View Full Version : Just passing through

17-01-2021, 05:19 PM
Someone once argued with me that Fabien Yantorno ever played for Hibs.

Any other examples of players that if you blinked you'd miss their Hibs career.

Thorsten Schmugge being another prime example

17-01-2021, 05:24 PM

A wee bit unfair on Yantorno, had a bad injury

17-01-2021, 05:24 PM
Didier Agathe and Andy Maclaren

17-01-2021, 05:25 PM
Didier Agathe and Andy Maclaren

Not sure Maclaren ever signed for Hibs, although he played a few games
Correct me if I’m wrong

17-01-2021, 05:28 PM
Correct me if I’m wrong

Yeah I think he only appeared as a trialist as we couldn’t find the money to sign him.

Correct me if I’m wrong

Nah he was in trial before going back to Killie as we couldn’t afford him.

The Count
Malcolm Robertson and Eamonn Bannon

Avi Cohen

Never signed but played in a trial and we discovered him 😃

17-01-2021, 05:29 PM
The young German centre back Collins signed Torben Joneleit.

Signed the same day as Wilkins. Schmugge played one game, in September 21st, 1996, a 2-0 win over Aberdeen.

I had to look him up. You are correct...I must have blinked!

Denes Rosa

17-01-2021, 05:32 PM
The young German centre back Collins signed Torben Joneleit.

He sounded like he would be incredible when we signed him :agree:

Latapy'sVolley
17-01-2021, 05:33 PM
Scott Bain

17-01-2021, 05:35 PM
Denes Rosa

What a player. Turned up at Celtic park with a bandage on his wrist and scudded the post with a free kick from 30 yards.

Fergos
17-01-2021, 05:36 PM
Ricky Hill, only played a reserve match but was here for like 2 seconds. Or less.

Ian Westwater, GK. Cannae mind how long tbf but sure it was a short spell.

17-01-2021, 05:40 PM
Earl Jean

Klaus Dietrich

17-01-2021, 05:41 PM
John Connoly, left winger signed by Ormond.

17-01-2021, 05:42 PM
Shefki Kuqi

17-01-2021, 05:43 PM
Jontan Johansson.

17-01-2021, 05:46 PM
Sven Mathieson and Isaak Refvik.

17-01-2021, 05:52 PM
Sven Mathieson and Isaak Refvik.Isaak was the one that got away. Brilliant debut, 2 goals v Morton and looked a star.
Couldnt get a work permit.
Think Sven was here a season at least but sadly the lesser player of the two

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

17-01-2021, 05:56 PM
Cammy Bell

17-01-2021, 06:00 PM
Lilian Martin, think he only played one game

17-01-2021, 06:05 PM

Connolly had a couple of seasons with us.

17-01-2021, 06:06 PM
Here's one.

Earl Jean. Signed it seemed purely because he was Wee Russells pal :greengrin dreadful one night in Perth in the freezing cold man, sure it was £1 to get in for some reason.

17-01-2021, 06:07 PM
Ricky Hill, only played a reserve match but was here for like 2 seconds. Or less.

Was Westwater not our goalkeeping coach for a few years?

17-01-2021, 06:08 PM
Tomas Cerny
Morten Hyldgaard
Otso Virtanen
Scott Bain
Cammy Bell
Mike Franks
Sean Murdoch
Tom Phillips
David Grof
Jakub Divis

There's a theme there. Tbf a few of them were never signed as anything other than cover but you'd struggle to reach double figure appearance between them.

17-01-2021, 06:09 PM
Ray Wilkins

17-01-2021, 06:10 PM
Here's one.

Earl Jean. Signed it seemed purely because he was Wee Russells pal :greengrin dreadful one night in Perth in the freezing cold man, sure it was £1 to get in for some reason.

Original game had been abandoned at HT because of snow. Really was reduced price to get in. Big Hibs support went up. I remember we were driving to the original game with the radio on going 'there's no way this will be on'. Arrived, looked at the pitch, couldn't believe it was on and weren't in the least surprised when it was abandoned.

17-01-2021, 06:11 PM

Late 90s early 2000s I used to go and watch the team train and be in the stadium about 2pm, all he done was launch long balls towards Colgan for half an hour :greengrin

17-01-2021, 06:12 PM
Here's one.

Still his countries all time top scorer at international level

17-01-2021, 06:13 PM
Original game had been abandoned at HT because of snow. Really was reduced price to get in. Big Hibs support went up. I remember we were driving to the original game with the radio on going 'there's no way this will be on'. Arrived, looked at the pitch, couldn't believe it was on and weren't in the least surprised when it was abandoned.

Thanks! Sure it was my first proper away trip. John ONeil possibly scored for them and the stands where mixed with no segregation. :agree:

John Connolly made 34 appearances for us.

you must have a long blink. :greengrin

Still his countries all time top scorer at international level

Ahead of Yorke? Wow! :aok:

17-01-2021, 06:17 PM
Ahead of Yorke? Wow! :aok:

Was Lyndon Andrews no Wee Russell’s BFF

Earl Jean played for Saint Lucia 20 goals from 23 appearances

No goals from 5 appearances for HIBS 😃

17-01-2021, 06:19 PM

No goals from 5 appearances for HIBS 😃

Aye but he played in 6-2 :greengrin

EJ was as good as the Tank for Hibs. :agree:

No goals from 5 appearances for HIBS [emoji2]I think so. He came on as a sub in the 6-2 game.

Was Earl Jean not a Sauzée signing when Latapy was already away?

He was indeed, right up until around 2005/06 I think.

17-01-2021, 06:20 PM
Aye but he played in 6-2 :greengrin

EJ was as good as the Tank for Hibs. :agree:

Big Dave

Slivka’s mate

17-01-2021, 06:28 PM
I think so. He came on as a sub in the 6-2 game.

Was Earl Jean not a Sauzée signing when Latapy was already away?

McLeish signing I think.

17-01-2021, 06:31 PM
Alan Gow.

17-01-2021, 06:33 PM
McLeish signing I think.Yeah, you're right.

17-01-2021, 06:33 PM
A while heap of players that came in during Lennons time. so many of them that never even got a game. Rherras was one but there were others

17-01-2021, 06:35 PM

Hill was brought over by Wee Bertie and given a sheepskin coat but played a couple of reserve’s games but was frozen to the point of hypothermia

Souter96Mac
17-01-2021, 06:38 PM
Johnathon Spector. Played one game, a win at Tynie and then retired at the end of the season

17-01-2021, 06:39 PM
Thanks! Sure it was my first proper away trip. John ONeil possibly scored for them and the stands where mixed with no segregation. :agree:

Was at the rearranged game. We got beat 1-0 thanks to a poor penalty award.

17-01-2021, 06:41 PM
Allan Smart, although he did score in a home game v St Johnstone.

17-01-2021, 06:42 PM
NHC but that Celtic player Lax Salts sounds like he is passing through. Quite quickly too.

17-01-2021, 06:43 PM
Who was the trialist who played at the PBS? Schmugge?

Who was the full back signing? Eardley?

headshrinker
17-01-2021, 06:43 PM
Willie Temperley signed from the “second to wear the green” . I thought he was a really good player and was disappointed he left after a very short time at the club. I think there had been problems behind the scene.

17-01-2021, 06:44 PM
Humphrey Rudge

17-01-2021, 06:44 PM
Kris Commons.

17-01-2021, 06:45 PM
The boy that punched Calum Elliott up town

17-01-2021, 06:47 PM
Neil Eardley
Faycal Rherras
Adam Eckersley
Patrick Noubissie
Antonio Murray

Lendo
17-01-2021, 06:48 PM
Am I going mad or did Ricardo Vaz Tè play for us briefly? Dunno who signed him.

17-01-2021, 06:49 PM
Who was the trialist who played at the PBS? Schmugge?

Who was the full back signing? Eardley?

Juha Rippa, I was there and witnessed the majesty of it

Me and my pals were talking about Dan Carmichael yesterday, he definitely falls into this category

17-01-2021, 06:51 PM

Calderwood. Scored against Hearts at ER.

Stanton Spence
17-01-2021, 06:53 PM
The boy that punched Calum Elliott up townThat was my neighbour Darren mcormack [emoji1303]

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

17-01-2021, 06:53 PM
Franck Dje Dje

17-01-2021, 06:54 PM
Going back a bit, Ian Black Snr.

17-01-2021, 06:55 PM
The boy that punched Calum Elliott up town

Darren McCormack but he was with us for 2 or 3 seasons.

Allan Smart, although he did score in a home game v St Johnstone.

Did he not score at Livvi away, Sunday game after AEK Athens at home

Stanton Spence
How about Lee Bailey??? He came on against Aberdeen I think it was in the late 80s the only reason I know this is he was my best mate at school [emoji12]

17-01-2021, 07:01 PM
Bjarne Larussen or whatever his name was only played a few games too

17-01-2021, 07:02 PM
Did he not score at Livvi away, Sunday game after AEK Athens at home

Not in that game Billy, we lost 1-0.

17-01-2021, 07:04 PM
Josh Sinclair
Morten Hyldegaard
Ivan Hurtado (el tanke)

17-01-2021, 07:04 PM

My memory of that game, aside from the huge Hibs support, is their keeper (Broto?) breaking his leg in the last couple of minutes and getting pelters from the Hibs support who thought he was at it.

17-01-2021, 07:05 PM
Young boy McGachie. Scored the winner against Aberdeen away I think and then didn't do much else if I remember rightly

Tommy75
17-01-2021, 07:05 PM

I think Westwater was with us for a few years. Never played much as I thought he was a player/coach?

Tommy75
17-01-2021, 07:09 PM
Lilian Martin, think he only played one game

Lilian Martin is the first player I thought of when this thread came up - his son played for Dundee Utd a few years ago.

17-01-2021, 07:09 PM
Found a list here of allegedly everyone that's played for us, does seem right, gives me the fear even reading some of the names on it

https://www.worldfootball.net/teams/hibernian-fc/10/

17-01-2021, 07:17 PM

Think you’re right, did Smart play that day?

17-01-2021, 07:18 PM
My memory of that game, aside from the huge Hibs support, is their keeper (Broto?) breaking his leg in the last couple of minutes and getting pelters from the Hibs support who thought he was at it.

Also remember Archie Lovell absolutely running the show for them in midfield as well. We let him go too early, for sure.

17-01-2021, 07:19 PM
Also remember Archie Lovell absolutely running the show for them in midfield as well. We let him go too early, for sure.

Think they paid him more than us, which became obvious not too long after

leith lynx
17-01-2021, 07:19 PM

Roddy Mckenzie, Hugh Hamill, Martin Henderson

17-01-2021, 07:20 PM
Think you’re right, did Smart play that day?

Aye he did.

norwayhibs
17-01-2021, 07:21 PM
Jarko Wiss

17-01-2021, 07:23 PM
Joe Ward :grr:

17-01-2021, 07:23 PM
Think they paid him more than us, which became obvious not too long after

I know that they were spending big at the time, but I think McLeish just let him go. Ian Murray played ahead of him in the Scottish Cup Final, IIRC.

Clarence
17-01-2021, 07:26 PM
Juha Rippa, I was there and witnessed the majesty of it

Me and my pals were talking about Dan Carmichael yesterday, he definitely falls into this category

I was there too. Any uncompromising midfielder who loved a lunge.

17-01-2021, 07:27 PM
I know that they were spending big at the time, but I think McLeish just let him go. Ian Murray played ahead of him in the Scottish Cup Final, IIRC.

That was a shocker, and probably why he left
Think he played most games before then

17-01-2021, 07:27 PM

Played a few and scored for us in the Derby .West Ham signed him and he played quite a few games in the premiership, not looking out of place .

Fergos
17-01-2021, 07:29 PM
Keith Watson.

Stubbsy signing. Full back.

Jamie McQuilken. Another full back, late 90s.

And anorher full back.....Zarabi, Algerian from memory?

Clarence
17-01-2021, 07:29 PM
Joe McLaughlin’s most notable contribution in a Hibs jersey was to get Chic Charnley booked for a bit of green on green hand bags if I remember correctly. That booking meant that he missed the rest of the season through suspension because of all the points he had racked up prior to joining Hibs. If I remember correctly.

Fergos
17-01-2021, 07:31 PM
I think Westwater was with us for a few years. Never played much as I thought he was a player/coach?

Aye. I stand corrected!

Rick Rude
17-01-2021, 07:32 PM
I seem to recall us spending money to buy Rab Shannon in the mid 90s and he played all of about 3 games

17-01-2021, 07:33 PM
Brian McLean, played once or twice in the Championship.

17-01-2021, 07:35 PM
Brian McLean, played once or twice in the Championship.

Remember him playing at Dunfermline away

Bobo
17-01-2021, 07:36 PM
John Brogan, I always thought he was a great striker and wanted Hibs to sign him but sadly when we eventually did he was hopeless and only started a handful of games before moving on.

17-01-2021, 07:43 PM
I know that they were spending big at the time, but I think McLeish just let him go. Ian Murray played ahead of him in the Scottish Cup Final, IIRC.I think Lovell's demands were too high for Hibs, but Livi stumped up.

TheGreenMan
17-01-2021, 07:47 PM
Harry the Greek!

TheGreenMan
17-01-2021, 07:47 PM
Ismael Feruz

my left peg
17-01-2021, 07:48 PM
Malcolm Robertson...
Fat wee hearts winger Pat Stanton signed after meeting him in Waverley station.

17-01-2021, 07:48 PM
Neil Eardley
Faycal Rherras
Adam Eckersley
Patrick Noubissie
Antonio Murray

Al in the Ryan McGivern territory of being absolutely pap. :top marks

TheGreenMan
17-01-2021, 07:50 PM
Abdellah Zoubir. Playing with Quarabag now, think they're pretty decent

17-01-2021, 07:56 PM
Eardley, Eckersley, Rherras, Mavrias, Charmichael. May have been mentioned already but couldnt be bothered reading the 4 pages to check

17-01-2021, 08:07 PM
Don't think Nelom has been mentioned...his only plus point was that he wasn't quite as bad as Mavrais.

Perd Hapley
17-01-2021, 08:09 PM
Brian McLean, Brian Graham (maybe a bit harsh, he contributed a bit in the promotion season), Neal Eardley, Chris Humphrey, Daniel Boateng and Henri Anier. Humphrey and Anier could have played more in different circumstances, but they didn't

Also: Jake Sinclair

17-01-2021, 08:22 PM
Josh Vela

17-01-2021, 08:25 PM
Avi Cohen

Never signed but played in a trial and we discovered him 😃

Never heard of this one. Are you thinking of Rosenthal?

davemcbain
17-01-2021, 08:26 PM
Emelio Bottiglieri (half a game and cheered every time he touched the ball)

17-01-2021, 08:29 PM
Phil Airey

17-01-2021, 08:38 PM
John Connoly, left winger signed by Ormond.I remember him scoring a spectacular goal at Hamilton in our season in First Division in 80 - 81 .

17-01-2021, 08:53 PM
Never heard of this one. Are you thinking of Rosenthal?

Aye him Rosenthal 😃

Scored a hatrick in a bounce game and Liverpool stole him from us

Would take Cohen tae

17-01-2021, 09:01 PM
That wee ginger laddie that Butcher (****) brought in got smashed in a cup game and was done? Educated boy and was in a game I seen in the Championship recently.

17-01-2021, 09:02 PM
That wee ginger laddie that Butcher (****) brought in got smashed in a cup game and was done? Educated boy and was in a game I seen in the Championship recently.

Duncan Watmore

17-01-2021, 09:04 PM
Junior Agogo.

17-01-2021, 09:05 PM
Akpo Sodje, missed about 10 sitters away to Aberdeen, sure we lost 1-0

17-01-2021, 09:12 PM
How about Lee Bailey??? He came on against Aberdeen I think it was in the late 80s the only reason I know this is he was my best mate at school [emoji12]

I was at that game. He had a great goals record for the reserves so I was really excited to see him play. He was pish in that game. He never got out of Brian Irvine’s pocket.

Paul McGovern was another one who was brilliant for the reserves who couldn’t step up.

17-01-2021, 09:13 PM
Reading this thread it just shows you that we've signed some compete and utter dross eh. Some of those names really make you shudder. :bitchy:

17-01-2021, 09:18 PM
Reading this thread it just shows you that we've signed some compete and utter dross eh. Some of those names really make you shudder. :bitchy:

Indeed but the same goes for every team.

Ah, just remembered the one who's name escaped me - Janos Matyus.

Jumbo
17-01-2021, 09:25 PM
Fabrice Henry, he was a McLeish signing?

leith lynx
17-01-2021, 09:35 PM
Paul Power, Mark Caughey (World Cup star!) Tom Carson and Jim Donaldson (goalkeepers)

17-01-2021, 09:36 PM
The showumni brothers

TheGreenMan
17-01-2021, 09:44 PM
Dalglish!

17-01-2021, 10:01 PM
George Best every now and then 😃

17-01-2021, 10:08 PM
Didn't make me shudder because I couldn't remember most of them😅

The Baldmans Comb
17-01-2021, 10:09 PM
Hakim Sar Toumsary was a French player who played one game around the Sauzee era.

He might have come on as a substitute and that was enough.

17-01-2021, 10:09 PM
Paul Power, Mark Caughey (World Cup star!) Tom Carson and Jim Donaldson (goalkeepers)

Lee Power and Ally Donaldson I think. Paul Power was the Man City captain with a tache to rival Rod’s. Never with us though as a player.

17-01-2021, 10:14 PM
Hakim Sar Toumsary was a French player who played one game around the Sauzee era.

He might have come on as a substitute and that was enough.

Was a McLeish signing. Came on at Brockville in a league cup game and created the winner for Latapy, IIRC. We won 2-1 after extra time.

leith lynx
17-01-2021, 10:19 PM
Lee Power and Ally Donaldson I think. Paul Power was the Man City captain with a tache to rival Rod’s. Never with us though as a player.

Stand corrected, lots of lager under the bridge!

17-01-2021, 10:22 PM

I remember a rumour at the time that McLeish thought he was leaking stuff to the press and that’s why he was dropped towards the end of the season then let go.

17-01-2021, 10:23 PM
Martin McIntosh. Signed for a decent fee, got injured, we brought in Gary Smith as a short-term replacement but such was his form McIntosh never got back in the team.

17-01-2021, 10:25 PM
Martin McIntosh. Signed for a decent fee, got injured, we brought in Gary Smith as a short-term replacement but such was his form McIntosh never got back in the team.

I think he got sent off in the last game of the 1999-2000 season at Tynie, and therefore missed the first game of the next one, again away at Hearts. Paul Fenwick took his position and he never got back in. Smith was also excellent but played right side in that back three.

The Baldmans Comb
17-01-2021, 10:25 PM
Was a McLeish signing. Came on at Brockville in a league cup game and created the winner for Latapy, IIRC. We won 2-1 after extra time.

I meant Sauzee as a player rather than as a manager. I sure thought it was at an Easter Road game but many thanks for the detailed information.

leith lynx
17-01-2021, 10:27 PM
Bobby Torrance, Bobby Flavell, Gerry O’Brien,Rikki Fleming, Jas Brown

darwenhibby
17-01-2021, 10:33 PM
What about Peter Gucci? The Austrian boy

17-01-2021, 10:34 PM
I meant Sauzee as a player rather than as a manager. I sure thought it was at an Easter Road game but many thanks for the detailed information.

Apologies, thought you meant a Sauzee signing. Think he maybe made a handful of appearances so may have played at ER also.

17-01-2021, 10:36 PM
Don't think Nelom has been mentioned...his only plus point was that he wasn't quite as bad as Mavrais.

Was Mavrias that bad?

I only remember him playing one game at ER and he was OK. Not great but not terrible. I remember Graeme Mathie being challenged about him (among others) at the last AGM and saying he was brought in for a specific purpose and he served that before moving on with a mutual agreement. He accepted some others had been bad signings so I'd give him the benefit of the doubt and say it wasn't waffle.

He had a pretty decent career before Hibs and has played regularly for the Cypriot champions since leaving.

17-01-2021, 10:40 PM
Was Mavrias that bad?

I only remember him playing one game at ER and he was OK. Not great but not terrible. I remember Graeme Mathie being challenged about him (among others) at the last AGM and saying he was brought in for a specific purpose and he served that before moving on with a mutual agreement. He accepted some others had been bad signings so I'd give him the benefit of the doubt and say it wasn't waffle.

He had a pretty decent career before Hibs and has played regularly for the Cypriot champions since leaving.

That’s what I remember too, think he played in a 2-2 draw against St. Mirren at ER, when Adam Hammill scored for them from about the halfway line.

Was unremarkable as opposed to bad. I think the same was true for Nelom? Honestly can’t remember what games he featured in.

17-01-2021, 10:44 PM
Was Mavrias that bad?

Hmmmm...I just remember us sitting there incredulous that this guy played for Greece. He had nothing about him at all.

While we're on right backs - Fraser Mullen.

17-01-2021, 11:21 PM

Schmugge played one match for Hibs as a trialist and did not sign or was not offered a contract.

You could argue that he was never a Hibs player.

hibeeleicester
17-01-2021, 11:46 PM
Anyone remember Joe Keenan?

18-01-2021, 04:42 AM
Al in the Ryan McGivern territory of being absolutely pap. :top marks

McGivern was genuinely good during his first 18 months here. Definitely had a disaster under Butcher, though. He must've played more games than those guys combined, they were only gap fillers.

18-01-2021, 05:18 AM
Paul Dalglish

18-01-2021, 05:26 AM
Jonathan Spector

Sweet Left Peg
18-01-2021, 07:15 AM

My god, he was honking. He was at Chelsea before us, I think? My abiding memory of him was attempting a outside of the left foot pass out towards the old terracing touchline,connecting with the INSIDE of it and the ball swerving the wrong way out of play some 30 yards from its intended target.

18-01-2021, 07:18 AM

He’s up there in the list of “never good enough to wear our shirt”....

18-01-2021, 07:25 AM
I'm racking my brains trying to think of the big huddy defender we once got from Morton (I think) in the late 80s.

18-01-2021, 07:26 AM
Goalkeeper Samatulski (sp) Seem to remember he was pretty decent, but couldn't kick the ball that well.

18-01-2021, 08:18 AM
Chris Humphrey.

Antonio Reguero.

Henri Anier.

Alan Gow.

Daniel Boateng.

Torben Joneleit.

18-01-2021, 08:29 AM
Have we mentioned Mark Caughey yet ?

Logie Green
18-01-2021, 08:37 AM
Conrad Logan. 😜

Neil4Hibs
18-01-2021, 08:40 AM
Jermaine Pennant - I saw him play in Lewis Stephenson testimonial and I think he played a few others but probably only ever as a triallist

18-01-2021, 08:54 AM
Schmugge played one match for Hibs as a trialist and did not sign or was not offered a contract.

You could argue that he was never a Hibs player.

The only reserve game I ever went to was the schmugge game . He looked good in the trial and if I recall he scored a beauty goal .

18-01-2021, 09:04 AM
I'm racking my brains trying to think of the big huddy defender we once got from Morton (I think) in the late 80s.

You thinking of Billy McLaren? That was more early 80s though I think. And he did a decent job for us so wouldn’t describe him as a huddy.

18-01-2021, 09:11 AM
Alan Gow.

Daryl Duffy

leith lynx
18-01-2021, 09:19 AM
Conrad Logan. 😜
Goalkeepers Jack Reilly, Eddie Pryce, Hugh Whyte, David Huggins, David Grof, also Austrian defender Klaus Deitrich, emptied early doors by McLeish.

Stanton Spence
18-01-2021, 09:26 AM
I was at that game. He had a great goals record for the reserves so I was really excited to see him play. He was pish in that game. He never got out of Brian Irvine’s pocket.

Paul McGovern was another one who was brilliant for the reserves who couldn’t step up.Great shout Winston [emoji1303] I didn't think anyone would get the Lee Bailey one he was a really good player in the youth teams and ended up with Meadowbank and just faded away like most talented laddies do. Moved across to Fife and now a driving instructor last I heard

THESHIP
18-01-2021, 11:31 AM
Steven Pinau

18-01-2021, 11:35 AM
Zarabi, yon left back with concrete in his boots and a penchant for slapping his team mates on the arse as they were getting subbed off.

Used to hide behind his centre half and only at the last millisecond sprint out to his wing to try and block crosses, always a day late and a dollar short. Terrible player.

18-01-2021, 11:42 AM
You thinking of Billy McLaren? That was more early 80s though I think. And he did a decent job for us so wouldn’t describe him as a huddy.

Actually was late 90s not 80s - oops. And he went to Morton not from Morton.

Derek Anderson was who I was thinking of.

18-01-2021, 12:34 PM
Conrad Logan, only played 4 games for Hibs. But now a Hibs legend and will be remembered for arguably the best ever performance by a Hibs GK in a game!

18-01-2021, 12:37 PM
Did Jamie Insall ever play a 1st team game?

He must have loads of pictures and videos from Cup Final day, and the aftermath in the days after

18-01-2021, 12:37 PM
Conrad Logan. 😜

Sorry just saw this. I hope we give him a testimonial at the end of career, if any Hibs GK deserved one it's him.

my left peg
18-01-2021, 12:56 PM
Who remembers a midfielder called James Brown,played in the old first division 1980/81...alongside Jim Brown at right back and Steve Brown up front,just to confuse matters!

18-01-2021, 01:08 PM
Conrad Logan. 😜

Conrad Logan, only played 4 games for Hibs. But now a Hibs legend and hubs be remembered for arguably the best ever performance by a Hibs GK in a game!

Chris Dagnall has a winner's medal and will always be part of our history for being in the final squad.

18-01-2021, 01:18 PM
Who remembers a midfielder called James Brown,played in the old first division 1980/81...alongside Jim Brown at right back and Steve Brown up front,just to confuse matters!

James K Brown aka Jas Brown. Long curly hair and a nightmare of a player.

18-01-2021, 01:24 PM

Steve Brown IIRC got to play in two Scottish Cup Final replays.....

18-01-2021, 02:40 PM
Few ‘good’ ones here

Chris Humphrey

Matt Thornhill

Martin Canning

Oumar Konde

Janos Matyus

Paul Airey

Danny Hayes

18-01-2021, 02:57 PM
Few ‘good’ ones here

Chris Humphrey

Matt Thornhill

Martin Canning

Oumar Konde

Janos Matyus

Paul Airey

Danny Hayes

Was it not Phil Airey?

18-01-2021, 02:59 PM

Also known asJK Brown

Logie Green
18-01-2021, 03:06 PM

I think he made his debut at East Stirlingshire in the First Division and was welcomed by chants of ‘“who the f***ing hell are you?”.

18-01-2021, 03:08 PM
Ryan Gauld is the passer through I would have loved to have seen have a run of games.

18-01-2021, 03:13 PM
Was it not Phil Airey?
Might well have been, can mind him playing one game away at Kilmarnock and he was hopeless. Don’t think he played again

Allez Hibs
18-01-2021, 03:17 PM
Peter Guggi

Craig Rocastle

18-01-2021, 03:23 PM
Did Jamie Insall ever play a 1st team game?

He must have loads of pictures and videos from Cup Final day, and the aftermath in the days after

Nah.

Came on as a sub in a preseason game v Birmingham at Easter Rd

Percy Vere
18-01-2021, 03:40 PM
Not quite the same but we nearly signed David Platt, before he became an England International. Story goes Alex Millar had the choice of Platt or Gareth Evans. He went Evans.

18-01-2021, 03:42 PM
Not quite the same but we nearly signed David Platt, before he became an England International. Story goes Alex Millar had the choice of Platt or Gareth Evans. He went Evans.

That's not true.

Hibs had agreed a fee with Crewe. Aston Villa came in with a higher bid and gazumped us.

Platt never had any intentiion of coming to Scotland.

Allez Hibs
18-01-2021, 03:45 PM
The Steve Archibald signing must be one of the most amazing opportune signing stories. To sign Archibald from a good Barcelona team ahead of a good Liverpool team is unbelievable.

18-01-2021, 03:47 PM
Paul Dalglish

Set up Benji in a derby win.

18-01-2021, 03:48 PM
McGivern was genuinely good during his first 18 months here. Definitely had a disaster under Butcher, though. He must've played more games than those guys combined, they were only gap fillers.

Nah for me he was pap. His floated throw ins done my nut in and Kevin McHattie roasted him on numerous derbies.

18-01-2021, 03:53 PM
Nah for me he was pap. His floated throw ins done my nut in and Kevin McHattie roasted him on numerous derbies.

Wasn't mchattie a left back? Definitely do not remember him roasting anyone.

McGivern wasn't genuinely decent on loan. There's a reason he joined permanently.

18-01-2021, 04:09 PM
Wasn't mchattie a left back? Definitely do not remember him roasting anyone.

McGivern wasn't genuinely decent on loan. There's a reason he joined permanently.

Only thing I remember of Mchattie in a Derby was being roasted by Alex Harris.

18-01-2021, 04:52 PM
Only thing I remember of Mchattie in a Derby was being roasted by Alex Harris.

Got roasted by Wotherspoon in the cup tie as well.

18-01-2021, 05:05 PM
Franck Dje Dje

Set up Farid’s goal in the derby in the Championship I’m sure?

18-01-2021, 05:12 PM
Set up Farid’s goal in the derby in the Championship I’m sure?

Scored a great header Vs livi in the last minute too. Actually thought he was alright.

18-01-2021, 05:16 PM
I can place every one of these names except one from the mid 70s on. Phil Airey!??! I have absolutely no recollection him at all. He must have had some impact when I can remember the others but not him

18-01-2021, 05:21 PM

Not McHattie, you're thinking of someone else.

18-01-2021, 06:29 PM
I can place every one of these names except one from the mid 70s on. Phil Airey!??! I have absolutely no recollection him at all. He must have had some impact when I can remember the others but not him

Think he played one game during the Fenlon era.

18-01-2021, 06:33 PM
I seem to recall that he went back to Newcastle early because he couldn't settle?

18-01-2021, 06:34 PM

Kilmarnock away, then went back to Newcastle for the weekend, and never came back

18-01-2021, 06:37 PM
Not McHattie, you're thinking of someone else.

Yeah probably some other young pup that ended up at East Fife or the likes.

I would take Scotty Rob from Livi and give him his go here though. Hibee growing up.

18-01-2021, 06:37 PM
Kilmarnock away, then went back to Newcastle for the weekend, and never came back

Didn’t look too bad iirc...career went nowhere afterwards...was homesick was he not ??

18-01-2021, 06:38 PM
Didn’t look too bad iirc...career went nowhere afterwards...was homesick was he not ??

That’s all I can think of

18-01-2021, 06:42 PM

Ta for the replies. Was he just a young lad from Newcastle youth/reserve teams? It's ringing a very faint bell

18-01-2021, 06:43 PM
Ta for the replies. Was he just a young lad from Newcastle youth/reserve teams? It's ringing a very faint bell

Yep. That’s the fella

18-01-2021, 06:50 PM
Yeah probably some other young pup that ended up at East Fife or the likes.

I would take Scotty Rob from Livi and give him his go here though. Hibee growing up.

Wee guy from dumydikes Celtic fan if I recall

MKHIBEE
18-01-2021, 07:03 PM
Didn’t we have some unfit overweight keeper make 2 appearances about 5 years ago?

18-01-2021, 10:58 PM
Damon Gray

18-01-2021, 11:24 PM

I was quite enjoying this thread until you mentioned Lee Power, dreadful player, and another one from around that time, Stuart Turnbull, 2 of the worst players I ever saw in a Hibs jersey. On the subject of players that only played 1 or 2 games, what about Tony Caig, the 'goalkeeper'? He was rank as well.

MagicSwirlingShip
18-01-2021, 11:27 PM
Caig chucked a few in against Dunfermline in a rainy midweek match. We were awful that night

TheGog
18-01-2021, 11:32 PM
Jermain Pennant

18-01-2021, 11:42 PM
Peter Guggi

Craig Rocastle

He was decent and I wish we'd managed to keep hold of him, think he went back to Sheffield Wednesday.

19-01-2021, 06:02 AM
He was decent and I wish we'd managed to keep hold of him, think he went back to Sheffield Wednesday.

Was on loan from Chelsea, they released him and signed for Shef Wed on a free.

20-01-2021, 02:33 PM

It was because of Airey's short term stay that we ended up getting Griffiths on loan, so it worked out well in the end.

20-01-2021, 02:44 PM

He was a Colin Calderwood signing. He rated him more highly than Leigh.

20-01-2021, 02:47 PM
Peter Guggi

Craig Rocastle

Thought he was very good. Remember a game at Tannadice he strolled. Can't remember why his stay was so short.

*just saw earlier post on this

20-01-2021, 02:48 PM
Thought he was very good. Remember a game at Tannadice he strolled. Can't remember why his stay was so short.

I think it was just a short term loan and we couldn't afford to keep him at the end of it.

20-01-2021, 02:51 PM
Marc Libbra. Outstanding talent.

20-01-2021, 02:53 PM
Ricardo Vaz Te

20-01-2021, 05:37 PM
I think it was just a short term loan and we couldn't afford to keep him at the end of it.
He was in the papers about leaving to break into the Chelsea first team and the day later signed for Sheff Wed

Hibs1969
20-01-2021, 08:08 PM
Gael Bigirimana. Short term deal from Motherwell, one appearance (from the bench iirc) and never seen again.

heidtheba
20-01-2021, 09:08 PM
Nah he was in trial before going back to Killie as we couldn’t afford him.

I think Bobby Williamson (who had worked with him before) paid Maclaren's triallist 'wages' out of his own pocket?

heidtheba
20-01-2021, 09:15 PM

I seem to remember him being one of those loan signings that lots of people had down as a 'must get him signed up on a perm as he is a declaration of intent' kinda player. And he wasn't bad...until we stumped up the cash.
Who was the really young guy who made a debut at 16. Jamie someone I think?

heidtheba
20-01-2021, 09:17 PM
Antonio Murray? Early Mowbray era I think.

Casey1875
21-01-2021, 12:22 AM
I seem to remember him being one of those loan signings that lots of people had down as a 'must get him signed up on a perm as he is a declaration of intent' kinda player. And he wasn't bad...until we stumped up the cash.
Who was the really young guy who made a debut at 16. Jamie someone I think?

Jamie mcclusky, think he made his debut at East End Park.

21-01-2021, 12:26 AM
Marc Libbra. Outstanding talent.
Was in the Celtic end at Parkhead when we drew 1-1 and Libbra scored. It was hard to stay quiet 😁

21-01-2021, 06:58 AM
Jamie mcclusky, think he made his debut at East End Park.

Rugby Park. Came on as a sub.

21-01-2021, 08:54 AM
Gael Bigirimana. Short term deal from Motherwell, one appearance (from the bench iirc) and never seen again.

I'm sure it was a game against Aberdeen when Oli Shaw scored for us.

He was solid, but another one of these baffling signings where we just chucked money at a player for one appearance.

21-01-2021, 08:35 PM
Good account to follow on Twitter @TheHibsAreHere for some nostalgia goals from the 90’s.. a few memories just like this thread

Jumbo
22-01-2021, 08:55 PM
Terry Wilson signed him from Arbroath 1980, remember him scoring at Ayr in a League Cup tie

22-01-2021, 09:36 PM
Was in the Celtic end at Parkhead when we drew 1-1 and Libbra scored. It was hard to stay quiet 😁

I mind watching that game with my mum whilst doing the ironing.