View Full Version : Biggest Hibs Away Supports
09-01-2021, 11:39 PM
Not including semi finals or finals, what is the largest away support we've taken? Two biggest I remember are Rangers in the Scottish Cup in 2006, must have had around 6/7k and Motherwell last game of the season around the same year when we filled the big stand behind the goal and most of the main stand. Been a couple sell outs at Kilmarnock too.
Would be interested to know if anyone has seen bigger away supports over the years.
07BigD
09-01-2021, 11:43 PM
Probably the last time The Rangers ever gave us such a large allocation, what a time to be alive.
Sent from my CPH1931 using Tapatalk
09-01-2021, 11:53 PM
Livingston away a few years ago? Must have been around 5-6,000 Hibs fans there.
09-01-2021, 11:54 PM
The Masters at Manchester Gmex 😂. Ok wasn't the biggest away crowd but the organisers probably only expected about 200 Hibs fans.
Stanton Spence
09-01-2021, 11:55 PM
I can't remember many huge supports outside what you stated but in European away supports I seem to remember us taking a right decent crowd over to liege in 89. There seemed to be hibbys everywhere and our ferry was rammed
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
Allez Hibs
10-01-2021, 12:01 AM
Livingston away in 2001 after the AEK Athens 2nd leg.
Kilmarnock away in Scottish Cup 2001 and 2013.
Sauerkraut
10-01-2021, 12:08 AM
Anderlecht away, early-mid nineties. Brussels was heaving, filled one end. Great view of it, as me and my mate were the only 2 Hibbies high up in the 'main' stand.
10-01-2021, 12:14 AM
Not including semi finals or finals, what is the largest away support we've taken? Two biggest I remember are Rangers in the Scottish Cup in 2006, must have had around 6/7k and Motherwell last game of the season around the same year when we filled the big stand behind the goal and most of the main stand. Been a couple sell outs at Kilmarnock too.
Would be interested to know if anyone has seen bigger away supports over the years.
Thats a myth, there was Rangers fans in that stand segregated at one side. 5k Hibs fans tops imo.
10-01-2021, 12:14 AM
Been at them all
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
10-01-2021, 12:19 AM
Been at them all
I remember being at the Sproule 0-3 game M, there was 20,000 Hibs fans there, at least everyone I've spoken to was there...not the 900 that we got allocated.
10-01-2021, 12:20 AM
Dundee utd away in the Scottish around 2002/3? Filled the shed and the usual fair play/Jim McLean stand iirc.
10-01-2021, 12:23 AM
Not the biggest, but certainly one of the most impressive was the 4K we took to Killie in March 2013, not even a year after our 2012 disaster and the game was live on SKY and BBC1 .... to take that many in those circumstances was superb .. great result too :greengrin
houstonhibbee
10-01-2021, 12:44 AM
love st for george’s debut
there was 21k at firhill in Jan 72 for sc 3rdcround at least half were hibbys
73 - 74 papers reckoned we took 10k to big matches including ibrox and elland road
dundee away 73 in sc replay over 30k at dens
again must have been 10k hibbys
houstonhibbee
10-01-2021, 12:50 AM
7-0 game had 36k typical crowds for new year derby. Must have been around 15k hibbys at that one
although about 30k claimed to have been at it 🤔
10-01-2021, 01:20 AM
Livingston away in 2001 after the AEK Athens 2nd leg.
Kilmarnock away in Scottish Cup 2001 and 2013.
I'm sure there was about 7000 of us there.
Beat 1 nil 😬
10-01-2021, 01:21 AM
Thats a myth, there was Rangers fans in that stand segregated at one side. 5k Hibs fans tops imo.
There was about 20 rangers fans in the stand. 200 tops. But agreed about 5k tops. Looks good from the angles on sportscene tho.
10-01-2021, 01:48 AM
Dunfermline April 98 when there was still a slim chance of beating relegation.
The crowd is given as 12,749 but was well above capacity (there was still terracing behind each goal). I reckon there was 7k+ Hibs supporters there. We sat in an aisle in the main stand along with many others. When a steward tried to move us we told him to find us seats and we'd happily use them. He never came back.
Brian Welsh equalised late on in a 1-1 draw after Bryan Gunn headed the ball on having gone up for a corner.
CloudSquall
10-01-2021, 02:14 AM
The stand at Ibrox during that cup game in 2006 was shaking under the Hibees Bounce, 14 years, jeezo..
10-01-2021, 02:53 AM
The crowd is given as 12,749 but was well above capacity (there was still terracing behind each goal). I reckon there was 7k+ Hibs supporters there. We sat in an aisle in the main stand along with many others. When a steward tried to move us we told him to find us seats and we'd happily use them. He never came back.
Brian Welsh equalised late on in a 1-1 draw after Bryan Gunn headed the ball on having gone up for a corner.
My first ever away game. Hibs must’ve had a wee bit of their man stand as I was sat in there, basically 90 degree angle to the Hibs open terrace end. I have absolutely no idea why but all I can mind from back then is the size of Andy Smiths ears
Hulk1875
10-01-2021, 02:59 AM
About 40,000 at 2004 cup final v livi
This was the game I thougnt of. Queuing from 1pm and I was still well back.
OstKurve Hibs
10-01-2021, 06:01 AM
Probably the last time The Rangers ever gave us such a large allocation, what a time to be alive.
Sent from my CPH1931 using Tapatalk
Cos they dont have a choice, was scottish cup so away teams can demand a certain percentage of the stadium.
May21/05/216
10-01-2021, 06:19 AM
the 1991 league cup final versus Dunfermline i know there were some hibbys that didnt get in
in Scotland in england it was we played Leeds in the UEFA cup
but the most memorable was when we played a pre season tournament in the isle of man what a trip that was the game in speel was great
Alfiembra
10-01-2021, 06:44 AM
I remember going to Joe Harper’s debut against Falkirk at the old Brockville, place didn’t hold many but the place was rammed with hibbys at least 5k.
seanshow
10-01-2021, 07:33 AM
Not old enough to go back to the b&w days or even the George Best games,
but late 80s away to Clydebank I remember we took a fair rabble through to that game, a cup tie and got beat 1nil. :(
They had the all seater stadium (well benches you could stand on) lol
Bearders
10-01-2021, 07:41 AM
Videoton - we took more than Man Utd who were there the previous season.
10-01-2021, 07:51 AM
I remember being at the Sproule 0-3 game M, there was 20,000 Hibs fans there, at least everyone I've spoken to was there...not the 900 that we got allocated.
How would 20000 fit into the tiny corner bit surely the police didn't allow that. :greengrin
Huge support in the League cup semi in the mid eighties at Ibrox despite half at kick off being stuck on the motorway due to an accident. Was brilliant getting to the final on aggregate.
Key West
10-01-2021, 07:57 AM
Going off at a tangent one of the most memorable experiences was at the 2-1 defeat of Hearts, we were brutal in the first half, Hibs brought on Konte ( yes I know what you are thinking ) but he changed the game with his awkwardness and Dean Shiels scored the winner, which almost made up for the time when Gordon got him sent off.
10-01-2021, 08:00 AM
We used to take some big away supports to cup ties in the 60s and 70s. The cup replay at Dens in the early 70s for example when the gate was over 30000. We lost of course! One of the biggest of recent times that I've been at would be the boxing day game at Tannadice in Mowbrays days. We must have had over 5000 up that day.
10-01-2021, 08:02 AM
We used to take some big away supports to cup ties in the 60s and 70s. The cup replay at Dens in the early 70s for example when the gate was over 30000. We lost of course! One of the biggest of recent times that I've been at would be the boxing day game at Tannadice in Mowbrays days. We must have had over 5000 up that day.
Was the 2 1 game when Simon Brown let in an absolute howler. Weak effort he somehow let squirm through his arms.
Does the away game at Tyne against a junior team ( can’t mind their name ) lithgow rose ? a few years back count ? .didn’t we fill 3 sides
10-01-2021, 08:08 AM
Was the 2 1 game when Simon Brown let in an absolute howler. Weak effort he somehow let squirm through his arms.
No, a 4-1 win. A great day out for a change!
10-01-2021, 08:15 AM
The Dunfermilne game in the relegation season was the one that immediately sprung to mind for me too. We arrived at about 1pm and the queue was already huge. The terrace behind the goals was far fuller than it should have been.
We took some seriously impressive travelling supports away that season. There was a game away to St Johnstone (Tony Rougier equalised with a last minute penalty) where we filled being the goals and had fans in another stand as well. Crowd was given as about 6500 and close to 5K of that must have been Hibs fans. Same at Tannadice a couple of weeks earlier.
I also remember a big Hibs away support at Tannadice the season we finished 3rd under Mowbray. 27th December and we won 4-1. We packed out the shed behind the goals and again had fans in the stand where the dug outs are. I'm sure the official attendance was over 10000 and that was largely down to the Hibs support.
10-01-2021, 08:19 AM
Place was almost full by 2pm, can't remember if Hins putmon free busses that day? Love to know how many of us were in the ground that day.
10-01-2021, 08:32 AM
Picture here gives an idea of the Hibs support at Dunfermilne.
10-01-2021, 08:55 AM
The stand holds 7500, there was a very small band of rangers fans nearest their main stand (I was sat the seat beside the segregation), would’ve been at least 6000/6500 Hibs fans.
10-01-2021, 09:00 AM
Good one. Had forgotten about that.
wallpaperman
10-01-2021, 09:01 AM
Going back a bit but the 1985 league cup semi final second leg at Ibrox must be up there.
We had the full Broomloan Stand which holds 7.5k and it was more or less full to my memory (I was in the top tier), though it took a while to fill up due to bad delays on the M8.
When you think that Hibs reglular support was really quite low in those days, that was a phenomenal support for a midweek game in Glasgow, though not being live on the telly in those days helped get people through, plus holding a 2-0 lead. Me and my Dad went through on one of the buses from Easter Road that the club regularly organised at that time.
Edit: whoops, just noticed that the OP said not semi finals. Oh well, I’ll leave it there anyway.
h1bs4life
10-01-2021, 09:11 AM
October 85 Away to the Huns 2nd League Cup Semi Final. We lost 1-0 but went through 2-1 on aggregate.
Almost filled away stand , at the start of the game stand was fairly empty , thousands of Hibs fans stuck in the traffic still arriving at half time.
Highlights on YouTube , can hear us signing throughout the game , stand look empty at start , almost full at final whistle .
1st time I felt safe at Ibrox
10-01-2021, 09:15 AM
I think the 85 LC 2nd leg at Ibrox was bigger than the 2006 cup game. But I suppose it was a semi!
Edit: Should’ve read the full thread!
10-01-2021, 09:20 AM
Does the away game at Tyne against a junior team ( can’t mind their name ) lithgow rose ? a few years back count ? .didn’t we fill 3 sides
Bonnyrigg Rose. It should count.
10-01-2021, 09:35 AM
Fantastic picture plus we had half the stand opposite the main stand as well
10-01-2021, 09:45 AM
The Dunfermilne game in the relegation season was the one that immediately sprung to mind for me too. We arrived at about 1pm and the queue was already huge. The terrace behind the goals was far fuller than it should have been.
We took some seriously impressive travelling supports away that season. There was a game away to St Johnstone (Tony Rougier equalised with a last minute penalty) where we filled being the goals and had fans in another stand as well. Crowd was given as about 6500 and close to 5K of that must have been Hibs fans. Same at Tannadice a couple of weeks earlier.
I also remember a big Hibs away support at Tannadice the season we finished 3rd under Mowbray. 27th December and we won 4-1. We packed out the shed behind the goals and again had fans in the stand where the dug outs are. I'm sure the official attendance was over 10000 and that was largely down to the Hibs support.
It was heaving at that Dunfermline game, I remember even the aisles were full of people as there just wasn’t enough room on the terraces. Whatever they gave as the attendance was wrong as the away end was so overcrowded.
Weegreenman
10-01-2021, 09:51 AM
I remember us taking a huge away support to Tannadice late Eighties I think it was. Got to have been 5k easy
Great atmosphere but as per usual we were let down.
Seen us take huge followings to East End park and Rugby park over the years.
I remember being in Brussels vs Anderlecht. I’d guess between 3k or 4K Hibees
For the 3-0 cup game versus Rangers I was staying in Carmel, California. At lunchtime I went to Pebble Beach where they were preparing for the AT & T tournament starting that week. I had a beer in The Lodge where the barman recognised my accent. Hey he said, we have some Scottish guys come in here every Sunday, they're Glasgow Rangers fans & they go home every year for the Cup Final. Aye, well they'll no need to bother this year I said! I was tempted to remain & see them but it could only end badly. I just asked the barman to pass on my best wishes, from a Hibs fan. I would have loved to be a fly on the wall!
Potty78
10-01-2021, 10:33 AM
Sure we took a massive support up to Perth for a cup tie in 98/99 and we got humped 4 0!
10-01-2021, 10:37 AM
We took at least 6,000 to the cup tie at St Johnstone where Houchen got sent off. Also, some large away supports at Tiny when we got some of the main stand and the Georgie Road end.
10-01-2021, 10:37 AM
Sure we took a massive support up to Perth for a cup tie in 98/99 and we got humped 4 0!
We did.
I mentioned it on another thread just the other day. It was properly poisonous for the last 20 minutes or so with the Hibs board getting dogs abuse.
bringbackbenny
10-01-2021, 10:40 AM
Used to take big away supports to Parkhead in the late 80's and early 90s before it was all seated. Maybe 3-4k on average?
G15 Hibs
10-01-2021, 10:49 AM
Place was almost full by 2pm, can't remember if Hins putmon free busses that day? Love to know how many of us were in the ground that day.
Aye, the club ran buses to that game and the St Johnstone one a few weeks earlier that's also been mentioned.
10-01-2021, 11:03 AM
Stirling Albion away in a cup replay, sold out the seated stand and both terraces behind the goals that night. Beat 2-1. Latapy scored for us iirc
10-01-2021, 11:50 AM
Kilmarnock game, Boxing day ( i think). Massive Hibs support. Beuzelin was brutalised and out long term after an assault on him at this game. Think iit ended 1-1. Nice bit of crowd interaction with Dylan Kerr at H-T too.
10-01-2021, 11:58 AM
Sleeping Giant
All potential investors please take note
10-01-2021, 12:01 PM
I’m sure we were 3-0 down before I got to my seat. The away end was full so we were sent to the opposite end to sit in the family section, iirc we beat Aberdeen in the previous round. It was the season we were in the first division.
10-01-2021, 12:06 PM
Obviously many games at Tynecastle had huge supports. Mind you we must have had about 50,000 at the 7-0 given the number I know who claim to have been there but weren’t.
inglisavhibs
10-01-2021, 12:09 PM
​
Yip 33000 at Dens for the replay and at least half of them were Hibs supporters. We lost 3-0 and in typical Hibs fashion returned to Dens about 2 weeks later for a midweek league game and beat them. My mum, dad and me were among the 200 Hibs supporters in attendance🤒⚽️
10-01-2021, 12:12 PM
We took a good support up to Pittodrie 17/18, pretty sure we sold out.
10-01-2021, 12:15 PM
As it was the cup we were entitled to 20% of the stadium. I’m sure we had 7.5k fans at that game. Great day.
10-01-2021, 12:15 PM
Stirling Albion away in a cup replay, sold out the seated stand and both terraces behind the goals that night. Beat 2-1. Latapy scored for us iirc
Horrible evening. I’m sure Chris Jackson scored against us.
10-01-2021, 12:20 PM
As it was the cup we were entitled to 20% of the stadium. I’m sure we had 7.5k fans at that game. Great day.
We were entitled to 20% of the capacity and got a whole stand with a capacity of just over 7000. We didn't sell out though and there was a section for segregation then an area sparsely populated by Rangers fans. HCs estimate of about 5500 is correct.
Earlydelivery
10-01-2021, 12:35 PM
Biggest travelling support I’ve ever seen in my 59 years supporting Hibs was Dundee away Scottish cup replay 73/74 ... 34k at the game Dundee’s 6th largest crowd ... went up with the excursion buses from St Andrews Sq must have been at least 15000 Hibs fans with thousands locked out .
10-01-2021, 12:39 PM
Horrible evening. I’m sure Chris Jackson scored against us.
Aye, he did.
What did the old away end at Tynecastle hold before they put the bench seats in? We rarely sold out there during the 80s but there was a couple of occasions we took a decent crowd, the Archibald game was really busy where we stood but can't remember if it was busy at either side
10-01-2021, 12:44 PM
Not the biggest but one of my earliest away day memories was going to st Johnstone away in the cup think it was Scottish cup quarters. We got in 30 mins in due to massive crowds which saints didn’t expect. Sure it was 3-0 down in 30 minutes .
4-0 FT
ben johnson
10-01-2021, 12:49 PM
We did.
I mentioned it on another thread just the other day. It was properly poisonous for the last 20 minutes or so with the Hibs board getting dogs abuse.
On the way back they were interviewing the Saints manager on the radio
“ No surprise at the score.
We are a Premier League team up against
a team a division below us “ said Sandy Clark
Went to that game with my dad, must have been 13/14 at the time, mind watching big Olly warming up Gunn pre match big man was raking them in the top corners with ease. Was that Gunns debut?
Absolutely stowed out though that day we where behind the goals didn’t see much once the game kicked off.
10-01-2021, 12:53 PM
Remember a League Cup Quarter Final at Brockville early 1970s
It was so busy as a school boy I had to sit on the track round the pitch
HIBS were expected to win we lost 0-2
10-01-2021, 01:11 PM
I remember us taking a huge away support to Tannadice late Eighties I think it was. Got to have been 5k easy
Great atmosphere but as per usual we were let down.
Would that have been Murdo Mcleod’s debut? Do remember a very big travelling support on that day on the steepest of any terracing I’ve been on.
That was the game after Willie Cunningham turned down the NI job to stay with Falkirk. Think they got a dodgy pen. We battered them for 90 mins in the 2nd leg in front of a big crowd but only won 1 0. The Doc had just taken the Scotland job & picked Crops after watching him in that game.
10-01-2021, 01:17 PM
We took a good support up to Pittodrie 17/18, pretty sure we sold out.
We did, one of the few times I think we have
hhibs
10-01-2021, 01:18 PM
Leeds United away in 1970 's town was filling up from the Tuesday morning prior to game,many more at the game than some of the estimates at the time.
Great night but we should have won easily !
10-01-2021, 01:19 PM
I think the 85 LC 2nd leg at Ibrox was bigger than the 2006 cup game. ...
Only in the second half
10-01-2021, 01:24 PM
That was the game after Willie Cunningham turned down the NI job to stay with Falkirk. Think they got a dodgy pen. We battered them for 90 mins in the 2nd leg in front of a big crowd but only won 1 0. The Doc had just taken the Scotland job & picked Crops after watching him in that game.
Jimmy Jimmy O’Rourke scored IIRC
10-01-2021, 01:24 PM
7-0 game had 36k typical crowds for new year derby. Must have been around 15k hibbys at that one
although about 30k claimed to have been at it 🤔
I was at it and there were less than 35 jambos there in the 2nd half...ok maybe I exaggerate
Over 18k at Brockville & over 27k at ER for the 2nd leg. Interestingly we went a good part of that season with Jimmy O as a lone striker & sometimes not even one. Craig Levein eat your heart out!!
10-01-2021, 01:30 PM
Big Hibs crowd in terms of date and time went to Ross County for the SC cup replay as well, long before it was all seated and it was freezing and being on the uncovered terrace made it even colder. Lost 2-1, they scored 2 very late goals. If you were at the game you just knew it was coming though, it was like a sixth sense. Some erse ran on the pitch at the end holding a Hearts top as well and some Hibs fans tried to get at him. There was one or two punches thrown behind the stand on the way out as the supporters mixed. Horrendous night that, horrendous.
We were really ***** then.
10-01-2021, 01:30 PM
Would that have been Murdo Mcleod’s debut? Do remember a very big travelling support on that day on the steepest of any terracing I’ve been on.
Was that not the game where Willie Miller scored an own goal from about 40 yards?
10-01-2021, 01:31 PM
Old Bog Head ( Dumbarton) we took some crowd to that one in the mid 80s , relegation battle , which we won 2-0 , sure it was Durie and Rice that scored but had we lost , every chance we would have ended up going down .
Not our biggest but at that time in the 80s , it was one of them .
10-01-2021, 01:40 PM
Firhill to clinch the 1st division was a massive away support as well.
Dunfermline away when we could have went down was a massive away support. LG 2-3 hibs
10-01-2021, 01:41 PM
Big Hibs crowd in terms of date and time went to Ross County for the SC cup replay as well, long before it was all seated and it was freezing and being on the uncovered terrace made it even colder. Lost 2-1, they scored 2 very late goals. If you were at the game you just knew it was coming though, it was like a sixth sense. Some erse ran on the pitch at the end holding a Hearts top as well and some Hibs fans tried to get at him. There was one or two punches thrown behind the stand on the way out as the supporters mixed. Horrendous night that, horrendous.
Indeed.....Stokes scored for us but you just knew a late winner was coming. We were near the dugout and Yogi seemed to spend the whole game shouting at Thicot. One of those games you left thinking we were never going to win that bloody cup😁
10-01-2021, 01:43 PM
That's not how I remember it - I remember being in Broomloan stand 100% packed to the rafters with Hibees. If there were any huns in that stand then I cannot remember even noticing them - and they almost certainly would not have been there at the end lols.
10-01-2021, 01:43 PM
Remember George Miller launching one from the half way line flew past our keeper with snow on it
10-01-2021, 01:44 PM
Indeed.....Stokes scored for us but you just knew a late winner was coming. We were near the dugout and Yogi seemed to spend the whole game shouting at Thicot. One of those games you left thinking we were never going to win that bloody cup😁
Thats up there with the Stirling Albion loss, same scoreline as well. We came a cropper at Ayr as well in a replay in front of a decentish Hibs crowd. Our embarrassment broadcast worldwide on Sky Sports that night too. :grr:
10-01-2021, 01:44 PM
What a ****ing drive home as well.
There’s a recurring theme throughout most (not all) of this thread. It centres on big expectant away supports getting yet another boot in the baws.
10-01-2021, 01:46 PM
What a ****ing drive home as well.
There’s a recurring theme throughout most (not all) of this thread. It centres on big expectant away supports getting yet another boot in the baws.
And against so called lesser opposition. Midweek away replays are not our favourite except ICT away of course. :greengrin
Kilmanock in the Scottish Cup maybe 2000 Sauzee and Larson were injured during the game we won 1-0 Tam McManus scored very late in the game. The stand was moving when we scored don't know how much the away stands holds at Rugby Park.
HibeeHibernian4
10-01-2021, 01:49 PM
Kilmanock in the Scottish Cup maybe 2000 Sauzee and Larson were injured during the game we won 1-0 Tam McManus scored very late in the game. The stand was moving when we scored don't know how much the away stands holds at Rugby Park.
Roughly 4000. Same as we took in 2013 for the Griffiths hattrick.
10-01-2021, 01:49 PM
About 5k
10-01-2021, 01:50 PM
And against so called lesser opposition. Midweek away replays are not our favourite except ICT away of course. :greengrin
And a couple at Aberdeen.
10-01-2021, 01:51 PM
The Hibees Bounce caught hold that day!
10-01-2021, 01:53 PM
That's not how I remember it - I remember being in Broomloan stand 100% packed to the rafters with Hibees. If there were any huns in that stand then I cannot remember even noticing them - and they almost certainly would not have been there at the end lols.
The Broomloan Stand is split into ten sections, five upper - five lower, and for some strange reason, Rangers were allocated two of the lower sections, nearest the Main Stand.
There weren't many of them in there and they disappeared long before the end.
I was in the lower section nearest to their area and some of their 'fans' spent the whole game giving the Hibs support evil looks and trying to look hard.
10-01-2021, 02:08 PM
but late 80s away to Clydebank I remember we took a fair rabble through to that game, a cup tie and got beat 1nil. :(
Remember that one well unfortunately. Walking back to the bus afterwards to hear a boy telling us hertz had just scored a late winner to knock Celtic out as well. The week before we put 5 past the Bankies in the league.
10-01-2021, 02:11 PM
Well done to Since452 on starting this thread, all sorts of memories here.
10-01-2021, 02:13 PM
The Masters at Manchester Gmex 😂. Ok wasn't the biggest away crowd but the organisers probably only expected about 200 Hibs fans.
That was a brilliant day out. We had our own end 😂
10-01-2021, 02:16 PM
I was on the Hawkhill bus for that game, pretty sure a scaffolding pole got put through one of the bus windows that day.
10-01-2021, 02:17 PM
Videoton - we took more than Man Utd who were there the previous season.
Fantastic trip, I remember the fence bending towards us with the fans climbing on it after one of our goals
10-01-2021, 02:21 PM
Biggest travelling support I’ve ever seen in my 59 years supporting Hibs was Dundee away Scottish cup replay 73/74 ... 34k at the game Dundee’s 6th largest crowd ... went up with the excursion buses from St Andrews Sq must have been at least 15000 Hibs fans with thousands locked out .
I would agree, there were allegedly 5k Hibernian fans locked outside
10-01-2021, 02:24 PM
Any game at tincastle from 1965 to 1975 would have around half the crowd (35,000 to 40,000) Hibs supporters, and that plucky wee team that played at Airdrie the ground wi the house in the corner would usually see a very large Hibs support going through to do battle on and off the pitch, good days now long gone and perhaps for the better when I look back, some ugly things happened at the fitba back then.
10-01-2021, 02:29 PM
Yes Billy and could only win the second game at E.R. 1-0 (Think Johnny Graham got the goal) another game we were meant to win but did not, we had a very good team as well. Although game may have been late 1960's old grey matter is not what it used to be with the facts and figures.
10-01-2021, 02:32 PM
Any game at tincastle from 1965 to 1975 would have around half the crowd (35,000 to 40,000) Hibs supporters, and that plucky wee team that played at Airdrie the ground wi the house in the corner would usually see a very large Hibs support going through to do battle on and off the pitch, good days now long gone and perhaps for the better when I look back, some ugly things happened at the fitba back then.
One of our visits to Broomfield in the early 90s there was actually a flute band came into the ground and they were at the forefront of the post-match afters too. Interesting times 😂
10-01-2021, 02:33 PM
Think that may have been the game when we took a taxi to Dundee from Leith, we got in the taxi going to St Andrew Sq to get the bus, talking to the driver as you do, turns out he is a Hibee and says **** it, turns the meter off and we agreed a price to cover the petrol and off we went, felt like royalty driving around Dundee in an Edinburgh black cab to get to a pub before the game.
Big crowd as said although we got in, dont remember the score.
penihibs
10-01-2021, 02:35 PM
And against so called lesser opposition. Midweek away replays are not our favourite exceptICT away of course. :greengrinc Inverness Replay cup game 2016 just after getting beat in final from Ross County
Great away support and atmosphere.
10-01-2021, 02:41 PM
From memory as a young lad......Opening game of the season, finished 3-3. Dunfermline had risen through the league in consecutive years. Sure the crowd was circa 18,000 that day. How the mighty (Pars) have fallen.
10-01-2021, 02:44 PM
I was on the Hawkhill bus for that game, pretty sure a scaffolding pole got put through one of the bus windows that day.
Me too but I’m not recalling that! Could’ve been too many bevvies in The Atlantis.
10-01-2021, 02:45 PM
As mentioned earlier, we used to take a great support to Parkhead. Half the terrace behind the goal, 7k capacity IIRC. Regularly at least half full and sometimes packed. Compare that to the horrible wee section we get these days and often don’t sell out.
10-01-2021, 02:51 PM
Won’t be one of the biggest but another that comes to mind is at Dundee Utd around Christmas time. Under Mowbray I think, Sam Morrow scored, we sold the full stand along the side (both parts of it, as it’s split) plus their shed behind the goals. I want to say we won 4-0/4-1 - 2006 perhaps?
Would that have been Murdo Mcleod’s debut? Do remember a very big travelling support on that day on the steepest of any terracing I’ve been on.What I remember most from that match was Mixu repeatedly conning the ref. Every time he jumped for a high ball he made it look like whatever Hibs defender was with him was climbing on him. He must have got about 10 free kicks around the box.
Me too but I’m not recalling that! Could’ve been too many bevvies in The Atlantis.
Pretty sure it was that game.
10-01-2021, 02:55 PM
Could’ve been too many bevvies in The Atlantis.
I was too young at the time for that. 😊
10-01-2021, 02:58 PM
I was too young at the time for that. 😊
You and your peers in the Royston / Granton contingent were early starters don’t kid yerself! :greengrin
10-01-2021, 03:01 PM
You and your peers in the Royston / Granton contingent were early starters don’t kid yerself! :greengrin
I was 15 at the time, hadnae discovered bevvy yet!
10-01-2021, 03:02 PM
That was a brilliant day out. We had our own end 😂
We arrived quite early and the steward told us to sit in this tiny wee section as that's where they wanted the Hibs fans!! 10 minutes later we'd filled that whole end. About 90% leaving and going to the pub when we got put out after the first game.
Great day out indeed.
10-01-2021, 03:03 PM
Very decent turnout in Dnipro for such a long way away.
10-01-2021, 03:06 PM
Lovell missed an open goal from five yards out . I remember walking out and seeing the elation and joy on the Stirling Albion older fans in the stand and kinda felt a wee bit better . Might have been smoking a Rasta roll up tho 🤨😁
10-01-2021, 03:36 PM
It was heaving at that Dunfermline game, I remember even the aisles were full of people as there just wasn’t enough room on the terraces. Whatever they gave as the attendance was wrong as the away end was so overcrowded.
Up until then it was Dunfermlines biggest attendance of the season, not bad considering Rangers and Celtic had already been there. However, Celtic had to go there again the week after and you can guess they took a bigger support but only just. Typical of them have to outdo us at everything otherwise they r not worthy.
10-01-2021, 03:54 PM
Very decent turnout in Dnipro for such a long way away.
Looked big but I was seeing double 🤣
10-01-2021, 03:56 PM
Looked big but I was seeing double 🤣
Aye, there were 1 or 2 consumed in the town square pre-match! ☺
SideBurns
10-01-2021, 04:10 PM
I recall Mickey Weir's first game back after returning from Luton in 1988 - Celtic in the SC at Parkhead. Sure we got the whole of that end behind the goals, must've been about 8000 Hibbies?
10-01-2021, 04:25 PM
I recall Mickey Weir's first game back after returning from Luton in 1988 - Celtic in the SC at Parkhead. Sure we got the whole of that end behind the goals, must've been about 8000 Hibbies?
Only time we got the entire terrace behind the goal was the League Cup Final. The away end (half that terrace) held about 7-8k though.
10-01-2021, 04:26 PM
I recall Mickey Weir's first game back after returning from Luton in 1988 - Celtic in the SC at Parkhead. Sure we got the whole of that end behind the goals, must've been about 8000 Hibbies?I don't remember us taking anything like that to Parkhead apart from the LC final against the huns.
10-01-2021, 04:30 PM
That was a horror show that night. I travelled from Aberdeen and had to stay overnight in Dingwall. The defending for the winner was laughable, Ian Murray was like Bambi on ice.
We took a decent crowd up there a few years later for a SC tie as well. 1-0 win, Handling scored and Paul Cairney was sent off by Craig Thomson for 'diving'. Same game Butcher subbed Caldwell on then off again. Caldwells attitude was appealing but I'm convinced that was the day Butcher lost the dressing room, the OTT finger pointing and shouting was playing to the cameras. We left Edinburgh on the train at about 7 that morning, watched Rangers game in the pub, went to the game, sat in the Mallard until the train home at about half 7. Got home about 1am.
10-01-2021, 04:31 PM
I remember being at the Sproule 0-3 game M, there was 20,000 Hibs fans there, at least everyone I've spoken to was there...not the 900 that we got allocated.Think I spoke to you at the game G.
10-01-2021, 04:37 PM
We were really ***** then.That still gives me nightmares. Add in the fact I was working earlies next day and it was horrible.
10-01-2021, 04:46 PM
It was a Sunday as I recall? Huge support.
SideBurns
10-01-2021, 04:48 PM
Only time we got the entire terrace behind the goal was the League Cup Final. The away end (half that terrace) held about 7-8k though.
Memory might be playing tricks on me, but Mickey's return definitely enticed a bigger than usual Hibs support through. With it being the Scottish Cup, we'd have been entitled to 10% of the capacity (roughly 7000?), but you might be right in that maybe we were packed into one half of that end.
Crap gemme as it turned out, 0-0 draw - lost the replay 1-0, think Peter Grant scored a screamer.
SideBurns
10-01-2021, 04:49 PM
It was a Sunday as I recall? Huge support.
Aye, it was definitely a Sunday.
10-01-2021, 04:52 PM
:agree: The first game at Easter Road ended 3-3, one of my favourite Hibs games ever.
My mum and dad even went to the replay because they enjoyed the first game so much. They did leave me outside a pub with a bottle of coke and a packet of crisps before the game. :greengrin
10-01-2021, 04:53 PM
I don't remember us taking anything like that to Parkhead apart from the LC final against the huns.
I do remember some very decent Hibs crowds on the terracing at Celtic Park. Always hard to estimate exact numbers and PATG. Certainly considerably more than we take now to Celtic. Similarly, when we got the lower tier of Broomloan at Rangers, we took considerably larger crowds through there than we do now.
Still the largest Hibs crowd in Dingwall I think, had the terracing behind the goal and half the main stand. Buses left about 2pm and British Legion club did us a fine turn with pre-ordered dinners and the pubs seemed to be populated mainly by Hibs fans.
That was the final straw with many for Yogi at the helm. A shocker of a result, but one that nobody was really that surprised about.
10-01-2021, 04:53 PM
Aye, it was definitely a Sunday.
I got in Maude’s bad books that day on the back of a pinched tin of shaving foam and a giant foam hand.
SideBurns
10-01-2021, 04:59 PM
I got in Maude’s bad books that day on the back of a pinched tin of shaving foam and a giant foam hand.
10-01-2021, 05:02 PM
The Broomloan Stand is split into ten sections, five upper - five lower, and for some strange reason, Rangers were allocated two of the lower sections, nearest the Main Stand.
There weren't many of them in there and they disappeared long before the end.
I was in the lower section nearest to their area and some of their 'fans' spent the whole game giving the Hibs support evil looks and trying to look hard.
I must have been quite far away from that bit and didn't even notice them - a classic day out that one - I could barely speak afterwards as I was breathless with excitement and joy! One of my fondest days following the Hibees and no doubt about it.
10-01-2021, 05:07 PM
Was that not the game where Willie Miller scored an own goal from about 40 yards?
It was.
0-0 and heading for a no score draw until Willie Miller lofted his bizarre long range pass back pass over Andy Goram in the 89’th minute :crazy:
Checked the date and it was Saturday 13 October, 1990. Tannadice has seen some very big travelling Hibs supports over the years.
10-01-2021, 05:24 PM
That was a horror show that night. I travelled from Aberdeen and had to stay overnight in Dingwall. The defending for the winner was laughable, Ian Murray was like Bambi on ice.
We took a decent crowd up there a few years later for a SC tie as well. 1-0 win, Handling scored and Paul Cairney was sent off by Craig Thomson for 'diving'. Same game Butcher subbed Caldwell on then off again. Caldwells attitude was appealing but I'm convinced that was the day Butcher lost the dressing room, the OTT finger pointing and shouting was playing to the cameras. We left Edinburgh on the train at about 7 that morning, watched Rangers game in the pub, went to the game, sat in the Mallard until the train home at about half 7. Got home about 1am.
Butcher was celebrating with fist pumping in front of a very decent Hibs crowd, and there hadn’t been many wins to celebrate in the highlands prior to that. Might even have been the first! The win with 10 men, coupled with James Collins looking like he was finding his feet with an excellent performance, there was a sense that Butchers appointment might just be a very shrewd one..
I had managed to coincide this match with a family weekend away in Aviemore. When boarding the train at Aviemore, as soon as the carriage doors opened I was immediately hit with the aroma of bevvy, and everyone appeared to have that 5-6 cans in glow about them :hilarious
10-01-2021, 05:27 PM
Butcher was celebrating with fist pumping in front of a very decent Hibs crowd, and there hadn’t been many wins to celebrate in the highlands prior to that. Might even have been the first! The win with 10 men, coupled with James Collins looking like he was finding his feet with an excellent performance, there was a sense that Butchers appointment might just be a very shrewd one..
I had managed to coincide this match with a family weekend away in Aviemore. When boarding the train at Aviemore, as soon as the carriage doors opened I was immediately hit with the aroma of bevvy, and everyone appeared to have that 5-6 cans in glow about them :hilarious
Butcher and his finger pointing I remember well. It was done on Caldwell’s way back down the tunnel and was very much for the benefit of the camera right in front of him.
linlithgowhibbie
10-01-2021, 07:10 PM
I saw the queues at the Hibs end, decided I wouldn't get in and joined the queues at the home end, it was amazing to see so many well known Hibbies scarfless standing in that queue and once I got in it was like standing on the East terrace as there were so many Hibbies all around.
I joined that queue at 2.15 and it took over 35 mins to get in.
Here's a couple of photos I took from games, there was a decent support at the Barcelona game but that technically wasn't really an away game.
We also took reasonable supports down to Bolton and Blackpool back in 2009 / 2010 as well.
10-01-2021, 07:15 PM
Always thought we took very good support to parkhead as mentioned above. Been in a few there that must have been 5k+ just for run of the milk league games. We once went into the main stand for a laugh and it was surprising how big the Hibs support was. Also remember a game there before they sectioned off that but for away fans when there were running battles across that terracing
10-01-2021, 07:33 PM
Cannot forget the second Leeds trip all the trains down the way packed out, Polis escorts on big horses, back to the station after giving the home support a hard time, then back up on a table we were lucky to get. Great game and we should have done them, the return game was the one that Bremner kept then in with one of the best one man displays I seen at E.R.
10-01-2021, 08:23 PM
Here's a couple of photos I took from games, there was a decent support at the Barcelona game but that technically wasn't really an away game.
We also took reasonable supports down to Bolton and Blackpool back in 2009 / 2010 as well.
I was at the Bolton and both Blackpool games but I refused to got to Murrayfield to the Barca game as the prices were outrageous. Left the first Blackpool game early in favour of the pub and missed both Hibs goals. :greengrin
Second game v blackpool was a sunday night or afternoon and it ws dreadful.
10-01-2021, 08:25 PM
Think I spoke to you at the game G.
Think you did mate. :aok:
I was at the Bolton and both Blackpool games but I refused to got to Murrayfield to the Barca game as the prices were outrageous. Left the first Blackpool game early in favour of the pub and missed both Hibs goals. :greengrin
Second game v blackpool was a sunday night or afternoon and it ws dreadful.
The game we won 2-1, when Yogi was manager, was on a Sunday afternoon. We went to some social club near the ground, before and after the game, it was rammed with Hibs fans and had a good atmosphere.
The 0-2 game under Calderwood was midweek I think?
10-01-2021, 08:53 PM
I wasnt at Bolton but was at Blackburn. Crap game, Ian Murray missed header at end to give us the win.
10-01-2021, 08:54 PM
The game we won 2-1, when Yogi was manager, was on a Sunday afternoon. We went to some social club near the ground, before and after the game, it was rammed with Hibs fans and had a good atmosphere.
Blackpoolhibs that posts on here organised that I think.
10-01-2021, 09:09 PM
The 0-2 game under Calderwood was midweek I think?
Calderwood defeat when Barry Ferguson was playing for Blackpool was midweek. Plenty police videoing everybody about all I remember.
10-01-2021, 09:25 PM
Biggest travelling support I’ve ever seen in my 59 years supporting Hibs was Dundee away Scottish cup replay 73/74 ... 34k at the game Dundee’s 6th largest crowd ... went up with the excursion buses from St Andrews Sq must have been at least 15000 Hibs fans with thousands locked out .I was at the first game ( 3 v 3 fantastic match ) but not replay but remember talk of 30 000 crowd . Am surprised noone`s mentioned cup QF at Motherwell in 70s . 2 v2 draw with at least 50% of 16 000 crowd Hibbies . Replay at Holy Ground was another draw with another similar crowd then we lost in second replay at Ibrox ( I was only at first 2 games but think there was a similar crowd at second replay ) .
10-01-2021, 09:30 PM
Calderwood defeat when Barry Ferguson was playing for Blackpool was midweek. Plenty police videoing everybody about all I remember.
That was because of the trouble the previous year, running battles outside the castle pub iirc.
10-01-2021, 09:32 PM
I wasnt at Bolton but was at Blackburn. Crap game, Ian Murray missed header at end to give us the win.
Blackburn away was a terrible 0-0. Allardyce not their manager at the time? I mind one of their players put in a shocking tackle on a Hibs player and it cause uproar. That game is memorable for me for nearly getting stabbed on the train back to Preston thanks to a mouthy nameless mate. Thats another story though. :greengrin
10-01-2021, 10:04 PM
Interesting thread that brings back many memories . In my case I remember loads of away games with tiny Hibs supports but also lots of games where there were probably thousands of us but spread round different parts of ground cause of pre segregation ( can remember being at lots of games at Parkhead like game abandoned by fog or at Ibrox without segregation in 70s and early 80s where we had a big support but wouldn`t have been so obvious as more recent segregation times crowds ) . When Gordon Hunter scored at Tynecastle I thought I was surrounded by Jambos till the goal for example - loads of Hibbies in school end of old stand that day, possibly more than 50% . Happened with visitors to ER too - I remember watching us beat Killie 5 v 2 in cup tie in 70s and North Stand was almost full of Killie fans to see a fantastic match ( a young Gordon Smith - not THE Gordon Smith but the Killie / Rangers one was making debut I think .).
10-01-2021, 10:16 PM
Blackburn away was a terrible 0-0. Allardyce not their manager at the time? I mind one of their players put in a shocking tackle on a Hibs player and it cause uproar. That game is memorable for me for nearly getting stabbed on the train back to Preston thanks to a mouthy nameless mate. Thats another story though. :greengrin
Bolton was, and will always be, my favourite away day. Utterly bizarre yet outstanding from start to finish!
10-01-2021, 10:22 PM
Bolton was, and will always be, my favourite away day. Utterly bizarre yet outstanding from start to finish!
I just remember the scrapping outside and police horses charging about the place, I was pished and just stood thinking wtf is going on here like and wheres the nearest boozer.:greengrin Was utterly melted that night. Great trip.
Sure Kevin McCann missed a sitter to win it in the last minute too.
10-01-2021, 10:23 PM
I just remember the scrapping outside and police horses charging about the place, I was pished and just stood thinking wtf is going on here like and wheres the nearest boozer.:greengrin Was utterly melted that night. Great trip.
Aye because I bought you drink all night 😂
10-01-2021, 10:34 PM
Sure Kevin McCann missed a sitter to win it in the last minute too.
Standing in the ground as a fairly innocent 17/18 year old, only to be surrounded by CCS and the mayhem that ensued. Absolute carnage and the police had absolutely no way of dealing with it. Was that the day that Celtic were in Manchester as well?
10-01-2021, 10:35 PM
That game is memorable for me for nearly getting stabbed on the train back to Preston thanks to a mouthy nameless mate. Thats another story though. :greengrin
They were big laddies! 😲 (I wasn't the mouthy one)!
10-01-2021, 10:59 PM
Aye because I bought you drink all night 😂
:tee hee::tee hee::tee hee:. I got you £5 train tickets. :greengrin
10-01-2021, 11:00 PM
They were big laddies! 😲 (I wasn't the mouthy one)!
Not half, nervy moments on that train.
10-01-2021, 11:46 PM
Standing in the ground as a fairly innocent 17/18 year old, only to be surrounded by CCS and the mayhem that ensued. Absolute carnage and the police had absolutely no way of dealing with it. Was that the day that Celtic were in Manchester as well?
Was 16 when i went down to Bolton. Our bus stopped outside a service station just past Carlisle around 9.30 in the morning and the place was mobbed by a number of drunken Celtic fans.
darwenhibby
11-01-2021, 12:26 AM
Not half, nervy moments on that train.
Is that Gen that there was fighting when we played Blackburn??
Remember Bolton given Hibs fans ***te at their place and scappered when the Hibs fans chased them after the game
Good Hibs support for a friendly on a Wednesday night at Blackburn about 700
Think near on 3000 for the Bolton game
As someone said the club in Blackpool was brilliant
Who remembers the big support at Villa in 1989??
11-01-2021, 01:46 AM
Remember Bolton given Hibs fans ***te at their place and scappered when the Hibs fans chased them after the game
There might have been a bit of scrapping before the game around the Ewood Arms but I don't remember seeing anything afterwards.
11-01-2021, 05:30 AM
Yeah Bolton was around that. Lower tier behind the goal was jam packed. Some trip.
Magpie
11-01-2021, 06:31 AM
Would like a few more away trips down to England.
11-01-2021, 06:32 AM
I was down at Villa. Stayed the weekend with another four of the Alloa Hibs boys. Great weekend with so many stories. WAs a very good support that day too
11-01-2021, 03:19 PM
Blackburn away was a terrible 0-0. Allardyce not their manager at the time? I mind one of their players put in a shocking tackle on a Hibs player and it cause uproar. That game is memorable for me for nearly getting stabbed on the train back to Preston thanks to a mouthy nameless mate. Thats another story though. :greengrinI know that story. [emoji85][emoji85]