View Full Version : Scottish Cup 3rd round - QOTS v Hibs

09-01-2021, 03:01 PM
Draw for the 3rd round is tomorrow at 11am (Sunday)
This is the round Hibs go in at

It’s Live on the SFA YouTube channel

10-01-2021, 08:54 AM
Draw for the 3rd round is tomorrow at 11am (Sunday)
This is the round Hibs go in at

It’s Live on the SFA YouTube channel

Thanks Billy, saved me looking it up. I expect us to get Dundee! 😁

Dr What If?
10-01-2021, 08:56 AM
Part of me wouldn't be surprised if we got Israel in the draw :greengrin

10-01-2021, 09:55 AM
Which marketing genius thought a draw at 11am on Sunday on a you tube channel when the premier teams join the draw was the way to go? Really don't help ourselves at times

10-01-2021, 09:58 AM
Can anyone actually see it on the YouTube channel? Too much to expect a holding page?

10-01-2021, 09:59 AM
Which marketing genius thought a draw at 11am on Sunday on a you tube channel when the premier teams join the draw was the way to go? Really don't help ourselves at times

Draw live on Facebook now.

Just as well churches are closed then!!!!!

10-01-2021, 10:00 AM
Can anyone actually see it on the YouTube channel? Too much to expect a holding page?

I’m not getting anything yet

10-01-2021, 10:00 AM

https://youtu.be/meCrCGyw3CE

10-01-2021, 10:01 AM
Draw live on Facebook now.

Got a link?

10-01-2021, 10:01 AM
Here we go, nearly draw time

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

10-01-2021, 10:02 AM
We are number 18

10-01-2021, 10:02 AM
Got a link?

https://www.facebook.com/scottishcup/

10-01-2021, 10:03 AM
Are we hoping for an away draw!

Forfar v Airdrie/Edinburgh City

Dundee Utd v Partick Thistle/Cowdenbeath

10-01-2021, 10:04 AM
Livingston v Stirling Albion/Raith Rovers

10-01-2021, 10:04 AM
Camelon/Brora/Hearts v Stranraer

10-01-2021, 10:05 AM
Peterhead/Stenhousemuir v Kilmarnock

Rangers v Cove

Oh what a shock that is,

Rangers at home to Cove Rangers

Rigged as ****

10-01-2021, 10:06 AM
Celtic v Arbroath/Falkirk

Celtic too

Couldn't make it up :faf:

Ross County v Buckie/Inverness

Part of me wouldn't be surprised if we got Israel in the draw :greengrin

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

10-01-2021, 10:07 AM
Queen of the South v Hibs

QoS vs Hibs

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Baws. That would have been a cracking away day.

QOS v The Hibees

QOTS v Hibs

I'll take it

Dumbarton/Huntly v Aberdeen

Decent draw. Struggling lower league opposition and the bonus if being away from hone!

10-01-2021, 10:08 AM
Gutted no fans and close for me. Annoying.

East Fife v Morton/Dunfermline

Hamilton v St Mirren

Hibs.net should sponsor the game. 😉

Dundee v St Johnstone

10-01-2021, 10:09 AM
Elgin/Ayr v Keith/Clyde

10-01-2021, 10:09 AM
Formartine/Annan v Motherwell

10-01-2021, 10:10 AM
Fraserburgh v Nairn/Montrose

Celtic too

Couldn't make it up :faf:

As conspiracies go it’s not really high on the list.

That's fine.

OF, Hearts and Aberdeen all given piss easy ties.

10-01-2021, 10:11 AM
If not picked for TV, can you pay for a stream this season in the cup?

10-01-2021, 10:12 AM

He’s clearly randomly picking balls out of a see through bowl. I’ve no idea why people come out with the conspiracy nonsense

10-01-2021, 10:13 AM
Do the BBC get a tie? If not, we'll be missing out on the Highland derby which would be a shame.

10-01-2021, 10:14 AM

Thanks for that Andy.

10-01-2021, 10:15 AM
Oh! How we laughed at the diddy grounds that hertz would be at this season, never thinking we would be at half of them too!!!!

10-01-2021, 10:19 AM
He’s clearly randomly picking balls out of a see through bowl. I’ve no idea why people come out with the conspiracy nonsense

Every time haha

10-01-2021, 10:26 AM
Do the BBC get a tie? If not, we'll be missing out on the Highland derby which would be a shame.

2 live ties each for BBC and Premier from round 4 (I’m presuming that as we’ve reduced the number of rounds, this round will count as the old 4th round)

10-01-2021, 10:29 AM
Would have preferred a home tie but its still a tie we should win.

10-01-2021, 10:29 AM
An ok draw for Hibs but a horrible pitch at Palmerston

10-01-2021, 10:32 AM
They’ve been poor this season so expect us to win.

10-01-2021, 10:35 AM

So have Ross County and look what happened there. :greengrin

G15 Hibs
10-01-2021, 10:35 AM

Clubs have been able to do that in previous rounds. Would imagine it'll be the same in this round.

G15 Hibs
10-01-2021, 10:36 AM

They've picked up a bit in recent weeks

10-01-2021, 10:36 AM

I don't see why not, clubs have offered streams in the early rounds.

10-01-2021, 11:04 AM
I don't see why not, clubs have offered streams in the early rounds.

So better for the clubs if it’s not on TV, can make some money
You’d have thought Premier will take Rangers and Celtic games as usual
What games does everyone think the Beeb will want?

10-01-2021, 11:07 AM

Ross Co v ICT is a possibility

They like to look for a cup upset so our tie is a maybe and it's just down the road for them

10-01-2021, 11:10 AM

Assuming Inverness beat Buckie then they'll probably pick Ross County v Inverness and then either Dumbarton/Huntly v Aberdeen or Formartine/Annan v Motherwell.

10-01-2021, 11:15 AM
Assuming Inverness beat Buckie then they'll probably pick Ross County v Inverness and then either Dumbarton/Huntly v Aberdeen or Formartine/Annan v Motherwell.

What about Dundee v St Johnstone or Hamilton v St Mirren

10-01-2021, 11:23 AM
What about Dundee v St Johnstone or Hamilton v St Mirren

I thought of them but Dundee's just been picked last night v Bonnyrigg and Hamilton v St Mirren could be seen as too routine.

darwenhibby
10-01-2021, 11:26 AM
Palmerston - best away day for us and no crowds at the football
Typical 😡🤬

10-01-2021, 11:27 AM

I'm looking for my ladders as we speak.

10-01-2021, 11:29 AM
Would have preferred a home tie but its still a tie we should win.

If we keep getting away ties , we could go all the way 😁

10-01-2021, 05:08 PM
Palmerston - best away day for us and no crowds at the football
Typical 😡🤬

I know Duane, stop off at Perth before for a few swallys and a right good sing song on the bus home. :wink:

davhibby
10-01-2021, 05:38 PM

Probably 2 from our game, Dundee v St J and Ross County v ICT(assuming they beat Buckie)

30-03-2021, 09:00 AM
5/4/2021 Scottish Cup Third Round

Queen Of The South v Hibernian

Kick Off 7.45pm

BBC Scotland

30-03-2021, 01:19 PM
5/4/2021 Scottish Cup Third Round

Queen Of The South v Hibernian

Kick Off 7.45pm

BBC Scotland
Damn. A tv clash with Lawson v Rout in the final of University Challenge after eight months of me trying to boost my ego by getting at least one answer per night before the contestants (and failing totally this week).
PS Why is Magdalene College pronounced "Modlin"? Imagine the reaction if you were down Porty way and asked for directions to Modlin Avenue.
PPS I will be watching Hibs of course!

147lothian
30-03-2021, 03:15 PM
Hopefully Nisbet starts with Doige also up front and I would like to see McGregor instead of Portous for the no nonsense defending just clearing the lines, can't afford any slip ups.

30-03-2021, 05:05 PM
Damn. A tv clash with Lawson v Rout in the final of University Challenge after eight months of me trying to boost my ego by getting at least one answer per night before the contestants (and failing totally this week).
PS Why is Magdalene College pronounced "Modlin"? Imagine the reaction if you were down Porty way and asked for directions to Modlin Avenue.
PPS I will be watching Hibs of course!

Buzzzzzzz...

Muirhoose, Cropley ....
In the 15th Century, much of the English language was allied to French. The word for Magdalene was pronounced similarly to the French Madeleine, ie with no G.

Yes. 10 points. Your bonus questions, Muirhoose, are on school captains of Eton College.

**** you, Jeremy.

30-03-2021, 05:42 PM
Buzzzzzzz...

Muirhoose, Cropley ....
In the 15th Century, much of the English language was allied to French. The word for Magdalene was pronounced similarly to the French Madeleine, ie with no G.

Yes. 10 points. Your bonus questions, Muirhoose, are on school captains of Eton College.

**** you, Jeremy.
I can't watch an episode of UC without thinking of the Young Ones. That episode is one of the finest pieces of British comedy ever.

30-03-2021, 06:03 PM
I can't watch an episode of UC without thinking of the Young Ones. That episode is one of the finest pieces of British comedy ever.

Ade Edmondson was on the celebrity version at Christmas. Of course, they played a clip from that 😁

30-03-2021, 10:22 PM
Buzzzzzzz...

Muirhoose, Cropley ....

**** you, Jeremy.
On cue, Mary Modlin film just started on the box.

31-03-2021, 08:59 AM
After all the laughs we’ve had at the expense of our pink chums these past few days, imagine what it would be like over there and on here if we were to lose this one. :greengrin

Allez Hibs
31-03-2021, 10:03 AM
After all the laughs we’ve had at the expense of our pink chums these past few days, imagine what it would be like over there and on here if we were to lose this one. :greengrin

Yes, it's a very tough game we have on Monday Night. One not to be taken lightly.

31-03-2021, 10:23 AM
Yes, it's a very tough game we have on Monday Night. One not to be taken lightly.
Identical to our league cup V Alloa, just hope we get a similar result!!!
Its to easy to sit at home typing how easy games are going to be, the end result is everything, so we have to be right up for it!!!

31-03-2021, 10:31 AM

Agree a dangerous away game on a plastic pitch. They are going well at present and will be a threat however think we will score a few and would need to be very poor to lose imo.

31-03-2021, 10:43 AM
It’ll be a tight game, a scrap, and might fall either way.

A bit like all of our games.

Not sure QotS away can be considered to be any easier than playing an Aberdeen team in awful form or any bottom 6 premier league team lacking in ability but fighting for their lives.

I’ll probably not tune in but all we need is to be in the next round.

31-03-2021, 11:10 AM

Normally I'd agree with you, but a Hibs loss to QOS wouldn't even be in the same galaxy as Hearts getting beat by Brora.

Allez Hibs
31-03-2021, 11:29 AM
Normally I'd agree with you, but a Hibs loss to QOS wouldn't even be in the same galaxy as Hearts getting beat by Brora.

It still wouldn't be acceptable though and big questions would be asked.

31-03-2021, 11:47 AM

What big questions would be asked?

31-03-2021, 11:51 AM

Dont think anyone would disagree.

Make your mind up - is it a tough game or one thats unacceptable to lose??????

31-03-2021, 11:57 AM
Dont think anyone would disagree.

Make your mind up - is it a tough game or one thats unacceptable to lose??????

Is it a tough game because it's unacceptable to lose?

QotS are no mugs and there are plenty of factors contributing to the fact that this is a tough game, but I fully accept that a defeat would be an awful result.

It would be easier to get someone like Brora who you'd expect to beat, or Rangers or Celtic away where you wouldn't expect so much. This is a funny game, one we all know will be tough but one we all know we should be winning.

Stanton Spence
31-03-2021, 11:58 AM
It still wouldn't be acceptable though and big questions would be asked.Deary me your all over the place today?

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

31-03-2021, 11:59 AM
Deary me your all over the place today?

Wait until he accuses you of imitating an admin... :rolleyes:

Stanton Spence
31-03-2021, 12:02 PM
Wait until he accuses you of imitating an admin... :rolleyes:I read that also [emoji23]

31-03-2021, 12:07 PM
Wait until he accuses you of imitating an admin... :rolleyes:

I’d rather imitate you imitating an admin than imitate a Hibs fan imitating being a Hibs fan.

Tough game potentially, unacceptable to lose, but the again what’s the alternative when you’re riding high in the top league and facing a team from the league below?

Either way, I’m looking forward to a good cup run and continuing to enjoy gloating at our ever so big neighbours as they struggle manfully to finish off their league campaign.

2-0 to Hibs.

Allez Hibs
31-03-2021, 12:46 PM
Deary me your all over the place today?

😲 Not really

The game on Monday night is a tough game for us but one we should win.

Given how this season has gone (manner of the two semi final defeats) and where we are in the league, it would be unacceptable to lose it.

Stanton Spence
31-03-2021, 12:51 PM
[emoji44] Not really

Given how this season has gone and where we are in the league, it would be unacceptable to lose it.Not really
It's never been unacceptable for any side to lose a tough game away from home
It would be disappointing and no doubt piss me off but if QOTS play well and we play well and lose the match then that's fitbaw

147lothian
31-03-2021, 12:52 PM

But you have said it's a tough game? What questions would be asked for losing a tough game? If you think losing is unacceptable go support Man Utd or Man City

Allez Hibs
31-03-2021, 01:01 PM
If you think losing is unacceptable go support Man Utd or Man City

What does that even mean?

In what way would losing to Queen of the South ever be acceptable for Hibs?

31-03-2021, 01:10 PM

it's a one-off cup game anything can happen, look how close heartz came to beating Brora

31-03-2021, 01:34 PM
it's a one-off cup game anything can happen, look how close heartz came to beating Brora

....... and QOS in the league for that matter. :greengrin

31-03-2021, 02:12 PM
Anyone else’s programme arrived today?

31-03-2021, 02:39 PM
....... and QOS in the league for that matter. :greengrin

or even Arbroath ;)

31-03-2021, 03:11 PM
I can imagine the seethe on kickback if we go down there and pump them 3-0 and Stranraer beat Brora. The pressure on replay would be cranked up to 11.

31-03-2021, 03:13 PM
I can imagine the seethe on kickback if we go down there and pump them 3-0 and Stranraer beat Brora. The pressure on replay would be cranked up to 11.

LB, I’ll settle for the Hibs 3-0 victory

31-03-2021, 03:18 PM
Watched QOS v Hearts and was impressed with QOS and the speed they counter attacked with.

They have a few good players on loan and wasn’t surprised they beat Hearts at PBS.

Expecting a tough game - like Alloa won’t be much in it - will be pretty annoyed if we lose though and would be the 3rd cup defeat in just over 6 months for Jack Ross!

31-03-2021, 03:18 PM
LB, I’ll settle for the Hibs 3-0 victory
Me too.

31-03-2021, 03:49 PM
😲 Not really

Given how this season has gone (manner of the two semi final defeats) and where we are in the league, it would be unacceptable to lose it.

If we lost, what will you not accept? I've seen many of these unacceptable games where we've lost them, and i'm not quite sure what unaccepting it did?

147lothian
31-03-2021, 04:47 PM

Your not having a good day are you, you contradict yourself by saying it's a difficult game but unacceptable to lose, anything can happen in one off cup games, all it would mean IF we lost it is that we lost a one off cup game. I would be pissed off but **** happen's.

31-03-2021, 05:07 PM
I think I know what he means and sort of agree.

As an individual game it is a tricky game. Plenty about it that is awkward and it is very "loseable".

That doesn't mean we should be losing it. We should be winning it, whichever way it happens.

As for accepting it - we're all agreed that third place in the league would be a great outcome and most would agree that Ross should not be under pressure based on league results and our current standing there.

What if we lose this game? We've been knocked out of 2 Scottish cups this season by lower league opposition and from the other cup at a time when we were hot favourites to win the trophy. None of that is acceptable. It's almost anti-Stubbs, whose cup performances masked some questionable league stuff at times.

So it's a tough game we've got no divine right to win. With a bit of context though, any loss is really unacceptable. In terms of what you do about it, what can you do in the current climate?

I tell you what it would do though. It would heap pressure on our manager, and probably rightly so, irrespective of how hard a place Palmerston might be to go.

31-03-2021, 05:08 PM
Of course we expect to progress, but this is definitely not an easy fixture. QOS will be right up for it - as would any lower league side drawing Hibs in the cup. But Hibs should also be right up for it - as they should always be for any cup tie, because this is the first step of 5 towards one of the only two trophies we have a realistic chance of winning year on year. And with the memory of two cup semi exits still relatively fresh I would expect nobody in a Hibs shirt to be short of motivation for this one.

We of course have a far bigger budget and a squad that reflects that with plenty quality on paper compared to QOS - as ever with football though, Hibs still have to prove that on the day - and I think we will - 2-1.

31-03-2021, 05:08 PM

I’m so sorry folks. I had no idea my tongue in cheek post above would set you at each other’s throats. Sorry:confused:

31-03-2021, 06:10 PM
I’m so sorry folks. I had no idea my tongue in cheek post above would set you at each other’s throats. Sorry:confused:

It was a fair point and one worth making imo.

31-03-2021, 06:37 PM
I'm calling it as a must win.

31-03-2021, 06:56 PM
I'm calling it a big game, but only if we lose.

Otherwise it doesn't count.

31-03-2021, 07:37 PM
It was a fair point and one worth making imo.

Thanks, a wee bit counselling always helps :greengrin

01-04-2021, 10:08 AM
So are we supporting Celtic and Rangers in their Scottish cup games, given that them winning it could transform our club and finances? Or do we want them knocked out on the off chance that we could win it ourselves?

StockholmHibs
01-04-2021, 10:37 AM
If we lost, what will you not accept? I've seen many of these unacceptable games where we've lost them, and i'm not quite sure what unaccepting it did?

I won't accept it either if we get beat.
I will go straight to bed fur a gid auld greet! Because that's what you do when you don't accept hibs losing.

01-04-2021, 10:40 AM
So are we supporting Celtic and Rangers in their Scottish cup games, given that them winning it could transform our club and finances? Or do we want them knocked out on the off chance that we could win it ourselves?

Quite happy to play Rangers or Celtic in the final.

Normally I would want to see a team outwith Rangers, Celtic or Hearts winning it but not this season if we can finish third.

Must be due a Celtic v Rangers final, not been one since 2002. Longest without one in my living memory.

01-04-2021, 10:56 AM
Thanks, a wee bit counselling always helps :greengrin

How voz your relationship wiz your muzzer?

And wiz she a Jambo?

01-04-2021, 10:57 AM

If you don't accept it, then the decision is apparently reversed by the SFA.

01-04-2021, 11:02 AM
Quite happy to play Rangers or Celtic in the final.

Normally I would want to see a team outwith Rangers, Celtic or Hearts winning it but not this season if we can finish third.

Must be due a Celtic v Rangers final, not been one since 2002. Longest without one in my living memory.

Considering how long the Scottish Cup has been played for and the dominance of the OF in Scotland there have been surprisingly few OF Scottish Cup finals IMO. Think its 14 (did look it up but it was awhile ago) and there has never been consecutive OF finals.

01-04-2021, 11:25 AM
Considering how long the Scottish Cup has been played for and the dominance of the OF in Scotland there have been surprisingly few OF Scottish Cup finals IMO. Think its 14 (did look it up but it was awhile ago) and there has never been consecutive OF finals.

it is surprising, especially as they never seem to get drawn against each other in the early rounds. Compare that to us and hearts, 4 times in the last decade!

01-04-2021, 12:21 PM
I won't accept it either if we get beat.
I will go straight to bed fur a gid auld greet! Because that's what you do when you don't accept hibs losing.

FFS man up. 😁

01-04-2021, 12:35 PM
What big questions would be asked?

Why oh why?

01-04-2021, 12:38 PM
Obviously want us to win & think we will. Have very little interest in the cup this year & the only focus I have is us getting 3rd spot, everything else is a distraction.

01-04-2021, 01:00 PM
We should win and we have generally done quite well in Cups against lower league clubs. They used to have a big pitch so hopefully that is still the case and we can get the ball down and use the pace of Boyle, Cadden and Nisbet

ElginHibbie
01-04-2021, 01:38 PM
Obviously want us to win & think we will. Have very little interest in the cup this year & the only focus I have is us getting 3rd spot, everything else is a distraction.

I'd disagree, I think the focus should be on getting the European spot that guarantees being in until Christmas and winning the cup ourselves is the only way to guarantee we'd get that

01-04-2021, 01:51 PM
it is surprising, especially as they never seem to get drawn against each other in the early rounds. Compare that to us and hearts, 4 times in the last decade!

We’ve drawn them in the cup(s) loads in recent years.

Would I be right in thinking we very rarely did for decades before that? One early 90s nightmare apart, it didn’t seem to happen much at all prior to the mid 00s semi final debacle. Since then it feels like we’ve played them in the cups loads, especially if you include replays.

01-04-2021, 02:59 PM

Would I be right in thinking we very rarely did for decades before that? One early 90s nightmare apart, it didn’t seem to happen much at all prior to the mid 00s semi final debacle. Since then it feels like we’ve played them in the cups loads, especially if you include replays.I think the first time I saw QOS in the flesh was at Meadowbank when I went with a mate. That was pre Terry Christie so late 70 or very early 80s

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

01-04-2021, 04:08 PM

Would I be right in thinking we very rarely did for decades before that? One early 90s nightmare apart, it didn’t seem to happen much at all prior to the mid 00s semi final debacle. Since then it feels like we’ve played them in the cups loads, especially if you include replays.

We've actually played them 38 times, more than any other team, in the Cup. That includes replays so in the last 8 seasons we've played them 8 times! Quite amazing really. Our next joint highest are Rangers and Aberdeen with 33 then Celtc with 26.

01-04-2021, 04:14 PM
We've actually played them 38 times, more than any other team, in the Cup. That includes replays so in the last 8 seasons we've played them 8 times! Quite amazing really. Our next joint highest are Rangers and Aberdeen with 33 then Celtc with 26.
A load of balls. Hot ones. Or maybe chilled balls for us and Them across town cos the hot ones are reserved for the OF.

Garymcl
01-04-2021, 10:05 PM
Just noticed dumbarton had game tonight and play the sheep lunchtime on Saturday wtf 😳

01-04-2021, 10:30 PM
Just noticed dumbarton had game tonight and play the sheep lunchtime on Saturday wtf 😳

If you think that's bad look at Clyde's fixtures, playing tuesday-thursday-saturday

01-04-2021, 10:32 PM

Just seen that myself, how is that allowed?

East Fife and Clyde are the same.

Less than 48 hours in between games is unheard of.

147lothian
01-04-2021, 11:18 PM
What's the story with the the player on loan at QoS that was at the Covid party? I think the name is Dapo Mebude, was he a regular starter with QoS? Is he included in the ban?

01-04-2021, 11:24 PM
What's the story with the the player on loan at QoS that was at the Covid party? I think the name is Dapo Mebude, was he a regular starter with QoS? Is he included in the ban?

He played fairly regularly and yes he's banned.

147lothian
01-04-2021, 11:31 PM
He played fairly regularly and yes he's banned.

:aok: TBH I don't know too much about QoS but I thought they looked quite good on the break at the PBS, tricky game on Monday on a plastic surface

02-04-2021, 01:08 AM

Not exactly unheard of.

Back in the day, certainly in England, it was common for teams to play Good Friday, Easter Saturday and Easter Sunday. In the Midlands they played on Easter Saturday, Easter Monday and Tuesday. If you go back to the 1950s, teams played on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and the Saturday after.

None of the teams had big first team squads back then and rotation was unknown apart from injury and players dropped. There were no substitutes back then. There would be a reserve team playing a similar schedule to the first team consisting mostly of 'over the hill' older players and youngsters.

Gloucester Hibs
02-04-2021, 03:08 AM

Quite a bit less - Dumbarton game is the early kick-off on Saturday! Maybe 41-42 hours between games?

02-04-2021, 06:48 AM
Not exactly unheard of.

Back in the day, certainly in England, it was common for teams to play Good Friday, Easter Saturday and Easter Sunday. In the Midlands they played on Easter Saturday, Easter Monday and Tuesday. If you go back to the 1950s, teams played on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and the Saturday after.

None of the teams had big first team squads back then and rotation was unknown apart from injury and players dropped. There were no substitutes back then. There would be a reserve team playing a similar schedule to the first team consisting mostly of 'over the hill' older players and youngsters.

OK in recent times it's unheard of.

02-04-2021, 07:41 AM
See that Stranraer travel to Brora in the Cup tomorrow. Can’t be many longer journeys in Scottish football than that

linlithgowhibbie
02-04-2021, 07:57 AM
I'm guessing a 6 hour journey with a couple of short breaks to stretch the legs.

02-04-2021, 08:00 AM
See that Stranraer travel to Brora in the Cup tomorrow. Can’t be many longer journeys in Scottish football than that

I think only Wick v Stranraer would have been longer. In terms of the UK it would be just short of the trip between Plymouth and Newcastle.

02-04-2021, 08:33 AM
I think only Wick v Stranraer would have been longer. In terms of the UK it would be just short of the trip between Plymouth and Newcastle.

And not motorway either for Stranraer

02-04-2021, 09:59 AM
The draw for the 4th and 5th round will take place at 2pm on Sunday.

We will know our possible route to the semi final before we even play QoS. I assume this is being done due to the next 2 rounds being on consecutive weekends.

02-04-2021, 10:00 AM
The draw for the 4th and 5th round will take place at 2pm on Sunday.

We will know our possible route to the semi final before we even play QoS. I assume this is being done due to the next 2 rounds being on consecutive weekends.

Brora then Dumbarton at home, please.

02-04-2021, 10:05 AM
Brora then Dumbarton at home, please.

Then Fraserburgh.

Bangkok Hibby
02-04-2021, 01:15 PM
My Thai wife has a passing interest in football and gets the Hibs results sent to her phone 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬 She's just asked me who we're playing tomorrow and when I told her it was QOTS on Monday she asked if they were a gay team from the south of Scotland. 😂😂😂

Stairway 2 7
02-04-2021, 01:22 PM
My Thai wife has a passing interest in football and gets the Hibs results sent to her phone 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬 She's just asked me who we're playing tomorrow and when I told her it was QOTS on Monday she asked if they were a gay team from the south of Scotland. 😂😂😂

No but they did pump the Gorgie boys last week

Bangkok Hibby
02-04-2021, 01:27 PM
No but they did pump the Gorgie boys last week

😂😂😂🙏🏻👍🏻

02-04-2021, 05:37 PM

Pumped us out the LC over 2 legs in 1977 78 ish. Beaten at Easter Road. If memory serves me right it was Gordon Rae’s debut and I think he got our goal and he followed it up on the Saturday with a goal in a win at Ibrox.

Edit. Pish. I’ve just realised it’s Hearts you’re talking about!

02-04-2021, 07:14 PM
We should easily be able to concentrate on both, we’ve got 5 league games to go they’re pretty spaced out though. Beat queens and we’re one win away from the quarterfinals.

02-04-2021, 07:19 PM
We should easily be able to concentrate on both, we’ve got 5 league games to go they’re pretty spaced out though. Beat queens and we’re one win away from the quarterfinals.

Definitely. We’ve just had a fortnight without a game as well. Just need to go all out in every game we have now.

02-04-2021, 07:37 PM
This is a game we should win but we did lose to a lower league team in last years semi final and a game in the league Cup semi which we expected to win.
Jack Ross needs to get it right this time as QOTS will be well up for this game.

02-04-2021, 10:41 PM
Is Murphy fit?

03-04-2021, 07:26 AM
Just looking at our record v QOS.

Since 2003..

Hibs won - 11
QOS won - 5
Draws - 2

Away at QOS

We have won - x3
QOS home win - x3
Draws - x1

Going to be a close game - especially after they beat our lower league neighbours last week.

Tully
03-04-2021, 07:39 AM
turn up with correct attitude and be on front foot from the start, this is a big game let's have a big game attitude

03-04-2021, 08:15 AM

I want this cup a lot tbh. It would be oh so sweet to lift it 6 months after hearts had it on the team bus then somehow forgot it at hampden

AllyT
03-04-2021, 09:57 AM

Still trying to get my Thai wife across permanently, Visa fees are seriously expensive......

03-04-2021, 10:05 AM
Looking forward to watching a game, feels like ages since last played.

03-04-2021, 10:27 AM
Looking forward to watching a game, feels like ages since last played.

If you are in withdrawal then Dunfermline PPV might provide a laugh or two today. :greengrin

Lendo
03-04-2021, 10:32 AM
Is the game on PPV today?

03-04-2021, 10:34 AM
Is the game on PPV today?

The Hibs game's on Monday night on BBC Scotland.

03-04-2021, 10:41 AM
Queens are always a potential banana skin. I can think of a few defeats down there.

03-04-2021, 11:43 AM

Rangers are appealing all the bans, so presume he’s free to play until the hearing?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/56620526

03-04-2021, 11:49 AM
Rangers are appealing all the bans, so presume he’s free to play until the hearing?

Yeah he will be fine to play until the appeal is reviewed.

03-04-2021, 01:06 PM

Since when have Rangers been appealing?

Lendo
03-04-2021, 01:17 PM
What possible grounds could they have to appeal the bans? The players were caught and publicly apologised. Case closed.

03-04-2021, 02:09 PM
What possible grounds could they have to appeal the bans? The players were caught and publicly apologised. Case closed.

Length of the bans?

04-04-2021, 12:23 PM
Will this game ever come round? Feels like about two months since we last bloody played!

04-04-2021, 12:33 PM
Here are the ball numbers
1 Aberdeen
2 Celtic
3 Clyde
4 Dundee Utd
5 Forfar
6 Morton
7 Inverness Caley
8 Kilmarnock
9 Livingston
10 Montrose
11 Motherwell
12 QOS/ Hibs
13 Rangers/Cove
14 St Johnstone
15 St Mirren
16 Stranraer

04-04-2021, 12:37 PM
Probably mentioned however what time is the draw at?

04-04-2021, 12:39 PM
Probably mentioned however what time is the draw at?

2pm

04-04-2021, 12:49 PM
2pm

04-04-2021, 12:52 PM
https://youtu.be/5I-4H_rIDWA

Link to the draw

04-04-2021, 01:03 PM
Stranraer away if we go through.

04-04-2021, 01:05 PM
So we would have got Hearts again... Would have... Celtic v Rangers though...

04-04-2021, 03:59 PM
Tough game and another horrible plastic pitch. I expect us to beat them but could have had a far easier fixture

05-04-2021, 08:53 AM
Assume the Rangers player on loan to QOS who was one of the banned players can play tonight given Patterson played yesterday. Massive game for us tonight. Think we will win but very tricky given their form and the plastic pitch.

Collum being ref gives me the fear.

05-04-2021, 09:22 AM
Assume the Rangers player on loan to QOS who was one of the banned players can play tonight given Patterson played yesterday. Massive game for us tonight. Think we will win but very tricky given their form and the plastic pitch.

Collum being ref gives me the fear.

Yes he'll be fine to play until the appeal is heard.

05-04-2021, 10:49 AM
Excellent news that the ugly sisters got drawn together - cannot for the life of me figure why anyone would see this as a bad thing - and a very winnable tie away at Stranraer IF we progress tonight.

The path to the Quarters is opening up for us but a long way to go from there with plenty good sides likely to be left in the competition.

05-04-2021, 10:55 AM
Surely this should be a fairly comfortable win for Hibs.

05-04-2021, 10:58 AM

I wouldn't have thought so.

05-04-2021, 10:58 AM

How long you been watching Hibs? :greengrin

05-04-2021, 11:17 AM

I have been getting more nervous as the game approaches. Last chance of an upset in this round and we have a great path ahead. Everything to blow.

05-04-2021, 11:17 AM
I get that people want to come across as sensible saying this is a very tough tie for us but we should be winning this 9 times out of 10.

I understand that may not be the case if you look at historic results but if we want to have any ambition to cement ourselves as best of the rest there should be no question about us being massive favourites to win this game.

It would be different if we were playing a St Johnstone or a Livi etc who, again we should be beating more often than not, but come on its QOTS FFS, if we can't go into this with confidence then we'll never cement 3rd place for a prolonged period.

05-04-2021, 11:21 AM
Wonder what sort of selection we’ll see tonight
A few been away on international duty, and presuming only were back in training on Friday/Saturday
Kevin was only in Scotland on Wednesday night, so no travelling from him, so should start

I’m always nervous with these sorts of games, particularly when the draw is opening up nicely for us

05-04-2021, 11:33 AM
It may be Easter but let's not be counting the chicks.

05-04-2021, 11:39 AM
I get that people want to come across as sensible saying this is a very tough tie for us but we should be winning this 9 times out of 10.

I understand that may not be the case if you look at historic results but if we want to have any ambition to cement ourselves as best of the rest there should be no question about us being massive favourites to win this game.

It would be different if we were playing a St Johnstone or a Livi etc who, again we should be beating more often than not, but come on its QOTS FFS, if we can't go into this with confidence then we'll never cement 3rd place for a prolonged period.

It isn't about being sensible. The poster asked if it should be fairly comfortable for hibs and nothing points to that being the case. Nothing in their form. The fact that they have dangerous players. Then the nature if cup ties.

You are right that we should be looking to win this game 9 times out of 10. It doesn't mean we'll get 9 easy games out of them.

Of course, on occasion, we have the ability to make the odd game look very easy. Would I be surprised if we did tonight - not really. Do we do that enough that you can take it happening as a given - no.

05-04-2021, 11:53 AM
4-45 am kick off on Tuesday morning for me!

Allez Hibs
05-04-2021, 11:54 AM
Thinking about the Scottish Cup draw. Another great opportunity has presented itself to the club with the draw. I hope the club are putting the league to the side and going all out for this Scottish Cup. Crazy season but it really could be a great season. Forget 3rd place for now, all about the Scottish Cup. We really have two bites at Europe with the draw.

Tough game tonight, but what a chance we have.

Sioux
05-04-2021, 11:54 AM

So many ifs.

05-04-2021, 12:00 PM

It should be but then Hibs should comfortably win a lot of matches but don't.

05-04-2021, 12:16 PM
A few been away on international duty, and presuming only were back in training on Friday/Saturday
Kevin was only in Scotland on Wednesday night, so no travelling from him, so should start

I’m always nervous with these sorts of games, particularly when the draw is opening up nicely for us

I dont think we need Gogic for this one, so i'd like to see a middle 3 of Magennis, Newell, Irvine. 352.

05-04-2021, 12:21 PM
They have been beaten by Alloa and Morton in their last 3 games. Their only win was against crisis hit Hearts .

05-04-2021, 12:22 PM
I dont think we need Gogic for this one, so i'd like to see a middle 3 of Magennis, Newell, Irvine. 352.I think we do. How often have we found ourselves a goal behind in matches where we're favourites?

Allez Hibs
05-04-2021, 12:25 PM
I think we do. How often have we found ourselves a goal behind in matches where we're favourites?

Agreed, this is the kind of game we need Gogic where it could become a bit of a physical battle. Magennis should be nowhere near it.

05-04-2021, 12:27 PM
I think we do. How often have we found ourselves a goal behind in matches where we're favourites?

If we go out and do a professional job we should win. However the wrong attitude, a bad bounce, terrible refereeing decision or mistake is all it takes.

05-04-2021, 12:28 PM
I dont think we need Gogic for this one, so i'd like to see a middle 3 of Magennis, Newell, Irvine. 352.

I think he got a full minutes playing time, when he was away with Cyprus

05-04-2021, 12:29 PM
If we go out and do a professional job we should win. However the wrong attitude, a bad bounce, terrible refereeing decision or mistake is all it takes.Exactly, and a professional job for me means having Gogic in midfield. The tie could easily be decided by the odd goal and being in the next round is all that counts.

05-04-2021, 12:30 PM
The idea that we should get into physical battle with QoS is crazy. We have a squad full of footballers and we will be playing on Astro. How about we just go out and play football. We've won plenty games without Gogic and they dont have a stand out physical midfield.

05-04-2021, 12:55 PM
i'm aw excited now we're playing tonight, mon the cabbage :flag:

05-04-2021, 12:58 PM
Thinking about the Scottish Cup draw. Another great opportunity has presented itself to the club with the draw. I hope the club are putting the league to the side and going all out for this Scottish Cup. Crazy season but it really could be a great season. Forget 3rd place for now, all about the Scottish Cup. We really have two bites at Europe with the draw.

Tough game tonight, but what a chance we have.

agree with this. It’s opened up nicely for us.

Dmas
05-04-2021, 01:11 PM
The idea that we should get into physical battle with QoS is crazy. We have a squad full of footballers and we will be playing on Astro. How about we just go out and play football. We've won plenty games without Gogic and they dont have a stand out physical midfield.

physicality aside our form over the last couple of months has suffered when gogic is out the team, he starts most weeks for me , he can always be subbed for more flair or mobility later in a game.

the big man allows players to concentrate making things happen up the business end and he also allows Doig to get up that left handside with him dropping in as a 3rd centre half, i know a lot of people on here don't rate him but for me he's one of our most important players

hibbydog
05-04-2021, 01:14 PM
Full strength team, attitudes spot on and we should take care of this no problem.

I don’t want to see the heads going down if we lose a few 50/50’s or miss a few chances. That’s what the lower league teams will be hoping for.

Win our battles, score early, then we should have enough to get through.

Mon the Hibs.

05-04-2021, 01:15 PM
agree with this. It’s opened up nicely for us.

QOS will be thinking the same, beat Hibs then away to Stranraer, so an equally good incentive for them. Just play to our strengths and we will be ok. GGTTH.

05-04-2021, 01:16 PM

And we think the TV companies over here don't consider the fans!

05-04-2021, 01:17 PM

Don't think Marciano was getting back until the weekend though would still expect him to play. Wonder if Murphy is back available. From what I seen of Hearts game looked like they played a 532 so assume we would stick our usual 352. They have dangerous players including a 38 year old Dobbie who looked in reasonable nick. Thought they looked weak at corners as their keeper is quite small and stayed on his line. We will create a fair few chances just about being clinical imo. Fancy Doidge and Irvine to score.

Bangkok Hibby
05-04-2021, 01:30 PM

Seems to be audio only on Hibs tv international

147lothian
05-04-2021, 01:43 PM
For me this is a game for Gogic, if you look at the games against Ross County and Livi at ER we were over ran in midfield and they took control, I know that both of these games were before we signed Irvane, but you do really need players in the middle who are going to fight for the right to play and do the ugly stuff, I see Gogic as being as important as Irvane in this role, its both playing for me tonight.

05-04-2021, 01:51 PM
QOS will be thinking the same, beat Hibs then away to Stranraer, so an equally good incentive for them. Just play to our strengths and we will be ok. GGTTH.

Stranraer is their derby too. Massive incentive.

Bangkok Hibby
05-04-2021, 01:54 PM
Seems to be audio only on Hibs tv international

Anybody know for sure? Evening news says live match for International subscribers but Hibs tv saying audio for all subscribers.

Sproule Three
05-04-2021, 02:02 PM
Anybody know for sure? Evening news says live match for International subscribers but Hibs tv saying audio for all subscribers.

It’s advertised as live video in Australia 🤷🏼*♂️

05-04-2021, 02:06 PM
Seems to be audio only on Hibs tv internationalNo, it's saying live video in France so it will be the same for everyone outwith the UK.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210405/05b0e9581a7a36fd56a173cf1d0fe258.jpg

05-04-2021, 02:11 PM
Game being broadcast on TV on BBC One Scotland if that’s of any assistance.

Bangkok Hibby
05-04-2021, 02:13 PM
Game being broadcast on TV on BBC One Scotland if that’s of any assistance.

Thanks but I've paid £180 for yearly international on Hibs tv and want to see it there. How do you contact them? Anyone?

05-04-2021, 02:17 PM
Thanks but I've paid £180 for yearly international on Hibs tv and want to see it there. How do you contact them? Anyone?Don't worry, it'll definitely be on Hibs TV international.

05-04-2021, 02:19 PM
Gogic should be starting.

Hibs win the midfield - Hibs win.

They are fast on counter - so need to be wary of that.

Would be good if the midfield would chip in with more goals...Jackson / Cadden / Newell for example need to score more.

Weather in Edinburgh is cold and windy - hopefully wind won’t affect us too much.

Just win Hibs..any win will do but do not underestimate them as they are a decent team

Bangkok Hibby
05-04-2021, 02:21 PM
Don't worry, it'll definitely be on Hibs TV international.

Thanks, now restarted phone, logged out and back in on a different browser. Now showing live in Thailand. 🙂🇳🇬🙏🏻

Wull
05-04-2021, 02:33 PM
What time is KO..?

05-04-2021, 02:34 PM
What time is KO..?
19:45

Wull
05-04-2021, 02:37 PM
19:45

Cheers I missed the clocks Goin back last week, so don't want to miss this yin

147lothian
05-04-2021, 02:43 PM

Would be good if the midfield would chip in with more goals...Jackson / Cadden / Newell for example need to score more.

Weather in Edinburgh is cold and windy - hopefully wind won’t affect us too much.

Just win Hibs..any win will do but do not underestimate them as they are a decent team

I tend to agree with this point.

05-04-2021, 03:08 PM
Cheers I missed the clocks Goin back last week, so don't want to miss this yin

You must have done, because the clocks actually went forward an hour.

NthCarolinaHibs
05-04-2021, 03:08 PM
What time is KO..?

05-04-2021, 03:14 PM

I agree with every bit of this.

Gogic might be our most important player, and having him in the side and playing well can be the difference between slipping on our ***** on tonight's banana skin and us managing to actually deal with their danger quite well and maintain pressure on them.

Argylehibby
05-04-2021, 03:14 PM

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/matches/mens-first-team-fixtures

05-04-2021, 03:17 PM

Gogic might be our most important player, and having him in the side and playing well can be the difference between slipping on our ***** on tonight's banana skin and us managing to actually deal with their danger quite well and maintain pressure on them.

So are Hibs now in a position that there is pretty much no game that Gogic isn’t our most important player? That’s some turn around this season.

NthCarolinaHibs
05-04-2021, 03:18 PM
My bad..🤭

05-04-2021, 03:23 PM
I’d like to see Boyle given a free role behind Doidge and Nisbet tonight.

Or even him up top with Doidge and Nisbet in behind.

Cadden Irvine Newell Doig across the middle.

05-04-2021, 03:28 PM
Hibs better no **** this up tonight.

Get the job done and put to bed early please.

05-04-2021, 03:35 PM
Feel nervous about this. Hope Hibs quickly change that.

05-04-2021, 03:37 PM
So are Hibs now in a position that there is pretty much no game that Gogic isn’t our most important player? That’s some turn around this season.I'd say he's definitely one of our most important players.

05-04-2021, 03:40 PM
i've e-mailed the Easter Bunny and asked for an early goal for the Easter Road side

Nevi_SOL
05-04-2021, 03:49 PM
For anyone struggling to watch the game you can download the bbc player go on to settings and change location to an eh postcode or anywhere in Scotland 👍🏼

147lothian
05-04-2021, 03:53 PM

Every team needs a player like Gogic, to break up the play when they have the ball, win it back and just let the flair players play, it might not be the most easy on the eye role, but lots of games are won or lost in midfield, I don't think tonight will be any exception

Liam978
05-04-2021, 04:37 PM
For anyone struggling to watch the game you can download the bbc player go on to settings and change location to an eh postcode or anywhere in Scotland 👍🏼

I may have missed something but why do the club feel the need to warn fans to stay away from Palmerston tonight ( if true that is )

147lothian
05-04-2021, 04:44 PM
I may have missed something but why do the club feel the need to warn fans to stay away from Palmerston tonight ( if true that is )

Probably because a few fans turned up at the league cup games, I remember someone up a step ladder watching the game away to Cove.

05-04-2021, 04:59 PM

Because the QoS cardboard cutouts are mental. It would be dead dangerous

05-04-2021, 05:01 PM
Probably because a few fans turned up at the league cup games, I remember someone up a step ladder watching the game away to Cove.

There were loads standing outside watching Brora v Stranraer on Saturday

05-04-2021, 05:04 PM
i've e-mailed the Easter Bunny and asked for an early goal for the Easter Road side

Damn! Easter Bunny! That's the guy's name! I couldn't remember it and sent my e-mail to Santa.

05-04-2021, 05:07 PM
Just put Sportsound on, and they have Levein and Pressley at the game for the radio
What do either of these 2 have to do with Queens/Hibs

147lothian
05-04-2021, 05:14 PM
There were loads standing outside watching Brora v Stranraer on Saturday

I also remember loads in the corner watching Livi v the the their was a bunch of tree's there so I just thought it was bears in the wood.

Just put Sportsound on, and they have Levein and Pressley at the game for the radio

The BBC hoping for a QOTS win to deflect from how bad Hearts are?

Wigson13
Probably need to use a VPN too!

05-04-2021, 05:18 PM

Even by BBC standards that is appalling. Like having a Rangers game with Pat Bonner and Murdo McLeod at it. It just simply wouldn't happen. Blatant trolling.

05-04-2021, 05:45 PM
So are Hibs now in a position that there is pretty much no game that Gogic isn’t our most important player? That’s some turn around this season.

I’m waiting for someone to come along and tell us that Gogic isn’t good enough ‘for where we want to be’ or some such.

05-04-2021, 05:54 PM

Does it really surprise you though Billy?

They will take every opportunity to knock us too!

05-04-2021, 06:25 PM
Even by BBC standards that is appalling. Like having a Rangers game with Pat Bonner and Murdo McLeod at it. It just simply wouldn't happen. Blatant trolling.

:agree: BBC are mightily pissed at how much Hibs fans have lapped up the Brora result at the expense of their beloved WWI winners and simply praying QOS can relieve them of some pain tonight. Like other Hearts fans, Lavean and Preslie get far more joy in seeing Hibs fail than in their own team succeeding. They are sad *******s with an itch that they can never scratch.

penihibs
05-04-2021, 06:33 PM
Elvis having a breakdown on Sportsound about his beloved windae lickers😭

05-04-2021, 06:37 PM
Elvis having a breakdown on Sportsound about his beloved windae lickers😭

.......not only failed his interview there, but has lost any future chance with his comments about the club and the Foundation of Hearts :greengrin

He's put mogadon to sleep.

05-04-2021, 06:38 PM
Presley was fantastic there, spoke a lot of truths.

05-04-2021, 06:42 PM
Presley was fantastic there, spoke a lot of truths.

He did indeed to be fair, but the 'enlightened' over the road won't see that.........I'll wager he'll still be 'judas', 3rd biggest club in Scotland, fan owned, best atmosphere, 'we should be top 3', big team, blah blah blah :greengrin

Amazing how the mere mention of a wee village of Scotland utterly clamps them :aok::greengrin

05-04-2021, 06:42 PM
They just had to though didn’t they. BBC couldn’t help themselves!

05-04-2021, 06:58 PM
He did indeed to be fair, but the 'enlightened' over the road won't see that.........I'll wager he'll still be 'judas', 3rd biggest club in Scotland, fan owned, best atmosphere, 'we should be top 3', big team, blah blah blah :greengrin

Amazing how the mere mention of a wee village of Scotland utterly clamps them :aok::greengrin

That’s the first time I’ve heard anyone on the BBC question Budge’s leadership.

In fact, he went further, he said she shows none!

You could just picture Levein sitting squirming there. Notable that he didn’t even try to defend Budge.

On a separate note, I think I detest Ian McCall more than anyone else involved in Scottish football. Who does he think he is and who does he think cares about about the plight of Partick. Shut the f up. Every week he’s bumping his gums about the same thing.

Back on topic, c’mon the Hibs.