that have recently won a cup. Although not starting every week he’s been training consistently and I’m sure played in bounce games.

Irvine had been training and playing bounce games with a team before joining us.

Both are naturally fit guys and I don’t think the match sharpness as important without fans because it takes away a bit of the chaos and it’s not so 100mph.

Neither are match fit, Irvine was well off the pace last week, Plenty comments about a strong bench,no good if they are not on the park.

Green Reaper
23-01-2021, 04:02 PM
C’mon Hibs!

JimboHibs
23-01-2021, 04:02 PM
Looking forward to it 💚💚 no nerves.

23-01-2021, 04:03 PM
No nerves here, really looking forward to this.

Decent win ahead.

Mikey_1875
23-01-2021, 04:05 PM
Pundits setting up the narrative for us to fail under pressure already. Hope we get it right up them

23-01-2021, 04:10 PM
Please just win this Hibs

23-01-2021, 04:11 PM
Saints fans aren't pleased with their team. Seems like they've changed a formula that's worked for them in order to go more defensive.

23-01-2021, 04:12 PM
might just neck a couple before kick off 😆

You'll be ready for a beer after that! 😯

23-01-2021, 04:13 PM

Phrase of the day :top marks

Saints fans aren't pleased with their team. Seems like they've changed a formula that's worked for them in order to go more defensive.

From first glance I thought it looked a bit negative

PH91
Newell is a big loss, gutted he hasn't made it. Who is going to get on the ball in the middle of the park? Hopefully irvine can do that job today.

Still a strong team though and the best bench we have had in a while.

23-01-2021, 04:14 PM
Sorry if already covered, but have we ever lost a league cup semi?

23-01-2021, 04:14 PM
MIchael Stewart is spot on all the matters is getting to the final

Get there by hook or by crook

No one remembers the defeated semi-finalists

The worst feeling on earth

Lets do this HIBS

23-01-2021, 04:15 PM
Neither are match fit, Irvine was well off the pace last week, Plenty comments about a strong bench,no good if they are not on the park.

If the manager didn't think they were match fit surely they wouldn't be playing. It's a big call by JR, I have my doubts about Irvine's fitness after last Saturday when he wasn't really in the game.

SJNB Hibby
23-01-2021, 04:15 PM
Anybody overseas got a picture yet? thought they said it would start at 1710

23-01-2021, 04:16 PM

Aberdeen 78/79
Celtic 65?

SJNB Hibby
Anybody overseas got a picture yet? thought they said it would start at 1710

Here we go!!!

Last season!

23-01-2021, 04:18 PM
No playmaker in the midfield to play the ball accurately into the forwards.
Perhaps the idea is to soften up St J then bring on a playmaker later in the game.

Lost to Celtic a couple of years ago.

Last season!

And that one! And v Celtic under Lennon.

Last season!

Good grief. So we did. And Celtic in 2018!

Must be getting old!

23-01-2021, 04:19 PM
Hibs fans in great voice before ko. :flag:

23-01-2021, 04:21 PM

Ayr.

23-01-2021, 04:24 PM
Fancy us for a good performance but still will not be easy. Let’s do this Hibs.

23-01-2021, 04:24 PM
Good grief. So we did. And Celtic in 2018!

Must be getting old!

Dundee 1952
East Fife 1953.

There’s a few out there.

23-01-2021, 04:25 PM
:singing: Hail Hail
the Hibs are here

23-01-2021, 04:25 PM
Ayr.

Ha ha! And that one, too.

Okay, apart from the ones we didn't win, have we ever lost a league cup semi?

23-01-2021, 04:26 PM
Dundee 1952
East Fife 1953.

There’s a few out there.

Hopefully my stupidity has given a few folk a smile.

23-01-2021, 04:27 PM
league cup head-to-head with st.johnstone

Hibs wins- 9
Draws -3
st.johnstone wins-4

Hibees1973
23-01-2021, 04:27 PM
Very nervous waiting on this starting.

Ross has shaken things up with Cadden & Irvine starting in a semi final and they are just in the door. Both of them have not had much football recently. Presumably they have shown up well in training.

St Johnstone have an experienced line up. No favourites in this given the circumstances.

Hope Hibs show some patience and are calm..must admit I don’t have these feelings just now.

Hope we get the breaks in this as it will be really tight.

All the best boys.

H18S NX
23-01-2021, 04:28 PM
St johnstone bench is quite strong too,hope we hit them with a few goals early on.

Here we go, cmon Hibs!!!

Let's play some football today hibs and battle every ball then we should be ok.

23-01-2021, 04:29 PM
Come the hibees.

Stonewall
23-01-2021, 04:29 PM

Huge

Flaunting your agenda again?

Massive game for Hibs.

23-01-2021, 04:30 PM
Let's do this!

23-01-2021, 04:31 PM
i'm so excited
i just can't hide it

23-01-2021, 04:32 PM
Did that muppet commentator just say “is support of racial inequality”?! fFs

23-01-2021, 04:32 PM
Looks like Boyle and Nisbet as a front 2.

Mikey_1875
23-01-2021, 04:33 PM
ref needs to stamp this out asap

23-01-2021, 04:33 PM
Porto down

Liam6270
23-01-2021, 04:34 PM
That’s a shocker!

23-01-2021, 04:34 PM
So why is that not a booking

23-01-2021, 04:35 PM
That’s 2 bootable challenges let go already.

EI255
23-01-2021, 04:35 PM
Rooney you dirty bassa

He knew exactly what he was doing there vs Porteous.

Ref needs to keep an eye on this

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

23-01-2021, 04:36 PM
First corner to Hibs

23-01-2021, 04:37 PM
Thugs and hammer throwers. This will happen all game but I'll bet the first booking is a Hibs player

Pilrig_Sauzee
23-01-2021, 04:37 PM
Gogic doing very Gogic-type work there, need that in a semi

23-01-2021, 04:38 PM
Why is the camera on the other side of Hampden this season?

23-01-2021, 04:38 PM
How many free kicks already :rolleyes:

23-01-2021, 04:39 PM
Couple decent balls in from Boyle on the set pieces.

23-01-2021, 04:40 PM
Why is the camera on the other side of Hampden this season?

Maybe keeping the media away from club officials (Covid)?

23-01-2021, 04:41 PM
did gogic tell boyle to cross the freakin thing there :)

OtleyHibs
23-01-2021, 04:41 PM
No, it’s fine son, just slap the ball, no free kick

23-01-2021, 04:43 PM
Rooney you dirty bassa

He knew exactly what he was doing there vs Porteous.

Ref needs to keep an eye on this

Sent from my LG-H870 using TapatalkAgreed

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Cheeky wee chip from Boyle.

Some decent football there. Need to move the ball at pace as they are clearly going to sit in when we have it.

23-01-2021, 04:44 PM
Maybe keeping the media away from club officials (Covid)?

Ah, right enough. Good shout.

23-01-2021, 04:49 PM
Cagey start really

23-01-2021, 04:50 PM
possession

65% v 35%

corners

4-0

Fouls

3-2

That ball wasn't out (Doig).

Mikey_1875
Cant believe thats not went in

How have we not scored there?!

Strange not to have one of our set piece takers on the pitch today

OtleyHibs
Should be ahead

23-01-2021, 04:51 PM
How many ****ing chances do we want? That's a good save then 2 sitters.

murphy hits the bar

How did we not score there, on top from the first whistle.

Mr Grieves
****ing hell murphy

Decent first twenty from us, please please please make it pay. What a miss!

Ffs :faf:

Needs to be scoring there ffs

That's horrific from Murphy, jeezo.

23-01-2021, 04:52 PM
Murphy. Oh no. Poor.

what a chance

dreadful

Same story we’ve seen this season already so far. Started the game really well and should be ahead but somehow aren’t.

How did he miss

C'mon Jamie you have to bury that.

Liam6270
Fearing the worst already

what a chance Two chances both very simple

How did he not bury it in the back of the net, either time?

23-01-2021, 04:53 PM
Hope they don't come back to bite us.

We really should be scoring there.

Jamie Doidgeurphy

That’s awful from Murphy. Truly awful.

Need to take chances like that. It's been all Hibs but they will get back into the game at some point.

Should have been 1 up. Really poor misses by Murphy

Two chances both very simple

murphy has to burst the net there

both attempts

Been good so far. Murphy should be scoring though.

23-01-2021, 04:54 PM
How did he not bury it in the back of the net, either time?

I almost get the 2nd one. The keeper and a defender throwing themselves in front of him so he had to get it up and over them. The first one is a free hit from 10 yards and he's just tried to be too clever and wrong foot the keeper. It's a poor, poor effort.

We've started very well though.

We can hardly say that double chance fell to the wrong player either! Would have backed Murph to put those away.

Mon Hibs, make one of these count.

Those are a couple of terrible efforts on goal, but we’re actually playing pretty well here.

A good few players look very much in the mood.

It suits us to play on a decent pitch.

23-01-2021, 04:56 PM
Reminding me of another semi final this.

Good football again. Nice header from Irvine, unlucky.

Zero excuses, 2 of the easiest chances you’ll find🙈

Mr Grieves
Good attempt from Irvine, unlucky

Magpie
Come on the Hibees!!

Almost!

Jakhog1
Not far away from Jackson with the header there, Hibs playing well here

23-01-2021, 04:57 PM
Ooft, we're playing well here.

Dominating the game here and should be ahead, need to be more clinical or could regret it. I'm liking the 343 shape, it allows Cadden and Boyle to play.

This is very reminiscent of the hearts semi final

Rocky not keen to come for that😡

So close by Irvine

decent chance for Irvine too.

Let off the hook there.

That's a good effort by Irvine

But unlucky

23-01-2021, 04:58 PM
Great start from doig

Wull
Only a matter of time, cummon the Hibees

chance after chance

what could go wrong

Utterly dominant so far. Need that goal.

Marciano caught out there but we got away with it.

sean04
Why can’t we just go to Hampden and take these chances? Almost a repeat of the hearts game

23-01-2021, 04:59 PM
In a very childish way, I am bricking it. I hate being favourites, especially at Hampden.

I’m 42 this year and I should be able to enjoy these games. But somehow I can’t.

It’s only a damn game of football, man.

Ach, yer just a boy, I'm 67 & feel exactly the same as you, so it Disnae get any easier the older you get. :wink:

23-01-2021, 05:00 PM
It’s been a very good start here and we should be ahead. Realistically there’s not much more the manager can do at this stage. We need the players on the park to produce and have some composure.

OtleyHibs
Woodwork again!! It’s coming, playing well

Seen all this before🙈

Mikey_1875
Unbelievable

Bar again. Ahhh

Mr Grieves
Irvine close again

It’s not going to be one of THOSE nights is it?

A goal is surely coming

When we move the ball with pace and purpose we are all over them. Every time we move it quickly across the park, work it wide and drag them about we create a chance.

If we get one then they will have to open up and we'll get more chances. The longer it goes without us scoring though.......

maybe 3rd time lucky for jackson irvine

This has all the hallmarks of a St Johnstone goal coming up 😢

23-01-2021, 05:01 PM
Irvine unlucky there

Really good game for a semi.

Pretty open.

Seen all this before🙈

What? Hibs playing well? Why is that a bad thing?

Folk need to stop the pissing themselves. Did they expect us to score every chance and be 4-0 up by now?

Playing really well here.

We should be a couple ahead which is a worry.

FFS woodwork save them again.

Another great header Irvine off the post

Doig has started very well going forward but a couple of poor efforts at the back. We look a bit ropey every time a cross comes in. . Irvine really unlucky there.

23-01-2021, 05:02 PM
Unlucky there from Irvine. Need to start converting the pressure!

Cmon!

Right that's Irvine adjusted his sights now, next one is destined to bust the net.

We need Nisbet to get a chance.

As an aside this has been a very entertaining game. St Johnstone have looked threatening on a couple of occasions as well. A decent advert for Scottish football so far.

OtleyHibs
23-01-2021, 05:03 PM
Never a foul there

23-01-2021, 05:03 PM
How was that a free kick. Ref had a shocker there. Awful decision

Wull
23-01-2021, 05:04 PM
On just tonight's showing I would like to see Irvine on decent contract

Unbelievable.

Irvine penalised for a tackle.

On closer inspection... Yup, just a normal tackle.

**** right off

Goal them. You have got to take your chances.

**** sake :rolleyes:

that was handball by irvine

i think

We knew that would happen :grr:

Unbelievable

One chance and they take it

Absolutely typical.

23-01-2021, 05:05 PM
Ffs

Mr Grieves
****ing hell, typical

How ****ing predictable.

That's how you score a goal guys.

Unbelievable

Sadly its very believable. Happens to us all the time.

This has all the hallmarks of a St Johnstone goal coming up 😢

4 minutes for my prophecy to come true 😩

Surprise surprise.

Liam6270
Everyone on here knew that was coming

****ing pathetic defending. Usual

I like Murphy but it must be great playing against him, just keep him on his left foot and Hibs are a man down...

Hibeesforever
How typical is that...

Porteous. FFS.

That is horrific defending from Porteous.

Absolutely dire.

JXM73
That's how you finish

What? Hibs playing well? Why is that a bad thing?

Folk need to stop the pissing themselves. Did they expect us to score every chance and be 4-0 up by now?

yep

Sucker punch indeed. FFS free header

FFS. Porteous has to do better there.

They will pack out that defence now. We need to get back into this sharpish.

23-01-2021, 05:06 PM
Oh ffs Porto.

For ****'s sake that's their FIRST ****ING CORNER and we've been in control the WHOLE GAME

Magpie
As soon as they got the corner I knew they were scoring. Come on boys.

NC1875
Just the usual then. **** off